Plexaderm Skincare Review: A Detailed Look

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 29, 2020

Plexaderm is a skincare serum that is claimed to reduce your undereye bags and wrinkles after just 10 minutes of use. The results are temporary, but the manufacturer promises to give you a more youthful appearance that lasts until you wash it off.

The company claims that results will differ by person, but that you should see improvements in the tone, texture, and appearance of your skin.

In this review, we take a detailed look at Plexaderm’s effectiveness to help you decide if it is the right option for you.

Ingredients: Is There Evidence for Their Effectiveness?

“Tissue and muscle around the eyes weaken as we age,” says Dr. Debra Jaliman, a board-certified dermatologist and Assistant Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the Icahn School of Medicine in Mount Sinai (NY).

“When the tissues and muscles weaken, some of the fat around the eyes moves downward and accumulates under the eyes causing the bags. Fluid can also accumulate under your eyes causing the bags.”

To address this issue, Plexaderm contains silicate minerals from shale clay, sodium silicate and magnesium aluminum, that the company claims will temporarily firm up your skin.

These minerals form a layer across your skin that both tightens and lifts crow’s feet and wrinkles that are surrounding your eyes to smooth the skin and shrink undereye bags.

The company links to a clinical study on its website. According to testing conducted on 43 people, using Plexaderm produced to the following results:

  • 80% decrease in under-eye bags
  • 80% decrease in dark circles
  • 81% decrease of crow’s feet and wrinkles
  • 74% decrease in smile lines
  • 85% decrease in depth of forehead lines

43 people make for a small study, so these results do not mean that Plexaderm will work for everyone.

Likewise, this study doesn’t specify how long these results lasted for participants or how long after application the testing took place.

We also weren’t able to find any independent research that looked specifically at the effects of these ingredients when used in skincare products.

Despite these shortcomings, Dr. Jaliman believes that the two active ingredients in Plexaderm will work as described because they create a constricting effect that improves your skin’s appearance.

“The sodium silicate tightens while the magnesium aluminum silicate thickens and emulsifies the cream… [Together] they will temporarily tighten the skin around your eyes,” Jaliman said.

Safety

There aren’t any significant safety concerns with Plexaderm’s ingredients.

The Food and Drug Administration classifies sodium silicate as Generally Recognized as Safe (GRS).

It’s a similar story for magnesium aluminum silicate, as the Cosmetic Ingredient Review assessed the compound and found that it wasn’t irritating to the skin when applied topically for a week straight.

Plexaderm’s other ingredients include a blend of emulsifiers, binding agents, and preservatives that are both common in similar products and considered safe to use topically.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

Over 90 customers have reviewed Plexaderm on our website for an average rating of 1.7-stars out of five.

Some users reported issues with the dispensers that prevented them from working while others wrote that the results only lasted for a few minutes after application or not at all. Still, others stated that the serum left their skin rough and irritated after use.

On the positive side, reviewers praised Plexaderm’s customer service and flexible return policy. A few also thought the product worked as described and made them feel more confident in their own skin.

The sentiments on Amazon are similar, as the serum earns 2.8 stars on that platform. Several users complained that while the serum did temporarily reduce their wrinkles, they ruined the effect as soon as they applied makeup or even smiled.

Pricing and Return Policy

Plexaderm is priced at $59.95, with free shipping. This provides you with a 5ml bottle with enough product for thirty days.

There is an option to buy three bottles for $119.90 in a buy two, get one free deal.

Plexaderm orders are covered by a 30-day-hassle-free guarantee. This means you can send your purchase back for any reason within that time-frame for a full refund, minus shipping charges.

The Bottom Line

Plexaderm promises to temporarily reduce your undereye bags. Our research shows that it seems to work as described, at least for some people and for a short time.

This product doesn’t claim to work a miracle, and as such, you should keep your expectations realistic when you use it.

Customers of Plexaderm don’t seem overly pleased with this product. Many wrote in their reviews that the results were too temporary to be worthwhile. That fits what many skin experts believe about restoring aging facial skin.

“Under the eyes is one of the most difficult concerns to address,” Dr. Jennifer Gordon, a board-certified dermatologist at Austin-area Westlake Dermatology, told us.

“Truly getting rid of eye bags takes surgery, but things like eye creams, massage, and decreasing inflammation can help. Hydrating the skin and building collagen can help, but concealer often is still your best friend.”

For this reason, Plexaderm might make sense for a big night out or another special event. You might find it’s excellent for reducing undereye bags after a sleepless night or as a quick way to put your face at its best before taking family photos.

If you’re looking for a more permanent solution, take Dr. Gordon’s advice and seek out a product that can build up collagen.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Plexaderm Skincare:
  • 91 Customer Reviews
  • 15% Recommend This Product
1.7 out of 5
5 star: 12% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 12% 1 star: 70%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I love Plexaderm

    Overall Experience:

    My favorites are the Mineral Powder foundation (it really does smooth out my complexion and doesn't look like powder after it is applied) and the Rapid Reduction Cream (it really does work on diminishing the bags under the eyes). I wish I would have found these products sooner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By Jane Jones,
    • California,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my item in the mail today and used it for the first time. I followed the directions, and within 5 to 10 minutes, I went to the mirror and I looked like a totally different person. My bags were all gone away and I looked it at least five years younger. To my surprise, I was very happy with the product and will be using it in the future. Thank you, Plexaderm, for your product. I truly appreciate it and am very grateful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Plexaderm

    • By Renee LaRocca,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As I have gotten older I've been developing bags under my eyes - they seem to be growing with age. I had tried hundreds of products, and some would work for a week or two. Then somewhere along the line, the product wouldn't help. So I was always searching for something new. Until I saw the Plexaderm Skin Care commercial on TV, demonstrating the reduction of a man's bags under his eyes.

    I've been using Plexaderm Skincare Rapid Reduction Cream every day for over nine months. It's the only product that has reduced my eye bags all day. I've recommended to my family and friends. Sometimes my eye bags are so large that I need a second application - but it works. I've even applied the cream over my makeup (it still worked). I won't leave home without it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love

    • By Kim Saliba,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This stuff is magic. I have been using it for a good year and a half, and once I figured it out, it is terrific. When I say figure it out, I mean that you actually have to wait the time to make sure it has set. I do everything first; clean face, I put on my face serum, then moisturizer. After those have been completely absorbed, then I put on the Plexiderm. I put it around my eyes, then the lines on my forehead. Then I sit and wait, or I blow dry it, but then after about 10 minutes, everything is perfect. Then I do my make up. This stuff is just magic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing!

    Overall Experience:

    I bought it and wasn't expecting much if anything at all, just hoping it would not bother my annoyingly sensitive skin. To my UTTER shock and astonishment, it WORKED. It truly works! If I could afford it, I would wear it every freakin day! I'm still in shock every time I tell someone. But it does, it really works! It reminds me if the movie with Golie Hawn and Meryl Streep - Death Becomes Her.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works 100% for me, highly recommend!

    Overall Experience:

    I am 52 years old and have had bags under my eyes for years and always wanted to get rid of them and this 100% did the trick. I was skeptical at first, but I am now convinced, and it lasts all day for me. To the people posting negative stuff, saying it doesn't work, they are either lying or using the product wrong. Wash your face, shake the tube and apply lightly. It's that simple. Lots of fake reviewers to try and damage products reputation, but I am a real reviewer and not a paid reviewer, so all I can say is try it. It works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Puffy under-eyes for years

    Overall Experience:

    I was shocked; I didn't think it was going to work. Boy, was I wrong! The results for me were 80-90%. Even the darkness with the puffy bags disappeared. I am 50 and have naturally soft skin, I'm not sure if that is a factor, but my wife's first response to watching it work was: "we have to buy stock in this company."

    Very happy that I've finally found something that works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Miracle cream

    Overall Experience:

    So I did my research on this product and scrolled through reviews. After reading some good, some bad, and some just mean hearted, I decided to give it a try.

    At first, it didn't work as well I thought it should and was not happy. My wife tried it for our date night and had great results!

    Me being a man using eye cream sounded kinda weird (and it is to me), but I let my wife apply it correctly and I received similar results (not good as her), and I am convinced it works! Just follow the directions, and you will say the same. Good luck if you do, an you're missing out if you don't!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I'm freakin BLOWN AWAY!

    • By Wendy Solo,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Woohooo! HOLY CRAP! Okay seriously, I was pretty friggin skeptical about this product but bought it anyway. After all, I'm 55 years old and can't stand wrinkles. Okay, so I put some on, maybe a little more than a dab, but wow! I went and grabbed a cup of coffee, felt my face getting a little tighter, sat down and had a smoke (yes I smoke). Well, I guess about 12-14 minutes passed, and I went to the mirror to check, and I smiled. I just stood there with a stupid freakin grin on my face before running down the hallway to show my husband. I was all giddy and goofy. He said, and I quote "You looked gorgeous before, but damn...it's like I have a whole new woman in my life." Yeah okay, so he's just telling me what I wanna hear but I'm blown away, my wrinkles are GONE, but for how long? That's what I'd like to know.

    I bought a three-month supply and am wondering if this stuff only works day to day. Am I gonna wake up all wrinkle-faced again tomorrow? I'll let you guys know. Hahaha! I really should have taken before pictures. I'll do that tomorrow if I wake up a wrinkled hag again. LOL! I'm tripping out here. I don't usually like gawking at myself in the mirror too long, but wow, now I can't stop staring at ME. Haha! I can't and won't say I recommend it yet until I know this is going to last all day at least. I do wish this was a one month like thing, but I highly doubt it. Anyway, I'm happy with my TODAY results. Good luck to others who buy it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It is incredible!

    • By Tommy O.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is an incredible product! I am a guy that has had bags under his eyes since I was a little kid. I bought the sample pack with six uses just to check it out, and I will definitely be buying the large size. Within two to three minutes my bags and my smile wrinkles around my eyes were completely gone! It's worth trying the sample pack to find out for yourself. I bet you'll buy the full-size one also. Thank you Plexaderm.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 9, 2019

      Company Response from Plexaderm Skincare

      Thank you for sharing your review, Tommy. We are very excited to hear how Plexaderm is helping. With proper application, your Plexaderm results can last up to 8 hours.


  • Terrific! Pleasant surprise!

    • By Laraine K.,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was absolutely amazed at how Plexaderm performed!

    It did exactly what the commercial showed, and I'm not kidding!

    I have slightly dark, puffy circles under both of my eyes and I was able to literally watch them disappear while I was putting on my eyeliner. And, when I didn't wash it off in the evening, it remained pretty good overnight! One of the few products I have ordered lately that did what it said it would. I hope it works just as well on everybody who orders it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 21, 2019

      Company Response from Plexaderm Skincare

      Hi Laraine. We are very excited to hear about your great Plexaderm results! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.


Showing 1-11 of 91

Write a Review for Plexaderm Skincare!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Plexaderm Skincare