Read 338 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 278 4 star: 15 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 338
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter review

    • Boca Raton, FL,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this kitty litter for two weeks and it STINKS! I don’t know why my cat would ever go in her litter box with it smelling so strongly of urine! I’m canceling my monthly subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 17, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Jessica. We'd love the opportunity to make PrettyLitter work for you. It sounds like the reason your litter box started to smell at two weeks was that you didn't get enough depth in your litter box. Everyone uses litter boxes of all shapes and sizes and this can effect the duration and odor control of PrettyLitter. Please email us at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie), and I'll be happy to help you find the perfect amount of litter for your furry friend. Looking forward to talking with you!


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Smells AWFUL

    • Albertson, NY,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your time. When you mix the litter as directed, it smells so incredibly bad. The smell lingered in my house for days. I literally wanted to vomit. The odor is overwhelmingly horrific. Although prior to mixing the urine around, the litter didn’t smell at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 22, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Lorin. We'd love the opportunity to make PrettyLitter work for you. It sounds like the reason your litter box started to smell was that you didn't get enough depth in your litter box. Everyone uses litter boxes of all shapes and sizes and this can effect the duration and odor control of PrettyLitter. Please email us at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa), and I'll be happy to help you find the perfect amount of litter for you and your little one. Looking forward to talking with you!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service

    • Illinois,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I purchased this, the ad stated that the bag would last four weeks if you only have one cat. After reading reviews, I see that a lot of people have to switch litter every three weeks. I have to change every two weeks! They will not refund or send any replacement bags since I have my bag in the laundry room. I should not have it in the laundry room, kitchen or bathroom! I guess they want it in the living room or dining room or maybe even your master bedroom. I like the litter but go through it too fast.

    The customer service was the AWFUL part. Not to mention, if I ordered four bags and each should last four weeks, why did they do auto-replenish (which I didn't authorize) one month later? I shouldn't need for 3-4 months. Even in my case every two months. I would have liked to continue with the product, but cannot see how I possibly can with a company. Purchase at your own risk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 25, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Barb! We're sorry your experience was less than perfect. We try to make it clear that PrettyLitter is exclusively a subscription service. This is because we want members to enjoy the convenience of having litter delivered to their door each month. That being said, we'd love to make things right! Send an email to meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa) and I'll be happy to help. Looking forward to talking with you!


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not good for multiples - does not control odor

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter does not work for multiple cats, each bag is too is little, the cost is over the top. Also, the website has been down for account access for two days and they don’t respond to emails. Someone did respond via messenger, but it still isn’t addressed so I can’t cancel my next order. We tried for two cycles and the odor is escalating. We gave it plenty of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 21, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Barbara. We're sorry to hear your experience with PrettyLitter was less than perfect. It sounds like you were having issues with saturation, which can cause PrettyLitter's odor-blocking technology to weaken. That being said, we'd love the opportunity to give you the experience you deserve. Please send over an email to meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa), and we'd be more than happy to help you find the perfect amount of litter for your household. Looking forward to talking with you!


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Lexington, MA,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought four bags of PrettyLitter after seeing multiple Facebook ads and reading reviews on their website. They arrived, I opened one bag and put it into a litter box, and the next day the house was covered in very sharp crystals of litter. I have seven cats and seven litter boxes, I know how to keep litter boxes tidy and I have mats around every box, I've never experienced any litter this messy. Their customer support person wrote me back a day later suggesting I put my litter box "in a kiddy pool" or building a wall of cardboard boxes around it. At this point, even after vacuuming the whole house, I had a piece of this litter stuck in my foot and had to have it extracted by a doctor. I told this to the customer service person, said this was not what I wanted to do with my litter boxes and that I simply wanted to return the unopened bags of litter, and he responded that I could return them at my own cost and wouldn't get a full refund - this was after buying them with a "100% satisfaction guarantee".

    At that point, I put a review on their website, which they removed. This is a very bad company, I'm fairly convinced at this point that they are a scam and are removing negative reviews from their site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 15, 2019

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience Christine. We hope our previous replies reached you without issue. We were able to give you a refund and your review finished pending and can be seen on our website. A member of our team has been in touch via email with you directly and if you have any other questions don't hesitate to reach out to them.


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't clump

    I was so hopeful for this litter, but after four days I threw it all out. It's impossible to scoop out any urine since it doesn't clump, so when you try to, it just spreads all throughout the litter. My cat's paws smelled disgusting because it does such a poor job controlling odor even when they bury their waste. It was a cool idea but I found out recently that there is another product that does the exact same job detecting illness in cats and all you have to do is sprinkle it on top. I wouldn't recommend this litter to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 27, 2017

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Hi Lillian,

      Thanks for your comment. PrettyLitter's top compliment from customers is the odor control, but I believe you when you say you had problems because we should have made it more clear. We're proud to say that PrettyLitter is a non-clumping litter. Many of our customers come from clay clumping litter brands and it takes some time for them to get acclimated to the concept of silica litter. With PrettyLitter, the urine is absorbed, the odor eliminated and the moisture evaporated. Just mix the litter and scoop the poop.

      It would be helpful if you reached out letting us know how much depth you had in the litter box, the number of cats using the litter box, how many bags you had in each box and how many litter boxes you had. We're happy to help you by providing instructions of how to properly use PrettyLitter as well as send complimentary bags of PrettyLitter for subscribers willing to give PrettyLitter another try. Please email us at meow@prettylitter.com for further information.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Awesome in theory, poor in execution.

    • Fairfield, CT,
    • Jul 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted this to be as great as it sounded. I wanted it to be one less thing I worried about in my month. I wanted it to last the prescribed length of time.

    Instead what we got was a subscription product that arrived so slowly we had to supplement with other litter. Even after moving the date of arrival up by two weeks earlier, the shipment was delayed again.

    The litter doesn't last anywhere near one month. We're lucky if we are getting two weeks out of it. The cats have taken to peeing on the floor in front of the box when they've had enough.

    Sad we had to give up and go back to the old school method of buying things in store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Definitely not what I was hoping for

    • Madison, WI,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really excited to try PrettyLitter. And when I got the litter, I was excited. This stuff is super soft, and it looks nice when you first put it in. I imagine cats love this stuff on their feet, it feels nice.

    However, the odor control, no. NOT what the product claims. I mix around the litter three times each day, and it still smells. I just put this litter in less than a week ago, it shouldn't stink. I have 2 two-pound bags in each litter box. So more than the company claims you need in a box. Both boxes have three inches depth, again, more than the company claims you need. But it stinks. I am actually concerned my cats will stop using the boxes because of the smell. So I will likely throw it out soon, after LESS THAN A WEEK.

    The company claims it is likely because I am using too little litter, but I'm not sure how they can claim that when I am using more than it says I need.

    It makes sense, you aren't scooping out the pee, you are mixing it around and around, so the smell is still there. However, the company claims that because of the design and ingredients, it's not supposed to smell. Not the case for my cats.

    Super bummed. Just not worth the price if it doesn't work. I'd be happy to buy this product and chuck it out after a week and a half every time if the price were lower. But for that price, I expect it to last a month as it says it will.

    I canceled my subscription. I do not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 10, 2017

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Hi Kelli,

      My name is Cassie, I am the Director of Customer Experience at PrettyLitter. I was unable to contact you via phone and email but I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience. Our obligation is to you and your feline family members, and your feedback means the world to us. We love that you were excited to try our product, and we are sorry to hear you didn’t have the experience you expected. I wanted to reach out personally because I can understand your frustration when using a product exactly as directed and it not living up to your expectations. Odor control is one of PrettyLitter's top compliments, so we're eager to determine what happened and committed to making this right for you.

      We want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter as intended in your multi-cat household. Odor control issues usually stem from shallow litter depth, but there are other potential causes as well. The location of your box, the depth of litter, the number of cats using each box, urine volume per cat, as well as litter box mixing technique all factor in. From your comment, though, I think your problem either stems from too much depth in your litter boxes, or too many kitties using one box. How many cats do you have using the two boxes you're mentioned?

      If each cat has their own litter box, then we recommend filling each of them to 2.0 inches of depth. Under-filling the box can lead to saturation which would cause an odor control issue, but over-filling the box can cause odor issues as well. Based on your review, we may have missed the mark in educating you on the proper use of our product.

      PrettyLitter works because those soft, white crystals you described actually absorb your cat's urine. Over time, the water and moisture evaporate out, leaving the microscopic solids (and the smell) of the urine trapped inside the crystals. Filling the litter box to 3 inches can actually prevent the evaporation from occurring because the extra inch of PrettyLitter is too thick to allow the lower layer crystals to evaporate. In this case, the saturated crystals would stay wet and full of urine at the bottom of the box, leading to the odor issue you're describing.

      In the end, I want you to be able to get the full experience of PrettyLitter, a product you were excited to try and a product we are extremely proud of. Please reply back to my email and I'll be happy to make it happen.

      I hope this helps, and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

      Best,

      Cassie


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Tried it for a couple months, poor odor control

    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was steered toward PrettyLitter by my daughter who tried it and said it was great. So I gave it a shot.

    I used all the recommendations on how to introduce my feline friend to PrettyLitter. Initially, it was pretty easy to get her to use it; then due to odor control, nope, no more. Certainly could not get a month out of one bag, maybe two weeks. So as the odor control was poor at best, it stunk (as my daughter eventually said as well), and I wanted to cancel.

    Two reps on different occasions tried to get me to reconsider and help solve the "problem." Nope, I wanted to cancel as one of the suggestions was two bags a month (definitely not cost effective). So while it is good in theory and, yes, it does monitor urine color (which was always healthy), both me and my daughter stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 13, 2017

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for reaching out to share your feedback with us Marc. I’m glad your feline friend transitioned well to PrettyLitter, but I’m sorry to hear you were having an issue with odor control. I understand your frustration, but I’m eager to determine what happened and make this right for you, as odor control is one of PrettyLitter's top compliments.

      PrettyLitter works because the super dry silica crystals absorb all the liquid and moisture when your cat urinates. A dry litter pan makes an environment where odor-causing bacteria won’t grow. Over time, the water and moisture evaporate out of the crystals, leaving the microscopic solids (and the odor) of the urine trapped inside the crystals. Odor control issues are caused by saturation of these crystals. In your case, we’d like to explore why your crystals became saturated so early on and see if we can find a solution.

      I want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter as intended. Odor control issues usually stem from shallow litter depth, but there are other potential causes as well. The location of your box, the number of cats using each box, urine volume per cat, as well as litter box mixing technique can all factor in.

      In the end, we want you to be able to get the full experience of PrettyLitter, a product you were excited to try and a product we are extremely proud of. Please send us an email at meow@prettylitter.co with 'Attn: Cassie' on the subject line and I’ll make it happen!

      I hope this helps, and I look forward to hearing from you soon!


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bags of litter are too small!

    • Federal Way, WA,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would have given this 5 stars, but the bag is just way too small. I bought a small litter box, and one bag barely leaves 1.5 inches of litter. It would leave the 2 inches of litter if you had a "mini" litter box I guess. They offer a second bag a month for another $21 if it isn't deep enough. But $42 a month for cat litter is just way too much. I will likely have to cancel until they offer a realistic size bag of cat litter for $21.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 5, 2017

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for reaching out, Rachel. Your feedback means the world to us. We're delighted to hear you love the product aside from the bags being smaller than you'd like. I'm sorry to hear you aren't getting enough depth in your litter pan. We have recorded your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We want you to be able to try this product at the optimum 2 inches of depth. I'd be happy to help you dial in the best usage for your household and litter box size. Go ahead and reply to the email I sent you and I'll be more than happy to help! I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    This litter was great...for two weeks. I purchased two bags for my two-cat household and followed all recommended directions for use (2 inches of litter which I measured to double check, only scoop feces, stir the urine areas to mix, clean the box daily). I even swept up litter that got kicked out of the box and put it back in to ensure less loss of litter.

    I loved it for the first 1.5 weeks then noticed an increase in urine odor and slight blue tint. After another three days, all of the litter had turned into blue slush that no longer absorbed any urine and my entire house reeked of cat urine. Not a pleasant smell to come home to after work.

    I attempted to call the company to discuss the issue, but there was no answer. I emailed the customer service department and after three days have yet to receive a reply. I attempted to leave a review on the company's website but, surprise, the link is not activated so no reviews can be left.

    I am extremely disappointed in this product and the fact that it only works as advertised for half of the time it is supposed to. I would have been willing to pay the high cost per month had it functioned as advertised but am unwilling to shell out the exorbitant price to buy four bags per month, which it appears I would need to do since two bags only last half a month.

    Bottom line - don't fall for this company's false advertising, save your money and buy something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 338

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review