Read 643 Quip Toothbrush Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 484 4 star: 58 3 star: 10 2 star: 21 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 643
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I hate it!

    • Arkansas,
    • Nov 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was all excited by the promo. First time to try, the brush head stuck to the inside of my mouth. It was impossible to slide it down to a new position because it was pulling the inside skin of my mouth along with it. It stuck to my tongue when trying to brush the inside of my teeth. It needs to be easy to slide around.

    I finally figured out it was that strange nubby rubber thing on the back of the brush head, later told by customer service it was a tongue cleaner. I tried to cut it off with a craft knife and it helped, but I can't get it all off. Maybe with an electric sander?

    The #2 problem is how very difficult it is to push the on/off button, impossible to do with the brush inside my mouth. A 2-handed, multiple-attempt wrestling match every time, so suds are splattering all over the sink. I need to return it and cut my losses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Dec 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, as a dentist, I would want my patients to not have to figure out how to get an electric toothbrush to work. This product seems simple, but there must be a flaw in it as I had to take the professional trial brush I received apart and change the battery to get it to work. Then I could not turn it off. It's like my brush is missing something in its assembly. Once I got it to turn on, it would not turn off except by removing the battery.

    The brush simply is flawed in the assembly, or it's missing something is the only thing I can figure out. Also, I tried to contact the company, and there is no manned help support by phone. The chat didn't work either. So the only way you can get help is via an email. And I'm still waiting for a reply.

    Bottom line, go buy a battery operated spin brush at your local grocery store. This one isn't worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 2, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Deborah! It looks like you we replied to you two hours after emailing the help email address supplied on your welcome card. We can assure you our chat system is working but you may have tried to contact while it was "offline". This simply means our agents were too busy at the time but the system prompts you to leave a message and our team would have got back to you in hours if doing so.

      It sounds like there was a misunderstanding with the 2-minute timer function/power button and potentially slightly difficult to press the power button. It looks like our dental team has already sent out a replacement for you and were able to help you promptly.

      While we are never pleased to hear of product misunderstanding or issues, we hope you can understand that having shipped Quip for three years to hundreds of thousands of happy customers. Unfortunately, a very small handful will inevitably have an issue at some point, which is why we have a support team here and happy to help seven days a week.

      We would greatly appreciate it if you would be willing to update this review once your replacement is received to reflect what happened since posting this.

      Thanks for your feedback and we are glad we could help out.


  • 9 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Ordered it over a week ago, still waiting for it

    • Oregon,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    According to the tracking, it shipped three days ago but has only traveled 12 miles!? Whatever, it's too late to cancel the order so in a month or so, if I ever get the damn thing, I will update this review. So far, I am not loving the experience with Quip.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 11, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi J! Sorry if there was a confusion, but it sounds like you selected the free 3-7 business day shipping. So your package still has 4 business days to arrive, based on the estimate provided during checkout. If you were looking for faster shipping we do offer 2-3 day shipping for $10. You also have 30 days to return your Quip for a refund if you were not happy with the free shipping service. We look forward to seeing your updated review once your product arrives. We are always happy to help you track your package on help@getquip.com.


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Customer service ignoring me

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm happy to provide screenshots to back this up. I have contacted Quip multiple times to initiate a return since I'm not satisfied with my order. Per their policy, this is allowed within 30 days of my order (I'm in this window, though not for long, after the shipping and lack of response from their support department).

    I started by emailing help@getquip.com, since that is the preferred contact listed on the site, and chat agents seem to be unavailable. I emailed twice over the course of 5 days with no response.

    I reached out to Quip's Facebook Messenger, in hopes of finding some help there. They responded, asked for the email address I used, and never got back to me. I then sent them a screenshot of the email I initially sent, with a timestamp, to verify my issue and perhaps help them troubleshoot. Still no response after two days.

    I've already canceled my recurring plan, even setting aside my dissatisfaction with the product, I'm not giving money in perpetuity to a company that ignores customer questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 15, 2017

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi CM! We believe this review may be a few days old as it seems you have been helped already. The issue was that our emails were going to your promotion/spam folder for some reason.

      We can see you have now been helped and we would love it if you would take the time to update your review when you get a second.

      We pride ourselves on our industry-leading customer service response times and we are sorry that an over-zealous spam filter caused this issue!

      Laura


  • 13 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Barely vibrates. Does it work?

    • Medford, MA,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this Quip Toothbrush for my wife. It BARELY vibrates! Is this the way its supposed to work? Because it's SEEMS that it's not strong enough to move an ant! It had great reviews, but does it work? Does not seem to clean.

    Has anyone else experienced this same problem, or is this one simply defective?

    She's not happy, and I have not bought one for myself because this does NOT appear to work as one would expect.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi B. Kennedy,

      Quip uses sensitive vibrations to help with providing a thorough, yet, non-damaging clean. Unfortunately, there are many misconceptions about oral care that we are trying to correct. One of the most habit damaging is “the more power, the better the clean.” There is actually no difference in how well a toothbrush can clean your teeth between a manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), it comes down to which one helps you brush better, and that is mainly down to personal preference.

      As we mention in our materials, the key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique and routine. Electric brushes are recommended by dentists because they help encourage and guide better brushing. At Quip, we know that even making a small improvement to your habits will have a fundamentally larger effect on your oral health than any change in movement or power ever could.

      With that said, we certainly cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day for a full 2 minutes.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 15 out 20 people found this review helpful

    The "doesn't clean, leaves plaque" toothbrush

    • Red Bank, NJ,
    • Dec 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter and I were excited to try this unique toothbrush, so we went all in and bought two, along with the auto-refill. Very quickly we saw a film form on our teeth that was not there before using Quip. We had to floss before and after each time we brushed with this toothbrush as it did not remove most food.

    The day after a cleaning at the dentist, the film was back. Our teeth never felt clean! The dental hygienist was not happy with the state of our teeth or gums. Two days later the film was back on our teeth, so we stopped using Quip and bought a Sonicare. Two weeks later, no film and no food between our teeth.

    I contacted Quip, and all they did was cite their "benefits." They did not seem to care that their toothbrush did not clean.

    The bottom line is, Quip does not clean teeth well!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Gail,

      We are sorry to hear about your recent dental visit. We hope that your dentist and dental hygienist mentioned that the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor and in fact, they are manufactured next to other popular leading brands in the industry. So there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly.

      The truth is, all toothbrushes should be used in exactly the same way, gently brushing tooth by tooth, focusing on the gum line area, making sure to cover the whole mouth. Unfortunately, many believe that manual brushes should be used with "big strong sweeping brushing motions" and electric brushes "don't need to be wiggled around at all." It is these misconceptions that can, in rare cases, people decline (or improve!) their oral health when they are changing brushes, and it sounds like for some reason the Quip toothbrush changed your technique for the worse. We are sorry to hear this, especially as we designed quip to change people's technique and understanding of oral care for the better!

      As we always say, we cannot speak about personal preference because the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try.


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    This sucks and I can't get a refund!

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a Quip Toothbrush for Christmas and was completely disappointed with the whole thing. I asked for a refund, but because it was ordered for me more than 30 days prior to my receiving it, that was denied. So what you have is a company that refuses to stand behind its' product and refuses to acknowledge that the product is inferior.

    Do you want a Quip? I'll give you the cheaper, and perhaps better, solution: buy a cheap little vibrator from Amazon (of course they sell them), and tape a regular toothbrush to it. Voila! You have a Quip for less than 10 bucks.

    Don't say you weren't warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Troy!

      As your dentist and the ADA will tell you, the best brush for your teeth comes down to personal preference (which you enjoy the most), not what vibration frequency a brand chooses to set their brush. (We chose ours because research showed us that it was the power that people enjoyed the most.)

      So we are sorry to hear that Quip was not to your liking. Quip's bought during Christmas (from the end of November) are subject to extended returns through the end of January, so please do reach out if you are looking to return!


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Quip is a terrible toothbrush

    • New York,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the basic $25 Quip Toothbrush as a travel toothbrush. It is no better than a manual toothbrush. It vibrates, but it is not clear that the vibrations do anything in terms of cleaning. The one benefit over a manual toothbrush is that it has a timer, but really, you can count out the four 30 second periods yourself. It is quite attractive and has a nice looking case, but I can't wait to get home and use my regular cordless electric toothbrush. I can already feel the plaque starting to build up again over just a few days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi,

      As your dentist will tell you, the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor and in fact, manufactured next to other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that effects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly.

      The truth is, all toothbrushes should be used in exactly the same way, gently brushing tooth by tooth, focusing on the gum line area, making sure to cover the whole mouth. Unfortunately, many believe that manual brushes should be used with "big, strong, sweeping, brushing motions" and electric brushes "don't need to be wiggled around at all" and it is these misconceptions that can, in rare cases, cause people decline (or improve!) their oral health when changing brushes.

      As we always say, we cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 14 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Worst toothbrush ever

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The toothbrush a) doesn't brush well, b) breaks really quickly, and c) naturally gets really disgusting since there are so many hard to wash silly components. I paid for a whole year and cancelled my subscription before the year was up because I couldn't stand using the product for a day longer.

    Save your money and get another toothbrush. After I canceled, they kept charging me for a few more months, and when I figured that out, they refused to refund me. Awful experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Erwin!

      We can't find an account or support ticket under your name, so please do email help@getquip.com

      We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip. As we mention in our materials, and your dentist will tell you, the key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique and routine. (A brush cannot "brush well instead not being able to be "used well". We designed Quip to help people brush better). This is a misconception we are trying to correct, and our dental team will be happy to expand further, should you have any questions.

      We can assure Quip does not break easily, as we cover all Quips for the life of their plan, and for the first year of having your Quip even if without a plan. (We have hundreds of thousands of happy customers for 3 years). Our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to help out with any trouble you are experiencing.

      Quip's design is the most seamless on the market, specifically designed to repel water/toothpaste and stop it building up. We will also be keen to hear which part you are mentioning is getting dirty, so we can see why and how this is happening to help.

      The only way for a refill order to generate in our system is if there is an active refill plan in your account. A refill confirmation email is always sent out as soon as a refill has been generated to allow for any cancellations before it is shipped out, and you can cancel a refill at any time in your profile area, or again by emailing help@getquip.com

      We are so sorry if any of this information was missed, and thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this silly toothbrush

    • Chandler, AZ,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Quip is attractive, but that's where the positives stop. My husband and I burst into laughter when we turned one on for the first time. This is in no way an electric toothbrush. It is simply a manual toothbrush that makes a light buzzing sound. If you use an electric toothbrush, you will be terribly disappointed with the Quip. We were actually puzzled as to why they would market this to people who use electric toothbrushes.

    I sent ours back immediately and was given a refund minus a restocking fee. I'm happily back to my non-sexy but super effective $8 Arm & Hammer Spinbrush.

    Don't be fooled by the hype.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Cindy!

      As your dentist will tell you, the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly. We designed Quip to guide the perfect healthy routine to clean.

      With that said, we cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes and it sounds like that is your old brush.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try, and keep up the good brushing!


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    A gadget

    • New York,
    • Jan 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s as bad as it is beautiful. When I turned it on, I really wondered if there was something wrong with my toothbrush. So I made some more research online, and I understood that the vibrations are just naturally extremely weak.

    I don’t buy the Quip team answers according to which it’s not about power but how you use it. Quip doesn’t have much more power than a manual one. So you would need to use your Quip like a manual one to expect any result.

    I’m still baffled that some people/magazines gave a good review. It just doesn’t make any sense. It looks like an Apple toothbrush but feels like a Dollar shop one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi S.I

      Just like on our website, and our help team has told you (and your dentist will tell you too), the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly.

      The truth is, all toothbrushes should be used in almost exactly the same way, gently brushing tooth by tooth, focusing on the gum line area, making sure to cover the whole mouth. Unfortunately, many believe that manual brushes should be used with "big, strong, sweeping, brushing motions" and electric brushes "don't need to be wiggled around at all." It is these misconceptions that can cause big issues, alongside the other major issues that most people are not brushing twice a day, for two minutes, or change brush heads when they are worn out.

      Of course, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try!


Showing 23-33 of 643

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review