Read 652 Quip Toothbrush Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 492 4 star: 59 3 star: 10 2 star: 21 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 652
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Don’t fall for the aesthetics of a toothbrush

    I have gum issues so my dentist told me I should get a Sonicare or vibrating toothbrush to help massage and stimulate my gums. All of the ones she recommended came large, bulky, and were unattractive units that would take up half my bathroom counter space.

    Thanks to social media algorithms spying on my shopping, an advertisement for Quip promptly popped up on Instagram. I was immediately drawn to the aesthetics and compactness of this design. As many other reviewers have already stated, these are the only positive things about this toothbrush. What a complete WASTE of money and plastic. The toothbrush doesn’t even vibrate, it simply makes a vibrating noise. I think I even do a poorer job of brushing because of the way the toothbrush is designed.

    Not much else to say except for it’s such a total waste that I felt compelled to warn others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jaclyn!

      As your dentist will tell you, the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has. Dentists recommend electric toothbrushes because they help people brush better (softer, longer, with better technique) not because their movements magically negate the need for good brushing (as the ads want you to believe).

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, sensitive sonic mode of vibration, and even manufactured with other popular leading brands in the industry. There will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly, we just designed quip to help the entire brushing routine and technique for a better clean.

      We cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you is most often the one you enjoy most, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Quip.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try!


  • 19 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Don't be fooled by this cleverly worded scam

    I feel ripped off.

    The Quip website pages make it seem like the smallest vibrating toothbrush ever invented but after getting it and seeing just how little it moves I decided to look into it more. That was when I found the real story of how it is only vibrating to help you time the brush session. Only after I made the purchase, like, I am sure so many other people do. Quip should be ashamed of themselves for not making things clear up front, but then they have to hide the facts or no one would ever buy their fake vibrating brush.

    I don’t need to pay for a subscription to remind me how long two minutes is, or to remind me to change heads, or to pester me with useless advertisement emails that remind me what a waste of money I have made.

    The Quip website states: "Unfortunately there have been many misconceptions about what makes an effective toothbrush, born from misleading advertising over the years."

    This is a true statement AND Quip continues to be part of those misconceptions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 10, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi James!

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't love your quip! Loving your toothbrush is by far one of the biggest drivers of toothbrush effectiveness, which is why we offer a 30-day return option for those that don't.

      Our ads, website and help team are extremely clear about what matters to your oral health and what matters in a toothbrush. The vibrations of Quip are from the same motors used in other premium brushes and do the same thing, help you brush better. They are not only for timing as you say. Our website and welcome materials are simply pointing out that electric toothbrushes are not magic and their biggest benefits are habit forming, which features can help with.

      We are so sorry Quip isn't for you and hope you keep up the crucial good brushing technique we teach to use with Quip, with any brush you choose going forward.


  • 20 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Worst aftercare service ever

    I've had a complete nightmare with these folk. Worst aftercare service ever.

    I bought a double brush package a year ago, and after six months the brushes started to fade on power (I was changing batteries and cleaning them, etc., like directed) and it wasn't as good. I also had them sending my three monthly packages of new heads and toothpaste to the wrong address, TWICE! And charge me for it, TWICE!

    Then, when one of the brushes finally broke completely, I was told I had to pay to replace it! Then, three months later, the second one breaks completely. I go back and forth, maybe 5 or 6 times, sending photo's etc., and it told me to send it back in for them to check over and then they'll send a replacement. So I now am down two brushes.

    I also said I wanted to change the color, and I thought maybe due to all the issues I'd have been just given the upgrade to the black one. No, they told me I had to pay to upgrade. This was after me emailing multiple times back and forth on the poor service I was getting.

    If you want a brush that'll last six months and then you have to haggle to get it replaced, then go for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 10, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Laurence, we are so sorry to hear that you had some trouble with your Quip and account.

      We can see that our team had rectified your shipping address and sent the packages to the corrected location for you at no additional cost.

      Regarding one of your Quips that had broken, we can see you had let us know that this was thrown away. As per our warranty, we cannot replace thrown away items for free (although I can see that our help team did offer you a large discount to try and help out). We would always recommend contacting our help team before discarding of any Quip items. Our full warranty can always be found on our help page at www.getquip.com/help#returning.

      We can see you had requested a change of color and material of your Quip for the replacement which was not discarded. We can only offer replacements for the same material that was initially purchased (plastic for plastic or metal for metal). In this case, we can see the request to change from plastic to metal which our team can help with, however, the difference will be charged to the account.

      We apologize if any of our warranty information was missed when initially having trouble with your Quip. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please email help@getquip.com and our team would be happy to help you further.


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Amazing brush - if it didn't always break.

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I completely loved my Quip for the first few months. I had bought 3, one for me, my mom, and my dad.

    After a while, my replaceable toothbrush part of the quip started just snapping off mid-brush. I contacted Quip, and they sent a replacement, and they said I had been changing the head wrong and sent instructions in gif form. The instructions were exactly how I had been changing the head, but I dutifully followed their new instructions to a tee.

    Then, my mom and dad both reported to me that theirs had broken as well. I contacted Quip, got replacements, and sent them the instructions to be sure they were changing the Quip right.

    Then, mine broke again.

    Quip replaced mine again, but then my mom's broke a second time too. From regular, careful use. They refused to replace it, told me they were being nice before, but their warranty clearly stated misuse of the brush would void the warranty. They offered 50% off, and my mom wanted her brush back (because she does love it), so she paid for it.

    Then, my dad's broke again.

    I ask you which is more likely, a family of 3, all smart people who are good at following directions, all mishandle their brush, breaking it in the same way, OR there is a flaw with the brush that causes it to crack? I hopped on Twitter and saw someone else was having the same issue.

    We've been through 6 brushes!

    Quip is refusing to replace my father's brush as well, but he is not as forgiving as my mother, and he prefers to go back to a regular toothbrush then pay for a new brush that will likely break again in a few months.

    I can't in good conscious recommend this brush anymore. The brushing experience is phenomenal, but the value is considerably lower when you realize how often you'll have to pay to replace the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 8, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Tim,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quips.

      We understand your concern that 3 family members are having similar issues, but we have been shipping Quip's for over three years to hundreds of thousands of members and can assure you there are no defects that could be causing something like this (as we would not be able to operate if there were).

      We can assure you that our handles are thoroughly tested and, as per our help exchange, the only way we have been able to replicate the damage that you had experienced is by removing the brush head incorrectly.

      As per our warranty, we cover you for the life of your refill plan for any manufacturing defects. While this damage is not a manufacturing defect, we can see our team had assisted with two free replacements for you. As a courtesy to a long time customer, we can see that they had also offered an exclusive discount to order a new Quip for the third brush that had been broken.

      We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and our team is always available to help with any questions regarding the maintenance of your Quip and can help with your fellow family members directly to try and look into what may be causing this.


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy Quip products

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I have to say Quip is very good at marketing, which attracted me to buy it in the first place.

    I got the electric toothbrush and toothpaste package today. I was so excited to receive it, but so disappointed the second I started to use it.

    Although it claims itself as an electric toothbrush, (yes, it needs a battery to vibrate), but it does not do anything an electric toothbrush is supposed to do. According to the instruction pamphlet that comes with it, you have to follow the technique to brush for Quip electric toothbrush to work. The technique they teach you is the same technique as if to use a manual toothbrush. I immediately understood why, once I turned the toothbrush on; it does not vibrate as significantly or effectively as any other electric toothbrushes I had used (Sonicare and Oral-B). When I put it on my teeth, the vibration was too weak to help brush any food or film off my teeth. However, because of its slim design, you can feel the vibration passing on to the handle as well. My hand started to feel numb not long after I turned it on to brush. I felt that it is more annoying to have it on than just shut it off since I need to brush it manually anyway.

    In my opinion, it is at most a regular manual toothbrush, if not worse, which for sure is not worth the cost. Functionally, it is not comparable to other electronic toothbrushes like Sonicare and Oral-B at all.

    In addition, the toothpaste has a weird taste.

    In the end, I couldn't finish brushing with this new set of toothbrush and toothpaste and had to brush with my Sonicare and old toothpaste again. Hope this is helpful when you are wondering whether to try this new product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 8, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Diamond -- We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip.

      Electric toothbrushes should be used almost exactly the same as a manual which is why we (and other major electric toothbrush manufacturers, if you read their instructions) advise going tooth by tooth, wiggling the bristles around the gum line of each tooth. Electric brushes simply lend a helping hand in trying to get the bristles between the gums and teeth and encourage people to brush softer and enjoy brushing more.

      The effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has, and dentists recommend electric toothbrushes because they help people brush better (softer, longer, with better technique) not because their movements magically negate the need for good brushing (as the ads want you to believe)!

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, sensitive sonic mode of vibration and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating, or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly. We just designed Quip to help the entire brushing routine and technique for a better clean.

      We cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is most often the one you enjoy most, so we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Quip.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try, and we hope you keep up good brushing technique whichever brush you are using!


  • 12 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Poor product, worse customer service.

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company. Jesus.

    Let's start at the beginning. Quip arrives! Yay! Cool new electric toothbrush! Look at me being a good adult, and taking care of my teeth.

    Six months later: Quip won't turn off when I push the button. I finally get it to turn off, and it never comes back to life. I email Quip customer service thinking, "this is a hip internet startup, I have no doubt that this will be a simple, painless process."

    I get what is clearly a form response, that sums up as follows: Oh, I'm sorry! Maybe it's your fault. Have you tried any of these relatively simple steps to make sure it's not your fault? If it's STILL not working, send us several pictures of our malfunctioning product. At this point, I was like, "Ok cool. They're just covering their bases." I tried all the things (to no avail), and then sent back the requested pictures, thinking it would soon be resolved.

    Oh no. Their next email asked me to send the damn thing back to them. THEIR product broke after less than a year of use. Why do I have to go out of my way to send it back to them? They (kindly, I guess) send you a shipping label that you have to use within 30 days. Now at this time, I was two days away from going on a month long trip. I certainly did not have time to do it before I left, and it expired before I returned.

    When I asked for a new one (because they had sent it at an inconvenient time), they told me no, but I could pay to send it in myself. I was getting fairly annoyed by this point, so I angrily put it off for a while. Meanwhile, they kept sending me replacement brush heads, and every time one arrived in the mail, I was reminded of how shitty and annoying they were.

    Fast forward some time, and I finally paid to send their own stupid, broken product back to them, so I could finally get a functioning one.

    Two months later, still nothing. No response from them, no replacement toothbrush, nothing. So I emailed them again, trying to be as calm as possible, explaining the situation. At the end of the email, I suggested that if they were unwilling or unable to send me a new toothbrush that they simply refund my money and take back their stupid replacement brush heads that are sitting idly in my bathroom cabinet - useless (I was marginally more civil in my email).

    And the response I got? Another form email (as they all have been) saying "send us the tracking number, and we'll look into it." Good lord. Oh, and they also canceled my subscription, which for some reason made me even more annoyed.

    I have responded now with a photo of the receipt from UPS, including the tracking number. I have little hope that I will ever receive a replacement toothbrush, and I am left with little more than frustration (and useless replacement brush heads) for my trouble.

    Worst $50 I have ever spent.

    TLDR: If your Quip breaks, immediately cancel your subscription and give up (or just use it as a non-electric toothbrush I guess). They will make you jump through SEVERAL hoops, and there is no guarantee that you will get a replacement for your trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 5, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi SR,

      It looks like we sent a pre-paid return label in September 2016, and our team provided a return address with RMA number once that label expired to further help. Unfortunately, your return still hasn't been received, and the tracking number provided does not register with any shipping providers.

      As our team has already let you know, we're happy to send a replacement right away once there is any movement with your tracking number and receiving your Quip. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused, and we're always here to help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Customer service NIGHTMARE - Canadians beware

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give this zero stars, I would.

    I was really looking forward to trying Quip for its super sleek design and was excited to get rid of my ugly, bulky, messy looking charger on my counter, but sadly the item never arrived.

    I contacted Quip's customer service, which was AWFUL. After telling them several times that my shipment was lost, they couldn't offer any help (tracking info would not budge, they could clearly see it wasn't delivered). I contacted them about two weeks after I placed the order to let them know and I was told I had to wait until 30 business days, which equals 6 weeks!

    I checked my credit card statement and noticed it had already been charged. I also checked on USPS and their website stated that the sender (Quip) can file an investigation after 7 days, so I'm not sure why I was told I have to wait 6 weeks! Since I didn't want to wait that long, I contacted Quip again to ask for a refund, and even for a refund I had to wait until 30 business days! It was the most frustrating experience in my life! Good customer service would have actually tried to keep my business and sent me a new shipment while they figured out (in the background) what happened to the original order.

    In the end, they at least ended up issuing a refund in a timely manner. I've been looking at their competitor, BURST, which I think I will try instead and looks like a superior product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 5, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Michelle,

      We are very sorry to hear that you had some trouble with your shipment.

      As we state on our website, unfortunately, cannot track a package once it has arrived internationally, as the end delivery will be handled by your local shipping providers. International delivery is an estimate of 15 business days, this is just an estimate as we cannot control the end delivery time.

      We work with our USPS account directly and cannot file a lost claim notice after only 7 days, as this is still within our delivery time frame. Once the package has arrived internationally, your local shipping providers will need to be contacted directly as they will be completing the delivery rather than USPS.

      We can see our team has already assisted with a refund of your order, and we again are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Looked and sounded good, so then I got it

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While the toothbrush itself is sleek and stylish, the capsule it is in adds bulk to the brush, maybe a simple cover over the head would be better? Sorry but I’m a minimalist and am always looking for ways to travel lighter. Then I brushed my teeth and honestly the vibrations, in my opinion, do nothing more than create noise. I don’t need a 30-second pulse to remind me to move to another part of my mouth. A very disappointing product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 15, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Raymond,

      We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip!

      Unfortunately, there are many misconceptions about oral care that Quip is trying to correct. One of the worst is “the more power, the better the clean.” As the ADA and Consumer Reports say, there is no proven difference in how well a manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating, or rotating toothbrush will clean your teeth, as long as its used correctly and has soft bristles.

      Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Approval for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles, and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes, to provide a thorough clean that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, Quip is guiding good habits that really matter.

      That said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2 full minutes of brushing twice a day.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service/delivery

    • New York City, NY,
    • Apr 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live abroad and ordered a brush two weeks before a planned trip home so I could pick it up when I arrived. When I got back to the US, there was no toothbrush, even though it was already well beyond the stated delivery timeline. I contacted the company and asked them to expedite a replacement for me, but they said there wasn't enough time to do so and that the delivery problem "should resolve itself" in a few days. I don't have a few days, as I'm leaving the country again for a few months. I have neither a toothbrush nor a refund at this point. This company's delivery process is misleading and inaccurate, and their customer service is non-existent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 15, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Andrea,

      We are sorry to hear that you had some trouble with your order delivery.

      Unfortunately, we cannot control the end delivery time and as this is in the hands of USPS. At the time you had emailed in, we could not guarantee that your package would arrive in time before you left, even with an expedited reshipment as our help team had explained.

      Looking into your case further, we can see that the shipping zip code entered at checkout was not matching your street address, which can also cause an issue with delivery. We are always here to help with updating any shipping details before an order is shipped, to assure that your package arrives within the 3-7 business days, which is outlined for free standard shipping.

      We sincerely apologize for any trouble this may have caused. We are here to help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Quip is a gyp

    I HATE this toothbrush.

    I personally use an electric toothbrush, and I have good checkups. I floss and enjoy a clean mouth. The Quip was interesting because it seems so small and easy to travel with.

    This is the most expensive cheap toothbrush you will ever buy.

    It's the same as a little $1 travel toothbrush that quivers a little bit. If you're used to or are looking for a good quality electric toothbrush, don't buy this. The packaging and marketing is made to look all sleek and techie, but it's a cheap toothbrush, end of story.

    I was super disappointed and am currently trying to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 22, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Jessica,

      Quip is made alongside some of the top leading brands in the industry and has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety, and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes to provide a thorough, yet non-damaging clean that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, Quip is guiding the good habits that really matter. The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say, any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth just the same if you're brushing your teeth properly. That's why we created Quip, to help guide the habits that matter.

      That being said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2-full minutes of brushing twice every day.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Haven't received my Quip. Customer service unresponsive.

    I ordered the Quip about a week ago and was told through tracking that it was on its way, but DHL has not updated it since last week. USPS has not received it either, and I tried to contact Quip for some help, but have not received any response. Not sure what's going on. The reviews I read regarding similar experiences does not instill confidence in me. DHL usually ships items very quickly, and I'm in Philadelphia which shouldn't take that ship from New York. So far I'm not liking this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 22, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Nelsun,

      We're sorry to hear you had some trouble with shipping! Free standard shipping within the US is an estimate of 3-7 business days. We, unfortunately, cannot control the end delivery time, as this is just an estimate and the delivery will be in the hands of USPS. We reply to all emails within 24 hours during the weekdays, and we believe that we have found your email, which was received over a weekend. We apologize if there was a wait with receiving a reply from our team during business hours.

      It appears that your package has been delivered and we will be sure to share your feedback regarding shipping times with our team. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please email help@getquip.com.


Showing 34-44 of 652

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review