Somaderm Gel Reviews - Regain Your Youth?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 20, 2018

Somaderm Gel is a homeopathic, transdermal, over-the-counter product that promises to slowly elevate human growth hormone (HGH) levels in the body. As a result, the manufacturer advertises it works at the cellular level to help you obtain optimal health and regain your youth.

They indicate that since hormones are stored in the fatty tissue layer, you should apply the gel to thin areas of the skin. Specifically, “wherever veins are visible,” such as your underarms, forearms, wrists, and behind the knees.

This way, it will “ensure that Somaderm Gel will be transported directly to the bloodstream.”

Is this really the only homeopathic, transdermal, over-the-counter HGH product available without a prescription? Even then, is it the cutting-edge scientific breakthrough advertised by New U Life? Let’s start by taking a look at the role this hormone plays in the human body.

The Science Behind Human Growth Hormone (HGH)

Created by the pea-sized pituitary gland located at the base of the brain, the Mayo Clinic explains growth hormone “fuels childhood growth and helps maintain tissues and organs throughout life.”

However, this gland “slowly reduces the amount of growth hormone it produces” beginning in middle age. And it’s this recognition, they tell us, that has triggered an interest in using synthetic human growth hormone (HGH) to potentially help reduce common downsides related to the natural aging process, including “decreased muscle and bone mass.”

The problem? “There's little evidence to suggest human growth hormone can help otherwise healthy adults regain youth and vitality,” they report. In fact, “experts recommend against using HGH to treat aging or age-related conditions.”

Granted, all of this relates to the injection of artificial HGH. What about the ingredients found in Somaderm Gel and their HGH-boosting ability via the skin?

What Ingredients Will You Find in Somaderm Gel?

The New U Life lists the following ingredients for Somaderm Gel:

Active ingredients: Glandula suprarenalis suis 6X, Thyroidinum 8X, Somatropin 30X

Inactive ingredients: Purified Water, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root, Vitex agnuscastus (Chaste Tree) Fruit, Epimedium sagittatum (Epimedium) Aerial Parts, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf, Mucuna pruriens (Velvet Bean) Seed, Dioscorea villosa (Wild Yam) Root, Sodium Hydroxide, Ascorbic Acid, PEG-33/PEG-8/PEG-14/Dimethicone, Aloe barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopherols (Soy), Edetate Disodium, Natural Plant Extract, Potassium Sorbate Extract

Sites like Truth in Aging, Paula’s Choice, and EWG.org indicate that most of Somaderm’s inactive ingredients work as conditioning agents (caprylyl glycol, aloe, licorice, PEG-33/PEG-8/PEG-14/dimethicone), consistency agents (acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer), and cleansing agents (sodium hydroxide).

Additional functions include preservatives (phenoxyethanol, sorbic acid, potassium sorbate), antioxidants components (Camellia sinensis, ascorbic acid), and penetration enhancers (edetate disodium). In other words, ingredients you’re likely to find in many other skincare formulations.

Taking a Closer Look at Somaderm Gel’s Homeopathic Ingredients

What about Somaderm Gel’s active ingredients? The National Library of Medicine’s DailyMed (last updated 4/20/18) lists this specific formulation’s marketing status as “unapproved homeopathic.” They also include the following disclaimer:

“This homeopathic product has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration for safety or efficacy. FDA is not aware of scientific evidence to support homeopathy as effective.”

Why is this? As we detail in Is Homeopathy an Evidence-Based Medical System, homeopathic formulations are based on two central principles: like cures like, and dilutions/the law of minimum dose.

First, an ingredient that produces similar symptoms to the disease being addressed is added to a solution, such as water or alcohol. Then, this water/ingredient mix is subjected to a series of successive dilutions (also referred to as dynamizations or potentizations).

An X next to a number indicates that a “substance has been diluted by a factor of 10 at each stage.” So, in the instance of Somaderm Gel’s Glandula suprarenalis suis (as the first example), it’s been diluted to one part in ten, eight times.

Or, to put it into raw numbers, this means the formula contains one part Glandula to 100 million parts solution (10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10).

The problem, according to the International Journal of Pharmacotherapy, is that when it comes to homeopathic solutions, “the largest dilution possible that still contains at least one molecule of the original substance is 12C.” This could present a logistical problem based on the 30X dilution of Somatropin in Somaderm Gel.

And “even among smaller dilutions that do contain some molecules of the original substance, there almost certainly aren’t enough to have a meaningful effect on the human body.”

Could Somaderm Gel’s Homeopathic Ingredients Cause Side Effects

With so little of each active ingredient in Somaderm Gel, side effects could be rare. And like any skincare formulation, its inactive ingredients could cause irritation and redness at the application site, especially for those with sensitivities.

This is why it's essential to have an in-depth consultation with your dermatologist before beginning any new skincare, supplement, or homeopathic regimen, who can help you avoid potential side effects based on your diagnosis. This is especially the case for any product that promises to have a hormonal effect on the body.

With these details in mind, the Somaderm website emphasizes that application location “should be rotated so that no area of the skin gets overused.”

How Much Does Somaderm Gel Cost?

Somaderm Gel is only available from New U Life, at the following prices:

  • One-time purchase: $169.99, plus applicable S&H
  • Membership: $149.99, plus free S&H

All orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Per the site’s cancellation policy, “If your Somaderm Bottle has been open or the plastic wrap has been broken, you must Contact Us before returning the product.” Otherwise, you can “simply mail it back with your packing slip or the return order form.”

You can call support at 844-510-6398 or send an email to support@newulife.com.

How to Choose Between Somaderm Gel & Other Homeopathic Solutions

We encountered many other homeopathic formulations aimed at boosting HGH levels during our research, including popular options on marketplaces such as Amazon and Google Shopping, like High-Tech Somatomax ($45), Liddell Homeopathic Vital High Immune ($32), HPTP Pituitary Drops ($21), Vital II Hormone Free Spray ($28), and Clinical Strength Secretagogue Gold – Orange ($45), to name just a few.

As advertised on the New U Life website, though, Somaderm Gel was the only topical/transdermal offering available. Does this mean it’s worth the meaningfully higher price, though?

Returning to our Evidence-Based Medicine article cited earlier, regardless of the formula or the sales price, the fact of the matter is there’s little-to-no double-blind, placebo-controlled, peer-reviewed clinical evidence that homeopathy works. In fact, the FTC is considering requiring that all homeopathic products sold in the US come with a disclaimer on their packaging that they don’t work.

For this reason alone, we’ll reiterate that if you’re considering a homeopathic product—Somaderm Gel or otherwise—to address a real-world problem, make sure that you discuss the situation with your doctor before proceeding.

They can a) deliver a scientifically sound diagnosis after questioning and testing, and b) recommend options based on this diagnosis, including whether or not your options include homeopathy.

Bottom Line

In addition to the lack of reported clinical evidence for homeopathy in general, explicitly referencing Pleasant Hill, CA-based New U Life, the company held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, calculated according to seven customer reviews and nine closed complaints, as of 9/20/18.

Most seemed to reference problems receiving orders and no response from support. All were listed as ‘unanswered.’

Another critical factoid to keep in mind is that, although New U Life promotes Somaderm Gel as ‘FDA registered,’ the reality is that the supplements industry is almost wholly responsible for self-regulation. In other words, supplements aren’t reviewed by the FDA prior to public release, and the FDA doesn’t keep a database of ‘registered’ supplements.

Considering all of this, in addition to the product’s ultra-high price, we think the best option for achieving the most value for your money is talking with your primary care physician before placing an order for Somaderm Gel.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 39 Somaderm Gel Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 64% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 49 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't do anything

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this product faithfully and as directed for 6 months. The only change was the decrease in my bank account. I never noticed any benefits from using it. I am a menopausal woman who had heard from other users it stopped their hot flashes and other meno symptoms. This was not the case for me. Other users said it eliminated arthritis pain. This also did not happen to me. Everyone says to give it a few months try, I gave it 6 months. If it's not going to work after that amount of time, it never will.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Four months and nothing

    • Florida,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had high hopes for this product. All of the things it says it "MAY" do made it seem like the miracle I needed. I've been on it for months now and nothing. I'd be better off rubbing aloe on my pulse points. You have a terrible time getting your money back and even hearing back from the MLM reps once you have a complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Somaderm

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using faithfully for a month. Three times a day on the inside of my wrist. No change except in bank account. It's a scam. And people are falling for it. Give them a placebo. Same outcome, less money.

    Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Horrible accountability and customer service

    • California,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used this product for 4 months with very modest results, especially considering the price. I would continue to give it a further chance if the accountability of the company and customer service were better.

    My last bottle was one of the ones with the faulty pumps, only the pump that came with my bottle never worked, period, even after I was able to get it up and pumping. It would not pump gel out. I used the pump from my last bottle. I noticed on the first day that it did not seem as full. I ordered it on November 3rd, it arrived on November 9th. By November 21st the bottle was empty, using it no differently than I had the last previous bottles that all lasted through an entire month.

    Any time I have had trouble with an order (which has been from the beginning - the website didn't work, then there were order errors, they sent me two bottles instead of one in September, the errors and issues have been non stop, yet I gave the company a chance and hung in there) and there has been NO response from customer service for any of the issues, including this last issue. Zero.

    My distributor rep even talked to the company about my last bottle. Results? Too bad for me! The company refuses to accept responsibility for their errors and places them on the consumer.

    My next bottle (automatic shipping) won't arrive until early November (probably between the 3rd and the 9th), I'll have been out of the product for close to 10 days to two weeks.

    Considering the high price, the poor customer service and accountability, I am going to look into other products with companies that treat the consumer better than New U Life does.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My credit card was billed on 11/23 and my item not shipped until 5 days later because they ran out of shipping boxes! After 7 days, still no product. And now, they billed my credit card again for another gel! Customer service is non-responsive. They do not publish their hours, and each time I try to call they are closed, or I am on the phone for 8 minutes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Negative results

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this gel for four months as directed. The first week I had better sleep and vivid dreams just as they say. After that first week, it stopped helping with sleep. I continued using and about the third month I was starting getting heart palpitations and could not sleep more than 4 or 5 hours a night. I realized it must be the gel in my fourth month. I stopped using it and it took about two weeks but I the palpitations stopped and I was able to sleep again. Also, I was double charged. I could not get anyone to answer the phone or email in customer service. Finally, I just canceled everything. I am not sure what, but to me, it seems like something is not right with this product and company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Another poor product full of hype

    • Stockton, CA,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this product for six months and the only thing I noticed was some dreams. If this product had the retention rate of 93% like I was told, they are full of crap. I have a good friend that had over 80 people under him that is now down to less than 40 and they are dropping off like flies. I have used real HGH injections, which were amazing to use. I have found you can buy the real HGH for about $500 per month without a prescription for a three-month supply. That is 30 IUs. The recommendation for a 200 lb person is 7- 10 IU’s per week, but for $500 this price is much cheaper than most. Norditropin is the top selling HGH.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your money

    • Mt. Juliet, TN,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product does nothing! Don’t waste your money! And they will not give you a refund. It’s a huge scam! I didn’t join the membership thank goodness, or I would have probably lost more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Total scam

    • Utah,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is a total scam. I was promised a 100% customer satisfaction if not a 100% money-back guarantee. I spent over $1K and received a little over $600 back. They know this is a crap product, that is why they don't stand behind it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Not what I was expecting

    • Clinton, CT,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this gel since April of 2018. I have been trying to lose 10-15 pounds for about 5 years and I was hopeful that it was because my HGH levels were low. I work out 5 times a week and eat a healthy diet. It has been 6 months now, and I have not lost any weight, and my energy levels have not changed. The only thing I do notice is deeper sleep. For some, that may be worth the money but I never really had trouble sleeping, to begin with. I have stayed on the gel after being told that sometimes it takes 3-6 months to work. If it did what they claimed it does, I would pay $300 a bottle. I was really hoping for a better experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Side effects

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only used the product a couple of times. Each time I get a lump in my throat and congestion. I am just wondering if this might be an allergic reaction? Has anyone else had this happen to them? I will try one last time after a week to see if it happens again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 39

Write a Review for Somaderm Gel!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review