About SeroVital-hgh

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 26, 2017

SeroVital-hgh is an oral anti-aging liquid concentrate that’s claimed to contain a special blend of amino acids that can naturally increase human growth hormone (HGH) levels within your body by 682%, resulting in an anti-aging effect (reduced appearance of wrinkles, tightened skin, etc.), as well as increased lean muscle mass, reduced body fat, increased energy, improved mood, and heightened sex drive. According to the SeroVital-hgh website, this is accomplished using 6 primary ingredients:

  • L-lysine HCl
  • L-arginine HCl
  • Oxo-proline
  • N-acetyl-l-cysteine
  • L-glutamine
  • Schizonepeta (aerial parts) powder

Until now, SeroVital-hgh’s manufacturer claims that the only way to boost your human growth hormone levels was through injections at your physician’s office. However, the company claims after more than 30 years of time-consuming and detailed research, they have finally produced an oral compound that can boost your HGH levels at a much lower price.

But let’s get real: Can you expect SeroVital-hgh to work as well as injections? Here’s what we learned:

What is Human Growth Hormone (HGH)?

According to WebMD, human growth hormone (HGH) is released naturally by the body’s pituitary gland, and is responsible for a wide variety of functions, including growth during childhood and the regulation of “body composition, body fluids, muscle and bone growth, sugar and fat metabolism, and possibly heart function,” in addition to muscle growth (even as adults) and the firmness of skin. However, as we age, we produce less and less HGH, resulting in increased signs of aging from multiple perspectives.

In order to counteract these unwanted effects, an increasing number of men and women have turned to their physicians and undergone HGH injections, which introduce synthetic growth hormone directly into the body. This is in contrast to SeroVital-hgh, which does not contain any HGH whatsoever, but instead claims to feature key amino acids that are administered orally and are claimed to cause your body to release more HGH.

Will SeroVital-hgh Cause Any Side Effects?

Although SeroVital-hgh’s ingredients probably won’t cause anything worse than mild digestive upset (if anything at all), there are a few important considerations.

For example, WebMD notes that L-arginine can sometimes cause “allergies, airway inflammation, worsening of asthma, and low blood pressure.” They also note that in rare instances, n-acetyl-l-cysteine “can cause rashes, fever, headache, drowsiness, low blood pressure, and liver problems,” and in high doses, schizonepeta can damage the liver.

Finally, we’ll talk more about this in a moment, but oxoproline is considered an “uncommon and little studied” amino acid, so potential side effects are largely unknown.

What about HGH supplementation in general? HGH therapy has many legitimate medical uses, including treating chronic kidney insufficiency, Prader-Willi syndrome, short bowel syndrome, muscle-wasting disease, and more. When monitored by a physician, any long-term or severe side effects can be minimized.

However, for individuals who supplement (i.e. inject) HGH for long periods of time, such as bodybuilders, a whole slew of nasty side effects can manifest, including nerve, muscle, or joint pain, edema (swelling caused by fluid), carpal tunnel syndrome, skin numbness and tingling, high cholesterol levels, an increased risk of cancer, and more.

Here’s the thing though: based on existing research and evidence, we don’t think you’ll have to worry about any of HGH’s side effects with SeroVital. Why? Let’s learn more.

Does SeroVital Really Increase Your HGH Levels?

The SeroVital-hgh website provides a copy of their study claiming to show the product’s efficacy, although it’s interesting to note that the conclusion states: “Our results show that a single oral dose of these amino acids can significantly increase GH [growth hormone] Levels after 120 minutes in healthy men and women. Whether these GH changes persist over a longer duration or have other positive effects is being further examined.” In other words, although these amino acids were shown to increase growth hormone within the context of the study, there was no direct correlation between this GH increase and any of the benefits claimed by the company.

In layman’s terms, based on their own study, even if SeroVital-hgh does actually increase HGH levels, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll feel younger, have more energy, increase muscle mass, or anything else claimed by the company. The manufacturer appears to circumvent this problem by undermining the medical community when saying on their website, “the “established” medical community (and of course, they know everything) would say [SeroVital-hgh’s] benefits are largely anecdotal.”

But what does the medical community have to say about boosting HGH levels using amino acids? As it turns out, there doesn’t appear to have been a lot written about the link between the two, although we did locate a very in-depth article by QuackWatch (hint: the short answer is no). WebMD also wrote an informative article about HGH supplementation, claiming that “the Federal Trade Commission has seen no reliable evidence to support the claim that these [natural supplement-based] products have the same effects as prescription HGH, which is always given by injection.”

Even when looking at each ingredient Independently, according to WebMD, there is insufficient evidence showing that l-lysine, l-arginine, oxoproline (also known as pyroglutamic acid), n-acetyl-l-cysteine, l-glutamine, or schizonepeta can have any impact on HGH production.

Important note: Although the manufacturer claims that the research behind SeroVital-hgh was featured on Dr. Oz’s 10/28/2012 episode named “Supercharge Your Body with Human Growth Hormone,” after watching the episode ourselves, we didn’t find anything mentioned that would identify the company or the supplement. In fact, Dr. Oz mentioned that you only need 4 amino acids in order to boost HGH production (glycine, ornithine, arginine, and lysine), two of which aren’t included in SeroVital-hgh.

Are HGH Supplements Safe?

As noted previously, it’s important to make a very clear distinction between treatments that actually contain HGH (such as injections at your doctor’s office) and supplements that contain no HGH, but use different ingredients that are claimed to boost HGH production within your body (similar to SeroVital-hgh).

With this distinction in mind, the repeated use of treatments containing human growth hormone can lead to “joint swelling, joint pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and an increased risk of diabetes.” However, since SeroVital-hgh doesn’t contain any HGH, the possibility of experiencing these types of side effects might be extraordinarily rare.

On the other hand, when taken in the recommend dosages, the amino acids contained in SeroVital-hgh appear to result in very few side effects (we’ll talk about this more next). For additional information on the SeroVital side effects, you can learn more here.

What are Consumers Saying About SeroVital?

Although there were no testimonials listed on the SeroVital website at the time of our research, taking a look at consumer reviews on sites such as Ulta.com and GNC.com, the supplement appears to have an average rating of 3.8 stars. While some users appear to have experienced positive benefits from using SeroVital-hgh, some of the most common complaints cited failure to work, high price/low value, and side effects such as bloating, trouble sleeping, skin redness/blotchiness, and joint pain.

Since writing our original review, 96 HighYa readers have chimed in on their experiences as well, and have given SeroVital-hgh an average rating of 2.7 stars. According to these reviews, some of the most common complaints also cited failure to work as advertised and high price.

From a company perspective, SeroVital-hgh is manufactured by Sanmedica International based out of Salt Lake City, UT. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on just 12 closed complaints (as of 6/26/17), the majority of which appeared to reference difficulty obtaining a refund.

What Does Serovital Cost?

A 30-day supply of SeroVital-hgh is priced at $99, plus $6.95 Standard shipping (faster options are available for additional money).

Looking to spend less? According to Dr. Oz, the 4 key amino acids he spoke about on his original show can be purchased in pill form from your local health foods store for under $20.

With this said, after placing your SeroVital-hgh order, you’ll be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Customer Plan, which means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of SeroVital-hgh once every 30 days, and your credit card will be billed $80 each time (20% discount)

Important note: Although autoship programs like this are advertised as a way of providing convenience, there are several pitfalls you should be aware of before signing up. As such, we’d strongly recommend reading through our All About Autoship Programs article beforehand.

SeroVital-hgh comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges (you will be required to return the empty container to the company). In order to request a refund or to cancel you autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-435-1409.

Is SeroVital-hgh Your “Magic Bullet” for a Rejuvenated Body?

Chopping to the Point: In our opinion, although the amino acids found in SeroVital-hgh may have been found to boost mean HGH levels more than six-fold in the manufacturer’s clinical study, there is essentially zero clinical evidence (whether through the manufacturer’s trial or elsewhere online) showing that this translates into any kind of real-world benefits. Considering this, along with the supplement’s very high price, we might recommend speaking with your physician about more effective methods of turning back the hands of time than with SeroVital-hgh.

» For Further Reading: HGH Supplements: Benefits, Uses and Side Effects

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

144 Consumer Reviews for SeroVital-hgh

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 38 4 star: 14 3 star: 3 2 star: 20 1 star:  69
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 144
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I was disappointed when I read the reviews...but!

    • Middletown, OH,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was disappointed when I read the reviews about SeroVital-hgh. I had just purchased mine from Kohl's. I got home, opened the box and saw the yellow pills...yes all four of them, and it sparked a memory. You see I was adopted by my aunt and had two sisters and a brother, my adopted family. I had moved into my older sisters place for a brief spell. I remembered her taking four yellow pills. I ask what are those? She said some fancy name I couldn't remember. I ask what they were for? She said HGH, I said what's that? She told me to look it up. Well, I couldn't remember the name she said, so I never looked it up. That was around 2012 or 2013. I will say this I wish I started taking HGH when she did because now, I look older than she does. My sister is right around 70 and she doesn't look a day over 40. I'm 53, and I look 63. I'm trying this product as of 12/12/18 and I will write a new review later, especially if I start looking decades younger.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Does nothing!

    • Springfield, MO,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking that crap since April of this year. I'm 78 years old and it has done absolutely nothing for me! I don't see less wrinkles or feel better! I always take care of myself anyway! It doesn't make me look younger whatsoever! As advertised by Kym Douglas, where you suppose to look DECADES younger! Are you kidding me? In my opinion, BIG SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Letters on package HGH replaced with 3 yellow bars

    • Dacula, GA,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Once I realized this was really just a hype I returned it to Costco. I still have the booklet that was enclosed in my package with the letters HGH but the outside of the box just had the three yellow bars. This is very deceptive advertising, and I truly don't think Costco should continue to stock this because it is not a drug/supplement that contains the human growth hormone and does not make anyone look any younger as it claims. Shame on Costco for being fooled and shame on this company for getting something over on Costco who normally sells quality goods.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No more hot flashes

    • Dexter, ME,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was taking anything I could to get relief from non-stop horrendous hot flashes, mood swings, and night sweats. Nothing helped. I decided to try SeroVital. It has been a godsend! After two weeks, no more hot flashes (they actually were weaker by the 4th day of taking). I haven't really noticed weight loss, but my moods are better and there are no night sweats. I just wish it wasn't as expensive, and/or I could get coupons. It's a great product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Extreme cramping

    • Arizona,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking SeroVital for a few months and the only good thing about SeroVital is the amazing sleep I was getting. Then came the really bad menstrual cramps, sometimes twice daily. These cramps were daily followed with extreme nauseousness and bloating. It got to the point where I was keeping a heating pad at my desk at work because the BAD cramping would last 45 minutes or longer. I even scheduled an appointment with my gynecologist to see what was going on. However, the soonest I could get in was two weeks away.

    So, in the meantime, I researched the reviews on SeroVital and A LOT of reviewers wrote about the bad cramps and how it made some people very nauseous to the point where they were getting sick. I immediately stopped taking SeroVital, and by the next day I was able to claim my life back! The bloating went away and so did the cramps and the nauseous feeling.

    The only good thing about SeroVital was the deep sleep, but I noticed no other benefits as the product claims. In the end, it wasn’t worth all the pain I went through, and I was able to cancel my doctor appointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Truly helpful!

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took SeroVital for about three consecutive months. I noticed almost immediately, I had more energy, and I was able to sleep throughout the night. I also lost about five or six pounds, and my hair grew longer quickly. The negative side effects included feeling joint pain in my knees and gaining some fatty tissue on my ankles.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital doesn't work

    • Hudson, NH,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over 90 days that I have been taking this supplement, nothing has changed except my bank account is lighter on funds. Do not start this, it's a total SCAM! I regret ever taking this, it was a fantasy that proved wrong. All of us over 40 are looking for that "miracle" drug, well it does not exist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Beware, rip off

    • South Carolina,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the biggest bunch of crap I have ever seen. I took SeroVital for nine months (I sincerely gave it a chance to work), and all the claims they make on how it helps reduce wrinkles, weight loss, energy, improves sex drive, etc., I got no difference whatsoever!

    So that little fiasco cost me $900. I can't believe I fell for such a scam again! The last beauty scam I got taken for was the lifestyle lift that cost me $7700, that one was the worst. Just read reviews before you jump into these self-proclaimed beauty miracles. It will save you your hard earned money. Don't be a fool like me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 30 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital does work

    • Destin, FL,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a customer for SeroVital now for going on three months. I was a customer about two years ago as well. The first time I was not as committed to the use and certain symptoms I had while using SeroVital scared me out of continuing use. I did my research on health and how the body reacts to new or excessive use and realized four pills was too much for my system. I now only take two pills per days and here are my results:

    I love this product. It does exactly as it said. At first, I was skeptical because I was feeling pains in places I hadn't before and worse pains where I already had pains. I continued on, on the basis of it always gets worse before it gets better. I am so very pleased with my results. The pains have gone away and those that haven't are diminishing. I mark all the pain and uncomfortableness up to the product doing its job. It has to clear out years of bad stuff in the bloodlines, digestive system, skin, etc. How can it do what it says it's going to do if it doesn't get rid of the build-up of bad stuff that's been building for years. Most of these reviews I have read that claim it's a bad product, I feel weren't committed in the first place and too scared to watch it do its magic. Btw peeps, if you took it as instructed you would have taken at least two months and most of the bad reviews I see took it for 30 days or less.

    I will continue to recommend this product and have already recommended it. It has worked so many wonderful works for me: my skin complexion, tone, firmness, and moisture, my muscle mass has gone from flab to muscle, my energy is now picking up since I've finally detoxified all the yuck out (although that may not be finished, I am feeling the energy). I've been an insomniac all my life, and SeroVital helps me to sleep good each day even if it is a few hours or 12. And my allergies actually are not nearly as bad as what they were before I started taking SeroVital.

    Yes, everything in our walk of life is different for each and every individual, but I still say those bad reviews were those who were not truly committed to allowing SeroVital to work for them. Although some cases could very well have been a case in which they were allergic or their body didn't need it.

    Anyway, it does wonders for me and continues to do wonders. I will continue taking SeroVital, might try their other products as well, and will definitely recommend to others.

    Thank you, SeroVital, for what you have done for me so far. I do have friends and family who also take SeroVital with positive results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    I think it is worth the cost and effort

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking SeroVital for three years and I think it is worth the cost and the odd effort of having to consume it 2 hours before and after eating. Why do I like it? I constantly get told that I look younger than my age (I am in my 50's). I really don't think that I look younger, but I believe the SeroVital effects those things that others observe...limberness, youthfulness, energy, things that others use to judge the youthfulness of another. It causes very vivid dreams, but this is the ONLY side effect that I have experienced.

    I think it is worth a try but only if you are willing to 1) put in several months of use to see the benefit of the results and 2) you are not someone that is quick to affix blame for every oddity on the consumption of this formula.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 19 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital

    • Texas,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 63-year-old female. SeroVital changed my life! Today I play tennis twice a week, something I could not do before due to back and leg pain, I look at least 10 years younger, have more vitality, skin glows, never lost hair since I started the treatment one year ago, also improves libido, I sleep better, overall I feel so much better! I strongly recommend SeroVital to everyone over 50. Thank you SeroVital!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 144

Write a Review for SeroVital-hgh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review