About SeroVital-hgh

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 26, 2017

SeroVital-hgh is an oral anti-aging liquid concentrate that’s claimed to contain a special blend of amino acids that can naturally increase human growth hormone (HGH) levels within your body by 682%, resulting in an anti-aging effect (reduced appearance of wrinkles, tightened skin, etc.), as well as increased lean muscle mass, reduced body fat, increased energy, improved mood, and heightened sex drive. According to the SeroVital-hgh website, this is accomplished using 6 primary ingredients:

  • L-lysine HCl
  • L-arginine HCl
  • Oxo-proline
  • N-acetyl-l-cysteine
  • L-glutamine
  • Schizonepeta (aerial parts) powder

Until now, SeroVital-hgh’s manufacturer claims that the only way to boost your human growth hormone levels was through injections at your physician’s office. However, the company claims after more than 30 years of time-consuming and detailed research, they have finally produced an oral compound that can boost your HGH levels at a much lower price.

But let’s get real: Can you expect SeroVital-hgh to work as well as injections? Here’s what we learned:

What is Human Growth Hormone (HGH)?

According to WebMD, human growth hormone (HGH) is released naturally by the body’s pituitary gland, and is responsible for a wide variety of functions, including growth during childhood and the regulation of “body composition, body fluids, muscle and bone growth, sugar and fat metabolism, and possibly heart function,” in addition to muscle growth (even as adults) and the firmness of skin. However, as we age, we produce less and less HGH, resulting in increased signs of aging from multiple perspectives.

In order to counteract these unwanted effects, an increasing number of men and women have turned to their physicians and undergone HGH injections, which introduce synthetic growth hormone directly into the body. This is in contrast to SeroVital-hgh, which does not contain any HGH whatsoever, but instead claims to feature key amino acids that are administered orally and are claimed to cause your body to release more HGH.

Will SeroVital-hgh Cause Any Side Effects?

Although SeroVital-hgh’s ingredients probably won’t cause anything worse than mild digestive upset (if anything at all), there are a few important considerations.

For example, WebMD notes that L-arginine can sometimes cause “allergies, airway inflammation, worsening of asthma, and low blood pressure.” They also note that in rare instances, n-acetyl-l-cysteine “can cause rashes, fever, headache, drowsiness, low blood pressure, and liver problems,” and in high doses, schizonepeta can damage the liver.

Finally, we’ll talk more about this in a moment, but oxoproline is considered an “uncommon and little studied” amino acid, so potential side effects are largely unknown.

What about HGH supplementation in general? HGH therapy has many legitimate medical uses, including treating chronic kidney insufficiency, Prader-Willi syndrome, short bowel syndrome, muscle-wasting disease, and more. When monitored by a physician, any long-term or severe side effects can be minimized.

However, for individuals who supplement (i.e. inject) HGH for long periods of time, such as bodybuilders, a whole slew of nasty side effects can manifest, including nerve, muscle, or joint pain, edema (swelling caused by fluid), carpal tunnel syndrome, skin numbness and tingling, high cholesterol levels, an increased risk of cancer, and more.

Here’s the thing though: based on existing research and evidence, we don’t think you’ll have to worry about any of HGH’s side effects with SeroVital. Why? Let’s learn more.

Does SeroVital Really Increase Your HGH Levels?

The SeroVital-hgh website provides a copy of their study claiming to show the product’s efficacy, although it’s interesting to note that the conclusion states: “Our results show that a single oral dose of these amino acids can significantly increase GH [growth hormone] Levels after 120 minutes in healthy men and women. Whether these GH changes persist over a longer duration or have other positive effects is being further examined.” In other words, although these amino acids were shown to increase growth hormone within the context of the study, there was no direct correlation between this GH increase and any of the benefits claimed by the company.

In layman’s terms, based on their own study, even if SeroVital-hgh does actually increase HGH levels, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll feel younger, have more energy, increase muscle mass, or anything else claimed by the company. The manufacturer appears to circumvent this problem by undermining the medical community when saying on their website, “the “established” medical community (and of course, they know everything) would say [SeroVital-hgh’s] benefits are largely anecdotal.”

But what does the medical community have to say about boosting HGH levels using amino acids? As it turns out, there doesn’t appear to have been a lot written about the link between the two, although we did locate a very in-depth article by QuackWatch (hint: the short answer is no). WebMD also wrote an informative article about HGH supplementation, claiming that “the Federal Trade Commission has seen no reliable evidence to support the claim that these [natural supplement-based] products have the same effects as prescription HGH, which is always given by injection.”

Even when looking at each ingredient Independently, according to WebMD, there is insufficient evidence showing that l-lysine, l-arginine, oxoproline (also known as pyroglutamic acid), n-acetyl-l-cysteine, l-glutamine, or schizonepeta can have any impact on HGH production.

Important note: Although the manufacturer claims that the research behind SeroVital-hgh was featured on Dr. Oz’s 10/28/2012 episode named “Supercharge Your Body with Human Growth Hormone,” after watching the episode ourselves, we didn’t find anything mentioned that would identify the company or the supplement. In fact, Dr. Oz mentioned that you only need 4 amino acids in order to boost HGH production (glycine, ornithine, arginine, and lysine), two of which aren’t included in SeroVital-hgh.

Are HGH Supplements Safe?

As noted previously, it’s important to make a very clear distinction between treatments that actually contain HGH (such as injections at your doctor’s office) and supplements that contain no HGH, but use different ingredients that are claimed to boost HGH production within your body (similar to SeroVital-hgh).

With this distinction in mind, the repeated use of treatments containing human growth hormone can lead to “joint swelling, joint pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and an increased risk of diabetes.” However, since SeroVital-hgh doesn’t contain any HGH, the possibility of experiencing these types of side effects might be extraordinarily rare.

On the other hand, when taken in the recommend dosages, the amino acids contained in SeroVital-hgh appear to result in very few side effects (we’ll talk about this more next). For additional information on the SeroVital side effects, you can learn more here.

What are Consumers Saying About SeroVital?

Although there were no testimonials listed on the SeroVital website at the time of our research, taking a look at consumer reviews on sites such as Ulta.com and GNC.com, the supplement appears to have an average rating of 3.8 stars. While some users appear to have experienced positive benefits from using SeroVital-hgh, some of the most common complaints cited failure to work, high price/low value, and side effects such as bloating, trouble sleeping, skin redness/blotchiness, and joint pain.

Since writing our original review, 96 HighYa readers have chimed in on their experiences as well, and have given SeroVital-hgh an average rating of 2.7 stars. According to these reviews, some of the most common complaints also cited failure to work as advertised and high price.

From a company perspective, SeroVital-hgh is manufactured by Sanmedica International based out of Salt Lake City, UT. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on just 12 closed complaints (as of 6/26/17), the majority of which appeared to reference difficulty obtaining a refund.

What Does Serovital Cost?

A 30-day supply of SeroVital-hgh is priced at $99, plus $6.95 Standard shipping (faster options are available for additional money).

Looking to spend less? According to Dr. Oz, the 4 key amino acids he spoke about on his original show can be purchased in pill form from your local health foods store for under $20.

With this said, after placing your SeroVital-hgh order, you’ll be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Customer Plan, which means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of SeroVital-hgh once every 30 days, and your credit card will be billed $80 each time (20% discount)

Important note: Although autoship programs like this are advertised as a way of providing convenience, there are several pitfalls you should be aware of before signing up. As such, we’d strongly recommend reading through our All About Autoship Programs article beforehand.

SeroVital-hgh comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges (you will be required to return the empty container to the company). In order to request a refund or to cancel you autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-435-1409.

Is SeroVital-hgh Your “Magic Bullet” for a Rejuvenated Body?

Chopping to the Point: In our opinion, although the amino acids found in SeroVital-hgh may have been found to boost mean HGH levels more than six-fold in the manufacturer’s clinical study, there is essentially zero clinical evidence (whether through the manufacturer’s trial or elsewhere online) showing that this translates into any kind of real-world benefits. Considering this, along with the supplement’s very high price, we might recommend speaking with your physician about more effective methods of turning back the hands of time than with SeroVital-hgh.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

116 Consumer Reviews for SeroVital-hgh

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 31 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 18 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 116
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Painesville, OH,
    • Dec 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on The Doctors show and then saw it at Kohls. I thought it must be reputable, given those two endorsements. I bought it and used it for three months. There was absolutely no difference for me in energy level, weight management or sleep. I am an RN and even I was duped by marketing. SAVE YOUR MONEY. I am pretty sure it's just hype and a good scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No changes

    I can't say that I had any side effects, but I can honestly say I can tell no difference. I've been taking it as prescribed for four months. I canceled my autoship subscription today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    56 year old active female

    • West Des Moines, IA,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this product because I want to do everything I can to stay as youthful as I can. I had begun to notice a few more wrinkles, the weight started a pound here, a pound there. I took this product the first day (you have to take it on an empty stomach), and all I did was get a severe headache and throw it back up. I thought it was a fluke, I tried again the next day, and the same thing happened. I ended up throwing the product away. It is expensive and for me, not something I can use or would recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital-hgh

    • Frederick, MD,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product did nothing but give me a rash. I took it for 80 days as directed. I go to the gym and I’m an active female of 75.

    No increased sex drive, no weight loss. I always had energy and no problems sleeping. I would not continue taking.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using this product for 15 days, I developed a heart flutter. It’s a full-time heart condition where my heart beats abnormally. I have been seeing a cardiologist and had to have an EKG, Sonogram, and today I go in for a stress test on the treadmill! I am taking a beta blocker and other meds.

    This product should come with a warning, and it doesn’t. Aminos are not for everyone. This product can be very dangerous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't do it

    I started taking the full dose and within ten days began feeling a clear surge in energy and my skin was definitely looking better. I was excited!

    However, after another week I started having sweats, headache, nausea, and couldn't sleep AT ALL! I stopped taking it and tried again a week later doing a half dose every other day. Almost immediately the negative effects came back. This time the headache was worse. I stopped for a month and tried again, this time one capsule every five days. After the second five days, I again had a headache, sweats, and difficulty sleeping. I guess I just can't do it.

    It also bothered me a bit that the research on this was minimal and not done well (I have a background in research design, so I knew what I was looking at was not solid). Oh well!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Not the fountain of youth

    I started SeroVital about four months ago. The only thing lighter is my wallet. After the first month and seeing no results I called the customer service number. I was told it could take a couple of months to see results. Three boxes later, still no results, except the hair on my face that I never had problems with before. I haven't tried to get a refund yet but am betting that won't be easy or probably even possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    A warning label should be prominently displayed on the packing.

    After ingesting this product for 3 months, I had blood drawn for my yearly physical. The doctor was alarmed as my triglyceride level was TRIPLE my normal level. I had 10 years of blood work with this doctor, and my levels were always normal. I told him what I was taking, and he told me to stop IMMEDIATELY. My levels are back to normal. Triglycerides monitor the fat levels found in your bloodstream. Needless to say, having high levels of fat in the bloodstream is extremely dangerous.

    Save your money and your health. Stay far, far away from this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Adjusted dosage and works well. Recommend

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only reason I didn’t say Highly recommend is because I feel I need to be on it for a much longer period without any negative side effects.

    I’ve taken SeroVital for a month now but would like to take it for 6 months solid before recommending to everyone I meet.

    In the beginning, I took the recommended dosage of 4 pills every morning. The hardest part of the regime is taking either 2 hours after eating and before bedtime or in the morning 2 hours before eating. I take in the AM, go back to sleep and wake 2 hours later. Works for me, may not for others. Drink plenty of water.

    In the beginning, the first immediate effect was the incredible quality of sleep. I recall my dream and just a solid slumber. I experienced increased energy, almost too much. I had a decreased appetite. Then I saw skin plumpness, tightness and it became less dry.

    I’m mid 40s, 115lbs, suffer insomnia, and have very dry skin, serious moodiness and extreme fatigue (sometimes brain fog).

    After about 2 weeks I had trouble sleeping more than 6 hours which made me tired during the day. Also noticed cramping and muscle pain.

    The lack of appetite was not fun as I enjoy eating and am lucky not to have a weight problem. I decreased dosage to 2 pills a night as other reviewers had suggested and voila, everything became great.

    I can sleep longer than 6 hours, no more cramps or muscle pain, energy but not too much, appetite is back, skin and hair is great as I constantly get compliments, (no change in nails yet), and moodiness is getting better but not yet perfect.

    For the sleep quality, improved moodiness and skin and hair I will continue to take it, and may even try 3 pills every other night just to see if I can get another push in an improvement of my health and beauty. I recommend this. Give it a shot, adjust dosage if needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 51 people found this review helpful

    It's not worth it!

    • California,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking it a few months ago and didn't see a difference. I called to cancel the next shipment that was going out next day, and they said it was already in progress and they couldn't cancel. I received it a week later and called to get the RMA number and returned it that day with 2-day shipping.

    I called two weeks later and asked for the return, and they asked for my tracking number. I didn't have it on me but asked if they saw the return, and they said no. I called back today with the tracking number, and she said we received it 19 days ago. I asked why she didn't refund my card then and she said: "We will process the refund within three days." That is terrible customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 65 out 69 people found this review helpful

    No changes for me

    • South Riding, VA,
    • Sep 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a 74-year-old, moderately active woman.

    I am on my second 160 capsule box. I take the four capsules in the middle of the night when I get up to pee, and this timing works best for me. So I guess I've taken it about 70+ days and haven't noticed any changes. I still have trouble sleeping, have the same wrinkles and body fat.

    At first, I had some stomach upset, but it was only for the first 2 or 3 days. I haven't noticed any negative side effects, but this cost over $200.00! So I think I will finish this box and consider it a good trial and stop. I wish it did all the things the company claims, but I'm old enough not to be surprised that it didn't. No magic bullet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 116

Write a Review for SeroVital-hgh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review