About SeroVital-hgh

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 26, 2017

SeroVital-hgh is an oral anti-aging liquid concentrate that’s claimed to contain a special blend of amino acids that can naturally increase human growth hormone (HGH) levels within your body by 682%, resulting in an anti-aging effect (reduced appearance of wrinkles, tightened skin, etc.), as well as increased lean muscle mass, reduced body fat, increased energy, improved mood, and heightened sex drive. According to the SeroVital-hgh website, this is accomplished using 6 primary ingredients:

  • L-lysine HCl
  • L-arginine HCl
  • Oxo-proline
  • N-acetyl-l-cysteine
  • L-glutamine
  • Schizonepeta (aerial parts) powder

Until now, SeroVital-hgh’s manufacturer claims that the only way to boost your human growth hormone levels was through injections at your physician’s office. However, the company claims after more than 30 years of time-consuming and detailed research, they have finally produced an oral compound that can boost your HGH levels at a much lower price.

But let’s get real: Can you expect SeroVital-hgh to work as well as injections? Here’s what we learned:

What is Human Growth Hormone (HGH)?

According to WebMD, human growth hormone (HGH) is released naturally by the body’s pituitary gland, and is responsible for a wide variety of functions, including growth during childhood and the regulation of “body composition, body fluids, muscle and bone growth, sugar and fat metabolism, and possibly heart function,” in addition to muscle growth (even as adults) and the firmness of skin. However, as we age, we produce less and less HGH, resulting in increased signs of aging from multiple perspectives.

In order to counteract these unwanted effects, an increasing number of men and women have turned to their physicians and undergone HGH injections, which introduce synthetic growth hormone directly into the body. This is in contrast to SeroVital-hgh, which does not contain any HGH whatsoever, but instead claims to feature key amino acids that are administered orally and are claimed to cause your body to release more HGH.

Will SeroVital-hgh Cause Any Side Effects?

Although SeroVital-hgh’s ingredients probably won’t cause anything worse than mild digestive upset (if anything at all), there are a few important considerations.

For example, WebMD notes that L-arginine can sometimes cause “allergies, airway inflammation, worsening of asthma, and low blood pressure.” They also note that in rare instances, n-acetyl-l-cysteine “can cause rashes, fever, headache, drowsiness, low blood pressure, and liver problems,” and in high doses, schizonepeta can damage the liver.

Finally, we’ll talk more about this in a moment, but oxoproline is considered an “uncommon and little studied” amino acid, so potential side effects are largely unknown.

What about HGH supplementation in general? HGH therapy has many legitimate medical uses, including treating chronic kidney insufficiency, Prader-Willi syndrome, short bowel syndrome, muscle-wasting disease, and more. When monitored by a physician, any long-term or severe side effects can be minimized.

However, for individuals who supplement (i.e. inject) HGH for long periods of time, such as bodybuilders, a whole slew of nasty side effects can manifest, including nerve, muscle, or joint pain, edema (swelling caused by fluid), carpal tunnel syndrome, skin numbness and tingling, high cholesterol levels, an increased risk of cancer, and more.

Here’s the thing though: based on existing research and evidence, we don’t think you’ll have to worry about any of HGH’s side effects with SeroVital. Why? Let’s learn more.

Does SeroVital Really Increase Your HGH Levels?

The SeroVital-hgh website provides a copy of their study claiming to show the product’s efficacy, although it’s interesting to note that the conclusion states: “Our results show that a single oral dose of these amino acids can significantly increase GH [growth hormone] Levels after 120 minutes in healthy men and women. Whether these GH changes persist over a longer duration or have other positive effects is being further examined.” In other words, although these amino acids were shown to increase growth hormone within the context of the study, there was no direct correlation between this GH increase and any of the benefits claimed by the company.

In layman’s terms, based on their own study, even if SeroVital-hgh does actually increase HGH levels, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll feel younger, have more energy, increase muscle mass, or anything else claimed by the company. The manufacturer appears to circumvent this problem by undermining the medical community when saying on their website, “the “established” medical community (and of course, they know everything) would say [SeroVital-hgh’s] benefits are largely anecdotal.”

But what does the medical community have to say about boosting HGH levels using amino acids? As it turns out, there doesn’t appear to have been a lot written about the link between the two, although we did locate a very in-depth article by QuackWatch (hint: the short answer is no). WebMD also wrote an informative article about HGH supplementation, claiming that “the Federal Trade Commission has seen no reliable evidence to support the claim that these [natural supplement-based] products have the same effects as prescription HGH, which is always given by injection.”

Even when looking at each ingredient Independently, according to WebMD, there is insufficient evidence showing that l-lysine, l-arginine, oxoproline (also known as pyroglutamic acid), n-acetyl-l-cysteine, l-glutamine, or schizonepeta can have any impact on HGH production.

Important note: Although the manufacturer claims that the research behind SeroVital-hgh was featured on Dr. Oz’s 10/28/2012 episode named “Supercharge Your Body with Human Growth Hormone,” after watching the episode ourselves, we didn’t find anything mentioned that would identify the company or the supplement. In fact, Dr. Oz mentioned that you only need 4 amino acids in order to boost HGH production (glycine, ornithine, arginine, and lysine), two of which aren’t included in SeroVital-hgh.

Are HGH Supplements Safe?

As noted previously, it’s important to make a very clear distinction between treatments that actually contain HGH (such as injections at your doctor’s office) and supplements that contain no HGH, but use different ingredients that are claimed to boost HGH production within your body (similar to SeroVital-hgh).

With this distinction in mind, the repeated use of treatments containing human growth hormone can lead to “joint swelling, joint pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and an increased risk of diabetes.” However, since SeroVital-hgh doesn’t contain any HGH, the possibility of experiencing these types of side effects might be extraordinarily rare.

On the other hand, when taken in the recommend dosages, the amino acids contained in SeroVital-hgh appear to result in very few side effects (we’ll talk about this more next). For additional information on the SeroVital side effects, you can learn more here.

What are Consumers Saying About SeroVital?

Although there were no testimonials listed on the SeroVital website at the time of our research, taking a look at consumer reviews on sites such as Ulta.com and GNC.com, the supplement appears to have an average rating of 3.8 stars. While some users appear to have experienced positive benefits from using SeroVital-hgh, some of the most common complaints cited failure to work, high price/low value, and side effects such as bloating, trouble sleeping, skin redness/blotchiness, and joint pain.

Since writing our original review, 96 HighYa readers have chimed in on their experiences as well, and have given SeroVital-hgh an average rating of 2.7 stars. According to these reviews, some of the most common complaints also cited failure to work as advertised and high price.

From a company perspective, SeroVital-hgh is manufactured by Sanmedica International based out of Salt Lake City, UT. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on just 12 closed complaints (as of 6/26/17), the majority of which appeared to reference difficulty obtaining a refund.

What Does Serovital Cost?

A 30-day supply of SeroVital-hgh is priced at $99, plus $6.95 Standard shipping (faster options are available for additional money).

Looking to spend less? According to Dr. Oz, the 4 key amino acids he spoke about on his original show can be purchased in pill form from your local health foods store for under $20.

With this said, after placing your SeroVital-hgh order, you’ll be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Customer Plan, which means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of SeroVital-hgh once every 30 days, and your credit card will be billed $80 each time (20% discount)

Important note: Although autoship programs like this are advertised as a way of providing convenience, there are several pitfalls you should be aware of before signing up. As such, we’d strongly recommend reading through our All About Autoship Programs article beforehand.

SeroVital-hgh comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges (you will be required to return the empty container to the company). In order to request a refund or to cancel you autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-435-1409.

Is SeroVital-hgh Your “Magic Bullet” for a Rejuvenated Body?

Chopping to the Point: In our opinion, although the amino acids found in SeroVital-hgh may have been found to boost mean HGH levels more than six-fold in the manufacturer’s clinical study, there is essentially zero clinical evidence (whether through the manufacturer’s trial or elsewhere online) showing that this translates into any kind of real-world benefits. Considering this, along with the supplement’s very high price, we might recommend speaking with your physician about more effective methods of turning back the hands of time than with SeroVital-hgh.

» For Further Reading: HGH Supplements: Benefits, Uses and Side Effects

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

132 Consumer Reviews for SeroVital-hgh

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 33 4 star: 13 3 star: 3 2 star: 20 1 star:  63
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 132
Sort reviews by:

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital

    • Haltom City, TX,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After paying for this for six months (yes it was over $600.00), I am here to tell everyone, do not waste your money as I did. It does nothing at all. What a scam this is. Save your money, this is just another scam product to make someone richer. It should be against the law for all these fake ads. By now everyone needs to read this. Do not waste your hard-earned money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Helped me avoid evening snacks and cut down morning caffeine intake

    • California,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I too bought my 40-day supply of SeroVital from Costco. In fact, it was on a coupon when I purchased it, so that was very enticing.

    I've noticed a difference in my energy level, an increased feeling of overall strength and a tighter feeling and better looking facial and neck area skin. In 2015, I had breast cancer and the chemo and radiation treatments really did an awful job at drying out my skin and draining my strength, so I wanted to give this a try.

    However, before I started the SeroVital I carried the box into my Oncologist office for her approval and she said it was safe for me to take, so here I'm now going into my fourth week of SeroVital.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital use of 90 days

    • Kentucky,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 67 years old and have taken the product for three months. I have lost an inch in my bust, one in my waist and one inch in my hips. My skin is glowing. I have increased energy and stamina. Also, improved flexibility.

    I want to add that I took bioidentical hormones for one year without any changes. I would highly recommend SeroVital. Be patient. Take the product for at least three months. It will take a while to work. I feel you cannot place a price tag on your health!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Too much pain in my hands

    • New York,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I notice I don't eat a lot, I take two pills in the morning the problem is that I have too much pain in the shoulder and wrists. I also take collagen, and that is good. I feel scared now because I never had too much pain like now, today I didn't take it and I will see if the pain goes away! By the way, I bought it in Costco.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Stronger aging skin

    • Florida,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    At the age of 74 (male), I was experiencing skin that was too easily peeled and shredded from normal contact with limbs and branches during home yard trimming tasks.

    I decided to try SeroVital based upon reports of its skin strengthening properties and began August 26th, 2017.

    Within a few weeks Hurricane Irma came through (SW FL) and my 'yard trimming' task was exponentially increased (city filled four box trucks in next three months from my curb).

    Throughout this and the succeeding four months, I've not suffered a single incidence of skin 'shredding' and SeroVital was the only modification of my lifestyle.

    I've had some older friends in the past who suffered this condition, so it's fairly common. If you were on a blood thinner (daily aspirin), the non-coagulating bleeding greatly compounds the problem.

    This personal observation alone is sufficient for keeping me on this supplement, but the improved sleeping and feeling of strength are also great to experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    SeroVital-hgh is just another expensive scam. Save your money! I was allured by its advertising. You're better off drinking plenty of water, getting a good night's sleep, using a good moisturizer and improving your eating habits on your own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Only 3 weeks

    I am sorry to say I haven't seen any difference in my skin or energy level, actually no changes at all yet. I will do it for another month and see if this really can work. I am so afraid that if this increases men's breast, will this do the same in women? I DON'T want this to happen!

    I would tell a friend and see if it works differently on them, maybe faster?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Still testing, used for 50+ days

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't notice anything significant, but I paid $80 at Costco for a 40-day supply. I do know from doing extensive research that L-Glutamine has been PROVEN in European studies NOT to work when taken in pill form. However, there is another substance that forms L-Glutamine in the body. However, due to being overtired, I can't remember what it is. Anyone should be able to do a search to figure this out.

    Dr. OZ is a scurrilous person, whose own colleagues despise him. They tried to get him to leave the hospital where he works after the scandal and congressional questioning! I would NEVER take anything he says or presents on his TV show as worthwhile!

    I intend to continue taking SeroVital until it's used up and then make a determination. Given what I know of the ingredients, I do NOT expect anything positive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 40 people found this review helpful

    A cynic's observation

    • New York City, NY,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am way into being considered a "senior." I am also cynical about the various products that advertise everything, all but promising to roll back the years to just a bit post-puberty.

    I certainly don't say that this product will be the end of all physical problems, but let me post the following:

    I have been feeling that my strength was failing me. My legs just didn't want to move the way they should, and I was feeling as if I should begin to get myself into a retirement home.

    The other day, I started to walk a little bit without the aid of a cane, my body generally felt perkier. I was stronger with much less muscle ache, and my attitude began to be a bit sunnier. I wondered why these positive things had begun to prevail. It suddenly occurred to me that I had recently finished my 40-day supply of SeroVital. Nothing else had changed in my intake, so I must surmise that it was those 4 capsules that made the difference.

    I have ordered my second series of 40 and am anxious to see if I continue feeling better. So, if nothing else, it is certainly worth a try. Perhaps it will do as much for you as it seems to have done for me. As with chicken soup, it wouldn't hurt.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Weight gain, not weight loss

    • Port Orchard, WA,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have now taken this product for three weeks. The first week I lost 1.5 pounds. I have noticed that I'm sleeping better but I weighed myself this morning, and I have gained 4 pounds. I take Fitness classes, and they eat right, and I don't eat sugar. The only change in my routine is the SeroVital. I will be returning my second unopened box to Costco this week. This product is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Did nothing but raise my blood pressure

    I took SeroVital for five months and it did nothing positive for me. I was consistent with taking it daily and really wanted to see some kind of positive outcome, but was very disappointed that all it did was elevate my blood pressure a lot! When I realized that was the side effect I stopped using it immediately and my blood pressure dropped back down right away. I really wanted this to work, but for me, it did not. I wanted to put this review out there to warn people of its effect on me. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 132

Write a Review for SeroVital-hgh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review