Somaderm Gel Reviews - Regain Your Youth?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Sep 20, 2018

Somaderm Gel is a homeopathic, transdermal, over-the-counter product that promises to slowly elevate human growth hormone (HGH) levels in the body. As a result, the manufacturer advertises it works at the cellular level to help you obtain optimal health and regain your youth.

They indicate that since hormones are stored in the fatty tissue layer, you should apply the gel to thin areas of the skin. Specifically, “wherever veins are visible,” such as your underarms, forearms, wrists, and behind the knees.

This way, it will “ensure that Somaderm Gel will be transported directly to the bloodstream.”

Is this really the only homeopathic, transdermal, over-the-counter HGH product available without a prescription? Even then, is it the cutting-edge scientific breakthrough advertised by New U Life? Let’s start by taking a look at the role this hormone plays in the human body.

The Science Behind Human Growth Hormone (HGH)

Created by the pea-sized pituitary gland located at the base of the brain, the Mayo Clinic explains growth hormone “fuels childhood growth and helps maintain tissues and organs throughout life.”

However, this gland “slowly reduces the amount of growth hormone it produces” beginning in middle age. And it’s this recognition, they tell us, that has triggered an interest in using synthetic human growth hormone (HGH) to potentially help reduce common downsides related to the natural aging process, including “decreased muscle and bone mass.”

The problem? “There's little evidence to suggest human growth hormone can help otherwise healthy adults regain youth and vitality,” they report. In fact, “experts recommend against using HGH to treat aging or age-related conditions.”

Granted, all of this relates to the injection of artificial HGH. What about the ingredients found in Somaderm Gel and their HGH-boosting ability via the skin?

What Ingredients Will You Find in Somaderm Gel?

The New U Life lists the following ingredients for Somaderm Gel:

Active ingredients: Glandula suprarenalis suis 6X, Thyroidinum 8X, Somatropin 30X

Inactive ingredients: Purified Water, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root, Vitex agnuscastus (Chaste Tree) Fruit, Epimedium sagittatum (Epimedium) Aerial Parts, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf, Mucuna pruriens (Velvet Bean) Seed, Dioscorea villosa (Wild Yam) Root, Sodium Hydroxide, Ascorbic Acid, PEG-33/PEG-8/PEG-14/Dimethicone, Aloe barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopherols (Soy), Edetate Disodium, Natural Plant Extract, Potassium Sorbate Extract

Sites like Truth in Aging, Paula’s Choice, and EWG.org indicate that most of Somaderm’s inactive ingredients work as conditioning agents (caprylyl glycol, aloe, licorice, PEG-33/PEG-8/PEG-14/dimethicone), consistency agents (acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer), and cleansing agents (sodium hydroxide).

Additional functions include preservatives (phenoxyethanol, sorbic acid, potassium sorbate), antioxidants components (Camellia sinensis, ascorbic acid), and penetration enhancers (edetate disodium). In other words, ingredients you’re likely to find in many other skincare formulations.

Taking a Closer Look at Somaderm Gel’s Homeopathic Ingredients

What about Somaderm Gel’s active ingredients? The National Library of Medicine’s DailyMed (last updated 4/20/18) lists this specific formulation’s marketing status as “unapproved homeopathic.” They also include the following disclaimer:

“This homeopathic product has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration for safety or efficacy. FDA is not aware of scientific evidence to support homeopathy as effective.”

Why is this? As we detail in Is Homeopathy an Evidence-Based Medical System, homeopathic formulations are based on two central principles: like cures like, and dilutions/the law of minimum dose.

First, an ingredient that produces similar symptoms to the disease being addressed is added to a solution, such as water or alcohol. Then, this water/ingredient mix is subjected to a series of successive dilutions (also referred to as dynamizations or potentizations).

An X next to a number indicates that a “substance has been diluted by a factor of 10 at each stage.” So, in the instance of Somaderm Gel’s Glandula suprarenalis suis (as the first example), it’s been diluted to one part in ten, eight times.

Or, to put it into raw numbers, this means the formula contains one part Glandula to 100 million parts solution (10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10).

The problem, according to the International Journal of Pharmacotherapy, is that when it comes to homeopathic solutions, “the largest dilution possible that still contains at least one molecule of the original substance is 12C.” This could present a logistical problem based on the 30X dilution of Somatropin in Somaderm Gel.

And “even among smaller dilutions that do contain some molecules of the original substance, there almost certainly aren’t enough to have a meaningful effect on the human body.”

Could Somaderm Gel’s Homeopathic Ingredients Cause Side Effects

With so little of each active ingredient in Somaderm Gel, side effects could be rare. And like any skincare formulation, its inactive ingredients could cause irritation and redness at the application site, especially for those with sensitivities.

This is why it's essential to have an in-depth consultation with your dermatologist before beginning any new skincare, supplement, or homeopathic regimen, who can help you avoid potential side effects based on your diagnosis. This is especially the case for any product that promises to have a hormonal effect on the body.

With these details in mind, the Somaderm website emphasizes that application location “should be rotated so that no area of the skin gets overused.”

How Much Does Somaderm Gel Cost?

Somaderm Gel is only available from New U Life, at the following prices:

  • One-time purchase: $169.99, plus applicable S&H
  • Membership: $149.99, plus free S&H

All orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Per the site’s cancellation policy, “If your Somaderm Bottle has been open or the plastic wrap has been broken, you must Contact Us before returning the product.” Otherwise, you can “simply mail it back with your packing slip or the return order form.”

You can call support at 844-510-6398 or send an email to support@newulife.com.

How to Choose Between Somaderm Gel & Other Homeopathic Solutions

We encountered many other homeopathic formulations aimed at boosting HGH levels during our research, including popular options on marketplaces such as Amazon and Google Shopping, like High-Tech Somatomax ($45), Liddell Homeopathic Vital High Immune ($32), HPTP Pituitary Drops ($21), Vital II Hormone Free Spray ($28), and Clinical Strength Secretagogue Gold – Orange ($45), to name just a few.

As advertised on the New U Life website, though, Somaderm Gel was the only topical/transdermal offering available. Does this mean it’s worth the meaningfully higher price, though?

Returning to our Evidence-Based Medicine article cited earlier, regardless of the formula or the sales price, the fact of the matter is there’s little-to-no double-blind, placebo-controlled, peer-reviewed clinical evidence that homeopathy works. In fact, the FTC is considering requiring that all homeopathic products sold in the US come with a disclaimer on their packaging that they don’t work.

For this reason alone, we’ll reiterate that if you’re considering a homeopathic product—Somaderm Gel or otherwise—to address a real-world problem, make sure that you discuss the situation with your doctor before proceeding.

They can a) deliver a scientifically sound diagnosis after questioning and testing, and b) recommend options based on this diagnosis, including whether or not your options include homeopathy.

Bottom Line

In addition to the lack of reported clinical evidence for homeopathy in general, explicitly referencing Pleasant Hill, CA-based New U Life, the company held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, calculated according to seven customer reviews and nine closed complaints, as of 9/20/18.

Most seemed to reference problems receiving orders and no response from support. All were listed as ‘unanswered.’

Another critical factoid to keep in mind is that, although New U Life promotes Somaderm Gel as ‘FDA registered,’ the reality is that the supplements industry is almost wholly responsible for self-regulation. In other words, supplements aren’t reviewed by the FDA prior to public release, and the FDA doesn’t keep a database of ‘registered’ supplements.

Considering all of this, in addition to the product’s ultra-high price, we think the best option for achieving the most value for your money is talking with your primary care physician before placing an order for Somaderm Gel.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Consumer Reviews for Somaderm Gel

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 15 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 63% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • Love it!

    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First thing I noticed was my joint stiffness and knee pain are nearly gone. I’m 38 but have had sports injuries, torn ACL (never repaired). I sprained my ankle and had some ligament damage there and my recovery time was greatly reduced being on the gel. About three months in I’m noticing my hair health is improving and better hair growth. My thin areas are filling in - and I sleep very well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Any others experience racing heart?

    • Montana,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started on the 1st of October, four days before I fell and shattered my wrist. My doctors were amazed at my rapid recovery. Also, I feel great, I sleep great, and I look great. But recently I have been experiencing extremely rapid heartbeat. It is so fast that I can hardly think clearly, it wakes me up, and I have to put ice on the back of my neck and wrist to calm it down. It happens during the day too for no apparent reason.

    Has anyone else experienced this? I hate to stop using this product as a lot of my pain issues stopped, which is wonderful, but I can’t deal with a heart so fast I come close to passing out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Getting my health back

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can’t believe this ONE product is giving me my health back. I’m almost 48, on the gel for 6 weeks. In that very short time, I’ve lost 10 lbs, my chronic fatigue is gone, much better mood, anxiety gone, handle stress easily, sleep better. My husband had a stroke 3 years ago causing severe insomnia. Medications had horrible side effects. First night on the gel, he slept over 6 hours. After 3 years of no more than 2 hours of sleep at a time, this has been a small miracle for him. He, too, is feeling much better. Blood pressure baseline down 7 points. I pray this product will always be available.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Five months in and I'm loving it!

    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I began using Somaderm in August 2018. I started with one full pump two times a day. I felt nothing but tired. After five weeks I had done a little research on homeopathy and learned that with homeopathy, less is more. I cut back my dose to an M&M size, still two times a day, and within days, the benefits kicked in. I was already pretty healthy and active and didn't have any health issues, but what I noticed is that my skin is extremely soft, I now sleep well and fall right back to sleep if I wake up, I have a youthful energy that lasts through the day, no more brain fog, I have not gotten sick since I started the product, my scars are fading and I have a better overall sense of well being. That alone is well worth it! And a bottle lasts me over two months. Other people in my life have experienced hair growth (on a bald head), no need for reading glasses, lifted depression, diminished cellulite, firmer skin, blood pressure normalized and more!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Results are questionable. Auto ship is a nightmare.

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, I thought it was doing something because my sleep was better. After two bottles, I really couldn’t see any big difference in sleep, energy, or any other claims they make. My biggest complaint is with the auto-ship system they have. After going through the "process" they have created to stop the auto ship, it took over a month for them to acknowledge that they were in receipt of my request to stop. In the meantime, I’ve gotten two more bottles, that’s $300 added to my credit card bill. I’ve been told I can ship them back for a full refund. Why should I have to pay for shipping when it’s their error? And why should I float them a loan while I wait weeks for a refund? Is Bernie Madoff running this company?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Another poor product full of hype

    • Stockton, CA,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this product for six months and the only thing I noticed was some dreams. If this product had the retention rate of 93% like I was told, they are full of crap. I have a good friend that had over 80 people under him that is now down to less than 40 and they are dropping off like flies. I have used real HGH injections, which were amazing to use. I have found you can buy the real HGH for about $500 per month without a prescription for a three-month supply. That is 30 IUs. The recommendation for a 200 lb person is 7- 10 IU’s per week, but for $500 this price is much cheaper than most. Norditropin is the top selling HGH.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Side effects

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only used the product a couple of times. Each time I get a lump in my throat and congestion. I am just wondering if this might be an allergic reaction? Has anyone else had this happen to them? I will try one last time after a week to see if it happens again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Somaderm pump

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very excited about the possibilities and the testimonials, however, I'm having trouble with the pump and the consistency of the gel. The pump doesn't pump!

    I'm sure there's something in the works for this minor issue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Negative results

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this gel for four months as directed. The first week I had better sleep and vivid dreams just as they say. After that first week, it stopped helping with sleep. I continued using and about the third month I was starting getting heart palpitations and could not sleep more than 4 or 5 hours a night. I realized it must be the gel in my fourth month. I stopped using it and it took about two weeks but I the palpitations stopped and I was able to sleep again. Also, I was double charged. I could not get anyone to answer the phone or email in customer service. Finally, I just canceled everything. I am not sure what, but to me, it seems like something is not right with this product and company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely love it!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was super skeptical because I don't trust these types of businesses. I was struck by a car as a pedestrian earlier this year. I have a multitude of injuries and I have been in an immense amount of pain. It took about 6 weeks but I started experiencing amazing pain relief. I'm only 30 and I was devastated to hear I wouldn't be able to go to the gym like I was used to for quite a while. I'm already back in the gym and feeling great. I swear by Somaderm! As for the other things...I have noticed a significant increase in energy, way deeper sleep and just faster recovery time from working out. I don't think I can attribute weight loss to the product alone because I'm working out and eating healthy as well, but it may be helping, who knows. I just love this product and EVERYONE needs it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    My personal miracle!

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Dec 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pain-free for the first time in 14 years! In my second week on the gel, I got the full range of motion back in my body. I have 12 herniated disc. I prayed for relief and had no clue it would come in a bottle from NUL. Now I am a distributor and a believer!

    Thank you, Alex Goldstein, for inventing this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for Somaderm Gel!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review