Sono Bello Review: Procedures, Costs, Results, Complaints, and More

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jan 1, 2020

Losing weight is a multi-billion-dollar industry, but some people want faster results than exercise can deliver. Others are tired of dealing with excess skin and want a slimmer appearance. For these people, liposuction is an attractive prospect.

Sono Bello is a chain of body contouring clinics that claim to employ “America’s top cosmetic surgery specialists.” Over 125 board-certified surgeons work for Sono Bello, and the company states that they have performed more than 150,000 cosmetic procedures at 60-plus locations across the United States.

These procedures are targeted towards men and women who want a quick treatment that will give them a slimmer figure. The company promises to provide each customer with the most advanced micro-laser liposuction procedures possible for quicker results and less recovery time.

Should you consider Sono Bello for your cosmetic procedures? In this review, we’ll help you gain a better understanding of how Sono Bello works and the results you can expect so you can determine if it’s right for you.

Pros: Cons:
  • Effective treatment for fat removal
  • Minimal recovery time
  • 60+ locations around the US
  • May be more effective than CoolSculpting
  • Potentially long-lasting results with a healthy lifestyle
  • Results may be subtle
  • Customer complaints against Sono Bello sales tactics
  • Pricing information isn’t transparent
  • Small risk of serious complications

Available Sono Bello Procedures

Liposuction is considered an effective surgical procedure for slimming, reshaping, and removing excess fat deposits in the body to create desired proportions.

Most procedures are performed with general anesthesia or minimal oral sedation. The surgery requires doctors to create small incisions in body tissues and use microcannulas (thin needles) to extract fat cells from the body.

It’s important to note that liposuction treatments aren’t meant to be a solution for obesity or as a shortcut for weight loss. Rather, Sono Bello states that the procedure should be considered a way to get rid of stubborn fat deposits that are difficult to remove from diet or exercise alone.

Unlike dieting—which they state merely reduces the size of fat cells—liposuction removes the fat cells entirely.

Most Sono Bello centers offer three procedures that it considers less invasive than traditional liposuction:

  1. TriSculpt™ Laser Liposuction
  2. Venus Freeze™
  3. TriSculpt E/X™

These procedures are used to treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

TriSculpt™ Laser Liposuction

As Sono Bello’s most popular procedure, this three-step fat removal procedure relies on “stay-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction, and micro-laser assisted liposuction.”

Sono Bello reports that laser liposuction helps to restore the natural contours of your body and is ideal for removing fat pockets from your stomach, waist, arms, and legs.

You’ll stay awake through the procedure and get local anesthesia in the treatment areas. During treatment, a physician uses micro cannulas to suck out unwanted fat from large pockets and a separate micro cannula with a low-power laser to break down fat in smaller sections like your upper arms and under your chin.

Venus Freeze™

This non-surgical procedure is designed to reduce the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of radio frequency and magnetic pulses.

The Venus Freeze should be painless and will cause only a gentle massage feeling on your skin. Sono Bello states that you will experience a trimmer, smoother figure in as few as five sessions.

The treatment begins with a Sono Bello treatment provider applying a soft gel to the target area and gliding a Venus applicator over the gel in smooth motions to tighten the skin and reduce cellulite.

The treatment purportedly causes new collagen and elastin fibers to form to bring you more supple skin over time.

TriSculpt E/X™

This procedure is designed to remove excess skin, especially around the lower abdomen. It’s advertised as the ideal solution for toning up your appearance, especially when paired with liposuction to remove excess fat first.

Sono Bello Costs

Sono Bello states that their services are affordable, and they claim that TriSculpt and TriSculpt E/X prices start at $1,349 per area, with a minimum requirement of three areas treated ($4,047 total minimum). The starting price for Venus Freeze is $2,995.

However, the precise cost for your procedure will vary based on the clinic’s location, the area and amount of your body you want them to treat, whether you opt for financing or a onetime payment, and what your starting BMI is.

Note that the company website is vague about what constitutes an ‘area.’ I reached out to customer service for further details and was told this was a question that could only be discussed between my consultant and me during my ‘free, in-person consultation.’

Hitting a dead end with customer service, we looked at customer reviews of Sono Bello from around the web to learn what people were paying in reality. Some reported paying approximately $3,000 for an outer thigh procedure, $12,000 for two rounds of back and belly fat removal, $13,500 for a full body liposuction treatment, $4,000 for skin removal on their stomach, and $6,000 for back and midsection liposuction.

As this variance in prices shows, it’s difficult to predict what your treatment costs will be from looking at past procedures because they vary based on each person’s unique situation. The best way to get a price estimate is to contact your preferred treatment location for a phone estimate or to schedule a free consultation.

What Are Sono Bello Financing Options?

Sono Bello offers numerous financing options, including options where you won’t owe any interest if you pay off the full amount of your treatment in six or 12 months. They also claim to offer financing through Care Credit, a medical credit card that offers various financing options depending on the cost of the procedure and the time for repayment.

As with any medical procedure, you’ll want to be sure that you have a complete understanding of the costs associated with your treatment before you commit. Read the fine print and ask plenty of questions during your consultation so you know what you are signing up for.

How Does Sono Bello Pricing Compare to Other Cosmetic Procedures

Is Sono Bello pricing seem standard for the cosmetic surgery industry? The 2017 statistics from the American Society of Plastic Surgeons lists the average cost of liposuction as $3,374, though the price of the procedure varies based on location and surgeon. That’s likely lower on average than what you’ll pay at Sono Bello.

However, this pricing can be deceiving. In the words of plastic surgeon Dr. Samuel Lin, “the average fee referenced is only a portion of the cost. It does not include anesthesia, operating room facilities, or other related expenses.”

For this reason, you need to make sure you understand the full financial picture before committing to a procedure.

Pay attention to any sales techniques and make sure you know precisely what is being treated, and what the expected results should be.

Are Sono Bello’s Liposuction Procedures a Permanent Solution?

According to New York-based plastic surgeon Dr. Charlie Chen, “the results [of liposuction] can be permanent. However, it is impossible to take out every single fat cell in the area. Therefore, if the person gains weight, the liposuctioned area may also increase in size.”

Specialist surgeon Dr. Bernard Beldholm clarifies that any fat you regain after liposuction will look a little different than before the procedure.

“If the person gains weight the remaining fat cells will grow but the patient will remain in proportion,” he told us. “For example, if liposuction has been done on the saddlebags ‘hip area’ and the person gains weight, then the legs and body will get bigger but the saddlebags will not return.”

Ideal Candidates and Recovery Times

Not everyone is a candidate for liposuction. Chen told us that prospective patients should be in good health, have a medical history free of significant problems, and be within 30 pounds of their ideal body weight.

It’s also best to be a nonsmoker and to have relatively elastic skin that will “bounce back” after the treatment.

Regarding recovery times, the company website states that most Sono Bello patients return to work within a week of treatment, and they are approved for vigorous exercise within four to six weeks.

» Recommended Reading: Liposuction: How It Works, Types, Risks, Side Effects, and More

Sono Bello Safety and Side Effects

As with all surgical procedures, there are some inherent risks from Sono Bello. The Mayo Clinic states that you might experience mild bleeding immediately after or develop infections at the site of the incision.

Noticeable scarring due to the treated skin pulling away from healthy skin is also possible with procedures that don’t heal correctly, and some people experience permanent or temporary numbness and tingling from nerve damage.

Past customer reviews show that some people experienced pain during the procedure because they weren’t given general anesthesia. Others reported painful, slow-healing infections because of incisions that went too deep.

One of the most common side effects is to end up with physical irregularities, such as bumpy, weathered skin or fat bulges due to uneven fat removal or poor healing.

Your risk of complications like this increases if your surgeon is working on a large area and if you don’t take the recommended precautions during the healing phases.

However, these negative experiences look to be the exception, not the norm. It seems to us that most people who undergo Sono Bello procedures don’t suffer from unexpected side effects.

How Does Sono Bello Compare to CoolSculpting?

Like Sono Bello treatments, CoolSculpting promises to get rid of extra fat through a safe, cost-effective procedure. The process relies on cryolipolysis, which is a technology designed to freeze fat cells so that they die, and your body can eliminate them.

This leads to targeted fat loss, though the process isn’t designed to help you shed weight as dramatically as liposuction. Instead, you’re likely to experience up to 20% fat reduction in the treatment area after one session, and it may take several months for your body to expel the fat cells so you can see your results.

When you compare CoolSculpting to Sono Bello, a few things are clear. First, CoolSculpting is considered a lower risk procedure because there’s no incision, you don’t need anesthesia, and there’s usually minimal recovery time after.

One drawback is that this often leads to subtle results. A primary CoolSculpting complaint is that it takes a long time for the procedure to work, and the results are usually subtle.

However, CoolSculpting tends to be cheaper than other forms of cosmetic weight loss, as you’ll likely pay closer to $1000 to $2000 for the treatment.

Key Takeaway

If you want to save money and subtle tone up a few problem areas, you’ll likely prefer CoolSculpting for its lower prices and quick recovery time.

If, however, you want a better chance of having a dramatic before and after, the higher price point and potential for pain might still make Sono Bello a better option.

An Analysis of Sono Bello Reviews and Complaints

More than 200 customers have left reviews for Sono Bello on our website, and overall the service averages 3.4 stars. Here’s a summary of the main comments these reviewers make:

Shady Sales Tactics

A significant number of Sono Bello customers weren’t happy with the sales tactics used to convince them to sign up for the service. Many people reported that they felt like they were part of a “bait and switch” where they were quoted one price during their initial consultation and then were charged more than four times that amount at the time of the procedure.

A few also reported that they felt like their treatment at the clinic was rushed and impersonal for the amount of money they were paying. One reviewer reported that she left in tears after the unprofessional treatment after her procedure was canceled unexpectedly due to overscheduling.

Positive Improvements Post Procedure

Many Sono Bello patients were thrilled with the results from their procedure. They noted that they dealt with short, painless recovery times and saw real progress right away.

Many wrote that friends and family noticed the change immediately and that the procedure improved places that they weren’t able to affect with exercise.

Helpful Sales Representatives

Contrary to some Sono Bello user’s experiences, others loved working with the company’s sales agents. They reported that the customer service team took lots of time to carefully explain their treatment options and ensure that they didn’t have any questions or concerns about the procedure before officially committing.

Unsatisfactory Results

A large percentage of Sono Bello users weren’t happy with the results from their procedure. We read reviews from people who felt that their skin looked deformed after treatment and that their bodies weren’t fully healed more than six months after their procedure.

One patient was told she would lose two dress sizes and was left disappointed to be the same size afterward.

Key Takeaway

Some Sono Bello patients had great experiences with the staff and loved their post-treatment results. Others were left unhappy with high-pressure sales tactics, higher price points than expected, and little to no physical change.

The Bottom Line: How to Decide If Sono Bello Is Right for You?

If you’re considering a procedure from Sono Bello, you need to be realistic about what your experience might be. Keep in mind that there are risks involved and that results can vary between patients.

Sono Bello’s lack of transparency about pricing is concerning. You will likely only be able to get an accurate price estimate by attending an in-person consultation, which will probably feel like a high-pressure sales talk.

Many potential customers thought that the company seemed more concerned with convincing them to put down a deposit than listening to their goals or helping them choose the right treatment.

All Sono Bello deposit money is non-refundable, so consider your options carefully before putting down money. We suggest that you leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Cosmetic surgery, even relatively non-invasive treatments like what Sono Bello offers, isn’t for everyone. We think you are most likely to benefit if the following describes you:

  • You understand that liposuction from Sono Bello isn’t designed for extreme weight loss, but rather to reduce the appearance of fat in hard-to-tone areas.

  • You are within 30 pounds of your goal weight and struggle to get the results you want from diet and exercise alone.

  • You are willing to commit to a healthy diet and exercise routine to maintain your results.

  • You understand that your treatment will likely cost $4,000 or more and that you will need to put down a non-refundable deposit.

  • You understand it might take six months or more for swelling to go down completely after treatment.

  • You understand that final results might be subtle and that any cosmetic procedure runs the risk of potentially permanent complications.

» Recommended Reading: How to Find the Best Plastic Surgeon for You


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Sono Bello:
  • 218 Customer Reviews
  • 60% Recommend This Company
3.4 out of 5
5 star: 52% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 33%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Run!

    When you first go here, you speak to a sales person, not a medical personal or anyone who knows anything about the outcomes. I spent about $12,000.00 here, which was a big waste. I was told visit after visit that I was still swollen and it would get better.

    After about three months I demanded to see a doctor (which is almost impossible). I received an appointment with one, and I called to follow up to ensure I still had an appointment with this doctor. I was told she was busy and I could not see her. I called again and again and finally got in with the doctor (mind you, I was told "you can see why he is no longer with us").

    I got in to see the doctor, she sat down, her elbows on her knees, hands on her chin, and she sat there shaking her head back and forth. She said I needed more lipo and corrected, you can tell spots were not done, and lines put in were not right. This doctor wanted me to see another doctor there stating he would be better at correcting this. When I went to this appointment, I was told he would not fix it as I still would not be happy. I was told by Sono Bello if I paid another 3,600.00 they would redo everything. The lady in charge of the office talked the first doctor into approving one spot. I was so devastated, I canceled the appointment.

    One spot I would still be a mess. One visit I was there the staff was talking in the hallway, there was a customer who had a rash on their face after a procedure, they were told to tell the customer that it was rosacea as they were a good candidate for this. It took me two years to show my husband the shape I am in, and the second doctor there even told me if I lost weight it would only look worse.

    I will not be able to fix what they did since financially it is not feasible. Please save yourself the pain I see every day. Save a little more and go to a good place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not get micro laser lipo

    • By Catherine Chi,
    • Tampa, Florida,
    • Aug 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    On December 3, 2016, I got micro laser lipo done in my top, middle, and waist in my abdominal area and the free area was my pubic area. Dr. Azarian said that most patients go back to work on the third day. She also told me that I would have a “slight overlay” in my abdominal area after the procedure. She told me that most patients wear the garment for at least three months and all day long. She told me to not diet and just eat whatever I want.

    In the procedure, I told Dr. Azarian that the procedure was very painful. She said "well, talk about something else and don’t think about it." Is this how a surgeon resolves how I feel? Honestly, I thought it was extremely rude, insensitive, and unprofessional.

    Dr. Azarian insisted that I remove fat from the pubic area instead of the upper arm fat. Mind you, the upper arm fat looks disgusting and unappealing. After the procedure, the office staff (especially Jianara, the front desk receptionist) was very curt and rude. I called the fourth or fifth day after the surgery telling how this garment is way too tight and it is suffocating my sternum. She said, "I am not giving you the more comfortable and expensive one at our office and don’t you want to spend your money right for once?" Excuse me, it is none of anyone’s business what or how I spend my money? So she told me that I had to come in and get another less comfortable garment.

    I told her excessively that I needed to meet with the physician. She wouldn’t give me an appointment with the physician and instead I saw a nurse. I asked the nurse, "so is this normal? My stubborn fat area has a major overlay." The nurse couldn’t answer the question and said instead, "you should have seen the physician." I get done with my appointment and again Jianara is at the front desk, she sat there arguing with me that none of the patients see the physician at the three-month follow-up and you only see the nurse. I told her that doesn’t matter, I demanded to see the physician and "you still made an appointment for me to see the nurse." She argued with me for 30 minutes.

    In the meantime, I suffered mental health severely such as anxiety and depression. I got really depressed that I dropped $5,000 for this wasteful procedure, and my stubborn fat in my abdominal area still looks the same. In fact, the slight overlay of fat is at least three inches around. I have a thick jelly roll. The micro laser lipo procedure disfigured my body. The slight overlay is bulging forward and the fat is so hard that I have been at the gym for the past 3-4 months and I can’t lose it. I dieted since March of 2017, my diet consists of 5 liters of water, tofu, salmon, vegetables, and fruits. If I didn’t diet or exercise, I would have been a 200 lb whale.

    There is no change in my pubic area. I knew in my heart that I wanted the upper arm fat removed but Dr. Azarian was adamant that I wouldn’t see a change. Shouldn’t it be up to the patient’s decision at the end? When I had an issue with the surgery or the office staff, only Jessica the sales coordinator would phone call me to resolve the problem. I am sorry but Jianara should be fired and the doctor should go back to school. I have gone to other surgeons who have worked for Sono Bello and they have told me that I have gotten ripped off. My mom and sisters see no change in my abdominal area.

    I have been so depressed and even Sono Bello has been forcing me to do a noninvasive procedure and to do a six-month follow-up. Well, eight months have gone by and it isn’t right or fair for Sono Bello to take my eight-month pictures to make a final decision if I get a refund or not. I had to diet and exercise for the past four months or so. I didn’t go back for a six-month follow-up due to the rude and unprofessional staff and the surgeon apparently doesn’t work there anymore.

    I am extremely dissatisfied with the micro laser lipo. Now the three to four-inch thick jelly roll has hardened. It is so hard for me to lose it. Sono Bello said that after this procedure, I don’t need a tummy tuck. The fat is so hard that it is going to take me at least two to three years to lose that fat in the gym. I don’t need another surgeon to make a judgment call. I want a full refund of $4,800 because my medical reasoning is that I suffered extreme mental health and disfigurement from the micro laser lipo procedure. I see my stomach every day when I get out of the shower or change clothes in the mirror. It makes me feel depressed that I didn’t in my stomach area, angry that I got ripped off, and hurt how I was mistreated from Sono Bello. I have been extremely depressed and anxious that my physician had to increase my dosage.

    I have read complaints on Sono Bello in Tampa, Florida. Let’s not forget that this is the same company that was sued for killing a patient due to lidocaine toxicity. Sono Bello gave the family $1.8 million or more just to put things under the rug and continue their business. I declined getting another procedure done by Sono Bello even if it is noninvasive, they have done such a horrible job already. I don’t want to go with a repeat or go through excruciating pain. Other patients are right; their painkillers were a joke. The third day after my surgery, I was crying in agony. I had to call out of work. Even the fourth day back to work, I was in extreme pain. Also, my swelling lasted more than six months. To me, that is abnormal. I wasn’t lifting or doing anything unusual.

    Hopefully, I am not bruising inside still and causing more damage to my body. Sono Bello only knows how to rip off patients, and their patients are just numbers, they don’t really care about us, if they did, they should refund all the bad and dissatisfying procedures such as mine. Please contact your local news and tweet about Sono Bello ripping us off and not caring!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money!

    • By Michelle K.,
    • Suwanee, GA,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could give a negative rating but one star is as low as this will allow me to go. I had the worst experience with Sono Bello Atlanta and have thought long and hard about whether to even review their service because I really just want to be over them. In November 2017, I was scheduled for three rounds of lipo (was doing head to toe). Sahar (I believe is her name) was very attentive and helpful when she wanted my money but became a ghost after the botched job. Some of the experiences I had are listed below and explain why I would NEVER recommend Sono Bello to anyone:

    1) I specifically asked what I could expect (in terms of pain or issues) after the procedure. I was told (by Sahar) that I would be a little sore but could resume normal activities within a day or two.

    2) On the morning of the procedure (which they repeatedly told me to arrive by 5:30 am and they didn't open for another hour, which left me sitting on the floor outside their office, waiting).

    3) After giving me the medication to put me to sleep, the nurse gave me a bunch of papers to sign to indicate that they decided to change the order of the procedures and that instead of doing the body parts to which we previously agreed, they thought it best to do other parts. I can't tell you what the change was because I never received copies (even though I asked in a follow-up visit) of the documents I signed. But who gives a patient paperwork to sign after medicating them anyway?

    4) Within a day or so of the procedure, I felt like my muscles were knotting up all around my midsection (painful). In tears, I repeatedly contacted Sono Bello (Sahar, again) and she had the doctor call me (it was the day after Thanksgiving day, but he called and offered to write a prescription for muscle relaxers. I had some and took them - no help. For days, I continued to call, in tears, about the pain.

    5) During my first follow-up appointment, I explained what was going on with me. The nurse (best employee of Sono Bello - sorry, can't remember her name) told me that it was completely normal. Why am I hearing this for the first time, I questioned. I told her about my conversations with Sahar and she went and got her. Sahar's initial response was, "I didn't say anything because it doesn't happen to everyone." WTH?! Then, she later said that I could have done my own research. No words.

    6) I spoke to their practice administrator because when I continued to call, Sahar would put me on hold, then hang up, then refuse my calls. I explained this to the administrator who was very apologetic but said, "Sahar isn't a medical professional. You should have asked your doctor about that." WTH?! Sahar never suggested that she wasn't qualified to answer questions. Just the opposite - she answered without so much as a blink. And, when I was with the doctor she had come into the room and contradicted something he said, and he changed and went along with her, so why would I not listen to Sahar. Who knew how INCOMPETENT she was better than them?

    7) The back and forth with Sono Bello representatives lasted for days after the procedure (in November) where I clearly said I would NOT be doing the remaining procedures and I wanted my money back (to which Sahar said, "no problem"), but it took from November to late January or early February to get my refund, and then I had to go through their administrator for that, and I only got back the portion of the procedures which weren't done. And, since they changed what was done (after I was medicated) the "new" procedure clearly cost more than what I agreed to before the procedure.

    8) There is very little change to my stomach even though I still wear these darn wraps. AND, clearly, he did not remove all of the fat because there is one pocket above my navel that is clearly a fat pocket. So much for charging me for upper and lower abs.

    I could go on and on about the poor service that I received. I will simply say, don't waste your money. Sono Bello staff repeatedly told me that I was an exception - I am not buying it. There service is horrible and the work they did - horrible. What a waste of money. I would have had more success (peace of mind) literally flushing the thousands of dollars down the toilet. Ugh.

    Proceed with them at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst place to go, these people are bad, all they want is your money

    • By Diana Prado,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to Sono Bello on August 3rd, 2017. I told them my medical history, and they need papers from my doctors. They told me to contact my doctor, they told me one thing and told my doctor another. My doctor finally sent a fax, but they said they couldn't use it. My surgery was for August 26, 2017 (this past Saturday) but it didn't happen. I put money down, over $6,000 credit, and now they canceled on me and now they don't want to give me my deposit back.

    They keep telling me they are busy. Veronica or Robin will call me back, but I got nothing. I talked to Jasmine on Friday, the day before surgery. She said they had to cancel my surgery. I was supposed to do love handles and lower and upper abs.

    I don't think this place should be open. I lost my deposit but I will find a better place to go to. This is the worst place to go. Please take my advice. I wish I would have read the reviews about Sono Bello before I went. Yeah, these people are so nice at first, but then when the doctor says no, they don't want to give me my deposit. Lesson learned. I hope you don't pay them like I did. These people are the devil, these people tell you lies. I only saw the doctor at the appointment for only five minutes. I wish I never, ever went to Sono Bello in Dallas. Worst place ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Got ripped off

    • By Pauline Barron,
    • Fredericksburg, TX,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted my batwings (under arm flab) reduced. I met Veronica who gave me the appropriate (or so I thought) program for what I needed and I had to sign paperwork right there and then. Of course, who reads paperwork straight away when paper and pen are shoved in front of you? Veronica talked so much and so fast that I was in a daze.

    I was at the point of having half of my procedure carried out, and I noticed absolutely nothing had changed. So I asked to speak to someone about it. I spoke with the manager and explained the situation to her, and she asked me how much of the flab was I expecting to lose. I told her I would like half of it gone but was actually thinking I would like a little more than that. She told me that they could never get rid of half. And because she was not present when the conversation happened between me and Veronica, she would have to speak with Veronica, and she would get back with me that day.

    Three days later I had heard nothing. So I called back and had to leave a message for her. Finally, she called and told me that Veronica had said that I had mentioned nothing to her about getting rid of flab under my arms! That's the reason I went to Sono Bello in the first place! Veronica told the manager to tell me that I should complete the other half of the treatment then go to a gym and lift weights. What a nerve.

    I paid $2500 and received nothing in return. I tried getting my money back through my credit card, but Sono Bello's contract says they do not give refunds so BEWARE of this disreputable company who seem to have a bunch of negative reviews.

    P.S. I don't know why I was forced to give them a "1-star" rating, but I had to. I give them a zero rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No Sono Bello

    • By Kevin,
    • Schaumburg, IL,
    • Sep 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a brief account of my Sono Bello experience at the Schaumburg, Illinois location. My initial consultation was with a "Patient Care Consultant" who is not medically trained or part of the procedure. The Consultant is basically a Sono Bello sales person who handles the scheduling for your procedure.

    After a high pressure sales technique I was persuaded to pay $6800 for upper/lower abs and love handles (flanks) which I paid in full before leaving the office. I was then pressured into scheduling a pre-surgery consultation 4 days later and the actual surgery 3 days after that without been given a chance to process the information received.

    The "PCC" then instructed me NOT to go online and look up any information pertaining to Sono Bello to avoid getting discouraged and changing my mind. After reading MULITPLE NEGATIVE reviews from all the Sonobello locations which seemed to be endless, I decided to give Sonobello the benefit of the doubt against my better judgement.

    I met with the doctor that was going to do my procedure during the scheduled pre-surgery consultation and immediately felt uncomfortable. The doctor stood by the door and was clearly rushing me through the process to get me out the door and appeared disinterested in my concerns. I was given paperwork to read and told to ask any questions but when I did I was made to feel like I was being a bother.

    I had a very uneasy feeling and after receiving the paperwork I left. I went home and began to research the doctor and could not find 1 positive review. I felt like I was reading reviews on procedures performed by Dr. Frankenstein. I called the "PCC" and explained the situation and stated there was NO WAY I would allow this doctor to do a procedure on me.

    The "PCC" said she would reschedule me with another doctor because Sonobello did not give refunds. Reluctantly I went along with the process and was scheduled for another consult with a different doctor. The experience went better but everything still seemed rushed. After reading the financial agreement it states that if you cancel 5 days before your procedure you are not entitled to a refund which is why I believe everything is rushed from the beginning so you immediately fall into that category and give Sonobello a reason to fight you for a refund.

    The "PCC" insisted on immediately scheduling a surgery with the second doctor to "save my spot" telling me we could reschedule if needed. I informed the “PCC” I would need time to check with work and make arrangements to have the required recovery time since my job is physically demanding and was told it wouldn’t be a problem. After a few days I contacted the "PCC" and stated the date they assigned me did not work for me and provided a date that would give me time to make the proper arrangements. The "PCC" then verified the date which was approximately 2 months away and stated there was an opening and everything was ready to go. The “PCC” also told me I would need another pre-consult that would be done about a week before the procedure.

    During that same conversation the "PCC" told me that the doctor that I met with initially was no longer working there due to lots of complaints which made me wonder why they would have given him to me in the first place. Two months have passed and the day of the consult comes which is 1 week before the scheduled procedure. While sitting in the waiting area, I'm listening to 2 patients that are there for follow up appointments complain about their procedures, follow-up care and their doctors. These 2 ladies are even lifting up their shirts showing how bad their experience was, their individual results and 1 of them was complaining about the doctor that was going to perform my procedure. I was then taken to a room and a short time later the doctor came in.

    During the pre-op consult I was told I gained weight since the last time I was there where and the nurse and doctor seemed to make a joke about that which made me very uncomfortable. While in the room with the doctor and nurse, someone from the front desk came into the room and informed me that she was sorry but the date I was going to have my surgery has been cancelled. The doctor then responded "this isn't my problem that's something you people need to work out" then left the room. The doctor was very cold and made me feel unimportant which made me question how I would be dealt with after the procedure.

    I was NEVER contacted about the change in schedule and was told I would have to wait 7 days for the doctor to become available. I was then escorted out of the room where my consultation was conducted and brought to front desk (on the employee side) where I feel I was ambushed by the staff. I was surrounded by 5-6 employees and told to sign paperwork if I wanted the next available appointment with the doctor 7 days later than originally scheduled.

    I asked to speak with the “PCC” but was told she was in a consultation and couldn’t see me. To avoid making a scene, I signed the paperwork for the date pushed upon me by the staff and left. While in the parking lot, I attempted to reach the “PCC” by phone but was only connected to her voice mail. I left a message explaining what had happened and that the new date pushed upon me would not give me enough time to recover and asked for a return call. I waited a week without a return call so I emailed the “PCC” as well as left another message on her email.

    Eventually the “PCC’ called me and I explained the situation as well as all the negative feelings. I explained that I could no longer ignore the obvious unprofessional treatment and truly felt my wellbeing would be an issue having anything procedures performed on me. I asked for a refund and explained how Sonobello failed to honor the contract when they cancelled on me and was told that I still was not entitled to a refund, I can either lose the money or have the procedure performed. I have spoken with the “PCC” and was then directed to the office manager requesting a refund and was denied by both. I was told that “corporate” denied my request but were willing to waive any rescheduling fees.

    I then asked to speak to the mysterious “corporate” personnel that denied my request but was told “we cannot give out that information.” The reviews I have read are almost a blueprint of what the Sono Bello experience provides, and I refuse to let Sonobello perform any procedures on me. I am not a masochist and don’t want to be the person who is laying in a hospital bed wishing I did not get the procedure done and just gave up on recovering my money.

    I will be seeking Legal representation to recover my money as well as lost wages from taking time off work to have the procedure done that Sonobello failed to do as well as any court costs associated with this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    I went to Sono Bello several years ago and had a procedure done on my thighs with heated equipment that they promised would smooth out the cellulite. It cost almost three thousand dollars, and at the end of the treatments, there was no change! They wouldn't even refund me my money, and on top of that, the idiot receptionists would forget my appointments at times, and I'd have to wait hours or even drive back home which was an hour away.

    Don't go here if you want good results and not to throw your money away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False advertising

    I was botched and the Office Manager was supposed to contact me since February 2017. I called several times, but she never returned my calls. The muscle on my right thigh cannot be repaired, and now I have one thigh larger than the other. This is just one of the damages I could not fix. Now I am going to have my attorney go after them for damages.

    The last doctor I saw treated me as though I was in the wrong, but he confirmed that my botched could not be fixed. However, I needed to meet with the Office Manager.

    I gave 1 star because I had to rate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run! Rip off! Sucker walking!

    • By Lisa,
    • Utah,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged over $11K/$1600.00+ per area for my procedure. This included the Tri-Sculp Lipo of my midsection. I had my procedure done in August 2017. My weight hasn't changed, I never got below 4 lbs of my original weight, and I am now back up to 170 lbs. I diet and exercise, and I still look like I am 7 months pregnant.

    The sales girl in the Utah office told me that Dr. Miller would be removing 80% of the fat cells around my midsection with the Tri-Sculp Liposuction. Dr. Miller didn't do this. In fact, other than a large scar across my pubic area, and the pits along my stomach area, I really don't know what he did. However, Dr. Miller did do an unauthorized procedure on my belly button.

    By the way, I wouldn't give them even half a star rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thieves

    I paid then 5k to reduce three zones. The "before" and "after" pictures are a joke; there is no difference. They say they will repeat the procedure if you're unhappy, but that's a lie. They refused to do it over. The doctor and the nurse at the sink said: "that should not have hurt that bad." Apparently, they did something wrong.

    They don't know what they are doing. Read the reviews on the internet before you give them your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lipo nightmare

    I had surgery a year ago in March. Upper and lower stomach and waist smart lipo procedure. Whereas the surgery itself went well, the recovery from this was horrific, and I ended up in the hospital because my whole abdomen became massively inflamed and infected because the massive amounts of saline they inject in you did not completely drain out because my incisions started to heal over before all the drainage exited my body. I had to have all my incisions reopened and literally forcibly with his hands pushed out the bloody fluid out of my incisions, spuing into buckets and plenty of cotton bandaging to boot. The nurse assisting kept saying "oh my god, you poor girl!"

    To say this was was painful is a complete understatement! I was hysterically screaming and crying from the incredible pain. My whole abdominal area and waist were black and purple from this blockage. I was told by the hospital's surgeon that the Sono Bello surgeon came dangerously close to piercing my main abdominal cavity with the liposuction tool, which would cause death.

    All in all, I certainly would not recommend this type of procedure without sewing in drains so that all the fluid is expelled within a few days not months. Just a horrible experience in all. It literally took six months and lots of antibiotics/piano killers until the bruising and pain to be gone. It has taken a year to see the real results, but now I have to have a tummy tuck from the loose skin left over. I am pretty much hesitant to do this since the last surgery went so badly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 218

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Sono Bello