Stitch Fix

Stitch Fix

Overall Rating

2.4

35 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Stitch Fix will send you a curated assortment of five articles of clothing based on your sizing and style preferences, and you’ll pay only for what you keep.

Pros

  • $20 styling fee can be applied to purchases
  • You can leave feedback with your style guide and request specific styles
  • Free shipping and returns
  • Hundreds of brands represented
  • Save 25% if you keep your full order

Cons

  • Some customers found the prices too high
  • You have just three days to try out the clothes before committing
  • It’s not possible to preview your order before it ships
  • $20 styling fee won’t rollover

Customer Reviews

2.4 Stars out of 35 Reviews
5 Star:25% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:20% 1 Star:48%
31% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Stitch Fix:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 30, 2018

Great service

By Wendy S., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

I read through these reviews and others before deciding to post my own. Some of the complaints and reasons for giving low scores are ridiculous. It seems like people think their fix should be free (shipping included!) if they don’t want to buy anything, how would that work for a business?

Price complaints - if you don’t want to spend more than $12 on a shirt, stick to Walmart. This isn’t for you. They use algorithms and data because that’s smart, but yes, your stylist is a human. No, they’re not buying $5 shirts from TJ Maxx and selling them to you for $60. Stitch Fix isn’t perfect, but you need to be the right fit for this service.

A lot of the 1-star reviews are from people who never had the budget to use this service and weren’t going to have a good experience. I’ve had fixes where I kept everything, others where I kept nothing. That’s the gamble you take, but the more I’ve ordered, the more personalized they’ve felt. I’ve kept every item from my last two fixes, but I also had that ability within my budget. I didn’t expect to get five items for $40, so my expectations were realistic.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 23, 2018

Love!

By Sonya V., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

I am on my second box. I kept a cute pair of earrings from the first box, which after the credit were $15 and I love them. I kept my entire box the second time!

My stylist's note made reference to the fact my hand was broken and that I was going to Toronto for Canada Day. So she picked out easy-to-put-on clothes, including a jersey sundress with red and white stripes!

So, I am a bit at a loss as to where the complaints are about stylists. I treat mine like a doctor - I tell her about events, climate, colors I hate, etc.

My fave thing is that I get things I would have never considered buying and they are great!

It isn't TJ Maxx type clothing and my usual "mall" is Nordstroms, so my money limits are set a little higher perhaps. I use Stitch Fix to refresh my other pieces; my wardrobe is timeless (well, IMO) and I buy clothes that last for much longer than a season. YEP! My stylist knows that, too.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 7, 2018

Not as good as you would hope

By Irina Y., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered twice after reading glorious reviews posted on the company website or from the people who got paid for promoting this business. Anyway, I left only two tops out of both shipments, and although they would cost $15 max at Ross or TJ Maxx, I paid $60 a piece. Originally I really liked what they called stylist notes or something like that, thinking it’s a customized suggestion for me only later to find out exactly the same printout on the internet. I really felt betrayed by Stitch Fix since I was promised individualized suggestions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2018

Ripoff

By Gilbert Downers, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

What a complete ripoff; crappy made in some foreign sweatshop clothes sent to you at a high price. Stay away! Design consultant needs a sense of style. How can they get away with this scam?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2018

Love Stitch Fix

By Susanna Tempesta, Pensacola, FL, Verified Reviewer

I love this service. It is like it is your birthday every month. Do you always like what you get for your birthday? No! I don't always keep everything. Last fix I only kept a pair of pants. If you are the kind of person that only shops at Ross and TJ Maxx sales, this is not the service for you. There are no sale prices. You are getting the newest from that season. The quality and price are that of a mid-priced boutique. They have a very detailed measuring questionnaire, so if you don't get the right sizes, then change the sizing you have on there. Easy.

Be specific in what you are looking for. Make sure your Pinterest is up to date. They can't always find exactly what you are looking for, same as when you go shopping and don't find it. It isn't magic. If you don't like your stylist, get another.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2017

Unsatisfied customer

By Tim Shriver, Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

I liked the clothes, but I found that several items in each fix were more expensive than my set price ranges, making each fix very expensive. When I brought this up with Stitch Fix, they said that their stylists are encouraged to include a "splurge" item (which means their business model is designed to push you to buy things over your stated limits).

I received my latest fix, and because I was traveling, I was not able to pick up my fix for several days. In my fix, there was a ridiculously overpriced item I found for 68% cheaper online. When I complained, Stitch Fix said they would price match if I sent them the information, which I promptly did. Then, after THEY offered to price match, they denied me because it was more than 7 days since the box was delivered.

I would have actually liked to continue receiving fixes, but after this experience, I decided to cancel my subscription. I felt like they only wanted to wring as much money out of me as they could, instead of providing quality consistent service over time, so they lost this client. And I recommend that you not subscribe unless you really don't mind being turned upside down and shaken until all your money falls out of your pockets.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2017

A sad Stitch Fix review

By Sarah, Monterey, CA, Verified Reviewer

Ok. I tried two fixes from Stitch Fix, and I, unfortunately, had to stop my subscription. I know only two fixes isn't really a good gauge on if I liked it or not, but I wasn't going to keep items only to keep my styling fee. A few reasons why I didn't like Stitch Fix:

My stylist really did not listen to me or the things I posted on Pinterest for them to follow.

My stylist also tended to lean on the more expensive side of my budget, which was also a bummer. Not that I am not willing to pay that much, but it was just that the quality of the item was not worth the cost. Which leads me to my next point.

The quality of the items was subpar. For the same price, I can go to a nearby North Face or Patagonia and get the same item with a MUCH better quality. Maybe it's the downside to not going to the store yourself.

The fit of each item in the two fixes that I had was absolutely awful, and most of them looked like items I would only wear around the house or items that my grandma would only wear. Not the stylist's fault, but if I wanted oversized, bulky items, I would say so, but I didn't.

A bummer that I didn't read more reviews.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2017

Very dishonest company

By Brenda York, Buchanan, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have tried to get refunded for two bags of clothes I sent back. I wasn’t receiving the items that I clearly described in my notes to my stylist. I even had a Pinterest board full of clothing ideas and none of them were that close.

But because I had events I had to go to and I was limited on my shopping time, I kept some of them. The things I returned I have not received credit for all of them. I even left notes in the bags on the kinds of things I wanted.

To communicate with customer service and speak to someone is virtually non-existent. I have asked several times for a phone call and have not ever received one

Please do not use this company; you will be sorry.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 14, 2017

Nordstrom prices, Dollar Store quality

By HonnyBrown, Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

I was very excited to receive my first "fix." I opened the box and was more than disappointed. The stylist ignored every single thing that I said. I said I wanted corporate-classic, and I got weekend-dumpster. I kept the jewelry so I would not be out $20. I also kept a pair of slacks because I did not have that color. The following "fixes" were more of the same. I finally canceled.

Fast forward 6 months, the hem fell out of the pants, and one of the necklaces is turning green. It's not worth the price or the convenience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2017

Just no.

By Cassandra Thomas, Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I have received only one fix. I am in my mid-thirties and I like a little fashion adventure with a few safe pieces. I conveyed this. I also attached my Pinterest board and a photo of me. What I got was pretty unfortunate.

The clothing was cheap in quality and expensive in price. The clothes felt like gap quality. They were boring. An oversized grey sweater. Chinos. A pleather (ew) bomber jacket.

Boring sweater and pants aside, the jacket was the only thing I might have kept if it was not so cheap feeling. Pleather is ok as long as it doesn’t look and feel like it came from 5-7-9. And even with the tacky quality, it was still almost a hundred bucks! What the what?! Oh, and everything was way too big. How?! I entered my sizes (though there is no spot for actual measurements).

I am pretty liberal with spending (just ask my credit card lenders).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2017

Too unpredictable

By Jacque Ohl-Trlica, Central Coast, CA, Verified Reviewer

My first delivery was perfection; great style, perfect fit, and really fun clothes that I will wear often. Then came the second shipment, and it looked like someone made a mad dash through Walmart, threw in some charcoal gray, oversized sweat pants and top along with a denim tattered pocket shirt from the 70's, as well as a pair of culotte length denim capri's three sizes too big that I wouldn't wear on a camping trip, let alone in public.

Sorry, but hook me in with my original stylist, and I'll consider staying on for another box of clothes, but if it is a luck of the draw with who will pick your clothes for the next shipment, then I just don't want to be hassled with the unpredictability of that. I've heard this story repeated with several friends, so I doubt I will bother with a third shipment. I frankly have other things to do with my time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 35

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.