Tecovas Review - Are These Boots Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 10, 2020

Tecovas is an Austin-based brand of handmade cowboy boots. The boots are advertised as “handmade, high-quality boots that don’t break the bank” on the company website.

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

Paul Hedrick, the company founder, grew tired of the inconvenience of shoe stores and spending almost $1,000 on quality cowboy boots. In 2014, he quit his job and began traveling the world to research ways to make and sell boots more affordably. After 16 months of research and numerous trips to Mexico, he sold his first pair of boots.

The company states that by not having a storefront keeps prices low (about half the price of traditional retail they claim) because you won’t need to pay middlemen for markups at the physical store.

This review examines the boots' details, uses, and cost to help you decide if they're right for you.

What Makes These Boots Stand Out?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots set themselves apart from the competition by providing unprecedented value, being handmade, and offering classic styles for customers to choose from.

Tecovas claims that their boots are twice the quality of other boots at their price point and half the price of similarly quality boots. Their strategy for keeping costs lower is cutting out the retailer and subsequent markups, ensuring that the cost savings are passed on to the customer.

The boots are handmade in León, Mexico in a traditional construction process that takes over 200 steps per shoe. Finally, the company strives to produce the boots in timeless styles that won’t go out of style when trends change.

Pricing

At the time of writing, Tecovas boots ranged in price on the company website from between $195 and $455.

While the company previously maintained a showroom in Austin, the boots are currently only available from the brand’s online store. They proclaim that this makes them the first direct-to-consumer western brand. Orders can be placed online, and all questions should be directed through email to howdy@tecovas.com.

The brand states that all sizes and products listed on their website are available for immediate order, meaning that the vast majority of successful orders are shipped within one business day.

Selecting free shipping at checkout means most orders will arrive within 3-5 business days, and the company provides options to upgrade to Next Business Day or 2nd Business Day shipping as well.

The website also states that all orders are shipped with a free peel-off return label and instructions for issuing a return. If the label is lost for any reason, customers can email the company to receive a new one.

Important Details

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

The company also makes it clear that Tecovas insoles aren’t designed to be removed from the shoe, meaning that some customers might find it difficult to wear them with an orthotic or special insert. To ease the process, the company suggests ordering boots a half size up to accommodate the extra room.

While it is possible to tear out the insole to accommodate larger inserts, the company notes that this will void their ability to be returned.

Bottom Line

Our research into Tecovas painted a pretty clear picture of the brand.

Customer reviews on HighYa for the boots are overwhelmingly positive, and the company implements an easy return policy in case you aren’t completely satisfied with your purchase.

However, the reviews we looked at on the company website seemed to indicate that only a small portion of customers end up returning their boots.

Those looking for a rugged work boot are likely to be disappointed with Tecovas, as the boots are designed more for walking and fashion than work. Nonetheless, reviewers consistently praised how well their boots held up after months of regular wear.

If you are looking for a pair of high-end cowboy boots that will last for longer than a season, then Tecovas boots might be a brand to begin your search.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Tecovas:
  • 34 Customer Reviews
  • 76% Recommend This Company
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 64% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 8% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 14%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Tecovas boot wear

    • By Ding W.,
    • Chesapeake, VA,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a pair of Tecovas suede boots as a gift and was surprised at the looks and comfort of the boots. I really thought that the company had come up with a great product reasonably priced.

    Alas, after wearing the boots 3-4 times, the sole of one boot started coming apart, something I had never experienced before. I called the company to inform them of my experience, received a really off the wall explanation with no effort to correct the problem. A bootmaker friend of mine had previously informed me that Tecovas boots were extremely cheaply made in Mexico and to avoid them - BOY was he right! Tecovas runs a well-oiled commercial and replies to complaints with pure BS.

    STAY AWAY from Tecovas boots, or you will be sorry! I would rate 1/2 star if available.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No response

    • By Richard B.,
    • Jupiter, FL,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered my Tecovas for Christmas and found I needed a half size larger. I returned the boots an have not heard from Tecovas 13 days later. I left an email message a week ago and today as well and have not heard or confirmed they received my boots back or have sent the larger pair. Not a good way to start this relationship.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would not recommend

    • By Michael E.,
    • Livingston, TX,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Boots looked great but started coming apart after wearing them outside. Great around the house but don't go outside. Sent company 3 emails with pictures of the sole separating from the boot. No response. Very disappointed. I will take them to a cobbler tomorrow to see if they can be repaired. These Nash lizard boots are 2 weeks old.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Dillon Boots (Pecan Caiman) size 7D

    • By Dom M.,
    • Bremerton, WA,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received these boots about three months ago and they felt kind of tight in my right foot. I called customer service and they informed me that it will stretch in time. I used the boots constantly, hoping it will stretch, and I got positive comments from other people and friends. I'm really disappointed because I have been using my boots for about three months and my boots are still too tight and my foot is starting to hurt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still don't have my boots

    • By Charles H.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jan 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered boots from Tecovas on December 6th. They were sized incorrectly and I returned them for a smaller size. I mailed them back on December 7th and SEVEN weeks later still don't have the smaller size.

    I have received almost no communication from Tecovas other than constant advertising for their products.

    I guess these are nice boots....if you can get them to send you a pair.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lucchese Boots are definitely superior

    • By GS C.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lucchese Boots are definitely superior to Tecova boots. Absolutely nothing fits better than a Lucchese boot. The proven heel system conforms to your foot like a glove. For the price, Tecova is a great deal with a quality-made boot. I bought the Tecova caiman boot at half what it would cost to buy Lucchese Caiman. They are a well-made boot but nothing like the buttery soft Lucchese boots I have that always slip off with ease of a custom pair of leather gloves. So just know that if you want the very best that doesn’t pull a muscle trying to get them off at the end of your day, but Lucchese.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Nash Lizard Roper

    Overall Experience:

    Wow! The most comfortable and best-looking boots I’ve ever owned. These lizards are “dress” boots for me. A movie star or professional athlete would love these boots; probably not as much as me. Enough of that.

    These boots serve a purpose and it ain’t running a chainsaw or taking the ATV to the Quachita National Forest to kick around. My Ariat or Justin bullhide crepe sole boots will take a beating (and I mean kicking logs around in the fire kinda beating).

    I spend a lot more time indoors with my Tecovas Nash boots on than outside with work boots. I love ‘em both.

    Bottom line is my Tecovas boots are the only footwear I don’t let my teenage sons touch. I keep shoe trees in them and polish ‘em with Bick 4 every time I put them up. I never wear them two days I’m a row. But those two or three times a week I put them on, I get compliments on them everywhere I go. And I live in Texas.

    I bought my wife a pair of Tecovas short women’s boots. I believe they’re called the “Jessie.” Very nice. All leather. Good looking and (as we say in Texan) “hell for stout.”

    As an aside, the initial pair I ordered too small. Tecovas made the exchange PAINLESS. Very easy. New boots I ordered a tad bit large and put an insert inside. I do this with all shoes.

    Forgive me for getting long-winded. I love premium footwear and love these boots.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    • By Lee N.,
    • Texas,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wear boots every day. I bought a pair of the lizard and they look nice, but are the least comfortable boots I have ever purchased. The heel is too loose with my foot in the boot, but they are extremely hard to get off your foot. Their return policy is a joke. Only "un-worn" boots can be returned? "No scratches on the bottom"? Unless I walk across the floor, how do I know? I should have read their BS policy before purchasing, I got scammed! Lesson learned! Never again will I buy boots from a no-name. You get what you pay for! If anyone wants to try a pair of 10D's with 15 steps on them, look at the Goodwill in San Antonio! That's where mine are going!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where is my boot jack please

    • By Paul P.,
    • Traverse City, MI,
    • Apr 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Tecovas, I assume that unless comments are patting you on the back, you don't want to hear them. I am getting tired of hearing how great you are when I cannot get a simple order. The soonest would be best. THANK YOU.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Superb boots

    • By Duaine G.,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As a Texan, boots have always been a part of my footwear. 30 years ago I bought a pair of Lucchese ropers which I still wear after being resoled a couple of times. During that time I've tried other brands with recurrent dissatisfaction returning always to Lucchese's, now owning three pairs of ropers.

    I saw the Tecovas' claims and decided to give them a try. I ordered a pair of full quill ostrich ropers (the Duke), which came this morning. The construction and material seem to be on a par with more expensive brands. I wore them all day today and found them comfortable and good looking. This is the first pair of boots that have felt so good day one during break-in since my Lucchese's.

    The Tecovas price was about half of the Lucchese full quill ostrich roper. If they prove to be as durable, they are a tremendous bargain. Looks like I'll be adding another pair or two of Tecovas to my boot collection in a couple of months if these hold up as well as I expect. It's a no-brainer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent boots (the Earl in Bourbon Calf)!

    • By Rick W.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I finally go around to ordering a pair of Tecovas. I've been wanting a pair for well over a year now, and my birthday was the perfect opportunity to take the plunge. I'm glad I did!

    When it comes to apparel, many companies post pictures that make their products look way better online or in a catalog than how they actually look in person. When my boots arrived, I was shocked to notice that these looked just as good in person as they do online (even better, perhaps). The quality of construction and attention to detail is top notch. I don't care if they are made in Mexico. It's obvious that the folks making Tecovas boots know what they are doing, and Leon, Mexico has a very rich tradition in fine leatherworks.

    My main concern with ordering these boots was the fit. Fortunately, Tecovas makes it very easy to exchange them for a different size, if needed. A postage-paid return address envelope is included in the box. Just make sure to ship them back in "new" condition (meaning no scuffs on the soles), and Tecovas will gladly swap them out for a new size of your choosing. You don't pay anything extra. For me, I got lucky, and my boots fit perfectly right out of the box.

    One of the details that stands out with these boots is the use of bovine leather throughout the entire interior of the boot. Most other boots use nice leather lining in the shaft, and part of the way through the vamp, but then transition to either cloth or an inferior leather as it gets towards the toe. The inclusion of high-quality leather lining throughout the entire interior sets these boots apart, and really adds to the overall comfort of the boots.

    After wearing these a few times, they are already starting to break in nicely. I can tell these are going to wear well - even though they are so soft. The calfskin leather is very high quality - I've never felt such a soft leather before. Lastly, the smell of these boots is amazing. They have such a deep, rich leather smell, even having been out of the box for a few days, the smell is still very strong. I love it!

    I will definitely look to Tecovas again if and when I decide to order another pair of boots. You really can't beat the quality they offer at the price-point. I've tried on other brands that are twice the cost, and didn't seem as well-made as these. Great boots all-around; I cannot recommend them enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a Review for Tecovas!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Tecovas