About JustFab

JustFab promises shoppers a wide variety of high-quality shoes and boots for the low price of $39.95 (or in the case of their current site-wide sale, two pairs for $39.95).

Shoes aren’t enough to satisfy your shopping needs? JustFab also offers additional categories to complete your shopping experience, including accessories, jewelry, and denim.

JustFab’s parent company, JustFab Inc., also operates ShoeDazzle.com, FabKids.com, and Fabletics.com. The company saw a boom in internet appreciation throughout the past year for their apparently sweet deals on some pretty awesome shoes. They currently service millions of users and have attracted a whopping $149 million in backing!

Sounds pretty appealing, right? Except, a little over a year into their business, the online mood towards JustFab is starting to change. We’ll talk more about this in a moment, but let’s first take a look ar what JustFab offers.

First, What JustFab Offers:

Visiting JustFab.com, you’ll notice the site is designed to look very similar to Zappos, Shoebuy, or any other online retailer. The immediate difference is that, unlike traditional retailers who offer different products at different prices, all shoes, handbags, and denim products sold through JustFab are priced at $39.95 across the board (jewelry products are priced individually).

When you find a style that you like, (I was exploring shoes, but the process appears consistent across categories), prospective buyers are shown all the normal information: available color and sizing options, materials and details, and a fit survey. User reviews of the items are also available, and seem consistently positive.

However, shoppers will find that the pricing is unique. Items are given two prices: the “VIP price”, which was $39.95, as are all the items (save jewelry) on their site. There is also a “regular price” listed at $49.00 — an entire .05 cents difference — that has been crossed out, forcing customers to purchase products at the VIP price.

In Short, You Must Sign-Up For VIP Membership to Purchase

To do so, users can register with Facebook or their email address. Signing up for VIP membership also requires a few extra steps:

  • Take a short style quiz so that the site can make personalized recommendations for you
  • Search through the selected items, favorites or their entire stock
  • Purchase any item at the VIP price of $39.95

There are additional “perks” to becoming a JustFab VIP, which include:

Receiving notice of a selected personal boutique to shop from on the 1st of each month

  • Saving 50% off your first purchase
  • Receiving free shipping on all orders over $39
  • Receiving free exchanges
  • The ability to purchase any item in your personalized boutique for only $39.95, up to the 5th of each month
  • “Skip” any month that you don’t want to make a purchase by clicking “Skip the Month” by the 5th

Is JustFab a Subscription Service?

According to JustFab’s How it Works page, “If you are not ready to make a purchase, simply click Skip the Month in your boutique by the 5th and you will not be charged.”

That’s right! JustFab is a cleverly disguised subscription service, and the online store forces customers to sign up for their VIP membership to purchase any of their products.

Once you’ve signed up, your credit card will be charged $39.95 on the 5th of every month, unless you take the time to log into your account and notify JustFab that you want to skip purchases for that particular month (and you’ll need to repeat this process monthly in order to avoid any charges.)

The fine print goes on to say that you are allowed to skip as many months as you would like without penalties, so I guess that’s nice of them.

However, VIP members who have simply forgotten to go in and “skip the month” and incurred the $39.95 charge are credited for one JustFab item, which members are allowed to redeem at any time in the future.

Finally, JustFab states that you are allowed to cancel your membership at any time. Just be aware that doing so must occur before the 5th of each month or you will incur charges. While it’s not explicitly stated, I assume that cancelling your membership eliminates your option to redeem any JustFab credits.

What JustFab Customers Think

It’s pretty hard to find happy reviews of JustFab, even beyond the sneaky subscription charges. Here is a direct quote from blogger Literally Darling, who writes an extensive review of her JustFab experience:

“Cardboard is more comfortable. The boots were simultaneously too big and too small. They actually hurt just to wear around in the apartment. Oh well, I thought. Back they go. Thus, I began my journey down the black hole that is JustFab.com. All promotional purchases are final sale. This includes the initial $19.95 pair. I began to look through the site and I realized that a lot of the merchandise is actually coded as promotional. Not even eligible for site credit, just final sale.”

Several months later, the reviewer at Literally Darling attempted to use accumulated credits to purchase another pair of boots. However, the order did not go through due to “problems with JustFab’s site.”

Frustrated, she then decided to forgo the purchase and logged into her JustFab account to check the status of her credits… which weren’t there (despite the cancelled order). Her customer service experience with JustFab speaks volumes:

A chat session screenshot between Literally Darling and JustFab

And Literally Darling isn’t alone. JustFab’s hidden charges and poor service upset so many people, that a contributor at Gawker wrote about her experience with the shoe retailer, titling the article “The Biggest Scam in Online Fashion.”

To summarize why JustFab customers are saying the site is not so fabulous:

  • Shoes are reported as being poor quality and uncomfortable
  • Misleading membership information signs you up for autoship (and charges)
  • The majority of shoes available are promotionally priced and non-returnable
  • Honest reviews of the shoes are not being posted
  • 30+ Minute wait-times to reach customer service
  • Members must actually reach a customer service representative to cancel and avoid repeated charges

Final Thoughts on JustFab

Having not purchased their shoes, I can’t speak to the quality of products buyers receive. That being said, JustFab has garnered enough negative reviews to convince me not to try!

If you’re interested in buying shoes online, Zappos.com is known for it’s fantastic service and free shipping, as well as offering buyers a straightforward price that doesn’t include any surprise charges, memberships or hidden fees.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Consumer Reviews for JustFab

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • Scammed! Then cancelled, then scammed again!

    • Michigan,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I let my fiance use my card to buy a pair of shoes from JustFab and I didn't check my statements until four months later and had been charged $39.95 for all four months and received nothing. So I canceled while on a three-way with Capital One disputing the charges. Then JustFab says credits do not exist. Oh well, it's over. NOT! So flash forward six months later and they are still charging me! Luckily Capital One recorded the phone call and was a witness. So Capital One knocks all six charges from my account! Thank god for Capital One! Do not buy anything from JustFab, it will be hours of your life you will never get back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Charged for shoes I did not order, month after month!

    • Michigan,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered one singular pair of shoes more than a year ago, and ever since then, they’ve been charging my card month after month (I did not know until I looked just a little bit ago). And it’s been hundreds of dollars and I did not order these things. Last June, I called to dispuit the payment and they refunded me what they owed at that point, and after that, they did it again and have been doing it for six months. I don’t know if this is an employee at JustFab thinking they can just get away with using my card when I haven’t ordered anything except a $39.95 pair of shoes and have proof of this because I’m logged into my account on my iPhone and have been ever since I ordered the one pair! They’ve been charging me for shoes I did not order, and certainly did not receive. Avoid ordering from JustFab.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • "JustCrap"

    • England,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don't make it clear AT ALL that you are signing up for their VIP membership, which charges your account £35 a MONTH. Then they make it very difficult to cancel your VIP membership account. They are a shady company, who deliberately mislead people. AVOID.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sneaky fees

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Apparently, their "small print" talks about a $39 monthly fee. No wonder how they stay in business. Very sneaky and very easily missed. Very misleading! I canceled my "membership" instantly. They need to be more upfront about this so-called membership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Shipping Issues

    • California,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company needs to improve its processes. I made an order on 1/1/19 and checked tracking to find out that the shipment was out for delivery in my town today, but was unable to complete delivery because a street address was not included on the packaging.

    First of all, I added the street address because it needed to be changed, but even if it was somehow missed, there should be some sort of check to make sure you have entered a valid address. I can't understand how a package is shipped without a proper mailing address in the first place.

    Secondly, I called FedEx to try to see if the package could be saved and was told to contact JustFab. The Customer Service Rep attempted to be helpful, however, he told me that all of my items would be added back into the warehouse and that I would only be offered a few of the items back after they were received. I cannot understand this, as all of the items are already in a package in my name. Why can't the same package be sent out with a new mailing stamp? I asked for a full refund on my order and all of my credits and to cancel the account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scammers!

    The delivery service is terrible! They never sent my order, they never got in touch with me, after over one month they refunded my order but underfunded the amount back to me. I will never be using this website again and I implore anyone reading this review to do the same. Terrible, terrible scammers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Just not fab

    • United Kingdom,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hate this retailer. The only reason they stay afloat is by their ridiculous VIP scheme. You think you're just ordering a pair of shoes but you're not - you're ordering shoes and a subscription! I hadn’t realised they were taking money from me until the 6th month...that was over £200 they’d taken out of my account without me knowing.

    The fact they give you just one day a month to go online and skip this month is ridiculous as well..

    Companies like these are thriving on stolen money. After over two hours on the phone to them, I’ve gotten nowhere. I’m so sickened by it all...£200 is a lot of money! I will never purchase from them again! And I will be making sure no friends or family do either!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not order from them

    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordering from the company is a disaster. I have ordered a handful of times and each time I have my products have come in wrong, damaged, or inconsistent sizes. This goes back to over a year ago. One pair of boots were covered in black marks, another was the same style and size just a different color, and when they were laid flat next to each other, they were two completely different sizes although labeled the same.

    The most recent order is what has me leaving this review today. I ordered brown boots and they came in "Taupe," and as a courtesy, I returned them and was promised the brown boot. Weeks later after they received the wrong ones back. THEN that order was "delayed" a couple of days for who knows what, and when my boots came in they were yet again TAUPE!

    I called them, AGAIN to then, of course, be told I need to return the item, blah blah blah. Nope, heck no, I am not wasting my time again. So they sent me another pair and expedited it and assured me they would contact the warehouse and make sure the brown boots were the on the way and I could return the others when I felt like it.

    Well, here we are today, and my third pair of TAUPE boots have come in. Heck no, I am not a JustFab employed delivery person, I am definitely not sending back yet another pair of boots before I get a refund or before I get the right pair of boots. They would not assist me unless I returned these boots. Which, may I add, are not even for sale on the website for TAUPE.

    Terrible customer service, terrible expectations you have that you think your customers should deal with and do for you. Do not order from this company, do not waste your time on the cheap crap made boots, they are not worth the time you are going to spend trying to get something you want and like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare online retailer

    • Shrewsbury, United Kingdom,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up just before Christmas because I liked some boots they had on their site. They were relatively cheap but nothing special.

    They arrived and didn’t fit. Returning them seems very complex so I'm saving them for my daughter who is much more dainty than I am.

    I forgot about it and then noticed they had been taking 35 pounds out of my account each month. I’ve emailed them several times without any response and have now raised a dispute with PayPal. I should have known better - if it sounds too good to be true then it almost certainly is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam and theft

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two huge issues with this company. One is the credits they draft from your account. You can’t apply them to sales! This is your actual money, and you are literally penalized for using their credit system. The second is their customer service. Here is a message I sent to them after an hour-long call. It's supposed to be an immediate response, but I never heard back. I have since filed a BBB complaint.

    Hello,

    I just spent exactly one hour and four min on the phone with your customer service. I’ve been a loyal customer for years. I’ve also, worked in customer service my entire life and have yelled on a call exactly twice, both for my last order with you. The first was the scam with the credits, that makes you a bad business. The second was you switching my address on an order and refusing to properly refund me, that makes you thieves. It’s clear after an hour you don’t care that I will share this story in social media, you don’t care about customer service, but I will 100 % be reporting this to the BBB, and any other agency I can. You have stolen from me.

    From the three people I spoke to my understanding of what happen is that one of my items was sold out when I made my purchase. When this happen your system updated the order and put my old address and billing address in! I asked several times for a call to be placed to fedex to switch the address, but the most I got on response was the last manager who said they could try, but it probably wouldn’t work. I deal with FedEx everyday, it would have. I’ve made mistakes and sent things to the wrong place. Infuriated I demanded my money back. I was told, several times that Justfab is incapable of refunding on a card, it would have to be a check in 12 days. You are an international company, this is flat out not true. The guy selling local produce at the farmers market can refund to my card. I don’t claim I handled this well, and I’m ashamed for raising my voice, but I have never, never received such customer service. These were Christmas presents. I don’t have a ton of money, that’s why I let the credits be drafted, a sort of savings account for Christmas presents. Now I don’t have them, or the money for them. I don’t know what I’m going to do. My heart is broken for this, and I am so angry. You took my money, changed my address without permission, and refused to refund me. This is the definition of stealing.

    I have no faith this check will ever be sent to me, and if it is it will probably be to the wrong address.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Cyber Monday

    • Kentucky,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I was getting a shirt for $10.00. Turns out to be $30.00

    Along with a pair of jeans, supposed to be $15.00 Turns out to be $40.00.

    A purse that was to be $10.00, turns out to be $30.00.

    When I got to check out, I owed them over $63.00.

    That was taken off the $39.95 for my SO-CALLED VIP MEMBERSHIP.

    So, does that add up to anyone out there?

    I think I will be contacting the ATTORNEY GENERAL about this fraudulent company that all they are doing is taking more money from your account. Sounds like a SCAM. Anything to get more money from the hard working American!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for JustFab!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review