JustFab Review: Is It Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Feb 25, 2020

Online shopping has appeal, especially when websites promise bargains far better than what you could find in stores.

JustFab is an e-commerce shopping platform for women that promises excellent cost savings for those willing to commit to its monthly VIP membership plan. The site sells boots, shoes, clothing, bags and accessories and more, most for between $10–$50 per item.

The company is headquartered in California and sources most of its clothing from factories in Asia. By working directly with manufacturers and only selling online, JustFab claims to keep costs low by cutting out the middleman and not paying for physical shop space.

What sets this site apart from other online retailers is its VIP program. Techstyle Fashion Group, the owner of JustFab and its sister sites FabKids, ShoeDazzle, and Fabletics, charges VIP shoppers a monthly fee that can be used as a credit to future purchases. There is a set period each month where shoppers can opt-out of this fee by skipping that month.

Each of these sites offers something different. FabKids focuses on children’s apparel, while Fabletics is predominately fitness clothing and athleisure. ShoeDazzle emphasizes more trendy high-fashion apparel than JustFab, which tends to offer more casual options.

Will you have a positive experience if you shop with JustFab? Read our review to learn if this site offers the good deals it promises.

Pros: Cons:
  • Free exchanges and store credit for returns

  • It’s possible to opt-out of the monthly subscription cost

  • Constantly changing selection

  • Many customers aren’t aware of the VIP program’s fine print

  • Receiving cash back for returns costs $6 per item

  • Some products are more expensive than other competitors

  • Some customer complain about item quality

How JustFab VIP Membership Works

JustFab sells a broad assortment of apparel items for women, with an emphasis on shoes. The following chart shows the pricing for some of the popular things currently for sale at both the standard cost and the cost for VIP members.

Item Standard Cost VIP Cost Percent Savings
Marley Quilted Faux Fur Snow Boots $74.95 $52.95 30%
Hooded Puffer Jacket $79.95 $49.95 38%
Indie High Waisted Ultra Stretch Jeans $59.95 $39.95 34%
Belted Mini Dress $56.95 $39.95 30%
Cutout Handle Crossbody Bag $62.95 $39.95 37%
Layered Heart Necklace $16.95 $10.95 36%
Criss Cross Back Sports Bra $35.95 $24.95 31%
Keep Cool Ballet Flat $44.95 $29.95 34%

As this chart shows, you’ll save about a third off the listed price of JustFab products if you commit to a VIP membership, and that’s not factoring in shipping costs.

However, there are some crucial details about this rewards program you don’t want to miss, which we’ll touch one next.

Joining the JustFab VIP program is the site’s default option, though you can choose to opt-out of it in the top right corner of the ordering page. VIP membership awards you the following benefits:

  • An average of 30% off listed retail prices
  • Access to exclusive styles and private events and promotions
  • Free shipping on orders over $39
  • Monthly hand-picked styles based on your shared preferences

Once you sign up for VIP membership, JustFab charges you $39.95 at the beginning of each month, which will be credited towards any purchase over $39.95. These credits don’t expire.

It’s possible to skip a month of membership and avoid this fee by logging into your account and selecting “Skip this Month” between the 1st and 5th day of the month. You can do so for as many months as you want.

You can cancel your VIP membership at any point by contacting the company at (866) 337-0906.

Customer reviews that we read are mixed on how well this process went. Some shared that the JustFab customer service agents were professional and canceled their accounts immediately. Others had to be on hold for over an hour before they succeed.

Is the VIP Membership Worth It?

The JustFab VIP program rewards regular shoppers. Are the cost savings worth it? Let’s look at how much you’ll save with the VIP membership compared to paying standard pricing for a few different orders of three items each.

Order 1:

  • Dome Crossbody Bag: $39.99 ($59.95 regular)
  • High Waisted Distressed Jeans: $39.95 ($59.95 regular)
  • Hooded Utility Jacket: $39.95 ($59.95 regular)

Total VIP Membership Cost: $119.85

Total Standard Cost: $179.85 ($60 difference)

Order 2:

  • Belted Denim Dress: $49.95 ($72.95)
  • Faux Suede Jacket: $54.95 ($79.95)
  • Sydney Blade Heeled Boot: $44.95 ($66.95)

Total VIP Member Cost: $149.85

Total Standard Cost: $219.85 ($70 difference)

Order 3:

  • Macey Espadrille Wedge: $49.95 ($72.95)
  • Belted Utility Jacket: $49.95 ($86.95)
  • High Waisted Ankle Skinny Jeans: $39.95 ($59.95)

Total VIP Member Cost: $139.85

Total Standard Cost: $219.85 ($80 difference)

Summary:

These sample orders show that you can plan to save between $60–$80 on orders of at least three items when you sign up for VIP membership. That’s a substantial saving if you’re planning to order often; otherwise, the $39.99 per month fees might start to add up (unless you remember to skip each month).

Our opinion? Assess your shopping frequency to make the right decision for your needs.

Shipping and Refunds

All JustFab orders ship across the U.S. for $4.95, though VIP members receive free shipping on orders over $39.

It’s possible to exchange any order or receive store credit for free up to 30 days from the date of shipment, so long as it is in new, unused condition with all packaging material. If you prefer a refund to your credit card, JustFab will charge a $5.95 restocking fee per item.

Quality of JustFab Shoes and Clothing

One big downside to ordering clothing online is that you can’t assess their quality before you purchase. As JustFab charges a restocking fee per returned item, it’s even more important to be confident in what you order.

Unfortunately, low-quality concerns make up one of the top complaints against JustFab in online reviews. Many shared that the items they received weren’t as nice as they looked in the online pictures and that the low quality made them scratchy and uncomfortable.

Others complained that they didn’t receive their requested sizes and that they lost lots of money on return fees sending back unsatisfactory purchases. In many cases, customers thought that JustFab’s sizing was inconsistent between items and that many boots were built too narrow to fit over their calves.

How Do JustFab Prices Compare to Other Retailers?

JustFab promises significant price savings on all merchandise, so to test out that claim, we compared the previously mentioned products (at VIP pricing) to similar non-brand items offered by Target, Amazon, and Zappos.

Item JustFab VIP Target Amazon Zappos
Quilted Faux Fur Snow Boots $52.95 $33.99 $38.99 $52.99
Hooded Puffer Jacket $49.95 $34.99 $44.50 $63.99–$77.99
Indie High Waisted Ultra Stretch Jeans $39.95 $19.99–$24.99 $19.99–$28.99 $49.99–$130
Belted Mini Dress $39.95 $25.99 $24.99–$65.99 $53.55
Cutout Handle Crossbody Bag $39.95 $36.99 $25–$29 NA
Layered Heart Necklace $10.95 $16.99–$19.99 $8.99–$25 $29
Criss Cross Back Sports Bra $24.95 $24 $14.99–$18.99 $34.97–$60
Keep Cool Ballet Flat $29.95 $14.99–$24.99 $17 $58.80

This chart highlights a surprising truth; despite its VIP program, JustFab clothing and accessories are more expensive than relatively equivalent products from Target, Amazon, and often even Zappos.

You’ll pay almost twice as much for JustFab ballet flats, and an extra $15–$20 for snow boots. Clothing and accessory costs are more similar, but JustFab rarely offers any savings, especially when you factor in the possible return fees.

Considering the complications of the JustFab VIP membership program, you might find that it’s a better use of your time and money to shop elsewhere.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 40 HighYa readers have submitted reviews of JustFab which average 1.3 stars overall. Just 5% of shoppers say they would recommend a brand to a friend. The site fairs better on ConsumerAffairs, where it averages four stars after almost 500 reviews.

Here’s a summary of what they said:

Common Compliments:

  • Good prices for apparel
  • Trendy pieces that are hard to find elsewhere
  • Great range of sizing options

Common Complaints:

  • Unwanted credit card charges on VIP accounts
  • Slow shipping time
  • Poor quality shoes and clothing

Key Takeaways:

Most negative reviews about JustFab come from customers who didn’t read the fine print for the VIP program when they first signed up. So long as you are aware of this policy before you sign up, there’s a good chance you’ll find apparel that works for you.

The Bottom Line

JustFab offers impressive deals on a wide variety of women’s apparel items, but you need to understand how to play the game in order to take advantage of them.

To start, keep in mind that JustFab’s low advertised prices are only available for people who sign up for a VIP membership, which comes with a $40 monthly fee.

You also need to pay attention to the fact that this $40 membership credit can only be applied to items that cost $40 or more total in an order. You will also need to pay a $6 per item restocking fee if you don’t want to receive store credit.

In short, your inexpensive purchase can quickly get pricy unless you account for these potential extra expenses. And even when you do, there’s a good chance that you can find similar items available at other retailers for less money.

Our advice? If you sign up for the JustFab VIP program, put a calendar alert on your phone over the days when you can opt-out of the monthly membership credit. This will allow you to take advantage of the site’s deals without committing more money to clothes than you planned.


Read 41 JustFab Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • Fraud and theft

    • By Xiaomin Z.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife bought a pair of shoes for my child on their website last year due to negligence, and then the trouble came. My wife became a VIP member of this website without being informed. Don't think this VIP will bring you any benefits. From then on, this website will steal $80 from your credit card every month, and it is almost impossible for you to cancel this VIP membership. The website always calls a robot reply, and the website is also a robot, you can't cancel it at all. I had to ask the bank to cancel my credit card account. This is theft and fraud, and I am ready to report it to the FBI. Please never buy products on this website, please those who have the same experience, everyone to report the fraud and theft of this website to the FBI.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Can't process my order

    • By Diana V. S.,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to buy some shoes with the credit I have and extra money from my VISA, but it keeps saying that the address in my bank doesn't match with my billing address. I called the bank and they tell me it is a problem with JustFab because it is the same address on my account. I chat with someone called Daniel in client services and he tells me that the problem is the bank...I explained I already talked to the bank and the problem is not them and he tells me there's nothing he can do.

    Anyways, now I can't use the credit I have with JustFab and I'm going to lose $39.95 USD, which maybe is not a lot, but I feel like I'm being robbed and JustFab simply doesn't care.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total rip-off!

    • By Ellie P.,
    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    (1) You have to opt-out of current month’s selection NO LATER THAN THE 5th day of the month.

    (2) They send no reminder.

    (3) You can’t even attempt to opt-out until the 1st of the month so you have only 5 days to do so.

    (4) If you don’t opt-out, you are AUTOMATICALLY CHARGED $39.95!

    (5) Opting out is no easy business on their app. (Personally, I think they designed it that way so you get charged the $39.95.)

    (6) If you cancel your subscription, you lose all your credits including those for returns of their...

    (7) ...poorly made, ill-fitting shoes!

    Man...can you tell I just detest JustFab?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shady

    • By Tricia M.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just be aware that they will charge you monthly regardless of purchase for low-quality shoes. Not only not worth the price but also dishonest in their representation, customer service advised me to "always read the fine print ma'am," not very trustworthy. They were ignorant and apathetic when I called customer service, like I was bothering them, but from what I've read online they must be super busy with complaints.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete and utter scam.

    • By Aelin A.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    JustFab is hands down the absolute worst place I have ever purchased from. I bought one pair of heels for my prom. Not only were they overpriced, which is why I sprung for the VIP membership, but they were terrible quality. They were scratchy and uncomfortable and started to break during prom night. Setting aside the fact that their product is terrible, the company is a complete and total sham. they stole money out of my account without and former warning. When you sign up you "agree" to a $40 monthly charge if you don't buy anything. There are no refunds. It's incredibly difficult to cancel your account, and it's near impossible to talk to a real person about this issue. I (and I can not stress this enough) hate JustFab. It was the worst experience I've ever had with a company. 10/10 would NOT recommend. Please don't waste your time and money on this horse manure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My experience

    • By Karla B.,
    • Nevada,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had experience with JustFab/ShoeDazzle for several years. And I've not had any billing/shipping issues with them. On the occasion that I've forgotten to skip the month, they have always reversed the charge. If the shoes don't fit, they paid for return shipping. So I'm sorry for anyone else's bad experience, but it's not always the case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your time, money, or sanity!

    • By Brenda A.,
    • California,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered from JustFab once, and once was enough. I ordered two pairs of shoes and two pairs of pants. When they arrived I was sad because NOTHING was true to size. I am a size 6 in shoes - one pair came in too big the other too small. I am a large or size 30 in jeans, both pairs were WAY too big. I decided to exchange everything for sizes that would fit. One pair of shoes in a 5.5, the other in a 7, the pants in a Medium or 28. I sent everything back right away.

    Two weeks past and I had yet to hear ANYTHING! I reached out to JustFab and they tell me it hasn't been processed yet, while online my account states they have already received it. I get transferred to a supervisor, Billy, who immediately processes my order, says all my items are still available, but they cannot expedite the delivery because it's "out of their hands", fine, I settle to receive my items in two weeks. He promised expedited shipping on my next order. The very next day I get an email saying the pair of shoes I was most excited about are no longer available. Now I'm fuming!

    I contact their support team again and get transferred three times before finally reaching someone willing to help, his name was Ryan. He says my return was never received and my order is not processed and I can choose a different item to replace the shoes that are no longer available. I don't know if the exchanges will even be in the right size or if I can get my money back.

    This entire situation has been beyond frustrating! DO NOT BUY FROM JustFab! Save your money, time, and sanity! Go to your local swap meet. Sizes, prices, and customer service will be way better than anything you'll receive from JUSTFAB.

    Then later, they canceled my account without my request! Now I don't know if I'll ever receive a refund or any of the items I ordered, I am positive I have lost all the points I had accumulated and discounts promised. Time to call customer service YET AGAIN! This is a never-ending NIGHTMARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Taylor S.,
    • Salem, OR,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very rude, and didn’t answer questions about being reimbursed. The product was not good either. I ordered a white sweater and was very disappointed. I felt like I was wearing a potato sack.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy anything from JustFab, rip-off!

    • By Lisa J.,
    • Georgia,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could put -0 instead of 1 star because this company is pure cow crap! The clothing is a different material than it looks on the website, plus you have to pay for a refund. They automatically take money out your account every month, as if WHO BUYS SHOES OR CLOTHING every month. They don't like to cancel your membership, they are just despicable and disgusting as a company because they don't want to hear anything you say and just talk all over you. RUDE as heck! Get a bigger size because your size isn't going to fit- I wonder who are really in these reviews (customers). Yeah right!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My opinion of JustFab

    • By Emily O.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To all those who are curious as to the legitimacy and general business practices of JustFab.ca, this is my detailed, honest and unbiased opinion.

    My name is Emily,

    I have been using JustFab since the first year they started advertising on TV in Canada, which if I'm not mistaken wasn't long after the company's Canadian launch.

    I'll start from the beginning with my first experience purchasing from JustFab.ca in May 2015.

    The first pair of shoes I ordered 4-inch high black stiletto boots. The first day I wore them the heel broke. To be honest, they weren't my style anyway, and I was wasn't wearing them for their intended use of being a fashionable pair of boots to wear on a night out.

    I wore them to work. I was a manager at the largest sports bar in North America and during my 9-hour shifts - according to my pedometer - would walk anywhere between 6km on the average Monday Lunch shift to a staggering 22km on any given NHL, NBA, or MLB Home Game.

    I was bummed, but they were also $40, and if I had worn them out to dinner or for a girls night out I'm sure it wouldn't have happened.

    I gave JustFab another chance, and since female managers were required to wear heels, I decided to go with a more practical option. 2.5" - 3" close-toed heels that didn't have a wall along the side of the middle inner arch. There was padding for the heels and balls of your feet. And there were 1" pieces of elastic/fabric stretched across the top of the inner heel backing that filled that little space between your Achilles heel and the shoe, this elastic piece completely prevented my Achilles Heel from sliding around and/or EVER touching the back of my shoe. I had never seen it on a pair of shoes before.

    I bought the exact same pair in a different color and wore them 5 days a week, walked an average of 75km a week in them for almost two years, and NEVER ONCE got a blister or broke a heel.

    I have been in love with JustFab ever since. Really fast shipping and the shoes have either met or most frequently exceed any and all quality expectations for a $40 pair of shoes.

    The clothes are great quality for the price. They had a clothing item called "3/4 length sleeve printed wrap dress" with multiple designs. I bought 6 different designs and wore them to work more than anything else in my wardrobe.

    This is where my ONLY TRUE piece of constructive criticism for JustFab comes in to play...

    I had at least 2 people per day ask me where I got these dresses. I told EVERYONE about JustFab. And pretty soon all my dresses were sold out. They have had so many new patterns of that exact up and I get SO EXCITED but my size (XS - SM) is ALWAYS SOLD OUT.

    I have put my name on the lists for auto-purchasing should the dress(es) ever come back in stock but they NEVER do. Which really sucks because clearly they have sold out in all 20 designs so their customers clearly love them.

    PLEASE BRING THEM BACK.

    Unfortunately, this has become a trend with clothes in my size.

    From a business standpoint, selling out of something is never a bad problem to have, but it sucks for us JustFab Die-Hards who shop in the SX/SM category. There have been times where over 10 times in a row I've instantly fallen in love with something and excitedly clicked on it only to find that my size is sold out, clicked on "back to shopping" and prayed that the next thing I pick will be available in my size.

    JustFab is officially the ONLY place that sells jeans that truly fit me properly and give me confidence but the small sizes are often sold out.

    Aside from wishing they would restock on the pieces that are obvious must-haves and instantly sold-outs, I have nothing negative to say.

    And this is the first review I have ever posted about them. I saw the low rating and got upset because JustFab deserved to be RECOGNIZED AND APPRECIATED for their AWESOMENESS.

    I hope they do see this review because I truly believe that if they do, they will take my reviews and opinions into consideration because it's obvious that they do care about the happiness of their customers.

    FOR EXAMPLE...

    Take a look at their Denim Catalogue and their thoughtfulness towards girls who have more curves and girls who struggle finding the Demin to compliment unique figures (such as myself). I'm a size SX/SM in the waist but I've got some love handles, thicker thighs, and some definite junk in the trunk.

    JustFab provided me with the ability to wear jeans for the first time in 5 YEARS. I've worn tights, dresses, and yoga pants for 5 years. I bought my first pair of JustFab jeans 4 months ago and I've purchased a total of SIX PAIRS since then.

    This may just be my opinion, but from what I can see, yes, they care about their customers' happiness with their products, but they ALSO care about making products that inspire their customers to be happy with themselves.

    I got a new sense of self confidence for a price I can actually afford. I know my review may sound corny but I buy 90% of my clothes from JustFab so I'm just being 100% honest. (Plus this is literally and officially the first online review I have ever written/posted in my entire life, so I wanted it to count as I'll probably never do it again.)

    To sum it up:

    • Fabulous clothes.

    • Fabulous shoes.

    • Fantastic prices.

    • Large selection for girls in all shapes and sizes.

    • Fast delivery.

    • Customer appreciation.

    • Loyalty rewards.

    Thanks JustFab!

    Much love.

    P.S. Slightly harsh but definitely true foot notes:

    To the haters who flipped out over the monthly membership payment and wrote their negative review without actually giving the JustFab membership program a fair try...

    I dont mind being billed $40 a month if I forget to SKIP THE MONTH which they DO GIVE YOU the option to do, accompanied by email REMINDERS and more than enough time to do so!

    When I forget to skip, it's like getting a surprise gift from myself, lol.

    Set a recurring monthly alarm if you can't remember to skip the month, or deactivate your account. Don't blame JustFab for your own negligence in reading a company's fully available policies before filling in your credit card number and clicking the little box that says "I agree to the Terms."

    If you aren't fully confident in your knowledge and understanding of how to navigate through a company's website to their policies and procedures for online purchases, then it might be best to use a pre-paid credit/gift card when placing orders online.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy from them

    • By Juliana P.,
    • Monroe, CT,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So today I noticed that I was charged $40 on my PayPal account but I didn't know why and so as anyone would've thought, "maybe someone used my account." So I called and this computer lady told me that I got charged for not using JustFab, and because I didn't call to tell them not to. I was then put on hold for over 10 minutes. When I finally got off hold, I told this lady that I wanted the money back and that I wanted to cancel my account. She wouldn't allow that to happen so she kept saying, "I'll do you something better, I'll give you the refund but WON'T cancel your account because you're a VIP member," and that if I really wanted to cancel my account then I would have to wait another month and go through the process again. I wasn't going to so I asked if they could just cancel my account and not give me the refund, (because I can talk to the bank) and she said that she wouldn't and that she will do the opposite.

    If the same thing happens to you and you're using PayPal, go to PayPal Activity, click on the transaction and click "cancel" and your card will be removed from JustFab and they wwon'tbe able to charge it anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for JustFab!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
JustFab Review: Is It Worth It?