About JustFab

JustFab promises shoppers a wide variety of high-quality shoes and boots for the low price of $39.95 (or in the case of their current site-wide sale, two pairs for $39.95).

Shoes aren’t enough to satisfy your shopping needs? JustFab also offers additional categories to complete your shopping experience, including accessories, jewelry, and denim.

JustFab’s parent company, JustFab Inc., also operates ShoeDazzle.com, FabKids.com, and Fabletics.com. The company saw a boom in internet appreciation throughout the past year for their apparently sweet deals on some pretty awesome shoes. They currently service millions of users and have attracted a whopping $149 million in backing!

Sounds pretty appealing, right? Except, a little over a year into their business, the online mood towards JustFab is starting to change. We’ll talk more about this in a moment, but let’s first take a look ar what JustFab offers.

First, What JustFab Offers:

Visiting JustFab.com, you’ll notice the site is designed to look very similar to Zappos, Shoebuy, or any other online retailer. The immediate difference is that, unlike traditional retailers who offer different products at different prices, all shoes, handbags, and denim products sold through JustFab are priced at $39.95 across the board (jewelry products are priced individually).

When you find a style that you like, (I was exploring shoes, but the process appears consistent across categories), prospective buyers are shown all the normal information: available color and sizing options, materials and details, and a fit survey. User reviews of the items are also available, and seem consistently positive.

However, shoppers will find that the pricing is unique. Items are given two prices: the “VIP price”, which was $39.95, as are all the items (save jewelry) on their site. There is also a “regular price” listed at $49.00 — an entire .05 cents difference — that has been crossed out, forcing customers to purchase products at the VIP price.

In Short, You Must Sign-Up For VIP Membership to Purchase

To do so, users can register with Facebook or their email address. Signing up for VIP membership also requires a few extra steps:

  • Take a short style quiz so that the site can make personalized recommendations for you
  • Search through the selected items, favorites or their entire stock
  • Purchase any item at the VIP price of $39.95

There are additional “perks” to becoming a JustFab VIP, which include:

Receiving notice of a selected personal boutique to shop from on the 1st of each month

  • Saving 50% off your first purchase
  • Receiving free shipping on all orders over $39
  • Receiving free exchanges
  • The ability to purchase any item in your personalized boutique for only $39.95, up to the 5th of each month
  • “Skip” any month that you don’t want to make a purchase by clicking “Skip the Month” by the 5th

Is JustFab a Subscription Service?

According to JustFab’s How it Works page, “If you are not ready to make a purchase, simply click Skip the Month in your boutique by the 5th and you will not be charged.”

That’s right! JustFab is a cleverly disguised subscription service, and the online store forces customers to sign up for their VIP membership to purchase any of their products.

Once you’ve signed up, your credit card will be charged $39.95 on the 5th of every month, unless you take the time to log into your account and notify JustFab that you want to skip purchases for that particular month (and you’ll need to repeat this process monthly in order to avoid any charges.)

The fine print goes on to say that you are allowed to skip as many months as you would like without penalties, so I guess that’s nice of them.

However, VIP members who have simply forgotten to go in and “skip the month” and incurred the $39.95 charge are credited for one JustFab item, which members are allowed to redeem at any time in the future.

Finally, JustFab states that you are allowed to cancel your membership at any time. Just be aware that doing so must occur before the 5th of each month or you will incur charges. While it’s not explicitly stated, I assume that cancelling your membership eliminates your option to redeem any JustFab credits.

What JustFab Customers Think

It’s pretty hard to find happy reviews of JustFab, even beyond the sneaky subscription charges. Here is a direct quote from blogger Literally Darling, who writes an extensive review of her JustFab experience:

“Cardboard is more comfortable. The boots were simultaneously too big and too small. They actually hurt just to wear around in the apartment. Oh well, I thought. Back they go. Thus, I began my journey down the black hole that is JustFab.com. All promotional purchases are final sale. This includes the initial $19.95 pair. I began to look through the site and I realized that a lot of the merchandise is actually coded as promotional. Not even eligible for site credit, just final sale.”

Several months later, the reviewer at Literally Darling attempted to use accumulated credits to purchase another pair of boots. However, the order did not go through due to “problems with JustFab’s site.”

Frustrated, she then decided to forgo the purchase and logged into her JustFab account to check the status of her credits… which weren’t there (despite the cancelled order). Her customer service experience with JustFab speaks volumes:

A chat session screenshot between Literally Darling and JustFab

And Literally Darling isn’t alone. JustFab’s hidden charges and poor service upset so many people, that a contributor at Gawker wrote about her experience with the shoe retailer, titling the article “The Biggest Scam in Online Fashion.”

To summarize why JustFab customers are saying the site is not so fabulous:

  • Shoes are reported as being poor quality and uncomfortable
  • Misleading membership information signs you up for autoship (and charges)
  • The majority of shoes available are promotionally priced and non-returnable
  • Honest reviews of the shoes are not being posted
  • 30+ Minute wait-times to reach customer service
  • Members must actually reach a customer service representative to cancel and avoid repeated charges

Final Thoughts on JustFab

Having not purchased their shoes, I can’t speak to the quality of products buyers receive. That being said, JustFab has garnered enough negative reviews to convince me not to try!

If you’re interested in buying shoes online, Zappos.com is known for it’s fantastic service and free shipping, as well as offering buyers a straightforward price that doesn’t include any surprise charges, memberships or hidden fees.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Consumer Reviews for JustFab

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Thieves

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They stole $89.99 from me. I want to press charges. I've been lied to for 7 months now and still have not gotten my money back. I canceled my account because of all the horrible customer service, lies, and BS they give. I was told my refund check was mailed out 5 times, and when I call again about it this morning, now I'm being told it's still processing and that they are only processing $39.99 and keeping the rest of my money on the account just to sit there. I do not want to order anything from this horrible lying piece of crap company that steals money from good hard working people who trust them not to screw them over.

    But no, they do not work as a professional company, and since they aren't a professional company, I will not be so professional myself. I honestly want to sue them for the stress and stealing my money and lying to me for months. Never ever buy anything or subscribe to JustFab because you will be robbed as well and lied to about your money. BS products, BS customer service, BS lies. I want my money back you thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No stars

    • Virginia,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a VIP membership, then forgot about it for about six months...so cool, I get six credits right? Wrong. Credits cannot be used for shipping for one, I called customer service, and I swear it's an automated bot that doesn't help. So I cancel my membership and I get an e-gift card emailed to me for a whole TWO credits. When I tried to use them before they made the whole site members only, it says that it is not a valid gift card...SHOCKER (eye roll please). So now I try to log on a couple of months later because I keep getting a reminder email for these e-gift cards I can't use and the site has a "glitch," how convenient. I wait a couple of days and try again and my email and password aren't working, so I try to reset. The reset email doesn't even work. I never got the link...The 24-hour chat is a bot, or someone that doesn't know English, I can't really tell.

    Just don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM. Don't sign up.

    • Washington,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw JustFab on Facebook and clicked on the link to check it out because a lot of people liked it on Facebook. I read some reviews, and it seemed legit and good. Apparently, I read the wrong ones.

    I ordered the first pair ($10 promotional) in late August, and STILL have not received my order, even though it says it went through and has been delivered.

    The same day I ordered the boots online through JustFab, after my card info went in and the order was complete, I started receiving an insane amount of phone calls, text messages and emails from random phone numbers and email addresses. Some of the phone calls I answered to try to see if I could get off of their call list, but every time I tried to tell them to take me off the list they hung up, every single one.

    I also got a fraud charge to the same card I used to order the boots a few days later, trying to take $90 out of my account. Thank goodness for my bank being on top of it and knowing it wasn't me. They took care of it for me, but seriously, not okay that it even happened.

    JustFab is a freaking scam; I can't believe I was tricked. I am always so careful. And I have been on hold with customer service and waiting for the online chat to respond for half an hour. I am so beyond pissed off. Now they have my address, phone number and email (I had to get a new debit card and block them from everything). Don't fall into their trap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Never know when the credit is going to come out

    • Wichita Falls, TX,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have spent so much money on the site. Don't do it. First of all, the amount comes out at all different times of the month. You have just a few days that you can skip the month. Then no matter how many months I pay, it seems that no matter what I order, I never have enough credit or points to just order a few things and just pay for shipping. For example, I paid $39.95 a month for 4 months. I got to order two or three things and I still have to pay a ridiculous amount. Honestly, I can go to the academy and do that. The one thing I CAN say is that they have good and cute quality clothing. It always fits me just right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • West Yorkshire, England,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible company. Don't be sucked into the first purchase or any for that matter.

    I have been a customer for over a year and let a few credits go on (which is my money, not actual credit) to only find even if the item is reduced to everyone (even emailed me that they were reduced), you still have to pay full price.

    So for example. They say a credit is $35.00 of your own money taken from your bank. Shoes advertised at $37.00 reduced to $22.40 on promotions. To use what you have already paid in you have to pay the full price as you're using your paid on money credit. $35.00 is $35.00, so why should they be able to do that? Take $22.40 off $35.00...scammers!

    And even if they use the phase a credit is for one pair of shoes, why then does it make you pay the extra towards price? They are selling these shoes to everyone (even me if I pay out to them again) for $22.40 but want me to pay my $35.00 credit then and an extra $2.00 on top.

    If one credit is for a pair of shoes then why the extra charge towards them if they can't go down on my own saved up monies why can they go up!

    I hope this makes sense in the text to people.

    Basically, they don't look after there VIPs and customers; it's all a chase for new ones and even when they have your money they try to drain more from you and you sit there feeling done over. You will never benefit from being a customer of this company.

    Why would anyone want to pay $37.00 for a pair of shoes that they can see in front of them they are selling for either $7.95/$22.40. They actually show you how they are ripping you off.

    Don't get sucked in and avoid.

    I'm at with 3 lots of $35.00 on my account, and I can't spend it without paying out more money. I put the credits there for when I wanted to treat myself but didn't have the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Should have known better

    I really should have known better with this but saw some boots on a friend that looked nice, so I thought I would give it a try. What a nightmare!

    The product quality is horrendous; you can get better shoes at Payless for less money! After seeing that, I tried to cancel, but you have to call to cancel, cannot do it on the site, so after being on hold I had to hang up, so I skipped the month and planned to cancel later.

    The next month I forgot, my own fault, so I decided to order something to use the credit, turns out sales are only available AFTER you spend your "member credit" so I ordered one overpriced pair of sandals. Once again, I tried to cancel and even checked before the 5th to make sure I had no account, but no! I was charged again! I called to cancel for real and was told my credit would no longer be available so I should order and then cancel after.

    My order was $29.95 + $9.95 = $39.90 to use up the $39.95 but no, I can't use the credit for under $39.95 exactly. The good news is, I had used PayPal, and I had previously canceled on the PayPal end, so the payment declined. I have now copied my chat with the agent and plan on calling every day until I am certain they won't try to charge me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • Alabama,
    • Jun 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use this website for shopping! They keep your card information on file and make unauthorized charges. When contacting them for a refund of unauthorized charges, they say we issued the refund but what they actually do is go back and make another charge right after. Do NOT use this site!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They are thieves

    I tried canceling many, many times and they refused, trying to get me to spend my credits. I finally got them to skip a month and still got charged, causing me to go into negatives in my account. I called them, explained my situation, and asked for MY money back. They refused and got all pissy with me. I told them they STOLE MY MONEY from me and they canceled my account, and I never got any of MY money back. They STOLE about $200 from me. Never would I recommend JustFab, they are thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    "JustSteal"

    • Essex, England,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think that they don't deserve a star. It's too much for thieves. You cannot scam people like this; you put the hand in their pocket without any reason. If they are sure that their products are so good, why do they need to take from your card 35£ for a "membership?" I didn't even sign an agreement for VIP membership. I lost 35£, but, also, I will lose days if it's necessary for destroying their image. I want a refund, JustFab, because I "JustWork" and you "JustSteal" from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It's hard to cancel...

    I found the products and prices to be fine, but...

    I canceled a year ago, hadn't been ordering, and I'd retired from work, so my wardrobe needs and budget had changed. I was sent a check for the amount of gift cards for months I was charged but didn't order anything. I unsubscribed.

    A year later, I got an email saying I had gift cards, and they'd been charging my credit card since the time I'd canceled. After a difficult conversation, I was again offered a refund. BTW, they refund by check vs. crediting your card. I don't trust that they will honor my request to stop charging my card.

    You ask, why didn't I see the charges on my credit card statement? Because I'd unsubscribed, I wasn't getting monthly emails from JustFab, and my husband pays the bills and doesn't question my credit card charges. I will be more vigilant this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Should be reported! SKIP the charge every month.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The shoe quality is to be expected with the deals you get, however, the premium membership is a complete scam! You get charged $40 a month, and then DONT GET TO USE IT with any of their deals! It makes absolutely no sense and is borderline illegal.

    They take $40 in advance from your bank account and then only let you use YOUR OWN money (in the form of “member credits”) on full priced items. You have to spend even more to take advantage of the deals. What even is the point of putting the $40 down if you’d be better off just saving it in your bank account until the sales pop up? I spent a long time waiting, paying and “saving up” member credits to buy new shoes for the season only to be told I’d have to choose between using MY money, that I gave them in advance and the items be $40-$50 a piece OR using the deal offered and paying as if I did not have any “member credits."

    All in all, DON'T pay them the $40 every month. SKIP every single time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for JustFab!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review