About Fabletics

Tired of sporting drab workout wear? From brightly patterned printed leggings to fashionably designed crop tops and more, Fabletics claims to offer clothing that’s cut to keep pace with your active lifestyle.

While Fabletics is promoted by co-founder Kate Hudson, the “Almost Famous” actress known as much for her super-fit shape a starring in a slew of romantic comedies, the brand isn’t a solo celebrity venture. Instead, Fabletics is manufactured by Just Fabulous, Inc.—parent company to several other fashion and lifestyle brands.

It’s worth noting that, at the time of our previous Fabletics review, Just Fabulous, Inc. held an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau and had only 12 closed complaints.

However, the company’s accreditation has since been revoked due to their inability to maintain a minimum BBB rating. What could have caused their overall score to sink? It seems that Just Fabulous, Inc. experienced a spike in complaints—1252 to be exact.

Is Fabletics just a pretty face or do they lap the competition? To help you decide, let’s take a look at what the brand claims sets them apart:

Fabletics Says You’ll Look Great For Less

The appeal of Fabletics appears pretty straightforward: The brand claims to offer high quality, stylish activewear at affordable prices. Shoppers can surf collections by sport, or look at their complete range of tops, sports bras, leggings, accessories, and even swimwear.

We should note that Fabletics isn’t claiming to beat prices you’ll find at cost-conscious retailers, such as Old Navy and Target. Instead, they compare their stylish offerings with more fashionable activewear brands:

Image Attached: Fabletics_Pricing.png

Fabletics Price ComparisonFabletics Price Comparison

But, There’s A Catch

Those deep discounts aren’t available to just any shopper. While you can shop Fabletics without signing up, taking advantage of their slashed prices means first signing up for a VIP Membership.

Additionally, those shopping Fabletics will notice that workout wear can only be purchased as a complete outfit—individual pieces aren’t available.

With that in mind, the average Fabletics ensemble would cost a non-member about $100. Alternately, members would pay about $49.95 for the same outfit with the added perk of free shipping.

How Much Does a Fabletics Membership Cost?

Becoming a VIP Member is technically free. However, by signing up, you agree to be charged $49.95 every month. The cost is applied to your monthly outfit purchase—if an outfit costs more, you’ll be charged the difference.

As we mentioned above, standard shipping is always free for Fabletics members. You can also select express shipping for $8.95. Additionally, your first purchase as a member is discounted to only $25.00.

If you don’t like an outfit, Fabletics offers a 30-day return policy for all new, unworn items with original tags. However, your return will be subject to a $5.95 restocking fee.

How Fabletics Membership Program Works

Your first step in signing up for a Fabletics membership is taking a quiz. That’s because, while members can browse Fabletics for new outfits each month, they’ll also receive personalized suggestions based on their style and workout preferences at the beginning of each month.

To learn more about you, Fabletics asks your:

  • Gender
  • Favorite way to sweat, including yoga, running, gym, or cycling
  • Preferred colors
  • Body type as defined by shape
  • Size preferences for top, bottom, and sports bras

Unlike some top brands, like Lululemon, Fabletics clothing is available in a wide range of sizes. You can choose from XXS (0-2) up to XXL (18-20). Just note that sports bra sizes are categorized in the same way, not by standard bra sizing of cups and bands—a potential problem for women with larger bra sizes who need support during high-impact sports.

Between the 1st and 5th of each month, Fabletics will notify you of a new personalized selection awaiting your approval. You can choose what’s been suggested or shop the Fabletics collection, instead.

What if you want to skip a month of Fabletics? You can do so as many times as you’d like. However, you must log in during the same date range to select “skip a month” to avoid charges.

Suggested outfits won’t ever ship without your approval. However, if you forget to log in to either shop around or skip the month, you’ll still be charged the $49.95 and the funds will be credited to your account to be used for a future purchase.

Cancelling your Fabletics membership can be done at any time by calling 1-844-322-5384, then press “4” to speak to someone about closing your account. Note that some reviewers state customer service will offer additional credit to your account if you’re willing to give Fabletics one more chance.

What Customers Are Saying About Fabletics

Browsing Fabletics outfits, there’s little doubt that the brand offers brightly-colored and stylish activewear, or that initial prices are lower than the competition.

However, the majority of customer who’ve reviewed Fabletics on HighYa have been less than impressed with quality and fit. Common complaints include:

  • Poor quality fabric and stitching
  • Material that is thin enough to be see-through
  • Pilling of fabric on inner thigh and underarm areas
  • Tops that are too revealing

While some customers have been satisfied with wearing their Fabletics apparels as casual wear, we’re cautious to recommend this brand to those looking for athletic clothing that can keep up with more vigorous activities.

More so than questionable quality, many shoppers state feeling deceived by Fabletics questionable business practices. Specifically, unauthorized charges. HighYa reader Anna shared her experience after realizing she’d been charged an excess of $600:

“Turns out this's a commonplace problem and that I did not "forget" I signed up for a membership. Like many others, I was unaware that I had been signed up in the first place. When you confirm your purchase, you are also confirming authorization for them to sign you up for their membership and take money from you monthly -- didn't read that part? Yeah, it's in the fine print.”

Essentially, non-members attempting to purchase from Fabletics are automatically enrolled as members—and charged monthly.

Other complaints surrounding unexpected charges include Fabletics failing to make good on their promised offer of a $25 initial purchase and difficulty canceling. Combined, HighYa readers have rated Fabletics at an average of 1.4 stars.

Bottom Line: Is Fabletics A Scam?

While Fabletics promises high-quality fitness wear at reasonable prices, the number of negative reviews stating that items wore out faster than normal or just plain didn’t keep them covered leads us to believe that the brand might not perform as highly as they claim. That being said, those who are looking for a cute alternative to their loungewear might be pleased with what they find at Fabletics.

The only caveat? Make sure you read the fine print! While ongoing membership charges might not be an outright scam, enough reviewers were taken by surprise to raise red flags. Should you decide to make a Fabletics purchase, know that you may need to keep an eye on your credit card statements to avoid getting too familiar with their customer service.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

81 Consumer Reviews for Fabletics

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  68
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 81
Sort reviews by:

  • Fabletics is a scam!

    • Michigan,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one item, returned it 30 days later unworn. The month after the purchase my credit card was charged $49.95 TWICE per month. I never signed up for a membership, not to mention two memberships! I racked up over $2,200 in unauthorized charges before I realized it. I called to have them reverse the charges and was passed from one department to another. The other department did not answer my call and their voice mail was conveniently full. Credit card company was notified, however, they could not reverse the charges. DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fabletics stole money off my credit card

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For 5 months, Fabletics stole $49.95 off my credit card and sent me nothing. Who does this? And to say, you agreed to this. Seriously? I never clicked a button that said steal from me, for $49.95 we take and you get nothing. Who would agree to that? I just filed a complaint with the BBB and an investigation with the credit card. Some people will do anything for a buck! Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    DON'T BOTHER!

    • Portland, OR,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two pairs of leggings the 2 for 24 and didn't think anything of it. First-time purchase get 2 for 24 is what they made it out to be. Then a month later I was charged $49.99. I got on the chat and waited and waited and no one responded. I forgot about it, because life gets busy and was charged again. Since it was the weekend, I instantly got on the computer and finally someone was available on chat. I thought to myself, "wow, I'm in luck!"

    But then the chat seemed to fail after I explained why I wanted to cancel and politely asked for a refund. They said they got the messages but then asked me why I wanted to cancel and then in an instant spewed out two long (pre-typed messages) just offering some $10.00 credit if I stayed on and oh they would hate to see me go.

    The reason I don't want to buy anything else from Fabletics, was because their leggings didn't work for me. Too tight on top or so so on top for the ankle were too big. I didn't think they were going to have the perfect fit, like my zellas.

    I don't think it's wrong to ask for a refund if I there's nothing I want. Any good company and customer service would run by the customer is always right. (Thank you Amazon).

    They just kept telling me I was in a binding contract when I checked out and it was my fault for signing it. And when I asked them if they sent out reminder emails before charging my card, other companies do that sort of thing (and $49.99 is a lot, come on, this isn't Hulu), they simply told me they did. They also told me what day, the 4th. And when I looked at my inbox, there was only an ad and way down at the bottom was some fine print. Fine print telling you if you're a member, it's $49.95, and blah blah. That is NOT A REMINDER EMAIL. That's an ad email or a company being a bit off ethically, to justify their taking people for $49.95 a month. Companies like this bank on people forgetting because people are busy.

    I would never buy from this company again and so very sorry I paid them any money at all. What a shame Kate Hudson is linked to this BS. Sure, you can say people should read all the fine print. But let's be real, look at the Frye Festival? Even those models who got paid to post didn't do their jobs and no one thinks they are dummies? (Maybe they do.) Fabletics, stop being a scammy company.

    Not Yours,

    A never again in my life customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Golden, CO,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first got to the website I was offered a 2 leggings for $24 deal if I signed up for a VIP membership. I was NEVER told that they could charge me $50 a month for not "skipping the month." It's now 3 months later and they have charged me $150. So I call customer support and he says I can't be refunded, but they have transferred my $150 to "store credit," meaning that I now HAVE to spend it there. The moral of the story is I signed up for VIP so I could get 2 leggings for $24, that's all I wanted. Now I'm being forced to spend another $150 Fabletics, it's not right. They know that eventually a VIP member will forget to "skip the month" and they purposely won't refund you so that you spend more money on them. Plus it's not like "oh well get 4 more leggings for $48, and a bunch of sports bras" because as a VIP, leggings are $50 and sports bras are $30. I would never in a million years spend $150 for 2 pairs of leggings and a sports bra, but since Fabletics scammed me, I have no choice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Will scam your money and no refund

    • United Kingdom,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When buying your first product from them, they automatically sign you up to a VIP member and then take out £44 from your bank. Doesn't say anything of this when checking out your basket. I only knew when I saw the money was missing from my bank. Called them up, they say "it says in the order email, stated in the T&C's." I never agreed for money to be taken out of my account but they will not refund. FUMING! Absolutely crappy customers service. They say they will give me 20% upon changing my account to a guest one, but the only way to use the 20% is to check out as a VIP (!!), which means I will have £44 taken out of my account again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    DON'T DO IT

    • Montana,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fabletics may seem like a too good to be true company. IT IS. I ordered the 2 for $24 and became the VIP member. I immediately wanted to cancel being VIP cause I didn't want to have to pay or skip each month and the process to do so is very difficult and annoying. To cancel you either have to talk to someone on the phone or you IM someone online. They try all these tactics to get you to stay and I had to say no about 5 times.

    Fast forward a week and a half the leggings came shoved in my mailbox. I open my package containing 2 pairs of leggings and a bunch of ads for other companies. I go to try on the leggings and they were completely see-through. UGH - so I message a bot on the website and they start to process my return and send me my return label, I take it to the post office that day. Here I am 2 WEEKS later still without a refund, and Fabletics is saying my package has not arrived yet. SOS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Outsourced overseas customer service is a nightmare

    • Florida,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a new (now canceled) VIP customer. I placed a $200 order, then another $50 order. When I got my order in, I realized that the leggings fit perfect, except that when I moved I was having some issues with gaps in the groin area. So I figured hey, let me check with Fabletics CONSULTANTS so maybe they can give me some advice. Do I need to size up? Size down? Different rise?

    The online customer consultant told me I should check reviews, or maybe all 3 of my leggings were defective and I should exchange them (which, if they sell that many defective products what does that say about the quality?). So I call, thinking ok maybe on the phone is better. What I just went through...WOW! I can't believe Kate Hudson is representing this brand. Legit I had to repeat my problem FOUR TIMES and she just wasn't getting it. She also was happy to return my THREE defective leggings, that aren't really defective, I just need help figuring out should I size up, down, or change inseam. THAT'S IT! Then I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told she was in the kitchen and couldn't help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Make sure to CALL to cancel charges

    • Ripon, CA,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried them one time for a good deal, but 3 of the 6 items sent did not fit. Trying to get a refund for these items was not worth the hassle, so I kept them to donate. I went online to cancel my "membership," received confirmation and went on with my life. Almost three months later I notice two months of Fabletics membership fees! But I haven’t been receiving any packages or notices of the withdrawals, nothing! So I call to ask for a refund. Rep tells me I should’ve called to cancel as you cannot cancel online! What the heck?! And now I have a 2-month membership fee credit to use or forfeit! If you don’t use it for one of their "sets," you’re stuck paying outrageous prices for mediocre workout clothes! Save your money and avoid being scammed! Don't shop here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam - do not buy

    • New Haven, CT,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one pair of leggings. The leggings were fine, nothing compared to Lululemon, but decent enough. What I didn’t know when purchasing one pair of leggings was that during checkout, the button to sign up for the VIP membership is already checked off for you at the bottom of the page. I apparently was supposed to see this and uncheck it if I didn’t want to be charged $49.95/month.

    I don’t look at my checking account activity too much, I admit, so I did not realize until 10 months later that I was being charged this VIP membership fee.

    When I called to cancel, Icy kept trying to tell me I had been notified several times and kept urging me to wait until the next month to cancel.

    The email "notifications" I was receiving are titled "you’ve got credit, it’s time to shop!" And upon clicking into the email, nowhere does it mention how much credit you have or what you have spent or anything about the membership you are enrolled in. Very misleading, unclear and shady.

    Extremely disappointed in how the company is basically tricking you into becoming a member.

    I racked up $800 in credit to Fabletics, which might sound great, but I honestly can’t even find enough items I would like to own. It’s not that the products are so terrible, but the way the company operates.

    This is not how you gain loyal customers. Obviously many others feel the same after reading a few reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No for scam!

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    NO! BIG NO for this brand ever! Marketing for lower price or better quality/fit leggings, I get it. But the membership scam, is a bit no! I have been charged for about 5 months till I figured out I HAD BEEN a "member" ever since ordering the 2 for $24 leggings. Who needs a pair of leggings every month? Anyway, it's smart marketing, but too shady trying to trick your customers. They ended up refunding 3 months of the membership fee. I wish I could send back those two leggings I got for $24 to get my other two months' membership fee back, which was $45 (maybe $49?) a month!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Poorly made

    • Shawnee, OK,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my Fabletics leggings for Christmas from my sister. It has only been two months and I have only worn them a few times. The leggings fit good, but after wearing them once, I noticed that they seemed a little thing on the seems in the crotch area. By the third time wearing them, there was a hole. I contacted customer service and they told me that they can't do anything because it was past their return policy. I am not happy because these leggings are not cheap and now I can't wear them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 81

Write a Review for Fabletics!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review