Theradome Review: Is It Really Worth It?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: May 24, 2019

If you’re one of the 80 million men and women in the U.S. who suffers from hair loss, Theradome is a laser-powered helmet that claims to help grow new hair, increase the size of your hair follicles, and to slow—or even stop—hair loss. In fact, the company claims that.

The company features two different levels of hair restoration helmets, with one using more lasers than the other, a distinction we’ll discuss in a few minutes.

According to a document provided to HighYa, the treatment is effective enough to where four out of five hair loss professionals recommend the treatment.

The company is based in the Bay Area and claims to be the first company to produce an FDA-cleared, wearable laser hair therapy device you can use at home.

In our review, we’ll talk to you about how Theradome works, the effectiveness of laser hair therapy, what the device costs, what customers say about it and how it compares to similar products.

How Theradome Works

At its most basic, Theradome is a laser treatment intended to be worn on the head that the company claims has been developed over 5 years of research by biomedical engineers and doctors.

The company offers two helmets. The PRO LH80 requires two 20-minute sessions per week and uses 80 medical-grade lasers, whereas the EVO LH40 requires four 20-minute sessions per week with 40 medical-grade lasers.

The Theradome helmet weighs less than 16 ounces and is claimed to fit 98 percent of the population, but provides the same power, light level, and concentration as in-clinic lasers in the comfort of your own home.

Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms. The company says their lasers contain more energy (joules) than any other laser light therapy and have a narrower beam for deeper penetration.

In addition, Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light (680nm) that has been shown to be ideal for clinical strength rejuvenation, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms. These lasers penetrate 5 millimeters, which is about the length of the average hair follicle.

Theradome claims that the helmet increases blood flow to the scalp and hair follicles, stimulates protein synthesis and cellular metabolism and promotes thickness and density. With this in mind, the helmet is claimed to result in three primary benefits:

  1. Grows new hair.
  2. Doubles the follicle diameter of existing hair (reverses miniaturization).
  3. Slows (and even stops) hair loss.

If used as directed, Theradome claims to halt hair loss within 18 to 26 weeks, to regrow hair within 28 to 52 weeks, and to provide fuller, thicker hair after 100 weeks.

Theradome features soft rubber pegs and foam pads for comfort, as well as a built-in speaker, while the automated treatment counting system keeps track of the total number of treatments you’ve undergone.

Theradome is claimed to result in zero side effects, and that it can be used with most hair-loss medications, and 30 days after surgical hair loss treatment.

Do Lasers Really Help Your Hair Grow?

We reached out to medical experts to get unbiased opinions about how effective these types of lasers are in helping hair grow.

Researcher John Satino, an expert with a long history in researching the benefits of laser light therapy, told us that this type of treatment is effective in helping your existing hair grow.

“However, this is no magic bullet. Nothing can grow back hair in a totally bald area only a hair transplant can do that,” he said. “I recommend the laser for patients with thinning hair, or first stages of loss. (Also), it works better with Rogaine and finasteride”

Dr. Dan Danyo, the owner of NA Hair Restoration, said that light therapy does indeed help with thinning hair but that it’s most effective for certain people.

“Research points to efficacy for improvement in the number/ density of follicles, the thickness of individual hair shaft diameter, and restoration of dormant follicles into an active growth phase,” Danyo said. “Laser light therapy is not likely to be useful in individuals with long-term and progressive balding.”

He also pointed out that laser therapy may not be an option for those who have dealt with skin cancer.

» Related: 6 Solutions for Thinning Hair & Hair Loss for Women

Theradome Pricing and Refund Policy

The Theradome PRO LH80 is currently priced at $895, and the Theradome EVO LH40 is $595. Both include free shipping. With your order, you’ll receive one Theradome laser helmet, AC charger, foam pads, and a protection bag.

Theradome comes with a six-month money-back guarantee, which begins from the date the helmet is delivered. However, this guarantee only applies to U.S. customers. All international orders are considered final. Details and requirements for processing returns can be found in the FAQ section of Theradome’s website.

Theradome hair loss helmets come with a one-year manufacturer’s warranty against defects in workmanship, although you can purchase an extended three-year warranty if you choose.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Theradome?

At the time of publishing, HighYa and Amazon were home to numerous Theradome reviews.

At the time of publishing, the product had 36 reviews on HighYa with an average rating of 3.2 stars and 58 percent of users would recommend it to a friend. The most common complaints we saw were that the helmet didn’t work.

On Amazon, there were 47 reviews that gave Theradome’s PRO LH80 an average rating of 3.6 stars. Recent reviews of the product were mixed, with several people saying that the helmet worked and some saying it didn’t.

In general, we believe that whether or not Theradome works for you has a lot to do with your own specific hair health and how many of your follicles are dormant and how many are dead. As Theradome states, their product works only on follicles that are dormant and not ones that have died. In other words, it works with the existing hair you have.

Our Bottom Line About Theradome

As the experts with whom we corresponded pointed out, laser hair therapy is proven to help thicken existing hair and activate dormant hair follicles.

However, they also pointed out that the product won’t work for areas that are already bald. Also, one of the experts noted that laser hair therapy may not be effective for those who’ve had “long-term and progressive balding.”

In that context, we believe that Theradome could be an effective hair therapy tool for the right person. For example, one HighYa reviewer said that the helmet produced results within 90 days and that it was welcomed alternative to pills or spray-on hair therapy.

Keep in mind, though, that customer reviews indicate the device’s effectiveness is really polarizing. The majority of reviews were either five stars or one star, which means the helmet seems like there isn’t much middle ground. Either it works well, or it doesn’t, the general review consensus seems to say.

As a parting bit of advice, we think the insight one of our experts provided is helpful. You may want to try Theradome with a combination of Rogaine and finasteride.

» See Also: How to Choose a Hair Loss Product, Even If You Don’t Know What to Do

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 38 Theradome Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 5 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this product

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is uncomfortable to use because it has these plastic pieces that dig into your scalp. Mine stopped working within 3 months. I paid for the extended warranty, but I have been able to get no support from the company to fix my device. Total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Absolute crap

    • Laguna Hills, CA,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money. This item does not work. Bosley should not be selling this item. I purchased it thinking Bosley was a reputable company. They helped me get a new one after the first one was not recharging and I could not get anywhere with Theradome direct. Second one also was crap and never recharged properly. I spent a thousand dollars on this garbage and recommend no one should waste their money. Shame on Bosley for even selling it to customers. It should be BANNED!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 4, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Betsy,

      I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with your Theradome. We recommend purchasing directly from our website because we have both a 12-month warranty and a 6-month money-back guarantee. The Theradomes are not meant to operate that way and is very unusual you've received two defective products.

      We would be more than happy to discuss with you your situation and provide a solution. You may contact us at +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works for me

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello,

    I have been using the product for about 6 months now and I've been seeing positive results. I must admit, I was a bit skeptical after using previous products with disappointing results. I still see areas I'd like improved, but I've noticed less hair fall out and new hair growth areas. I'm excited to see more positive results with continued use.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Amazing results noticeable in 90 days!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical about putting a helmet with lasers on my head, but the alternative was taking a pill that might lower my sex drive, or putting a chemical on my scalp that could cause itching and irritation. I had already used Nioxin shampoo and the Aveda Invati system. They worked well for maintaining hair, but nothing was working to actually grow hair back.

    I took before and after pictures, and I was literally amazed. Within 90 days I could see a noticeable difference in the crown of my head. I usually use Toppik hair fibers to fill in the gaps, but I now have to use less and less each day, as my hair is literally growing back. I can't wait to see my 6-month and 1-year results!

    I would recommend this product to anyone who does not want to put chemicals into their body and wants a more "natural" alternative. You can't feel anything from the lasers. You just look like you're wearing a bike helmet for 20 mins a day. The only thing I would say is to make sure your scalp is nice and clean before using the lasers. That way they can really get into your scalp and stimulate the hair growth process!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good product

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using the Theradome helmet for 5 months. In general, I have a good experience while using it. It’s comfortable and informs you about the remaining time (20 minutes in total). I noticed new small hair growing. Hair loss reduced. It looks like I got more volume visually. So, I do 3-5 treatments a week. I can see positive results and will continue to use it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Exceptional service and care!

    • Panama City, FL,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t know where to begin. I started by just research a possible battery replacement to see if that could even get my system to turn back on after having what I believe is water damage due to a recent Hurricane (Michael 10/10/2018) and it being stored up in my closet, and the staff was more then helpful and understanding! I started by contacting the UK office and they were first very caring and empathetic to me first and then said I had contacted the wrong country but were never less so helpful and so sweet! Just made my contact an easy one and it was just so awesome of everyone helping me so fast. Thank you again for EVERYTHING!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Highly recommended!

    • Santa Clarita, CA,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My hair has gotten a lot thicker after using the Theradome helmet and shampoo...I am really happy with the results and would recommend this product to anyone that is looking for fuller, healthier looking hair!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It REALLY grows your hair back!

    • California,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am just so grateful to the Theradome team members who gave me the total confidence back. I started to notice thinning in my hair and purchased the Rogaine product. About a month after using Rogaine, I found the BEST product for my hair growth - THERADOME!

    I have been using Theradome over 4 months and I can literally see the growth of my hair. My husband joined me to use it just so he can have thick hair as well. LOL.

    I highly recommend this product to anyone who has a hair loss issue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A product that actually shows results!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using the Theradome helmet for about 6 months now, about 110 treatments in, and I am definitely seeing results. My hair has become thicker all around, and my hairline is starting to grow back. I haven't felt like I've had this strong or this healthy of hair for a very long time.

    I've tried medications and shampoos, but Theradome is the first product that has shown visible, tangible results.

    Also, it's a super easy and convenient treatment!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Truly works

    • California,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When Theradome showed me pictures of my scalp before I started and after 180 days of use I was startled and so pleased! My hair is shinier, thicker, with less shedding and tons of new growth! I’m over the moon about it. My hair used to be so thin it couldn’t hide my extensions. Now, they are hidden; and I look forward to when I might not need to wear extensions!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I am over 55 and have thick luscious hair from Theradome

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using the Theradome for little over 4 months now. I follow the protocol with commitment. Especially now that I have beautiful hair from doing so.

    I have always had very very thin-looking hair. It was long growing up, but I cut it to shoulder length with my first child 30 years ago. Since then, I have let it grow but it never seemed to grow. It might have been breaking off or just not growing. Well, after menopause started, I was accepting that now I would never get good length in my hair since menopause causes hair loss and thinning.

    But...I now have longer hair than I did in high school, AND it is incredibly thick! I Love my hair more than I ever have! It’s sooo fun and rewarding to swish my locks like a youthful woman! I mean, it feels sooo very healthy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for Theradome!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review