About Tommie Copper

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 30, 2013

Tommie Copper is a clothing manufacturer that specializes in helping their customers relieve persistent aches and pains through copper infused compression-oriented shirts, shorts, gloves, and socks. According to the company, their unique clothing line helps support muscles, joints, and surrounding tissue, which ultimately decreases swelling and increases mobility.

Tommie Copper is based out of Kisco, NY, and has been in business since 2010. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 19 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing long shipping times and failure to work.

Tommie Copper Features & Products

Similar to Copper Wear, Tommie Copper manufactures “Pro+ Ionic” copper-infused compression wear that is claimed to release ions that “may help reduce the oxidants in the body and is a natural, permanent anti-bacterial agent with skin benefits.” Additional benefits include increased oxygen transport, improved muscle tone, “free radical” neutralization, relief from muscle soreness and stiffness, and much more.

With numerous compression and non-compression products for men and women, in addition to several accessories, the Tommie Copper brand has a wide target audience. These include everyone from high-level athletes to grandmothers who enjoy gardening—essentially anyone who experiences fluid buildup in their joints, muscle stiffness, or sore, tired legs.

In addition to its health benefits, Tommie Copper claims their compression wear is designed using “3D compression” technology, and is the most comfortable on the market; because after all, if people aren’t wearing their clothing, they won’t be able to reap the benefits. However, the company admits that not all customers will immediately experience the benefits of their compression wear, as some will take longer due to their individual physiology.

Tommie Copper Pricing & Refund Policy

Due to the wide variety of Tommie Copper products available, prices can vary widely. However, based on our research, most products range between $24.50 and $169.50.

All Tommie Copper products come with an unrestricted 60-day return policy. If you’re dissatisfied for any reason within this time, you can send your clothing back to the company—used or otherwise—and will only be responsible for shipping and handling fees. Simply contact customer service at 855-692-8291 to begin the process.

Does Copper Even Work For Pain Relief?

There is no known scientific evidence available demonstrating that copper infused compression wear will provide constant and reliable relief. In fact, according to a study done on 70 patients at NCBI, the conclusion drawn was that magnetic copper bracelets (mixed with other placebos) do not provide much pain relief to the individuals who were suffering from rheumatoid arthritis. In addition, after looking through the Tommie Copper website, we were unable to find any clinical evidence supporting that copper works for everyone.

Pros

  • Claims to help relieve persistent aches and pains through compression-oriented clothing.
  • Reduces swelling and stiffness, while increasing mobility.
  • Can be worn by anyone—not just athletes.
  • Some individuals may experience immediate relief.
  • 60-day unrestricted return policy.

Cons

  • Instead of instant relief, some individuals may experience results over a longer period of time.
  • Most common complaints cite long shipping and failure to work.
  • No scientific evidence available that copper actually provides relief including on the company website.

Bottom Line: Should You Buy Tommie Copper?

Since our original review, more than 160 HighYa readers have chimed in and offered their reviews on Tommie Copper compression wear products. What do they have to say?

Overall, HighYa customer reviews appear to be evenly split, with most negative reviews referencing high price, failure to work, poor quality construction (insufficient compression, garments will not stay in place, that quickly fray at the seams, etc.), and negative reactions or stained skin/clothing from the copper content. On the positive side though, it appears that many people have found pain relief from less severe conditions such as arthritis, inflammation, and carpal tunnel syndrome.

However, one question we kept asking ourselves when reading several of the positive reviews from individuals with severe medical conditions requiring professional medical attention: Had they previously tried any medical-grade compression garments, such as those sold through RejuvaHealth? We bring this up because if they claimed to have tried everything, it would seem that their physician would have already made this recommendation based on their symptoms. With this said, several HighYa readers wrote very detailed reviews, and although they gave Tommie Copper high marks, they claimed that they were going to try other brands prior to ordering additional garments from the company.

Nearly all HighYa Tommie Copper reviewers appear to have been seeking pain relief, which is a positive sign. This is because, as we mentioned in our Science of Compression Wear article, compression wear has been shown to provide clear medical benefits, including increased circulation, improved blood flow, hastened wound recovery, reduced risk of forming a blood clot, and improved venous function. However, other than reducing the buildup of lactic acid and decreasing post-exercise recovery times, they have not been shown to provide any sports-related performance benefits, which is a claim that many consumer-grade compression wear manufacturers make.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

The Final Take on Tommie Copper Compression Wear

With evenly split HighYa customer reviews, it would appear that you have a 50/50 chance of experiencing benefits from Tommie Copper compression wear, which may be increased slightly if you experience mild to moderate pain related to arthritis, inflammation, and carpal tunnel syndrome. It really depends on each individual's personal circumstance.

From our perspective, it appears that an individual who is suffering from severe arthritis or other major pain would have decreased chances of experiencing substantial relief using Tommie Copper or other branded copper compression wear alone without doctor prescribed medication.

However, if you’re looking for any kind of enhanced sports performance, Tommie Copper may be good fit for you assuming you don't have any other major medical conditions. You probably see a lot of athletes in the NBA constantly wearing compression wear.

See Also: Tommie Copper Lawsuit: Overstated Claims or Intentional Misrepresentation?


Read 237 Tommie Copper Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 96 4 star: 19 3 star: 9 2 star: 22 1 star:  91
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 237
Sort reviews by:

  • 45 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Comfortable, Supportive, Relief

    • New York ,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I am so happy I found this product. I purchased 2 knee sleeves and a pair of the women's and men's shorts. My knees and lower back, had gotten so bad I could no longer do my exercises and I love doing exercises, so it meant putting on extra weight, which only made the knees and the back worse.

    With the help of Tommie Copper Knee sleeves and the shorts, I am back doing exercises every morning and with comfortable all-day stability. They aren't a cure product, but they are definitely a way to ease the pain. My lower back now allows me to stand longer and clean the house. As soon as I am able, I am going to purchase the Women's short sleeved shirt, for my shoulders and neck. When I buy another product if it is not working for me (which i doubt) I have 60 days to make my decision because there is a money back guarantee. Perfect! Thank you Tommie Copper, your products, your company and your customer service is the greatest. The agents answer all your questions and have the upmost respect for their customers. Great job, and I wish you nothing but success always.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 46 people found this review helpful

    I won't leave home without it

    • Los Lunas, NM,
    • Sep 24, 2013

    My wife saw the TV commercial and purchased the knee compression sleeve. I don't usually believe in these copper things but since she bought it I decided to try it. I have had pain in my knee for several years and have considered surgery.

    I put the sleeve on and within half an hour my knee did not hurt anymore. It is not a cure but the uniform compression really works. I have recommended it to my mother-in-law and her friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 38 out 42 people found this review helpful

    It worked for my knee pain

    • NW Indiana,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    No one is more skeptical about a product than I am. I watched the infomercial on this several times and laughed and then I decided to read the reviews on this product on amazon.com. They were all good except one so I thought, I am trying this. Today was my first day wearing the knee sleeve at work on my feet for 7 hours a day. My knee did not hurt me all day, it felt wonderful ! This might not work for everyone, but worth a try!

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Changed my life

    • Plainfield, IL,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I have lived with chronic intolerable hip pain for 5 years. After 5 specialists, expensive MRIs and injections, I had received no answers and no relief. I saw the Tommie Copper infomercials many times but just didn't believe it could help.

    Finally this last Christmas, My daughter who is a Bio-Chemistry major rattled off all of the reasons that copper should help so I ordered it. The very first night i wore it I slept through the night. The next day i realized that the chronic pain was gone. I still hurt when i walk too much but, the all-day every day pain is absolutely gone.

    Do yourself a huge favor and try this stuff. I am a walking testament to the ability of copper compression wear. It has changed my life.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Tommie Copper is helping me

    • Jun 9, 2015

    I recently purchased a pair of Tommie Copper bicycle- style shorts and separate knee support. I missed most of this last summer because I was lying flat on my back for two months getting IV antibiotic therapy to clear up a nasty infection in my right hip.

    I previously had the hip replaced in 2000 and recently damaged it and it became infected so I had to wait till the IV antibiotics cleared things up before the surgeon would put in a new replacement hip prosthetic. He told me my recovery was going to take many months because there was such significant dissection of the muscle tissue surrounding the hip during the surgery. He made me promise that I would not try to push my recovery because there was so much damage to the muscle tissue and it needs time to regrow and reattach to the prosthetic.

    I turned to Tommie Copper because I read so much good press about your product. I wear the shorts and the knee brace every day and sleep in them, only taking them off to wash them. My recovery is going very well and I am no longer on the walker, crutches or even the cane. I believe your product is making a big difference in my life. I used to be 185 pounds and very well built and I want to get back into the gym and get back to that level of muscle development.

    I think Tommie Copper is helping me to get there and just wanted to tell you so and thank you.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Works well, but it's a bit expensive.

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I work at The Vitamin Shoppe as an assistant store manager. Our store is one of the selected test stores for Tommie Copper. Tommie Copper gave us some free knee and elbow sleeves of various sizes to try out, and pass feedback on to the customers. Tommie Copper also gave us a special discount for one week (We were able to buy directly from them and receive a 25% off discount), which I paid no mind to because I had literally no faith in this product. I just took my free knee sleeve, and never expected to sell any of the line. We aren't paid on commission, so there is no reason to ever deceive a customer into buying a product that would not benefit them.

    I have a bodybuilding and powerlifting background. I have the state records for my weight class, so I take it pretty seriously. My knees, elbows, and back are all in pretty poor shape from competition. I started wearing the knee sleeve underneath my slacks at work (I didn't really want to work out in them. I have $80 Inzer Knee Sleeves for that). Something I noticed within hours of wearing the sleeve was my posture. I always lean slightly to the left, and put a lot of weight on my left leg. This causes a lot of pain in my hamstrings, and around my knee. I could feel an even weight distribution between my legs for the first time in probably five to six years.

    Overall, I really like the knee sleeve. I'd love to buy more of the line, and I'd love to sell it to customers. The problem for me is the price, especially from a selling point of view. When someone comes in looking for an anti-inflammatory for their joints I can either sell them Tommie Copper apparel for $40-$80 each, or I can sell them fish oil for $7. I'd personally buy more of the line, but I can't afford it. I feel like if they could address the astronomical price of their products, it would be a much easier sale for people like myself whom believe in their products, but just can't bring themselves to spend $80 on a pair of pants.

    All the best.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Great product.

    • Staten Island, New York,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Helped my broken ankle pain. I love crew socks. I wear them 24 hours a day. Take them off to wash every couple of days. Also wear ankle support. My wife wears knee support and had relief within hours of starting to wear it. Unbelievable product. Give it a try. Best money I ever spent on pain relief.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    the shorts are awesome....

    • Kingman, KS,
    • Feb 28, 2014

    The shorts have given us great pain relief AFTER ONLY 3 WEEKS. Have recommended them to several people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Works for my Carpal Tunnel

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 14, 2014

    I got a set of the compression wrist bands after reading about how they have helped others. I got them in the mail swiftly and with no issue. I put them on and they were nice and snug around my wrists. So far after wearing them for only 3 days I have had no pain! I type a lot so there is a lot to be said about these.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Calf sleeve experience

    • Portland, OR,
    • Apr 3, 2014

    Due to some back issues leading to slight pelvic tilt (and being a little heavier than I'd like), I experience shin splints which tends to limit my running to a couple of time per week, and no more than 4 miles at a time. I want to do a triathlon and perhaps a 1/2 marathon, so I want to build mileage.

    Though somewhat skeptical, I took a chance on the calf sleeve product. I've run 3 times in the last 6 days - 4 miles each run, and to my surprise have had a complete absence of pain. As long as I continue to get good results, I'll stick with the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Would refer to others

    • Denver CO,
    • Apr 5, 2014

    I have now ordered three products from Tommy Copper and their shipping is always ahead of schedule. I never get overnight or second day air because the standard shipping is surprisingly fast.

    The product I ordered speaks for itself. Nice compression as advertised. Size chart is right on and am extremely happy with the shipping, product and customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 237

Write a Review for Tommie Copper!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review