About Copper Fit

Whether you’re a professional athlete, a weekend warrior, or just enjoy gardening in your spare time, Copper Fit is a brand of knee and elbow compression sleeves claimed to help support painful, stiff, and sore muscles, and to prevent the buildup of bacteria.

In order to accomplish this, the compression provided by Copper Fit is claimed to stabilize and support muscles, improve muscle circulation and oxygenation, prevent muscle strain and fatigue, and to help reduce muscle recovery time. In addition, Copper Fit is claimed to be lightweight and comfortable, to wick sweat and prevent chafing, and to feature anti-static and anti-piling (prevents it from bunching) properties.

When compared to other compression sleeves though, Copper Fit’s namesake is in its copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria that can lead to the appearance of stains and odors, and that can accelerate fabric deterioration. While these copper ions only make up about 4% of Copper Fit’s total materials, the company makes it seem like it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.

But is this really the case? In other words, can you really expect Copper Fit to works as advertised, and is it worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

What’s Different About Copper Fit?

As we mentioned above, the primary selling point for Copper Fit is that these sleeves contain copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria, as well as the stains, odors, and deterioration this can cause. We’ll talk more about the effectiveness of this copper-infused fabric in a moment.

For now though, keep in mind that once you clear all the marketing hype away, there doesn’t seem to be any significant difference between Copper Fit sleeves and a generic neoprene sleeve you’d find at your local pharmacy or sporting goods store.

Can Copper Fit’s Compression Provide Any Benefits?

As we detailed in our The Science of Compression Wear article, prescription-only compression garments have been used in medicine for many decades, due to their ability to “prevent the occurrence of, and guard against further progression of venous disorders,” prevent the formation of blood clots, improve blood flow, reduce inflammation, and more.

However, when compared to consumer-grade compression wear (like Copper Fit), medical-grade compression garments “use stronger elastics to create significant pressure.” In other words, the amount of compression—and therefore the level of benefits you’ll receive—is much higher with compression wear used in the medical community.

Are There Any Health Benefits Related to the Copper in Copper Fit?

Here’s where you have to tread lightly. This is because the Copper Fit website uses some fuzzy language when it comes to copper’s benefits, claiming it “is known to possess antimicrobial properties and enhancement benefits.” Exactly what these “enhancement benefits” are isn’t made clear. But what about copper’s anti-microbial properties?

In short, the copper-infused fabric featured in Copper Fit may help reduce bacteria buildup, which can help prevent odor and stains. After all, you’ll probably be fairly active in your Copper Fit sleeve, so it’s perfectly reasonable that it will get dirty and sweaty.

Keep in mind though, that Copper Fit claims that their copper-infused fabric has been “tested to remain effective for numerous washes.” In other words, after a long enough period of time has passed, all (or most) of the copper will no longer be present.

See also: Can Copperwear Provide You With Pain Relief?

Are Customers Having Good Experiences with Copper Fit?

Based on 100 HighYa reader reviews for Copper Fit (as of 2/13/15), Copper Fit has an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing:

  • Poor quality products that don’t provide adequate compression.
  • Poor customer service (difficulty processing refunds, numerous upsells during calls).
  • High S&H charges (more about this next).
  • Extremely long shipping times, often lasting 2+ months.

Copper Fit’s manufacturer, Idea Village based out of Wayne, NJ, holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite holding more than 130 closed complaints. Most of these mirror the complaints noted above.

Copper Fit Pricing & Refund Policy

2 Copper Fit knee or elbow sleeves are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H, and are available in size S-XXL.

Note: Keep in mind that when you’re asked how many “Buy One Get One Knee (or Elbow) Sleeves” you’d like during checkout, this references the number of pairs, or sets, that you’d like. In other words, don’t be fooled into thinking that you can order 1 elbow sleeve and 1 knee sleeve. If you do something like this, you’ll actually end up paying twice ($35.97 X 2).

Copper Fit comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your sleeves, you’ll immediately lose nearly $16 in S&H charges, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship them back to the manufacturer. In reality, you might end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a tactic many ASOTV products use.

With this said, in order to process a refund you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-818-8300.

Will Copper Fit Provide Improved Mobility & Reduced Pain?

Chopping to the point: If you suffer from minor mobility problems or joint pain, the mild compression provided by Copper Fit sleeves may help provide some relief. However, other than perhaps providing some microbial protection, the copper contained in Copper Fit provides no health benefits whatsoever.

This means that, from a performance perspective, it’s likely that Copper Fit will provide the same level of support as any generic neoprene sleeve from your local pharmacy. In fact, Copper Fit is available at a variety of retailers, so if you’re dead-set on trying it out, this can help you save a ton of hassle if you need to return it, as well as losing a big chunk of change in non-refundable S&H charges.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

231 Consumer Reviews for Copper Fit

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 49 4 star: 20 3 star: 6 2 star: 16 1 star:  140
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 231
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Copper Fit socks don't stay up!

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two years ago I purchased Copper Fit socks when the material breakdown was 91% nylon and the product was sold two pairs per box for around $14.00. I was very satisfied with the compression, and the socks were very comfortable! But now the socks are made with only 84% nylon and do not stay up! They are now sold one pair per box at $10.00, but I will not recommend this product until they make them with 91% nylon. I have sent the company five emails with no response. Do not waste your money! Walmart has a better compression sock for around $19.99 a pair (ABD sport socks).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I could have had a knee replacement quicker

    • Midwest, USA,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Shipping time is measured on a geological timescale. The product can't be effective if you don't get it. Supreme disappointment. I'd rather continue to try the myriad options at the pharmacy counter than do business with these jokers again. I would cancel the order and request a refund, but the reviews here lead me to assume that would be pointless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Nice find

    • Florida,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this at CVS, and I sprained my ankle. This product works. Now I can ride my bike after a torn meniscus in my right knee. I wish CVS carried other Copper Fit products but will have to order online since they only carry the knee sleeve.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not at all helpful

    Yes, I have purchased this item, the so-called Copper Fit belt was more trouble than help. It does not fit right (yes, I got the right size), it constantly slides around and, there is no support whatsoever. Sorry I was scammed. Tell Bret Farve to quit promoting this product, it makes him look bad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Burned a ring around my leg

    • Kentucky,
    • Mar 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A co-worker gave me a knee brace after complaining about my knee hurting at work. It seemed to help within the first hour of wearing it (despite that it was a medium and I had to stretch it out on a coffee can for three days before I could fit it up my leg without feeling like my circulation was being cut off). So I wore it for the next three days only at work. After I took it off, the third day I noticed a red ring around my leg, I assumed was from being tight. The next day the ring began to itch, so I did not wear it again. Three days after taking it off, the ring is still there and itches like no other. It burns and stings so bad. After reading another review, I believe it may be an allergy to the silicone. I don't know if I will be wearing it again even though it seemed to be helping my knee pain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Does not work properly

    My daughter bought me one for my knee. They will not stay up. They bunch up in the middle of your knee, and obese I'm not. I wanted one for years and finally got it. Now I know why I kept putting it off. Total disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 9, 2018

      Lynn

      Try wearing it over tights or leggings (underneath your jeans/slacks), or wear it over your jeans or slacks, that should help hold it in place and keep it from bunching up behind the knee. I do that and it works for me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Cheap stuff

    I purchase Copper Fit knees probably about a year ago. I wore them about 4 or five times. I was absolutely surprised how cheap and lousy the product was. You can purchase products at least as good at half the price at Walmart or Target or one of the similar stores. I have waited this long to give this review because I continue to see all these ads that are slickly produced that make you think this is such a wonderful product. The reality is, in my opinion, garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Works well

    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought it using Amazon Prime. No cost was added for shipping. Works well. Painful knee no longer hurts. No more aching knee at wake up in the morning or even during the day.

    My only complaint is that I have not received a commission for the ten people I recommended to buy one who are also happy.

    Nothing will work on a completely trashed knee. Go to the doctor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Copper Fit Knee

    I bought it at Dick's Sporting Goods. I wore it three times for an arthritic problem in my knee. I actually started feeling some relief in the knee although some relief may have been from the jell injections I was receiving at the time.

    Upon removing at the end of the day on the third full day, my upper thigh felt like it was on fire and developed a "burn ring" all the way around my leg that blistered and itched horribly. After reading the package, I realized I was allergic to the silicone band on the inside of the upper band. It has taken three weeks to heal and is still visible, but at least not itching anymore. As I still want to see if it helps, I am removing the upper band where the silicone is and will wear again.

    If you are allergic, stay away and find something without the silicone. I did not attempt a refund as I have already removed the silicone band. I could not find a place on the website to complain, so I posted this review here. I hope it helps so someone else doesn't get burned, literally!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    About Copper Fit insoles

    • Hampton, NH,
    • Nov 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't buy them. I bought a pair and they are the worst I bought. I work in manufacturing and on my feet all day, and my feet hurt more with these. Dr. Sholl's is better. Don't buy them ever. Just a warning; don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Fell apart

    • Kansas,
    • Nov 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Copper Fit back from Walmart and have had it for about a month and it started coming apart, so I took it back to Walmart and they would not replace it. I called customer service for Copper Fit and was given the manufacture's phone number, so I called it and was disconnected. I called Copper Fit customer service again and was told if Walmart wouldn't replace it that it was my problem and I could just resew it myself.

    I have also bought the Copper Fit Pro Back, Knee, Elbow, and Ankle since I bought the regular Copper Fit Back. We like the products but not the customer service, as both were unfriendly and unhelpful, both acting as if I had no reason to complain. I think after spending around $20.00 for something and it comes apart, it should be replaced.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 231

Write a Review for Copper Fit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review