About Copper Fit

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Aug 12, 2019

Whether you’re a professional athlete, a weekend warrior, or just enjoy gardening in your spare time, Copper Fit is a brand of knee and elbow compression sleeves claimed to help support painful, stiff, and sore muscles, and to prevent the buildup of bacteria.

In order to accomplish this, the compression provided by Copper Fit is claimed to stabilize and support muscles, improve muscle circulation and oxygenation, prevent muscle strain and fatigue, and to help reduce muscle recovery time. In addition, Copper Fit is claimed to be lightweight and comfortable, to wick sweat and prevent chafing, and to feature anti-static and anti-piling (prevents it from bunching) properties.

When compared to other compression sleeves though, Copper Fit’s namesake is in its copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria that can lead to the appearance of stains and odors, and that can accelerate fabric deterioration. While these copper ions only make up about 4% of Copper Fit’s total materials, the company makes it seem like it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.

But is this really the case? In other words, can you really expect Copper Fit to works as advertised, and is it worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

What’s Different About Copper Fit?

As we mentioned above, the primary selling point for Copper Fit is that these sleeves contain copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria, as well as the stains, odors, and deterioration this can cause. We’ll talk more about the effectiveness of this copper-infused fabric in a moment.

For now though, keep in mind that once you clear all the marketing hype away, there doesn’t seem to be any significant difference between Copper Fit sleeves and a generic neoprene sleeve you’d find at your local pharmacy or sporting goods store.

Can Copper Fit’s Compression Provide Any Benefits?

As we detailed in our The Science of Compression Wear article, prescription-only compression garments have been used in medicine for many decades, due to their ability to “prevent the occurrence of, and guard against further progression of venous disorders,” prevent the formation of blood clots, improve blood flow, reduce inflammation, and more.

However, when compared to consumer-grade compression wear (like Copper Fit), medical-grade compression garments “use stronger elastics to create significant pressure.” In other words, the amount of compression—and therefore the level of benefits you’ll receive—is much higher with compression wear used in the medical community.

Are There Any Health Benefits Related to the Copper in Copper Fit?

Here’s where you have to tread lightly. This is because the Copper Fit website uses some fuzzy language when it comes to copper’s benefits, claiming it “is known to possess antimicrobial properties and enhancement benefits.” Exactly what these “enhancement benefits” are isn’t made clear. But what about copper’s anti-microbial properties?

In short, the copper-infused fabric featured in Copper Fit may help reduce bacteria buildup, which can help prevent odor and stains. After all, you’ll probably be fairly active in your Copper Fit sleeve, so it’s perfectly reasonable that it will get dirty and sweaty.

Keep in mind though, that Copper Fit claims that their copper-infused fabric has been “tested to remain effective for numerous washes.” In other words, after a long enough period of time has passed, all (or most) of the copper will no longer be present.

See also: Can Copperwear Provide You With Pain Relief?

Are Customers Having Good Experiences with Copper Fit?

Based on 233 HighYa reader reviews for Copper Fit (as of August 2019), Copper Fit has an average rating of 2.3 stars, with common complaints citing:

  • Poor quality products that don’t provide adequate compression.
  • Poor customer service (difficulty processing refunds, numerous upsells during calls).
  • Extremely long shipping times, often lasting 2+ months.

Copper Fit’s manufacturer, Idea Village based out of Wayne, NJ, holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite holding more around 126 closed complaints. Most of these mirror the complaints noted above.

Copper Fit Pricing & Refund Policy

A single Copper Fit knee or elbow sleeve costs $19.99. Every single unit you order comes up the same identical one for free. Regardless of how many sleeves you order, you will have a one time $3.99 shipping & handling fee added on to your total.

As you're placing your order, you have the ability to select the number of knee slaves in three sizes: Medium, Large and X-Large. For elbow sleeves, you have the following size options: Medium and large.

Regardless of the size, each sleeve type is priced the same.

Copper Fit comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your sleeves, you’ll immediately lose nearly $3.99 in S&H charges, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship them back to the manufacturer.

With this said, in order to process a refund you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-533-1182.

Will Copper Fit Provide Improved Mobility & Reduced Pain?

Chopping to the point: If you suffer from minor mobility problems or joint pain, the mild compression provided by Copper Fit sleeves may help provide some relief. However, other than perhaps providing some microbial protection, the copper contained in Copper Fit provides no health benefits whatsoever.

This means that, from a performance perspective, it’s likely that Copper Fit will provide the same level of support as any generic neoprene sleeve from your local pharmacy. In fact, Copper Fit is available at a variety of retailers, so if you’re dead-set on trying it out, this can help you save a ton of hassle if you need to return it, as well as saving a few dollars on shipping charges should you need to send it back directly to the company.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 233 Copper Fit Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 48 4 star: 20 3 star: 6 2 star: 17 1 star:  142
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 233
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Compression gloves

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two pairs of Copper Fit compression gloves size Small. Within the first week the strap started ripping from the scene, I couldn't even tighten it that much because then I would cut off the circulation so they're free loose, then the fingers started to fray. I bought another pair as I was so desperate for relief, gloves at $29 each, I'm on a fixed income so quite pricey for me. They did relieve some of the tingling and numbness and reduce swelling. I'm going home from Walgreens and Rite Aid and Walmart, I can't afford to keep buying, appears every two weeks, two a month, I only wear them to bed so they should not be wearing that quick and ripping at the seams. I have the same problems with every pair I've bought. I would like to be replaced or reimbursed as I went back to the stores. Because I had one of them they would not take them back, this is not fair, so where do I go to send these products back for my warranty and guarantee?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied customer

    • Groves, TX,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered several items: Advanced Pro Back support, elbow and knee sleeves. It took a few weeks to get the back support, but after nine months and six follow up calls for status checks on the back-ordered items, they canceled my back-ordered items without contacting me. I was charged $45.96 and only received the back support (Made in China) that sells for $19.87 and three pairs (!?) of bonus order compression socks...!? Horrible customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    • Idaho,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a 275 pound bicycle nut I have used COPPER FIT for ankles, wrists and left knee. Absolutely no help for my arthritis whatsoever was noticed. The products were poor fitting at hands and the ankle support slipped as I pedaled and not because of incorrect sizing. The copper infusion is a sales only ploy and the only products that worked correctly were my prescription for elbow and ankle and hand wrist. After corrective surgery I no longer need those unless gym training on cables...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Finally relief

    • Minnesota,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been suffering with pain in my fingers and my elbows for months so I went to the doctor and they gave me these bulky braces chalked it up as carpal tunnel. I saw the ad for Copper Fit and I went to Walmart in the As Seen On TV area and I picked up a pair of fingerless gloves mediately and instantly I could move my fingers without pain. Unbelievable! I wear them everyday and I remain pain free. Tonight I went to Target and got the Copper Fit sleeve for my elbow. So far so good. I highly recommend Copper Fit for pain relief! I'm also going to be trying the socks and knee sleeve as soon as payday comes around again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Socks

    • Florida,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These are the worst socks I've ever had! I've bought Gold Toes for 30 years and never had any problems. The Copper Fit socks stink after a 10-12 hour day, my skin is "moist" around my toes, and the skin is peeling. I've never had these problems until I bought these things. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Out of stock!

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I waited ten weeks for the product. I finally canceled after checking, and it was still out of stock. I was told it was on the way, but that was BS. I don't know if it works, but a zero for customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unfair S&H refunds policy

    • Punta Gorda, FL,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are not fair with their refund policy. They refuse to refund any shipping costs, expecting the customer to pay the initial shipping costs plus the shipping cost again to return the item, irrespective of the customer placing a second order due to the size being incorrect. I will not ever make another purchase from them. Their product sizes are not consistent with most other similar garments.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don’t work

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The knee braces don’t WORK like they claim! I doubt the other products benefit either. The lawsuits prove they lie about their product. The knee braces themselves are far from the pictures they show on advertisement! With that being said, use caution. Just my opinion. People know the saying...opinions are like...! This is mine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Slow delivery

    • Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been almost seven weeks and I still haven't received what I ordered. My card was charged the same day I made the order. So much for the 30-day money back guarantee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Copper Fit socks don't stay up!

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two years ago I purchased Copper Fit socks when the material breakdown was 91% nylon and the product was sold two pairs per box for around $14.00. I was very satisfied with the compression, and the socks were very comfortable! But now the socks are made with only 84% nylon and do not stay up! They are now sold one pair per box at $10.00, but I will not recommend this product until they make them with 91% nylon. I have sent the company five emails with no response. Do not waste your money! Walmart has a better compression sock for around $19.99 a pair (ABD sport socks).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    I could have had a knee replacement quicker

    • Midwest, USA,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Shipping time is measured on a geological timescale. The product can't be effective if you don't get it. Supreme disappointment. I'd rather continue to try the myriad options at the pharmacy counter than do business with these jokers again. I would cancel the order and request a refund, but the reviews here lead me to assume that would be pointless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 233

Write a Review for Copper Fit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review