About Tommie Copper

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 30, 2013

Tommie Copper is a clothing manufacturer that specializes in helping their customers relieve persistent aches and pains through copper infused compression-oriented shirts, shorts, gloves, and socks. According to the company, their unique clothing line helps support muscles, joints, and surrounding tissue, which ultimately decreases swelling and increases mobility.

Tommie Copper is based out of Kisco, NY, and has been in business since 2010. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 19 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing long shipping times and failure to work.

Tommie Copper Features & Products

Similar to Copper Wear, Tommie Copper manufactures “Pro+ Ionic” copper-infused compression wear that is claimed to release ions that “may help reduce the oxidants in the body and is a natural, permanent anti-bacterial agent with skin benefits.” Additional benefits include increased oxygen transport, improved muscle tone, “free radical” neutralization, relief from muscle soreness and stiffness, and much more.

With numerous compression and non-compression products for men and women, in addition to several accessories, the Tommie Copper brand has a wide target audience. These include everyone from high-level athletes to grandmothers who enjoy gardening—essentially anyone who experiences fluid buildup in their joints, muscle stiffness, or sore, tired legs.

In addition to its health benefits, Tommie Copper claims their compression wear is designed using “3D compression” technology, and is the most comfortable on the market; because after all, if people aren’t wearing their clothing, they won’t be able to reap the benefits. However, the company admits that not all customers will immediately experience the benefits of their compression wear, as some will take longer due to their individual physiology.

Tommie Copper Pricing & Refund Policy

Due to the wide variety of Tommie Copper products available, prices can vary widely. However, based on our research, most products range between $24.50 and $169.50.

All Tommie Copper products come with an unrestricted 60-day return policy. If you’re dissatisfied for any reason within this time, you can send your clothing back to the company—used or otherwise—and will only be responsible for shipping and handling fees. Simply contact customer service at 855-692-8291 to begin the process.

Does Copper Even Work For Pain Relief?

There is no known scientific evidence available demonstrating that copper infused compression wear will provide constant and reliable relief. In fact, according to a study done on 70 patients at NCBI, the conclusion drawn was that magnetic copper bracelets (mixed with other placebos) do not provide much pain relief to the individuals who were suffering from rheumatoid arthritis. In addition, after looking through the Tommie Copper website, we were unable to find any clinical evidence supporting that copper works for everyone.

Pros

  • Claims to help relieve persistent aches and pains through compression-oriented clothing.
  • Reduces swelling and stiffness, while increasing mobility.
  • Can be worn by anyone—not just athletes.
  • Some individuals may experience immediate relief.
  • 60-day unrestricted return policy.

Cons

  • Instead of instant relief, some individuals may experience results over a longer period of time.
  • Most common complaints cite long shipping and failure to work.
  • No scientific evidence available that copper actually provides relief including on the company website.

Bottom Line: Should You Buy Tommie Copper?

Since our original review, more than 160 HighYa readers have chimed in and offered their reviews on Tommie Copper compression wear products. What do they have to say?

Overall, HighYa customer reviews appear to be evenly split, with most negative reviews referencing high price, failure to work, poor quality construction (insufficient compression, garments will not stay in place, that quickly fray at the seams, etc.), and negative reactions or stained skin/clothing from the copper content. On the positive side though, it appears that many people have found pain relief from less severe conditions such as arthritis, inflammation, and carpal tunnel syndrome.

However, one question we kept asking ourselves when reading several of the positive reviews from individuals with severe medical conditions requiring professional medical attention: Had they previously tried any medical-grade compression garments, such as those sold through RejuvaHealth? We bring this up because if they claimed to have tried everything, it would seem that their physician would have already made this recommendation based on their symptoms. With this said, several HighYa readers wrote very detailed reviews, and although they gave Tommie Copper high marks, they claimed that they were going to try other brands prior to ordering additional garments from the company.

Nearly all HighYa Tommie Copper reviewers appear to have been seeking pain relief, which is a positive sign. This is because, as we mentioned in our Science of Compression Wear article, compression wear has been shown to provide clear medical benefits, including increased circulation, improved blood flow, hastened wound recovery, reduced risk of forming a blood clot, and improved venous function. However, other than reducing the buildup of lactic acid and decreasing post-exercise recovery times, they have not been shown to provide any sports-related performance benefits, which is a claim that many consumer-grade compression wear manufacturers make.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

The Final Take on Tommie Copper Compression Wear

With evenly split HighYa customer reviews, it would appear that you have a 50/50 chance of experiencing benefits from Tommie Copper compression wear, which may be increased slightly if you experience mild to moderate pain related to arthritis, inflammation, and carpal tunnel syndrome. It really depends on each individual's personal circumstance.

From our perspective, it appears that an individual who is suffering from severe arthritis or other major pain would have decreased chances of experiencing substantial relief using Tommie Copper or other branded copper compression wear alone without doctor prescribed medication.

However, if you’re looking for any kind of enhanced sports performance, Tommie Copper may be good fit for you assuming you don't have any other major medical conditions. You probably see a lot of athletes in the NBA constantly wearing compression wear.

See Also: Tommie Copper Lawsuit: Overstated Claims or Intentional Misrepresentation?


Read 237 Tommie Copper Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 96 4 star: 19 3 star: 9 2 star: 22 1 star:  91
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 237
Sort reviews by:

  • 99 out 108 people found this review helpful

    Bogus, No Relief!

    • St. Paul, MN,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Montel must be in need of money to hack this stuff. It did absolutely nothing for me but drain my wallet.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 96 out 105 people found this review helpful

    Stains cannot be removed!

    • Forestville, CA,
    • Sep 11, 2013

    The stains on the bottoms of my feet are not removable from one day. When I washed the ankle socks in the sink and the water turned dark purple. I have taken photos of the dye in the sink with the sock and the bottom of my feet.

    If any one is interested, I will email the photos to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 75 out 83 people found this review helpful

    Bought ankle sleeve, pants and shorts

    • Lakewood, CO,
    • Jul 17, 2013

    I had high hopes for this product. I have pain all over my body. Put the products on when I got them, slept with them on. By a couple days later, my pain was worse. The compression made my pain worse than it was, sorry, these are going back.

    If I could give it no stars I would, but you have to rate it, one star lowest i could go.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 64 out 70 people found this review helpful

    Validation of product claims

    • Southern California,
    • Feb 20, 2014

    I am a 70-year old “weekend warrior” and I play basketball several times per week in addition to traveling to various basketball tournaments conducted as part of various Senior Olympics and Senior Games organizations. I am not an employee of Tommie Copper and have no interest – financial or otherwise – in promoting or representing the potential benefits of their products. In fact, I am a scientist and so am highly oriented to observation, measurement, cause-and-effect (outcome) analysis. That said, this review is based on my casual observations as a user of the product, not a scientific analysis of the materials and not a statistically-based blind study. However, I do have some insights that may be useful to some that are considering the use of the product.

    I almost never watch infomercials, let alone buy anything from them but I just happened to see this one and decided that for the benefit of my long-term prospects of continuing to play basketball, these products were at least worth a try.

    My review addresses the following key points:

    1. Are the Tommie Copper products high-quality garments from a manufacturing viewpoint? (fit, form, function, and longevity);
    2. Their function as purely compression garments vs the potential benefits of the use of copper-infused yarn vs normal yarn;
    3. Is the potential leaching or absorbing of copper into the body a potential problem?

    My review of Tommie Copper claims is based on my personal use of the Tommie Copper products for about a year. I have, and regularly wear, a short-sleeved shirt, shorts and knee sleeves. I chose these products because I have had recurring bouts with shoulder pain (rotator cuff), back pain (herniated discs and sciatica), and knee pain (osteoarthritis).

    Prior to my purchase of the Tommie Copper products, I had undergone extensive treatments over several years including physical therapy for my shoulders and spinal decompression (plus daily inversion) for my back. I regularly take joint supplements containing Hylauronic Acid (HA) for my joints. In addition, I lost some weight to help relieve the strain on my back and knees. (I am 6’2” and dropped from 210 down to 190). So, I had actively pursued lifestyle changes previously and had good results from these efforts. The decision to purchase TC products was just as an experiment to see if there would be any detectable benefits from their use.

    Quality of Products: The products appear to be of high quality – at least equal to other top products such as Under Armour. However, I did notify the company that for the first month or so after starting to wear them, at each washing (which I do by hand in a plastic basin with cold water followed by air drying), the water would have a dark tinge to it as though either the dye or the copper were washing out. I have not noticed a change in color so it does not appear to be the dye. I cannot detect the copper content so I am not sure if the dark water is from the copper or just from the sweat from my body (I do sweat a lot). After about a year of wearing, I have noticed that the shorts do not fit as tightly as when I ordered them and the waistband has stretched significantly. It is not enough to affect my use of them but it is something to be noted. The video on the TC website that presents the manufacturing process indicates that good quality processes are used in the manufacture of the products (I am familiar with the fabric finishing industry).

    The claims of comfort, dryness and temperature moderation all seem to be true based on my wearing. I do not always wear them 24x7 but I have on occasion worn them for over 24 hours and find them very comfortable in all temperature/humidity conditions and particularly beneficial during heavy exercise such as basketball. The UPF rating does not concern me even though I live in So. California.

    Benefits of Copper in fabric: As TC points out in their claims, copper has been used for medical purposes for thousands of years – both as a treatment and as a preventative. Today, there are many products available which contain copper such as necklaces, bracelets, and anklets which purport to help reduce the effects of arthritis. The copper in the fabric of their products is claimed to offer improvements over these age-old methods due to the increased contact between the copper and the skin of the wearer. So, the question is: Does the wearing of copper of any sort really benefit the wearer? There have been research studies of copper bracelets but other than the testimonials on the TC website, there do not appear to be any direct studies of the TC products. The studies on bracelets have not shown any statistical proof of benefits from the copper. So, does that mean TC products containing copper likewise have no benefit? I think it depends on the wearer. I have recommended the products to some of my teammates in the basketball circuit and they have reported back good results to me. I cannot verify that the copper in the TC garments will improve oxygen transport, neutralize free radicals, or improve muscle tone (independent of my exercise regimen).

    Benefits of Compression: My personal comparison is based on wearing the TC garments exclusively for about 6 months and then alternating between TC products and other high-quality compression garments. When I first started wearing the TC products, my sense was that I felt progressively more stable and pain-free over the first 3 months or so. Then things stabilized and have remained in the improved condition since then. When I alternately wear other non- copper compression garments I do not notice any difference in my condition. Whether that is because the primary benefit is in the compression and not in the copper, I have not been able to conclude. One possibility is that if the copper is, in fact, a significant benefit, I would need to stop wearing the TC products for, maybe, 3 months to notice a decline. I have not stopped for that long a period so perhaps the change is not detectable in a short-term period.

    Possible leaching of Copper: I think this issue is highly dependent on an individual’s body chemistry. Copper is the main ingredient in various metal alloys including brass and bronze. Some jewelry, including native American and inexpensive costume jewelry contain copper or brass and many people will experience black or green color rubbing off when wearing such jewelry on their skin. Similarly, some musicians who play brass instruments may see discoloration on their hands and pitting on the instrument. This is due to acidic body chemistry. I do not experience discoloration from touching brass (I am a trumpet player) so I have not had any problem with copper leaching from the TC garments. However, someone with more acidic chemistry may have an issue. I don’t know that the copper content in TC is high enough to be a problem – after all, they claim that a key benefit is absorption of the copper in the body – so that is something that may need to be evaluated in more detail by those that have a concern about this.

    Overall Conclusion: I find that I enjoy wearing the TC products – they are comfortable, good quality and my physical condition is better now than a year ago. How much of the improvement is due to TC vs other good quality (and less expensive) compression garments is hard to say. I will continue to try the others for awhile before I decide to re-order any TC products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 62 out 70 people found this review helpful

    Order system is all messed up

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 8, 2013

    I called to put in an order but never received an email confirm. I called back two days later to check, they claimed they never received the order. I placed the order again, they said it would be shipped overnight. It's 4 days later, and they can't tell me if it has been shipped or not. They blame it all on a new web site, but they have no clue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 60 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Pain Gone, Swollen knee (what the heck). Lol

    • Byron, Georgia ,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Not sure what this product did for me other than swell my knee. Knee injury was already healing, so I'm not sure if the Tommie Copper took the pain away or not. The pain is gone, but my knee has swollen really bad.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 54 out 86 people found this review helpful

    Tommie Copper mad me boo

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I'm a 26 year old male and experience gluteal pain. My bum has been exposed to severe heat and therefore I have developed bum bum pain. I decided to try the Tommie Copper bum hugger, as I was interested in providing compression to my inner bum bum. Tommie Copper made my bum hurt more that it did before I started using it.

    The compression feels good on my bum for a little bit, but after a while its just too much.

    Hope that helps.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 45 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Comfortable, Supportive, Relief

    • New York ,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I am so happy I found this product. I purchased 2 knee sleeves and a pair of the women's and men's shorts. My knees and lower back, had gotten so bad I could no longer do my exercises and I love doing exercises, so it meant putting on extra weight, which only made the knees and the back worse.

    With the help of Tommie Copper Knee sleeves and the shorts, I am back doing exercises every morning and with comfortable all-day stability. They aren't a cure product, but they are definitely a way to ease the pain. My lower back now allows me to stand longer and clean the house. As soon as I am able, I am going to purchase the Women's short sleeved shirt, for my shoulders and neck. When I buy another product if it is not working for me (which i doubt) I have 60 days to make my decision because there is a money back guarantee. Perfect! Thank you Tommie Copper, your products, your company and your customer service is the greatest. The agents answer all your questions and have the upmost respect for their customers. Great job, and I wish you nothing but success always.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    After the sales pitch, I spent over $200 worth of Tommie Copper product. I had pain from opening the package. None of the products provided relief. Customer service lines are busy. I hung up after waiting 25 minutes in hold. Will try again when my pain subsides and have an extra hall hour to wait on the phone. Save Your money, don't buy these products!

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 46 people found this review helpful

    I won't leave home without it

    • Los Lunas, NM,
    • Sep 24, 2013

    My wife saw the TV commercial and purchased the knee compression sleeve. I don't usually believe in these copper things but since she bought it I decided to try it. I have had pain in my knee for several years and have considered surgery.

    I put the sleeve on and within half an hour my knee did not hurt anymore. It is not a cure but the uniform compression really works. I have recommended it to my mother-in-law and her friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Beware of this product!

    • Martinsburg, WV,
    • May 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using the Tommie Copper sleeve for two days, I developed a permanent red mark around my thigh. Weeks later, it is still there and doesn't appear to be fading at all. I assume it has something to do with the sticky material they use at the top of the sleeve to make it stay in place. So, unless you want your leg to be permanently disfigured, I would highly recommend staying away from this horrid product.

    By the way, I tried to post this exact review directly on the Tommie Copper website. Their moderator rejected it and won't post it. So don't believe the reviews on this company's website. They obviously only allow positive reviews to be posted to their site. So, the ratings that you find there are absolutely false and misleading. I am highly disappointed in not only the product, but how the company operates.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 237

Write a Review for Tommie Copper!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review