Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana

By Zina Kumok
Updated on: Mar 26, 2020

No one loves the car dealership experience. It’s tedious, stressful and leaves you feeling taken advantage of. When you really think about it, why should anyone have to haggle with a stranger just to buy a vehicle?

Like many online retailers looking to simplify traditionally complicated buying experiences, Vroom offers an alternative. You can search, inspect and buy a car in the comfort of your own home.

Instead of negotiating for the best deal and feeling pressured to make a decision on the spot, you can compare their fixed prices at your own leisure.

But is Vroom truly a step forward in the evolution of car buying, or a gimmicky way to avoid the transparency that comes with seeing a car in person? What do Vroom customers have to say about the experience?

How Vroom Works

Vroom is an online car-buying site where you can buy used and like-new cars. Instead of visiting a dealership, talking to a pushy salesman and haggling over cost and features, you can handle the transaction almost entirely online.

The process is simple. You visit the Vroom website, choose a car, pay a $500 deposit and then pay in full or wait for financing. After everything is completed, the car will be delivered to you. Sometimes you can arrange to pick it up yourself if you live nearby. There’s a $599 delivery fee that’s non-refundable.

While you won’t have to visit a dealership, there may be some phone calls required. You also may have to sign and mail documents to the company.

Vroom’s online reviews leave something to be desired. They have a 2.1-star rating here on HighYa, based on 200 reviews. The Better Business Bureau gave them an A+ rating, but the average customer review is also two stars with 63 reviews.

Warranty

Each car comes with a seven-day return policy, up to 250 miles. If you don’t like the car, you can return it during that time. You’ll owe a $599 restocking fee unless you can prove the car didn’t match the description or had some serious problems.

Some Vroom cars have a free 90-day, 6,000-mile limited warranty. If your car needs a repair within that time, you can take it to a dealership or ASE certified mechanic. The 90-day warranty has a $50 deductible per instance.

Every vehicle comes with one year of free roadside assistance if you get a flat tire, the battery dies or you lock yourself out of the vehicle. The Vroom website says they may offer other extended warranty packages and gap insurance, depending on the car

Selling Your Car

Vroom accepts trade-ins and can add the value of your current car to your new purchase. You can also sell a car to Vroom even if you’re not buying a vehicle from them.

You’ll go to the Vroom website and type in the car’s information, like its Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and mileage. You will then receive an offer within 30 minutes if done during Vroom’s business hours.

The offer is valid for 10 business days, up to 250 miles. If you agree to the price, the car will be picked by Vroom at a mutually-agreed-upon time. Payment is issued at pickup via cashier’s check.

If you buy a car from Vroom, trade-in your own and then return the new car, you can’t get your original car back. But you’ll still be paid for the value of your trade-in.

Car Selection

Vroom’s selection includes a variety of cars including gas-powered, hybrid and luxury vehicles. You can buy a Maserati or a standard Ford F-150 truck. All the cars have low miles, with the upper limit around 50,000 miles.

The selection isn’t as robust as Carvana’s, a similar online car-buying service. In a search for Toyota Camry models, Vroom had 42 options available while Carvana had 387. Vroom had 12 Teslas while Carvana had 79.

Carvana also tends to offer cars with higher mileage counts, capping at around 100,000, meaning they also offer lower price points.

Financing

Like Carvana and most car dealerships, you can finance a purchase through Vroom or use your own lender. Vroom works with major banks like Chase, Ally, and Capital One.

To see possible rates, you have to select a particular car and scroll down to the payment calculator. Type in the trade-in amount, down payment, estimated credit score and term length. Vroom will then estimate your payment and APR.

It’s still better to get pre-approved through a third-party lender – that way you can see what rates they offer before applying with Vroom.

Vroom vs. Dealership

If you’re buying a car and need to finance it, going to a dealership used to be your only option. Now sites like Vroom make it possible to buy a car without leaving your house.

The Vroom process claims to take around 11–15 days, which will vary if any issues arise with financing. One anonymous reviewer said his car was delivered a day earlier than promised.

One of the downsides to online car-buying services like Vroom and Carvana is that you can’t test drive the vehicle before you buy it. You’re also not able to have it inspected by an objective third-party mechanic.

Some customers report problems after buying the car and having a mechanic look at it. These include both minor cosmetic and major mechanical problems.

If you buy a car from a traditional dealership, they’ll usually let you take it to a mechanic for their own inspection. If the mechanic finds something, you can use that information to walk away from the car or negotiate for a better price.

This is where buying a car with Vroom can be difficult. If the car has no issues, you’re golden.

If the car starts having problems shortly after delivery, you have to negotiate with Vroom for a post-purchase discount or reimbursement. Unfortunately, you may have to call several times and provide solid proof for Vroom to refund you any money.

If you chose Vroom because you hate talking on the phone and dealing with salesmen, then initiating a dispute with them over a faulty car will probably be a nightmare.

Pros

Vroom is ideal for someone who wants to buy a car without taking the time to visit a dealership, go for a test drive and haggle with a salesman.

Pricing is fixed with Vroom, so the number you see on the site is the number you’ll pay, excluding taxes and registration fees. However, their website says they sometimes match competing offers, so you may get lucky if you can find the same car for a lower price.

Vroom will deliver your car within 10–14 days after all paperwork has been completed and finalized. This is longer than it would take from a dealership, so buyers should be prepared to wait.

The Vroom free roadside assistance program includes towing, battery service, lock-out assistance, and gas if you run out. This lasts for a year and covers anyone driving the car.

Cons

Some reviewers claim that Vroom delayed sending their car registration information. If you drive a car without proper registration, you risk getting a ticket and late fees. This can be stressful and costly – especially if Vroom declines to cover the late fees.

One Reddit user who bought a 2018 truck through Vroom returned it because of a dent that wasn’t in the description or photos, as well as rust on the bottom of the truck. While many people are happy with their purchase through Vroom, undisclosed cosmetic issues are fairly common.

Even though Vroom offers a seven-day return policy, they can decline to refund the delivery fee. If you can’t prove that the description or photos don’t match the car, you may have to eat that $599 delivery charge.

The Bottom Line

Though Vroom has competitive prices on their vehicles, their poor customer reviews indicate some serious problems.

Unless you don’t have a dealership nearby or you truly hate talking to salespeople, you should consider looking elsewhere for your next car. If buying a car online appeals to you, Carvana has better customer reviews.

If you still want to use Vroom, look at the pictures and description carefully. Vroom offers a free Carfax report which will show if the car has ever been in an accident, used for commercial purposes or on the receiving end of flood damage.

Read through the report carefully for any red flags. A little extra due diligence may prevent some of the major headaches other Vroom customers have reported.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Vroom:
  • 374 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 22% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 56%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • A great car and GREAT customer service!

    • By Carrie Lips,
    • Northern Virginia,
    • Oct 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had a great experience buying a van through Vroom. Not only have we loved the van and found it in excellent condition, we've had spectacular customer service.

    I misplaced the key documentation in the process of moving, creating an enormous administrative headache. The Vroom staff dutifully and uncomplainingly helped resolve my issue.

    They have been Wonderful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Read all the bad reviews, took a chance...not so bad.

    • By Eric Douglas,
    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So after reading the 300 negative reviews, I can honestly say I was VERY nervous about the transaction. Pages and pages of bad reviews, my experience was different and challenging, but all in all, I am very happy.

    The primary issue with Vroom is they have all their sales calls going thru a call center where no one knows anything about cars. The call center was Rock Auto disguised as a Vroom. After 3 minutes with these people, I knew what the deal was. What I did was run a VIN check on the Porsche 911 cabriolet I was interested in to see where the car was located. Once I found out, I called the dealer direct from an old ad on eBay. They put me in touch with a TRUE sales guy, and we went over the car in detail. No call center BS.

    I was approved for the car quickly and the finance team sent the paperwork out timely. To my surprise, the car was shipped from Texas to New Jersey in less than 5 days after all docs were signed. The car was delivered and like others have stated, was not clean and the car did have a damaged rim. I went to my local Porsche dealer and they validated the issue.

    Here's where the 5 stars come into play. I called customer service and Christy Leal in the Vroom customer service department approved a new Porsche rim, almost $2000.00 that day to be replaced on the vehicle. They dealt directly with the dealer and simply kept me in the loop.

    The issue with Vroom is that they are relying on a call center who merely reads from a script. This is not good. If you do a little homework on the car you see listed on their site like I did, you can avoid the call center, Rock Auto. This will alleviate 99% of the stress, and you will get a nice car at a great price.

    I can proudly say I am one of the few happy people that has purchased a car from Vroom. I would definitely buy another car from them. Christy Leal is an excellent employee and she deserves the 5 starts I have given.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 10, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Eric,

      Thanks for providing your detailed feedback. We're happy you ended up satisfied with your car and experience. Our call center was very new when you interacted with them back in February. We continue to work to find the best representatives to help customers like you. Thanks for the shout out for Christy. We hope we can help you again in the future.

      The Vroom Team


  • Vroom was great

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a van through Vroom (lots of inventory to choose from). The only slight issue was it took a little longer to get to me than originally estimated, about 6 days longer, but everything else was great. I got financing at a 3.2% rate from Capital One, through Vroom, and I didn't have to go to a dealership where I have ALWAYS gotten screwed in the past.

    The van was super clean inside, and we love it. It showed up pretty dusty, so I had to run it through a car wash, but no biggie, it was a long trip! These people that get all bent out of shape over little stuff that goes wrong really annoy me. Vroom is a great service and I'll be using it again in a few months to replace my other car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Erik,

      Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear you had a great experience and will be returning for another car. We look forward to working with you again.

      Enjoy your ride!

      The Vroom team


  • Great online car buying experience

    • By Dee A.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As a first time online car buyer I was very hesitant in purchasing. I came across too many negatives and very few positives. After several months and various car searches on Vroom, I decided to follow my gut and try the process. I could not be HAPPIER with my decision! The entire process went very smooth. The company tries their best to make the delivery process seamless. Each department kept me informed every step of the way. As a first time REAL customer, I can say I'm truly satisfied with this company and my vehicle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 20, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Dee - thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate you giving Vroom a try and are thrilled you had such a great experience.

      Enjoy your car!

      The Vroom team


  • Vroom car buying online

    • By Gabby C.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Car buying online can NOT be this easy anywhere else. I submitted a credit app, followed up on the app on Monday 6/11/18, got approved, received contracts on Wednesday 6/13/18, returned them back at a FedEx drop-off box, Vroom received them on Thursday, 6/14/18, paid my deposit as well, Vroom rep called me on Friday 6/15/18 and said my car had been moved to the shipping department to be inspected and prepared for shipment.

    On Monday, 6/18/18, I received an email saying that estimated delivery day would be 6/20/18. At this point, I'm over the top anxious and super excited for 6/20/18. On 6/20/18 evening, around 5:50 p.m., Vroom rep calls and tells me the delivery guy won't make the delivery time so it'll be 6/21/18 when he delivers.

    I received my car on 6/21/18 at 6:00 p.m. at a Walmart supercenter parking lot. I signed the bill of lading and received my keys. Oh, and there must have been miscommunication between the delivery guy and Vroom, because before he handed me my keys he asked who was going to pay him, and I told him my shipping fees and all were included in my financing. So he said they are probably just going to send him a check.

    Other than that everything went extremely smooth. I did not run into any problems other than the day delayed delivery. I am completely satisfied. I received my paperwork and my car all in ONE week! ONE week! It does not get any better or easier than that. The car is freaking awesome, l LOVE it! It's just like brand new on the inside and almost on the outside, with just minor scratches and paint chips. Minor normal wear and tear. I love my car!

    I would highly recommend Vroom to family and friends and to anyone looking to purchase great vehicles at reasonable costs. In the future, I plan to purchase again from Vroom. Thanks Vroom!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 28, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Gabby, thanks for the great and detailed feedback. We love that you love your car! We're happy the experience was so easy. We provided your feedback regarding the delivery to that team to address so thanks for letting us know. Thanks for the recommendation and enjoy your ride!

      Vroom


  • Used car

    • By Ryan K.,
    • Branson mo ,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased my 2008 Shelby GT500 sight unseen and had the car shipped to my home. The car was as described and arrived in only a few days. Vroom also gave me a very fair price on my trade in vehicle in which I accepted. The overall experience was excellent and I can’t wait to do business again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 16, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Ryan, thanks for the feedback. We're happy to hear you got an awesome car and had an overall great experience. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to working with you in the future!

      The Vroom team


  • Smooth and easy

    • By Bill M.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Good - quick and easy.

    Bad - sales could not tell me why the same model with more miles was $2500 when other with less mileage was less money than the other. The only difference was the color of the interior? The second issue was delivery. I was told it would be 8/2/18, then when not delivered, called and told me it would be delivered on 8/3/18 at 11:00 pm. I told them no, make it 8/4. I called on 8/4 when the time told was passed, then was told it is on its way. I have a large office parking lot and requested it be delivered there, but instead, the driver passed the office and went down the street to Walmart's parking lot. I called delivery and said what going on? Then the driver drove the car into my office lot, checked out, gave me the keys for my trade-in, and was gone.

    What I found interesting is all the people I spoke with were women, even the delivery person, the only male was the driver.

    I believe for the price and my trade-in, I am very happy, smooth and easy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 17, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Dear Bill,

      Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear you found our process easy and are happy with your car. We're sorry for the issues you had with delivery. Please know this is an area that we are actively working to improve, thanks to feedback from customers like you. If there's anything else we can do, please let us know. We hope you enjoy your ride!

      The Vroom Team


  • Pretty good experience

    • By Josh M.,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was utterly concerned after reading all these posts. I had recently signed and send the funds to purchase a car through Vroom, and didn’t hear from them in days. So I started checking reviews online and got me so concerned! Although it would have been the responsible and smart thing, thank goodness I didn’t do so prior to doing business with them since it would have probably been enough for me to not get my car.

    It’s true that the delivery did take almost two weeks, but it was delivered in their scheduled timeframe of 14 days. After the inspection was finalized and they arranged for transportation, I was notified every day via email and phone of the progress. The driver called me an hour before approaching to the pickup location, which was at a mall parking, conveniently located near me since he did bring the car on a large flatbed and needed the extra space. The car was delivered in the mentioned condition, although understandably dirty due to it being hauled from Houston to Chicago. The car was missing the rear wheel caps, possibly forgotten when changing the brand new tires it came with. An email with pictures to the support team was all it took to apologize for that, and they immediately ordered them and will send asap.

    My reimbursement for the lost title which I had to pay for was also processed once they received it after getting it from the DMV. Up to this point, I have nothing negative to say about Vroom; it's an easy process, amicable customer service, sale, support, and delivery. I am happy with my car and will definitely spread the word about my good experience. Thank you Vroom!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 26, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Josh, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're thrilled you gave Vroom a try. We're sorry to hear you had a few little hiccups, but we are happy our team was able to easily take care of them. Most of all, we're happy you got a great car. Thanks for your business.

      Enjoy your ride!

      The Vroom Team


  • 2015 Subaru thru Vroom

    • By Ryan O.,
    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I had placed my deposit prior to reading all of these reviews. But I'm glad I did. The sales team was very good, although it's almost impossible to get your original rep on the phone. They're always conveniently on the phone when you call. I requested a call back 4 times, never got a single one.

    Regardless, because I'm impulsive, I sent in my contract and down payment for a 2015 Subaru STI because the numbers checked out and the contract didn't have any sketchy wordplay. I sent out the contract on Friday, October 20th.

    They emailed me that they received the contract that following Monday. I got another email later on that day saying my purchase was complete and the car is now under my ownership. They will arrange transportation after the inspection of the car, and email me a future delivery date in about 7-10 days from the day of the email.

    Fast forward 7 days, exactly on the next Monday, I get an email with a target delivery date.

    The delivery date was scheduled to be 11/3/2018 and they updated me every date via email and phone that it was still on track. Now it is Friday and I got a call at work asking if they could deliver the car a day early on that Friday instead, between 5 and 9 PM. I said yes, and the delivery showed up at 8:55 pm on a 2-car flatbed trailer behind a truck.

    The car was/is immaculate inside and out. As described. From the time I sent in the contract to the day I got the car was a complete total of 13 days. Right in their quoted timeframe.

    Basically, this review is to say that Vroom needs tweaking with communication more than anything. But they are by no means a scam. I couldn't be happier with the car and the impulsive decision I made to still buy from here despite the bad reviews. I'll wait a bit before I buy another car from here, but this particular experience was fantastic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Had my doubts...

    • By Brandon S.,
    • Arlington, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I took a chance with Vroom after reading all the reviews online. It wasn’t an easy decision, but simple and quick once I decided to go for it. I was skeptical, and bought a truck that could have been a complete mess. The process was quick, easy, and very convenient. I am in the DFW area, the truck showed up four days after receiving the inspection email. The truck was immaculate on the inside and out, very clean with a full tank of gas. I traded in my Honda Civic, which they gave me a higher price on than anyone else would offer.

    So far the truck has been great, and the service was great as well. Anthony helped me complete the deal, and Audrey the hub manager called multiple times to verify everything was going well with my purchase. I’m not sure if it will work out the same for you, but give them a chance. I’m glad I did, and some of the older reviews seem like it could have been from older management.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Brandon, we are very happy you gave us a chance and that we could exceed your expectations. It's great to hear you are enjoying your new truck. We hope you will consider us again in the future. - Vroom Team.


  • Great service

    • By Tom R.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Vroom was fantastic. They knew I was going on vacation, so they delivered my vehicle quickly before I left (even a day early). When I let them know about a small issue with the vehicle, they stepped up and took care of it at their cost. I would definitely buy through Vroom again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 2, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Tom, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We're glad to hear we provided you with a positive experience and that we were able to deliver your vehicle sooner than expected. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Take care. -Vroom Team.


Showing 1-11 of 374

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana