Vroom

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Vroom

Overall Rating

2.3

431 Customer Reviews

Summary

Vroom is a car-buying website that helps you to buy a used or like-new car entirely online and avoid dealing with a pushy salesman. Our review will help you understand if this service is worth using.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.3 Stars out of 431 Reviews
5 Star:24% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:55%
33% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Vroom:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 6, 2020

Quickest car buy EVER!

By Bernadette D., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

Let me begin by telling you about Luis. Luis is amazing. I had spent about 3 weeks looking for a specific type of car, which I had found a few to fit my criteria but out of town (I'm in Austin). To make it easier, I was preapproved. I called the place before I hit the road and...spent the WHOLE day there and ended up leaving without a car (yes, there is a story but not for now). Anyway, I was a little frustrated about spending 2 days in total on a bogus situation, when I found the same exact car at Vroom (only it was less money AND less mileage). I was super stoked. I called and spoke to Luis. He informed me that the vehicle was still in transit but assured me that he would keep an eye out; he said, it shouldn't be more than a few days. Within a few hours, I received a phone call, it was Luis. He told me the car had arrived, he was pushing it through the intake process and staying at the dealership until he could pull it off the system as sale pending. "I'll have it ready for you by noon tomorrow," Luis said.

I arrived at Vroom around 1:00 pm - all the staff I encountered were quite pleasant. Luis met with me and had the car ready for me to test drive. When I returned, he had the paperwork ready. I was there a total of 1 hour and 30 minutes. I drove off the lot with extended warranties (including the tires) and a full tank of gas for less than I expected. Not to mention, I was in and out. Who wants to sit in a dealership for a full day and leave with nothing? Man, you want results, call or go to Vroom and ask for Luis W.

Thank you, Luis, you didn't skip a beat! Still loving my Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Professionalism

Flexibility

Efficiency

Consideration

Above and beyond

The distance to the dealership from my home

Posted on Jul 31, 2020

First was happy, now it went downhill, and I'm frustrated

By Chris M., Peoria, IL, Verified Reviewer

Overall the purchase, to the paperwork and signing, was great! I even got my car earlier than expected, but once car arrived, it was dirty, it had no fuel, it had only one KEY, no owner manual, my car I purchased is a 2019.

The car has a crease in the passenger door that wasn't in the listing, and the tires on the rear of the car are down to wear marks! The front tires are of a different brand as well. So my car has 3 different tire brands and the rear tires are worn. And the door is damaged and non of this I was aware of!

And now that Vroom is aware of this and I have a ticket number with customer support, I cannot get a call back and it's been almost 4 weeks! I'm beyond irritated and wouldn't recommend them to a friend or enemy. If my car would have arrived with good tires and without damage to the door, it would have been a perfect buying experience! Or if they would fix what they need to and make what is only fair right! Because they falsely advertised my car and the dealership won't even rotate the tires on the back of my car to the front.

And the estimate for the door is $1,238.22 to fix.

One lady I spoke with at Vroom told me and said "do you realize you bought a used vehicle?"

I expected a vehicle to have wear and tear but not damages on a car that's only a year old.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Salesman - Henry

Hold time, no call back

Not reaching anyone, promise calls back

Car damaged upon delivery, tires worn

Posted on Jul 30, 2020

Vroom - NOT so vroom vroom

By Marlo S., Birmingham, AL, Verified Reviewer

They’ll call you real fast when you click that you are interested! But forget any sense of urgency once you get into their "paperwork" phase. They have departments that apparently do not talk to each other. One didn’t know what the other was doing. I got emails telling me thank you for purchasing the wrong car and one for purchasing the right car but had the mileage wrong by 30,000 miles! I got emails saying our paperwork was done and then the next day I’d get another email saying congratulations for starting the paperwork process. The timeline they quote from beginning to end was a complete farce. Took about a month! Quoted 10-14 days. No one would call you back. I asked to be escalated for a supervisor to call me. Never happened. Asked for an email address to get ahold of someone in management and they gave me a fake email address. After paperwork was signed - they said we may owe more money - after we had a signed completed contract! Told us it may take 6 weeks to get the car. Literally maybe the worst customer service experience ever!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No leadership/no escalation process

No follow up/different information given by each person

The countless hours of my life I’ll never get back while I was on hold to terrible on-hold music

Posted on Jul 30, 2020

Piss poor communication and long lead time

By Thomas S., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

I was in a rental car for 50 days. There is nothing quick about this product. If you have any ounce of people skills go to a dealer and save yourself the headache. My experience was slow with broken communication and questions not answered. Power of attorney issues. Poor experience and direction from the representative to clearly guide me through this process.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I could do it for my phone

Relatively comparable prices

Very poor communication throughout the entire process

Extremely long lead times

Posted on Jul 29, 2020

Disappointed at delivery

By Kristal G., Tacoma, WA, Verified Reviewer

Working with Vroom was quick and easy and great customer service, up until the car was delivered. The car we purchased was misleading and falsely advertised and not what I had ordered. I thought I was buying a 15-passenger van, the selling point in the car. To my complete and utter disappointment, the van was only a 12-passenger. There were several 12-passenger vans very similar to the one I received with fewer miles and a lower cost. The only reason I bought this van is because it was a 15-passenger van. I immediately emailed Vroom to let them know the mix-up. I let customer service know the very next day of my dissatisfaction and they said they would have a supervisor call me the next day. Three days later, I sent another email. It has been two weeks and I have heard NOTHING from Vroom. There has been no communication at all.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Large inventory to choose from

Generally lower prices

Not being to actually see the car before it was mine

If you don't like the car, you are out $600 no matter what

No customer service once the car has been paid for and delivered

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 27, 2020

Disappointing customer service

By Staci S., Baker City, OR, Verified Reviewer

I sent 3 emails and called 2 times and left voicemails within the 7 days to report an issue with my car. No one ever got back to me. Very disappointed, they were helpful and attentive until the car arrived, then basically disappeared and were unavailable via all provided communication avenues. I will be filing the appropriate complaints.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Customer Service

7-day window

Non-responsive

Posted on Jul 26, 2020

Worst car buying and selling experience ever

By Lydia B., Mississippi, Verified Reviewer

I began the process of purchasing a vehicle on 6/13 when I saw a very low mile MDX for sale for a really good price. I also decided to sell them the HRV that I was replacing at the same time. I received a great offer and the equity was applied as a down payment on the new MDX. So far, the experience was amazing. It all went downhill very quickly. The lack of CLEAR and consistent communication from Vroom has made this whole thing drag out UNTIL TODAY 7/23 and I STILL have not received payment for the car I sold...BUT IT IS ALREADY FOR SALE ON THEIR WEBSITE.

The car became available on 6/16 and I immediately contacted Vroom and put down the $500 fee to hold the vehicle so that financing and paperwork could get done without fear of losing the car. I finalized financing (through a different company) on 6/17 and a cashier's check was sent via UPS overnight to Vroom on 6/18. I sent Vroom a copy of the cashier's check and UPS label for tracking on 6/18. All contractual docs were returned to Vroom the same day they were received on 6/18 via the overnight envelope and letter Vroom provided.

Delivery of my Purchased Vehicle:

I received notification on 6/22 that my delivery date would be "on or around 7/4". I received notification on 6/30 that there would be a delay. I called several times and emailed attempting to get an updated delivery date, to no avail. Finally, on 7/3, I was told it'd be Saturday 7/4 which I thought was odd as it is a Holiday. 7/4 comes and I have no car and no contact. I reached out on 7/5 and was told it would be 7/6 and someone would call. The delivery agent called as promised, delivered the car, and was a delightful human to interact with. 10 stars to HIM and literally no one else up to this point. Note: In the middle of all of this, I was promised callbacks and return email responses...NONE of which came.

Pick-up of Sold Vehicle:

During all of this delivery nonsense, I was trying to get someone to pick up the HRV I'd sold. Keep in mind I accepted the purchase offer the same day I accepted the sale offer in MID-JUNE.

On 6/25 I received an email from someone at coxautoinc.com who's signature title had "Verify Logistics Specialist" out of Atlanta. The email had the make, model, and VIN for my vehicle and mentioned the sale to Vroom...seemed legit. I called the number and spoke to someone who told me that I could either have the car picked-up before or after the MDX was delivered. I told her I needed to discuss it with my husband and call back. We decided before was fine and I called back 10 times, left 7 messages, and responded to that email 6 times between 6/26 and 7/10 with absolutely no response whatsoever. I even copied the sales specialists at Vroom hoping they would help. I also called Vroom to tell them about what was happening and that I'd be copying them...NO HELP WHATSOEVER. I got a random call from Carolina Logistics based out of NC saying they needed to schedule a pickup. (Still no response or call back from my calls/emails to this other company.) I asked him to tell him who asked him to call and verify the make, model, and VIN...which he did and then he apologized for all the delays but gave no reason. I scheduled the pick-up for the next day and on 7/22 another DELIGHTFUL human being picked up the HRV.

I have since called Vroom 7 times leaving messages and speaking with supervisors trying to get my HRV paid off so that I don't have to continue making 3 car payments. The HRV is already listed for sale on Vroom's website but they haven't even paid for it yet! I messaged the CEO on LinkedIn and provided not only the issues, but potential solutions. I'm at my wit's end and I am frustrated.

I will NEVER recommend this company. The savings from purchasing through zoom for this vehicle was NOT worth all this stress and now erroneous expense. I have spent HOURS trying to get all this done quickly. I do not know what else there is to say.

TERRIBLE.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price of the vehicle

Lack of communication

Lack of process knowledge

Lack of empathy from representatives

Lack of issue ownership by staff

Lack of vendor communication

Severe delays

Posted on Jul 21, 2020

Lesson learned

By Steve S., Corpus Christi, TX, Verified Reviewer

Lesson learned, the hard, frustrating, stressful, filled with headache way. Vroom had no communication delay or problems taking money for the vehicle, but if you have concerns...crickets! 4Runner arrived like they literally bought it at an auction or trade-in and sold it 10 minutes later. No detail whatsoever. White paint was strewn inside various areas, black marks on fender, hole in leather passenger seat patched up, stains all over from seat to console area, and that was just a quick inspection. Gas tank almost on empty also.

Emailed Vroom, I believe 3 times, they offered $300 to get it cleaned. No one obviously reads the emails since no one said anything about the chip on the back area of the car. After another email and phone calls, I was offered paint to cover up the chip. How would you feel? $36,000 and you get this hot mess! Then no explanation on how to receive the $300 credit. Figure it out yourself, fat boy! Some rep named Alisha, I believe, was the one emailing me. I finally called her, must have had a bad day, my luck. Not paying attention to me, screaming kid in the background, could care less attitude, generic response - all we can do is offer $300, that’s it, you can start a return process if you want. I asked her how do I claim the $300 credit, she stated I would have to find somebody and have them email me a receipt. Keep in mind none of the flaws were mentioned on the website at all whatsoever. Also, I work graveyard, which means time is a commodity. I literally get a day and a half off. What that translates into is I do not have time to go hunting and searching for a detail guy that will do a deep clean on the vehicle.

I also made several phone calls to the phone numbers provided for customer service, and to make a long story short, no one could do anything. I even left a message with managers and received no phone call back. If they would’ve offered me $600 or more I would’ve kept the vehicle and the headaches, but what for? It’s America, three people care - No Bod Ee! I was given a laundry list of things to do to return the vehicle back, thank God for my credit union. All they needed was a back off letter because the money was never sent to this company, meaning no money exchanged hands. That doesn’t mean things are going to go quick either, just to let you know. I was not given 24 hours to pick up the vehicle, I literally received a phone call saying we’re here and picking up the vehicle soon. I was instructed to take multiple pictures of the gas tank mileage outside of the vehicle and a bill of lading to sign to speed up this process to get my refund back. I did all this immediately and instantly emailed back to the company, a week later still no refund. Multiple emails and you guessed it, no response.

I should’ve read the reviews on this company before my purchase. Please do your due diligence and check them out with the Better Business Bureau and any other review site you can get your eyes on because it’s not good. Good luck to you guys! Almost forgot I have tons of pictures and documentation in case anyone out there needs it.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Online convenience

No contact

Easy

No one cares after sale

Poor service

No follow through

Posted on Jul 20, 2020

Don't use Vroom

By John B., Hillsboro, OR, Verified Reviewer

The overall process of using Vroom was really unsatisfactory.

Purchasing a car is a large commitment, and requires a high level of customer service. When buying online, that customer service is SO much more important because you are really taking a chance when you buy a car without physically seeing it or test driving it. Unfortunately, this is where Vroom really falls flat. The level of communication should have been really high, but it was, and continues to be, really poor. At this point, I still have several emails that were never responded to (and were sent weeks ago).

Aside from communication, the delivery process was also really poor. The driver missed the delivery window by several hours, he wasn't wearing a mask, he couldn't get the app to work, and the car was dirty. And I'm not talking about the kind of dirt that can accumulate on a car as it makes its way across several states on a car carrier. I'm talking about mud on the tires and in the wheel wells, mud splatter on the sides of the car, carpets not vacuumed, and more.

Plus, the car arrived with a nearly empty gas tank. I get that it may be a bad idea to haul a trailer full of cars that all have full gas tanks, but the solution to that is to have the car arrive with a complimentary gas card.

I've bought cars at dealerships before. They put a lot of focus on the little touches (washing the car, making sure the tank is full, they take care of everything so you don't have to go to the DMV to do things like VIN inspections, etc.), that mean a lot. Working with Vroom was the exact opposite and I won't be buying from them again.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was nice to have a wider selection of cars to choose from

Terrible communication

They ignore small, but important, details

Poor processes

Posted on Jul 13, 2020

No better than a dealership

By Art A., California, Verified Reviewer

They promise the world and once you buy a car, zero customer service! They advised me that their policy is to respond to vehicle damage requests in 24-48 hours, it's now been a week with no response from Vroom. Getting ready to give up and turn the vehicle back in, but of course, I am responsible for the fees over the 250 miles, even though I have not heard from anyone and this is the only vehicle I have. Do not recommend this supposed better car buying experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ability to shop online

Vehicle delivery

Damage to vehicle was not noted online

Sales person still gives you attitude when you decline their loan and extended warranty options

No customer service after vehicle purchase

Posted on Jul 11, 2020

Easy car buying in your home

By LaShanda L., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I never heard of Vroom until after I started the online car buying process with another site. I was happy with the easy process of selecting my car and applying for financing. The majority of the process was online. My car arrived within 3 weeks of my initial contact. Very quick. Vroom kept in contact the entire time. My car runs smoothly. Although not detailed to my satisfaction, I was sent a check to pay for detailing in my state. The only thing I have to do is get a safety inspection for my state which is the biggest hiccup for me. I thought Vroom would take care of everything, but not this one thing. Still, I am happy with the process and the accuracy of my car details.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Communication

Easy online navigation

Great price

I have to complete the state inspection

Showing 155-165 of 431

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.