What Is Wish.com?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 1, 2018

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

How Does Wish.com Work?

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

What Products Does Wish.com Sell

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

A Look at the Reviews and Complaints About Wish.com

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 1,144 closed complaints (as of 5/1/18). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 5 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 53,500 reviews.

Is Wish.com Legit?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

520 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 112 4 star: 56 3 star: 32 2 star: 29 1 star:  291
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 520
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through.
  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best shopping app there is

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been ordering through Wish for a few years now. Most of the clothes, shoes, make-up, accessories and home decor I got there, for me, my two teenage kids and several of my friends and family members.

    Aside from the unbeatable prices, you get lots of very enticing promo codes, loyalty rebates and other ways to save even more.

    A few times I was unsatisfied by the quality/size/state of the items I received, or if they were late, Wish customer support was perfectly courteous, fast and effective, and refunded me readily without any fuss.

    This is your One Stop Shop, no doubt about it.

    I highly recommend. Enjoy your shopping, and make sure to find a First Time Buyer Promo Code from an existing customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My favorite app

    • New Mexico,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been purchasing products from Wish for a little over a year, I've really liked the variety of stuff you can find there. You can find really great deals, and even though a lot of the items come from overseas, it doesn't take that long to arrive. Something else I really like is the amount of discounts Wish gives you. And if there's ever a problem with your purchase they are quick to respond and fix the problem. There are many ways you can get discounts, reviews of the items you've bought, by making purchases, their promotions, and just by simply visiting Wish so many times within a time period. Overall, it's my favorite place to shop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Used to like it but they changed the payment system

    • Michigan,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used to like shopping on here; it's pretty much the same as Amazon, only customer service is better. The problem is, they change the payment system so that you can't choose how you pay any more. After the last stuff I ordered arrives, I don't think I will be using the service anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good

    • Ohio,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far I've had the best from Wish. I ordered five things and three came early. The other two are still on their way. And those who say it's a scam or it's bad, you gotta look for the scammers. It may be hard, but you gotta watch yourself. I will soon be ordering more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • New Mexico,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been purchasing products from Wish for a little over a year, and I've really liked the variety of stuff you can find there. You can find really great deals, and even though a lot of the items come from overseas, it doesn't take that long to arrive. Something else I really like is the amount of discounts Wish gives you. And if there's ever a problem with your purchase they are quick to respond and fix the problem. There are many ways you can get discounts, reviews of the items you've bought, by making purchases, their promotions, and just by simply visiting Wish so many times within a time period. Overall it's my favorite place to shop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dishonest sellers allowed to change prices at payment

    • West Midlands, England,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've bought a few things from them, but I've noticed that A LOT of the sellers list an item for one price and when you go to check out, the price of the item is way more and sometimes they even add on money to the postage. This is an illegal selling practice here in the UK. So I contacted them through Facebook to make them aware. They totally ignored me. I'd guess they are already fully aware.

    So I'm going to delete the app because there is no point shopping when they don't tell you the price or rip you off at the checkout.

    I'd recommend Amazon instead if you like the stuff on Wish because a lot of it is also sold there by honest sellers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Save money and frustration. Don't touch it.

    • Belfast, Northern Ireland,
    • May 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a telescope that was supposed to clip onto a smartphone. The telescope was advertised a 60X magnification. It was maybe 30X (it was not significantly stronger than a telescope I have which is 25X).

    The tripod does not screw into the body, the clip does not hold the scope to my phone, the image produced when both are connected is not as shown on the advertising, and it is not a "night vision" apparatus as it claims to be. On the box, this telescope is described as "binoculars." It would be funny if it weren't my money.

    I have been trying for nearly a month to get a refund. All I get is a runaround. In sheer desperation, I downloaded their app to my PC. This asked me to attach a photo "by clicking 'Attach a photo' at the bottom of this message." There was no such button/facility there and "dragging and dropping" didn't work.

    Now I am seriously considering formatting my hard drive to make sure that the app doesn't leave any nasties on my computer.

    The customer service tries to wear you down by sending the same message over and over again.

    Caveat emptor! Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Outrageous shipping charges

    Their shipping charges were outrageous, if not the same price as the item, then it would cost more than the item. BEWARE, nothing is for free! You will pay for it in the shipping charges. If I'm going to pay such outrageous pricing in shipping, I expect it at least within 5-7 days not 3-5 weeks later. What the heck is that? This was my first time placing an order and my last time. If I would have paid attention and not have rushed placing my order, what the shipping charges were I would have not placed it! This is my first and last time. I will ever shop from here again. They got a good scam going on!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Item not received - you still have to pay it!

    • Bonn, Germany,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't care much that the item gets 30-45 days to be delivered (it's part of the deal), but I get upset if I am asked to pay for something that was never delivered, something that does not have a tracking number or a single evidence of the shipping itself.

    Then the CSR tells you, "Our return policy provides 30 days of time for a claim, sorry for that, remember for future." So, why around the delivery date are you communicating to me that the item may get delayed if you don't modify the estimated delivery date into a new estimated delivery date? What's the scope of that? Policy refund, return, yes, but what happens if nothing is received?

    Besides that, you get flooded by advert messages so if you receive an important one, it doesn't get enough relevance in your eyes.

    All is so deceptive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Wish is the worst shopping network I ever went to. I order and get the wrong item or broken item, plus for refunds, you got to pay for shipping, which is more than the item.

    I will never order from them again or will never advise anyone to order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Biggest rip off

    • Columbia, MO,
    • May 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two sport active cameras last December 2nd for a Christmas gift ($175).

    The past 30 days, I emailed Wish to see what was going on. I got the reply that said they were very busy and overwhelmed. Give us 30 days, will ship. Well, another other 30 days passed (over 60 days). I called customer service. It was a BIG joke. There was no way to speak with customer service. It was an auto answer machine saying "please check Wish app."

    I got an app on my phone. The same thing, it was not much information. It is useless. There is no way to make ANY contacts in an email or phone.

    I called my bank about my situation with the Wish order, and UNFORTUNATELY, my bank can't help me because the bank policy is they will not help over 60 days on my debit card. It was about over 90 days.

    You can't believe how many Facebook members are very angry and wrote angry comments about this being a rip off, that they do not get their orders. I am still waiting for my order since December 2nd.

    I wrote a message to Facebook about the Wish scam. I will write some letters to my Missouri Congress and Senates. I really want Wish to be shut down for GOOD.

    I am telling you, Wish is the biggest rip-off, big time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 520

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review