About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 150 Zulily Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 26 4 star: 9 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  94
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 150
Sort reviews by:

  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    They have no accountability.

    • Memphis, Tennessee,
    • Jun 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased many things from Zulily during the pre-Christmas season 2015. The items were not sent to me until February 2016, which means I had to purchase Christmas gifts right before Christmas; therefore, spending twice as much as I had planned. I do not like the "no return" policy, which seems to be on everything. I purchased a pair of shoes in my size and they were 1 1/2 sizes too small. I wrote to Zulily, but did not get a response. I also ordered an item in blue, and got black. I wrote and no response. I purchased an item that was described incorrectly, wrote to them, no response. It seems that Zulily has no responsibility and concern for the consumer. I will spend my money more wisely and not purchase from Zulily.com in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Critical

    • Florida,
    • Mar 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a couple of things and was satisfied, however, I received two orders today and am very unhappy. They do not advertise that the products are from Viet Nam and China. They usually sell products for full price with an occasional "deal." They are pretty clear there is a no return policy. That is listed on virtually every product. The material is cheap and badly made, although it is possible to "luck out" occasionally.

    My question is how can a company operate this way? No return policy? Unheard of!

    I know I have learned my lesson. NEVER AGAIN! I could have bought one item in dollar store and been more satisfied and paid a lot less money.

    I just sent in my critique and will see what they say, but my guess is they will repeat their no return policy. They do say they make exceptions if items are damaged but as far as I'm concerned, the items were damaged since they were poorly made and received heavily wrinkled!

    Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    I REALLY dislike Zulily

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 6, 2016

    I have ordered through Zulily a few times now and every time something goes wrong. Very long shipping times as well as charge problems.

    They have automatically checked me out with PayPal once. Long story short, that one mistake put me out of that money for days, and caused problems with my bank. They never take credit for their mistakes. They are always telling you to call other companies because they can't do anything about the issue, playing phone tag with everyone for hours and not resolving anything.

    They also have put the wrong address on the package. I bought it as a Christmas present and I had ordered early because I knew they took forever to ship in hopes that I would get the gift on time. Someone at Zulily had written the wrong apartment number on the package so the shipper sent it back to the factory which was not Zulily. I had to wait again to get the package. It still has not arrived and it's only two days until Christmas. I had ordered over a month ago. I still have to ship the contents to family. It will definitely not get to them on time. Zulily did not want to take credit for the mistake they made. I spoke with one gentleman and he told me that as soon as they received the package they would get it to me as fast as they can. I asked his name to be sure. When I called back, I told the lady I talked to someone who promised it would be there on time before Christmas. She asked me his name and said she had no idea who he was and that it is not up to them. Leading me to believe that the man I spoke with was just telling me whatever I wanted to hear to get off the phone with me.

    In all, Zulily has just caused a lot of stress in my life. The experience of buying through them has never been a happy one. I really dislike Zulily. They only give me headaches. I will never order from them again and I really hope people take the advice of everyone who posted on here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Customer service wants me to pay for an item 4 times due to shipping error.

    • Colorado,
    • Jun 27, 2015

    Re: Collapse It Bowls.

    Unfortunately I was only shipped one item in this “set of six” order. I contacted Zulily customer service and they kindly resent another order (set of six) at no charge. Again, I only received one item. I contacted Zulily customer service wanting the additional four items sent overnight because at this point I needed the products ASAP, since they were intended to be given as a gift. Here is where the trouble began. Zulily initially wanted me to pay an additional $119.00 for the already purchased four items. Their reasoning is that they credited me $60.00 for the original purchase plus $20.00 for overnight service. Somehow Zulily figured each bowl must cost $40.00 apiece. I insisted that since I had already paid for a set of six plus shipping they should credit the entire order – is that unreasonable?

    Evidently it is by Zulily standards because in the end I had to pay $20.00 shipping to get the items (needed as a gift). So in effect, if you order this set of six ‘Collapse It’ bowls, expect to pay 50% more than the advertised price to get the product – nice work if you can get it. FYI, it would be less expensive to order from Crate & Barrel. Additionally, I asked Tracy, the last customer service manager I spoke with at Zulily for the name of her supervisor so I could try to work out this issue and she flat out refused to give me the name of someone I could contact.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't use again

    • Hawthorne, NJ,
    • Apr 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The reason I give them two stars rather than one is because I did get an immediate refund (my order was only $10, so that may have helped).

    However, the quality of the sweater was very poor. I asked for a refund because there was an obvious hole in one of the seams. The material seemed very thin.

    I was wondering how they could give such steep discounts and think I have found the answer in an article I read about Chinese companies that create poor-quality knock offs of clothing and pass it off as the real thing.

    I can't help but wonder whether this is one of those companies.

    In any case, I would never order from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Beware! Big rip off.

    • GA.,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Items ordered took over a month to be delivered. NOTHING fit. Clothes appear to be made for children, not regular adults.

    Quality very poor, prices kind of fair for such substandard merchandise. A waste of my money. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED. Will never buy anything from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Misleading Product

    • Minnesota ,
    • May 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let's see, where do I start? I first became familiar with Zulily.com about 6 months ago when I became pregnant and found all of their cute baby clothes. I would check their site everyday for new deals and designs, there really wasn't any site that offered such cute stuff, other than Etsy.

    Mid-way through my pregnancy they had an offer from the Honest company. I was planning on buying the Honest company diapers anyway so it was awesome to get a month's bundle for $50 dollars. I purchased the voucher, received my code, and had no problems using it on the Honest Co. Website.

    Well, just recently I found the cutest diaper bag on Zulily for $30 I had been eyeing it for a few months and had to jump on purchasing it at such a good price. The bag I ordered was the Journey Five Leather laser cut diaper bag. Originally it was $90 according to Zulily. There was no information about the bag other than the dimensions and looks. I also couldn't find it anywhere online except for Zulily, nonetheless I went forward with my purchase and painted $7 for shipping.

    It took a long time for my order to process and ship but I received it about 2 weeks later. I opened my package and was relieved to see the bag looked cute like its pictures and was a good handbag size. It definitely didn't look like a diaper bag and I'm really not sure why they would sell it as one.

    I noticed the bag was pretty stiff and had a strong plastic smell. I started checking the tags to see if it would say what the bag was made of and found the brand name tag. I was confused because the brand on the bag and the tag was a completely different name than what it said on Zulily. It said Journey Five on Zulily but no where on the bag or package. This wasn't the issue. The biggest problem is when I found what was also attached to the tag.

    There was a clear plastic tag with small black letters that stated "WARNING this product Contains Chemicals Known To The State of California To Cause Cancer, Birth Defects or Other Reproductive Harm". I was dumbfounded. This bag was sold described as a diaper bag and yet had a label saying it can cause birth defects?! I called Zulily customer service and the woman who helped me couldn't tell me what the bag was made of or why it would be dangerous. She only knew that the label was only valid in California because of their laws that a company has to put a warning on things sold there.

    She also stated that in order for me to see these effects I would have to wear the bag for "70 years". I could not stomach the idea that there was no information about this bag online or from Zulily that could even tell me what it is made of. I am receiving a refund of $30 but I won't shop on Zulily again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    SORRY

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jun 1, 2015

    I bought several dresses and tops at the same time. BIG mistake. The first two dresses were great. They fit just fine. Next came a blouse that barely covers my breasts. Then the dresses I ordered came and they fit like tops, no way could they be dresses. I went back to check the pictures and descriptions to see if I had mistaken tops for dresses. No, they are shown as dresses. Big lesson learned, I won't buy anything else from Zulily and I tell everyone not to buy from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Zulily Is A Scam

    • Raleigh NC,
    • Aug 24, 2015

    Don't order anything from Zulily unless you recognize the brand name. Most of their items are polyester junk. I suspect (can't prove) that they make most of this stuff themselves and give it a name that sounds like a legitimate brand. (MKF handbags comes to mind.) I bought a handbag from them that was advertised as leather; I think it's plastic covered cardboard. We'll see what happens out in the rain. As many others have stated, their sizes are nuts. Their jewelry is measured in millimeters; I would guess most Americans don't even have a way to measure millimeters. The stones in their jewelry pictures look to be deep and vibrant colors; they are pale and anemic looking. I could go on and on. I have to admit that I have been able to return some of their trash, but it's just not worth the bother. If I want to buy discounted quality items, I go to Nordstrom Rack, Neiman-Marcus Last Call​ and Saks OFF 5TH. Those sites have better merchandise and don't have the ridiculous 'buy it now, or it will disappear' nonsense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Gift card scam!

    • Dec 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought a $100 gift card for my mom for her birthday. When she went to place her order she couldn't find the spot to enter the gift card code and as soon as she entered a payment method she was automatically charged before she approved the payment.

    She canceled that order and was refunded the amount. Then she found the spot to enter the code for the gift card and placed the order again. She received an email stating the order was placed successfully and the gift card was accepted.

    A few days later, she received an email saying the order was canceled and the account was closed. We questioned Zulily and they said sometimes that happens and we should open a new account and place the order again.

    Before we tried to place the order a third time we checked the balance on the gift card and it said it was expired or an invalid code.

    Again we questioned Zulily and they told us to contact our bank. We explained again that the problem was with the gift card, not our bank.

    We asked for a new gift card code or a voucher, or if we could be reimbursed and again they told us to contact our bank and there was nothing they could do.

    We lost a $100 gift card and my mom got no merchandise or refund. She got nothing for her birthday.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Items promised in time for Christmas, now told I won't get them.

    • Jan 2, 2016

    I bought my daughter some boots two weeks ago because they said they would be here in time for Christmas. I checked this past week and they said they would ship. Low and behold Zulily sent an email saying they would not arrive in time for Christmas. Now they waited until 9pm on the Friday before Christmas to send it. I have no time to order something to arrive by Christmas and am frustrated because most similar items are gone in the stores. It's fraud to sell an item you do not have. Plus my card was charged. They don't even have the boots and charged my card. Seems fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 150

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review