About Storenvy

Established in 2009 and based out of San Francisco, CA, Storenvy is an online social marketplace where independent merchants can sell their unique, creative goods to consumers through their very own storefront. As a storeowner, Storenvy provides you with an opportunity to become an independent merchant in as little as five minutes, and to reach thousands of shoppers. This can be accomplished in two ways:

  1. Personal Storefront – This acts as your very owner corner of Storenvy, where you can customize to distinguish yourself from your competition. Your unique URL would be www.MyStoreName.storenvy.com (or a customer URL, as we’ll discuss later), and is where customers can purchase directly from you.
  2. Marketplace – The Storenvy Marketplace acts as a curator for all products on the site. For example: Imagine that you sell handmade scarves. A shopper types in “handmade scarves” into Storenvy’s search field, which returns your products, as well as those of your competition. The shopper would then have the ability to purchase through Storenvy, or click on your site’s link, and purchase directly through you.

According to TechCrunch, Storenvy’s goal is to become the Amazon for independent storeowners. Currently, the site claims that more than 40,000 items are added each week from over 50,000 stores, and that 50% of sales come directly from the marketplace storefronts (versus directly through custom the storefront). Despite the large amount of traffic on the site though, Storenvy currently has a D rating with the Better Business Bureau.

How Storenvy Works

When shopping Storenvy’s site, you can browse through thousands of products in Marketplace categories such as Clothing, Health & Beauty, Tech Gadgets, Accessories, Books, Jewelry, and much more. If you find a product you like, Storenvy gives you the ability to “Envy” the item, which is essentially adding it to your Favorites list. After this occurs, you will then be able see all the other shoppers who have added it to their Favorites as well. As a product accumulates more and more “Envys,” it will eventually appear on the Popular page, which further increases its ability to gain more “Envys.” This helps promote the product, and to increase its sales.

If you decide to set up a storefront, it will be completely free, and you can be up and running in as little as five minutes. However, you will be required to have a Business or Premier PayPal account, as this is the only payment processor Storenvy uses, for both store owners and shoppers alike. As such, all sales are subject to standard PayPal fees, which are currently set at $0.30 + 2.9% per transaction. Also, storeowners will be fully responsible for processing their own refunds via PayPal, including associated shipping charges.

After signing up, you will receive your own custom store located at www.YourStoreName.storenvy.com, or you can use your own domain name for an additional $4.99 per month. Some of Storenvy’s custom features include:

  • Control all of your product’s attributes, including pricing, images, descriptions, etc., with an unlimited product capacity.
  • Customize and “brand” your store to differentiate yourself from the competition.
  • Order tracking – view and manage all incoming orders.
  • Create/offer discounts.
  • View your store’s stats using Storenvy’s built-in analytics.
  • Mobile device and tablet-friendly site.
  • Fans can shop directly from your Facebook page.
  • And much more…

Does Storenvy Make Money From Your Sales?

According to Storenvy’s website, they do not currently charge any fees for use of their service, with the exception of the $4.99 monthly fee for a custom domain name (e.g. without the .storenvy extension on your URL). However, the company claims that as of early 2014, they will begin taking a set percentage from all sales that occur through their Marketplace. In addition, Storenvy states that they will also be implementing a Marketplace Revenue Share early next year, which will act as an incentive to drive even more sales to your storefront.

Pros:

  • Shoppers can browse through thousands of products curated by independent merchants.
  • Feature-filled Custom and Marketplace stores, all of which are free of charge.
  • Easy setup.
  • Unlimited products.
  • Storenvy has the potential to be utilized as a marketing tool for your Marketplace store.

Cons:

  • 15 complaints with the Better Business Bureau, and an overall D rating.
  • Different refund policies that shoppers are required to constantly check on, depending on the vendor they purchase from.
  • While Storenvy claims they have a zero-tolerance policy toward scams/dishonest merchants, there is a window of opportunity between when the scams appear on the site, and the time they are shut down. During this time, Storenvy has no control over these types of transactions.

45 Customer Reviews for Storenvy

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 31
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    Please beware! I purchased handmade 3D acrylic bows from Luxury Designs on 6/28/15 and I still have not received my items. There is no way to contact Storenvy directly. I have since emailed the store owner with no response. How do I get a refund?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Zero stars

    • Berkeley Springs, WV,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    I ordered a candle from Wick'ed Bling Jewelry Candles. I never got my candle and no replies to any of my emails. And the page to store is gone. Storenvy hasn't got back back to me either on the subject.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Luminiary order for wedding

    • Kansas,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This has been a nightmare. I ordered luminaries for my daughter's wedding and still haven't received them. I was given a tracking number but my items still haven't shipped. I have contacted Sarah Sewell several times; the first time she said they would be here by Wednesday but she didn't give my a new tracking number.

    The rest of my emails she hasn't responded to. This is a total scam and I'm contacting the Better Business Bureau. I'm so angry. How do I contact Storenvy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • SCAM

    • Champlin, MN,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I ordered a product from a Storenvy store (Atelier Dream) in late March. After waiting a month, I finally contacted the seller. She claimed she'd been on vacation, but was working on my order and would send it the next day. Six weeks later, I still hadn't received anything. I tried contacting the store owner, but no luck in receiving any response. So I contacted Storenvy directly. After a couple weeks I received an email telling me they were unable to get a hold of the store owner so they had shut her store down, and they recommended I file a PayPal dispute to get my money back. I heard from the store owner a week or so later, saying the order "must've gotten lost in the mail" and that she would send another one. She said she would refund my money for the inconvenience. Well, thankfully I did get my full refund, but I never received the order and it's now nearly three months after I placed my initial order. Her store is still up on Storenvy (despite them claiming to have shut her down), and I'm absolutely appalled by the whole situation. It's disgraceful. In short: Do Not Buy From Storenvy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I want my money.

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jun 3, 2015

    I ordered a waist trainer from Storenvy on May 1st and still have not received my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never received item.

    • San Marcos, TX,
    • Apr 20, 2015

    I ordered a keychain from the Shopenvy store for a friend's birthday and while I ordered the item a week and a half before her birthday (according to their site it would take 7-10 days), it is now three weeks past it. I received an email from the store about a week ago saying that my package had shipped, but here it is a week later and I still have not received it. So I called the post office and they said the package had not even been given to the post office yet. Of the six emails I've sent, the store has only gotten back to me once with a very vague response. Do not buy from this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Apr 5, 2015

    There is no way to put reviews up on each individual store, so it's impossible to know if the store is real or not. I ordered a sweater from a fake store and it never came in, and the store shut down quickly afterward. The same thing happened to my friend.

    Yes, there are good, legit stores on the site, but it's always a gamble. Storenvy also tends to have higher prices than other sites offering the same product, and there are rarely any sales. I do not recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Buyer

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Apr 4, 2015

    Personally, I would recommend Storenvy as a buyer. However, being that there are independent shops, a buyer should be aware of the shop and verify the shop. Use the shop if they have an eCommerce Store, Amazon Store, eBay, etc.

    If the shop sells on Amazon, eBay, or Sears, normally the shop is legit. Amazon and eBay are very strict. If the seller sells on any of these platforms listed, it's more than likely that they are dependable.

    If you are not sure, then email the seller and ask questions to see if they sell on either of the above platforms and how long they have been on there, as well as their own eCommerce site.

    There are great products and great sellers. However, with all things, there will be crocks in every industry. They are out there. Just educate yourself prior to purchasing on any eCommerce site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Seller's point of view

    • Austin, TX,
    • Mar 25, 2015

    I use Storenvy to sell various electronics projects that I make. In short, you get what you pay for. If you're in a position like mine, where you expect all of your traffic to come from direct links, the only fees you'll end up paying will be the credit card transaction fees through Swipe, which are comparable to any other online venue I've used. If you're planning on making items searchable through their marketplace, they take a 10% commission on all sales, which can be pretty painful compared to a site like Etsy.

    The reason for the two stars is the lack of features and poor support.

    Features:

    There's no way to set a weight for an item, which gets irritating if you're shipping orders in quantities of 50+ (no weight means no automated shipping label creation). Also, it's not possible to calculate shipping on the fly. You instead have to create a class of items (big vs small), then destination groups (domestic vs international). This means that if you're planning on shipping international, you have to manually calculate the shipping cost for every country and make a separate group for that country, or just charge a flat rate for all international orders.

    There's also no way of mass communicating to people who are interested in your store. Storenvy provides a social network style option to "envy" or "follow" a store, but currently they don't provide a way to do things like automatically update your followers when you get a new product. It sounds like they're trying to implement that, but only for products that you make available in their market (which they take a 10% commission for).

    They've recently started using ShippingEasy for their shipping plugin, which is a really great tool. Integration on the Storenvy side needs work though: as mentioned before, you can't specify a weight for the item, which neuters a decent bit of ShippingEasy's automation. Also, ShippingEasy will automatically update the storenvy order to be marked as shipped and provide a tracking number, but Storenvy doesn't provide an option to have this tracking number automatically emailed to customers.

    Support:

    There's no direct support line, it's all done through email, and turnaround times tend to be 2-4 days. The level of support has (in my experience) been pretty poor, which requires making a followup ticket on requests, which takes another 2-4 days to get a response. It would be really nice if there was an actual number to call or messenger style chat option to get live support.

    Overall, if you're selling under 50 items a month, and your traffic is likely to come from direct links, Storenvy's a good option. If you're selling more than that, you'll hit headaches, but it's still manageable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Used product.

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Mar 12, 2015

    My son, who is currently deployed, ordered a candle for my birthday and had it shipped to my address. I opened it today only to find, when I removed the paper cover, the candle has already be used. It was burnt, dirty, and had a price tag on the bottom as if they took it off display and just shoved it in some bubble wrap and put it in a box. It didn't even come in anything. Based on the packing slip, I can only see that it says Storenvy Pop Up Shop. I feel bad for my son who was trying to do something nice for his mother when he is so far away. I would never recommend this site on a bet to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sara's Treasure does not deliver merchandise

    • Frostburg, MD,
    • Mar 5, 2015

    Beware of Sara's Treasures. She says she ships from Frosburg, MD. I ordered two items which were paid in full in early February and have yet to receive these them. I have emailed her four times with no response.

    My next step is to file a Better Business Bureau complaint in Frostburg, MD. against her store. I ordered these two items for women who are battling cancer and to say the least, I trusted that she would do the right thing once she received the money for these items. All the other stores that I have purchased items from have come through in a very professional way.

    I am in the business of paying forward to people who are down on their luck or are facing death threatening diseases. But to be cheated is something that I cannot stand. I will report the same on Pinterest making people aware of this woman.

    It gives Storenvy a very bad name to think that they have thieves selling items and taking money but not shipping them. Shame on you Sara's Treasure from Frostburg, MD. Be very aware of this store as I believe it to be a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a review for Storenvy!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review