About Storenvy

Established in 2009 and based out of San Francisco, CA, Storenvy is an online social marketplace where independent merchants can sell their unique, creative goods to consumers through their very own storefront. As a storeowner, Storenvy provides you with an opportunity to become an independent merchant in as little as five minutes, and to reach thousands of shoppers. This can be accomplished in two ways:

  1. Personal Storefront – This acts as your very owner corner of Storenvy, where you can customize to distinguish yourself from your competition. Your unique URL would be www.MyStoreName.storenvy.com (or a customer URL, as we’ll discuss later), and is where customers can purchase directly from you.
  2. Marketplace – The Storenvy Marketplace acts as a curator for all products on the site. For example: Imagine that you sell handmade scarves. A shopper types in “handmade scarves” into Storenvy’s search field, which returns your products, as well as those of your competition. The shopper would then have the ability to purchase through Storenvy, or click on your site’s link, and purchase directly through you.

According to TechCrunch, Storenvy’s goal is to become the Amazon for independent storeowners. Currently, the site claims that more than 40,000 items are added each week from over 50,000 stores, and that 50% of sales come directly from the marketplace storefronts (versus directly through custom the storefront). Despite the large amount of traffic on the site though, Storenvy currently has a D rating with the Better Business Bureau.

How Storenvy Works

When shopping Storenvy’s site, you can browse through thousands of products in Marketplace categories such as Clothing, Health & Beauty, Tech Gadgets, Accessories, Books, Jewelry, and much more. If you find a product you like, Storenvy gives you the ability to “Envy” the item, which is essentially adding it to your Favorites list. After this occurs, you will then be able see all the other shoppers who have added it to their Favorites as well. As a product accumulates more and more “Envys,” it will eventually appear on the Popular page, which further increases its ability to gain more “Envys.” This helps promote the product, and to increase its sales.

If you decide to set up a storefront, it will be completely free, and you can be up and running in as little as five minutes. However, you will be required to have a Business or Premier PayPal account, as this is the only payment processor Storenvy uses, for both store owners and shoppers alike. As such, all sales are subject to standard PayPal fees, which are currently set at $0.30 + 2.9% per transaction. Also, storeowners will be fully responsible for processing their own refunds via PayPal, including associated shipping charges.

After signing up, you will receive your own custom store located at www.YourStoreName.storenvy.com, or you can use your own domain name for an additional $4.99 per month. Some of Storenvy’s custom features include:

  • Control all of your product’s attributes, including pricing, images, descriptions, etc., with an unlimited product capacity.
  • Customize and “brand” your store to differentiate yourself from the competition.
  • Order tracking – view and manage all incoming orders.
  • Create/offer discounts.
  • View your store’s stats using Storenvy’s built-in analytics.
  • Mobile device and tablet-friendly site.
  • Fans can shop directly from your Facebook page.
  • And much more…

Does Storenvy Make Money From Your Sales?

According to Storenvy’s website, they do not currently charge any fees for use of their service, with the exception of the $4.99 monthly fee for a custom domain name (e.g. without the .storenvy extension on your URL). However, the company claims that as of early 2014, they will begin taking a set percentage from all sales that occur through their Marketplace. In addition, Storenvy states that they will also be implementing a Marketplace Revenue Share early next year, which will act as an incentive to drive even more sales to your storefront.

Pros:

  • Shoppers can browse through thousands of products curated by independent merchants.
  • Feature-filled Custom and Marketplace stores, all of which are free of charge.
  • Easy setup.
  • Unlimited products.
  • Storenvy has the potential to be utilized as a marketing tool for your Marketplace store.

Cons:

  • 15 complaints with the Better Business Bureau, and an overall D rating.
  • Different refund policies that shoppers are required to constantly check on, depending on the vendor they purchase from.
  • While Storenvy claims they have a zero-tolerance policy toward scams/dishonest merchants, there is a window of opportunity between when the scams appear on the site, and the time they are shut down. During this time, Storenvy has no control over these types of transactions.

Want to Learn to Shop Smarter and Scam-Proof Your Life?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

49 Customer Reviews for Storenvy

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 33
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I order a product mid-November 2015 as a Christmas gift. Was charged right away but product never shipped. Numerous attempts were made to contact shop but no response. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Do not shop through Storenvy.

    • Nov 9, 2015

    I ordered something through one of Storenvy's merchants, paid for it and after one month have still not received it nor have gotten any responses to my emails. Storenvy appears to be unable to do anything if you pay for something and never receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Terrible support

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 7, 2015

    The support started out okay although it has never been possible to actually talk to someone. They did, at least, respond to emails to support and the case form system worked. Now, all the sudden, they do not respond to emails directly to support other than to direct one to the system of filling out a case form. However, the cases get wiped out with no resolution. This is the worst support I've ever seen.

    Other than support, it is a good place to sell. However,, when does one decide that if they can't get their support issues fixed they need to move on?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    As a customer

    • Manasass, VA,
    • Jul 29, 2015

    Unless you have everything in control and no questions, contacting anyone on the website will be extremely difficult if not impossible.

    I ordered a necklace from a small shop less than a week ago and it has not arrived. I do not suspect the shop owner to be a scammer but I'm having difficulties tracking my package. I'm going to be traveling soon and I would like to be able to. After purchasing my necklace, I realized I needed to create an account to track my order, so I tried. Storenvy denies the email I used when purchasing my necklace, it says that there is already an account. There isn't, I even tried using the "I forgot my password", but I get an error page because there is no account. I created an account with my other email, because that seems to be the only way I can contact Storenvy. I emailed them 3 days ago and yet to get back a response. I asked the shop owner for a tracking number but she seems to be offline as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    Please beware! I purchased handmade 3D acrylic bows from Luxury Designs on 6/28/15 and I still have not received my items. There is no way to contact Storenvy directly. I have since emailed the store owner with no response. How do I get a refund?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 12, 2016

      Igor

      Did you pay with Papyal? If so, just open a case through Paypal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Zero stars

    • Berkeley Springs, WV,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    I ordered a candle from Wick'ed Bling Jewelry Candles. I never got my candle and no replies to any of my emails. And the page to store is gone. Storenvy hasn't got back to me either on the subject.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Luminiary order for wedding

    • Kansas,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This has been a nightmare. I ordered luminaries for my daughter's wedding and still haven't received them. I was given a tracking number but my items still haven't shipped. I have contacted Sarah Sewell several times; the first time she said they would be here by Wednesday but she didn't give my a new tracking number.

    The rest of my emails she hasn't responded to. This is a total scam and I'm contacting the Better Business Bureau. I'm so angry. How do I contact Storenvy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2016

      Karla Kellogg

      Well from what I've read about Storenvy the CEO owner is about as pathetic as the stores on his platform.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Champlin, MN,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I ordered a product from a Storenvy store (Atelier Dream) in late March. After waiting a month, I finally contacted the seller. She claimed she'd been on vacation, but was working on my order and would send it the next day. Six weeks later, I still hadn't received anything. I tried contacting the store owner, but no luck in receiving any response. So I contacted Storenvy directly. After a couple weeks I received an email telling me they were unable to get a hold of the store owner so they had shut her store down, and they recommended I file a PayPal dispute to get my money back. I heard from the store owner a week or so later, saying the order "must've gotten lost in the mail" and that she would send another one. She said she would refund my money for the inconvenience. Well, thankfully I did get my full refund, but I never received the order and it's now nearly three months after I placed my initial order. Her store is still up on Storenvy (despite them claiming to have shut her down), and I'm absolutely appalled by the whole situation. It's disgraceful. In short: Do Not Buy From Storenvy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I want my money.

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jun 3, 2015

    I ordered a waist trainer from Storenvy on May 1st and still have not received my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Never received item.

    • San Marcos, TX,
    • Apr 20, 2015

    I ordered a keychain from the Shopenvy store for a friend's birthday and while I ordered the item a week and a half before her birthday (according to their site it would take 7-10 days), it is now three weeks past it. I received an email from the store about a week ago saying that my package had shipped, but here it is a week later and I still have not received it. So I called the post office and they said the package had not even been given to the post office yet. Of the six emails I've sent, the store has only gotten back to me once with a very vague response. Do not buy from this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Apr 5, 2015

    There is no way to put reviews up on each individual store, so it's impossible to know if the store is real or not. I ordered a sweater from a fake store and it never came in, and the store shut down quickly afterward. The same thing happened to my friend.

    Yes, there are good, legit stores on the site, but it's always a gamble. Storenvy also tends to have higher prices than other sites offering the same product, and there are rarely any sales. I do not recommend to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a review for Storenvy!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review