About Storenvy

Established in 2009 and based out of San Francisco, CA, Storenvy is an online social marketplace where independent merchants can sell their unique, creative goods to consumers through their very own storefront. As a storeowner, Storenvy provides you with an opportunity to become an independent merchant in as little as five minutes, and to reach thousands of shoppers. This can be accomplished in two ways:

  1. Personal Storefront – This acts as your very owner corner of Storenvy, where you can customize to distinguish yourself from your competition. Your unique URL would be www.MyStoreName.storenvy.com (or a customer URL, as we’ll discuss later), and is where customers can purchase directly from you.
  2. Marketplace – The Storenvy Marketplace acts as a curator for all products on the site. For example: Imagine that you sell handmade scarves. A shopper types in “handmade scarves” into Storenvy’s search field, which returns your products, as well as those of your competition. The shopper would then have the ability to purchase through Storenvy, or click on your site’s link, and purchase directly through you.

According to TechCrunch, Storenvy’s goal is to become the Amazon for independent storeowners. Currently, the site claims that more than 40,000 items are added each week from over 50,000 stores, and that 50% of sales come directly from the marketplace storefronts (versus directly through custom the storefront). Despite the large amount of traffic on the site though, Storenvy currently has a D rating with the Better Business Bureau.

How Storenvy Works

When shopping Storenvy’s site, you can browse through thousands of products in Marketplace categories such as Clothing, Health & Beauty, Tech Gadgets, Accessories, Books, Jewelry, and much more. If you find a product you like, Storenvy gives you the ability to “Envy” the item, which is essentially adding it to your Favorites list. After this occurs, you will then be able see all the other shoppers who have added it to their Favorites as well. As a product accumulates more and more “Envys,” it will eventually appear on the Popular page, which further increases its ability to gain more “Envys.” This helps promote the product, and to increase its sales.

If you decide to set up a storefront, it will be completely free, and you can be up and running in as little as five minutes. However, you will be required to have a Business or Premier PayPal account, as this is the only payment processor Storenvy uses, for both store owners and shoppers alike. As such, all sales are subject to standard PayPal fees, which are currently set at $0.30 + 2.9% per transaction. Also, storeowners will be fully responsible for processing their own refunds via PayPal, including associated shipping charges.

After signing up, you will receive your own custom store located at www.YourStoreName.storenvy.com, or you can use your own domain name for an additional $4.99 per month. Some of Storenvy’s custom features include:

  • Control all of your product’s attributes, including pricing, images, descriptions, etc., with an unlimited product capacity.
  • Customize and “brand” your store to differentiate yourself from the competition.
  • Order tracking – view and manage all incoming orders.
  • Create/offer discounts.
  • View your store’s stats using Storenvy’s built-in analytics.
  • Mobile device and tablet-friendly site.
  • Fans can shop directly from your Facebook page.
  • And much more…

Does Storenvy Make Money From Your Sales?

According to Storenvy’s website, they do not currently charge any fees for use of their service, with the exception of the $4.99 monthly fee for a custom domain name (e.g. without the .storenvy extension on your URL). However, the company claims that as of early 2014, they will begin taking a set percentage from all sales that occur through their Marketplace. In addition, Storenvy states that they will also be implementing a Marketplace Revenue Share early next year, which will act as an incentive to drive even more sales to your storefront.

Pros:

  • Shoppers can browse through thousands of products curated by independent merchants.
  • Feature-filled Custom and Marketplace stores, all of which are free of charge.
  • Easy setup.
  • Unlimited products.
  • Storenvy has the potential to be utilized as a marketing tool for your Marketplace store.

Cons:

  • 15 complaints with the Better Business Bureau, and an overall D rating.
  • Different refund policies that shoppers are required to constantly check on, depending on the vendor they purchase from.
  • While Storenvy claims they have a zero-tolerance policy toward scams/dishonest merchants, there is a window of opportunity between when the scams appear on the site, and the time they are shut down. During this time, Storenvy has no control over these types of transactions.

33 Customer Reviews for Storenvy

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 21
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Returning items

    • by Samantha Myers,
    • Michigan,
    • Feb 12, 2015

    Unable to return items and could not get a response from the seller or Storenvy. Do not use this site. Paypal does not have long enough insurance coverage! Use Amazon!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Five good reasons why storenvy sucks.

    • by Why you should not shop at storenvy ,
    • Jan 28, 2015

    Why you should not shop at Storenvy:

    1. Storenvy took 5 days to get back to me when there was a problem.
    2. Does not regulate their members or products for quality control.
    3. Made no effort to fix the problem and made absurd lazy excises for the problem
    4. Has no phone support or accountability
    5. Has no working digital download system for digital goods

    Those those are the five good reasons why I think Storenvy sucks. So don't shop there

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    4-Forever Clothing Co

    • by Madi,
    • Jan 24, 2015

    Storenvy is absolutely a scam. Never order anything on this site. I ordered some really expensive Uggs, and never received my product or money. The store owner name was BRITT TURNER! She was very shady. She stopped answering my emails, and never gave me a tracking number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I got ripped off

    • by Roxana,
    • L.A.,
    • Jan 10, 2015

    Ordered an expensive stuffed Pokemon character in mid November for my son. Hoped to have as a Christmas gift for him. It's now January and not even a fake tracking number?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The best!

    • by Angela,
    • Akron, Ohio,
    • Sep 18, 2014

    I sell on here and I bank! it is way better than eBay in my opinion!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Fraud and Scam

    • by Katie,
    • Aug 21, 2014

    I ordered my wedding dress thru thedarkqueen on storenvy.com. The woman from the dark queen website ripped me off $400 when she told me my dress would be ready mid August. I ordered it at the end of June she knew that PayPal had a 45 day policy but told me it was a custom- made dress and told me it wouldn't be ready until past this. I believed her. Storenvy is taking no responsibility and crediting me nothing. Never use either site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2014

      Wondering

      Why would anyone purchase a dress online? You are just asking to get ripped off!

    • Sep 29, 2014

      jeanetmarie

      No one deserves to be ripped off.

    • Dec 20, 2014

      Lexi

      Why would you buy a wedding dress...from a store that was made by a random person?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great seller and store linen

    • by Andrei,
    • Aug 1, 2014

    Bought a linen cloth from the seller Fabric1Yard. Very good and high quality. I recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Zero support on website

    • by Allison Stover,
    • Washington DC,
    • Jul 27, 2014

    I got an email from this company "welcoming me" to my new account which I never signed up for. I looked high and low for customer support number - NONE. Then I tried repeatedly to use their email form which just keep freezing up and telling me that my email had not been "posted" whatever that means. So of course I am worried about phishing and no one to talk to... what terrible, terrible customer service. How about a phone number on the website at least?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 19, 2014

      tanya

      I just received the same message and have never heard of the company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Still hasn't arrived

    • by Anna,
    • Canada,
    • Jul 17, 2014

    This has been a terrible experience. I ordered from fashion fever boutique and they wouldn't give me a tracking number?! I ordered a bikini for $40 and it's been weeks. This store is a scam for sure!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    This site is a SCAM! Do not order from The Horror Project

    • by Erika,
    • Denver, co,
    • May 22, 2014

    I order online a ton! I have had very few issues with other sites (amazon, etsy, ebay, etc) and any issues I have had have been resolved quickly. This site however has been awful! I ordered a hoodie as a gift for my husband from The Horror Project the beginning of May. I needed the hoodie by the end of May. I figured 2 weeks should be a good amount of time considering the store is in the US and i have received packages from china in less time. A week after my order I sent them an email asking when my item would ship because I had yet to hear anything from them regarding my purchase. Since then I have attempted contact with them many times, when I noticed my order was cancelled, with ZERO response. Where is my money? I feel scammed. I will be reporting this site to the BBB. I just want what I ordered or the money I paid. I cannot believe Storenvy allows stores to cancel orders without any contact to the customer AND not refund the customer. I have also attempted contact with storenvy

    With zero response from them as well. This was my first experience and it will be my last. Bad Business! Awful Customer Care! Ran by a bunch of money stealing scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wrong tracking or no tracking number

    • by Bman ,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 16, 2014

    I ordered 3 items all of them reached me but only one had a tracking number which wasn't even connected to a package. One package came 5 days after ordering it and the other two came 18 days after I ordered them. So two packages were a bit late and either no tracking number or a wrong one. But there's so many interesting things on here that it makes up for some of the stores faults.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a review for Storenvy!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review