About Storenvy

Established in 2009 and based out of San Francisco, CA, Storenvy is an online social marketplace where independent merchants can sell their unique, creative goods to consumers through their very own storefront. As a storeowner, Storenvy provides you with an opportunity to become an independent merchant in as little as five minutes, and to reach thousands of shoppers. This can be accomplished in two ways:

  1. Personal Storefront – This acts as your very owner corner of Storenvy, where you can customize to distinguish yourself from your competition. Your unique URL would be www.MyStoreName.storenvy.com (or a customer URL, as we’ll discuss later), and is where customers can purchase directly from you.
  2. Marketplace – The Storenvy Marketplace acts as a curator for all products on the site. For example: Imagine that you sell handmade scarves. A shopper types in “handmade scarves” into Storenvy’s search field, which returns your products, as well as those of your competition. The shopper would then have the ability to purchase through Storenvy, or click on your site’s link, and purchase directly through you.

According to TechCrunch, Storenvy’s goal is to become the Amazon for independent storeowners. Currently, the site claims that more than 40,000 items are added each week from over 50,000 stores, and that 50% of sales come directly from the marketplace storefronts (versus directly through custom the storefront). Despite the large amount of traffic on the site though, Storenvy currently has a D rating with the Better Business Bureau.

How Storenvy Works

When shopping Storenvy’s site, you can browse through thousands of products in Marketplace categories such as Clothing, Health & Beauty, Tech Gadgets, Accessories, Books, Jewelry, and much more. If you find a product you like, Storenvy gives you the ability to “Envy” the item, which is essentially adding it to your Favorites list. After this occurs, you will then be able see all the other shoppers who have added it to their Favorites as well. As a product accumulates more and more “Envys,” it will eventually appear on the Popular page, which further increases its ability to gain more “Envys.” This helps promote the product, and to increase its sales.

If you decide to set up a storefront, it will be completely free, and you can be up and running in as little as five minutes. However, you will be required to have a Business or Premier PayPal account, as this is the only payment processor Storenvy uses, for both store owners and shoppers alike. As such, all sales are subject to standard PayPal fees, which are currently set at $0.30 + 2.9% per transaction. Also, storeowners will be fully responsible for processing their own refunds via PayPal, including associated shipping charges.

After signing up, you will receive your own custom store located at www.YourStoreName.storenvy.com, or you can use your own domain name for an additional $4.99 per month. Some of Storenvy’s custom features include:

  • Control all of your product’s attributes, including pricing, images, descriptions, etc., with an unlimited product capacity.
  • Customize and “brand” your store to differentiate yourself from the competition.
  • Order tracking – view and manage all incoming orders.
  • Create/offer discounts.
  • View your store’s stats using Storenvy’s built-in analytics.
  • Mobile device and tablet-friendly site.
  • Fans can shop directly from your Facebook page.
  • And much more…

Does Storenvy Make Money From Your Sales?

According to Storenvy’s website, they do not currently charge any fees for use of their service, with the exception of the $4.99 monthly fee for a custom domain name (e.g. without the .storenvy extension on your URL). However, the company claims that as of early 2014, they will begin taking a set percentage from all sales that occur through their Marketplace. In addition, Storenvy states that they will also be implementing a Marketplace Revenue Share early next year, which will act as an incentive to drive even more sales to your storefront.

Pros:

  • Shoppers can browse through thousands of products curated by independent merchants.
  • Feature-filled Custom and Marketplace stores, all of which are free of charge.
  • Easy setup.
  • Unlimited products.
  • Storenvy has the potential to be utilized as a marketing tool for your Marketplace store.

Cons:

  • 15 complaints with the Better Business Bureau, and an overall D rating.
  • Different refund policies that shoppers are required to constantly check on, depending on the vendor they purchase from.
  • While Storenvy claims they have a zero-tolerance policy toward scams/dishonest merchants, there is a window of opportunity between when the scams appear on the site, and the time they are shut down. During this time, Storenvy has no control over these types of transactions.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

49 Customer Reviews for Storenvy

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 33
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 1, 2016

    I order a product mid-November 2015 as a Christmas gift. Was charged right away but product never shipped. Numerous attempts were made to contact shop but no response. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do not shop through Storenvy.

    • Nov 16, 2015

    I ordered something through one of Storenvy's merchants, paid for it and after one month have still not received it nor have gotten any responses to my emails. Storenvy appears to be unable to do anything if you pay for something and never receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Terrible support

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 15, 2015

    The support started out okay although it has never been possible to actually talk to someone. They did, at least, respond to emails to support and the case form system worked. Now, all the sudden, they do not respond to emails directly to support other than to direct one to the system of filling out a case form. However, the cases get wiped out with no resolution. This is the worst support I've ever seen.

    Other than support, it is a good place to sell. However,, when does one decide that if they can't get their support issues fixed they need to move on?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful experiences on Storenvy, Very Legit

    • Boulder, CO,
    • Aug 14, 2015

    After a few years of selling on Etsy, Storenvy is a Breath of Fresh Air.

    It is a wonderful venue, with a caring and responsive Admin, who actually help when you need them.

    Sales and purchases are easy, with a smooth interface to PayPal. They generate invoices and packing slips for the seller/buyer...and provide easy shipping notification where you can personalize your message to the buyer, as well as add in tracking info. And they offer all of this, without taking away the sellers control over their shops or shop policies.

    Honestly, our shop set up, sales, and purchases have been FAR easier on Storenvy.

    While we have been there, we have seen fairly consistent changes. Their tech team and Admin have been working steadily on adding new features which actually make things Easier for the sellers and buyers. They listen to us, and work with us.

    Customers can create a profile, or check out as a guest, which is very nice. They can also buy from multiple shops within Storenvy, and only need to check out once. And it all goes smoothly.

    I understand that with every venue there will be some shops that are not the best, and things will happen, as the negative comments here show. But keeping in mind that these comments are about individual shops, and not the venue itself, I would say I am sorry that these people had a bad experience, however, there are 30,000 plus individual shops. Most of which are wonderful, with professional and caring owners.

    Some things I would suggest to all buyers, regardless of where you shop, Etsy, Storenvy etc..

    *Know what you are buying If the photos and description are not clear, chances are, you may not receive what you imagined the item would be.

    *Understand the agreement you make when purchasing from individual shops Check that the shop is legit. Do they have their FAQ filled out? Do you agree with their Shop Policies? Because each individual shop Will have their own policies, for returns, refunds, shipping, etc. Storenvy does not set these, the shop owners do.

    These things are important, no matter which venue you choose to frequent, or buy through.

    I would say though, that giving Storenvy as a venue, a negative review because a few customers did not understand what they need to be aware of, or don't understand the difference between the individual shops, and the venue, that seems like poor judgment.

    I actually did go look for the BBB rating for Storenvy, and found nothing so I am curious where this D rating information came from? I don't see any links to the BBB rating here in this write-up? If an entire venue, with many shops is going to be spoken of in a way that negates them, I would like to see the information source.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    This is very much a scam.

    • Virginia beach, VA,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    My thirteen year old daughter ordered a pair of pants off of this website on 2/17/2014, she received an email a few days later saying the item was shipped a week or two later the pants had still not arrived so I emailed the vendor and she responded and stated that the pants should be here Saturday.

    Saturday came and went, I emailed the vendor again yesterday asking for a tracking number for the merchandise and what the refund policy was.

    I have yet to hear from this individual. It is a total sham that people are such thieves and it's worst when you have no conscious about stealing from a child. Never purchase anything from this site. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 11, 2014

      Julianna

      I completely agree with Su'ana. Just because you got scammed by one person on the site doesn't mean EVERYONE on that site is bad.

    • Jul 8, 2014

      Kisha

      I agree with Su'ana.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    One of the Best Online General Merchandise Marketplaces That Anyone Can Sell on.

    • Southern California ,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    Storenvy itself it operated by some very reliable and respectable people who have been running the business quite well, in my opinion and have a unique platform and the kind of features that are very useful to sellers, while keeping it simple. They are very prompt to reply to emails. Within 24 hours. As with any marketplace that has small sellers (some of whom aren't real businesses or even sole proprietors and without fictitious business name registrations, etc.) there is bound to be some les than professional sellers. Many are however real legit businesses or at least, professional. It is much like eBay in that respect, but I would imagine there's a smaller percentage of unsavory sellers. I know Storenvy cares about the community as a whole, not just caring a wee bit only for the buyers, as does eBay, who could care less about their real customers-the sellers. If Storenvy becomes aware of fraudulent sellers, I am sure they will remove or suspend them from the marketplace in order to protect the community.

    If you are considering doing business with a store on Storenvy, look at the "About and FAQ" section in their marketplace store and get a feel for who they are. Do they know who they are? Or does it seem like they are feeling their way around in the dark and are pretty clueless as to what it takes to run a business? Do they sound like they care about customers and are eager to help you? Have they taken time to write their policies, procedures and shipping details? Have they even figured that out yet? If not, be leery. If they haven't figured it out yet, they are not considering you and likely don't know much about customer service. Do they have a Facebook page and a web presence? Search for their business name on the internet.

    Click on the link on the bottom of their page that says "Custom Store". This will take you to their store (same products, just a different look) that they or professionals have designed. Does the design look nice? Or are they lacking a logo and header? Are the colors really bad and clashing? Or is it easy on the eyes? Do they have testimonials from real customers? There is something called "Yotpo" that sellers who take the time to set up their sites may have. If they have it set up and have sold things on their Storenvy store, there should be some reviews there either on the bottom of the page or there will be a tab somewhere on the site (usually on the side wall) that says "reviews". Are the reviews positive?

    Also, in the seller's marketplace store, you will see if they have sold any items and if so, how many. If they have sold over 20 items or so, there's a good chance they are doing their job. Usually the more sales, the better, but consider, they may not have been there long either. When you are looking at their custom store, they may have a dot com address such as www.businessX.com instead of businessX.storenvy.com. If they do, this is also a good sign, because a fly by night or dishonest seller wouldn't put the time, effort and money into setting up a domain and hosting it with Storenvy. They wouldn't put the time into any of the things I mentioned above really. What it really comes down to, though, is just doing your due diligence. It shouldn't take too much time to figure out if they are the kind of seller you would want to do business with. And, just remember, if something sounds too good to be true, chances are, it is. An example is there is a lot of counterfeit products out there, so if you are looking at a high end brand name product and it is far less than normal, there is your red flag. Unless, you like knock off's, then it's fine. If your Vuitton or Dior is coming from China, it is a knock off.

    I have bought and sold on eBay in the past and due to my experience, I recommend against it. I have had one particularly bad experience as a buyer and one as a seller, but my worse experience was with the company, eBay, themselves. I am currently selling on Storenvy and Etsy. I have not been on either very long (June and July '13, respectively), but since joining them, I have not encountered any sort of problems with either. Most sellers on both websites are just run by people who are just doing their best, working very hard, and trying to run an honest business. Try to step in their shoes sometimes when dealing with them. Not all of them work full time. They may have a job or family, be on a vacation or have hobbies or other activities going on, so they may not be able to reply right away granted, waiting over 24 hours is a bit slow and beyond 48 is not good customer service unless they have a good reason, but still, it can sometimes happen. If they don't reply at all, that's just bad business. Period.

    If you want to see what kind of service you may receive at a Storenvy shop, just write to the seller and see how long it takes and how they reply. Are they friendly and helpful? Are they short and emotionless? Do they answer your question(s) professionally and to the extent that is satisfactory? Even if you don't have a particular reason to contact them, go ahead and write to test them out. Make up a simple question if you don't really have one, like something about the size or measurements of a product, or the color. You'll figure out something easily. Also, look at their product pages. Do they take the time to describe their products? I have seen many sellers there who list clothing and never tell you a size, let alone, a measurement or much anything at all. I, personally, wouldn't buy from them.

    Also, keep in mind sometimes, the post offices do mess up and loose packages or there may be a delay in shipping. Just be sure to be patient, especially if it is coming from another country. A good seller will post tracking information for your product and if it's coming from another country they will tell you in their "About/FAQs/ Shipping Information" or product page even, about the length of time it may take. These are only approximate, though, not exact, as shipping times are beyond the control of a seller, especially the further it has to travel. But, if you have a concern, just write to them and ask.

    I have always put my customers first. Not just in my business, but in my life as well, sometimes sacrificing sleep for the benefit of my customers. If you are looking for a reliable, caring and personable seller, check out my storeby searching for Califorward. I hope this has helped you. Any questions or comments? Feel free to write me at Storenvy through my contact form. 

    Warm wishes and happy shopping,

    Sheryl

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 23, 2014

      debbie

      I agree with this review! Well said from and buyer and seller's point of view! You can't lay all the blame on the actual site itself, because it just depends on the values, practices of a seller and their customer service as to the type experience you have as a buyer.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Fraud and Scam

    • Aug 4, 2015

    I ordered my wedding dress through thedarkqueen on storenvy.com. The woman from the dark queen website ripped me off $400 when she told me my dress would be ready mid August. I ordered it at the end of June she knew that PayPal had a 45 day policy but told me it was a custom- made dress and told me it wouldn't be ready until past this. I believed her. Storenvy is taking no responsibility and crediting me nothing. Never use either site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2014

      Wondering

      Why would anyone purchase a dress online? You are just asking to get ripped off!

    • Sep 29, 2014

      jeanetmarie

      No one deserves to be ripped off.

    • Dec 20, 2014

      Lexi

      Why would you buy a wedding dress from a store that was made by a random person?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    As a customer

    • Manasass, VA,
    • Aug 3, 2015

    Unless you have everything in control and no questions, contacting anyone on the website will be extremely difficult if not impossible.

    I ordered a necklace from a small shop less than a week ago and it has not arrived. I do not suspect the shop owner to be a scammer but I'm having difficulties tracking my package. I'm going to be traveling soon and I would like to be able to. After purchasing my necklace, I realized I needed to create an account to track my order, so I tried. Storenvy denies the email I used when purchasing my necklace, it says that there is already an account. There isn't, I even tried using the "I forgot my password", but I get an error page because there is no account. I created an account with my other email, because that seems to be the only way I can contact Storenvy. I emailed them 3 days ago and yet to get back a response. I asked the shop owner for a tracking number but she seems to be offline as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Five good reasons why Storenvy sucks.

    • Jul 31, 2015

    Why you should not shop at Storenvy:

    1. Storenvy took 5 days to get back to me when there was a problem.
    2. Does not regulate their members or products for quality control.
    3. Made no effort to fix the problem and made absurd lazy excises for the problem
    4. Has no phone support or accountability
    5. Has no working digital download system for digital goods

    Those are the five good reasons why I think Storenvy sucks. So don't shop there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    Please beware! I purchased handmade 3D acrylic bows from Luxury Designs on 6/28/15 and I still have not received my items. There is no way to contact Storenvy directly. I have since emailed the store owner with no response. How do I get a refund?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 12, 2016

      Igor

      Did you pay with Papyal? If so, just open a case through Paypal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Never received item.

    • San Marcos, TX,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I ordered a keychain from the Shopenvy store for a friend's birthday and while I ordered the item a week and a half before her birthday (according to their site it would take 7-10 days), it is now three weeks past it. I received an email from the store about a week ago saying that my package had shipped, but here it is a week later and I still have not received it. So I called the post office and they said the package had not even been given to the post office yet. Of the six emails I've sent, the store has only gotten back to me once with a very vague response. Do not buy from this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a review for Storenvy!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review