About Abs After 40

Mark Mcilyar tells us that his Abs After 40 three-phase workout system can provide all the training and nutritional information needed to help men over 40 “get in the best shape of their life.” How does it do this?

The Abs Over 40 programs claims to work over three phases (we’ll talk more about these in a moment):

  • Phase 1: Fat Loss Jumpstart – Here, you’ll use the program’s specific training techniques to help get rid of belly fat.
  • Phase 2: Male Hormone Optimization – This is where Abs After 40’s compound movements will help optimize testosterone.
  • Phase 3: Full-Auto Fat Burning Mode – With your belly fat gone and your hormones optimized, the program’s A40 ab exercises will target outer and core muscles alike and help you maintain your results.

Using Abs After 40’s short videos that can be watched anywhere with WIFI or a standard internet connection, Mark claims you’ll use “strategically planned” compound movements to burn off stubborn belly fat, shrink inches from your waist, revitalize your body, and keep your body lean year round with minimal maintenance.

Whether you just reached 40 or are 20 (or more!) years down the road, can you really expect the information in Mark’s Abs After 40 program to deliver results? Or, will you waste your money and be in the exact same position a year from now? Let’s take a look at what we learned during our research.

What Happens to a Man’s Body After the Age of 40?

Although a lot of men view the big 4-0 as the beginning of a downward spiral, Dr. Vonda Wright, an orthopedic surgeon at the University of Pittsburgh, tells Esquire:

“It's a myth that 40 is a doomsday birthday. Your muscle mass does not decrease if you consistently work out at a high level. We decrease in athletic prowess because we stop training hard. If we feel weaker, we are failing our bodies — our bodies are not failing us. I think the median age of male runners in this country is 43. They're the ones out there doing personal bests in triathlons.”

What does happen around the age of 40 is that the physical effects of decreased testosterone, which begins falling once you hit 30, become increasingly noticeable. This includes decreased sex drive (and even erectile dysfunction), mood swings, low energy, reduced confidence, and generally feeling like “less of a man.”

Added to this is the fact that men over 40 start feeling side effects from punishing their body for so many years, resulting in increased muscle soreness and joint pain.

What does the Abs After 40 program provide to counteract this testosterone loss? Can you expect it to deliver results?

How Does the Abs After 40 System Work? Is It Effective?

Mark tells us that the Abs After 40 program gives you his exact workout journal and hormone rejuvenation exercise plan, both of which are can help you burn “the most amount of belly fat.” This occurs over three different phases:

Phase 1: The Fat-Loss Jumpstart

This 30-day segment helps you avoid the vicious too much belly fat à decreased testosterone à even more belly fat cycle that men after 40 can get stuck on. You’ll focus on losing as much fat as you can, as quickly as possible, without starving yourself, doing extreme workouts, or putting yourself in harm’s way.

Mark even claims that this segment can be used by anyone, even if you’ve never dieted or exercised before.

Phase 2: Total Hormone Rejuvenation

Now that you’ve lost weight, phase two will focus on optimizing your testosterone levels by increasing your workout intensity and adding compound resistance exercises, which simply involve more than one muscle group (in contrast to isolation exercises). By activating as many muscle fibers as possible, this might then release the maximum amount of testosterone into your bloodstream.

Mark also claims that these compound movements are designed to be low-impact, so you should be able to complete them, even if you have joint issues.

Phase 3: Maintenance

With less weight and a flatter stomach, now you’ll focus on maintaining your results through as-fast-as-possible workouts that are easy to fit in your busy schedule.

You’ll also learn how to maintain your diet in light of family and social events, as well as how to prepare a week’s worth of food in under an hour.

While these certainly seem useful, the problem is that they’re not necessarily unique. Sure, the company claims, “the Abs After 40 program is different from all other exercise and nutrition programs because it is specifically structured to support the production and health of the male hormone system.” However, a quick online search for “testosterone workouts” will provide thousands of results and dozens of programs that claim to deliver the exact same benefits.

On top of this, based on what we’re told in the Abs After 40 video (e.g. belly fat is made of a unique type of fat known as visceral fat; you need to eat foods like whole eggs, coconut oil, avocados, fatty fish to maximize testosterone), this isn’t any more information than what you’d learn in 5 minutes elsewhere online—for free.

For these reasons, it’s unclear exactly how well you can expect Abs After 40 to work. We’ll come back around to this thought shortly, but let’s first take a look at what you’ll pay for the fitness program.

How Much Does the Abs After 40 System Cost?

The Abs After 40 program will cost you $97, which gives you immediate access, along with three bonuses:

  • 14-day trial for the Abs After 40 Nutritional System – Weekly videos that show you how to prepare tasty foods that can help you achieve 6-pack abs. After the trial, you’ll be charged $67/month for the next 6 months.
  • How To Deal With Common Injuries & Gym Problems e-book – Stretching and recovery techniques that can help you deal with soreness and “old man pains.”
  • DVD set + instant online access – Just pay for shipping and you’ll get all the Abs After 40 videos on DVD. Note: This option wasn’t available when we attempted to check out.

All Abs After 40 purchases come with a 60-day money back guarantee, which you can request by calling customer service at 800-655-8576. In fact, the company claims they’ll even “go over your fitness goals and customize the program to fit your individual needs,” if necessary.

While there’s little indication of what you’ll actually learn for $100 of your hard-earned money, are customers pleased with the Abs After 40 system?

Are There Any Online Abs After 40 Reviews?

In a word: no. Why? The HighYa team focuses on reviewing popular products soon after they’re released, so there wasn’t enough time for user feedback to accumulate at the time of our research.

However, the Abs After 40 program is brought to you by Mike Chang, a popular fitness professional and online personality who also created the 6 Pack Shortcuts program, along with supplements like Afterburn Fuel and Six Pack Sleep.

Overall, while you’ll find plenty of glowing testimonials on his website, it seems like Mike and his programs/supplements have mixed online reputations, with many reviews stating that his systems aren’t anything new (and that you can find much of the same information elsewhere for free) and that his supplements are high priced but provide little in return for the money.

Granted, we’re definitely not saying this is what you can expect with Abs After 40, but reputation is an important factor in any buying decision. Before wrapping everything up, let’s talk about the personality behind the Abs After 40 program.

Who Is Mark Mcilyar?

According to his LinkedIn profile, Mark Mcilyar is currently a spokesperson for Sixpack Shortcuts, although it doesn’t appear he has any professional training in fitness or nutrition, or any work-related experience in the industry. Instead, with previous roles in consulting and sales, it appears Mark’s expertise is better suited toward business than fitness.

Nonetheless, Mark apparently has a great body, so he must be doing something correctly, right? Does this mean you should purchase Abs After 40?

Will Abs After 40 Help You “Look & Feel Better Than In Your 20s”?

Is it technically possible that Abs After 40 could make you feel 20 or 30 years younger? Sure. Do we think it’s likely?

Even if you didn’t consider the vague program description, high price, and mixed reputation we already discussed, here’s what the company says in their disclaimer:

“The results of such education are intangible, and not measured in fat loss, muscle gain, abdominal definition, or other positive results of any kind. And even when consumers implement our product in full, more often than not they do not report increases in fat loss, muscle gain, abdominal definition, or other positive results of any kind. Reports of specific fat loss, muscle gain, abdominal definition, or any positive results of any kind should therefore be understood as the exception rather than the rule. Consumers who use our products can generally expect not to see any increase in fat loss, muscle gain, abdominal definition, or positive results of any kind. It is entirely possible you will gain fat, lose muscle, lose abdominal definition, and experience other negative outcomes as a result of the advice contained in our products.”

Combining all of this, it’s ultimately your decision whether or not the Abs After 40 program is worth the money. At the very least though, based on the company’s own admission, you might want to set your expectations pretty low.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Consumer Reviews for Abs After 40

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  6
Bottom Line: 54% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    False flag

    • Texas,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    You are lured by the promise of an exercise program that will reduce your belly fat only to be high-pressure sold a supplement program that you must have. There is absolutely NO MENTION of this before in any advertisement.

    FRAUD, pure and simple! Switch and bait at its core, NOT weight reduction.

    Run from this type of program; something that is not what people claim it is and is designed to trick people. I wanted to buy it, but not be high-pressure sold! Let me be clear, run from this! Do NOT buy into the hype!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Supplement pushers

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dishonest business practice. This 50 something guy has no knowledge or background in the stuff he is promoting. He is just an older model with a wavey stomach, who probably does thousands of sit-ups, pilates, or yoga. Just an old model.

    Hell, a fitness trainer Delmonteque back in the day didn't need to push supplements like modern day drug pushers but just gave you exercise moves to do and foods to eat. That is all you need to get a wavey core. Save your money. Exercise more, eat less and drink lots of water. This will eventually lower your body fat so you can see those wavy lines that you already have.

    You will be bombarded with phone calls selling you worthless supplements that cost crazy prices, with unknown ingredients from China.

    Get a juicer and juice your vegetables and fruits, and this could be a supplement since you know what is going inside your body since you make it yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Abs After 40

    • London, England,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent 12 years in the UK Special Forces, I have been training since the age of 14, and I have never seen, used or followed a fitness program before (outside of the military). I went through a low training period in my 30's due to building a business and a family.

    I came across Mark's program just under a year ago. Although I have not followed the diet plan to the letter (I do like a drink or three), I have finished all three phases and what a result I have had.

    I have been with my wife since we were 15 and 16 (now 47), and she comments almost every day on how great I'm looking. She has said countless times that I'm in the best shape she has ever seen me in. I must be completely honest and say that I agree with her, and even my work colleagues comment on how good I'm looking and ask what it is I'm now doing. I have no problem letting them know that it's the Abs After 40 and a lot of effort on my part. Let's be honest, if you don't put "P" for plenty in, how can you expect to get results?

    I have received a lot of emails regarding their products, but I have never been pressured into buying them. I'm a bit old-school when it comes to products, and I believe in eating well and training hard.

    I will be signing up to the Abs After 40 Advanced system because it works! I hope this helps, and whatever system you choose, always remember to "maintain the aim."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The program has helped me drop 10 lbs in five weeks. I have stayed with it about 80% of the time, and I am just about to start phase two.

    I ordered the program a year ago, and they did push supplements one time, but nothing since then. They do have coaching that you can call or email. I have used a few times. I enjoy Marc's videos, he is a pretty down to earth guy. I even found him on Facebook, and he has answered some questions.

    I think the program could be better, as far as materials, work out videos and just growing the product, without the extra cost. You have to work out to make the changes. You have to want to be back in shape, and they do give you the tools to make it happen. I give them 3 out of 5 because some of the marketing photos are fake. But it's worth investing 97 bucks in your health if you really want it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Abs After 40 is all about supplement sales

    • Australia,
    • Feb 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid my $97 via credit card. I received a motivational phone call about the program and was not impressed. During the conversation, they throw in that they will arrange your supplement supply at US $1,100. Wow, stop there. After I refused, I was cut off within ten seconds. No videos arrived, nothing. The $97 is only a hook. They were happy to refund because they are a supplement sales team. If you don't purchase supplements, they are not interested.

    Be wary because they are very good at pumping you up. I wish people would just be honest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Abs After 40 Review

    • Woodbridge, VA,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased the Abs After 40 program with the number one goal in mind to finally get in the best shape of my life. I am a 53-year-old male, and within the last ten years I've tried programs, such as P90X, and found the workouts to be too long and exhausting. Although I did see some results after only making it to day 75 of a 90-day program, I thought I looked good enough to stop. Now that I am older and feeling the effects of low testosterone and its symptoms, I'm glad I found a program that will help boost my T levels back to what they were as a younger man.

    So far I have successfully completed Week 3 of Phase 1 of the program, and although I haven't been as regimented with the nutrition side of the program as I should be, I have lost 6 pounds so far, feel more energized, and actually am actually beginning to see my abdominal muscles again, since this first phase has been so core-focused.

    Unlike the other reviews posted here, I can honestly say that I have not been pushed or duped into buying supplements for this program. Although I do get a fair number of emails regarding supplements, I've never had anyone call me and try to hard sell me. Obviously, the other two reviews on this site were from people who seemed to want to complain about the marketing of this company and their products, rather than give a positive testimonial as to whether or not the program has had a positive benefit for them. I think the videos and the exercises are great! Much easier on my joints than other, more high impact programs I've tried in the past.

    I can't wait to complete Phase 1 this week and move on to Phase 2. This is one program I will without a doubt continue until the end. If Mark McIlyar can look that good at 53, then so can I! ;-)

    I would absolutely recommend the Abs After 40 program to my other over 40-year-old buddies.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 28 people found this review helpful

    The program has worked for me!

    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 5'7" and weighed 201 pounds on January 1, 2016. I subscribed to the Abs After 40 program the third week of January and have been fairly consistent since then in doing the program daily, and following the free meal plan that was made available as part of the program.

    I averaged about two pounds of weight loss each week until I lost about 35 pounds and got down to 165 pounds. Since then I have maintained my weight within 10 pounds of 165, getting down to 161 at one point.

    I have been very pleased with my initial $97 investment. I understand some other reviewers feel that the marketing of other products is a bit aggressive. I can't disagree with that assessment, but I will say that I read many of the offerings and watched many of the corresponding videos and found them to be very informational and beneficial to my progress.

    This month I added a few additional Six Pack Abs workout programs and committed to taking the recommended supplements. I will give them a three-month trial and report back on that component in April of 2017.

    There is some feedback that I can provide to improve the offering, but the bottom line for me is that I followed the program and it definitely worked for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 8, 2017

      Will

      So, how did the three-month trial of supplements go?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 24 people found this review helpful

    I love the Abs After 40 program, it really works

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Name is Randy. I'm 52 years old and have ten kids and 13 grandchildren. I'm a Heavy Duty Mechanic and a workaholic.

    Over a year ago I started getting angry with myself at how out of shape I was getting, and how much pain I would wake up in when I'd get out of bed in the morning. I also had an increasingly difficult time putting my socks on in the morning. This may sound simple, but these were my motivators.

    Then about 7 or 8 months ago, while surfing the net, I started seeing the ads for the Abs After 40 program that Mark was doing. Eventually, I watched one and what Mark was saying made total sense. I went to my doctor and asked to have my testosterone levels checked, and sure enough, they were right at the bottom of the scale, and right where my doctor thought they should be for a guy my age. I thought "That's not good enough," I want something better for myself.

    So, six months ago I signed up on the Abs After 40 program and made a commitment to myself to get in not just good shape, but great shape. It came complete with a nutrition system and the support I needed to keep me motivated. It wasn't easy, but SO well worth the effort. I have lost 21 pounds and bulked up with lots of muscle. I'm in the best shape of my adult life. After three months, I signed up for the Abs After 40 Advanced and took advantage of the Platinum coaching too. What an awesome system.

    Now, I went all in. I use all the vitamins and supplements religiously. I have only missed two workouts since I started. I eat right now and my cravings for sugar and chocolate are totally gone. And I've been at this long enough now to have developed new habits.

    Mark Mcilyar and the coaching staff really have this figured out. I can't recommend it enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Abs After 40

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jan 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very pleased with the program thus far, over the last 8 weeks and the loss of 25 pounds. It isn't all hype. The exercises are gentle enough for me, coming back from a 4-year recovery process from a work injury, yet enough to notice good progress in muscle and strength.

    I'm not a fan of the supplements, but will stick with it for six months. Also, I don't appreciate the over kill of sales stuff, but that's the way it rocks aye!

    I do recommend and trust the Abs After 40 program for my friends. While I can run my life around the program, it's working for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Abs After 40 changed my life

    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jan 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have completed Abs After 40, Abs After 40 Advanced, and am a member of the Platinum Coaching Program.

    Since I began, just over six months ago, I have lost 25 pounds and totally altered the shape of my body. For the first time in my life, I am actually "toned." I am proud of the way I look, and that has had a very positive effect on the way I feel. All of my friends and colleagues continually comment on how good I look.

    The workout programs, combined with the nutritional guidelines, were easy to follow, increased in intensity at a manageable rate, and have made me want to continue weight training.

    Through the Platinum Coaching, Mark McIlyar serves as a sounding board, as an instructor, and provides endless encouragement. I can also say that he has become a friend.

    Checking in with Mark has clarified many details of the workout programs, and saved me from wasting my efforts through mistakes or misunderstandings. Mark so clearly wants to help his clients make progress!

    I was very surprised to read the two negative reviews on this website, because what they describe is SO not my experience with Abs after 40.

    I love the workouts and the food regime. My life has been changed (for the better) by Abs After 40!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Falsified info

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I stumbled on the Abs After 40 YouTube video, of which took forever to watch. Mark just kept talking in circles, and what could have taken maybe 15 minutes, turned out to be almost an hour.

    He showed a blurred out picture of Stallone, making the inference that he was a client/customer. At that point, I knew this was BS, failing to disclose that Stallone is an HGH user, which is EXACTLY what I believe Mark is as well.

    I do agree that the increase of testosterone decreases fat through multi-jointed exercises, as I a personal trainer myself. So once I reached the point of the video where this "breakthrough info" would be costing me $97, I opted out.

    The next day I received a call telling me that "they were going to go ahead and unlock the membership site" or something, with me responding with "no thanks, I'm not interested because I don't believe it."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Abs After 40!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review