Active-PK Reviews - Does It Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 11, 2019

Active-PK from LCR Health is a supplement that claims it can boost AMPK levels inside your body, resulting in reduced fatigue, a slimmer waistline, fewer cravings, and clearer thinking.

All of this is claimed to be done without the use of caffeine, dairy, synthetic additives, or animal byproducts.

To achieve the purported benefits of this supplement, LCR Health says to take two capsules of Active-PK daily with a glass of water, either with food or on an empty stomach.

Can you realistically expect to experience these benefits and are there other supplements claiming to deliver the same?

To help you gain a better understanding, in this Active-PK review we draw on the knowledge of professional opinion and discuss how the supplement works, its ingredients, efficacy, side effects and whether this is right for you.

How Does Active-PK Work?

To understand how Active-PK works, it's important to get familiar with what AMPK is. 5'-AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme found in all mammalian cells that “activates” during physical activity. In humans, AMPK activates in skeletal muscle, although in other mammals, such as mice, it also generates in other organs.

Once activated, a 2010 study reports that AMPK “stimulates energy generating processes such as glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation and decreases energy consuming processes such as protein and lipid synthesis.”

The study’s authors are Dr. Erik Richter, professor of Human Physiology and Exercise Physiology at the University of Copenhagen, along with Dr. Neil Ruderman, director of the Diabetic Cardiovascular Disease Program Project at Boston Medical Center,

Richter and Ruderman state in the study that AMPK initiates the entry of glucose into cells and helps break down fatty acids inside tissues, both of which produce usable energy for the body.

The enzyme also inhibits cells from using energy for other tasks, such as creating proteins and lipids, thereby making more power available for immediate use by the body.

As a result, Dr. Barry Sears told us, “AMP kinase is an energy sensor that can be considered the enzyme of life, as it regulates every aspect of your metabolism leading to greater health and lifespan.”

Taken together, this is why LCR Health refers to AMPK as your body’s metabolic “master switch,” since it “tells your body to stop storing fat and start converting it into clean, usable fuel,” they say.

Active-PK Ingredients and its Efficacy

Per the supplement facts label listed on the LCR Health website, Active-PK contains the following ingredients:

  • Gynostemma Pentaphyllum Leaf Extract 450 mg
  • Quercetin Dihydrate 100 mg
  • Berberine HCl 100 mg

Sites like WebMD, Natural Medicines Database and Examine.com report that taking between 500 mg and 1.5 grams of berberine per day could help ease conditions related to canker sores, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS). Active-PK’s 100 mg dose is much lower.

Furthermore, taking 30 mg of Gynostemma pentaphyllum (also commonly known as jiaogulan) daily has been shown to help decrease total cholesterol and increase good HDL in individuals with high cholesterol levels.

Outside of these, however, these sites indicate there’s insufficient clinical evidence showing that quercetin can reliably deliver health benefits in humans.

Also, the sites didn’t indicate that any of these ingredients can deliver on LCR Health’s claims of boosting AMPK levels, trimming abdominal fat, increasing endurance, raising metabolism, supporting energy levels, or optimizing brain function.

We contacted Dr. Erik A. Richter for a professional opinion. Richter is one of the two men who wrote the study we mentioned earlier.

“In my professional opinion,” Richter said, “It’s not possible for over-the-counter ingredients to meaningfully boost AMPK levels and result in benefits such as increased energy, better brain function, and weight loss.”

However, he emphasized, “there are multiple pharma companies working on AMPK activators, so it is not an impossible future possibility.”

Potential Side Effects

The LCR Health website points out that because Active-PK contains all-natural ingredients, it’s safe to use and causes no known side effects. However, it’s important to emphasize that just because something is natural, this doesn’t automatically mean it’s completely safe.

For example, WebMD, Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com report that berberine is unsafe to take if you’re pregnant, nursing, have diabetes, or are experiencing low blood pressure.

Furthermore, it can cause a major interaction with Cyclosporine and minor interactions with medications changed by the liver.

While up to 500 mg of quercetin has been used in studies that lasted up to 12 weeks, it’s unknown if it’s safe for longer-term use. It can also cause moderate interactions with Cyclosporin, antibiotics, and medications changed by the liver.

Finally, while Gynostemma may be safe to take for up to fours months, these sites indicate it can cause side effects like severe nausea and increased bowel movements (no specific circumstances noted).

It’s also possibly unsafe for those who are pregnant or breastfeeding, as well as those with autoimmune diseases, bleeding disorders, diabetes, or who are scheduled to undergo surgery within two weeks (since it may slow blood clotting).

Together, the LCR Health website recommends speaking with your physician before purchasing Active-PK, which is certainly something we’d advise as well.

How Much Does Active-PK Cost?

Active-PK is only available for purchase on the LCR Health website, priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $69
  • 3 Bottles: $186.30 ($62.10 per bottle)
  • 6 Bottles: $330.15 ($55.03 per bottle)

All orders come with LCR Health’s 90-day Ironclad Guarantee, less shipping, which you can request by calling 800-384-8308 or sending an email to support@LCRHealth.com.

Active-PK vs. Competing AMPK Dietary Supplements

We found dozens of standalone jiaogulan, quercetin, and berberine dietary supplements during our research, many of which were priced well below $20 per bottle.

However, we encountered only a handful of top-rated options on Amazon that specifically advertised AMPK activation in their names. Here’s how their prices and ingredients compared to Active-PK:

Brand Price Ingredients
Active-PK by LCR Health $69 Gynostemma 450 mg, Quercetin 100 mg, Berberine 100 mg
Life Extension AMPK Metabolic Activator $21.97 Calcium 130 mg, Hesperidin 500 mg, ActivAMP Gynostemma 450 mg
LUZ AMPK Activator $35.97 Gynostemma 150 mg, Berberine 900 mg, Alpha-Lipoic Acid 300 mg, Resveratrol 150 mg
Takenutritionx AMPK Activator $36.99 Gynostemma 450 mg,
Quercetin 100mg,
Berberine 100mg
Botanic Choice AMPK Formula $50 ActivAMP Gynostemma 150 mg, Berberine 17 mg, Rosehip 400 mg
Horbaach AMPK Metabolic Activator $16.87 ActivAMP Gynostemma 450 mg

Price-wise, we can see that Horbaach’s AMPK Metabolic Activator is the lowest cost option among popular competitors above, by a decent margin. It only contains 450 mg of Gynostemma, although as we discussed above, there’s insufficient reported clinical evidence that it can help humans lose weight, increase energy, or improve brain function.

Life Extension also contains the same level of Gynostemma as Active-PK, but at a much lower price. It doesn’t contain quercetin, but again, there’s insufficient clinical support that it can activate AMPK in humans.

From an ingredients perspective, Takenutritionx’s AMPK Activator features the same formulation and dosages as Active-PK, but at a meaningfully lower price. In fact, consumers can purchase two bottles of Takenutritionx for only a couple of dollars more than a single bottle of Active-PK.

Based on this, we can see that Active-PK isn’t necessarily the “revolutionary formula” advertised by LCR Health.

Bottom Line: Is Active-PK Worth It?

At the time of publishing, dozens of HighYa readers have given Active-PK an average rating of 3.6 stars, many of which reported excellent customer support, as well as benefits like reduced weight and inches around their waist, improved sleep, decreased cravings, and boosted energy. LCR Health had similar Better Business Bureau feedback at the time of our research.

So, if you’re looking to purchase your next dietary supplement from a reputable company, LCR Health appears to be safe to order from should you have concerns with your order in the future.

It’s important to balance the positives by pointing out that many HighYa readers reported no results with Active-PK, although a company representative responded in most of these instances to address the customers' concerns.

Furthermore, websites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database, along with medical professionals like Erik Richter, report insufficient clinical evidence supporting LCR Health’s claims related to AMPK activation, weight loss, or boosted energy or improved brain function for Active-PK’s ingredients.

Finally, Active-PK comes with a much higher price than popular competitors on Amazon. And based on our experience writing about hundreds of dietary supplements over the years, customers typically don’t report meaningfully better results after paying more for one.

Taken together, if you’re looking to explore potential AMPK activation, we think it’s difficult to justify paying a much higher price for Active-PK.

» Keep Reading: A Beginner’s Guide to Losing Weight and Getting in Shape

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 70 Active-PK Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 19 3 star: 4 2 star: 2 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 70
Sort reviews by:

  • 100 out 105 people found this review helpful

    Just bought Active-PK.

    • Pembroke Pines, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the ad on Facebook during the middle of the night. I have degenerative discs in my neck, so I rarely sleep a full night and read to fall back asleep. Something about the ad caught my attention. I have never used a weight loss pill, special meals or been on any weight loss program. I watched the video and was impressed with the scientific data about weight loss. I scrolled through the website, checked the price, and thought I would order it in the morning when I could get my card. On the order screen, it said PayPal, so I went ahead and ordered it. I received my first order of Acive-PK on Tuesday, November 20th, two days later. I took the first two Wednesday morning as directed.

    I own my own business and work 10 hours a day, seven days a week. My mind is constantly tumbling with thoughts of what needs to be done. That morning at 10 am, I walked into my office with such calmness that I can’t ever remember feeling. I had NO thoughts. I was scheduled to go to a lunch with my entire family. I had been nervous that I would have to rush through it to get back to work. I actually took the rest of the day off and wasn’t stressed about it. I don’t know how to explain how fast they worked or all the benefits I have received in the last ten days.

    I have slept every single night without ANY neck pain. I have not had one migraine that usually accompanies the neck pain. I am calm and stress-free. I spend 4 to 6 hours a day driving. I was a train wreck while driving. I would curse out drivers and feel like I was going to have a stroke. I am completely calm now while driving. That change alone is miraculous.

    I also have no hunger pains. I keep snacks in my car for when I can’t eat, and I haven’t touched them. I eat a banana for breakfast and literally forget to eat until dinner.

    I can’t say enough about these pills. I tell everyone. I bought a 90-day supply and have already gone through one whole bottle giving them to people to try.

    One of my managers started his free sample yesterday and texted me at 10 am to tell me how calm he was. He texted me this morning and said he slept through the night for the first time in years. He’s calm and relaxed for the first time that he can remember.

    I’m not a paid reviewer, I don’t work for LCR, I’m just a very happy customer. I don’t even care if I lose any weight. All these other benefits are worth the money.

    I just wanted to share my story. I hope these benefits last for a long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 66 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Enjoying life again.

    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be 75 in January and am in good health for my age, but I have been chronically tired for about 3 years. I would sleep well but wake up in the morning with no physical or mental energy. I avoided going out in the evening because I was so lethargic.

    Now I get out of bed looking forward to the day, full of enthusiasm. Instead of sitting in front of the television and snacking, I am busy with far more interesting things to do an people to see.

    Active-PK has curbed my appetite and I am slowly losing weight. I checked with my doctor to see if it was safe for me to take the product along with my blood pressure medicine and she gave me the go-ahead.

    The only minor downside for me is I am beginning to feel slightly hyper, but I will take that over being vaguely depressed.

    I am halfway through my first bottle of Active-PK and hope the benefits I am feeling will continue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 66 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Positive results

    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first learned about Active-PK by watching a video the company put out. I decided to try it because the doctor who helped formulate this product is a reputable doctor in LA. I am a nurse by profession. I have never been a really thin person and like many have gone up and down back and fourth over the years with my weight. I ordered three bottles, a 3-month supply, and just started on my last bottle. For me, it has worked so I will be ordering more. I have lost inches and weight and am feeling good. Just as it directs, I get up every morning and take two with a glass of water. I have never experienced any side effects and it does not cause you to feel jittery. It is stated that you need to take it for a while, no miracles overnight, and I agree. Patience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 61 out 65 people found this review helpful

    LCR Health will do their best to rip you off

    • Oak Ridge, TN,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did try Active-PK from LCR Health. I couldn't tell that it did anything for me. When I called them, they said perhaps I had not taken it for long enough and made me an offer to sell me a 90-day supply for about half of their retail price. I agreed to try it for a longer period of time, for three more months. I still could not see or feel any results like they described in their literature.

    Now get this! I didn't order any more of their Active-PK product. Today, October 1, 2018, I received an email saying they HAVE shipped me a 6-bottle order of Active-PK on my MEMBERSHIP. I never signed up for any membership. I called them. A lady on the phone agreed to cancel my "membership" and instructed me to call when I received the order for a "Return Authorization." Once they receive my return, they will refund the cost to my credit card. Sure enough, they have charged my credit card without my permission! Watch out. LCR Health will try to rip you off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 14, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Rex, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience; it is never our intention to confuse our customers or charge their credit cards without authorization. That would be unethical. It sounds like you may have accidentally signed up for our VIP Membership program which is completely optional. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to further discuss your experience and to look into your account to ensure that you are fully refunded. Again, I want to apologize for any inconvenience! I look forward to making this right.


  • 56 out 58 people found this review helpful

    It didn't help me lose anything.

    I gave Active PK a try. After a few weeks, I called and said it wasn't helping and I wanted to send it back. They said, "No, no, please keep trying it, try three a day instead of two." Well, that didn't help either, so I called again and said I want to send them back. The response was "Try four pills a day; try two in the morning and two in the afternoon for a few weeks." That didn't help either.

    By that time I was half done with my pills and decided to send them back. They did not give me a full refund, only half a refund, because of all the pills I tried and couldn't return. They were not honest, as the company said they would give a 90-day full refund. I would not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 6, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi there Kathleen. Thank you so much for letting me know about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry that you did not experience the many benefits of Active-PK. While a majority of our customers love Active-PK, we realize that it does not work the same way for everyone. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products when requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. Please email me directly at Taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been. Thank you.


  • 50 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic drop in A1C level in first 90 days

    My husband and I started taking Active-PK 90 days ago. He has seen a significant weight loss, but he was also making serious changes to his food intake. He is 66 and has seemed to have turned into the Energizer Bunny!

    Myself, one the other hand, have not seen the weight loss or incredible increase in my energy. However, I started taking the product hoping it would help me with my diabetes. I have been experiencing increasing A1C levels. I am 59 years old and had managed to get my A1C down to a "normal" reading of 6.0 just two years ago.

    I truly could not improve my diet anymore. I have spent endless hours studying glycemic loads of foods, tracked all my eating while recording glucose levels, cutting out foods that severely spiked my blood sugar, and given up all alcohol except an occasional glass (never more than two) of wine.

    All my doctor could say was that I was getting older. No way I was going to accept that answer. Then I watched this advertising video and understood the potential of Active-PK in helping my body improve the use of the glucose. And...

    Just 90 days after starting this supplement, I had my first appointment with my doctor to have my quarterly A1C level review. During my prior visits I saw my A1C go from 6.5 to 7.6 with each higher A1C reading, the doctor increased my oral medication.

    The last visit my A1C was 7.6 and this one 6.9! Hooray! I have made no other changes in my diet since starting this product. It is summer, and I am very active, but still, no way that much of a drop came from the additional activity. I'm looking forward to what the next 90 days reading will be!

    I have NEVER written a review of a product in my life. Then again, I have never had one effect my life so positively.

    If my A1C continues to improve, which I can't imagine it won't, I will be a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 48 out 50 people found this review helpful

    I love thus product

    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After viewing the video on Facebook about this product, I bought it. And I must say, I love it. After taking it in the morning, I get a sudden boost of energy. Although I broke the rules a bit, I only take one capsule, since I am a nurse and I work the night shift. Honestly, I do see changes in my tummy. I am only 5 feet, 1 inch tall and I weigh 173 lbs. I lost 2 lbs, but my body is changing. I feel more focus, I get things done. This is a great product. Because I take BP meds and cholesterol meds, I go easy. But in a few weeks, I may be taking two caps a day. Overall, I love this product and will highly recommend it to anyone who has a big midsection to deal with. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 44 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Inches lost on waste

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 41-year-old mom of two who has had two c-sections and I could never seem to lose that unwanted belly flop over my incision line. I have even gone as far as having lipo suction (which by the way just made the stomach look worse in that area). I started Active-PK about 40 days ago and I'm a bit in shock how much my stomach has gone down and how good I feel. I think that belly bulge is almost down to the way it was pre-children, a good two inches down.

    I'm excited to see how this product keeps working and I would highly recommend. Thanks so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing product

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am onto my second bottle now. My weight is exactly the same. I took two tablets early in the morning every day until the last week, where I only took one tablet in the morning. I now just take the one tablet daily. I was getting very bad nausea every night from the tablets. The sickness was terrible. I didn't feel sick in the beginning, it built up over time. Taking just one tablet is better. I also got very painful leg cramps in the calf muscles in the beginning. They seem to have eased up now. As I bought three bottles originally, I will keep on going until the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Lea, Taylor here with LCR Health. I am sorry to hear that you have not experienced the results you anticipated from taking Active-PK thus far. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee to ensure that each customer has a fair amount of time to begin seeing the benefits of Active PK, as some people may take longer to see results than others.

      I would be more than happy to issue you a refund at the end of your trial period if you are still dissatisfied with Active-PK at that point. Please keep in mind that it is always very important to consult your physician, prior to starting any new supplement, especially if any type of side effects occur.

      Please send me an email at [email protected] if you have any further questions or comments, or if you would like me to begin processing your refund for you. Thank you Lea.


  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Excellent overall experience with the product: Active-PK by LCR

    • Princeton, NJ,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am understandably skeptical of the sorts of claims made by LCR because so many supplements are pitched with wild claims that don't materialize. I must say that the supporting data provided was very compelling and the guarantee of a full refund caused me to take a chance.

    Well, I note that my appetite is much more in check and I appear to have more energy while eating less. Having more energy, controlling my appetite and having my body make better use of the food consumed were my goals. I felt I was eating well, but the nutrients were not making me feel well fed. I was always tired. I am an entrepreneur and stamina is essential to my ability to perform. I very much appreciate that there are no poor side effects. Every other thing I've tried has caffeine and made me feel awful. So far, I think this product is delivering on its promise and the impact overall has been positive. I look forward to slimming down further, getting stronger and continuing to live a good life.

    If I had to note a downside, it's the continuous upselling. Just how many supplements do we need to stay healthy? At some point, it's overwhelming, confusing, and not financially feasible.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Great stuff

    • Lewiston, NY,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using Active-PK by LCR Health, I've been using it now for a total of 42 days. I take it first thing in the morning as suggested on an empty stomach. I went from a size 36 to a size 34 in waist size in the 42 days, mostly belly fat. I also bicycle most days when the weather is good in New York, 25-35 miles, 4-5 days a week, which will come to an end soon. I do 15-minute stretch exercise every morning. I work out three days a week in the gym for roughly a hour, to an hour and a half.

    I really watch my carb intake and sugars. Since starting Active-PK my craving for snacks and bad foods has pretty much diminished, I can walk by them into a grocery store now, without the urge of buying something sweet. And best of all, I don't seem to need much food to fill me up, and I do feel more alert and have more energy than I've had before. I still take my regular vitamins B12 complex, fish oil, vitamin D, Jin sing and I'm only on one medication, levothyroxine, which is for thyroid, lowest dosage 50 mcg daily, and I take that at bedtime. I can honestly say I feel better at age 69 than I felt in a long time, and I do things a 40-year-old can't do. I'm very active hiking, biking, kayaking. I want to enjoy life to the fullest! Keep making Active, I for one will keep taking it. Thank you Active-PK.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 70

Write a Review for Active-PK!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review