Active-PK Review - Benefits, Ingredients, Efficacy, Side Effects

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: May 18, 2020

What Is Active-PK?

LCR Health claims that Active-PK will boost your 5'-AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) levels with just 3 active ingredients.

According to the company, by taking just 2 capsules daily, you’ll:

  • Reduce abdominal fat
  • Boost energy
  • Think more clearly
  • Minimize cravings
  • Support a strong, slimmer-feeling body

LCR Health says that these effects are possible without the use of caffeine, dairy, synthetic additives, or animal products.

In this article, we’ll help you gain a better understanding of the potential benefits of Active-PK by discussing the safety and efficacy of ingredients. But first, we’ll talk a bit more about AMPK and Active-PK’s proposed mechanism of action.

How Does Active-PK Work?

AMPK is an enzyme that is found in all mammalian cells. It is activated in an intensity-dependent manner during physical activity. This means that the more challenging the activity, the more active AMPK becomes.

AMPK serves to increase both glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation, while limiting the synthesis of protein and fats. Essentially, AMPK plays a role in prioritizing energy-generating processes.

According to LCR Health, by boosting AMPK with Active-PK, you will begin to use fat as an energy source rather than storing it.

Active-PK Ingredients and Their Efficacy: Can They Help You Lose Weight?

The Active-PK ingredients thought to be responsible for the purported benefits:

  • Gynostemma Pentaphyllum Leaf Extract 450 mg
  • Quercetin Dihydrate 100 mg
  • Berberine HCl 100 mg

Obese subjects randomized to 450mg daily of gynostemma pentaphyyllum over 12-weeks experienced significant reductions in body weight, body fat mass, percent body fat, and BMI.

Diabetic patients that were randomized to treatment with gynostemma pentaphyllum at 6g daily over 12-weeks experienced significant decreases in fasting blood glucose levels, HbA(1C), and insulin resistance compared to controls.

In high-fat diet mice, supplementation with 0.8% quercetin produced short-term increases in energy expenditure; while present at 3-weeks, this was no longer evident after 8-weeks.

In 58 healthy subjects randomized to 1 g/day of quercetin or placebo, those receiving quercetin did not experience alterations in energy, fatigue, or sleep quality over 6-weeks.

Berberine reduced body fat and improved insulin sensitivity in obese, diabetic rats. These effects seemed to be related to berberine’s ability to activate AMPK in both fat and muscle cells. The AMPK-related effects of berberine were corroborated in another mouse study.

Regarding human studies, 30 randomized patients with heart disease, treatment with 300mg of berberine daily activated AMPK and reduced inflammation related to cholesterol.

In another trial, 24 subjects with metabolic syndrome were randomized; those that received 500mg of berberine three times daily over 3-months experienced remission, decreased waist circumference, and insulin secretion.

We contacted Dr. Erik A. Richter, professor of molecular physiology at the University of Copenhagen, for a professional opinion.

“In my professional opinion,” Richter said, “It’s not possible for over-the-counter ingredients to meaningfully boost AMPK levels and result in benefits such as increased energy, better brain function, and weight loss.”

However, he emphasized, “there are multiple pharma companies working on AMPK activators, so it is not an impossible future possibility.”

Side Effects

Active-PK offers a blend of natural ingredients, though this doesn’t necessarily guarantee safety.

While up to 5x the dose of quercetin found in Active-PK has been used safely over a 6-week span without serious adverse effects, it’s unknown if it’s safe for long-term use.

In a 12-week study, there were no episodes of hypoglycemia or adverse effects at gynostemma doses more than 5x the dose included in Active-PK.

In a 12-week study, 1500mg of berberine daily was not associated with serious adverse effects, though mild gastrointestinal symptoms are possible.

Though the risk for using Active-PK is low, and associated side effects are mild, it’s still a good idea to speak with your doctor before using any new supplements.

Cost and Return Policy

Active-PK is available directly from the LCR Health website. Current pricing is listed below:

  • 1 Bottle: $89.95
  • 3 Bottles: $242.85 ($80.95 per bottle)
  • 6 Bottles: $455.70 ($75.95 per bottle)

All orders are backed with LCR Health’s 90-day guarantee. To process your refund, call support at (800) 384-8308 or email them at support@LCRHealth.com.

What Are the Alternatives to Active-PK?

This blend of ingredients is not unique to Active-PK. While formulations vary by pricing and dosing, as well as the included ingredients, there are a number of other supplements that offer similar blends.

AMPK Booster from SuperSmart offers more gynostemma and a comparable dose of berberine, though it lacks the quercetin content. Nonetheless, for a similar blend, you’ll pay just $42 for a 1-month supply.

AMPK-4 Activator contains more gynostemma, berberine, and quercetin when compared to Active-PK. Priced at just $35.99 for a 45-day supply, this is the most cost-effective option yet.

Pros and Cons

Pros
  • Early results for these ingredients are promising
  • Favorable return policy
Cons
  • More work is needed in human subjects to identify long-term safety and efficacy
  • 2 or 3x more expensive than other brands that offer larger doses

The Bottom Line: Is Active-PK Worth It?

Active-PK offers a blend of natural ingredients with some support for their ability to support fat loss, though much of the support is in animal and laboratory models. Oftentimes, benefits were found at doses higher than those offered in this supplement.

More randomized trials are needed to determine the long-term effects, if any, in human subjects.

With the lack of strong scientific support, it may be hard to justify the hefty price tag, especially with other more cost-effective products on the market.

Nonetheless, users seem to be generally pleased with Active-PK. More than 225 rated it 4.1 stars at HighYa. Those pleased report excellent customer service, as well as weight loss, improved sleep, fewer cravings, and more energy.

If you’re interested in using Active-PK or similar ingredients, be sure to discuss their safety with your doctor first.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Active-PK:
  • 228 Customer Reviews
  • 85% Recommend This Product
4.1 out of 5
5 star: 52% 4 star: 31% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 10%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Just bought Active-PK.

    • By Karen N.,
    • Pembroke Pines, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw the ad on Facebook during the middle of the night. I have degenerative discs in my neck, so I rarely sleep a full night and read to fall back asleep. Something about the ad caught my attention. I have never used a weight loss pill, special meals or been on any weight loss program. I watched the video and was impressed with the scientific data about weight loss. I scrolled through the website, checked the price, and thought I would order it in the morning when I could get my card. On the order screen, it said PayPal, so I went ahead and ordered it. I received my first order of Acive-PK on Tuesday, November 20th, two days later. I took the first two Wednesday morning as directed.

    I own my own business and work 10 hours a day, seven days a week. My mind is constantly tumbling with thoughts of what needs to be done. That morning at 10 am, I walked into my office with such calmness that I can’t ever remember feeling. I had NO thoughts. I was scheduled to go to a lunch with my entire family. I had been nervous that I would have to rush through it to get back to work. I actually took the rest of the day off and wasn’t stressed about it. I don’t know how to explain how fast they worked or all the benefits I have received in the last ten days.

    I have slept every single night without ANY neck pain. I have not had one migraine that usually accompanies the neck pain. I am calm and stress-free. I spend 4 to 6 hours a day driving. I was a train wreck while driving. I would curse out drivers and feel like I was going to have a stroke. I am completely calm now while driving. That change alone is miraculous.

    I also have no hunger pains. I keep snacks in my car for when I can’t eat, and I haven’t touched them. I eat a banana for breakfast and literally forget to eat until dinner.

    I can’t say enough about these pills. I tell everyone. I bought a 90-day supply and have already gone through one whole bottle giving them to people to try.

    One of my managers started his free sample yesterday and texted me at 10 am to tell me how calm he was. He texted me this morning and said he slept through the night for the first time in years. He’s calm and relaxed for the first time that he can remember.

    I’m not a paid reviewer, I don’t work for LCR, I’m just a very happy customer. I don’t even care if I lose any weight. All these other benefits are worth the money.

    I just wanted to share my story. I hope these benefits last for a long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Enjoying life again.

    • By Verlaine D.,
    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I will be 75 in January and am in good health for my age, but I have been chronically tired for about 3 years. I would sleep well but wake up in the morning with no physical or mental energy. I avoided going out in the evening because I was so lethargic.

    Now I get out of bed looking forward to the day, full of enthusiasm. Instead of sitting in front of the television and snacking, I am busy with far more interesting things to do an people to see.

    Active-PK has curbed my appetite and I am slowly losing weight. I checked with my doctor to see if it was safe for me to take the product along with my blood pressure medicine and she gave me the go-ahead.

    The only minor downside for me is I am beginning to feel slightly hyper, but I will take that over being vaguely depressed.

    I am halfway through my first bottle of Active-PK and hope the benefits I am feeling will continue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Positive results

    • By Pamela P.,
    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I first learned about Active-PK by watching a video the company put out. I decided to try it because the doctor who helped formulate this product is a reputable doctor in LA. I am a nurse by profession. I have never been a really thin person and like many have gone up and down back and fourth over the years with my weight. I ordered three bottles, a 3-month supply, and just started on my last bottle. For me, it has worked so I will be ordering more. I have lost inches and weight and am feeling good. Just as it directs, I get up every morning and take two with a glass of water. I have never experienced any side effects and it does not cause you to feel jittery. It is stated that you need to take it for a while, no miracles overnight, and I agree. Patience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LCR Health will do their best to rip you off

    • By Rex G.,
    • Oak Ridge, TN,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I did try Active-PK from LCR Health. I couldn't tell that it did anything for me. When I called them, they said perhaps I had not taken it for long enough and made me an offer to sell me a 90-day supply for about half of their retail price. I agreed to try it for a longer period of time, for three more months. I still could not see or feel any results like they described in their literature.

    Now get this! I didn't order any more of their Active-PK product. Today, October 1, 2018, I received an email saying they HAVE shipped me a 6-bottle order of Active-PK on my MEMBERSHIP. I never signed up for any membership. I called them. A lady on the phone agreed to cancel my "membership" and instructed me to call when I received the order for a "Return Authorization." Once they receive my return, they will refund the cost to my credit card. Sure enough, they have charged my credit card without my permission! Watch out. LCR Health will try to rip you off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Rex, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience; it is never our intention to confuse our customers or charge their credit cards without authorization. That would be unethical. It sounds like you may have accidentally signed up for our VIP Membership program which is completely optional. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to further discuss your experience and to look into your account to ensure that you are fully refunded. Again, I want to apologize for any inconvenience! I look forward to making this right.


  • It didn't help me lose anything.

    Overall Experience:

    I gave Active PK a try. After a few weeks, I called and said it wasn't helping and I wanted to send it back. They said, "No, no, please keep trying it, try three a day instead of two." Well, that didn't help either, so I called again and said I want to send them back. The response was "Try four pills a day; try two in the morning and two in the afternoon for a few weeks." That didn't help either.

    By that time I was half done with my pills and decided to send them back. They did not give me a full refund, only half a refund, because of all the pills I tried and couldn't return. They were not honest, as the company said they would give a 90-day full refund. I would not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 6, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi there Kathleen. Thank you so much for letting me know about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry that you did not experience the many benefits of Active-PK. While a majority of our customers love Active-PK, we realize that it does not work the same way for everyone. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products when requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. Please email me directly at Taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been. Thank you.


  • Fantastic drop in A1C level in first 90 days

    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I started taking Active-PK 90 days ago. He has seen a significant weight loss, but he was also making serious changes to his food intake. He is 66 and has seemed to have turned into the Energizer Bunny!

    Myself, one the other hand, have not seen the weight loss or incredible increase in my energy. However, I started taking the product hoping it would help me with my diabetes. I have been experiencing increasing A1C levels. I am 59 years old and had managed to get my A1C down to a "normal" reading of 6.0 just two years ago.

    I truly could not improve my diet anymore. I have spent endless hours studying glycemic loads of foods, tracked all my eating while recording glucose levels, cutting out foods that severely spiked my blood sugar, and given up all alcohol except an occasional glass (never more than two) of wine.

    All my doctor could say was that I was getting older. No way I was going to accept that answer. Then I watched this advertising video and understood the potential of Active-PK in helping my body improve the use of the glucose. And...

    Just 90 days after starting this supplement, I had my first appointment with my doctor to have my quarterly A1C level review. During my prior visits I saw my A1C go from 6.5 to 7.6 with each higher A1C reading, the doctor increased my oral medication.

    The last visit my A1C was 7.6 and this one 6.9! Hooray! I have made no other changes in my diet since starting this product. It is summer, and I am very active, but still, no way that much of a drop came from the additional activity. I'm looking forward to what the next 90 days reading will be!

    I have NEVER written a review of a product in my life. Then again, I have never had one effect my life so positively.

    If my A1C continues to improve, which I can't imagine it won't, I will be a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Inches lost on waste

    • By Jeannie H.,
    • New Hampshire,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a 41-year-old mom of two who has had two c-sections and I could never seem to lose that unwanted belly flop over my incision line. I have even gone as far as having lipo suction (which by the way just made the stomach look worse in that area). I started Active-PK about 40 days ago and I'm a bit in shock how much my stomach has gone down and how good I feel. I think that belly bulge is almost down to the way it was pre-children, a good two inches down.

    I'm excited to see how this product keeps working and I would highly recommend. Thanks so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love thus product

    • By Farida J.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After viewing the video on Facebook about this product, I bought it. And I must say, I love it. After taking it in the morning, I get a sudden boost of energy. Although I broke the rules a bit, I only take one capsule, since I am a nurse and I work the night shift. Honestly, I do see changes in my tummy. I am only 5 feet, 1 inch tall and I weigh 173 lbs. I lost 2 lbs, but my body is changing. I feel more focus, I get things done. This is a great product. Because I take BP meds and cholesterol meds, I go easy. But in a few weeks, I may be taking two caps a day. Overall, I love this product and will highly recommend it to anyone who has a big midsection to deal with. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing product

    • By Lea Hutchens,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am onto my second bottle now. My weight is exactly the same. I took two tablets early in the morning every day until the last week, where I only took one tablet in the morning. I now just take the one tablet daily. I was getting very bad nausea every night from the tablets. The sickness was terrible. I didn't feel sick in the beginning, it built up over time. Taking just one tablet is better. I also got very painful leg cramps in the calf muscles in the beginning. They seem to have eased up now. As I bought three bottles originally, I will keep on going until the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 12, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Lea, Taylor here with LCR Health. I am sorry to hear that you have not experienced the results you anticipated from taking Active-PK thus far. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee to ensure that each customer has a fair amount of time to begin seeing the benefits of Active PK, as some people may take longer to see results than others.

      I would be more than happy to issue you a refund at the end of your trial period if you are still dissatisfied with Active-PK at that point. Please keep in mind that it is always very important to consult your physician, prior to starting any new supplement, especially if any type of side effects occur.

      Please send me an email at [email protected] if you have any further questions or comments, or if you would like me to begin processing your refund for you. Thank you Lea.


  • Excellent overall experience with the product: Active-PK by LCR

    • By Yvette D.,
    • Princeton, NJ,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am understandably skeptical of the sorts of claims made by LCR because so many supplements are pitched with wild claims that don't materialize. I must say that the supporting data provided was very compelling and the guarantee of a full refund caused me to take a chance.

    Well, I note that my appetite is much more in check and I appear to have more energy while eating less. Having more energy, controlling my appetite and having my body make better use of the food consumed were my goals. I felt I was eating well, but the nutrients were not making me feel well fed. I was always tired. I am an entrepreneur and stamina is essential to my ability to perform. I very much appreciate that there are no poor side effects. Every other thing I've tried has caffeine and made me feel awful. So far, I think this product is delivering on its promise and the impact overall has been positive. I look forward to slimming down further, getting stronger and continuing to live a good life.

    If I had to note a downside, it's the continuous upselling. Just how many supplements do we need to stay healthy? At some point, it's overwhelming, confusing, and not financially feasible.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great stuff

    • By David F.,
    • Lewiston, NY,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started using Active-PK by LCR Health, I've been using it now for a total of 42 days. I take it first thing in the morning as suggested on an empty stomach. I went from a size 36 to a size 34 in waist size in the 42 days, mostly belly fat. I also bicycle most days when the weather is good in New York, 25-35 miles, 4-5 days a week, which will come to an end soon. I do 15-minute stretch exercise every morning. I work out three days a week in the gym for roughly a hour, to an hour and a half.

    I really watch my carb intake and sugars. Since starting Active-PK my craving for snacks and bad foods has pretty much diminished, I can walk by them into a grocery store now, without the urge of buying something sweet. And best of all, I don't seem to need much food to fill me up, and I do feel more alert and have more energy than I've had before. I still take my regular vitamins B12 complex, fish oil, vitamin D, Jin sing and I'm only on one medication, levothyroxine, which is for thyroid, lowest dosage 50 mcg daily, and I take that at bedtime. I can honestly say I feel better at age 69 than I felt in a long time, and I do things a 40-year-old can't do. I'm very active hiking, biking, kayaking. I want to enjoy life to the fullest! Keep making Active, I for one will keep taking it. Thank you Active-PK.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 228

Write a Review for Active-PK!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Active-PK Review: Benefits, Ingredients, Efficacy, Side Effects