About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 3, 2019

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $191.85 ($63.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $317.70 ($52.95 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

» Recommended Reading: Best Grains, Fruits, and Vegetables That Improve Digestion


Read 376 Gundry MD Total Restore Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 233 4 star: 90 3 star: 19 2 star: 13 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 90% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 376
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Gut Restore

    • Galesburg, MI,
    • Nov 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted a horrible intestinal bacteria (H-pylori) last year and after numerous treatments of antibiotics it went away but my stomach was never the same. I used a variety of probiotics and kefir and still had a bloated stomach.

    I've been following Plant Paradox and taking Restore for a month now and I finally see an improvement. I will be reordering soon. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Re: Herma B Arizona Sept 28, 2019

    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought 3 bottles of Total Restore recently and still have not opened it. Reading the comments, I am scared to try it. I have lupus, hypertension, and gout. Herma B thinks it works well for her but can’t afford to buy a lot of it. I would be very happy to send them back to you, for you to send them to her free of charge. Just send me a return label for free mailing. If your product can help her problem, it would be nice for her to have these 3 bottles.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Feeling better

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two clear changes in my daily routine are:

    Two regular, complete bowel movements a day. Since a bout with breast cancer, chemo, radiation in 2015/16 (I'm okay now), this function had not been "normal."

    I no longer require an afternoon nap. I do this when I can because I like it, but I am not walking around like a zombie at 2:00 in the afternoon any longer.

    I still work full time in a company I own. I am 81 years old and happily feeling great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not anything like I had hoped.

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to write that I was very disappointed in the Total Restore product. Dr. Gundry claims you will immediately feel better after taking it. I have taken this product for almost a full month. Three tablets a day. The reason I was skeptical was because I have been burned many times before with health quick fixes. I had recently had a colon at-home health test and all was negative, but from time to time I would get digestive issues, even taking a good probiotic. I found that this product did nothing it promised. In fact, I started getting constipated. I drink lots and lots of fresh Artisan Water, and thought this product may help with my digestive issues. I stopped taking my probiotic when I started taking Total Restore then. It didn't do anything. I am glad I only bought a one month supply. My advice is eat well, lots of fresh vegetables and fruits (stay away from starches and sugars, and high carbohydrates) and drink good clean waters with lemon, herbal teas/coffee, and take a good probiotic, exercise, and you will do just as well. Save the $70 and put it in your pocket for good organic produce! I didn't ask for my money back (read here people are having a hard time getting a credit) but instead will finish the product, but not recommend it to people. It didn't do a thing for me. But I suppose everyone is different. It did not make my blood pressure to go down either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Penny, I want to apologize that Total Restore was not that right fit for you. I want to note that Total Restore - and all Gundry MD formulas - are never meant to replace a healthy diet and exercise. It should not be taken as a quick health fix. We understand that everybody is different so our products may work well for some but not others which is why we have our money-back guarantee in place. I do want to thank you for giving the product a try! I have gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number that you attached with this review. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Grapefruit ingredient

    • Suisun City, CA,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received this bottle today and I already took 2 pills. I decided to read the ingredients and found out to have grapefruit in it. I cannot continue taking these pills because of the cholesterol pills that I am taking. It would be nice to warn your viewers that grapefruit is one of the ingredients. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 5, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Alida, thank you for giving the product a try! I'm sorry you are unable to continue taking Total Restore, but I do want to note that we always ask our customers to consult their physician prior to starting any new supplement. Additionally, you can find a full list of our ingredients on our official website for future reference. If you purchased from our official website, you are protected by our money-back guarantee. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will be more than happy to provide you with a full refund.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Blood pressure

    • Australia,
    • Oct 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Many years ago I developed blood pressure as many of us do (a natural phenomenon of aging it appears). I went to my GP and was prescribed medication to take which after months of adjusting became quite reliable and 15 years on continued to do the trick. I came across Total Restore on the internet and decided to place an order. I had no expectations but as we get older we will try things in an attempt to prolong old age. After a few weeks, I started experiencing similar blood pressure symptoms such as dizziness, fogginess, etc. Hmm, I thought, that the time had come that I needed to up my level of blood pressure tablets. That night I discussed with my wife and we had a thought that maybe there was a connection to Total Restore. Being an experimental type person I cut my blood pressure tablets down by half. Instantly I only felt half as bad. I cut the blood pressure tablets further until eventually, I told my wife I was going to stop taking my blood pressure medication so beware that if I rang her and said I was in trouble she would know I was serious. I understand that what I was doing is probably not recommended and maybe a bit dangerous but my gut feeling was that the blood pressure tablets were now not necessary.

    Longer story cut short is that I have been off my blood pressure tablets now for over a year. My doctor can't explain it and I have not changed my exercise or food/alcohol intake. The only change is that I had started taking Total Restore. Either for me, Total Restore has eliminated my blood pressure issue or it is a total coincidence. The decision now after taking Total Restore for over 2 years now is whether it is better cost-effective to go back to my regular blood pressure medication which costs very little in comparison to the price of Total Restore. Our currency conversion is such that it is almost $AUS100 per bottle to purchase and although I believe the tablets are doing wonderful things for my health it is also a massive outlay.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Sneaky return policy... BEWARE

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Total Restore, and took it as directed. I follow the directions to a tee. Now my review is more about the return policy than it is about the product. This product may help people, it just didn't help me.

    Having said that, here is where this company insulted my intelligence. I ordered Total Restore, I took it for about 6 weeks. I was not happy with the results and asked how I could start my 100% guarantee. Their first response was keep taking the pills we will give 30 extra days to return the product. I declined and emailed them no thank you, please start my return. Eventually they sent me a email with an attachment to print the return label. So off I go to the UPS store. I send one full unopened bottle, one partially used bottle back. This is at my expense, but I am fine with this. About a week later I receive an email I am receiving $89.90 back to my account. The problem is I paid $134.00. I then email them "Why am I not receiving my full refund!" Here is where I lost all respect for this company. Their reply was I didn't return thier EMPTY bottle back. No where was I informed to keep the bottles in the return policy. You know why? That is a rhetorical question. Luckily for me I kept the empty bottle, but now I have to box this little empty bottle and drive all the way back to the UPS store and pay shipping again.

    By the way, they told me after their handlers inspect the bottle, I will receive the rest of my refund. Most of you will realize this little scam, the rest of you GOOD LUCK!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 15, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi John, as it is industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who do not decide to send back the product containers. I am so sorry for the confusion. I will personally ensure you get a full refund; please email at aria@gundrymd.com and I will begin the refund process, no need to send anything back. Again, I want to apologize for the inconvenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    This product really works for me!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend of mine has vague autoimmune issues, so her boyfriend ordered a three-pack of Total Restore. I have lupus, so he gave me one of the bottles to try. I forgot to take them for a few days, and I got a pretty bad flare. Once I resumed taking them, my flare went away. I'm not saying it's a miracle drug, but it helped me so much. For what it is worth, I take two pills a day instead of the three recommended to try and make them last longer. I'm not sure what I will do when I run out next week, as I can't really afford to buy more for myself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore, best product ever!

    • Arizona,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi Dr. Gundry.

    I just don't understand why this product gets so much negative review. As for me, this is the best-unprescribed product I have ever used. I am very wary when it comes to ordering stuff from the internet but because I have always suffered from bloating and gas I decided to give it a try. I am glad I did. Since taking it no more bloating, no more gas, no more craving, and yes it also suppresses my appetite. I lost a few pounds too.

    The only problem I have is it's too pricey for me! I live in Canada and I have to pay extra for shipping and handling, plus exchange rate. I am placing an order today for 1 bottle, that is all I can afford and this will be my fourth. Can you help me out? I know I will always use Total Restore! Thanks for this excellent product!

    Regards.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I been taking it for 4 days then I noticed I'm craving food, been eating more

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not working for me. I've gotten lazy and am craving food more than I ever eat, especially sugar. I started taking it for energy, I started taking naps in the afternoon. I feel really tired, I can’t use the bathroom like before. I'd like to know is this normal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 18, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      I'm sorry to read that this was your experience with Total Restore! That's not typical for taking this product but we understand that everybody is different. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to take care of your order for you. Thank you for giving the product a try.


  • 8 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Completely useless

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is an overpriced snake oil that provides zero benefits and you put your health at risk taking this product. I wouldn't trust some rich Beverly Hills doctor to make a product that is good for me and has no oversight for the health and wellness benefit in any way. He is just taking your hard-earned money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Cheryl, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way about our company. I would encourage you to try a few of our products, if you haven't already, so you can experience their amazing benefits yourself. And if you find that they do not work for you, we offer a 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee. Dr. Gundry wouldn't create products that he doesn't wholeheartedly believe in. His extensive career as a world-renowned Cardiothoracic Surgeon as well as his independent research, makes him incredibly knowledgeable in the world of health and wellness. I hope this clears up any confusion. Please e-mail me at Aria@Gundrymd.com if you decide to give one of our products a try or if you have any further questions.


Showing 1-11 of 376

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review