Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Gundry MD Total Restore Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Gundry MD Total Restore

Overall Rating

4.3

568 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a dietary supplement that is designed to fight leaky gut with a blend of natural ingredients. This supplement is pricey and scientific support for the primary proposed action is lacking, so you may not get what you bargain for.

Pros

  • Favorable return policy
  • Natural blend with some support for various benefits

Cons

  • Research supporting the ability to improve leaky gut is lacking
  • Extremely expensive

Gundry MD Total Restore Review - Does It Work As Advertised?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: May 14, 2020

What is Total Restore?

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a supplement that will allegedly help you fight leaky gut through a blend of natural ingredients.

The term “leaky gut” refers to a process in which the lining of your digestive tract is more absorbent than it should be. This increases the risk of harmful toxins to seep out of your intestines and into areas of your body where they may cause harm.

According to Gundry MD, this can result in signs and symptoms like bloating, digestive irregularity, gas, fatigue, excess body weight, and even food cravings.

There are a number of causes for these symptoms, and just as many potential remedies. Total Restore from Gundry MD allegedly offers a natural option. In fact, according to the product page, you can expect the following by taking 3 capsules daily with the largest meal of your day:

  • Better digestion
  • Improved gas, constipation, and irregularity
  • Less bloating and a flatter stomach
  • Reduced cravings
  • A healthier body weight
  • More mobility and decreased joint pain and stiffness
  • Increased energy
  • Improved mood

As you may notice, many of these claims are seemingly unrelated to digestive health. While these benefits are obviously desirable, it seems like this is a lot to accomplish for a single dietary supplement.

In this article, we’ll help you sort through these claims and evaluate their merit by reviewing the available research for Total Restore’s key ingredients.

Total Restore Ingredients: Does Science Back Them Up?

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a dietary supplement that is designed to fight leaky gut through a blend of natural ingredients.

While increased permeability of the intestinal lining may allow harmful toxins into areas of the body they shouldn’t be, the link to this process and chronic disease outside of the gastrointestinal tract is uncertain. Therefore, leaky gut is not a widely accepted medical diagnosis.

Currently, there does not seem to be any interventions that are effective in improving the function of this barrier or altering the course of any associated diseases.

Nonetheless, Total Restore may be able to address other issues.

Each 3-capsule serving contains the following ingredients:

  • L-Glutamine - 213mg
  • N-Acetyl- D-Glucosamine (NAG) - 142mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (MBH)- 86mg
  • Grape Seed Extract - 58mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder - 54mg
  • Wormwood Powder - 50mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder - 50mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract - 34mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Organic Raspberry, Organic Blueberry, Organic Tart Cherry, Organic Elderberry, and Organic Cranberry - 22mg total
  • Cloves Buds Powder - 17mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Power - 17mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract - 17mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder - 10mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine - 10mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder - 3mg

We’ll highlight the available research for some of the key ingredients here.

L-Glutamine

Glutamine is an amino acid. It’s commonly included in dietary supplements that claim to boost immune function, support digestive health, and support brain function.

It may be included in Total Restore for its suspected ability to enhance mental function, though 2,000mg doses negatively affected the ability of individuals to complete reaction time tasks. Even at large doses, this ingredient does not seem to be effective for these purposes.

NAG

NAG is derived from shellfish and is proposed to protect your digestive tract from the harmful effects of gluten.

In a laboratory model, NAG was effective in limiting the harmful effects of rye, barley, and oat glutens in small intestinal cells obtained from 26 children with gluten intolerance.

Data supporting the use of NAG is lacking outside of this study is lacking, however.

MBH

Beta-hydroxybutyrate is an exogenous ketone, one that is created outside your body. Like other Gundry MD products, it is probably included in Total Restore as ketones may be used as a source of energy.

However, your body preferentially burns carbohydrates for energy - if you follow a regular diet, fats will not be used for this purpose. Therefore, the suspected ability to boost energy and promote brain function is only possible when carbs are not present.

Zinc

Zinc is an essential mineral that has a role in many biochemical reactions. Thus, a deficiency can lead to a variety of unwanted effects.

Zinc is included in Total Restore for its suspected role in promoting weight loss, energy, and mental function.

Low zinc levels were associated with obesity, elevated BMI, and larger waist circumference in premenopausal women.

In a randomized study, 30mg of zinc daily over 4-weeks reduced the BMI and body weight of obese individuals.

Lastly, in individuals 70-years or older, 150gm of zinc protected against cognitive decline when compared to placebo.

Cinnamon Bark

This spice is often included in dietary supplements for its suspected ability to offer antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and disease-fighting benefits.

While a review of 10 trials found 120mg/d - 6 g doses to effectively reduce fasting blood sugar over 4 to 18-weeks, digestion related benefits were not well supported.

Berberine

Berberine is a plant-based ammonium salt that may possess anti-inflammatory, neuroprotective, and diabetes-fighting properties.

In a randomized trial, individuals with metabolic syndrome that took 500mg three times daily over 3-months had remission of the syndrome, better insulin sensitivity, and improved waist circumference.

Black Pepper

Black pepper may offer antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and disease-fighting capabilities.

In Total Restore, black pepper may function as a prebiotic to help boost your friendly gut bacteria. In overweight subjects, 6mg of black pepper was also effective in decreasing BMI and body fat.

Is Total Restore Safe?

As many of the ingredients found in Total Restore are obtained naturally from a balanced diet, they are generally safe to consume in the quantities offered in this supplement.

Your biggest risk for harm may come from delaying appropriate medical attention for the symptoms you’re experiencing. Using a dietary supplement that doesn’t address the underlying cause can allow them to persist or even worsen.

Additionally, you should avoid Total Restore if you have an allergy as NAG is obtained from shellfish.

For these reasons, It is best to speak with your physician before trying to treat symptoms. The first step should always be to determine the underlying source. You can then work together to determine the safest plan of care.

Total Restore Cost

You can purchase Total Restore directly from Gundry MD’s website. There are a few pricing options, and all orders over $60 ship free.

For non-members, Total Restor pricing is as follows:

  • $69.95 for one bottle
  • $191.85 for three bottles
  • $317.70 for six bottles

Also, you have the option to join the VIP program. This subscription plan includes automatic monthly shipments, as well as more savings and free shipping. You can cancel shipments at any time, and VIP pricing is as follows:

  • $44.95 per month for one bottle
  • $121.95 per month for three bottles
  • $229.95 per month for six bottles

Gundry MD backs your purchases with a 90-day money-back guarantee. If you aren’t happy with Toral Restore, you can contact customer support at (800) 852-0477 to start the refund process.

What Are the Alternatives to Total Restore?

While Total Restore’s blend of ingredients is challenging to find offered in a single supplement, other supplements claim to address leaky gut.

Also from Gundry MD, Lectin Shield is a good example. It allegedly offers benefits that are identical to those that Total Restore is proposed to address, though the mechanism of action and ingredients list for these 2 supplements differ substantially.

Lectin Shield is purported to act by limiting the actions of lectin, a protein found in both animals and plants that may play a role in various digestive issues and chronic medical conditions. It offers twice as much NAD in addition to a number of other extracts.

Considering the cost of Total Restore, you’d save money with Lectin Shield; 1 and 6-bottle orders are $50 and $240, respectively.

Though the risk for harm is low, Lectin Shield is still quite pricey. Also, the research supporting the actions of the ingredients is limited, and the company claims it can address an issue that is not currently supported as a medical diagnosis.

Despite a favorable return policy, you should save your money and seek the guidance of your doctor if you’re experiencing digestive symptoms.

The Bottom Line

Total Restore’s blend of natural ingredients has varying support for their proposed actions. However, scientific support backing the main benefit of this supplement, addressing leaky gut, is lacking.

Despite a favorable return policy, Total Restore is still one of the pricier dietary supplements that we’ve reviewed at HighYa.

Though the risk for serious side effects is likely low, given the pricing and lack of strong evidence, it is probably best that you seek relief elsewhere.

If you’re experiencing digestive symptoms that are negatively impacting your quality of life, your first stop should be having a conversation with your doctor. While dietary supplements may be helpful, it is best to first understand the source of your symptoms.

Customer Reviews

4.3 Stars out of 568 Reviews
5 Star:61% 4 Star:24% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:6%
89% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Gundry MD Total Restore:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 21, 2021

Buyer beware!

By Anne E., Mission Viejo, CA, Verified Reviewer

I’ve purchased Total Restore 34 days ago! I watch the infomercial and believed Dr. Gundry. I am in great health! I take no medications and I eat well and exercise regularly. I bought it because I had occasional constipation and I thought that could be a nice boost for my digestive system. Other than that I really didn’t need anything!

I started taking the three pills in the morning before breakfast and I was feeling kind of sick. Then I did some more research and I saw that Dr. Gundry believes it’s best to take them with your biggest meal of the day, so week two I was doing that, thinking that the other way I was doing it was wrong and that’s why I was not feeling well.

After two weeks into this, I’m starting to feel really bad and bloated and gassy and tremendous pain in my abdomen. Week three I call and I say I am in terrible abdominal pain and I’m not experiencing any good benefits at this point and the lady on the other end of the phone said hang in there until one full month and you will see the amazing benefits. I asked her if she was sure if I would feel better and she said absolutely you will. I got to the point where I could not sleep and in the end I could not eat any solid food without excruciating pain. Ended up after day 30 discontinuing.

I am now on a liquid diet and I cannot eat solids! My insides are swollen and everything feels just awful inside my gut and my entire intestines. Do not buy this product! It can really really hurt you! I wonder how long it will be before I am back to my normal self. Believe it or not today I noticed that only 34 days after I bought the three-month supply I was charged on my credit card AGAIN for another three months. Unbelievable!

Don’t trust these lies! Beware beware beware.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Horrible pain

Expensive pain

Brutal experience

Company Response from Gundry MD

Jul 22, 2021

Hello Anne. My name is Aria, I am with Gundry MD. I would like to apologize on behalf of Gundy MD for your customer service experience. We hold our agents to high standards and we regret that you did not receive the service you deserve. While many of our customers enjoy our formula, we do understand that it may not be for everyone. For this reason we stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. I have escalated your review to our Customer Relations Team, so that an agent may provide you with personalized care and ensure you are refunded for your order. If you ever have any questions, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Have a nice day.

Posted on May 29, 2021

Made me feel sick

By Maida M., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

I ordered one bottle of this and at the end of my transaction, I was prompted to purchase 3 more. Thus I ended up with 4 bottles. I had high hopes. After a week, I could not stop going to the bathroom - feeling nausea. This continued through the entire first bottle and me ultimately having bleeding along with all bathroom trips. This product made me feel so sick and I had such high expectations after watching Dr. Grundy's video. My Primary said for me to stop taking it immediately.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Prompted to buy 4 bottles before I even tried 1.

How sick it made me feel.

Company Response from Gundry MD

Jun 4, 2021

Hello Maida. My name is Aria, I am with Gundry MD. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. It is not uncommon to experience die-off symptoms, such as frequent restroom visits when first adding a new supplement to your regimen. However, it is not typical to experience this to the extent that you had while using our formula. As always, we recommend consulting with your physician before adding a new supplement to your regimen. I have escalated your review to our Customer Relations Team so that an agent may provide you with personalized care and ensure you receive a full refund. If you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 8, 2021

Worst customer service ever!

By Angelee E., Iowa, Verified Reviewer

The customer service of Total Restore is only available when selling you something. If you need to cancel your order, even if you email them THREE weeks ahead of the shipping date they “didn’t receive it in time” and then will make you pay the $40 in return shipping. And it’ll take weeks to get it all done because they are “so busy”. Except I never had any problems until I needed help with a return.

Worst customer service I’ve ever dealt with. And for the big price, they should be able to afford some manners. I am no longer willing to buy anything from them. They will just scam you!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Shipping police

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 9, 2021

Hi Angelee, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I want to start by apologizing for the experience you had with our customer service. We strive to provide timely responses to all inquires and I'm sorry your experience was not a reflection of this. I'd like the opportunity to make this right and take a look into your account to ensure all concerns have been addressed. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2021

Cautiously optimistic

By Tina C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I have severe gastrointestinal issues brought on by surgery resection years ago. Started Total Restore about 2 weeks ago. Major shift in frequency and energy level. I have a very stressful job but am finding I have more stamina since starting. Will circle back for an update.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Medical based

Return refund policy

Ingredients

Price of product

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2021

I bloated up after about a week of using this.

By Y Q., Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I think it works for some people, not everyone. I really wished it worked for me. Please seek your doctor's advice prior to using this. Maybe I'm allergic to something in it but I'm not sure. I got bloated up for about a week after using it so I was taking it on and off for 2 months. It seemed to help with indigestion but the bloating got 50% worse. I'm still bloated and it's worse off than before I started using the product and it's been 5 months since I last used it.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 1, 2021

Hello, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience with Total Restore. As always, we ask that our customers consult their physician prior to starting any new supplement to ensure that it is right for them. We understand that everybody is different which is why we will always honor our 90-day money-back guarantee. I've gone ahead and escalated your order to our Customer Relations team, Please keep an eye out for an email from them regarding your order refund. If there are any outstanding issues, my email is aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2021

Miracle cure for leaky gut

By Elizabeth C., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I would firstly ask people to ignore the negative reviews of this product as it may not work for those people, and it's complete money back if not so there's really no harm, not sure what they have to be irate about.

Now for me personally, after one month I am witnessing nothing short of a MIRACLE for my gut issues.

I have had leaky gut for six years, spent thousands on naturopaths, herbal remedies, dieting, gyms, exercise, etc. NOTHING has helped me get my once tiny figure back and nothing has ever helped with my bloating, weight gain, and sugar cravings.

I have been taking Total Restore for around one month and bloating is gone, weight is just falling off me, and my fatigue is gone. I can only speak for myself but so far this seems to be a miracle cure for my leaky gut.

I urge anyone suffering specifically from leaky gut (as I can't speak for other gut issues) to at least try this product. I'm totally shocked that this appears to be working for me! Really is a miracle! And though it may seem expensive, personally I would be willing to pay a lot more for these results!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Miracle cure for leaky gut

Not too expensive

Fast delivery in the mail

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 8, 2020

Total Restore review

By Sebastien ME P., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

This is not a fake review. To prove it, I'll say that I'm skeptical of most products he prescribes, but Total Restore really helped! I used to often have gas build-up around the sternum area that I had to "burp" up to relieve the discomfort. After taking the product for a month (3 pills a day), that chronic long term problem is completely gone. It came back very slightly, after I stopped taking it for a few months and ate greasy/sweet food, and disappeared again after taking it again for a week. Now, I just have one (1) pill every 3 or 4 days for maintenance, and that keeps any issues at bay. I'm shocked it worked. Having said that, I'm not recommending any other products which I haven't tried, and may or may not work (again I'm skeptical of most advertised "miracle" cures, lol). This one may or may not help you.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Total Restore

The price

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2020

Horrible experience, all products in the garbage

By Lise L., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Took 3 months to arrive. After 3 weeks, experienced heartburns every day and disturbed sleep. My friend and I both stopped taking it. Will have to destroy 3 bottles. You cannot write a review on their website which is severely unethical. Please do not waste your money and hope. Once you order they try to upsell for about 10 minutes, having to decline another 15 screens. That should have been a red flag. Wish I had listened to my gut and cancel the order.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Hard sell

Delivery took 3 months

Product is harmful

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 30, 2020

Something finally worked

By Mary K., Nova Scotia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have had gut problems since age 26 and have addressed them with probiotics/diet and other methods for years. I am 60 and those things started not to work. With Dr. Gundry, I am having regular BM for the first time in years without irritating my gut. It is really expensive so I bought a three-year supply and got it half price. My only concern is wondering if my body becomes dependent on it (like Senna) and I am researching that and I wonder about the long-term effects. However, it has really helped my diverticulitis, IBS, and gut allergies.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The product works and is gentle

I get my order right away

Too expensive so ordered in bulk

Very flashy sales pitch that you HAVE to watch

Don't like being on a subscription so ordered in bulk

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 2, 2020

Company is not reputable, beware

By Martha S., Tijeras, NM, Verified Reviewer

Dear Dr. Gundry:

Your greed knows no bounds. Why is your default on orders of Total Restore 6 bottles or 6-month supply once a month? Ridiculous! And of course, the cost of the return is mine to bear...how sad. Your policy has lost you a customer. How disappointing are you and your company practices. I ordered a 6-month supply and in less than a month received another 6-month supply, which I had to return at my expense. Ridiculous!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Sep 2, 2020

Hello Martha, we're sorry to hear about your experience. It is never our intent to confuse our customers. Any additional offers presented during checkout always have a visible option to decline. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to issue a total refund. I want to apologize for the inconvenience. I've taken a look into your account and have seen that you've been fully refunded and your subscription has been canceled. If you have any outstanding issues, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2020

Done with 3rd bottle

By Wayne T., Red Lion, PA, Verified Reviewer

I cannot say it worked for me. All bodies are different and for some, it works well, others like me feel it might be that magic pill that turns the corner to relieve many of the symptoms it reports to relieve. For me, it does not. I experience more of the listed side effects than the benefits so I will stop using and try to return the 3 unopened bottles I bought from the 6-bottle special purchase. I will also give them away if a return or refund is not possible, being I have just passed the 90-day refund period.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Less bowel issues

Side effects

Company Response from Gundry MD

Sep 2, 2020

Hi Wayne, thank you for giving our Total Restore a try. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We understand that while the majority of our customers are happy with our products, everyone is different. We always stand by our 90-Day Money-Back guarantee. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com so I can collect some more information about your experience and see what I can do with assisting with a refund. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-11 of 568

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.