About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 3, 2019

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $191.85 ($63.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $317.70 ($52.95 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

» Recommended Reading: Best Grains, Fruits, and Vegetables That Improve Digestion

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 367 Gundry MD Total Restore Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 228 4 star: 90 3 star: 17 2 star: 11 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 90% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 367
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • I been taking it for 4 days then I noticed I'm craving food, been eating more

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not working for me. I've gotten lazy and am craving food more than I ever eat, especially sugar. I started taking it for energy, I started taking naps in the afternoon. I feel really tired, I can’t use the bathroom like before. I'd like to know is this normal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 18, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      I'm sorry to read that this was your experience with Total Restore! That's not typical for taking this product but we understand that everybody is different. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to take care of your order for you. Thank you for giving the product a try.


  • 3 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Completely useless

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is an overpriced snake oil that provides zero benefits and you put your health at risk taking this product. I wouldn't trust some rich Beverly Hills doctor to make a product that is good for me and has no oversight for the health and wellness benefit in any way. He is just taking your hard-earned money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Cheryl, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way about our company. I would encourage you to try a few of our products, if you haven't already, so you can experience their amazing benefits yourself. And if you find that they do not work for you, we offer a 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee. Dr. Gundry wouldn't create products that he doesn't wholeheartedly believe in. His extensive career as a world-renowned Cardiothoracic Surgeon as well as his independent research, makes him incredibly knowledgeable in the world of health and wellness. I hope this clears up any confusion. Please e-mail me at Aria@Gundrymd.com if you decide to give one of our products a try or if you have any further questions.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • New York,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have been taking this for a few months now and with great results. I have more energy and have replaced my migraine medication, so far no problems. I am trying to get my husband to use as well for his aches and pains but he is reluctant.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did not know that it contained grapefruit and I am not able to have that with the meds that I take. You should make it a point to put that in your ad. I have been taking it for 2 days before I was told not to.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 5, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Lacey, I'm very sorry to hear that you're unable to take Total Restore. As always, we ask that all of our customers consult their physician prior to beginning any new supplement. All of our products and their ingredients can be found on our official website. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    So very disappointed

    • Westlock, Alberta, Canada,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For all the health claims Total Restore was making I believed it would help me...there is obviously an ingredient or ingredients that my body is not liking. I have been having vertigo nausea and headaches since taking Total Restore. And most importantly my bowel function which was very regular is terrible. I have never been constipated and now suffer from that. You offer a 90-day guarantee and I would like my money back. I am very very unhappy with this product after having ordered a three month supply and then paying over thirty dollars in duty on it as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 5, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Gisela, I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience with Total Restore. Those are not typical side effects so I ask that you stop taking Total Restore immediately. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to take care of your order for you!


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love!

    • Palm Coast, FL,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know why this product has so many negative reviews, because I LOVE it. It's helped with bloating, cravings, brain fog, and energy levels. I am very happy with this product, and I will be ordering again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bought 6 months supply

    • Michigan City, IN,
    • Aug 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't have any food allergies and I've tried so many supplements and done many cleansers. I'm hoping to give this a try since I know leaky gut is a big issue. I am a health worker and I do struggle with everyday body pain and low energy levels. If this works for me I'm hoping to recommend to my clients as I've done with previous supplements from Dr. Eric Berg.

    I'm on Day 3 and take 3 a day. First 2 days I experienced higher energy levels. Day 3 I was experiencing bloating.

    I think everybody has different experiences and sometimes the combinations of ingredients might not work for some people. Anyway, I ordered a 6-month supply and had no problems with misleading ads or being charged more on my credit card. It took maybe 5 days to process the order but once it was shipped it took 3 days to arrive.

    Anyway, I just like to thank Dr. Gundry for making an exceptional product. Even if it doesn't work for me and others I know Leaky Gut is a big issue and it's great to see newer and better products out in the market.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Very pricey to collect

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi Dr. Gundry,

    I really wanted to try your product that’s why I ordered 3 bottles. I realized it was too pricey for me because of the exchange rate. It is CDN$199. I received a notice to collect it and it cost $34 to collect it from the post office. I don’t have the money to collect it so I would like to return it and would ask for my refund. Thank you and I’m sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 27, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Dafudil, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to take care of this for you. I'm looking forward to hearing from you soon.


  • 24 out 30 people found this review helpful

    I felt deceived

    • Nebraska,
    • Aug 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was not afraid to order from Dr. Gundry because I have a very good physician friend who believes in him.

    I ordered Total Restore for my husband. This has been over a year ago now. November 21, 2018. I was going to order 3 bottles which I thought was expensive. But was determined to give it a try. Then, of course, I fell for the buy 6. I thought it meant 3 more for the same per bottle price. No. It meant 6 more at what I believe was a higher price. I can't remember the pricing and my packing slip does not show it. When I did get them and saw how much I was charged and that I got 9 bottles instead of 6 I contacted Gundry. They said the six was an additional 6 not 3 in addition to the three I wanted. They add on, add on.

    Well, to make a long story short, my husband tried it for a few weeks and seemed to not notice a difference. Now, this is my fault, but I did not realize it until it was over 90 days.

    I saw them in my cupboard when I was cleaning and have decided to try them for myself. Upon closer reading, I see they have grapefruit in them. I cannot take it due to the medicine I take.

    So I have 7 full bottles sitting. Several hundred dollars worth.

    The moral of my story is if it sounds too good to be true it probably is. Be careful when ordering from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 2, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Linda, I'm very sorry to read that Total Restore was not the right fit for you and your husband. I want to thank you for giving it a try and I ask that you email me personally at aria@gundrymd.com and I can take care of your order for you. Looking forward to your email!


  • 17 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Nothing.

    • La Quinta, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing happened. It did make me sleepy. Did nothing for me. I was hoping for the best. I really was. Is this stuff a RIP off? One tally cannot trust anyone anymore. Extremely disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 30, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Norma, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that you haven't seen the results you were expecting from taking Total Restore. We understand that everybody is different so our products may work well for some but not others. Therefore, we will always honor our 90-day money-back guarantee. With that said, I assure you that our products are made with the highest quality ingredients and go through rigorous 3rd party testing for quality and potency. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund. Thank you for giving Total Restore a try!


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore not for me

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Maybe it’s the magnesium which can be dangerous for kidney compromised patients (which I am not, I am an RN), but I’ve had the worst diarrhea. I tried it for a week or so and had serious problems with gas, etc. Stopped a couple of days and things settled down. Tried again just one capsule and it’s back.

    I wish I had researched the ingredients in this product. I see the wisdom behind "leaky gut".

    But for me, I can’t keep taking this.

    I’ll try the recipes though. For sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 29, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Dorothy, I'm very sorry that this was your reaction to Total Restore. We understand that everybody is different so this may work well for some but not others. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can take care of your order for you.


Showing 1-11 of 367

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review