About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 348 Gundry MD Total Restore Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 222 4 star: 90 3 star: 15 2 star: 10 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 348
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Product was expired

    When I got my products they were expired...clearly on the bottle says 2017. I tried calling to get a refund, was basically told I was out of luck. How can you send out expired products that cost a fortune!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 14, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Hi Cassandra, thank you for reaching out! I want to note that the date on our products is our manufactured date, not the expiration date. Total Restore is good to take for 2 years after the manufactured date. I hope this provides some clarification but if you have any other questions, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to help!


  • 26 out 32 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    No difference!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Mar 26, 2019

    Update

    After one and half months, with the same diet as I had before and no exercise, I can say that I am experiencing a very slow gradual weight loss.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Feb 6, 2019

    Misleading free shipping and hidden cost for Canadian’s order plus late arrival

    I ordered on January 5, 2019 and received the package at January 31st after I called several times to follow the reason for the delay (26 days!). Surprisingly, I was charged another $19 at Canada Post for pickup by myself!

    Really surprised that these hidden costs were not clarified during the ordering process. The total price we paid was significantly higher than we expected for such a late arrival of the product. It would be useful if they clarified this at the time of purchase and made their order process more transparent and realistic, because it could definitely affect my decision. I hope to be compensated for the inconvenience it caused.

    Anyway, it is too early to tell if the supplement works or not.

    • Feb 7, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Hi Garshsb, I'm sorry about the confusion and inconvenience during your experience. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Typically, Gundry MD is not responsible for customs charges as we have no idea when or how much will be charged. I’ll go ahead and refund your customs charges because of the miscommunication we caused. Please keep in mind that in the future we are unable to refund customs charges if an order acquires them. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and we can get this process started for you.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Hives

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product worked great on my digestive system. Took 2 days to kick in.

    Unfortunately, I had to cancel further orders due to I broke out with very itchy hives on my arms, legs, back, and neck. I went to my doctor and she thought maybe eczema or bug bites. I then went to my dermatologist and she thought the same. I was prescribed expensive cream through Walgreens pharmacy. I'm battling this but it all started after I started Total Restore.

    I decided to cancel further orders for now. I will be taking an allergy scratch test soon.

    I thought this might help if someone else develops hives. I would recommend the product, but with a warning.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Hello Thomas. I am Aria Goodman with Gundry MD. We are glad that you consulted your physician, and we always recommend that our customers seek medical advice prior to starting a new supplement. This is not a common side-effect of Total Restore. We take these things very seriously and want to make sure we know everything about your negative reaction. Please e-mail me at aria@gundrymd.com so I can issue you a full refund and receive more information.


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great product - can't wait to get more!

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think it is really important to realize and be aware of the fact that this product will most likely have the best effect when combined with a fully lectin-free diet.

    I am celiac and now for many months have been on a lectin free diet as well. Total Restore works great while I stay true to my diet. It also takes time to rebuild the gut. If you are on a lectin-free diet and also supplement with Total Restore - it may take a number of months, but you should see some great results. I really like the product and can't wait to get more. However, shipping to Canada is challenging. I expect that some of the issues have to do with the current political climate in the US where we know that shipments of anything (especially through the mail) going to Canada can and are delayed when crossing the border. The extra customs/duty costs are disappointing, but not surprising and not uncommon. We are used to it here in Canada.

    The product is still great and I am ordering again today. I am hoping to receive it in less than 30 days this time. Most of the snow is gone now so they will retire the dog sleds for a quicker mode of travel to deliver the mail.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 12, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Hello Andy. I’m Aria with Gundry MD. I’m happy to read that Total Restore has found a place in your lifestyle change. We always encourage customers to consult their physicians regarding our supplements and how they will fit on their journey to great health. I am sorry to hear that your order acquired custom charges and has taken longer than expected to reach you. Our timeline for international shipping is 14-21 business days. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries customs charges, as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Please reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com if you have any more questions.


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Total Restore

    • Kentucky,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Total Restore for not quite a week, as is someone else in the house. I have noticed my energy level is up and I am not feeling tired all the time. The other person has a chronic illness and he too has more energy. I have stopped taking all other supplements so I will know for sure it is Total Restore that is working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Very surprised!

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Dr. Grundy shake about a week ago, up until now I've made myself my own concoction of fruit, kale, flaxseed, hemp, almonds, and acai juice, I add agave to tolerate. All when my new shake mix arrived, I had great doubt about the first claim that it tasted good! I had purchased four different shake mixes, one taste worse than the next. So with my dread, I mixed up a chocolate shake!

    Wow, what a surprise, the taste was doable and I didn't dread it. Maybe I should say it was the best I've had after all! So if you are considering trying these shakes, don't be afraid, it will not be drinkable, the taste is good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Customs

    • Oldham, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was so looking forward to trying this new and inspiring treatment, but unfortunately, the Customs charge was almost a much as the cost of the 6 bottles I had already paid for. They wanted me to pay £80 before I could collect the parcel. All too much for me I'm afraid, so no choice but to let it be returned to sender, and hope that I get my money refunded. So disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 1, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Dorothy, I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't able to give Total Restore a try. Unfortunately, we have no control over a country's customs charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Gundry MD is not responsible for customs charges as we have no idea when or how much you will be charged. We'll be sure to refund your order when we receive the products. If you have any questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    No cravings

    • Fitchburg, WI,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I purchased Restore, it seemed like it would be something that could help me curb my sugar habit. I was totally surprised when I started to feel different within a week or so of taking Restore. I actually can stay away from sweet treats (anything from a bag of candy to pie to...you name it. I have THE hardest time keeping an arm's length away from sweets and have for a VERY long time. My grocery list changed. I now purchase celery, grapes, tuna, white chunk chicken, etc.

    Seems odd but without even keeping track, my body went that way on its own while using Restore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 34 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Great costumer service

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am taking the Total Restore for over a month now with some improvement. It is a bit pricey, but if my condition gets better, I will definitely buy it again.

    What impressed me was the great customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Feb 27, 2019

    Disappointed

    I ordered six bottles of Total Restore in December 2018 for me and my family and when I went to pick up my order at the post office, I had to pay $56 handling fees. I was disappointed that this was not disclosed.

    In January my credit card was charged another 6 bottles, $320 Canadian plus the handling fee. I was out almost $800.

    When I called customer service, the representative politely informed me that they can offer 40% off the second shipment but there is nothing else they can do.

    I never signed up for automatic order so they just sent me another shipment knowing that I will probably not return it due to the numerous fees:

    1) $54 handling fee.

    2) US exchange fees.

    3) Return fees.

    Since we only noticed a 10 to 20% improvement in our digestive health, we will return both shipments.

    There are many great products out there with an excellent reputation, and unfortunately, this is not one of them.

    If you wish to avoid frustration, stay away from this product.

    • Feb 28, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Mariana, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Typically, Gundry MD is not responsible for custom charges as we have no idea when or how much you will be charged. In regards to your extra 6 bottles, I'd be happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can get that process started for you right away.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Improved my bowel disease significantly

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had non-specific Crohn's Colitis for 30 years. For the past two years, I have been extremely ill with it and mainstream doctors' only real solution was immune suppressants which I consider a bandaid. I decided to try Total Restore as when I read the ingredients list, many were items I had researched and or tried individually over the years. I am happy to say it has given me hope. I have seen more actual healing in the past two months than in the previous two years on various medications supplied by my regular medical doctors and specialists. While I do feel it may bother my joints very slightly for the first hour or so after I take it and will be doing some research around products for the same purpose by other companies, I will definitely continue to take it as I have gone from a intestine full of bleeding ulcers that regular meds were barely controlling and walking around with an ice pack on my stomache and heating pads on my back to only occasionally needing to apply one or another and from difficult multi-times a day make me cry bowel movements down to 4-5 times a day and significantly less pain with those movements and no more bleeding ulcers plus an increased desire to eat.

    So despite the cost and minor concerns re-aches when initially take it, I would totally recommend it as a try for anyone who was suffering as I have been.

    At New Years, Gundry had a half price sale and I ordered six bottles (no on-going order) and have given a bottle to my daughter, who has lost her large intestine to the disease, but struggles with pouchitis and other issues still and to a friend who is also not finding relief from mainstream medicine and also does not want to take immune suppressants. I did get charged shipping to Canada and did get dinged by customs, but the end result was still what I consider a reasonable cost given contents. $50 CAD per bottle. I have literally just given bottles within the past week and past day so results are yet to come in from them.

    To the owner of this site. A list of other products and a review of them would definitely be more helpful than just telling us you researched it. Thank you. Also, half star options would be nice as while I consider it a great product and would recommend it, I do have some minor concerns.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Just received

    • New Hampshire,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my shipment in the mail today. I have yet to try it out. I watched a video and it said it helped with more energy and weight loss. I am battling fatigue and weight gain on a regular basis along with migraines with no explanation from the doctor as everything is "normal." I'm seeing a lot of reviews on the gut and regulation and am now wondering if I made the wrong purchase, as that wasn't my focus. I will try it out and see how it goes. The pills are really big, and I have an issue taking large capsules, so that is a little concerning to see if this will even be doable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Gundry MD

      Hi Erika, supporting your gut is key to keeping you healthy, comfortable, and energized every day. Total Restore was formulated to boost feelings of energy and focus while helping combat out-of-control food cravings. As always, we ask that you consult your physician prior to starting any new supplement, and with your physician's approval, I encourage you to give Total Restore a try! If you are unimproved or dissatisfied with the product, we will always stand by our 90-day money back guarantee so please don't hesitate to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund. In regards to the pill size, Total Restore will be just as effective if you prefer to open up the pill and add the contents to your morning coffee or smoothie. I hope this helped!


Showing 1-11 of 348

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review