About Gundry MD Total Restore

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 3, 2018

Using a blend of 16 dynamically effective all-natural ingredients, the Gundry MD Total Restore dietary supplement promises to help promote a healthy gut lining, protect your body from endotoxin overload, and promote full-body wellness.

As a result, the website reports you can expect reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation caused by "leaky gut"; boosted energy, relief from achy muscles and joints, and help to combat food cravings. Just take three easy-to-swallow capsules once per day, with your biggest meal. Or, one capsule three times a day, if you prefer.

When used as directed, the Gundry MD site tells us that many Total Restore users report “a distinct improvement in digestion, energy, and overall health within just a few days,” with the most dramatic results evident after two to three weeks.

If you’re experiencing these symptoms on a regular basis, it might seem like a no-brainer to place an order. But can you realistically expect Total Restore to deliver on Gundry MD’s promises? Let’s kick things off by taking a closer look at the condition it’s supposed to address.

What Do Medical Professionals Say About Leaky Gut Syndrome?

The Mayo Clinic explains that a single layer of cells in the intestines, connected by something called ‘tight junctions,' is all that separates its contents from the rest of the body. And while these cells were once thought to be static, the medical community has since observed that they’re “dynamic gatekeepers, opening and closing in response to dietary factors, neuronal signals, and pathogens.”

In some instances, though, WebMD reports that these tight junctions don’t work properly and can leak substances (such as the endotoxins mentioned on the Total Restore website) into the bloodstream, leading to symptoms like bloating, gas, cramps, food sensitivities, and aches and pains—a condition informally known as “leaky gut.” This is especially common among those with celiac disease and Crohn’s disease.

However, many individuals without these diseases report symptoms consistent with leaky gut, although Donald Kirby, MD, director of the Center for Human Nutrition at the Cleveland Clinic, emphasizes, “from an MD’s standpoint, it’s a very gray area.”

Basically, "leaky gut really means you’ve got a diagnosis that still needs to be made,” he says. “You hope that your doctor is a good-enough Sherlock Holmes, but sometimes it is very hard to make a diagnosis.”

Linda A. Lee, MD, a gastroenterologist and director of the Johns Hopkins Integrative Medicine and Digestive Center, adds: “In the absence of evidence, we don’t know what it means or what therapies can directly address it.” In other words, “with leaky gut, the evidence – about what causes it and how to treat it – has yet to fully accumulate.”

With these important details in mind, how does Total Restore advertise that it can help address leaky gut symptoms?

Taking a Closer Look at Total Restore’s Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the Gundry MD website, Total Restore contains the following ingredients:

  • Magnesium 7 mg
  • Zinc 2 mg
  • L-Glutamine 213 mg
  • N-Acetyl D-Glucosamine 142 mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate 86 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract 58 mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder 54 mg
  • Wormwood Powder 50 mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder 50 mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract 34 mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Raspberry, Blueberry, Tart Cherry, Elderberry, and Cranberry (VitaBerry) 22 mg
  • Cloves Buds Powder 17 mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Powder 17 mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract 17 mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder 10 mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine (Pepsin Gl) 10 mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder 3 mg

As we learned in the previous section, there aren’t any formal treatments used to address leaky gut. But can any of this supplement’s ingredients address symptoms commonly reported by the condition’s sufferers?

Based on what we learned from the summaries of the available clinical evidence provided by sites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database, oral magnesium (no dosages listed) may help reduce symptoms of gastroesophageal reflux disease, or GERD, which might be experienced by some leaky gut sufferers.

Similarly, licorice may help ease indigestion (again, no dosages listed), although in clinical studies, it was used alongside other ingredients like milk thistle, peppermint leaf, German chamomile, caraway, celandine, angelica, lemon balm either, and clown's mustard plant.

Outside of magnesium and licorice, though, these same sites indicate that Total Restore’s remaining ingredients have insufficient clinical evidence supporting claims that they can address side effects caused by leaky gut.

Could Total Restore’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

According to the Gundry MD website, Total Restore should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people, although they recommend speaking with your doctor before taking any new dietary supplement.

With this said, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that licorice (no dosages or other specifics provided) is possibly unsafe “when used orally in large amounts for several weeks or smaller amounts for longer periods of time.” Similarly, while no specifics were provided, marshmallow can sometimes lead to low blood pressure.

They also emphasize that grapefruit, whether added to your diet or taken as medicine, can interact with many different medications, so you’ll doubly want to speak with your doctor beforehand.

Finally, we’re told that there isn’t enough known about potential side effects or safety of taking Maitake mushroom or medicinal amounts of cloves.

How Much Does Total Restore Cost?

Gundry MD has priced Total Restore as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 per jar)

Regardless of which option you choose, your order will come with free shipping. All Gundry MD supplements also come with a 90-day refund policy, which you can request by reaching out to customer service at 800-852-0477

What Do We Know About Dr. Steven Gundry & Gundry MD?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a cardiovascular disease specialist and thoracic surgeon who graduated from the Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine and has been practicing since the late 1970s. In that time, his bio reports that he’s patented nine cardiac surgery devices.

Currently, Dr. Gundry focuses on nutrition and has authored several books on the topic, including recent titles like “The Plant Paradox” and “Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution.”

From a company perspective, Gundry MD has been in business since 2016 and manufactures other popular dietary supplements like Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Glucose Defense.

They held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 12 customer reviews and 27 closed complaints, as of 1/3/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around refund concerns. In each instance, a company representative responded.

Are There Other Leaky Gut Supplements Competing with Total Restore?

Searching online marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon.com for variations of terms like ‘leaky gut supplement’ and ‘intestinal permeability supplement’ returned several dozen options competing with the product in question, with most ranging between $20 and $40.

None contained the exact same formulation, though, so if you’re interested in these same ingredients in the same dosages, Gundry MD’s Total Restore is currently your only option. Does that necessarily mean it’s your best option, though?

Not to sound like a broken record, but it’s important to reemphasize Donald Kirby, MD’s quote from earlier: “From an MD’s standpoint, [leaky gut] is a very gray area.” In other words, even with a medical degree, your doctor might have to put on their Sherlock Holmes hat to help you find meaningful relief from your symptoms.

With this in mind, your first step toward finding a solution should be speaking with your primary care physician. If they recommend a dietary supplement as a valuable use of your money, after years of research into the topic, we recommend only doing business with companies who:

  • Support their advertising claims with peer-reviewed clinical research
  • Provide a complete list of ingredients, including dosages
  • Price their products competitively
  • Offer at least 30-day refund policies on open bottles, with no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

In the light of these criteria, how does Total Restore look?

Our Final Thoughts About Gundry MD Total Restore

Total Restore comes from a company with a few years in business and almost wholly positive online customer reviews, while all of their supplements come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. As such, if you decide to give it a try and find yourself dissatisfied, you might not be out much more than a few dollars in return shipping.

Furthermore, their website offers visitors a complete supplement facts label, including dosages and no proprietary blends, and the product comes with a price that’s in line with much of the competition.

With this said, your doctor can almost certainly help point you in the right direction as far as a) whether or not your intestines have a permeability problem to begin with, and b) whether or not a supplement like Total Restore will deliver meaningful value for the money. So, be sure to discuss the situation with them prior to placing an order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

131 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Total Restore

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 80 4 star: 43 3 star: 4 2 star: 2 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 98% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Gut health made easy

    • Winder, GA,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was put on an antibiotic for six months for my rosacea flare and I knew I would need something to counteract being on an antibiotic. I have not been on in seven or so years and knew I would need to keep my gut health in order to survive the effects that it has on my gut. This product helped keep me regular and not feeling bloated. I would highly recommend this to all my friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent product

    • Farmington, WV,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After I began taking the Total Restore, I have been able to rest comfortably at night without suffering from indigestion. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who suffers from indigestion or stomach upsets.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Total Restore

    • Nevada,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total Restore has given my life back again. I am 68 years old. I was diagnosed last year with microscopic lymphocytic colitis. For years I have suffered with the anxiety and pain of not knowing when diarrhea was going to strike. Where ever I was, I would scope out the restroom or bathroom in case it strikes. It was a constant fear.

    I have been taking Total Restore for about seven months, and it has completely changed my life. The fear is gone. I am confident in going out and living life as a normal person. I am so pleased with Total Restore results.

    Thank you Dr. Grundy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Shift to health

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently completed 90 days of Total Restore and then got complete blood work done. Results show my system moved toward more healthy parameters. For diabetes indicators, A1C decreased 1 point, cholesterol decreased 31 points, and LDL (bad) cholesterol decreased by 24 points. I ate my regular diet and didn't experience anything negative with my system in that time period. No rumbling, no bloating, good sleep, control over minimal cravings. Those are good things. I'm going to reorder.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A miracle

    • Oregon,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hospitalized back in February for E. coli poisoning. Doctors told me it may be due to leaky gut syndrome. Now, mind you, up until Dr. Gundry's Total Restore, I was spiraling down fast. What I used to be - active, trim, fit was merely a shadow of me now. I've survived stage four duodenum cancer with surgery radiation chemo, pulmonary embolism, four blood transfusions, last staph infection with 16 weeks antibiotic infusion. Latest E. coli poisoning with three weeks of antibiotic infusions. I was told possible leaky gut syndrome but nobody bothered to mention how to make it better.

    Stephen Gundry had a video on Google and me and a co-worker listened. I felt so horrible, I was desperate for change for the better. Upon receiving my first bottle, I immediately had impressive dramatic results.

    1. Cravings for sugar (two Coca-Cola) gone.

    2. Horrible bedsweats all gone.

    3. A desire to eat healthy and take better care of myself replaced my "I just don't care" attitude.

    4. Energy and stamina through the roof.

    5. My mental clarity is better than it has been for I don't know how long.

    I truly feel my brain and body are nourished now like they should be. I'm 52 years old and work for the state of Oregon. I have increased my stair climbing reps from 3 to 30. Here's the miracle - I'm only on my fifth day of taking Total Restore three times a day as the bottle suggested. I'm deffinately going to continue taking his products. God bless you, Dr. Gundry, for giving my life back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No sign of Barrett's now

    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was diagnosed with Barrett's and has had gut punch feeling and difficulty eating almost anything. He had a repeat Endoscopy last week which showed no evidence of Barrett's. About the time he started taking Total Restore his symptoms lessened (about one month prior to the repeat Endo), and he was able to eat more variety in foods. He also had to continue a very low dose of Omeprazole for a few months which did not seem to impact his symptoms prior to taking Total Restore. I've had esophageal reflux as well and am taking Restore. My symptoms are abating somewhat despite not changing my diet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Free man again

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was diagnosed with colitis a few years back, went to Stanford University medical and they took care of my problem. For two years I was fine, then my symptoms started up again. I didn't want to go back to my doctors because the medication that helped me also made me sick-feeling. I started Dr. Gundry's Total Restore. You have to give it time to start working, and it does start working, I can leave my house again. I made contact with my doctor and am going in for check up and showing him Total Restore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Immediate results!

    • Anna Maria, FL,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just finished my first 30 days of Total Restore. Wow! For a long time, I had experienced what I call an “inexplicable bloating.”

    Within 3-4 days, I noticed a dramatic change and it has continued. No bloating, even by the end of the day, I'm hooked!

    Two days ago, I purchased “The Plant Paradox” and now home from family time out of state, am going to dig into it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fabulous product!

    First of all, I would like to thank Dr. Gundry for his incredible brilliance in designing his wonderful and very thoughtfully and carefully created products to help re-direct and keep our systems become and remain as healthy as possible as we age.

    Total Restore has, in the three months I've been taking it, done exactly what Dr. Gundry said it would: it has helped my fatigue (even helping my energy while helping my beautiful, brilliant, blinded 97+-year-old Navy girl mom fight through her end of life experiences and hospice), focus, and tough mood swings. It has really helped my gas and bloating. I have arthritis throughout my body and joints and have noticed my discomfort is much less.

    I will continue to use and recommend Dr. Gundry's Total Restore to make sure I continue to feel great!

    On a side note, I love my Vital Reds combined with my chocolate ProPlant Complete Shake every morning, my terrific Energy Renew about 10 am daily, as well as my delicious dark chocolate Heart Defense daily mid-afternoon snack. In addition to being more careful (trying Dr. Gundry's suggestions) about what I eat, and exercising daily, I have trimmed up and feel SO much better with all of my stress thanks to Dr. Gundry's fantastic products and ideas!

    Thank you, Dr. Gundry! You're the best! And all of your cool tips!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing results

    • Strasburg, PA,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was plagued with loose bowel problems for years. Along with body aches and leg pain. Since being on Total Restore for just 30 days, I can feel a difference in the way I feel in general. My bowels seem to be operating in a totally different way. No more liquid bowel movements, everything is formed, I am amazed. The leg pain I have had also is going away. I was able to do a deep knee bends without much difficulty.

    I am a believer in Total Restore. Thank you Dr. Gundry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Expected more

    • Eagan, MN,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sleeping a bit better and gas is less. No weight loss, even though I am mindful of my nutrition intake. I take it every morning, and I expected more by now. Maybe I need to take more product more often. What is the limit recommendation?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 131

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review