Gundry MD Total Restore Review - Does It Work As Advertised?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: May 14, 2020

What is Total Restore?

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a supplement that will allegedly help you fight leaky gut through a blend of natural ingredients.

The term “leaky gut” refers to a process in which the lining of your digestive tract is more absorbent than it should be. This increases the risk of harmful toxins to seep out of your intestines and into areas of your body where they may cause harm.

According to Gundry MD, this can result in signs and symptoms like bloating, digestive irregularity, gas, fatigue, excess body weight, and even food cravings.

Pros
  • Favorable return policy
  • Natural blend with some support for various benefits
Cons
  • Research supporting the ability to improve leaky gut is lacking
  • Extremely expensive

There are a number of causes for these symptoms, and just as many potential remedies. Total Restore from Gundry MD allegedly offers a natural option. In fact, according to the product page, you can expect the following by taking 3 capsules daily with the largest meal of your day:

  • Better digestion
  • Improved gas, constipation, and irregularity
  • Less bloating and a flatter stomach
  • Reduced cravings
  • A healthier body weight
  • More mobility and decreased joint pain and stiffness
  • Increased energy
  • Improved mood

As you may notice, many of these claims are seemingly unrelated to digestive health. While these benefits are obviously desirable, it seems like this is a lot to accomplish for a single dietary supplement.

In this article, we’ll help you sort through these claims and evaluate their merit by reviewing the available research for Total Restore’s key ingredients.

Total Restore Ingredients: Does Science Back Them Up?

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a dietary supplement that is designed to fight leaky gut through a blend of natural ingredients.

While increased permeability of the intestinal lining may allow harmful toxins into areas of the body they shouldn’t be, the link to this process and chronic disease outside of the gastrointestinal tract is uncertain. Therefore, leaky gut is not a widely accepted medical diagnosis.

Currently, there does not seem to be any interventions that are effective in improving the function of this barrier or altering the course of any associated diseases.

Nonetheless, Total Restore may be able to address other issues.

Each 3-capsule serving contains the following ingredients:

  • L-Glutamine - 213mg
  • N-Acetyl- D-Glucosamine (NAG) - 142mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (MBH)- 86mg
  • Grape Seed Extract - 58mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder - 54mg
  • Wormwood Powder - 50mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder - 50mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract - 34mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Organic Raspberry, Organic Blueberry, Organic Tart Cherry, Organic Elderberry, and Organic Cranberry - 22mg total
  • Cloves Buds Powder - 17mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Power - 17mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract - 17mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder - 10mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine - 10mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder - 3mg

We’ll highlight the available research for some of the key ingredients here.

L-Glutamine

Glutamine is an amino acid. It’s commonly included in dietary supplements that claim to boost immune function, support digestive health, and support brain function.

It may be included in Total Restore for its suspected ability to enhance mental function, though 2,000mg doses negatively affected the ability of individuals to complete reaction time tasks. Even at large doses, this ingredient does not seem to be effective for these purposes.

NAG

NAG is derived from shellfish and is proposed to protect your digestive tract from the harmful effects of gluten.

In a laboratory model, NAG was effective in limiting the harmful effects of rye, barley, and oat glutens in small intestinal cells obtained from 26 children with gluten intolerance.

Data supporting the use of NAG is lacking outside of this study is lacking, however.

MBH

Beta-hydroxybutyrate is an exogenous ketone, one that is created outside your body. Like other Gundry MD products, it is probably included in Total Restore as ketones may be used as a source of energy.

However, your body preferentially burns carbohydrates for energy - if you follow a regular diet, fats will not be used for this purpose. Therefore, the suspected ability to boost energy and promote brain function is only possible when carbs are not present.

Zinc

Zinc is an essential mineral that has a role in many biochemical reactions. Thus, a deficiency can lead to a variety of unwanted effects.

Zinc is included in Total Restore for its suspected role in promoting weight loss, energy, and mental function.

Low zinc levels were associated with obesity, elevated BMI, and larger waist circumference in premenopausal women.

In a randomized study, 30mg of zinc daily over 4-weeks reduced the BMI and body weight of obese individuals.

Lastly, in individuals 70-years or older, 150gm of zinc protected against cognitive decline when compared to placebo.

Cinnamon Bark

This spice is often included in dietary supplements for its suspected ability to offer antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and disease-fighting benefits.

While a review of 10 trials found 120mg/d - 6 g doses to effectively reduce fasting blood sugar over 4 to 18-weeks, digestion related benefits were not well supported.

Berberine

Berberine is a plant-based ammonium salt that may possess anti-inflammatory, neuroprotective, and diabetes-fighting properties.

In a randomized trial, individuals with metabolic syndrome that took 500mg three times daily over 3-months had remission of the syndrome, better insulin sensitivity, and improved waist circumference.

Black Pepper

Black pepper may offer antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and disease-fighting capabilities.

In Total Restore, black pepper may function as a prebiotic to help boost your friendly gut bacteria. In overweight subjects, 6mg of black pepper was also effective in decreasing BMI and body fat.

Is Total Restore Safe?

As many of the ingredients found in Total Restore are obtained naturally from a balanced diet, they are generally safe to consume in the quantities offered in this supplement.

Your biggest risk for harm may come from delaying appropriate medical attention for the symptoms you’re experiencing. Using a dietary supplement that doesn’t address the underlying cause can allow them to persist or even worsen.

Additionally, you should avoid Total Restore if you have an allergy as NAG is obtained from shellfish.

For these reasons, It is best to speak with your physician before trying to treat symptoms. The first step should always be to determine the underlying source. You can then work together to determine the safest plan of care.

Total Restore Cost

You can purchase Total Restore directly from Gundry MD’s website. There are a few pricing options, and all orders over $60 ship free.

For non-members, Total Restor pricing is as follows:

  • $69.95 for one bottle
  • $191.85 for three bottles
  • $317.70 for six bottles

Also, you have the option to join the VIP program. This subscription plan includes automatic monthly shipments, as well as more savings and free shipping. You can cancel shipments at any time, and VIP pricing is as follows:

  • $44.95 per month for one bottle
  • $121.95 per month for three bottles
  • $229.95 per month for six bottles

Gundry MD backs your purchases with a 90-day money-back guarantee. If you aren’t happy with Toral Restore, you can contact customer support at (800) 852-0477 to start the refund process.

What Are the Alternatives to Total Restore?

While Total Restore’s blend of ingredients is challenging to find offered in a single supplement, other supplements claim to address leaky gut.

Also from Gundry MD, Lectin Shield is a good example. It allegedly offers benefits that are identical to those that Total Restore is proposed to address, though the mechanism of action and ingredients list for these 2 supplements differ substantially.

Lectin Shield is purported to act by limiting the actions of lectin, a protein found in both animals and plants that may play a role in various digestive issues and chronic medical conditions. It offers twice as much NAD in addition to a number of other extracts.

Considering the cost of Total Restore, you’d save money with Lectin Shield; 1 and 6-bottle orders are $50 and $240, respectively.

Though the risk for harm is low, Lectin Shield is still quite pricey. Also, the research supporting the actions of the ingredients is limited, and the company claims it can address an issue that is not currently supported as a medical diagnosis.

Despite a favorable return policy, you should save your money and seek the guidance of your doctor if you’re experiencing digestive symptoms.

The Bottom Line

Total Restore’s blend of natural ingredients has varying support for their proposed actions. However, scientific support backing the main benefit of this supplement, addressing leaky gut, is lacking.

Despite a favorable return policy, Total Restore is still one of the pricier dietary supplements that we’ve reviewed at HighYa.

Though the risk for serious side effects is likely low, given the pricing and lack of strong evidence, it is probably best that you seek relief elsewhere.

If you’re experiencing digestive symptoms that are negatively impacting your quality of life, your first stop should be having a conversation with your doctor. While dietary supplements may be helpful, it is best to first understand the source of your symptoms.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD Total Restore:
  • 559 Customer Reviews
  • 90% Recommend This Company
4.3 out of 5
5 star: 61% 4 star: 24% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 5%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Company is not reputable, beware

    • By Martha S.,
    • Tijeras, NM,
    • Sep 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Dear Dr. Gundry:

    Your greed knows no bounds. Why is your default on orders of Total Restore 6 bottles or 6-month supply once a month? Ridiculous! And of course, the cost of the return is mine to bear...how sad. Your policy has lost you a customer. How disappointing are you and your company practices. I ordered a 6-month supply and in less than a month received another 6-month supply, which I had to return at my expense. Ridiculous!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Martha, we're sorry to hear about your experience. It is never our intent to confuse our customers. Any additional offers presented during checkout always have a visible option to decline. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to issue a total refund. I want to apologize for the inconvenience. I've taken a look into your account and have seen that you've been fully refunded and your subscription has been canceled. If you have any outstanding issues, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you.


  • Done with 3rd bottle

    • By Wayne T.,
    • Red Lion, PA,
    • Aug 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I cannot say it worked for me. All bodies are different and for some, it works well, others like me feel it might be that magic pill that turns the corner to relieve many of the symptoms it reports to relieve. For me, it does not. I experience more of the listed side effects than the benefits so I will stop using and try to return the 3 unopened bottles I bought from the 6-bottle special purchase. I will also give them away if a return or refund is not possible, being I have just passed the 90-day refund period.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Less bowel issues
    • Side effects

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Wayne, thank you for giving our Total Restore a try. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We understand that while the majority of our customers are happy with our products, everyone is different. We always stand by our 90-Day Money-Back guarantee. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com so I can collect some more information about your experience and see what I can do with assisting with a refund. Thank you.


  • Did not work for me one bit

    • By Ingrid S.,
    • Pembroke Pines, FL,
    • Jul 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased 3 bottles of Total Restore. I took three pills daily for 30 days and didn't feel like anything was happening. I worked at trying to eat healthy but instead I gained weight...NOT GOOD. I am so disappointed in this product as I was expecting that this product would be life-long. Turned out it will not be.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Pills were easy to swallow
    • Cravings diminished somewhat
    • Nothing happened
    • Gained weight

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Ingrid, thank you for giving Total Restore a try. I'm very sorry that it was not the right fit for you. We understand that everybody is different so our formulas may work well for some but not others. Therefore, we will always stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you with your refund. Thank you.


  • Cramping

    • By Deborah L.,
    • Albany, CA,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I started taking Total Restore for three days now. Three capsules a day. I had severe stomach cramping the first night. Day two was ok and helped with constipation. Day three my stomach is cramping again. I am stopping.

    Very disappointed because we paid $276.35 for 6 bottles.

    Love his cookbook Plant Paradox. Will stick to this plan.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Quick delivery
    • Great cookbook
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 22, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Deborah, I'm very sorry to read that this was your experience with Total Restore. We always recommend our customers consult their physicians prior to starting any new supplement to ensure it is the right fit for you. I've gone ahead and escalated your concern and you should be receiving a confirmation email within the next 2-5 business days. If you have any other issues or concerns, please email me at aria@gudrymd.com. Thank you.


  • Darlene M from Battle Ground, WA

    • By Darlene M.,
    • Battle Ground, WA,
    • Jun 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    This product worked very well for me. I take several medications which unfortunately cause constipation. Since I've taken this product I had no more problems in that department. But unfortunately because of the price I had to stop. And yes, my constipation is back.

    Would love to continue taking this product as it truly did work.

    I am a senior with a very limited budget and I just can no longer make it fit into my budget.

    I read in a comment on here from James K from Tulsa, OK that he is willing to sell his leftover 5 bottles because the product did not work for him.

    I would gladly buy them from him if the price is right.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The product worked extremely well for me
    • Too expensive

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    May 13, 2020. Update:

    • By Rose T.,
    • Michigan City, IN,
    • May 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sadly the pills are not as I thought. I really don't know if they worked or not. I felt no difference.

    So I guess I wasted money on these expensive vitamins. If it's that good I don't think one needs to push it through expensive advertisements but that's just my thoughts after consuming a 6-month supply already. I think tomatoes are not bad. When my health was bad and highly toxic I believe 100% tomato juice was the only product I craved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 18, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Rose, I'm very sorry that this was your experience with Total Restore. We ask that our customers consult their physicians prior to starting any new supplement to ensure that it is right for them. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com so I can take a look into your account to see if you are still able to take advantage of our money-back guarantee. Thank you.

    • Previous review
    • Aug 29, 2019

    Bought 6 months supply

    I don't have any food allergies and I've tried so many supplements and done many cleansers. I'm hoping to give this a try since I know leaky gut is a big issue. I am a health worker and I do struggle with everyday body pain and low energy levels. If this works for me I'm hoping to recommend to my clients as I've done with previous supplements from Dr. Eric Berg.

    I'm on Day 3 and take 3 a day. First 2 days I experienced higher energy levels. Day 3 I was experiencing bloating.

    I think everybody has different experiences and sometimes the combinations of ingredients might not work for some people. Anyway, I ordered a 6-month supply and had no problems with misleading ads or being charged more on my credit card. It took maybe 5 days to process the order but once it was shipped it took 3 days to arrive.

    Anyway, I just like to thank Dr. Gundry for making an exceptional product. Even if it doesn't work for me and others I know Leaky Gut is a big issue and it's great to see newer and better products out in the market.

    Thank you.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Discourage anyone from buying this product

    • By James K.,
    • Tulsa, OK,
    • May 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On November 29th, 2019 I took advantage of a special offer for Gundry MD Total Restore. I ordered six bottles for $150. Total Restore was advertised as "The ultimate gut-soothing protection against leaky gut." From day one trying this product, if anything, it made my condition worse, even affecting my ability to sleep. I tried taking only one capsule three times a day, or just one a day, etc. My wife, a registered nurse, also experienced the same discomfort. We both stopped taking the product after less than two weeks.

    I was very disappointed and very frustrated. I have been taking vitamins, herbs, and supplements for over 40 years, and this was the most disappointing experience of anything I have ever tried. I have found other similar products that have worked great.

    I have five unopened bottles if anyone is interested.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 12, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      James, I want to sincerely apologize again for your experience. A customer service agent has fully refunded your order on May 7th. Please also keep an eye out for an email from our team to hear more about your experience. Thank you.


  • Faithfully took all three bottles

    • By Lorelee R.,
    • California,
    • Apr 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading all of the great reviews, I fell for it and purchased the 3 bottle deal. I do believe one is somewhat brainwashed after listening to the good Doctor talk about himself and his discoveries for an hour. I received this product and convinced myself I was feeling better, then it happened...I started feeling worse. I now am so ill, but with the Coronavirus problems all around us cannot get in to see my Doctor and I REFUSE to go to an ER. So I just do not see how all this hype with beauty products, supplements goes on. I am really sorry this did not work for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 28, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Lorelee, I'm very sorry to read about your experience and that our Total Restore was not the right fit for you. As always, we do ask that our customers consult their physicians prior to starting any new supplement. I've gone ahead and initiated a full refund for your Total Restore order. Again, I want to apologize that this was your experience and if you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.


  • Order missing/not delivered

    • By Hrehaan B.,
    • Singapore,
    • Apr 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hi,

    I have ordered my pack of 3 bottles of Total Restore on the 18th of March 2020 but to date it has not been delivered, neither are there any updates on the whereabouts of the package. The turnaround time for the customer care team to reply to your query is at least 7 working days. And even when they respond it will be some vague reply to my mail.

    Is this a common practice of the Dr. Gundry Team? It is such a feeling of hopelessness that you ordered something, paid for it, and even after waiting for more than a month not only you don't get your stuff, but not even a proper response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 23, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Hrehaan, I want to apologize for the delay and the inconvenience. I want to assure you that this is not common practice and we work hard to ensure this doesn't happen. From looking into your account, I can see that an agent has assisted you and has confirmed that a reshipment of your Total Restore. I want to apologize again for the trouble with your order. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can address them immediately. Thank you!


  • I also bought 3 times as much BioTrust 3, Lectin Shield and Total Restore 3, I am not sure if I needed to buy all three.

    • By Lorna H.,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Apr 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please tell me if buying all three was a mistake or unnecessary. I called the very next day after getting my online receipt and seeing that I spent over $1,000 on my order and I freaked. I immediately called and the customer service representative suggested I keep it because I have three months to return it. I actually lost my sense of time these past few months and saw it was more than three months.

    I am confused about its efficacy because I thought it was necessary to use all three products together. Is that true? I would like to know because then it gets to be very expensive. One day I skipped taking my Metamucil and was in terrible pain as Metamucil keeps the stool soft and I was literally going out of my mind from the pain and took a fleet enema. I felt like the heavens and earth opened up as I gave birth to three separate bowel movements (it literally felt like I was giving birth). I will never skip the Metamucil and when I take all three and the Metamucil I do get to go to the bathroom. I am unsure if I get other benefits but I only have bio 3 and Lechtin Shield left. The dosage I should take is in question. Should I take 2 bioX 3 capsules in the morning and 2 at night or all 4 together. Lechtin Shield says to take 2 a day/ And Restore 3 says three a day. I am unsure when to take each one. At this point I am down to my last bottles of Bio 3 and Lectin Shield and do not know if I will reorder or not. I would feel a lot better if someone called me from the company to tell me what each one is doing and if it pays to spend on all 3.

    Then the collagen product I saw was not vegan and I did not know if all these supplements were FDA approved. I am confused and scared to change my routine now. I was thinking Bio X3 may be the best because it is good a prebiotic, probiotic and post probotic, I would think. Then there was this one day when I did not take my daily dose of Metamucil and I took all the other 3 products and thought that would be enough. That day I was so miserable because I could not go to the bathroom and had horrible stomach pain. I finally took a fleet enema which I detest taking and I finally went three separate movements. The stool was extremely hard and it felt like I delivered three children. That may sound funny but it was really painful and I had to use a rubber glove and remove it by breaking it up before passing through and risk getting an anal fissure which was a nightmare and I got that in 2011 after a rectal prolapse surgery due to the morphine and pain killers. That lasted 6 months and I had to spend my life in the bath as it was so painful. I went to 6 doctors in New York and bought compound creams costing close to two hundred dollars a jar. I finally looked on the internet and I am not so savvy on the computer and I found a group chat with anal fissure complaints and they were all telling me to buy "Recovery Creme" by Dr. Wheatgrass and they specified that it may not feelm like it is working but do not give up becauwse it can take a few weeks to feela differenc. I used it often and waited and finally, I felt something change for the better so I continued applying this recovery creme for another month and all of a sudden I did not have that pain. It did work and I hope you get the message out top people. Maybe Restore 3 and that creme would work faster but I would not know. My Doctor assured me that although an anal fissure may cause you to feel like you want to die, but it will not cause a person to die. That helped me not one bit.

    I would respect Dr. Gundry and your whole team if you got the word out to people looking for a solution to anal fissures. I am left with a thrombotic hemorrhoid and have been applying 2.5% of Proctozone-HC after a movement and had been soaking in a 15-minute bath with Lavender Epsom Saltz but sometimes that helps relieve the pain but does not cure it. My doctor said that some of the procedures can make it worse and another person told me they sort of cut the circulation off to that area by rubber banding it and it falls off because there has been no blood supply to that area. With Coronavirus and all, I have been waiting to look into this more. If you know, or please ask Dr. Gundry his opinion on how to get rid of this thrombotic hemorrhoid. Also, ask him my other questions. Thank you, and if we talk I can give you my phone number. I do not think it is violating the below agreement if I mention the name of the creme for the fissure. If you think it does then take it out of my review. I want people to get the message, and since you said people suffering with anal fissures found relief by using Total Restore then that might be true. I did not know about your company in 2011.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fantastic

    • By Co C.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After reading the negative reviews, I have to say they sound a bit lame to me, unsubstantiated, perhaps disgruntled people.. I use this product and know the greatness it is.

    I'm 58, F, decent physical shape, blood type O+.

    I ordered this after my body started aging and all I wanted to do was eat everything in sight, but never felt full, which after researching the prob online read that's a main symptom of leaky gut, so, nothing to lose, except maybe excess weight, I placed an order.

    The bottle arrived, I took one pill, on a pretty empty stomach, to get a better self-analysis of what it may or may not do, and was very impressed, with a feeling in my gut of youthful restoration. I get the name, it's spot on, gut felt toned with a healthy elasticity, instead of that flabby no muscle tone feeling, and loved that the ingredients are all natural. Hope had finally arrived, I now have something to help me restore health to my gut, I can use it as needed, which is how I use it since chocolate is really hard to give up. I think taking it before bed is most beneficial, wake up with a gut that's ready for a good diet.

    I feel good giving recognition to people when I see their caring is apparent and is making an improvement in the lives of others.

    So, Dr. Gundry, thank you, for this product and the caring and integrity you obviously had when you developed this. You are appreciated! Love your products!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 559

Write a Review for Gundry MD Total Restore!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD Total Restore