About Gundry MD Prebiothrive

Do you constantly experience food cravings? Do you find it difficult to control your eating habits, along with your weight?

If so, the Gundry MD Prebiothrive supplement promises to use a “breakthrough” combination of prebiotics to help the good bacteria in your gut thrive, while simultaneously reducing the number of bad bacteria.

As a result, we’re told you’ll be able to bring natural balance to your digestive system and experience increased energy, decreased junk food cravings, a healthier appetite, along with less gas, bloating, and discomfort.

To accomplish this, Gundry MD claims Prebiothrive features only 100% natural and safe ingredients and comes with no reported side effects. Simply mix one scoop of the odorless, tasteless powder into any beverage, 2-3 times per day.

The bottom line is that many of us don’t eat the foods we should, so our digestion and overall health can take a hit.

But is there anything found in Gundry MD Prebiothrive that can “completely revitalize your gut, no matter how out of balance it is”? Does it have some stiff competition, or is it really a “game changer”?

Stick with us and we’ll explore these—and many other—important questions.

What’s the Difference Between a Probiotic & a Prebiotic?

The HighYa team has talked a whole lot about probiotics over the years, which are specific strains of bacteria that can help improve digestion, boost immune system response, and more—although there’s limited evidence that they can help you lose weight.

And if your digestion is much more effective and you’re feeling good, this can translate into secondary benefits like improved energy. For more, be sure to read A Guide to Buying Quality Probiotics.

On the other hand, prebiotics are carbohydrates that can’t be digested by your body, so they pass into your gut mostly intact, where they can act as a food source for probiotic bacteria. In other words, it helps them thrive.

Although most prebiotics don’t focus on a specific bacteria strain, in order to meet the definition they must increase the number or activity of bifidobacteria, a bacteria “family” often associated with improving constipation, reducing total cholesterol, addressing some aspects of IBS, and more.

Specifically, what prebiotics does Prebiothrive use?

How Does Gundry MD Prebiothrive Work?

After sitting through Prebiothrive’s hour-long sales video, what did we learn?

The first half of the video talked about the potential dangers of eating foods containing lectin, such as tomatoes, legumes, and more.

However, although Gundry MD’s Lectin Shield supplement promises to address this problem, Prebiothrive doesn’t. As a result, we’re not really sure why Dr. Gundry spent so much time talking about it.

During the second half of the video, we learned how “bad” gut bacteria can impact everything from your energy levels to your food decisions. Instead of killing them though, you simply need to nourish the “good” bacteria.

To accomplish this, we’re told Prebiothrive only contains three ingredients:

Bimuno is a powdered supplement in its own right, which claims to contain a “unique complex of patented galacto-oligosaccharides,” which can help bifidobacteria thrive. This is where Prebiothrive gets its “7-day” claim.

WebMD doesn’t list acacia as providing any kind of real-world benefits, although they list inulin as “possibly effective” for lowering triglyceride levels and reducing constipation (but only for elderly individuals).

Given this, what about Dr. Gundry’s claim that in his video that, “everything you’ll hear today is based on real science, and has been proven out in clinical tests”?

This is a prime example of the different between something being clinically studied, and something being considered “proven.”

The former technically only requires one study, while the latter requires a large body of double-blind, peer-reviewed clinical trials, most of which will point to the same general conclusion.

For more about this concept, be sure to read Think That Clinical Study Is Legit?

What About Prebiothrive’s Side Effects?

Because of the rapid increase in certain bacteria strains often caused by prebiotics, you may temporarily experience increased fermentation, leading to gassiness and bloating.

However, this should subside within a few days of regular use.

Similarly, WebMD indicates that acacia can cause mild “gas, bloating, nausea, and loose stools.”

How Much Does Prebiothrive Cost?

How much you’ll pay for Prebiothrive largely depends on where you purchase it. For example, if purchased through Gundry MD’s SilenceYourCravings URL, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $49.99
  • 3 Jars: $105.00
  • 6 Jars: $244.00

On the other hand, if purchased directly through the Gundry MD main site, you’ll pay $79 for a single bottle.

Note: While it appears each jar of Prebiothrive contains 10.16oz of powder, there’s no indication of how many scoops this contains—or how often you’ll need to reorder.

Nonetheless, Prebiothrive comes with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges. In order to request one, Gundry MD’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

Does Prebiothrive Have Any Competition? What About Customer Reviews?

On Gundry MD’s main website, Prebiothrive had 51 customer reviews and an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments referenced effective results (better overall health, increased energy, a more balanced gut, etc.) and ease of use.

Outside of this, however, we didn’t come across any third-party feedback for Prebiothrive at the time of our research.

Fortunately, we’ve also written about many of Gundry MD’s other popular products, including Vital Reds, Correct + Calm Redness Relief Cream, Primal Plants, and more.

Overall, these products tend to have very positive reviews from customers here on HighYa, largely with 5-star average ratings and many of the same compliments.

On the other hand, what few complaints there are seem to reference misleading billing and ineffective results. In most of these instances, a company representative responded in good faith to try to rectify the situation.

As far as Bimuno goes, it also seems to have a mostly positive online customer reviews that claim it might help quickly improve digestion, reduced IBS symptoms, decreased bloating, and more.

Are there other prebiotics out there? Certainly, which you can quickly see by searching online—many of which cost much less than Prebiothrive. Are there other supplements formulated exactly like it, though? No.

Does this mean Prebiothrive is necessarily your best choice?

Let’s carry this thought over into the next section as we wrap things up.

Can Gundry MD Prebiothrive Reduce Your Cravings?

In the end, our goal here at HighYa isn’t to tell you whether or not to purchase a product or service. Instead, it’s to pass along the information we learned during our research and leave the final decision up to you.

So, given the level of clinical evidence showing that prebiotics might help boost levels of beneficial bacteria in the gut, taking one of these supplements certainly seems like a logical first step if you’re looking to balance your digestion.

Just keep in mind that—even according to Dr. Gundry’s Prebiothrive video—if you want to maximize your results, it’s recommended that you take a probiotic along with it, which will obviously increase your overall costs.

Speaking of cost, a 30-day supply of Bimuno can be purchased online for about $28, which doesn’t include the triglyceride-reducing potential of inulin, but might provide many other benefits at a meaningfully lower price than Prebiothrive.

You can even find many supplements containing both probiotics and prebiotics in the same formulation (although not from Gundry MD), which might deliver the ultimate bang-for-your-buck.

In the end though, Gundry MD seems to stand behind Prebiothrive with a 90-day refund policy, which might help ease some of your hesitations if you’re thinking about giving it a try. Just remember you could be out a few bucks in S&H if you decide to process a refund.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

63 Consumer Reviews for Gundry MD Prebiothrive

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 31 4 star: 12 3 star: 5 2 star: 4 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 63
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Gummy sludge

    I do not know about the long-term effects of this product. I had difficulty dissolving it. The results of stirring was a gummy sludge which I did not enjoy swallowing. I called the company and was advised to use a shaker. I did shake it for several minutes and still had a gummy sludge to swallow, admittedly smaller. I think capsules would be a palatable substitute for this goo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Robert, thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the texture of PreBioThrive. Using a shaker bottle is usually your best bet. I would suggest adding it to a smoothie, or any other drink of your choice. If you are still unsatisfied with the taste of our product, please email me directly so I can help you in getting a full refund. My email is aria@gundrymd.com Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Results

    • Chapel Hill, NC,
    • Oct 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the product religiously three times a day for a month as directed in order to be able to fully allow the utmost precision in deciding whether it worked or not for me.

    I sadly admit that I had gas from the get-go and continued to have it throughout the month of taking it. Unfortunately, I did not feel any better, have any fewer cravings as advertised or feel less bloated in general.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello F. Holley, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am sorry you did not have any noticeable benefits with PreBioThrive. As with any supplement, PreBioThrive may not be for everyone. Please keep in mind that PreBioThrive is a prebiotic and works best in conjunction with a probiotic. I would love to make sure you receive your full refund. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com if you are looking to start your refund process. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Contains milk

    I am not a milk drinker, nor do I routinely use dairy products. The online commercial I saw made no mention of this product containing milk. Some of the people who are having problems with the product may also be intolerant of milk.

    I have used it for five days despite the milk. Some abdominal cramping has occurred and bloating. Also, it does not mix well with water; large clumps are left at the bottom of the glass.

    I will still use it to see if it helps my overall health in the next month. But I think it would be fair to people (especially Vegans, and lactose intolerant people) to warn them ahead of time about the milk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Margaret! I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for leaving us a valuable review of your experience with Prebiothrive so far. The ingredients of Prebiothrive are clearly stated on our website but I have taken note of your suggestion. I will do my best to implement this in the future.

      Also, we always suggest that our customers consult their primary physicians before consuming any new product to ensure that they don't experience any interactions. I would love to offer you a full refund if you are still not satisfied with Prebiothrive. If that time ever comes, please email me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com and I can begin the refund process right away!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Seems to work

    • Glens Falls, NY,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only started to take this a week ago, and I would recommend it for two reasons. I have been under a lot of stress and was dealing with diarrhea due to it. Which does happen to me when stressed. The difference is that my bowel movements are now soft, formed and only twice a day instead of about 6.

    I am watching my weight, I am about 30 pounds overweight and I do feel my cravings for sugar has lessened. It is too soon to say on whether I will be losing a lot of weight, I will have to wait and see. I am trying to follow this diet, it is a little strict but I hope to get the hang of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Mostly good but

    Pros: when I started using this the results were outstanding, and I had no problems. The results are still fantastic but I no longer use it daily because I have started having a bit of nausea after I use it.

    On the upside, I have lost weight without even trying. I no longer retain water during my monthly. My skin looks fantastic. Bowels move smoothly and regularly. I think this product can ferment though. I bought one and it smelled funny. They promptly sent me another one free of charge.

    Not sure why the nausea happens, but I think that it is just one's body letting one know that you need to take a break. Now I just use it a few times a week. I actually think it is worth the price. I now get three for about $29 each for buying three at a time as part of their loyalty program.

    I cannot tolerate Vital Reds. That gives me nausea a lot.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    No adverse effects

    • Ithaca, NY,
    • Aug 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been taking Prebiothrive for about a month now. At first, I may have had a bit more gas, but nothing to keep me from being socially active. The gas also may be related to having made some exceptions for increased carbs when traveling, so I can't be sure of the reason. I've returned to a fairly low carb diet, and there are no problems with gas now.

    My digestive system seems to be processing my foods well. I'm also taking Vital Reds, Lectin Shield, Glucose Defense and Primal Greens as well as some other supplements and eating a clean seasonal, local, organic whole foods keto/primal diet. My long-term hope is to protect my brain from cognitive degeneration and my body from developing cancer, but I like the immediate benefits of good digestion, high energy, clear thinking and lack of cravings to assist with weight maintenance and maybe even losing those ten pounds!

    I'm also meditating, getting regular sleep, exercising, getting out in the sunshine, and enjoying time with my dogs, family, volunteering, and keeping my mind active by learning new things. Who can say what is the most important factor, and I wouldn't give any one thing the credit for feeling good, but together it feels like a plan I want to maintain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Watch out for their reorder policy

    • Southampton, New York,
    • Aug 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Vital Reds from Dr. Gundry's site, and they seem to be similar to other products that are on the market, for a lot less money. But I did not know that when I purchased it.

    If you decide to order from this company, be very careful not to give them a credit card number as I ordered from them six bottles, only a month ago (exactly 30 days ago). I ordered six as I wanted to give some to my daughter and some to my sister.

    I have not been taking the Vital Reds long enough to see any specific results.

    And not 30 days later, this morning I received a notice that they have shipped six more bottles of the same product to me and charged my charge card more than $245.

    When I tried to call them on the phone, no one answered, just a machine.

    Be very careful and do not give them your credit card number unless you don't care if they keep charging your card.

    I do not know how good the product is, as I have not had any specific results from using it for about 15 days, but I would never order from them again.

    My charge card company said this is called FRAUD.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Lee, Aria from Gundry MD here! Thank you so much for leaving us a valuable review. Our customer’s experience is our number one priority and we strive to make that experience better each and every day. Our monthly subscription service is something that a customer can select at checkout. This ensures that our customers receive their favorite Gundry MD products right before they run out each month.

      Again, this is an optional feature that customers can select at checkout. I would be more than happy to offer you a full refund for the trouble this has caused you. Please e-mail me directly at aria@gundrymd.com and I will begin this process immediately. Thank you Lee!

    • Aug 27, 2017

      IthacaNancy

      When I ordered from them, they were up front about the fact that I was signing up for a recurring order, and that my credit card would be charged for future deliveries.

    • Sep 20, 2017

      Linda Gramz

      I purchased the three containers and not one of them had the scoop. I had to call to see the what the correct measurements were to make sure I was taking the correct amount. I had a very nice customer service representative. The other issue that I asked about was, why are my containers only half full? The reason per the CS is "settling." Hopefully, I received is what I paid for, minus the scoop. I'm looking forward to giving this a try to see if it works as well for me as other customers have posted.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Prebiothrive

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Prebiothrive from Gundry MD. This is a really large container, and you need to take a really big scoop. It does not dissolve in water and the CLUMPS are really horrid tasting. I travel and it is not adaptable at all to do so. The scoop is too large to get the product into a water bottle!

    I called the company to inform them of my concerns and ask for assistance in finding a better way to travel with my vitamins. They had no recommendations except to refund my money, but then they were only going to do 40% refund as I only had two of three containers left. Isn't that 66%?

    By the way, it is not a hassle free refund, you have to return the product, and they only refund you what you return! Even though the ad clearly stated a 100% refund if you are dissatisfied for any reason at any time and have used all the product! Upon continued discussion you only need to return the containers, they can be empty (?). And you pay the postage if they give you a return authorization. This conversation went way out of bounds of the original call for help, and I will not be back!

    Very disappointed in the attitudes and in the "helpful staff's" interpretation of the POLICY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Susan, Aria from Gundry MD here. Thank you so much for leaving a valuable review of Prebiothrive. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the taste of the product. May I suggest that you add Prebiothrive to a fruit smoothie? Many customers enjoy consuming it this way.

      Our customer’s satisfaction is our number one priority. I’m so sorry that your experience did not reflect this. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if you are requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. Our refund information is clearly stated on the Gundry MD website.

      As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. Please e-mail me directly at aria@gundrymd.com. I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been.

      Thank you.

    • Aug 28, 2017

      Brigitte Smith

      Oh Jeez, why are you making your travel the manufacturer's problem?

      How much effort would it take for you to go to the dollar store and buy a few travel size containers, measure some out and take what you need? As far as the clumping and dissolving, use a blender or a martini shaker. Stop behaving like a princess and take some initiative.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Extreme gas and no weight lose

    • Westminster, SC,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son and I have been taking this product for over two months, really giving it a fair try. The gas and bloating have been so bad for both of us. We definitely go to the bathroom more, with less aches and pains, but I am not sure if it has anything to do with the product or due to us just eating so much healthier. I don't feel it was worth the money. I would like to know exactly what this product is supposed to really do for us?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Jane, Aria from Gundry MD here. Thank you so much for reaching out and for giving Prebiothrive a fair try. I’m glad to hear that you and your son are both feeling better, whether it was due to Prebiothrive, or not! Prebiothrive is a pre-biotic supplement that is formulated to support a balanced digestive tract while giving you more energy and a faster metabolism. It sounds like it has done all of those things for you and your son.

      If for any reason you are still dissatisfied with the product, I would be more than happy to offer you a full refund, just for giving our product a try. Please e-mail me directly at aria@gundrymd.com and I will begin the refund process. Thank you Jane!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Had to stop taking

    I was very excited to try this product. I started with a minimal amount for my body to adjust to this. Unfortunately, I have had to stop taking it. I gave it a good two weeks and was faithful in the serving amount and drinking plenty of water with it and throughout the entire day. Lots of water.

    I started getting very bad cramps and actually got constipated. Yes, I did everything that was recommended and have taken all carbs out of my diet. There was nothing to absorb the product or block it from doing its job. I have been off of it for about five days and feel 100% better.

    I definitely tried to make this work but had to stop.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • May 3, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Johanna,

      Thank you for leaving a review for Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. We always recommend that you consult your primary physician before taking any new supplements to ensure you will not have a reaction to any of the ingredients. Please feel free to email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I would be more than happy to refund you for your entire order.

      Thank you Johanna, I look forward to hearing from you.

    • May 7, 2017

      Peg Winsor

      Dr. Gundry, (please pass this along to him).

      In my lifetime, I have been intolerant go all fruit, vitamin C, citric acid, vinegar, fermented foods, and molds as well as dairy and things processed. I get cramps, gas, constipation, fibro and flu-like symptoms within 30 to 90 min. Do you know of any other cases like this and is there a possible cause yet? I'm working to find a cause so that I can develop an approach to treatment. Even my specialists have no answers or advice. I am the first trial. I will travel for help. Please respond.

      Thank you.

    • May 10, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Peg, thank you for contacting Gundry MD, Dr. Gundry’s supplement company. Please direct all medial questions directly to Dr. Gundry’s personal website, www.drgundry.com. If you have any further questions, please feel free to email me personally at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you Peg.

    • Jun 1, 2017

      Annette

      I feel like I have been tricked. I purchased your Vital Reds (even ordered two because of the special price) in hopes of getting more energy and improve digestion. I then saw another infomercial about Prebiotic Thrive and how the probiotics I am taking will not be effective without taking a prebiotic also. That's an additional cost! Why did you do this? Better yet, why didn't you combine the two into one product?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    I have more energy

    I experienced some uncomfortable bloating the first week, but am glad I stuck it out. I am feeling much more energetic now after using Prebiothrive for three weeks. Also, I've noticed my cravings for junk food are weaker. They're still there, but not as strong. I can turn down a dessert! I had also been steadily gaining weight over the last few months, but now I am heading in the other direction and have lost 3 or 4 pounds.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 63

Write a Review for Gundry MD Prebiothrive!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review