Prebiothrive Review: Does It Work And Is It Safe?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Jun 19, 2020

What Is Prebiothrive?

The Gundry MD Prebiothrive supplement utilizes prebiotics to help the good bacteria in your gut thrive, while simultaneously reducing the number of bad bacteria.

Gundry alleges the following benefits in its supplement:

  • Bring natural balance to your digestive system
  • Increased energy
  • Decreased junk food cravings
  • Less gas, bloating, and discomfort.

Many of us don’t eat the foods we should, so our digestion and overall health can take a hit.

This article assesses the ingredients of Prebiothrive to determine if it's effective for you.

What’s the Difference Between a Probiotic and a Prebiotic?

Probiotics are specific strains of bacteria that can help improve digestion, boost immune system response, and more—although there’s limited evidence that they can help you lose weight.

And if your digestion is much more effective and you’re feeling good, this can translate into secondary benefits like improved energy.

On the other hand, prebiotics are a form of fiber that can’t be digested by your body, so they pass into your gut mostly intact, where they can act as a food source for probiotic bacteria. In other words, it helps them thrive.

Although most prebiotics don’t focus on a specific bacteria strain, in order to meet the definition, they must increase the number or activity of bifidobacteria, a bacteria “family” often associated with improving constipation, reducing total cholesterol, addressing some aspects of IBS, and more.

Ingredients

Prebiothrive claims to improve digestion, reduce stomach discomfort, promote a balanced gut microbiome, and boost energy. The company website advises taking 1 scoop of Prebiothrive every morning with 8oz of water, preferably with a probiotic to create the “synbiotic effect.”

The effects are thought to be possible through their blend of the following prebiotic ingredients:

Acacia Gum

This non-digestible polysaccharide has had various purposes in many cultures over the span of centuries. It is thought to promote wound healing, relieve pain, and support oral health in addition to the proposed dietary benefits.

In 120 healthy women, those randomized to treatment with 30g/day of acacia gum had a significant reduction in BMI and body fat percentage over 6-weeks.

Acacia gum supplementation at 10g/day over 4-weeks boosted the friendly gut bacteria bifidobacteria and lactobacilli in healthy volunteers more than an equal dose of inulin.

Agave Inulin

Inulin from the blue agave plant offers a rich source of fiber.

Obese adults experienced reduced hunger, desire to eat, and food consumption when randomized to inulin supplementation of 12-weeks when compared to controls.

Inulin supplementation in constipated adults at 12g daily for 4-weeks promoted softer stools, increased stool frequency, and increased amounts of 3 different friendly gut bacteria.

In 40 subjects with prediabetes, those randomized to 30g/day of inulin over 4-weeks reduced insulin resistance.

Flaxseed

Offering a rich source of both fiber and omega-3 fatty acid, flaxseed is thought to benefit heart, bone, and mental health.

In healthy adults, 50 g flaxseed/day over 4-weeks increased bowel movements per week by 30%.

In a review of 45 randomized studies, various dosing regimens and delivery methods of flaxseed were used: whole flaxseed ranging from 13 to 90 per day, flaxseed oil ranging from 1 to 15.4 g per day, and lignan ranging from 50 to 600mg per day.

They concluded that whole flaxseed supplementation can reduce body weight, BMI, and waist circumference, particularly in overweight individuals.

Galacto-oligosaccharides (GOS)

GOS are indigestible fibers found naturally in mammalian milk that are thought to boost friendly gut bacteria and aid digestion.

In overweight and obese subjects, those randomized to 15g of GOS daily for 12-weeks experienced increased fecal Bifidobacterium.

A mixture of α-galacto-oligosaccharides at 5g daily boosted friendly gut bacteria in healthy adults, while it improved bowel function in constipated subjects.

Guar Gum

Guar gum is a gel-forming fiber obtained from the Cyamoposis tetragonolobus L. plant.

Guar gum was not an effective mean of preventing diet induced obesity in mice. A review of 20 trials found that guar gum was not effective in reducing body weight.

In middle-aged women with elevated cholesterol, 15g of guar gum daily significantly reduced body weight but not cholesterol levels.

In constipated adults, 5mg of guar gum daily over 4-weeks significantly reduced colon transit time and the number of bowel movements with straining, while also improving stool form.

The Takeaway:

Prebiothrive’s blend of prebiotics does contain ingredients that have some available research.

Acacia gum may offer weight loss benefits, while also providing the ability to boost friendly gut bacteria better than inulin.

Inulin may offer weight loss benefits, reduce constipation, and decrease insulin resistance.

Flaxseed may similarly offer weight loss reduction and improve bowel function.

GOS may boost friendly gut bacteria in healthy and obese adults, while also aiding with constipation.

The weight-loss benefits of guar gum are mixed, though there may be a role in improving bowel function.

These effects have been investigated in a wide variety of dosing regimens and methods of delivery (powered, tablets, etc.).

This, when coupled with the fact we do not know the amounts of each ingredient in Prebiothrive, makes it challenging to conclude the efficacy of this product.

Potential Side Effects

Acacia gum was safe at 10g/day, though gas and bloating was present. Inulin was safe even at 30g/day. Flaxseed at high doses and in various methods of delivery is generally safe, though diarrhea and stomach pain is possible.

GOS and guar gum at 15g daily did not have serious adverse effects.

The vast majority of research ranges from 4-24-weeks, so we don’t know the long-term effects of these ingredients.

While prebiotics are generally safe to use, there is a risk for mild gas, bloating, and cramping. These symptoms are easily alleviated with reduced dosing or discontinued use.

The Cost

How much you’ll pay for Prebiothrive largely depends on where you purchase it. For example, if purchased through Gundry MD’s SilenceYourCravings (landing page) URL, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $49.99
  • 3 Jars: $132.00
  • 6 Jars: $199.00

On the other hand, if purchased directly through the Gundry MD main site, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $79.00
  • 3 Jars: $222.00
  • 6 Jars: $414.00

Prebiothrive comes with a 90-day money-back guarantee, less S&H charges.

The Bottom Line

The prebiotics included in Prebiothrive may benefit your digestion, friendly gut bacteria, and BMI. While the dosing in the studies that support these benefits vary greatly, we do not have information detailing the amount of each ingredient in this supplement, however.

This makes fully defining the safety and effectiveness of Prebiothrive difficult.

Prebiothrive may be an expensive first-step for these reasons.

You can find many supplements containing both probiotics and prebiotics in the same formulation (although not from Gundry MD), which might deliver for a lower cost


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD Prebiothrive:
  • 430 Customer Reviews
  • 87% Recommend This Product
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 52% 4 star: 31% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 6%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Gundry Prebiothrive

    • By William H.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Apr 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Last year I bought about 6 containers (30 servings each) of Gundry Prebiothrive and had one scoop in a glass of water each morning for several months. I did not notice any difference either plus or minus. But after several months I started having huge amounts of gas which I'd never had in my life (I'm 63), and also some constipation and diarrhea. These were all very unusual and the only thing I was doing differently from the past was taking the Gundry product which I stopped, and will not talk again. The gas and other issues have continued for several months after I stopped taking the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 1, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi William, I'm very sorry that this was your experience with PrebioThrive. I want to thank you for giving our product a try, but as always, we do recommend consulting your physician prior to starting any new supplement. We take customer feedback very seriously. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com so I can hear a little more about your experience and see if there's anything I can do. Thank you.


  • The taste

    • By Linda H.,
    • Anaheim, CA,
    • Apr 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Is there anything that I can mix with this powder that would make it better tasting? It is horribly tasting, any suggestions, I would really appreciate it. I’m trying my best to get this down in the morning but I’m not doing a very good job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 13, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Linda, I'm very sorry to read that you're having difficulty enjoying our PrebioThrive. Many of our customers have seen success blending the PrebioThrive into their morning smoothie! Please let me know if this does not help and you'd like to return the product. My email is aria@gundrymd.com.


  • Good for gut, bad for vocal cords.

    • By William H.,
    • Lanett, AL,
    • Feb 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Took the probiotic powdered supplement for three weeks, and began having vocal issues. Initially, I suspected my vocal issues were related to sinus issues associated with the common cold, which I'd had around Thanksgiving.

    I continued to take the supplement and my vocal issues worsened. It's as though my larynx was coated with glue and would not expand. I went to an ENT specialist and had my larynx scoped and was told everything looked normal.

    I have always noticed that the supplement never completely dissolves with water and I have to chase it down with additional water.

    I take the supplement usually around 4 AM each morning when I first get up and I do believe it has definitely helped my digestive tract.

    I stopped taking the supplement on February 6th and have noticed a slight improvement in my range. I've always had a hi tenor voice but now I'm straining to reach the upper G in the bass clef and sound like Alfalfa.

    I'm the music director at my church and appreciate any feedback from you concerning any other reports associated with vocal issues.

    Kindest regards.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 18, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      William, I'm very sorry to read that this was your experience with PrebioThrive. These are not typical side effects so I ask that you stop taking the product. As always, we ask that our customers consult their physicians prior to starting any new supplement to ensure that it is the right fit for them. I've gone ahead and escalated your issue to our Customer Relations team so please keep an eye out for an email from them. I've also initiated a full refund for your purchase. If you have any other questions or concerns, my email is aria@gundrymd.com. Again, I want to apologize for your experience.


  • Good

    • By Diane P.,
    • Honolulu, HI,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have SIBO and wanted a product that would help me balance the good and bad bacteria. Overall, seems to be helping. My husband is also trying it and noticed he is losing weight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Prebiothrive

    • By Leta H.,
    • Hemet, CA,
    • Nov 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I drink one scoop in hot water (cup) each morning around 5:50-6:00 am. I drink a second cup of green tea or vitamin-infused coffee (Vita Cup) with a vitamin D3 and a Garcinia Cambogia pill. Sometimes add a small avocado eaten out of its shell.

    I am full until after 1 pm.

    I’ve lost five lbs in about eight days. I feel great.

    I concentrate on high fiber low carbs as a recent lab test said my A1C is 7.4. Shocker!

    I have no history in my family, parents or grandparents of diabetes. I am 71 and 215 lbs. 5’2” so there’s that!

    I started changing my food choices and portion over two years ago and started at 267 lbs to get serious. I read about others losing 30lbs/mo. I am envious but not discouraged.

    I will next (I am on retirement pension) try your Lectin Shield product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent product

    • By Sherrie K.,
    • Apple Valley, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Would tell my friends about it. Have it in my coffee in the morning. I have IBS, seems to help it. Mixes with coffee very well. Have a friend who told me about your product. And also ordered your book. She lost weight on your book and looks great. I noticed her weight loss in about 2 months. Asked her what she was doing and told me about the book. She gave it to me to read and after I read it and what it did for her I got very interested. So I looked up your site and looked at your video and became very interested in it. Like your advice on your site and recipe to makeup and the advice you give out on your website. Thank you for your product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Noticeable changes

    • By Ivette G.,
    • Puerto Rico,
    • Nov 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started using Prebiothrive to test it out so I can suggest it to my husband and daughter who suffer from frequent indigestion. I rarely had stomach problems but decided to try it out. Once I started using this product, almost immediately I noticed less pain in my joints and was waking up being able to move with greater flexibility. The powder is a little heavy and you have to mix it a lot to have it dissolve completely. Still, I got used to the taste and the consistency, and I ended up licking the spoon and scraping the residual from the glass. My husband has been a little skeptic about it and has not decided to try it. My daughter did not like the taste. Still I think it is a good product. The only negative thing I can say about it is that I have more gas, and sometimes it makes noise in my abdomen, which is a little embarrassing. I bought two cans and finished them last week.

    Also last week, I started using Vital Reds and I think they are FANTASTIC. I am feeling A LOT MORE energy and vitality. I feel less sluggish, although I think I am experiencing lower blood pressure at the same time.

    This week without Prebiothrive I think the noises in my belly have decreased. I am considering using Vital Reds alone to see how it goes, but will be on the lookout to see if the joint pains come back in the mornings.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome product

    • By Chad C.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Nov 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After taking the Prebiothrive I feel lighter after just a few days. My clothes are not as snug. I'm not experiencing any bloating as usual. I would recommend to everyone and everybody that experiences bloating and gas excessively. My food seems to digest better while taking the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I like it - Prebiothrive!

    • By Angeleen H.,
    • California,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I use Prebiothrive every day in the morning as my first drink of the day. It blends best in a Bullet or Ninja blender instead of manual stiring. It truly is tasteless and curbs my appetite and regulates my BM daily with easier elimination. I have lost 3 lbs after 2 weeks of consumption. I truly feel good and energized with Prebiothrive in my daily routine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Prebiothrive works

    • By Marcia W.,
    • Michigan,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I use it daily in my protein shakes and now my bowel movements are working again and I have more energy. It is a good product for my morning smoothies, and I tried it plain and I did not like it. Then I added my vanilla protein powder, then I was able to drink it without putting it in my smoothie drinks. I use my own probiotic prunes that I eat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It works

    • By Thom H.,
    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Oct 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As best I can tell, it keeps my little critters alive and well. Improves the overall flow in my intestines. The first product of this type that has worked for me. It actually tastes good. It really makes a difference in my overall comfort.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 430

Write a Review for Gundry MD Prebiothrive!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD Prebiothrive