About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 30, 2018

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects.

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research:

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

Polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens.

As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

Vital Reds Ingredients

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits.

The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

» For Further Reading: Do You Need to Take Dietary Supplements?

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next.

However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainty that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, probiotics are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

» For Further Reading: Can Dietary Supplements Cause Dangerous Side Effects?

Vital Reds Cost and Where to Buy

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available from www.gundrymd.com in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95 (30-day supply)
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 (90-day supply)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 (180-day supply)

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

The dietary supplement can also be purchased from Amazon.

Who’s the Man Behind Vital Reds?

Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board-certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA.

Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.”

Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Bottom Line

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1287 Consumer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 810 4 star: 309 3 star: 48 2 star: 22 1 star:  98
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1287
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Updated review

    Tried reaching out

    • Iowa,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried reaching out to Aria@grundrymd.com and the email address is no good. They are scammers! Do not waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Julia,

      My name is Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Customer satisfaction is a priority of ours. I am so sorry about your experience with Vital Reds. While many of our customers do experience amazing benefits from Vital Reds, we understand that it may not work for everybody. In addition, we always recommend that you speak to your primary physician prior to beginning any new product to ensure that it is right for your specific needs. We care greatly about our customers and I have made a note about this situation. We also wholeheartedly stand by our 90-day money back guarantee. Please email me at Aria@grundryMD.com and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund. I look forward to making this right!

    • Sep 19, 2018

      Julia P.

      Well, I tried to email this Aria person and the email came back that the email address is not good. Unless I hear from her shortly, I will be updating my review to include scam! I will gladly remove that comment if she reaches out to me directly.

    • Sep 20, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Julia,

      I am sorry for the typo, my email is aria@gundrymd.com. I’m looking forward to hearing from you and I’ll keep a lookout for your email!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Sep 18, 2018

    Bad reaction

    I tried Vital Reds for two days. I had a horrible nervous systems reaction. After about 10 hours my nervous system settled down and my pain subsided a bit. Warning, if you have a hypersensitive nervous system, do not use Vital Reds. They are filled with B Vitamins and I have found out that I cannot use B Vitamins at high doses. It sets off my nervous system into full rage and my chronic pain goes through the roof. I am not sure if I'm going to return them, I want to see if my husband wants to try them. If not, then I'll be asking for a refund. I'm not saying these don't work for people that don't have nervous problems, but they are not for me.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Refund process works

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Vital Reds and Lectin Shield, but neither had any effect. Vital Reds cost was refunded, waiting for the Lectin Shield refund. I can understand shipping not being refunded, but I do not appreciate having to pay out of pocket to ship back an empty bottle. I guess all customers are crooks until proven innocent. They say they recycle the bottle. I wonder exactly what that means.

    The snake oil salesman "but wait there's more!" sales technique originally turned me off, but I tried the products anyway. I should have listened to my gut (no pun intended).

    Mr. Gundry may have been a doctor once, but now he's just another salesman.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Brian,

      My name is Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We care greatly about customer satisfaction, and I am sorry your experience did not reflect that. The content of every batch is tested at a cGMP-certified facility here in the USA and then tested again for purity, content, and dosage at an outside, third-party laboratory. We stand by each of our products and their safety and effectiveness. While thousands of our customers have positive experiences with our products, we understand that they might not work the same for everyone.

      As it is industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who do not decide to send back the product containers. I am so sorry for the confusion. But still, keep that we will honor the refund.

      If you have not sent back the Lectin Shield yet, I would be more than happy to give you a refund, no need to send anything back. Please email me at aria@gundryMD.com to get this process started. I would also love to learn more about why the product did not work for you. We are always trying to improve our business, so any type of feedback is valuable! Thank you.

    • Sep 18, 2018

      Brian P.

      The bottle was sent back prior to your response and the refund was received. Why exactly do I have to return an empty bottle? It makes no sense. Why can't I peel off the label and mail that to you? That would cost a whole lot less. Doesn't matter if its an industry standard. It's a waste of customers money.

      As for why it didn't work, I have no idea. They just didn't work for me. One thing you can do to improve your business is to offer your products for the lowest price possible and stop trying to get folks to buy by offering half a dozen "specials" during the checkout process. If you truly believe in your products don't try to sell them like a used car salesman. Offer the best product for the best price, put customers first, and don't play marketing games.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent energy boost

    • Florida,
    • Sep 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This stuff is amazing. I now drink a glass every day. I admit I was skeptical of the claims, but the money back guarantee convinced me to try it. I read The Plant Paradox and following the guidelines I completely healed my knee pain and osteoarthritis in my lower back. So I had a basic level of confidence that this at least would not harm me.

    The energy difference you will feel is absolutely amazing, it is like kicking in your turbocharger. It is not a sugar boost either since there are almost no sugars in it. It is delicious with a rich deep mixed berry flavor.

    The stuff is not cheap, but when I look at what is in it, I think it is amazing that is as cheap as it is.

    I will never be without it and carry a jar when I go on trips.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 10, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Alex,

      I am Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for the review. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and it is amazing to hear about your new boost of energy. If you have any questions or suggestions do not hesitate to reach out. You can contact me at aria@gundrymd.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Tastes great and filling

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Vital Reds for a little over two weeks. It tastes great! (way better than eating beets, in my opinion.) I do feel full but have not experienced the energy burst that I had hoped based on what I've read. I'll continue to use the product to see how good I feel over time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Long awaited results

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 57, and after years of being able to maintain my weight, I found that everything I tried (diet and exercise) could not prevent my weight from rising and a continued feeling of fatigue. After a few days of taking I found results I couldn't explain, a 'youthful' and energetic feeling, satisfaction in my eating although my portioned reduced, and tightening in my belly (fat). Great.

    Don't try taking it away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Trust

    • Stroud, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had nothing less than a profound result from following The Plant Paradox program. I was 3.5 weeks away from a hip replacement operation when I started it. Despite a lifetime of trying to take good care of myself, I was probably in one of the worst shapes of my life due to a long bout of depression followed by recurring flu-like symptoms. About a year and a half worth. Bummer.

    Within a few days of starting the program, the inflammation had lessened to the point where I could walk without limping - the first time in months.

    So now it's two months in and I have been taking Vital Reds for about two weeks. In truth, it's hard to say exactly what effect this is having as I am taking some other supplements and the diet, in general, has had such a huge effect. It tastes great, which I was not expecting. So, in essence, I have so much trust in the program and in Steven Gundry and his products that I am just doing it. Hard to isolate a particular result, which is why I only gave it four stars! Many stars for the process, so what else can I say!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awesome supplement!

    • New Hyde Park, NY,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely love Vital Reds! My skin is glowing and my energy levels are soaring. I mix it into my kale and spinach smoothie and feel like I’ve added tons of fruit! Everyone needs Vital Reds in their life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Helped stomach problems

    • Deltona, FL,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I shared the purchase of Vital Reds. I keep an empty water bottle, add 8 oz of orange juice and shake until blended. We have been using the product for a little over two weeks. I had previously had diarrhea for months. My GP told me to use Pepto. Nothing worked. After using Vital Reds (that has probiotics in it) for those two weeks, I now do not have to race to the toilet. What a great feeling. I seem to be slightly more alert, but I have been using this for only two weeks. The container says optimal results after a month. Don’t sell yourself short. So far, a great product! My stomach thanks you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Look forward to my morning drink

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have really enjoyed my Vital Reds. I have been taking them for about three weeks now. I put it in my water with lemon juice, it has a great flavor, and I enjoy drinking it. I've noticed my skin a little brighter and seem to be having more frequent bowel movements, and for me, that's a miracle!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Feeling great!

    • Kaneohe, HI,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only been taking Vital Reds for one month, but I felt a difference after about a week. I lead a busy life like most of us these days, and after a week on Vital Reds, I had increased energy, and generally just felt better. I have had digestive issues my whole adult life, but now I have no bloating or indigestion. I was so pleased with the benefits of the Vital Reds that I started taking Prebiothrive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No day without

    • Allentown, PA,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was using Vital Reds for over nine months and was really feeling good each and every day, great bowels, no skin rashes, and then I ran out of the product and thought I can go without as I was also taking a multi-vitamin and a few others. That lasted about six months when I just wasn’t feeling as good, and my rashes were as bad as ever. I was thinking what the heck changed and bingo, I was not taking Vital Reds. I ordered a three-month supply, and within three weeks the all-around feel good is back and yep, rashes are almost gone. Vital Reds are and will be my first of the day nutrient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1287

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review