About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 30, 2018

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects.

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research:

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

Polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens.

As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

Vital Reds Ingredients

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits.

The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

» For Further Reading: Do You Need to Take Dietary Supplements?

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next.

However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainty that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, probiotics are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

» For Further Reading: Can Dietary Supplements Cause Dangerous Side Effects?

Vital Reds Cost and Where to Buy

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available from www.gundrymd.com in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95 (30-day supply)
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 (90-day supply)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 (180-day supply)

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

The dietary supplement can also be purchased from Amazon.

Who’s the Man Behind Vital Reds?

Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board-certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA.

Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.”

Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Bottom Line

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1184 Consumer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 738 4 star: 284 3 star: 45 2 star: 22 1 star:  95
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1184
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through.
  • The Reds

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having just been on the Vital Reds for three days, my experience is limited. However, I notice I have more energy and little to no craving for the "white foods" that are verboten. I am looking forward to more results, including a reasonable weight loss without major distress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So far, so good

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using Vital Reds a few weeks ago. I only put it in my morning protein shakes, which I drink 5-6 days a week. I have noticed an overall increase in my energy levels on days that I take it, along with a sudden surge in my weight loss. I started my weight loss efforts in February and had been stuck at a loss of 10-11 lbs for several weeks. Since using Vital Reds, I have begun dropping again - down another 4-5 lbs over the last four weeks. I can't say for 100% certain that was the cause, but it is the only thing I can't think of that I have changed in my routine. I can't complain so far!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I picked good

    • St. Johnsbury, VT,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Vital Reds is working; it gives me energy plus overall, all it makes me feel better. The taste is not the best, but it's not horrible.

    I sip on it all afternoon. I think its a good product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It works

    • Greensboro, NC,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I tried Vital Reds because we were lacking energy. After the first day, we both felt more energy all day. I have been using it for about a month, and it still works. One day we did not use it, and by late afternoon we both felt the lack of energy. After the results we have seen I will be looking at the other products that Dr. Gundry has. We are also changing our diet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Vital Reds

    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Vital Reds and Total Restore. I feel like I have more energy and I’m looking forward to more results as I continue to take these products. I have had digestive problems for almost 30 years. I’m hoping taking Vital Reds will help me have a better lifestyle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very beneficial

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Vital Reds and Primal Plants. The very first day I took them I had three bowel movements in one day. This is very unusual. The second day I took these supplements my skin looked hydrated, and I had a glow. I don’t need to wear foundation anymore because my skin looks very good. I still do on special occasions but not every day.

    I’m very grateful for these products and appreciate the time and energy put in to produce them. I gave a 90-day container of Vital Reds to my brother because he is overweight and needs a push to better himself. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone I live and care for. Thank you, Gundry, for having a special concern for people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I feel great!

    • Glendale Heights, IL,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Vital Reds! I've noticed that I have so much more energy and my digestive issues seem to be so much better! I've also lost five pounds since I started drinking Vital Reds and Primal Plants. I would recommend this product to anyone who has stomach issues, chronic pain, or if you just want more energy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Vital Reds

    • Crystal River, FL,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently started taking Vital Reds along with Prebiothrive about a week ago on a daily basis and so far so good. I haven't noticed too much of a change yet, but then it only been a few days. I hope to see significant results over time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Happy with Vital Reds

    • Sioux City, IA,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't been regular with bowel movements, for ever. Its several times a day, the go is easy. I have noticed new energy. I'm getting my berries every morning, in my morning drink. I don't feel like I'm skipping fruits all the time when I don't get them. I've been waiting a long time for this awesome product. I know I will be feeling better as I go because I've only used a half of my Vital Reds jar. It tastes very good in pure water or distilled. No tap water. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds

    • Sequim, WA,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking Vital Reds three days ago, and I lost a pound. I started a somewhat Paleo diet a while back and lost 15 pounds the first month. During the second month, I didn't lose anything and felt stuck. Hopefully, my one pound loss in three days was from Vital Reds!

    If I keep losing pounds, I will be a very happy person. I used to be a runner and stayed at 125 lbs for years. At age 54 I quit running, and the pounds just kept coming on. I stabilized at 175 lbs and then this last year or so I jumped to 200 lbs! At my current age of 66, I started the Paleo challenge. I never had trouble with my weight growing up; I eat the same way I always have (healthy) except now no desserts, grains, and no dairy! Let's hope Vital Reds is my savior!

    My only complaint is the price. It's a bit high for my budget, but I know you worked hard to keep the price down. Thank you for developing this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Tastes good and goes down easy.

    • North Carolina,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Vital Reds for about three weeks and I do feel better with each day. How can they not be good for me with all the great ingredients? Also have been on the Plant Paradox diet during this same time, and the first thing I noticed was a major improvement in my sleep habits. I am hoping to get my other health issues improving also.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 25, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Brenda, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I’m very happy to hear that both Vital Reds and the Plant Paradox diet have been working well for you, and that your sleep habits have been improving! Thank you for giving them a try. Typically, it takes our clients three months to notice optimal results. Keep us updated on your experience and please feel free to reach out to me personally at Aria@gundrymd.com with any questions or concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1184

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review