About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 30, 2018

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects.

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research:

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

Polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens.

As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

Vital Reds Ingredients

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits.

The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

» For Further Reading: Do You Need to Take Dietary Supplements?

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next.

However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainty that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, probiotics are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

» For Further Reading: Can Dietary Supplements Cause Dangerous Side Effects?

Vital Reds Cost and Where to Buy

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available from www.gundrymd.com in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95 (30-day supply)
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 (90-day supply)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 (180-day supply)

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

The dietary supplement can also be purchased from Amazon.

Who’s the Man Behind Vital Reds?

Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board-certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA.

Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.”

Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Bottom Line

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1303 Consumer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 820 4 star: 313 3 star: 48 2 star: 22 1 star:  100
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1303
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds

    • Texas,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took the full bottle of Vital Reds per the directions.

    My opinion - pixie dust...expensive pixie dust.

    A complete waste of money for me. It might help someone who is deficient in the critical aspects of this formula. It does not have enough of each ingredient to make a real difference as far as I could experience.

    It did not work for me. I should have asked for my money back.

    I do not recommend this supplement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Max,

      Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with Vital Reds. Many customers experience great results with Vital Reds, but of course, we understand that Vital Reds may not be for everyone. Even if it is past the refund period, I am more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me at Aria@GundryMD.Com so I can process this for you right away just for giving us a try. Looking forward to hearing from you!

    • Jan 16, 2019

      Max F.

      Did not receive any benefits from taking Vital Reds.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Love this

    • Nevada,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I am not a paid reviewer, nor have been asked to submit a positive review. This is an authentic review. I purchased this product last year as a means to supplement my sluggish metabolism. I also struggle with weight issues, and prior to reading The Plant Paradox, I was unsuccessful with dieting. I found this particular product (as well as Gundry's PrebioThrive) did make a noticeable difference in my energy levels and did result in a 30lb weight loss.

    What I like most about this is the taste, and the fact that I can mix it in both hot and cold drinks. I mix it with water during the summer, and hot tea when I feel cold. I have also replaced one cup of hot coffee in the am with one hot tea plus Vital Reds. Vital Reds mixes better than nearly all previous supplements I have tried, and that matters to me. It is sold by weight, NOT volume, so it does at first appear that you are only getting 1/2 a jar. I simply order in multiples and pour one into another (this is something I wish all manufacturers would step up to.) The taste is very good, not so sweet, but certainly not chalky. I will continue to use this. I do think they could work on the cost. Similar supplements can be substantially less, but I find this does work better, so I will pay it until a better product comes along.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds

    • New York,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product tastes unnaturally sweet, as if an artificial sweetener has been added. I will be sending it back...it is awful! The concept makes sense, but the product does not taste natural and clumps up when mixed. Also, there is a large amount that remains at the bottom of the glass. I ordered three extra containers based on how it was advertised but cannot even conceive of finishing one of the containers (let alone six of them)!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Martha, Aria here with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our product. Vital Reds contains no artificial ingredients, and is sweetened naturally with Stevia. I always recommend using a blender bottle to combine our products for the best results. I am more than happy to issue you a full refund, just for giving us a try. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com Thank you!

    • Jan 19, 2019

      Suzanne L.

      I want to comment on this product, which I rarely ever do.

      I am a retired geriatric nurse who has a few medical issues from degenerate disc disease to cardiac issues

      I am 52 years old, tired all the time, no energy to do anything. Helping out with my grandchildren is a big chore. I decided to try Vital Reds, not something I usually do. Guess what? I feel like a huge burst of energy has descended upon me, I am feeling so good. I have the energy to walk. I have to say my digestive issues are getting better. This is after taking for one month.

      That's all I can say for now. I will continue to take this and will update on my status.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product was found by accident. Though I found and purchased for my father, after sampling, I decided to keep a few containers for myself. Immediate results. I have found the same nutrients in my daily vitamins, so I have decided to stop taking all other supplements. Thank you. I would recommend this product to anyone of any age...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Immediate energy boost.

    • Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Vital Reds a week ago and the very first day I noticed a boost in my vitality. My body feels happier and more content as though it is now complete. It's difficult to find the words, but I feel better right from the getgo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Review on Vital Reds

    It has helped to improve my energy level, I feel less sleepy at work as previously I usually need my afternoon nap, but now I do not. It has also helped with my gastric issues. Now my stomach feels better after meals, and it has helped with my work too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds

    • Hampshire, United Kingdom,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mix Vital Reds with 8 fluid oz of cold organic whole milk in a shaker (shake for one minute) and drink it early each morning before a light breakfast of fruit and sometimes a boiled egg.

    It tastes really good and I feel great.

    I've been doing this for about 3 weeks and lost about 2 pounds. My BMI is slightly (just) overweight, so I hope to lose a few more pounds.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Beginnings

    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just begun drinking Vital Reds. I like drinking it with coffee in the mornings. I am looking forward to the results but realize it is too early to experience any results. I will keep you posted.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good product

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is my first jar of Vital Reds, but so far I like it. I thoroughly believe in the concept of what it does and am feeling it is helping me. I just bought a 3-month package, so you know I am committing to it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Early days Vital Reds

    • Snohomish, WA,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since I have been diagnosed with osteoporosis and am deficient in D3, I am making an effort to provide my body with healthy supplements. Since taking Vital Reds and following their food recommendations, I felt like I had more energy. It has a tasty flavor and easy to fix.

    I am also starting Total Restore too, so will give it more time!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    First try

    • Massachusetts,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I take Vital Reds one time per day. It tastes good and we both notice an energy boost shortly after drinking it. In general, we look forward to enjoying our Reds indulgences daily. They should sell daily handy packs for travel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1303

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review