About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 30, 2018

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects.

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research:

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

Polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens.

As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

Vital Reds Ingredients

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits.

The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

» For Further Reading: Do You Need to Take Dietary Supplements?

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next.

However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainty that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, probiotics are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

» For Further Reading: Can Dietary Supplements Cause Dangerous Side Effects?

Vital Reds Cost and Where to Buy

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available from www.gundrymd.com in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95 (30-day supply)
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 (90-day supply)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 (180-day supply)

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

The dietary supplement can also be purchased from Amazon.

Who’s the Man Behind Vital Reds?

Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board-certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA.

Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.”

Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Bottom Line

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1296 Consumer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 815 4 star: 313 3 star: 48 2 star: 22 1 star:  98
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1296
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beginnings

    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have just begun drinking Vital Reds. I like drinking it with coffee in the mornings. I am looking forward to the results but realize it is too early to experience any results. I will keep you posted.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good product

    • Arlington, TX,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is my first jar of Vital Reds, but so far I like it. I thoroughly believe in the concept of what it does and am feeling it is helping me. I just bought a 3-month package, so you know I am committing to it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Early days Vital Reds

    • Snohomish, WA,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since I have been diagnosed with osteoporosis and am deficient in D3, I am making an effort to provide my body with healthy supplements. Since taking Vital Reds and following their food recommendations, I felt like I had more energy. It has a tasty flavor and easy to fix.

    I am also starting Total Restore too, so will give it more time!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • First try

    • Massachusetts,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I take Vital Reds one time per day. It tastes good and we both notice an energy boost shortly after drinking it. In general, we look forward to enjoying our Reds indulgences daily. They should sell daily handy packs for travel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Exceeded all my expectations

    • Gulf Breeze, FL,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start by saying that I rarely write reviews. In fact, something has to be truly life-changing for me to take the time out to write a review.

    I just turned 60 years old. My 82-year-old mother lives with me, I have a 15-year-old son, I own my own business and am also in the process of starting a new business. I'm always looking for ways to increase my energy, focus and just feel better in general.

    I have tried a myriad of different products promising to increase energy, everything from things that were supposed to be "superfoods" to various nootropics. I tried some that did give me energy but were loaded with caffeine and gave me the shakes and had me tossing and turning every night when I tried to sleep.

    Vital Reds are completely different from anything I've ever tried and I must admit, I was skeptical. First of all, it was a powder, and if something tastes bad, I won't take it. Vital Reds is fruity and is actually tastes good. I can actually mix it with just water. I've never been able to mix a powder of any sort with just water. I've always had to disguise powders in some other beverage.

    Vital Reds also works. It gives you energy all day but doesn't give you the shakes, and it doesn't make you feel like you're speeding or nervous. You just feel good and not tired at all - even in the afternoon at that low point everyone has, which for me is around 3:00. And, I've been sleeping so much better.

    My 82-year-old mother who is very active, all of a sudden started feeling very tired. She complained of not having any energy and just not feeling great or like she wanted to do anything. I had her try my Vital Reds and within a couple of hours, she was feeling back to her old self.

    Vital Reds works immediately. It's not like you have to be taking it for weeks before you feel any difference. You start feeling better and have more energy almost immediately. And it's very subtle. You aren't speeding around, you just start noticing that you're not tired or worn out and you feel generally just good.

    I probably sound like a commercial for Vital Reds, but I seriously can't say enough great things about Vital Reds. My mother and I both take them every morning and wouldn't think of missing a day!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • Ancaster, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vita Reds is an excellent product. I feel more energy and my digestion has improved. The taste is pleasant, and when you mix it with greens or in a smoothie, you don't need breakfast.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Vital Reds for approximately 15 days now. I have not noticed that much difference in my energy levels thus far, but the energy was not my primary reason for taking Vital Reds. The taste reminds me of vitaminwater. Since taking Vital Reds, I have not had as much anxiety. Overall I like the product, and I will continue my 90-day trial.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Feeling great

    • Michigan,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vital Reds was recommended by a friend. Since I've been using it, I noticed an improvement in digestion (less heartburn and gas) and my skin is clearing up. I have Rosacea and it has been a struggle getting it under control. I realized a few days ago that it was clearing up! I'm thrilled. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Vital Reds full of energy

    • Juncos, Puerto Rico,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The very first serving gave me a blast of energy and went through my martial arts class like it never happened. My blood pressure wasn’t affected. I really recommend it. Just give it a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Suprise

    • Iowa,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A real surprise, I was issued a full refund without sending the products back. At least they do stand behind their refund policy. Thank you Gundry MD.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Julia,

      My name is Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Customer satisfaction is a priority of ours. I am so sorry about your experience with Vital Reds. While many of our customers do experience amazing benefits from Vital Reds, we understand that it may not work for everybody. In addition, we always recommend that you speak to your primary physician prior to beginning any new product to ensure that it is right for your specific needs. We care greatly about our customers and I have made a note about this situation. We also wholeheartedly stand by our 90-day money back guarantee. Please email me at Aria@grundryMD.com and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund. I look forward to making this right!

    • Sep 19, 2018

      Julia P.

      Well, I tried to email this Aria person and the email came back that the email address is not good. Unless I hear from her shortly, I will be updating my review to include scam! I will gladly remove that comment if she reaches out to me directly.

    • Sep 20, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Julia,

      I am sorry for the typo, my email is aria@gundrymd.com. I’m looking forward to hearing from you and I’ll keep a lookout for your email!

    • Sep 22, 2018

      Julia P.

      Well, I sent you another email and again, no word from you Aria@gundrymd.com. I'm still thinking this is not a valid company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Sep 22, 2018

    Tried again

    I tried emailing again with a new email address, still no word from Aria@grundymd.com. I'm still thinking these people are not reputable...

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Sep 20, 2018

    Tried reaching out

    I tried reaching out to Aria@grundrymd.com and the email address is no good. They are scammers! Do not waste your money!

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Sep 18, 2018

    Bad reaction

    I tried Vital Reds for two days. I had a horrible nervous systems reaction. After about 10 hours my nervous system settled down and my pain subsided a bit. Warning, if you have a hypersensitive nervous system, do not use Vital Reds. They are filled with B Vitamins and I have found out that I cannot use B Vitamins at high doses. It sets off my nervous system into full rage and my chronic pain goes through the roof. I am not sure if I'm going to return them, I want to see if my husband wants to try them. If not, then I'll be asking for a refund. I'm not saying these don't work for people that don't have nervous problems, but they are not for me.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Refund process works

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Vital Reds and Lectin Shield, but neither had any effect. Vital Reds cost was refunded, waiting for the Lectin Shield refund. I can understand shipping not being refunded, but I do not appreciate having to pay out of pocket to ship back an empty bottle. I guess all customers are crooks until proven innocent. They say they recycle the bottle. I wonder exactly what that means.

    The snake oil salesman "but wait there's more!" sales technique originally turned me off, but I tried the products anyway. I should have listened to my gut (no pun intended).

    Mr. Gundry may have been a doctor once, but now he's just another salesman.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Brian,

      My name is Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We care greatly about customer satisfaction, and I am sorry your experience did not reflect that. The content of every batch is tested at a cGMP-certified facility here in the USA and then tested again for purity, content, and dosage at an outside, third-party laboratory. We stand by each of our products and their safety and effectiveness. While thousands of our customers have positive experiences with our products, we understand that they might not work the same for everyone.

      As it is industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who do not decide to send back the product containers. I am so sorry for the confusion. But still, keep that we will honor the refund.

      If you have not sent back the Lectin Shield yet, I would be more than happy to give you a refund, no need to send anything back. Please email me at aria@gundryMD.com to get this process started. I would also love to learn more about why the product did not work for you. We are always trying to improve our business, so any type of feedback is valuable! Thank you.

    • Sep 18, 2018

      Brian P.

      The bottle was sent back prior to your response and the refund was received. Why exactly do I have to return an empty bottle? It makes no sense. Why can't I peel off the label and mail that to you? That would cost a whole lot less. Doesn't matter if its an industry standard. It's a waste of customers money.

      As for why it didn't work, I have no idea. They just didn't work for me. One thing you can do to improve your business is to offer your products for the lowest price possible and stop trying to get folks to buy by offering half a dozen "specials" during the checkout process. If you truly believe in your products don't try to sell them like a used car salesman. Offer the best product for the best price, put customers first, and don't play marketing games.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1296

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review