ASEA Redox Supplement Review: Benefits, Clinical Studies, Cost, and More

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 7, 2017

ASEA Redox Supplement contains stabilized active redox signaling molecules that, when consumed, promise to enhance cellular function and positively affect health in every system of the body.

Did that make you go cross-eyed?

In a nutshell, ASEA tells us that by drinking at least four ounces of Redox per day, the molecules suspended in the liquid will help improve the way your cells interact with their environment. It could also help protect, rejuvenate, and restore them.

As a result, you might experience improved energy generation and increased antioxidant levels, while empowering you to achieve your optimum health potential—regardless of your body’s vulnerability, age, gender, or genetic disposition.

To date, ASEA claims that the patented Redox Supplement has been used by hundreds of thousands of people around the world to help improve their cellular health from the inside out.

The ASEA website is undoubtedly correct when stating, “The health of every system in the body begins at the cellular level.”

But based on their extraordinary claims about the Redox Supplement, we’re left with three main questions:

  1. Are redox signals as important as the ASEA website makes them seem?
  2. Is it possible to boost redox signals through supplementation?
  3. And if so, will this redox boost result in meaningful, real-world benefits?

Let’s discuss what we learned during our research.

What Is Redox Signaling?

Cells don’t have sensory organs like humans. Instead, they use a complex biochemical system to perceive and respond to their environment—the process by which this occurs is known as cell signaling.

Cell signaling itself is highly dependent on something called reactive oxygen species (ROS), a chemical species created as a byproduct of the normal metabolism of oxygen (the loss, or reduction, of electrons).

In fact, ROS is even created when mitochondria (known as the cell’s powerhouses) produce energy.

If any of this sounds familiar, it’s because ROS is a type of free radical, a substance known to damage DNA, RNA, and proteins. In turn, this leads to things like inflammation, aging, cell death, and increased risk of cancer.

To sum all of this up, the term ‘redox signaling’ simply references the process whereby cells use free radicals as chemical signals (or messengers), both internally and externally.

So, will you be drinking some tasty free radicals with your Redox beverage? Let’s take a look.

Can the Ingredients In ASEA Redox Supplement Improve Cell Signaling?

Each bottle of ASEA Redox Supplement contains 190 milligrams of chloride (6% daily value) and 123 milligrams of sodium (7% daily value). In other words, it’s salt water.

But not just any salt water. Instead, ASEA claims:

“It starts as ultrapure water and salt that then undergoes a complex multi-step electrochemical process over three days. Complex chemistry and physics are involved in the production process, with tightly controlled quality assurance and production parameters and neutral pH (7.35). The finished product contains a perfectly balanced, safe, stable mixture of redox signaling molecules such as those natively produced by the mitochondria inside all cells in your body.”

There’s certainly a lot of information in that paragraph, but it doesn’t move us any closer to understanding how ASEA’s formulation is any different than regular salt water—or proving that its “complex multi-step electrochemical process” will improve cell signaling.

And perhaps most importantly, ASEA links to very little evidence indicating that this improved cell signaling (if it occurs at all) results in meaningful benefits to the body. Let’s carry this thought over to the next section.

Is There Clinical Evidence Supporting ASEA’s Redox Supplement Claims?

On the Research page of their website, ASEA references six different studies.

A Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) study showing that exposure to Redox Supplement caused in vitro cells to increase antioxidant release for a period of about 120 minutes.

Another study completed by Pacific Northwest National Laboratory showed that orally administered Redox Supplement caused no toxic response or inflammation to tissue. In other words, it was confirmed nontoxic.

A study conducted by Dr. David C. Nieman at the North Carolina Research Campus Human Performance Laboratory involving 106 overweight women who consumed 4oz of Redox per day for a period of 12 weeks.

There, LDL and serum cholesterol were reduced by 6.3% in those given Redox Supplement versus placebo.

There were a handful of other studies (no organization or authorship information were shown) listed on the ASEA website indicating that the Redox Supplement:

  • Increased the nuclear translocation of the NRF2 transcription factor in the cells over a short-lived period of 30 – 60 minutes
  • Helped inhibit the proliferation of certain markers harmful to cell viability and health
  • Reduced the death of cells that were stressed with cytokines (cachexin), radiation, and serum starvation

During our research, we also encountered a study completed at the University of North Carolina in June 2013, although no results were listed. What does all of this mean?

While we’re not clinical professionals here at HighYa, we think it’s important for manufacturers to open their clinical trials to peer review, so that those who are clinical professionals can attempt to duplicate the results or find flaws in the methodologies.

As far as we can tell, not only are these studies not publically available (so you can read through them yourself), they don't appear to have been peer-reviewed, so there’s no way for everyday consumers to understand if they hold any significance.

Even then, if we were to sweep away these major concerns and take the results of these studies at face value, only one (the Dr. Nieman study showing reduced cholesterol in obese women) reflects any real-world benefits.

But will it cause any harm?

Will ASEA Redox Cause Any Side Effects?

Since Redox Supplement only contains water and 123 milligrams of sodium, which is about 7% of the upper safe limit as designated by the FDA, authoritative websites indicate that side effects other than mild digestive upset would be rare.

The ASEA website also notes that Redox contains a trace amount of chlorine as a result of the chloride, although they note, “it exists in low doses and causes none of the irritation that chlorine can cause in higher concentrations.”

How Much Does ASEA’s Redox Supplement Cost? What’s the Per-Serving Price?

ASEA Redox is priced as follows:

  • 2 Bottles (32oz each): $75
  • 1 Case (4 32oz bottles): $150
  • 1 Athletic Case (16 8oz pouches): $160

You can also purchase a single bottle of Redox through ASEA’s Amazon store for $38.29 each.

At 4oz per serving, this means each bottle of Redox will last approximately eight servings, which is about $4.69 per serving. If you plan on using Redox daily (as recommended by ASEA), then you’ve just added around $143 to your monthly expenses.

All ASEA products, including Redox Supplement, come with a 30-day money back guarantee. Note: According to their FAQ, this only applies to all Preferred Customers, Retail Customers, and Associates on their initial enrollment order.

To request a refund, ASEA customer support can be reached at 888-438-5971 or support@ASEAglobal.com.

The ASEA Opportunity

ASEA tells us that more than 70% of people who start their businesses list being their own boss as a common top reason for doing it.

As a result, they’ve made all of their products available through a multi-level marketing platform where Associates can sign up for monthly automatic shipments, sell them at a markup, and pocket the profit.

Associates can also earn commissions for sales made by other Associates who sign up underneath them, which is known as downline marketing.

ASEA Compensation DiagramASEA, like most MLM opportunities, allows Associates to earn commissions on sales made by first, second, and third-generation associates under them. Image credit: ASEA

Compared to other multi-level marketing companies, ASEA tells us that their Associate retention rate (the number of independent reps who stick with their business) is more than triple the 15–20% industry average.

Additionally, ASEA’s Business Coach promises to provide helpful resources for starting your business, including marketing and personal growth.

Are MLM Opportunities a Good Idea?

As we often state, we’re here to provide you with the information—not to tell you what to do with your hard-earned money.

However, we’ve written in-depth articles about some of the most popular players in the MLM industry and even penned Do Multi-Level Marketing Companies Differ From Pyramid Schemes?

Based on this research, as well as reading hundreds of reviews from MLM company associates, we’ve learned that the vast majority of people who enter this business lose money.

According to the Federal Trade Commission, more than 99% end up in the red, while the Consumer Awareness Institute puts the number closer to 99.99%.

Even Chris, who we interviewed for our article above and who reached some of the top tiers in his business, learned that he lost about $12,000 over the course of two years.

What’s the point? ASEA may have a much better retention rate than the competition (we didn’t verify this statement), but this still doesn’t mean you’ll necessarily be more profitable than with many of the other MLM opportunities out there.

Before doing anything, take the time to read through ASEA’s full Compensation Plan and make sure any questions you have are answered in advance.

Whether as a consumer or as an Associate, what’s everyone saying about the Redox Supplement?

Customer Reviews: What’s the Feedback for ASEA’s Redox Supplement?

On Amazon, Redox had more than 110 customer reviews at the time of our research with an average rating of 3.4 stars. There, most compliments referenced improved health (increased energy, better-looking skin, reduced pain) and quick shipping.

Like the majority of nutritional supplements, the most common customer complaints about Redox were no results, along with a high price. Several customers even noted a lack of results after consuming multiple bottles.

Like us, Science-Based Medicine wondered exactly what ASEA’s chemical process does to water that makes it nearly $2.40 per ounce, concluding, “ASEA is salt water. You can make your own salt water at home for much less than a dollar an ounce.”

As a company, ASEA, LLC was founded by Verdis Norton in 2010 and is based out of Salt Lake City, UT.

They had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating with four closed complaints (as of 1/6/16). Only one of these were available, which referenced a salesperson falsely claiming that ASEA can treat cancer.

Our Bottom Line About ASEA’s Redox Supplement

Is Redox a combination of salt and water? Yes. And at nearly $2.40 per ounce and $4.69 per serving, most of us would probably consider it a high-priced liquid supplement.

But if you’re buying a yacht, an elite sports car, a private plane, or any other luxury item, you’re probably not concerned about price. Instead, you’re focused on the value that the product can potentially deliver.

To this extent, will the “complex multi-step electrochemical process” ASEA applies to their salt water result in improved cellular signaling? And if so, will this improvement result in any real-world benefits—ones that make the supplement’s high price worthwhile?

If it were our money, we don’t think ASEA provides enough information about 1) how their manufacturing process makes Redox different than regular salt water, 2) publically accessible, peer-reviewed clinical trials indicating that Redox can cause biological changes in humans, or 3) that these changes (if any) will result in noticeable benefits.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 20 ASEA Redox Supplement Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 70% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    • United Kingdom,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I came across this oddly after I prayed for help - was bedridden for months, unable to look after my 10-year-old son after moving into a property that I had no idea had air born mycotoxins from a damp unvented chimney breast wall in my bedroom covered in wood chip wallpaper. For months I went down with 41 symptoms related to biotoxin illness - didn't know about it till months later.

    I took ASEA in the third month of being completely on death's door - really really ill and weak. I didn't know what it was about - what it would do, but I was prepared to try anything. I had written funeral plans and ready to give up. I was so weak and so life lacking ill. After 4 days of feeling like total crap (I realise now my body was rapidly detoxing), I regained some of my brain function that had melted away - memory was shot - I started to feel like I could climb the stairs to my son's bedroom...pick up a vacuum, even do a pathetic star jump. I had not felt able to do any of this in months.

    I took ASEA on a flight to the sun over Xmas with my son who had been coughing also constantly...we continued to drink it, sweated out toxins and came back to the horrid flat, found mold in the car, googled it with Chronic fatigue and then discovered I was renting a very sick building...got out, having inhaled a whole load more of these horrible neurotoxic pathogens. I now understand why ASEA saved my life - mold kills, especially the vulnerable to mold. Shuts all organs down bit by bit. ASEA Redox counters the cell death that these toxins produce in the body - it helps with oxidative stress...it literally saved my life.

    We are still battling residual impact - in various ways, as we have not afforded to keep up the intake, but when I do buy a case, my health improves, the stiff joints ease, the sight returns sharper, the energy improves and life feels good again. This is hardcore science - many illnesses caused by inflammation resulting from toxic environments, people haven't a clue, this breakthrough tech is really the only thing out there that helped us (my son and I).

    This is no placebo, it's not just salt water...it's really able to help restore your body's needed glutathione levels, cell signaling, and get to work on the cellular repair. This is NEXT level healing - the proof was in the taking, blindly, and not knowing what would happen. You can't fake chronic fatigue - you've got it or you haven't, you can't fake memory fog - its vile, and ASEA really does fix it all. I even put it in my eyes now when they are red and agitated as the mold destroyed much of my sight (long distance/visual contrast sensitivity). Trust me - you cannot go wrong.

    I have spent hundreds on vitamins and powders that do little on their own - but this is the best product by far. I have even used the RENU gel which has fixed loads of things - my hands were aching from formaldehyde furniture I had made flat packed, I got rid of the furniture, it was toxic but hands remained stiff and sore for months, especially in the mornings. I rubbed ASEA gel on them - and never bad since. I have NO invested interest in sharing this info with you other than a heart that cares about people who are ill - and want you to be better. TRUST it - trolls who have nothing wrong with them will tell you its no good, take it from me, it's very good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Everyone is different and it might not be suitable for you

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking ASEA in about June 2018. Was fine at first and seemed to help a little with my respiratory problems, but after a few weeks, I started to get pressure in my head with each day I took ASEA and it kept tightening like a vice.

    I was down to about 4mls per days (as recommended by the ASEA consultant), and who advised to keep going. I had to stop due to the pressure in my head. I went off for approximately two months then started again, and the same thing happened. Each day I took ASEA, the vice-like grip around my head kept getting tighter until I thought it really was going to explode!

    I no longer take ASEA as it doesn't seem suitable for me.

    You are the only one who can say after taking ASEA if it is helping or not as it is your body and you are the only one who knows what is happening inside of it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Get on board!

    • DeLand, FL,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 67-year-old retired teacher, living in Florida.

    My life has revolved around butterfly gardening, playing competitive tennis and travel. After one week of 4 oz. daily intake of ASEA, I have better sleep, more energy, endurance on the court, and less recovery time. Most importantly, I have reduced muscle and joint inflammation. Before beginning the ASEA Program, I would have stiffness and reduced range of motion. I was often not able to play on back to back days. Now I am able to play back to back days and work in gardens without pain and stiffness. Finally, by using Renue 28 gel, pain in knees and shoulder is remarkably reduced.

    This is an amazing product and a true scientific breakthrough in cell production. I would highly recommend this program to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No head or neck discomfort

    • Australia,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use 30 ml's of ASEA beverage twice daily and gel for head discomfort known as headaches. I suffer from chronic pain and this is the only product since 2003 that has helped me massively. No more high priced drugs and no more feeling sick because of them, and BEST of all, no more doctor visits!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Not sure it is all it is cracked up to be

    • Henrico, VA,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started ASEA three weeks ago. I did notice a better night's sleep within a few days, but beyond that, what I noticed was increased bloating on a daily basis and progressively more joint pain and discomfort. I was using the gel daily, but to be honest I have used other less expensive gels and received the same if not better relief.

    On the third week of using the ASEA liquid product I experienced light paths crossing the right eye, then the next day a crescent shadow, then vertical light paths vertically on the periphery. I did go to my Ophthalmologist that explained the vitreous gel in my eye was not liquified as it should be. Fortunately, there is no tear in the retina. I decided to muscle test myself to see if my body even would benefit from the ASEA and my body was rejecting the ASEA as a beneficial supplement. The next day I only muscle tested for 1 oz, not the 4 oz daily they recommend. They have packaged a product and marketed it similar to pharmaceutical companies. Regardless of your age, build, weight, everyone should take 4 oz or more a day. I have worked with herbal products long enough to know that there can be a detoxifying effect but when it is all consuming and debilitating, you need to back up. Although I cannot prove it, I imagine the salt content in my body effected the "liquid" state of the vitreous humor causing it to harden.

    Temporary or not, it is my vision and I am not willing to risk it. I will most likely be calling to see if I can get any refund on what I have left - three unopened bottles and one tube of Renu 28 gel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Turned off my MLM

    • Singapore,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When first introduced to it, I was turned off by the MLM distribution. I wasn’t interested in selling it but feel people are less open to heartfelt recommendations if they think you are selling the product. Anyway, I slowly read up on it and I thought why not, especially I wanted more energy back.

    The first week I was told to take two ounces two times a day if felt nothing up to four ounces two times a day. The second week it did, and I was getting detox effects, headaches, tiredness, and flu-like systems but after a few days and drinking lots of water that passed and my energy went from a 4 to an 8.

    I work nights as a club owner so there are many nights of drinking, smoking and late nights. Whereas I would sleep at 5 am and wake no earlier than 3 pm and still be tried and non-productive, I’m now up by 11 or 12 and full of energy and my brain works!

    My husband started slower two times two but after two weeks on the upper dosage of four times two, he stopped his medication for atrial fibrillation, his constant gut issues and almost daily diarrhea have stopped, and his blood pressure has never been better. Also, my cousin who started two weeks ago has almost cleared her psoriasis.

    I’m no health practitioner but there may be cases where it doesn’t seem to work that being your body needs more help, so upping the dosage would help (you can decrease later) or that the body needs more gut healing before you start as the ASEA may detox too fast and not enough time to heal the gut, and the toxins are leaking back into the body, making the person feel worse.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Life changing!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I too was skeptical about this, but a friend was sharing how much it had improved his energy. So I thought I'd try it. Oh MY gosh! By day four of 2oz in the morning and 2oz at the evening, I had no more chronic pain, no more night sweats, no more plantar fasciitis, I slept better, I was more alert - I literally felt like I was 19! I'm over 50. To top it off, I played 21 games of tennis.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 50 people found this review helpful

    ASEA Water and Gel

    • Geelong, Australia,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used ASEA Water and Gel since November 2016 and have had great success with it.

    I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and a lot of research has given me a good understanding of how it works. Our cells use a salt water solution as a medium to create all of the body parts that are needed for us to live a healthy life. The molecules of water and salt are split apart to send messages and create energy so that the parts can be made. The messages occur through electron flows from the redox reactions of the molecules. This is why they are called "redox signaling molecules."

    It is incorrect to describe ASEA Water as salt water. A better description would be "supercharged cellular solution." This is why it smells like pool water and tastes like pool water.

    My own experiences with the product are many and varied.

    If I use the gel on something that has just happened, it cures quickly. If it has been a long-term problem, it takes a lot longer to cure. Also, the body uses the ASEA water and gel to treat its major concern, which may be different to what you want cured.

    The greatest success was my right foot and ankle, which had chronic pain and inflammation for about 10 years. I tried everything from a normal podiatrist to a sporting podiatrist, massage, manipulation and physiotherapy without success. I finally went to a well-known sports surgeon. I had a plantar fasciitis release, had two spurs trimmed from my heel and achilles and a bone growth removed from the top of my foot.

    It was a waste of time and money.

    After six months I started on the ASEA products and nothing happened for 14 months (I kept going as I was having success with other minor problems). Miraculously the pain and inflammation then stopped for two weeks over the Christmas period. It returned after the two weeks but I kept going with the ASEA Gel and water. After a further three months, the pain and inflammation stopped completely and hasn't returned. After putting up with the pain for so long, it is such a relief to be back to normal.

    I would recommend the ASEA products for any problem.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Getting my life back

    • Texas,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend introduced me to ASEA products a month ago.

    For the last five years, my health has been declining. Last year was the most difficult year surgery-wise; I had a total knee and a total hip replacement on the same leg, eight months apart.

    Four years ago, I was diagnosed with an atypical B-cell abnormality, and my platelets dropped to 49. This condition robs me of energy and health, and on bad days I needed 2-3, 3-hour naps a day.

    I began feeling better four days after starting the ASEA Redox Supplement and I started rubbing Renu 28 on my surgery scars and several painful arthritic joints, twice a day.

    My 6-month follow appointment with the specialist was 28 days later, and my platelets tripled from 89 to 229 in three weeks. The only addition to my regiment was ASEA.

    I can't stop talking about this product. To me, it is a lifesaver.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 48 out 58 people found this review helpful

    I will recommend ASEA to everyone

    • Australia,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good day all.

    I have been taking ASEA 30 ml in the morning and 30 ml in the afternoon for less than a month now and I noticed my nails are growing like crazy long and strong, and my staff complimenting me how shiny and long my hair is now.

    I sleep like a baby now. I had problems with sleeping for many years previously, and I have lost 6 kgs in less than a month by eating less, but I am certain taking ASEA has given me the energy to achieve this positive result.

    I also suffer from asthma, and since I started taking ASEA I am not using any of the puffers and machine anymore, and we live in a very polluted industrial city.

    My sister has also started taking ASEA about six days ago, and she too notices she has the energy now and the pain in her shoulders are gone.

    My brother-in-law took some and he normally cannot sleep properly, but he slept well the whole night!

    I will recommend it to anyone who is suffering from any ailments.

    The lady who introduced me to ASEA is a cancer survivor. She also had several cancer skins cut from her face. She was on thyroid and sleeping pills for 20 years. Since using ASEA, her doctor told her she does not need those pills anymore. She has very smooth skin now, and she looks 20 years younger!

    It is not just salt water because we did a flower test by putting a fresh rose in ASEA, water, and salt water. The one in salt water wilted first, and the one in ASEA lasted the longest!

    Cheers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    I used ASEA for three weeks, and have no more brain dog, tons energy, and feel great. My daughter has Lyme, now being tested for Parkinson's. She used ASEA for one month, and tremors are gone, pain is gone, and for the first time in four years I have seen her not sick. As a mom, and $100,000 of testing, this product is working. My friend, who is a runner, is running one mile in less than nine minutes. The best she has run since was in the military, 20 years ago. NOT A SCAM. The Renu 28, I am using on my face and I seriously look 10 years younger. I will never stop using.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a Review for ASEA Redox Supplement!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review