About Telogenesis by LCR Health

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 9, 2018

By supporting your body’s natural production of telomerase, Telogenesis by LCR Health is a dietary supplement that promises to deliver boosted strength and energy, a more youthful appearance, and reduced muscle and joint soreness.

In fact, the promotional video indicates it could even help support weight management, improve overall health, and potentially slow or reverse the physical and mental symptoms of aging. And all of this without the use of caffeine or synthetic additives.

To experience these benefits, the LCR Health website advertises you’ll need to take one capsule of Telogenesis per day with an 8 oz glass of water, ideally in the morning. Make sure you continue taking a dose about the same time each day for at least 30 days in order to sufficiently increase your telomerase threshold.

As a company, LCR Health manufactures a complete line of supplements (Midogen, Active-PK, and Cerastim, to name just a few) and held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau as of 7/9/18. But, does this necessarily mean that Telogenesis will ‘hack' your body into rewinding the clock and help you live a healthier, longer life, as advertised in the promo video?

This is the central question we’ll help you answer in this article. First, though, Let’s cover some quick basics we can use as a solid foundation.

Telomeres 101

The details: As outlined briefly in the Telogenesis promo video, telomeres act like the plastic caps at the end of shoelaces to help protect the DNA contained inside a chromosome. Writing for Scientific American, Jalees Rehman, adds some important details by explaining it this way:

Telomeres are repetitive DNA sequences at the ends of chromosomes which act as protective caps. Every time a cell divides, its chromosomes undergo a doubling process so that the two daughter cells receive equal amounts of DNA. During the DNA replication and the separation of the newly formed chromosomes, small chunks of DNA are trimmed off at the end of the chromosomes. By having protective telomere caps, the shortening process only affects the telomeres and not the essential gene-encoding parts of the chromosome.”

As these telomeres increasingly shorten with every cell division, Jalees goes on to explain there’s evidence this can have a negative impact on the aging process and lead to commonly associated diseases.

But, the body has a damage-control protocol in place in the form of telomerase, an enzyme found in high levels inside stem cells that helps minimize telomere shortening during cell division. Therefore, it might make sense that—as Dr. Rand McClain proposes in the Telogenesis video—increasing telomerase levels in our body could positively affect aging.

The problem is that even though telomerase has been studied extensively since the 1980s, and earned Elizabeth Blackburn, Carol Greider, and Jack Szostak, the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, it’s still not completely understood. In fact, Jalees writes:

“Dr. Blackburn was quick to point out that these correlations do not necessarily mean that there is a direct cause and effect relationship. In fact, increasing telomerase levels ought to lengthen telomeres but in the case of cancer, too much telomerase can be just as bad as too little telomeres.”

TL;DR: In tightly controlled clinical settings, increasing telomerase enzyme levels in mice has been shown to increase telomere length, although it’s unclear if doing so will have lasting health benefits or consequences.

Now, the next logical question is: Have Telogenesis’ ingredients been clinically shown to boost telomerase levels and provide real-world aging benefits in humans?

Taking a Closer Look at Telogenesis’ Ingredients

According to the supplement facts label listed on the LCR Health website, Telogenesis contains:

  • AC-11 extract 350 mg
  • Astragalus membranaceus extract 150 mg
  • KSM-66 Ashwagandha extract 125 mg

Manufactured by Healthycell, AC-11 is a dietary supplement in its own right made from the Uncaria tomentosa plant (more commonly known as cat’s claw), which they claim is “proven to enhance cell health by supporting your body’s natural ability to repair DNA, limit inflammation, clear out damaged cells, and enhance immune function.” However, the company doesn’t provide clinical support for these claims.

Related Reading: Before Buying a Dietary Supplement, Follow These Steps to Understand Its Claims

Sites like WebMD, the Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com indicate there’s enough clinical evidence to list cat’s claw as ‘possibly effective’ for reducing osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis pain, but nothing related to LCR Health’s claims for Telogenesis.

These same sites report much of the same lack of clinical evidence for astragalus and ashwagandha.

Could Telogenesis’ Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database report that although cat’s claw is possibly safe for most people, it can cause headache, dizziness, and vomiting (no dosages or other specifics listed). It can also have a moderate interaction with high blood pressure and immunosuppressive medications.

They note the side effects of astragalus are not known, as well as the long-term safety of ashwagandha.

To help minimize potential side effects and interactions with any supplement, Telogenesis or otherwise, make sure you have an in-depth conversation with your doctor before placing an order.

How Much Does Telogenesis by LCR Health Cost?

You’ll pay different amounts for Telogenesis, depending on the LCR Health website you purchase from. On TheLongevityProtocol.com, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Bottle: $49.95
  • 3 Bottles: $134.85 ($44.95 each)
  • 6 Bottles: $254.70 ($42.45 each)

On the other hand, purchasing from the main LCRHealtth.com will increase your prices to:

  • 1 Bottle: $69
  • 3 Bottles: $134.85 ($44.95 each)
  • 6 Bottles: $254.70 ($42.45 each)

LCR Health offers a 90-day money back guarantee on all Telogenesis purchases, less return S&H, which you can request by calling 800-384-8308 or sending an email to support@LCRhealth.com.

Telogenesis vs. Other Telomere Dietary Supplements

Although the study of telomeres is a relatively new field, there are perhaps dozens of dietary supplements on the market competing with Telogenesis, many of which promote the same general claims. Here were some of the more popular options on Amazon and Google Shopping at the time of our research:

Brand Price Active Ingredients
Telogenesis by LCR Health $49.95 AC-11 extract 350 mg, Astragalus membranaceus extract 150 mg, KSM-66 Ashwagandha extract 125 mg
TeloMax $69.95 Chromium 240 mcg, Withania somnifera, Angelica sinensis, Crataegus oxyacantha, Silybum marianum, Terminalia chebula, Genistein, Cistanche, Polygonum cuspidatum
TA-65 $100+ Bioenhanced astragalus extract 8 mg
IsaGenesis from IsaGenix $105.33 retail Vitamins A, C, E, B12; a 1,280 mg proprietary blend of 30 ingredients
Enzymedica Telomere Plus $30 Vitamin D3; a proprietary mixture of astragalus, SGS Broccoli Seed Extract, Rhodiola extract
Source Naturals Telomeron $26 Vitamins D3 and B12, Astragalus, N-Acetyl Cysteine, L-Carnosine, Turmeric Rhizome Extract, Green Tea Leaf Extract, Purslane Aerial Parts Extract, Natural trans-Resveratrol, Grape Seed Extract, Tocotrienol Complex (Tocomax™)

Given these vastly different price points and formulations, how can you make the most empowered decision?

As emphasized above, it's vital that you start by speaking with your doctor. They'll listen to your concerns, order the appropriate tests (if necessary), and provide a science-backed approach to helping you meet your health goals.

If they recommend that you pursue dietary supplements like Telogenesis, after writing about thousands of related products over the years, we've learned that you'll want only to do business with companies who:

  • Support their claims with clinical evidence
  • Price their products competitively
  • Stand behind their products with at least a 30-day refund policy, and no restocking fees
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback

Let’s apply these criteria to Telogenesis as we wrap everything up.

Can You Expect Longer Telomeres with Telogenesis by LCR Health?

We learned earlier there’s high-quality clinical indicating that boosting telomerase in mice can potentially increase telomere length, leading to improved overall health. In fact, much of this evidence earned Elizabeth Blackburn, Carol Greider, and Jack Szostak the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

However, even Dr. McClain admits in the Telogenesis promotional video that the procedures used in these labs to boost telomerase levels were complicated, expensive, and not generally attainable by most of the population. But according to sites like WebMD and Examine.com, there isn’t enough clinical evidence that the ingredients found in this formulation will increase telomerase or deliver on any of the company’s advertising claims.

It’s important to balance these details by pointing out that LCR Health seems to come with a mostly positive online customer reputation, prices their supplement relatively competitively, and offers a 3-month return policy on all purchases if it doesn’t meet your needs and preferences.

We just might recommend purchasing through their TheLongevityProtocol.com website, which would save you $20 each at the time of our research.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Consumer Reviews for Telogenesis by LCR Health

Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 6 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • Telogenesis

    • Macon, GA,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Telogenesis for just under one month. I have noticed a difference in the texture of the skin, especially on my face. Certainly a more youthful look. Will continue to take the product on a daily basis. Highly recommended!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hoping the product would improve my back pain (recent spinal fusion surgery had left me with virtually no over-the-counter med to cope with PT recovery - my RA condition only complicates this, anti-inflammatories will wreak havoc on my already ravaged stomach).

    I was pleasantly surprised to find a better sense of daily comfort once I started the supplements. Unfortunately, the cost has required I reduce my dose to an odd-day only regimen in order to more realistically afford the supplements.

    I'm hoping cutting back to every other day will STILL give me the benefits, but also allow me to better afford the cost of the supplement on my budget. Here's hoping the positive influence continues on this abbreviated regimen...we all do what we have to!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Energy

    • Desert Springs, AZ,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking the Telogenesis by LCR Health in February 2019. Within one week I realized I actually had more energy, and at my age, that was a much-needed asset. I didn't need a nap during the afternoons. I could keep on going. Sometimes I do need a little sitdown break, but no naps. Energy is the biggest thing I noticed. Brain function? Who knows...my brain just keeps on producing...I think. I have nothing to compare it to, because I have lived alone for more than 24 years. Now I have someone here so may have comparisons at a later date. I have a doctor's appointment very soon, so will be the first time he has seen this product on my list of medications. Will see what his reaction will be at that time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Spring in my step

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I seem to be thinking clearer and have a definite spring in my step that was not there prior to starting the product. I am looking forward to seeing how far this will go and how improved I am.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Something is different

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm not sure what the overall difference is but more energy, focus, and spring in my step has improved. I think the supplement may have contributed to the overall improvement. Not as hungry as before supplement taken, muscle tone seems to crave exercise and activity around the house or at the gym. I will continue to see if differences last or get better as time goes on with the supplement program. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Was skeptical but not anymore!

    • Killeen, TX,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm really glad I tried this product. I have been using it for almost a month. I have fibromyalgia and have noticed a difference in my muscle and nerve pain. I am now sleeping better. I have lost inches in my stomach area. My appetite is more curbed. I still have issues but I do notice a change for the better, especially in my pain. I can walk better and do more Than I have in a long while. Nothing I have taken before has done anything to help my muscle pain.

    Thank you for your product. I will be ordering it again and can't wait to see what else it can do for me. I can't believe this is actually helping me, but it sure is! NOTHING has ever helped me like this has. SO HAPPY!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No discernible difference after two months on Telogenesis

    • California,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had great expectations for the product after listening to all the information in the marketing presentation. Even though the hope was to get results pretty quickly, it did nothing for me, but I have gone through two bottles and have started on the third. My bottles recommend taking with 8 oz of water. It does NOT say to on an empty stomach. I saw in another review that it should be taken on an empty stomach.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2019

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Thomas, I'm sorry to hear that you aren't experiencing the results you had hoped. We understand that everybody is different which is why we will always honor our 90-day money back guarantee. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I can get that process started for you immediately. In regards to the recommended use, 1 capsule of TeloGenesis should be taken daily with a glass of water, either with food or on an empty stomach. Apologies for the confusion, please don't hesitate to reach out with questions or concerns in the future.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Washington,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 65 and read all the information about the ingredients in Telogenesis, I can hardly believe it, but I'm feeling a lot better in general. My energy level is much improved, and my blood sugar levels are much improved also. I usually have fibromyalgia in the cold damp winter here, but so far the pain has not come on this winter. This is big for me.

    I'm so happy to be feeling a lot better, and I've stopped other supplements, just to see if this one was going to have any effect. I really think it's helping my health overall, and would highly recommend this product. It's a bit expensive, but I want to keep feeling this good, so I'll keep taking it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Better sleep

    • Idaho,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took about two weeks, but I have been getting better sleep. I have more concentration than before. I haven't really noticed anything else as of yet, but am still waiting to see more results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Feeling good

    • York, PA,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have no way of knowing if it is the use of this supplement or a placebo effect, but I have felt better. I have found the energy to do a little exercising and have started a diet. I also have found that my blood pressure has come down, although I also take turmeric which might be helping with that. I will probably order again if I continue to feel this good. No sense in taking any chances.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Read the instructions, it will save you time.

    I am 68, so something that will extend your Telomeres was of some interest to me. I felt better after taking it almost immediately, and that I could say for sure by the third day. I have been taking it since. But I am getting old, and I know just one pill is not going to restore my youth. I received offers for other LCR products, the Telogenesis was working, let’s try the other products.

    Now, it is important to read the instructions, which I did not at first. The Telogenesis can be taken with food, but the other three products are recommended to be taken on an empty stomach with a glass of water. They did not work as well when taken with food, and after I finally read the instructions and followed those directions, the other three products worked much better.

    So, the final word is, how you take your supplements is as important as what supplements you take.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a Review for Telogenesis by LCR Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review