ASEA Redox Supplement Review: Benefits, Clinical Studies, Cost, and More

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 7, 2017

ASEA Redox Supplement contains stabilized active redox signaling molecules that, when consumed, promise to enhance cellular function and positively affect health in every system of the body.

Did that make you go cross-eyed?

In a nutshell, ASEA tells us that by drinking at least four ounces of Redox per day, the molecules suspended in the liquid will help improve the way your cells interact with their environment. It could also help protect, rejuvenate, and restore them.

As a result, you might experience improved energy generation and increased antioxidant levels, while empowering you to achieve your optimum health potential—regardless of your body’s vulnerability, age, gender, or genetic disposition.

To date, ASEA claims that the patented Redox Supplement has been used by hundreds of thousands of people around the world to help improve their cellular health from the inside out.

The ASEA website is undoubtedly correct when stating, “The health of every system in the body begins at the cellular level.”

But based on their extraordinary claims about the Redox Supplement, we’re left with three main questions:

  1. Are redox signals as important as the ASEA website makes them seem?
  2. Is it possible to boost redox signals through supplementation?
  3. And if so, will this redox boost result in meaningful, real-world benefits?

Let’s discuss what we learned during our research.

What Is Redox Signaling?

Cells don’t have sensory organs like humans. Instead, they use a complex biochemical system to perceive and respond to their environment—the process by which this occurs is known as cell signaling.

Cell signaling itself is highly dependent on something called reactive oxygen species (ROS), a chemical species created as a byproduct of the normal metabolism of oxygen (the loss, or reduction, of electrons).

In fact, ROS is even created when mitochondria (known as the cell’s powerhouses) produce energy.

If any of this sounds familiar, it’s because ROS is a type of free radical, a substance known to damage DNA, RNA, and proteins. In turn, this leads to things like inflammation, aging, cell death, and increased risk of cancer.

To sum all of this up, the term ‘redox signaling’ simply references the process whereby cells use free radicals as chemical signals (or messengers), both internally and externally.

So, will you be drinking some tasty free radicals with your Redox beverage? Let’s take a look.

Can the Ingredients In ASEA Redox Supplement Improve Cell Signaling?

Each bottle of ASEA Redox Supplement contains 190 milligrams of chloride (6% daily value) and 123 milligrams of sodium (7% daily value). In other words, it’s salt water.

But not just any salt water. Instead, ASEA claims:

“It starts as ultrapure water and salt that then undergoes a complex multi-step electrochemical process over three days. Complex chemistry and physics are involved in the production process, with tightly controlled quality assurance and production parameters and neutral pH (7.35). The finished product contains a perfectly balanced, safe, stable mixture of redox signaling molecules such as those natively produced by the mitochondria inside all cells in your body.”

There’s certainly a lot of information in that paragraph, but it doesn’t move us any closer to understanding how ASEA’s formulation is any different than regular salt water—or proving that its “complex multi-step electrochemical process” will improve cell signaling.

And perhaps most importantly, ASEA links to very little evidence indicating that this improved cell signaling (if it occurs at all) results in meaningful benefits to the body. Let’s carry this thought over to the next section.

Is There Clinical Evidence Supporting ASEA’s Redox Supplement Claims?

On the Research page of their website, ASEA references six different studies.

A Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) study showing that exposure to Redox Supplement caused in vitro cells to increase antioxidant release for a period of about 120 minutes.

Another study completed by Pacific Northwest National Laboratory showed that orally administered Redox Supplement caused no toxic response or inflammation to tissue. In other words, it was confirmed nontoxic.

A study conducted by Dr. David C. Nieman at the North Carolina Research Campus Human Performance Laboratory involving 106 overweight women who consumed 4oz of Redox per day for a period of 12 weeks.

There, LDL and serum cholesterol were reduced by 6.3% in those given Redox Supplement versus placebo.

There were a handful of other studies (no organization or authorship information were shown) listed on the ASEA website indicating that the Redox Supplement:

  • Increased the nuclear translocation of the NRF2 transcription factor in the cells over a short-lived period of 30 – 60 minutes
  • Helped inhibit the proliferation of certain markers harmful to cell viability and health
  • Reduced the death of cells that were stressed with cytokines (cachexin), radiation, and serum starvation

During our research, we also encountered a study completed at the University of North Carolina in June 2013, although no results were listed. What does all of this mean?

While we’re not clinical professionals here at HighYa, we think it’s important for manufacturers to open their clinical trials to peer review, so that those who are clinical professionals can attempt to duplicate the results or find flaws in the methodologies.

As far as we can tell, not only are these studies not publically available (so you can read through them yourself), they don't appear to have been peer-reviewed, so there’s no way for everyday consumers to understand if they hold any significance.

Even then, if we were to sweep away these major concerns and take the results of these studies at face value, only one (the Dr. Nieman study showing reduced cholesterol in obese women) reflects any real-world benefits.

But will it cause any harm?

Will ASEA Redox Cause Any Side Effects?

Since Redox Supplement only contains water and 123 milligrams of sodium, which is about 7% of the upper safe limit as designated by the FDA, authoritative websites indicate that side effects other than mild digestive upset would be rare.

The ASEA website also notes that Redox contains a trace amount of chlorine as a result of the chloride, although they note, “it exists in low doses and causes none of the irritation that chlorine can cause in higher concentrations.”

How Much Does ASEA’s Redox Supplement Cost? What’s the Per-Serving Price?

ASEA Redox is priced as follows:

  • 2 Bottles (32oz each): $75
  • 1 Case (4 32oz bottles): $150
  • 1 Athletic Case (16 8oz pouches): $160

You can also purchase a single bottle of Redox through ASEA’s Amazon store for $38.29 each.

At 4oz per serving, this means each bottle of Redox will last approximately eight servings, which is about $4.69 per serving. If you plan on using Redox daily (as recommended by ASEA), then you’ve just added around $143 to your monthly expenses.

All ASEA products, including Redox Supplement, come with a 30-day money back guarantee. Note: According to their FAQ, this only applies to all Preferred Customers, Retail Customers, and Associates on their initial enrollment order.

To request a refund, ASEA customer support can be reached at 888-438-5971 or support@ASEAglobal.com.

The ASEA Opportunity

ASEA tells us that more than 70% of people who start their businesses list being their own boss as a common top reason for doing it.

As a result, they’ve made all of their products available through a multi-level marketing platform where Associates can sign up for monthly automatic shipments, sell them at a markup, and pocket the profit.

Associates can also earn commissions for sales made by other Associates who sign up underneath them, which is known as downline marketing.

ASEA Compensation DiagramASEA, like most MLM opportunities, allows Associates to earn commissions on sales made by first, second, and third-generation associates under them. Image credit: ASEA

Compared to other multi-level marketing companies, ASEA tells us that their Associate retention rate (the number of independent reps who stick with their business) is more than triple the 15–20% industry average.

Additionally, ASEA’s Business Coach promises to provide helpful resources for starting your business, including marketing and personal growth.

Are MLM Opportunities a Good Idea?

As we often state, we’re here to provide you with the information—not to tell you what to do with your hard-earned money.

However, we’ve written in-depth articles about some of the most popular players in the MLM industry and even penned Do Multi-Level Marketing Companies Differ From Pyramid Schemes?

Based on this research, as well as reading hundreds of reviews from MLM company associates, we’ve learned that the vast majority of people who enter this business lose money.

According to the Federal Trade Commission, more than 99% end up in the red, while the Consumer Awareness Institute puts the number closer to 99.99%.

Even Chris, who we interviewed for our article above and who reached some of the top tiers in his business, learned that he lost about $12,000 over the course of two years.

What’s the point? ASEA may have a much better retention rate than the competition (we didn’t verify this statement), but this still doesn’t mean you’ll necessarily be more profitable than with many of the other MLM opportunities out there.

Before doing anything, take the time to read through ASEA’s full Compensation Plan and make sure any questions you have are answered in advance.

Whether as a consumer or as an Associate, what’s everyone saying about the Redox Supplement?

Customer Reviews: What’s the Feedback for ASEA’s Redox Supplement?

On Amazon, Redox had more than 110 customer reviews at the time of our research with an average rating of 3.4 stars. There, most compliments referenced improved health (increased energy, better-looking skin, reduced pain) and quick shipping.

Like the majority of nutritional supplements, the most common customer complaints about Redox were no results, along with a high price. Several customers even noted a lack of results after consuming multiple bottles.

Like us, Science-Based Medicine wondered exactly what ASEA’s chemical process does to water that makes it nearly $2.40 per ounce, concluding, “ASEA is salt water. You can make your own salt water at home for much less than a dollar an ounce.”

As a company, ASEA, LLC was founded by Verdis Norton in 2010 and is based out of Salt Lake City, UT.

They had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating with four closed complaints (as of 1/6/16). Only one of these were available, which referenced a salesperson falsely claiming that ASEA can treat cancer.

Our Bottom Line About ASEA’s Redox Supplement

Is Redox a combination of salt and water? Yes. And at nearly $2.40 per ounce and $4.69 per serving, most of us would probably consider it a high-priced liquid supplement.

But if you’re buying a yacht, an elite sports car, a private plane, or any other luxury item, you’re probably not concerned about price. Instead, you’re focused on the value that the product can potentially deliver.

To this extent, will the “complex multi-step electrochemical process” ASEA applies to their salt water result in improved cellular signaling? And if so, will this improvement result in any real-world benefits—ones that make the supplement’s high price worthwhile?

If it were our money, we don’t think ASEA provides enough information about 1) how their manufacturing process makes Redox different than regular salt water, 2) publically accessible, peer-reviewed clinical trials indicating that Redox can cause biological changes in humans, or 3) that these changes (if any) will result in noticeable benefits.


Read 20 ASEA Redox Supplement Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 70% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 28 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Thank you!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking ASEA for more than two years now, and it is an upward spiral. It is absolutely life changing, and I am amazed and deeply grateful. I have used Renu 28 since it was launched and people who haven’t met me for a couple of years just stare and wonder how come I don’t seem to age? Well, it’s Redox Signaling Molecules. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mom is 81 years old and was diagnosed with kidney disease, and she refused to have dialysis therapy. She couldn’t walk anymore; she was weak and confused. She did not recognize her own children. She would sit and stare at the wall for hours. We were very sad because her doctor said the only treatment that could save her life was dialysis, without dialysis her health will deteriorate and because of her critical condition she would die within two to six months.

    My brother told me about ASEA water, and I was very skeptical about it, but we had nothing to lose by trying it. So he bought her a case. After the third bottle, we noticed a big improvement in her health. She was herself again. She talks, laughs and recognizes her family again. Her creatine levels changed dramatically.

    I would recommend this product to anyone with kidney failure. We will continue to give her the ASEA water and will also continue to monitor her progress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 50 people found this review helpful

    ASEA did help my wife and helps me to reach a good state every day

    First of all, none of us is associated with ASEA, but we buy a case of bottles every month. We will see and research what it does for us first. My wife did get in the age of 56 serious problems with high blood-pressure. Three medications for that results in psoriasis on both legs and huge open wounds from the knee and all the way down. She tried every light therapy, cortisone cream for years and all kind of strong medication. The doctors say it is untreatable. With all this pain and treatment, my wife did get probably as a side-effect of all the painkillers and blood-pressure medicine, osteoarthritis in her hips three years ago. More pain killers and no cure. Perhaps an artificial hip, but it is a huge possibility to end in a wheelchair.

    Then we started to research and tried first to find the cause of psoriasis and a Californian chiropractor did tell on the internet about leaky guts is the cause of psoriasis. Ok, no potatoes and no tomatoes, and no aubergines/eggplants for a while to test. It did get a little better, but still lots and lots of pain when you have your own company and not the time to be sick.

    Then we come across ASEA and in February of 2016 we did make photos again, before starting drinking the normal dose, twice a day and using the ointment. After three months everything was gone! Just a little spot of dry skin is still on her left foot today. Eating tomato and potatoes, the skin is burning from the inside, and after two days it is normal again. But an incurable decease just did disappear, is more than fantastic to me. It was not ASEA alone. It has to do with the food and leaky guts. But ASEA and ASEA ointment did help to get her soft and new skin back, completely repaired after so many years with open wounds.

    We have documented it and you can make your own tests on patient with psoriasis.

    But how about osteoarthritis? No, it did not help yet. So we did research and came across a German professor, who did help people with arthritis during his lifetime and got them all well. He did find out, that the cause of arthritis is clearly far too much animal protein in our food. So our arteries and veins can be clogged from the inside, and no nutrients comes out to the cells, and all the waste-products are not coming back to the blood and getting transported out. This gives us so much trouble and all kind of diagnosis. It gives us high blood pressure, diabetics, and arthritis and so much more when the cells are struggling and sending signals to our brain, and the heart is raising the blood pressure, and the brain is raising the amount of sugar to the starving cells.

    My wife could drink as much ASEA as she liked and nothing is reaching out to her hips and inflammations are growing inside the hip joints, preventing any nutrients from entering. She has to start with food without any protein at all, so the body is forced to using all the protein inside the arteries first, and then we can pump in nutrients, vitamins, and minerals, to build up the cartilage and the bones again. ASEA will help to do this much faster. It takes 35 years to get arthritis, it will not disappear over night. This is my honest experience as a health practitioner and MasterTrainer teaching Psychology. There were many doubts from all sides, but after some years seeing my wife suffering, there is no room for doubts anymore, when you see your spouse is suffering so much and doctors in our ordinary system just gives painkillers.

    Anyway, I did start drinking ASEA since May 2016 and had no physical symptoms when I started, but it did get my shape and state up, the motivation every morning did get up, much more optimistic all the day long and getting much more flow and inner balance in my life. The four bottles are not enough for one month for both of us, so I often have to wait for three days until the new four bottles are arriving. My mood goes down, and my enthusiasm and optimism are much lower. So to me, it helps me more on a mental level and makes life much easier and brighter. And when all my colleagues in public healthcare are having the flu, I did not catch anything anymore. Pretty amazing and real cutting edge.

    I hope it makes sense to you. Don't believe it, just try it and see it is so much more than just salt water. I did use salt water for years to clean my wife's wounds, but it did not help her at all like ASEA did.

    Together with the proper food we think ASEA did a fantastic job.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Something is definitely happening

    • New York,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was introduced to the Redox water by my chiropractor. I was hesitant because of the cost, and there are a lot of scams out there, and I don't have money to waste. But he said to try it because his other patients have noticed a difference in the way they feel (blah blah blah), so I bought a case and split it with my mother.

    After about a week, I noticed I had more energy in the morning, I slept through the night, I felt less stress, and had more focus and energy throughout the day. As my mom said the same, something was definitely happening. And no, this wasn't a placebo effect because I've taken everything you can imagine out there in past and nothing helped. I just had side effects to everything.

    I am a 37-year-old male, and I work out here and there, but my job stresses me out. My home life isn't any better. I'm up to my ears with bills, but I definitely recommend trying it. You will notice a difference, and if it helps health, all together it's worth it.

    I had run out and had to wait a week to order more, and I noticed I was back to feeling "blah." I guess I'm a life-long customer now, so each payday I'll put money to the side. It's worth feeling great in this negative, stressful, craziness we live in (at least in New York it is).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 42 people found this review helpful

    ASEA helped me immensely

    • Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered from Fibromyalgia and Lupus for eight years.

    A friend recommended ASEA as I am always interested in natural remedies and ASEA is native to the body. I was skeptical at first, so I researched it and spoke to a lot of people who had success with it themselves, so I tried it.

    Wonderful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 49 out 61 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    I used ASEA for three weeks, and have no more brain dog, tons energy, and feel great. My daughter has Lyme, now being tested for Parkinson's. She used ASEA for one month, and tremors are gone, pain is gone, and for the first time in four years I have seen her not sick. As a mom, and $100,000 of testing, this product is working. My friend, who is a runner, is running one mile in less than nine minutes. The best she has run since was in the military, 20 years ago. NOT A SCAM. The Renu 28, I am using on my face and I seriously look 10 years younger. I will never stop using.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 38 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Getting my life back

    • Texas,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend introduced me to ASEA products a month ago.

    For the last five years, my health has been declining. Last year was the most difficult year surgery-wise; I had a total knee and a total hip replacement on the same leg, eight months apart.

    Four years ago, I was diagnosed with an atypical B-cell abnormality, and my platelets dropped to 49. This condition robs me of energy and health, and on bad days I needed 2-3, 3-hour naps a day.

    I began feeling better four days after starting the ASEA Redox Supplement and I started rubbing Renu 28 on my surgery scars and several painful arthritic joints, twice a day.

    My 6-month follow appointment with the specialist was 28 days later, and my platelets tripled from 89 to 229 in three weeks. The only addition to my regiment was ASEA.

    I can't stop talking about this product. To me, it is a lifesaver.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 44 out 57 people found this review helpful

    ASEA Water and Gel

    • Geelong, Australia,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used ASEA Water and Gel since November 2016 and have had great success with it.

    I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and a lot of research has given me a good understanding of how it works. Our cells use a salt water solution as a medium to create all of the body parts that are needed for us to live a healthy life. The molecules of water and salt are split apart to send messages and create energy so that the parts can be made. The messages occur through electron flows from the redox reactions of the molecules. This is why they are called "redox signaling molecules."

    It is incorrect to describe ASEA Water as salt water. A better description would be "supercharged cellular solution." This is why it smells like pool water and tastes like pool water.

    My own experiences with the product are many and varied.

    If I use the gel on something that has just happened, it cures quickly. If it has been a long-term problem, it takes a lot longer to cure. Also, the body uses the ASEA water and gel to treat its major concern, which may be different to what you want cured.

    The greatest success was my right foot and ankle, which had chronic pain and inflammation for about 10 years. I tried everything from a normal podiatrist to a sporting podiatrist, massage, manipulation and physiotherapy without success. I finally went to a well-known sports surgeon. I had a plantar fasciitis release, had two spurs trimmed from my heel and achilles and a bone growth removed from the top of my foot.

    It was a waste of time and money.

    After six months I started on the ASEA products and nothing happened for 14 months (I kept going as I was having success with other minor problems). Miraculously the pain and inflammation then stopped for two weeks over the Christmas period. It returned after the two weeks but I kept going with the ASEA Gel and water. After a further three months, the pain and inflammation stopped completely and hasn't returned. After putting up with the pain for so long, it is such a relief to be back to normal.

    I would recommend the ASEA products for any problem.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Life changing!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I too was skeptical about this, but a friend was sharing how much it had improved his energy. So I thought I'd try it. Oh MY gosh! By day four of 2oz in the morning and 2oz at the evening, I had no more chronic pain, no more night sweats, no more plantar fasciitis, I slept better, I was more alert - I literally felt like I was 19! I'm over 50. To top it off, I played 21 games of tennis.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Turned off my MLM

    • Singapore,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When first introduced to it, I was turned off by the MLM distribution. I wasn’t interested in selling it but feel people are less open to heartfelt recommendations if they think you are selling the product. Anyway, I slowly read up on it and I thought why not, especially I wanted more energy back.

    The first week I was told to take two ounces two times a day if felt nothing up to four ounces two times a day. The second week it did, and I was getting detox effects, headaches, tiredness, and flu-like systems but after a few days and drinking lots of water that passed and my energy went from a 4 to an 8.

    I work nights as a club owner so there are many nights of drinking, smoking and late nights. Whereas I would sleep at 5 am and wake no earlier than 3 pm and still be tried and non-productive, I’m now up by 11 or 12 and full of energy and my brain works!

    My husband started slower two times two but after two weeks on the upper dosage of four times two, he stopped his medication for atrial fibrillation, his constant gut issues and almost daily diarrhea have stopped, and his blood pressure has never been better. Also, my cousin who started two weeks ago has almost cleared her psoriasis.

    I’m no health practitioner but there may be cases where it doesn’t seem to work that being your body needs more help, so upping the dosage would help (you can decrease later) or that the body needs more gut healing before you start as the ASEA may detox too fast and not enough time to heal the gut, and the toxins are leaking back into the body, making the person feel worse.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 23 people found this review helpful

    No head or neck discomfort

    • Australia,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use 30 ml's of ASEA beverage twice daily and gel for head discomfort known as headaches. I suffer from chronic pain and this is the only product since 2003 that has helped me massively. No more high priced drugs and no more feeling sick because of them, and BEST of all, no more doctor visits!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a Review for ASEA Redox Supplement!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review