BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2391 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2391 Reviews
5 Star:86% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:4%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 3, 2022

BetterHelp

By Lisa B., Long Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

I wasn't sure if I needed therapy or not, and if BetterHelp wasn't available I probably would have never sought therapy.

Signing up is easy, and it felt really manageable. I matched quickly with a therapist, and it's already been such a positive experience, I'm surprised by what has come to light in my own life so far.

The survey is very good, and comprehensive. It even has options for religious things, if you are seeking a therapist who can help with that as well.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Signing up felt very manageable

It's online, I would have never even tried therapy if I didn't have an online option

Everything feel very risk free

There's no 'dark mode' the website is very nice, but it's bright

Most of the groupinars are very early for anyone who doesn't live on the east coast

Posted on Jul 3, 2022

Really great accessible service

By Charis W., Marbella, Spain, Verified Reviewer

Having looked unsuccessfully for a therapist to match my needs locally. I turned online and found BetterHelp.com. The entry assessment in the form of questions was very comprehensive and allowed me to break down why I was there in the first place. BetterHelp then matched me with a therapist, who was exactly what I needed, all the while assuring me I could change if I wanted or wasn't happy. Their therapists are available through messaging at all times and they schedule FaceTime to suit you. Their billing is very reasonable and even makes allowances for your income, and their technical support when needed was prompt, helpful, and considerate. I have recommended them to literally everyone I know.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Online, so very accessible, as well as 24-hour text chat service

Matching to therapist with options to change

Initial online assessment form

FaceTime audio drop out

Posted on Jul 3, 2022

Life changing

By Peter C. , Oak Island, NC

I couldn’t be happier. My day-to-day life is literally better, easier. My doctor is real. Her methods are fantastic. She’s been a savior for me, my wife, and my life. I can’t quantify in words what therapy has done for me. I’ve had a couple of counselors before. But never have I felt this level of care and professionalism. I tell everyone who will listen how important this has been for me and my growth. I hope people read this and give it a shot. I processed trauma that I had long forgotten about.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My counselor, Renee Wilson

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 3, 2022

My therapist was AMAZING

By Kay S., East Greenwich, RI, Verified Reviewer

I worked with Tara from BetterHelp for a few months regarding some personal overwhelm, family stresses, and business burnout and she was phenomenal in helping me navigate it all and encouraging me to prioritize personal time. I'd recommend her to anyone, especially another businesswoman struggling with self-care and emotional balance like myself. THANK YOU Tara, for everything.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Personal attention

Knowledge

Motivation

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 2, 2022

A very useful platform

By Leonor C., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I decided to use BetterHelp to manage some issues I was having, and I got a therapist very quickly who helped me work through them. They do a good job asking the right questions to pair you with the right therapist, and allow you to change if you need to at no extra cost.

The platform seems well organized and well protected, which is important to maintain confidentiality. All in all, I'm happy with the service provided and would recommend it to someone who would benefit from therapy but can't/doesn't want to meet someone in person.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It's easy access

Affordable

No travel necessary

The app doesn't always work 100% in video mode

They could let us pay per session instead of monthly

I'd like a sound notification when the therapist is online and contacting us to initiate the therapy session

Posted on Jul 2, 2022

Confused

By Andrew S. , Kings Beach, CA

Honestly, pretty bad. The first therapist I was assigned to made me feel like I wasn’t a priority. Like he had better things to do; with all the background noise and distractions, it was hard to focus. Then I read the bio of a person I felt confident in, but “better help” wouldn’t allow us to meet because of the states we live in. Overall, just very confused and unsatisfied with the “better help” I’ve been getting. Seems like a huge waste of money at this point.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The first therapist I got

The fact that you let me chose a therapist I couldn’t work with

Waste of time and money and not a help what so ever

Posted on Jul 2, 2022

This is an excellent source for my mental health

By H B., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have made the very best decision to improve my mental health by joining BetterHelp. I have had many years of therapy, however, not in this format.

BetterHelp is really excellent! I have a therapist who is wise, well educated, trustworthy, and with the kindness to be compassionately guiding me through some very difficult times. I completely trust and look forward to my sessions. I have never had this much support for my mental health before!

BetterHelp provides me with the opportunities to learn about my specific mental health issues by joining a host of webinars that have been offered. They are conducted by some outstanding doctors who specialize in various fields and they are extremely valuable. The option to just sign in and discover new tools for coping mechanisms, listening, and learning how others feel about the very same subject matter in the chats is so informative and valuable. I love this part of the experience!

I am able to write in a journal every day while having the option to share directly with my therapist upon completion or just to save it for myself to review several weeks later. It’s very helpful for me to remember the challenges I have faced and what I have learned from them by keeping this private journal. I chose the option to send it to my therapist after completing because I believe it is an incredibly safe, useful tool to communicate daily. I have never thought I needed this, however, now that I am here, it’s wonderful.

There are just so many positive tools, excellent customer service when I required it, and by far the very best decision I have made for myself in quite some time. I typically resist change but when I read what BetterHelp offered, I joined.

I’m honestly looking forward to helping myself feel better, have a better quality of life, and I have a lot of hope for my future while working with my therapist.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Therapist is the best person I have ever had in 30 years

The journal may be shared with my therapist

The groupinars

The option to interact with others or not in the chat room

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 2, 2022

The best ever for my mental health!

By Michael C., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has been everything I needed and more. The vast database of expert therapists, the user-friendly website and app, the ease of scheduling, and the access to therapists away from sessions are beyond amazing. I would highly recommend BetterHelp to anyone!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 2, 2022

Highly recommend!

By Roberta L., Hesperia, CA, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp is very convenient. I love having therapy accessible any time of the day whether it be texting with my therapist or reading articles and joining webinars.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Texting my therapist

Webinars

Articles

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Affordable, competent care

By Jennifer M. , Fruitland Park, FL

I’ve had 4 or 5 different therapists in the past 2 years and none have stuck. It wasn’t until the use of this platform and the ease of scheduling that I’ve been able to get the care that I’ve needed.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of scheduling

Ease of communicating with therapist

Ability to use phone or computer

Costs not as affordable without insurance

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Horrible

By Jacqui B. , Salt Lake City, UT

Meds only. According to my therapist who NEVER talked to me, or met with me, meds were the answer. I hope to NEVER work with a therapist like her. I hope to work with some that’s trying a holistic approach first and then meds.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The fact that no other options were provided - meds or nothing, get out of here

Showing 155-165 of 2391

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.