BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2317 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2317 Reviews
5 Star:86% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:4%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on May 19, 2022

Life-giving

By Josh H., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

I started BetterHelp at a place of desperation, not really sure what to expect. But since starting BetterHelp, I have gained so much confidence and freedom. I've always given other people control over my life, my emotions, and my internal narrative, but now I feel empowered to change that. It's been a fresh air.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Weekly video meetings

Therapist is knowledgeable

It's very accessible

Price

Video often acts up

Posted on May 19, 2022

Wonderful! Found my match.

By Katie R., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I have to say that being matched with my therapist has been great! She is responsive and understanding. The only complaint I have is that I pay $260 a month for services. By the grace of God, I can afford that right now but many cannot.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Responsive therapist

A ton of support

Great understanding

Cost

Limited financial assistance

Not accessible to everyone

Posted on May 19, 2022

Affordable, quality mental healthcare

By Lily C., Omaha, NE, Verified Reviewer

I've been using BH for 4.5 years, and have had two main therapists in that time. Both have been excellent, attentive, professional, and kind.

There are so many therapists to choose from, and with a little patience, I think almost anyone can find the right fit for them.

Also, they provide financial aid, which makes mental healthcare very affordable to those of us who could never afford it before! That is huge and much appreciated. And the customer service is high quality, as well.

Thanks, BetterHelp, for all the help you provide us. You make the world a better place.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Affordable

Great therapists

Great customer service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 18, 2022

Already

By Joseph H., St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, Verified Reviewer

Since I reestablished my involvement with BetterHelp and woke this morning to a platform of compassion and understanding, I find myself a little better already. Usually seeing my thoughts on a page, the screen is a helpful form of cognitive dissonance.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Always available

Prompt and sincere response

Someone to listen

Pop-up advertising is a massive distraction and discredit

Posted on May 18, 2022

BetterHelp has helped me.

By Stephen J., Nashville, TN, Verified Reviewer

I am so glad I became involved with BetterHelp. My life is changing for the better every day, it seems like. I’m building confidence and learning too.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The fast time response

The kindness

The options

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 18, 2022

Details are important

By Lisa S., Frederick, MD, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp is exactly what I needed. They ask specific questions so that you don't end up going from one therapist to another before you find a good fit. Because of the details, you will be matched with a therapist that you can connect with right away. You tell them who you want (i.e. age, gender, religious preference, ethnicity). The entire process was very easy.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

What I like most about the service is from the beginning they are concerned about your needs

TThe ease of the website

The flexibility

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 18, 2022

Simple, stress free, and effective

By Tom G. , Milwaukee, WI

The sign-up experience was very quick, I was matched up just as fast, and my therapist has been extremely helpful in a short amount of time. A quality app interface helps to streamline and ease the pressures and tensions of seeking mental health. The guidance I’ve received from my therapist has been just as beneficial.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast and easy

Genuine feedback and support

Follow ups and support outside of my sessions

Confusing how much I was charged up front

Because I’m not signed up for reoccurring sessions and sign up for each one individually at the moment, I’m afraid I may lose momentum and rhythm with my therapy

Posted on May 18, 2022

MM Therapy

By Michaela M. , New York City, NY

My therapist listened to me and always made me feel valued and validated in all my thoughts and feelings. She helped me understand why I was feeling certain emotions, and helped me find my triggers extremely fast. When I asked, she asked me thought-provoking questions that lead to me digging deeper in myself than I ever have before. I grew so much in just a few short months. I'm so grateful to have been connected with Dr. Rampersad right away after joining.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My therapist

The journal

The platform - how I could communicate with my therapist

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 18, 2022

Therapy at my fingertips!

By Joan W., Brookfield, WI, Verified Reviewer

I’ve participated in face-to-face therapy so was hesitant about a virtual format. Therapy from the safety of my home is easier and less threatening. I can still send a message to my therapist in between sessions if needed. Virtual therapy may not be for everyone but BetterHelp has provided good service and a good therapist match.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Therapists are licensed and matched.

Information is confidential.

Good customer service.

I sometimes have trouble opening the therapy site. My password isn’t always recognized.

Pricey if insurance doesn’t reimburse.

Posted on May 18, 2022

Counselor is great, video chat is ridiculously sub-par.

By Charles L., Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

My counselor has been excellent. I first started due to a work travel schedule, but that allowed me to keep my counseling going during COVID. I can’t speak to every counselor on BH, but mine is great.

The video chat stinks. It’s buggy, drops out, freezes, and pixelates. I think I have had two sessions in the 3 years or so I’ve been on that didn’t have any issue or require us to hang up and reconnect.

Support is not helpful. I had questions about billing dates (it’s every 4 weeks, not monthly, so it will float around on you, be ready, though this language has been updated). Also, any reports of bad video are, of course, blamed on my internet. I’ve got 3 people on Zoom most of the day at my house with HD and no dropouts, while my kiddo is watching Netflix in 4K. It’s not my connection.

Regardless, like anything, this is a convenient means for remote therapy. If you don’t click with your assigned therapist at first, get a new one. There are good counselors on here. If the format doesn’t work for you, go find an in-person counselor. Everyone’s needs are different.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Can find a great counselor

Video chat sucks

Support ineffective

Posted on May 17, 2022

100% recommend

By Lexi A., Huntsville, AL, Verified Reviewer

I had a free month trial to BetterHelp and now I love my therapist so much. This can be seen as a good or bad thing, if you have the extra money to receive therapy on this app I would recommend it 100%. I came into this experience not expecting much but now I look forward to it every week.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Chat sessions

Worksheets

Availability to chat whenever

Cost

Showing 188-198 of 2317

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.