Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

DoFasting

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
DoFasting

Overall Rating

2.6

63 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

DoFasting sells personalized fasting plans that are designed to help you hit your goal weight based on the personal information you share.

Pros

  • Creates structure and accountability for those learning to fast for the first time
  • Includes recipes and support articles
  • Subscription model lets you pay for only the time you use

Cons

  • Some customers thought the program wasn’t personalized
  • Return policy might be difficult to use
  • More expensive than alternative IF apps

DoFasting Review: What You Should Know

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Mar 12, 2020

DoFasting is an intermittent fasting app that promises to help you lose weight by providing you with a personalized fasting strategy based on your health goals.

According to the company, it takes your current diet, weight, and lifestyle into consideration to design a custom plan that will help you make simple changes in your routine to get the maximum benefits for your health.

In this review, we take a detailed look at DoFasting to help you understand how it works and if it is the right option for you.

How Does DoFasting Work?

You start with a 60-second quiz to determine your daily fasting agenda.

This quiz begins by requesting you select your gender, your familiarity with fasting, the time of day you feel most hungry, the timing of your meals, whether you prefer to cook or eat out, and whether you think fasting on weekends is possible for you.

You’ll also specify your workout frequency, standard working hours, whether your job is physically demanding, and whether you are looking to lose weight or if you have current medical conditions.

Once you finish the quiz with information about your height, weight, and goal weight, the website will give you a summary of their recommended fasting plan.

This includes their prediction of when you will hit your goal weight, whether your BMI is within the healthy range, and what your daily caloric intake should be. They also specify whether fasting is safe for your personal situation.

If your predicted results appeal to you, you can then purchase a customized fasting plan. The company website states that it typically takes about two hours for a professional nutritionist to review your information and develop a plan for you.

The fasting plan will include an eating plan with a meal guide and daily recommended calorie levels.

Likewise, DoFasting recommends that participants primarily drink water, though coffee and tea are permitted in moderation. (Sugary, carbohydrate-heavy drinks like juice and soda banned).

They also suggest pairing your eating plan with an exercise routine to maximize your results.

Is Intermittent Fasting Effective?

To learn more about the effectiveness of intermittent fasting, we spoke with Gabrielle Mancella, a registered dietician with Orlando Health.

“Intermittent fasting, put simply, is used to isolate the hours of eating food to a restricted period of time. This can range from any time of day or night, and is dependent upon the goals of the one who is fasting,” Mancella told us.

Intermittent fasting is a popular fitness trend because it doesn’t require you to change what you eat, but merely when.

There are dozens of variations that claim to combat different health concerns, but the most common methods include completing daily 16-hour fasts or fasting for 24 hours once or twice a week.

Many people start intermittent fasting to lose weight by consuming fewer daily calories, but the practice has other purported health benefits when done right.

“When we are fasting, we are merely giving our gut a rest. This allows for the full digestion and absorption of the food that we consuming.

“It also maintains the size of the stomach in order to better control our portion sizes. We are halting the digestive processes in order to begin to prepare for the meal the next day,” Mancella said.

Pricing and Return Policy

  • Annual plan: $1.25/week ($66 charged every 12 months)
  • Six-months plan: $1.75/week ($46 charged every six months)
  • Three-month plan: $2.50/week ($33 charged every three months)

All plans are offered on a subscription basis. You will need to cancel your subscription through your online account before it renews if you don’t want to continue paying for it.

The company allows customers to apply for refunds within the first 14 days after purchase.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

Over 50 customers have left reviews for DoFasting on our website, and they average 2.8-stars. Below is a summary of the main takeaways:

Common Compliments:

  • Offered helpful support for getting started with fasting
  • Users successfully lost weight on the program
  • App and notifications created accountability for success

Common Complaints:

  • Service too simple for the price
  • Plans aren’t truly customized, just a basic app with a timer and recipes
  • Users didn’t like the subscription fee model
  • Refund policy is difficult to redeem

Popular Alternatives to DoFasting

DoFasting BodyFast Vora Fast Habit
Service Type Custom fasting plan Virtual intermittent fasting tracker and coaching app Intermittent fasting tracking app Intermittent fasting tracking app
Cost Subscription model, $1.25–$2.50 per week Free for general access; $1.35 per week for the program’s coach subscription Free for general access; Pro version is $5 Free; Pro version is $2.99
Available Platforms Online download Apple and Android App Apple and Android App Apple and Android

BodyFast, Vora, and FastHabit are all offered as free mobile apps with options to upgrade to premium versions for more detailed analytics and ad-free content. You won’t see what you get with DoFasting unless you commit to the subscription pricing.

We think the biggest distinguishing factor between DoFasting and the others is the focus on developing your personal fasting plan. The other three apps, in contrast, put more emphasis on metrics.

For example, all three include timers to help you track fasting and non-fasting times. This is a smart option for those who already understand intermittent fasting and want a convenient way to track their progress, but it’s not ideal for those who are new to the strategy.

BodyFast offers an additional coaching service that is similar to what DoFasting claims to offer, though you’ll need to pay a subscription price of $5.40 per month for access.

If you’re looking for a fasting program to follow for the long-term, you might save money by investing in DoFasting because you won’t pay a continuous subscription fee.

However, your DoFasting plan gives you less flexibility over time because it’s difficult to adjust your weight and goals without contacting the company and requesting they make you another custom plan.

For that reason, we suggest experimenting with the free version of any of the above apps to see if you like the services they offer. If one’s a good fit, you might want to experiment with a premium version.

Even if the added cost isn’t worth it to you, you will still spend less than you would on DoFasting, and you will have a way to test out the quality of the content you receive before committing to it.

The Bottom Line

This customized intermittent fasting promises to offer plenty of value to customers, but we aren’t sure that it’s a better deal than the competition.

We think it’s potentially problematic that the brand doesn’t offer an easy way to modify your health goals once you pay for a program.

Our suggestion? Speak with your doctor or a certified dietician to develop an eating plan that fits your health goals and lifestyle. Dr. Mancella makes it clear that while intermittent fasting may have health benefits, it isn’t for everyone.

“If you are medically compromised in any way, [intermittent fasting] may not be for you. This is because our metabolism is not only affected by the foods we eat and times of day we are eating; our bodies are highly unique,” she said.

“[When beginning to fast] it is crucial to be mindful of your lifestyle, commitments, and activity level whenever we are starting something new so that you can cater it to fit your lifestyle.”

If you already have a method in place and are merely looking for a convenient way to track your fasting time, we recommend trying one of the three intermittent fasting apps we referenced earlier to see if it works for you.

Customer Reviews

2.6 Stars out of 63 Reviews
5 Star:34% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:57%
38% Recommend This Service
Start your review of DoFasting:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 19, 2021

Waste of space

By Adam M., Lodi, CA, Verified Reviewer

Fasting is good, DoFasting is a waste of time, space, money, and effort. I used it diligently for 6 weeks and then I didn't as I was able to set a fast timer with Google calendar that gives just as many alerts. I uninstalled the app over 6 months ago but did not notice until 3 days ago that I was still on quarterly billing. It's an auto bill and any company worth its salt would send out a reminder notice...DoFasting does not. I am pretty sure they are going to refuse a refund so I am going to take this as a lesson learned. I did that with mail order supplements and others...here is my rule. If it has an auto renew it's got a bad business model and I will never buy again that is only in place because they can't get repeat customers.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It's an interesting concept just poorly executed

The Auto Renewal feature

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 19, 2021

Dissatisfied

By Nancy B., Conover, NC, Verified Reviewer

I ordered these products and after I received them my doctor advised me not to take them because of heart and blood pressure issues. I did what the company told me to do to send products back. It’s been close to 4 months and I still get the run around telling me they can’t find the package I sent back. Someone there has to know.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their customer service is terrible

They give you the runaround

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Phonies, use your smart phone timer for free

By John R., Lee County, FL, Verified Reviewer

There’s no free trial, because they know you wouldn’t waste away good money on it. I used it for about a month. Did nothing to help, but they also include an auto-renewal so even though I got rid of the app, the billing continued for the next year. Your to-do list works just as well and is free. And if you tell them the renewal was an accident, they tell you tough, you’re paying anyway.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their business practices

Their absence of a free trial

Their attitude

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2020

Refund nightmare

By Lorri N., Canton, TX, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the app and added some of the supplements they were upselling and used my PayPal credit. They charged 4 different charges with half to the credit and drained my PayPal account of cash on the rest. At that point, I immediately wrote and requested a refund. For 5 days I was given the runaround, first with 1/2 refund (I had paid for the year). I didn't load the app, therefore, it wasn't delivered so they finally gave me a full refund.

My first email was responded to with that I didn't give them enough information (I did - they didn't indicate the products in the 4 PayPal receipts) - and I again, immediately wrote back, then silence. I received a response the next day that they ONLY have the shipped the products I had canceled. Now they are telling me it's a $20-$22 shipping charge (per package) which will not be refunded. Bait and switch on add-on products. I cannot speak to if the products work. Their tactics alone made me cancel before I received anything. I made the mistake of not looking up reviews first.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No clear way to reach someone by phone to cancel (it's a Lithuanian company governed by their laws)

Multi-charges on upsell products

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2020

Paid for app, now receiving more charges - never downloaded.

By Heidi L., United States, Verified Reviewer

Stay away from this website. Never received the original app. Asked for help with no satisfaction. Now being charged again ($33.00 each time). Requesting to end the subscription. They are not responding. Total scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DoFasting

Nov 6, 2020

Hello, Heldi

Thank you for reaching out! Our sincere apologies for this misunderstanding. Also, sorry for the late response.

DoFasting customers can manage their subscription through this link: https://dofasting.com/clients/login. Also, I'll contact you personally in order to get your registration email and more information about that issue! Sorry once again.

Best wishes,

DoFasting Team

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2020

Paid $33 through PayPal and did not receive the app

By Sorrel D., Mississippi, Verified Reviewer

Please do not take the quiz or purchase the plan or app. They took my $33 and I received nothing. This may be a scam. I immediately reported the issue to PayPal and emailed dofasting.com. I have not heard back. As soon as possible, I will report this as a claim.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DoFasting

Nov 6, 2020

Hello, Sorrel

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for these inconveniences. Our customers can manage their subscriptions through this link: https://dofasting.com/clients/login. Also sorry that you didn't get a quick response from our support team, reach out to us via hello@dofasting.com or Facebook/Instagram.

Kind regards,

DoFasting Team

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 13, 2020

Unsubscribe

By Donna W., Maineville, OH, Verified Reviewer

I've been trying to unsubscribe but I forgot my password. I have tried to reset it but the promised email to me does not appear in my email account.

The hello@dofasting.com site doesn't exist. Even though I don't use the app I am still being billed $33.00. Without a password, it is impossible to cancel, but they won't let me reset. It is so frustrating! I don't know what else to do.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The lack of individual menu suggestions, just generic meals for everyone

Impossible to reach anyone to talk to

Impossible to cancel

Company Response from DoFasting

Nov 6, 2020

Hello, Donna

Thanks for reaching out! We're so sorry that you had to face these issues. Probably your email with the new password went to the spam/junk folder. Don't forget to check it! Also, our customer support is always available at hello@dofasting.com (it works). If you'll have any other issues, please contact us!

Best wishes,

DoFasting Team

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2020

Paid for a non-working app

By Ruby Y., Crestview, FL, Verified Reviewer

It won’t allow me to track water or calories consumed. Paid for nothing. Customer service, please reply. This is disappointing.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

App doesn't work correctly

Company Response from DoFasting

Jul 31, 2020

Hello, Ruby

We're so sorry for these inconveniences, please contact us at hello@dofasting.com. Thank you for your patience!

-Garry

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 21, 2020

Refusing to provide my refund

By Bev R., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

On June 7th, 2020, I errantly registered and paid $66 for this app when I already had a subscription. I reached out to their support team for assistance and confirmed that I already have an active subscription which doesn’t expire until November. The representative emailing me agreed that one of the registrations should be canceled BUT I am still waiting to see my refund hit my bank account! When I reached out again, the rep responded back that I couldn’t get a refund because it had been longer than 14 days? Excuse me? I sent that follow-up email on June 15th. We are still well within the time range and I contacted them initially on June 7th. I have a string of emails between “NIKA (support)” and me - yet nothing has been resolved.

Now they are no longer responding! I am so frustrated and disappointed.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Extremely poor customer service - lack of integrity

Company Response from DoFasting

Jul 31, 2020

Hello, Bev

Thank you for stressing this out. We're so sorry about this misunderstanding. Our top priority is to improve our service and your feedback really helps! Thank you for your review.

Best wishes,

Garry

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 7, 2020

I did not sign up for this, why am I being billed?

By Julie B., Springfield, MO, Verified Reviewer

I am being billed $46.00 for DoFasting that I did not sign up for. Don't understand. Why do I have to provide 120 characters when they are not really required?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from DoFasting

Jul 31, 2020

Hello, Julle

Thank you for reaching out. Our apologies for that, please reach out to us at hello@dofasting.com and we'll look into it!

Greetings,

Garry

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 23, 2020

It sucks!

By Zulma T., California, Verified Reviewer

They advertise: "...you can easily adjust your meal preferences in the app and choose the recipes you want to eat that day," but they do not have KETO diet.

Regarding canceling a suscripción: "Definitely. Please contact our support team at hello@dofasting.com and we'll kindly advise you on how to proceed." So after knowing that they don’t provide Keto I wanted to cancel my 12-month subscription being in my 14 days to do so and they (Nika) answered this: "We have canceled your subscription and no further charges will occur, moreover, you can still use the app until the subscription ends. However, we regret to inform you, that due to our company policy, we are unable to issue a refund..." SO THEY KEPT MY MONEY!

The exercise app is a recording so NO expert is there for you in the app. Plus that they are located in Lithuania! What the heck! So who do you think will fight for you: NO ONE!

DO NOT BUY THIS APP. There are many out there FOR FREE!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fasting part

The lack of service

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 63

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.