DoFasting Review: What You Should Know

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 12, 2020

DoFasting is an intermittent fasting app that promises to help you lose weight by providing you with a personalized fasting strategy based on your health goals.

According to the company, it takes your current diet, weight, and lifestyle into consideration to design a custom plan that will help you make simple changes in your routine to get the maximum benefits for your health.

In this review, we take a detailed look at DoFasting to help you understand how it works and if it is the right option for you.

Pros
  • Creates structure and accountability for those learning to fast for the first time
  • Includes recipes and support articles
  • Subscription model lets you pay for only the time you use
Cons
  • Some customers thought the program wasn’t personalized
  • Return policy might be difficult to use
  • More expensive than alternative IF apps

How Does DoFasting Work?

You start with a 60-second quiz to determine your daily fasting agenda.

This quiz begins by requesting you select your gender, your familiarity with fasting, the time of day you feel most hungry, the timing of your meals, whether you prefer to cook or eat out, and whether you think fasting on weekends is possible for you.

You’ll also specify your workout frequency, standard working hours, whether your job is physically demanding, and whether you are looking to lose weight or if you have current medical conditions.

Once you finish the quiz with information about your height, weight, and goal weight, the website will give you a summary of their recommended fasting plan.

This includes their prediction of when you will hit your goal weight, whether your BMI is within the healthy range, and what your daily caloric intake should be. They also specify whether fasting is safe for your personal situation.

If your predicted results appeal to you, you can then purchase a customized fasting plan. The company website states that it typically takes about two hours for a professional nutritionist to review your information and develop a plan for you.

The fasting plan will include an eating plan with a meal guide and daily recommended calorie levels.

Likewise, DoFasting recommends that participants primarily drink water, though coffee and tea are permitted in moderation. (Sugary, carbohydrate-heavy drinks like juice and soda banned).

They also suggest pairing your eating plan with an exercise routine to maximize your results.

Is Intermittent Fasting Effective?

To learn more about the effectiveness of intermittent fasting, we spoke with Gabrielle Mancella, a registered dietician with Orlando Health.

“Intermittent fasting, put simply, is used to isolate the hours of eating food to a restricted period of time. This can range from any time of day or night, and is dependent upon the goals of the one who is fasting,” Mancella told us.

Intermittent fasting is a popular fitness trend because it doesn’t require you to change what you eat, but merely when.

There are dozens of variations that claim to combat different health concerns, but the most common methods include completing daily 16-hour fasts or fasting for 24 hours once or twice a week.

Many people start intermittent fasting to lose weight by consuming fewer daily calories, but the practice has other purported health benefits when done right.

“When we are fasting, we are merely giving our gut a rest. This allows for the full digestion and absorption of the food that we consuming.

“It also maintains the size of the stomach in order to better control our portion sizes. We are halting the digestive processes in order to begin to prepare for the meal the next day,” Mancella said.

Pricing and Return Policy

  • Annual plan: $1.25/week ($66 charged every 12 months)
  • Six-months plan: $1.75/week ($46 charged every six months)
  • Three-month plan: $2.50/week ($33 charged every three months)

All plans are offered on a subscription basis. You will need to cancel your subscription through your online account before it renews if you don’t want to continue paying for it.

The company allows customers to apply for refunds within the first 14 days after purchase.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

Over 50 customers have left reviews for DoFasting on our website, and they average 2.8-stars. Below is a summary of the main takeaways:

Common Compliments:

  • Offered helpful support for getting started with fasting
  • Users successfully lost weight on the program
  • App and notifications created accountability for success

Common Complaints:

  • Service too simple for the price
  • Plans aren’t truly customized, just a basic app with a timer and recipes
  • Users didn’t like the subscription fee model
  • Refund policy is difficult to redeem

Popular Alternatives to DoFasting

DoFasting BodyFast Vora Fast Habit
Service Type Custom fasting plan Virtual intermittent fasting tracker and coaching app Intermittent fasting tracking app Intermittent fasting tracking app
Cost Subscription model, $1.25–$2.50 per week Free for general access; $1.35 per week for the program’s coach subscription Free for general access; Pro version is $5 Free; Pro version is $2.99
Available Platforms Online download Apple and Android App Apple and Android App Apple and Android

BodyFast, Vora, and FastHabit are all offered as free mobile apps with options to upgrade to premium versions for more detailed analytics and ad-free content. You won’t see what you get with DoFasting unless you commit to the subscription pricing.

We think the biggest distinguishing factor between DoFasting and the others is the focus on developing your personal fasting plan. The other three apps, in contrast, put more emphasis on metrics.

For example, all three include timers to help you track fasting and non-fasting times. This is a smart option for those who already understand intermittent fasting and want a convenient way to track their progress, but it’s not ideal for those who are new to the strategy.

BodyFast offers an additional coaching service that is similar to what DoFasting claims to offer, though you’ll need to pay a subscription price of $5.40 per month for access.

If you’re looking for a fasting program to follow for the long-term, you might save money by investing in DoFasting because you won’t pay a continuous subscription fee.

However, your DoFasting plan gives you less flexibility over time because it’s difficult to adjust your weight and goals without contacting the company and requesting they make you another custom plan.

For that reason, we suggest experimenting with the free version of any of the above apps to see if you like the services they offer. If one’s a good fit, you might want to experiment with a premium version.

Even if the added cost isn’t worth it to you, you will still spend less than you would on DoFasting, and you will have a way to test out the quality of the content you receive before committing to it.

The Bottom Line

This customized intermittent fasting promises to offer plenty of value to customers, but we aren’t sure that it’s a better deal than the competition.

We think it’s potentially problematic that the brand doesn’t offer an easy way to modify your health goals once you pay for a program.

Our suggestion? Speak with your doctor or a certified dietician to develop an eating plan that fits your health goals and lifestyle. Dr. Mancella makes it clear that while intermittent fasting may have health benefits, it isn’t for everyone.

“If you are medically compromised in any way, [intermittent fasting] may not be for you. This is because our metabolism is not only affected by the foods we eat and times of day we are eating; our bodies are highly unique,” she said.

“[When beginning to fast] it is crucial to be mindful of your lifestyle, commitments, and activity level whenever we are starting something new so that you can cater it to fit your lifestyle.”

If you already have a method in place and are merely looking for a convenient way to track your fasting time, we recommend trying one of the three intermittent fasting apps we referenced earlier to see if it works for you.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of DoFasting:
  • 58 Customer Reviews
  • 41% Recommend This Service
2.7 out of 5
5 star: 37% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 53%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Paid $33 through PayPal and did not receive the app

    • By Sorrel D.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Sep 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please do not take the quiz or purchase the plan or app. They took my $33 and I received nothing. This may be a scam. I immediately reported the issue to PayPal and emailed dofasting.com. I have not heard back. As soon as possible, I will report this as a claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unsubscribe

    • By Donna W.,
    • Maineville, OH,
    • Aug 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I've been trying to unsubscribe but I forgot my password. I have tried to reset it but the promised email to me does not appear in my email account.

    The hello@dofasting.com site doesn't exist. Even though I don't use the app I am still being billed $33.00. Without a password, it is impossible to cancel, but they won't let me reset. It is so frustrating! I don't know what else to do.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • The lack of individual menu suggestions, just generic meals for everyone
    • Impossible to reach anyone to talk to
    • Impossible to cancel

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paid for a non-working app

    • By Ruby Y.,
    • Crestview, FL,
    • Jul 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    It won’t allow me to track water or calories consumed. Paid for nothing. Customer service, please reply. This is disappointing.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • App doesn't work correctly

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 31, 2020

      Company Response from DoFasting

      Hello, Ruby

      We're so sorry for these inconveniences, please contact us at hello@dofasting.com. Thank you for your patience!

      -Garry


  • Refusing to provide my refund

    • By Bev R.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    On June 7th, 2020, I errantly registered and paid $66 for this app when I already had a subscription. I reached out to their support team for assistance and confirmed that I already have an active subscription which doesn’t expire until November. The representative emailing me agreed that one of the registrations should be canceled BUT I am still waiting to see my refund hit my bank account! When I reached out again, the rep responded back that I couldn’t get a refund because it had been longer than 14 days? Excuse me? I sent that follow-up email on June 15th. We are still well within the time range and I contacted them initially on June 7th. I have a string of emails between “NIKA (support)” and me - yet nothing has been resolved.

    Now they are no longer responding! I am so frustrated and disappointed.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Extremely poor customer service - lack of integrity

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 31, 2020

      Company Response from DoFasting

      Hello, Bev

      Thank you for stressing this out. We're so sorry about this misunderstanding. Our top priority is to improve our service and your feedback really helps! Thank you for your review.

      Best wishes,

      Garry


  • I did not sign up for this, why am I being billed?

    • By Julie B.,
    • Springfield, MO,
    • Jul 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am being billed $46.00 for DoFasting that I did not sign up for. Don't understand. Why do I have to provide 120 characters when they are not really required?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 31, 2020

      Company Response from DoFasting

      Hello, Julle

      Thank you for reaching out. Our apologies for that, please reach out to us at hello@dofasting.com and we'll look into it!

      Greetings,

      Garry


  • It sucks!

    • By Zulma T.,
    • California,
    • Jun 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    They advertise: "...you can easily adjust your meal preferences in the app and choose the recipes you want to eat that day," but they do not have KETO diet.

    Regarding canceling a suscripción: "Definitely. Please contact our support team at hello@dofasting.com and we'll kindly advise you on how to proceed." So after knowing that they don’t provide Keto I wanted to cancel my 12-month subscription being in my 14 days to do so and they (Nika) answered this: "We have canceled your subscription and no further charges will occur, moreover, you can still use the app until the subscription ends. However, we regret to inform you, that due to our company policy, we are unable to issue a refund..." SO THEY KEPT MY MONEY!

    The exercise app is a recording so NO expert is there for you in the app. Plus that they are located in Lithuania! What the heck! So who do you think will fight for you: NO ONE!

    DO NOT BUY THIS APP. There are many out there FOR FREE!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fasting part
    • The lack of service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service is a joke

    • By Brooke S.,
    • Livingston, TN,
    • Jun 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    This place is a complete joke. They still have not issued me a refund. Should have been taken care of back in January/February and they are now saying they cannot issue me a refund even though they have their products back unopened, untouched. I authorized a payment for $66 but then they charged me with a payment for $268.98 which I did NOT authorize. I do not know how this $268.98 was ordered from them. I sent the products back and they are not giving me my money back. This company has taken over $300 from me and have their products and won’t give me a refund. DO NOT waste your time or money on these people or this company. Complete crooks.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Crooks
    • Customer service is awful
    • Terrible

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unable to contact company

    • By Kileen G.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jun 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible app. No contact information whatsoever to cancel. I’m furious! Don’t do it is all I can say. Horrible app. No contact information whatsoever to cancel. I’m furious! Don’t do it is all I can say.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Pitiful app
    • Zero customer service
    • Unable to cancel

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 18, 2020

      Company Response from DoFasting

      Hey there Kileen!

      Sorry if you were unable to find out how to cancel your subscription!

      As stated in our FAQ - "https://dofasting.com/faq", you can always cancel your subscription by contacting us at hello@dofasting.com!

      Could you please reach out ASAP?

      Our apologies for the inconvenience!


  • You pay for personalized and get generic

    • By Fern A.,
    • Colorado,
    • May 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was excited to "get my plan" when I signed up for this service, instead, I got a tracking app that is not even an improvement on the many many free apps on the market. You can track your fasts, check out some generic recipes, and get a generic work out plan. Nothing is personalized based on all the questions you answered before signing up. This is deceiving business practice. I immediately asked for a refund and canceled my membership, but I was refused a refund unless I could prove I didn't get what was advertised. I sent them back screenshots of their offer for a personalized plan and I was told the web plan and app plan are different...both offer a personalized plan and there isn't even a way to log in online. From their website: "We guarantee you will be satisfied," LIE, they don't care and will ignore you hoping you go away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t get this app

    Overall Experience:

    The app itself is extremely empty. Exactly as the article stated, it is not personalized except that they ask for height and weight! You can choose which type of fasting you want to do and you have some workouts proposed. THAT'S IT. You can find these on YouTube and Google. It is not worth the money and I realized it 1 hour after making the purchase so I asked for a refund and got shut down by a very rude customer service telling me there’s no refund policy unless the product is faulty. The product IS faulty since it's not even worth half of what I paid.

    After being shut down, I genuinely tried using the app and I realized it's really useless! No one in their right mind would pay for this. I canceled my next subscription but I can assure no company has made me this annoyed at the lack of empathy AND usefulness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unauthorized charges and impossible to cancel or get a refund

    • By Maria S.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Last November I was charged twice by DoFasting. I attempted to resolve the issue and they continuously replied that I signed up for a six-month subscription. That response didn't resolve the issue of the double charge. I asked to cancel the subscription with no response. I had to contact iTunes to have the charge refunded. Six months later, same issue. I was charged for this subscription even though I didn't renew and requested a cancellation. I send an email and I got the very same response as six months ago. This app is predatory.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 12, 2020

      Company Response from DoFasting

      Dear Maria,

      Thank you for the feedback and we are sorry our service was not of the quality you expected.

      Could you please contact us again at hello@dofasting.com and explain the issue? Our team will solve it as soon as possible.

      Sorry for the inconvenience!


Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a Review for DoFasting!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
DoFasting Review: What You Should Know