About Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 2, 2020

Each dose of Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients which allegedly delivers a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

The company states that this supplement may improve digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

To use, put one scoop of ProPower Plus’s easy-to-serve powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, Dr. Marty tells us your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. But, does your four-legged friend need a dietary supplement and is Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus necessarily the best option for maximizing value?

We’ll answer those questions by telling you what’s in this supplement, what science says about dog supplements and, specifically, probiotics, as well as how much the supplement costs and how it compares to similar products.

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus Ingredients and Nutrition Details

The supplement facts label listed on Dr. Marty’s website indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain, Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®), Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis/longum, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

There are no available third-party online articles or clinical support indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, while both it and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Can Dogs Benefit from Taking Dietary Supplements?

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food delivers enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet - including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.

Can Dogs Benefit from Taking Probiotics?

Canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

Potential Side Effects Related to Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of series side effects.

“We want to use things that are safe long-term. Probiotics fit that bill,” WebMD points out.

The Pet Health Network reports that mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

Again, it’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

How Much Does Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus Cost?

How much you pay for ProPower Plus supplement depends on which Dr. Marty’s site you order from. For example, if purchased from TheCanineCode.com, customers will pay:

  • 1 jar: $49.95
  • 3 jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $239.70 ($39.95 per jar)

If ordered from Dr.MartyPets.com, though, prices increase to:

  • 1 jar: $69.95
  • 3 jars: $188.85 ($62.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $356.70 ($59.45 per jar)

Both sites offer free shipping and 90-day money-back guarantees, less the cost of return shipping. Customers can request one by calling 800-670-1839 or sending an email to support@drmartypets.com.

Are There Other Dog Supplements Like Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus?

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach your gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here were some of the top-rated options on Amazon at the time of our research:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

Like with humans, some formulas might work fantastically for one dog, but not at all for another.

Also, dogs can be picky eaters, too, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewable, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

So, looking at these options through a price-per-dose lens, if you own a dog that weighs more than 56 lbs., Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus costs more than three times the next highest competitor, FortiFlora.

Dr. Marty’s is cheaper than FortiFlora for dogs who weigh less than 10 lbs., but, even at this end of the spectrum, ProPower Plus is priced nearly eight times higher than the lowest-cost option, Nusentia.

» Recommended Reading: Dog Supplements 101: A Detailed Beginner’s Guide

Bottom Line

Based on our thorough research of probiotics, and taking into account the commonalities between probiotics for humans and probiotics for dogs, there are four important reminders as you consider buying this dog supplement:

  • Making sure the manufacturer lists all bacteria strains and ingredients, including their CFU counts and concentrations
  • Checking online customer reviews, along with organizations like the Better Business Bureau, to ensure the company has mostly positive feedback
  • Browsing sites like ConsumLab.com and the Natural Medicines Database to learn if the specific formula has undergone testing, and if so, what the results were
  • Verifying the company offers a reasonable return policy (at least 30 days), with no restocking fees

Looking at ProPower Plus with these guidelines in mind, the company clearly lists all ingredients and concentrations on the supplement’s label, and the formula comes with wholly positive customer reviews on Dr. Marty’s website.

It hadn’t undergone testing at the time of publishing, but the company stands behind its product with a three-month return policy, which should be more than enough time to figure out if it delivers maximum value for your dog.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Dr. Marty ProPower Plus:
  • 354 Customer Reviews
  • 93% Recommend This Product
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 62% 4 star: 29% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 4%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Almost killed my dog

    • By Christine H.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This review doesn't even deserve one star. I decided to buy this product for our 12-year-old Australian cattle dog mix after carefully scrutinizing every ingredient to make sure that it is beneficial for dogs. The first time this powder was given to her (full scoop recommended for her weight), she had a lot of belching afterward. Not thinking much about it, we continued to give her the powder, except with half of a scoop. One week later my dog vomited three times in the morning. Three weeks after that she was violently sick with vomiting and explosive diarrhea which turned bright red with blood within 2 hours. After rushing her to the vet, the vet took one look at her stool sample and recommended we take her to the emergency animal hospital, where she was diagnosed with hemorrhagic gastroenteritis. She was given IV fluids and luckily was stable enough to recuperate at home. It took her several days to fully recover with the help of five different medications. She was not given any change in her diet at this time except for the addition of the pro power plus which makes me strongly suspect she had a severe allergic reaction to this product that almost cost her her life. Unfortunately other than the stomach upset happening one week after taking this product my dog couldn't signal to us how much pain or discomfort she must have been feeling.

    This product may work for some dogs, but almost killed our beloved dog. I strongly urge those considering this product to think twice about purchasing it, because it is NOT WORTH THE RISK. STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 25, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Christine, thank you for bringing your dog’s experience to my attention. I’m Kat from Dr. Marty Pets, by the way. I was really alarmed while reading your review and I want to make sure that I take all of the proper steps to ensure that your issue is resolved. Dr. Marty Pets only makes products that we wholeheartedly believe in. This is not a common reaction to Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus. But as with all products, we do understand that they may work well for some and not for others. In addition, we do always ask that our customer’s consult their pet’s vet prior to making any change in their diet. I want to confirm that our Customer Relations Department has fully refunded you of your order and has notified our Adverse Reactions Team on April 23rd, 2019. If you are still experiencing any outstanding issues, please let me know right away at Kat@Drmartypets.com. I am so sorry to hear about your dog’s experience but I’m grateful that you told us so that we could take action. Take care.


  • Advertising and customer reviews misleading, customer ordering line not helpful.

    • By Dawn B.,
    • Colorado,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Watched the entire video. Maybe it was wishful thinking but I was led to believe any dog required 1 scoop a day, one jar a month. Seemed expensive but I was willing to try to ease my dog's skin allergies. Called the customer service number to order. They did not ask me the size of my dog, just how many jars I wanted. I ordered one. When the order came I read the directions and found out my 60-pound dog requires 2 scoops a day. I have since found the dosing info on the website but if a person only watches the video and calls in their order they can be misled and disappointed.

    I submitted a review on the product website about this. No response and it seems they only post the 5-star reviews since mine never appeared.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 28, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Dawn. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. As the serving size and needs of all dogs may vary, we advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing any new supplements into their pet’s feeding regimen. We always provide the complete information of all our products on our official website so that you and your vet may make the most informed decision. Customer service is our number one priority and I regret that you did not experience the service that was expected of us. If you are not satisfied with ProPower Plus, we stand by our 90-day money back guarantee. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com, if you would like to take advantage of this. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I hope you have a wonderful day.


  • Dr Marty’s ProPower Plus

    • By Debby T.,
    • Falmouth, MA,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog would not eat her food when I added this powder to it (even with water also added). I returned the product on 5/11/19 requesting a refund since it was advertised as "90-day money back guarantee". I have sent two emails and have never heard back from the distributor. Would not purchase from this company again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 31, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Debby. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review. Customer service is our number one priority and I am sorry to read that you have not experienced the excellent service we strive to provide. We understand that ProPower Plus may not be the best choice for every dog, as results vary. As a one time courtesy, I would like to offer you a full refund for your order without any need for return. Please reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com so I can get started on this right away. I apologize again and I wish you a wonderful day.


  • My dog had a bad reaction to it.

    • By Marta S.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please exercise caution the first time you give this to your dog. I used a little less than the recommended amount and my dog had an almost immediate violent (possibly allergic?) reaction to it that involved her lips swelling, vomiting, stumbling, etc. She's ok now, but I recommend testing in a small amount first. I would hate for someone else to go through the scare that we experienced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 26, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Marta. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. I would like to wholeheartedly apologize for your experience. This is not a common reaction to our ProPower Plus. Dr. Marty Pets advises our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes in their daily routine. We always have a complete list of ingredients available for our products so that our customers and their veterinarian may make the most informed decision. I see that you have been contacted by our team for more information and that you have been fully refunded. I would like to apologize again. If you have any further questions, please feel free to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I wish you and your family the best in the future.


  • Buyer beware

    • By Susan L.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have 5 dogs and was really hoping that this product would work. Unfortunately, I saw no changes and for the price, I needed to see some results. I purchased from an ad on Facebook. At no time during the purchasing process did it state that in order to get the full refund under the 90-day guarantee you had to keep the empty containers. I believe in giving a product the full benefit of the doubt and used the entire contents. I only had the last container as I had thrown the others away as I finished using them. Upon contacting them, I was informed that I could only get a refund for the one container. Basically, I was out over $200.00. Upon calling them I was told that I could forgo sending the container back but would only get 40% back. I would NEVER buy from this company again. The product is no better than the less expensive counterparts. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 1, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Susan. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review. We have many satisfied pet owners who have experienced great results with their furry friends. We always recommend our customers consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes in their pet’s daily regimen, as results may vary. Requiring the empty containers to be returned for a full refund is industry standard. We are sorry for any miscommunication on our end. As a courtesy, I would like to issue a full refund for your order. Please reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may issue your full refund. I apologize for your experience with Dr. Marty Pets and I am awaiting your email.


  • I purchased Dr. Marty's powder approximately a month ago. Here are the results...

    • By Sylvia H.,
    • Leesburg, FL,
    • Sep 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dr. Marty, since you deleted my review I will find another way to let the public know what a scam you are running. You owe me for four containers of which I thought I was only paying for one. I will mail you back the three containers which have not been opened but you need to send me a shipping slip with the check you owe me. I changed my card so you cannot resend the money that way. I could not believe you scammed me out of that much money and your miracle did not work and the dog wouldn't touch his food with it on it. He broke out in small blisters all over his body after about two weeks of getting it down him. Probably allergic to your powder. Please stop telling everyone this powder is a miracle powder because it just isn't true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 3, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Sylvia. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am so sorry to read your review of our ProPower Plus. Many dog owners report great results while using our products, but we understand that results may vary. I wanted to address one of the points you made in your review because it was very concerning. We absolutely welcome all reviews, both positive and negative, because this is one of the most important ways we can improve upon our products and our customer service. Our #1 priority is to make products that truly make a difference in your pet’s health and happiness, and we cannot do this without our customer’s valuable feedback. This is why we are always open to all types of feedback. We do receive an inordinate amount of positive reviews on our products because they truly make a difference in our customer’s lives but we would never dismiss a negative review. I hope this clears up any confusion or misunderstanding. Your dog’s reaction is not typical and I would like more information. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian before introducing any new supplements into their diet. We provide the complete list of ingredients on our official website so that you and your vet may reach the best conclusion. As a courtesy for your experience, I would like to offer a full refund for your purchase without any need for return. Please reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may get started on this right away. I apologize for your experience with Dr. Marty Pets and I look forward to hearing from you.


  • Product didn't help

    • By Kelly S.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog is a lab mix. Sonny is his name and he weighs 87 pounds. Sonny has bad allergies and always eating the long leafy green stalks when I walked him. I brought Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus powder hoping this would make a difference in my dog. Unfortunately, I haven't seen any results after almost 3 weeks and he was just as bad with the allergies as before I started.

    I am returning what little is left in the container. I was hoping for a miracle but was very disappointed.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 4, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Kelly. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review of our ProPower Plus. We have many satisfied dog owners whose dogs have seen great results following three months of consistent daily use. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing any new supplements into their pet’s daily regimen. As a courtesy for your experience, I would like to offer a full refund for your purchase. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may get started on this right away. Dr. Marty Pets would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will use this as a chance to improve. I wish you and your dog a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • Not working

    • By Frieda W.,
    • Rock Hill, SC,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been giving my little dog Bruno this for over a month and his itching has gotten worse and he sometimes refuses his food with it in it. Still eating grass and farting just as bad as before. I bought 4 bottles and my friend bought 2 from me. She also has stopped giving to one of her dogs who was throwing up and eating grass after taking it and cut other dogs amount in half but said she seems listless. I finished 1 bottle and threw it away so can't return that one but think I will be returning the open one I'm using now. I will see if she wants me to send back hers too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 18, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Frieda. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review of our ProPower Plus. These reactions are not typical while taking ProPower Plus. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes to their dog’s daily regimen, as results may vary. I would like more information on your dog’s reaction. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may look into this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Dr. Marty Pets looks at this as a valuable learning experience. I look forward to hearing from you. I wish you and Bruno a fantastic day.


  • Not good

    • By Teresa V.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ever since I used this in both of my dogs, a week or two later they are constipated and won't eat their food or treats. They are not acting like their selves, because my big dog eats anything, and she won't even eat her food or treats. That's not like her and the same goes for my Maltese. So I stopped giving it to them a few days ago and will see how that will work out. My older dog has been acting really weird here lately. They also have been chewing on their paws like crazy since I been giving this to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Teresa. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to read about your dogs’ experiences with our ProPower Plus. These are not common reactions. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may have more information. I would also like to extend you a full refund for your purchase as a courtesy for your trouble. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes in their daily diet, as ProPower Plus may not always be the best choice. I look forward to hearing from you. I wish you and your pups a wonderful day.


  • I will never purchase this product again!

    • By Raymond C.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never purchase this product again! This product gives my dog diarrhea! Even at a much lower dose than recommended. The worst part is that I wrote to the company and asked what should I do about this and THEY NEVER EVEN REPLIED. I thought they cared about dogs so much? Guess all they care about is MONEY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 17, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Raymond. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to read your review of your experience with Dr. Marty Pets. Your dog’s reaction to ProPower Plus is not typical. I would like more information on your situation so this can be looked into right away. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may assist you immediately. I would also like to apologize for your experience with our customer service. We hold our agents to the highest standards and I am sorry you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I will be awaiting your reply with your order information. I wish you and your dog a wonderful day.


  • Did absolutely nothing for my dog

    • By Paula K.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered 3 bottles. Used one completely, as was told it takes time. After 2 months of "takes time" there was no improvement to be seen by me in coat, energy, pain control or enjoyment of eating...In fact, the first week he often refused the food, though I noticed no scent change in the product being added, but then, that's why I am a human and he is a dog. Customer support sends out "boilerplate" answers, but, if you keep on them, a real person answers. Bottom line here. It did not work for us, and I had such high hopes for him.

    I am sending back in the hopes of them honoring their guarantee of a full refund minus any shipping charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 22, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Paula. I am sorry to read about your experience with ProPower Plus. We have many satisfied customers, but we understand that we may not be the right choice for everyone. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes to their daily supplement regimen, as results may vary. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com if you would like any assistance with the returns process. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We genuinely appreciate your feedback. I wish you and your pup a wonderful day.


Showing 1-11 of 354

Write a Review for Dr. Marty ProPower Plus!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Dr. Marty ProPower Plus