About FabFitFun

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 25, 2017

Do you love discovering new products and the promise of a great deal? With FabFitFun, you can receive a present-like box chock-full of beauty, fashion, and lifestyle goodies delivered four times a year.

That’s the promise behind FabFitFun’s urge to “Subscribe to happy!” This subscription box service offers seasonal deliveries of full-size beauty, wellness, fashion, and lifestyle products right to your door at the start of each season.

What’s a Subscription Box Service?

Like FabFitFun, subscription boxes have been all the rage over the past few years. If you’re unfamiliar with what these are, here’s the scoop:

  • They’re physical packages. Subscription boxes are actual, mailed deliveries that are sent out at regular intervals—this can be monthly, seasonally, or bi-annually.
  • They’re generally tailored to a niche interest. For example, BarkBox sends toys and treats to dog owners, BitsBox sends out monthly coding projects for kids, and Conscious Box claims to make healthy living easier to achieve.
  • The contents are almost always a mystery. What’s inside your subscription box will be within a general category, but the individual items aren’t known until you receive the box. (More on this shortly.)
  • They usually use recurring billing. Because the point of subscription boxes is to receive regular deliveries, most of them require that you accept automatic charges.

What’s Special About FabFitFun?

FabFitFun offers subscribers an eclectic mix of beauty, fashion, and fitness products. Boxes are sent out seasonally (every three months), which is less often than other beauty and fashion related boxes.

However, FabFitFun gives good reason for the wait — here’s what the company claims makes their subscription box service stand out:

  • Boxes are specially curated for the season. For example, according to CBS News, “the 2016 Fall Box included 11 items. The products ranged from a $35 ModCloth scarf — a large plaid scarf billed as perfect for cold weather or keeping warm while traveling over the holidays — to a $50 eyeshadow palette from Pure Cosmetics.”
  • FabFitFun items are always full size. Unlike other subscription box services that send boxes of trial size items, FabFitFun sends you regular-sized products, from makeup palettes to shampoo/ conditioner sets and more.
  • Boxes claim to be worth at least $200. FabFitFun states that the total value of every box is at least $200 worth of products and items — which means they’re worth four times what they cost members. Plus, they claim that all the brands picked to be included are top-rated by consumers.
  • Instructions are included. Each FabFitFun delivery comes with a mini-magazine that explains the contents in detail, from application tips to different ways to wear that aforementioned scarf.

Again, it’s important to remember one unique element of subscription boxes, whether you’re selecting FabFitFun or another company: Subscription box companies don’t tell you what’s inside before they send it’s out.

While what you get is a surprise, you can glean some information on what to expect by looking at past boxes.

Additionally, because FabFitFun sends out one box per season, you can always wait to order until after the initial rounds of boxes are sent out and items have been reviewed. More on this soon. But, just remember, there’s no way to know what’s in the next season’s box when signing up.

A Look At Previous FabFitFun Boxes: What's Inside?

What’s the best way to tell if you’ll enjoy a FabFitFun membership? Just take a look at what YouTuber Dizzy V reported was inside their Fall 2016 box:

  1. ModCloth Loch and Key Blanket Scarf – Value $34.99
  2. The Created Co. To-Go Coffee Mug – Value $19
  3. Pure Cosmetics Nude Collection – Value $50
  4. Spongelle Bulgarian Rose Body Wash Infused Buffer – Value $16
  5. Mullein & Sparrow French Lavender Body Oil – Value $18
  6. Skin Laundry Restoring Night Serum – Value $50
  7. The BrowGal Brow Gel – Value $20
  8. Toesox Toeless Fitness Socks – Value $17
  9. FabFitFun Coloring Book + Pencils – Value $16
  10. Cottonelle Fresh Care Wipes – (42 Count)
  11. Secret Outlast Xtend Clear Gel Completely Clean Deodorant – .5 oz

As you can see, the FabFitFun box contents really span a variety of accessories, beauty products and lifestyle items. Out of the 11 items, our total tally for each category is:

  • Four clothing and accessories (scarf, mug, socks, coloring book).
  • Two cosmetics (eyeshadow palette and brow gel).
  • Five personal grooming products (body wash buffer, body oil, night serum, face wipes, and deodorant).

FabFitFun states that the total value of this box is $241. The question for prospective customers would be: Are the contents of this box worth $50 to you? We’ll help you answer that question shortly.

How Do You Order FabFitFun?

While FabFitFun boxes are uniquely tailored for the season that they ship out for, there isn’t a way to choose between selections to fit your preferences.

Something else that we found a little confusing when researching reviews: Boxes are given names, such as the Editor Box or the Welcome Box — which we initially thought were different choices, but that turns out not to be the case.

With the understanding that FabFitFun offers one box a season, the next question we had was: What’s the cut-off date to sign up for a specific one?

FabFitFun customer service was very helpful, and informed us that, to ensure you get a specific season’s box, you’d need to sign up before that season’s billing date:

  • Spring box deadline is March
  • Summer box deadline is June
  • Fall box deadline is September
  • Winter box deadline is December

When signing up for FabFitFun, which box you get depends on the date. At the time of writing, (January 2017), they’re still shipping out winter boxes (called the Editor box). Whether or not someone who signed up today or tomorrow gets that specific shipment or must wait until the spring box release depends on how many they have left.

This means that, unlike many other subscription box services, astute shoppers can actually wait until a boxes release to read reviews of them online before ordering. This gives you a chance to decide if you have to have it, or would rather pass.

» Related: The Best Beauty Box Subscription Services for 2019

FabFitFun Pricing and Shipping

FabFitFun offers two ways to order. If you’d like to pay as you go, you can sign up for a single box for $49.99.

Note that, even when purchasing a single box, FabFitFun members agree to ongoing, seasonal billing. This means that, if you do not take steps to cancel your membership, every three months you will be charged an additional $49.99 before another box is sent out.

FabFitFun states that you can cancel your membership to avoid ongoing charges at any time by calling (855) 313-6267. If our experience with their customer service was any indication, reaching someone takes little to no time and their agents are very helpful.

If you know that you’re interested in receiving ongoing FabFitFun shipments and would like to pay upfront, you can also order an annual subscription.

This commits you to four boxes at a total price of $179.99. That’s a total savings of $19.97, or $4.99 per box.

FabFitFun also offers “Add-Ons”: These are individual products that are either editor’s favorites or new items in stock that you can add to your shipment individually. They’re available at a discount from normal store prices, and can be added on at any time before your box has shipped.

Shipping of FabFitFun subscriptions is always free for members in the continental US. Those in Canada, Alaska, and Hawaii should expect to pay $8 a box.

FabFitFun Return Policy

If your FabFitFun delivery is damaged, missing an item, or is lost, it’s requested that you notify customer service within two weeks of the delivery date specified on your confirmation email.

With that in mind, FabFitFun purchases are final sale and nonrefundable. The company does not accept returns of boxes, add-ons, or additional box purchases. Any returns that are sent back will not be eligible for a refund.

What Are Customers Saying About FabFitFun?

FabFitFun customers agree that the products inside their seasonal boxes are of high-quality, and they’re happy with the brands. Positive reviews make mention of:

  • The variety of products and items included in each box. This can include gift cards, jewelry, fragrance, accessories, and high-end cosmetics.
  • Fast shipping and responsive customer service.
  • That FabFitFun offers a good value in the number and quality of products that you receive for the price.

Negative reviews of FabFitFun were few and far between, with complaints centering on:

  • Customers who were surprised at recurring charges.
  • That contents were “hit or miss” when it came to their personal tastes.

Overall, reviews of FabFitFun left us with the impression that the brand lives up to their promise of delivering a variety of high-quality, full-size products that are top-rated and generally well-received by members.

Here’s how to decide if FabFitFun is right for you.

Bottom Line: Should You Sign Up For FabFitFun?

When considering any subscription box service, it’s important to remember that, even if the actual value of what’s inside is more than you paid, there’s a risk that the contents won’t be to your taste.

Subscription boxes tend to be best for consumers who enjoy a little mystery. Or, a better way to phrase it might be, who can afford a little mystery!

Here’s our thoughts on who would probably get the least value out of FabFitFun:

  • If you have your heart set on a few specific items for an upcoming season.
  • If you have product allergies or strong preferences, such as avoiding fragrance or parabens.
  • If you’re on a budget.
  • If you have very specific tastes or product/ cosmetics regimens and don’t like to explore.

Do one or more of the above describe you? Then, there’s a chance that you’re better off just shopping for what you love.

Additionally, the box that we shared was valued at $241, but only costs customers $50. However, when considering whether to buy, it’s important not to look at the implied value and how much you’re saving, but whether or not you’d spend $50 on those products yourself.

If you’re still curious about FabFitFun, we think there’s a good chance that this subscription box service will make you feel as if you’ve won the jackpot! As consumers, here’s what we would do before ordering just to be sure:

  • Contact FabFitFun customer service to see what box you would get if signing up today, then check to see if that box has already been released. If so, look at reviews — do you like the contents?
  • If you’d be receiving next season’s box, check out reviewers on YouTube sharing their past unboxings to really confirm that you enjoy FabFitFun’s curations style.
  • Finally, remind yourself that, if you want to avoid recurring charges, you’ll have to call and cancel your membership.

With all that in mind, if you’re in the market for a monthly subscription box, we think that the quality, variety, and size of items in FabFitFun makes this a service a great pick.

And, if you’re interested in subscription boxes, but want to check out a service that’s slightly less costly, offers more frequent deliveries, of focuses on trial-size products, we recommend that you read our review of Birchbox for a comparison.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 23 FabFitFun Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Most definitely not a scam! I signed up last year.

    • Lake Worth, FL,
    • May 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up three seasons ago and love this company. Never had a problem. In the community forum, there are a lot of people that have had good reports regarding the customer service.

    I thought I mistakenly ordered an item, emailed them, and they responded the next day and the issue was resolved. They are also active on the forum and respond to questions and concerns.

    They are definitely not a scam, otherwise, thousands of women would be all over it! They are a huge company catering to a lot of people in both the U.S. and Canada. So, no, not a scam!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Oregon,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are totally not a scam. I have received two boxes and they are great! One had an item that was broken but I emailed customer service with a picture of it and they are sending a replacement. I think people who are displeased are the ones who do not read the fine print. You get to choose some of the times and not others. If you buy an annual subscription, you get to choose more, but the choices are limited by the quantity, so you want to order quickly. Of course, everyone knows this, so it does cause their site to crash often on the first day you can order the new box. This is something they do need to fix.

    Even with that small problem, I love the box! There will always be some things in it you don’t want but you the value of what you get is so high that it’s worth it. If you want to know what’s in the box beforehand, check out mysubscriptionaddiction.com, they post there. Also, the first box you order will be the editor's box, which is slightly different than the other boxes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love FabFitFun

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm thrilled every time I receive my box. You definitely get bang for your buck. Fantastic quality, full sizes and the add-on option is incredible. I have tried several products that I would have never considered at regular pricing and found that they are worth purchasing regularly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Single Boxes are a great value!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a skincare, fitness and gadget junkie and love trying new things from quality companies. I do a couple of beauty box subscriptions that aren't expensive and if I get one or two things I can use I am excited. The rest I give away. When a friend first told me about FabFitFun in late Spring 2018 and gave me a discount code I checked it out. They were taking orders for the Summer 2018 box. I looked at all the offerings for the box and went to each individual product website to looked at reviews and pricing and determined $39.99 for $400 worth of quality products was worth it. I signed up for the Summer box in mid-May and heard nothing for a month and then went to the website and realized the boxes would ship June 1 or 15.

    I finally got mine in late June and was disappointed that the main item I wanted, a $55 beach towel, was not included. They had substituted a $50 train case that was lovely but I wanted the towel. I sent an email and someone responded a couple of hours later and said I had not selected the towel but she would be happy to send it to me. I offered to send the train case back but she said that wasn’t necessary. The total value of my box was almost $500. I didn’t end up using everything myself but most every product was worth $35-$89. I used the extra items as stocking stuffers at the holiday. I considered subscribing for the year but after looking at the Fall and Winter boxes from past seasons I determined they were not as big a bang for your buck, most valued at $200-$250 and didn’t contain things I would use.

    I got the Summer 2019 box and they let me use a coupon again so I got it for $39.99. I ordered in early June and it shipped within a week and it arrived a day earlier than expected. I received all of my first choices and the other standard items were wonderful too. I calculated the value at $416. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the contents of both Summer boxes. These boxes are developed for women by women with products from women-owned entrepreneurial companies. Many are trying to get the world out about their brands so that’s how you get merchandise for 85- 90% off retail. Because Spring and Summer are the seasons of renewal and vacation I think they really go all out on these boxes.

    To anyone who wants to treat themselves or another woman (young or old) in their life, these boxes are a fun option but I would definitely research the contents of the box and print your selections just in case there is a mix-up. I think a subscription sets you up for disappointment once you start with a great box. Just check out the boxes each season. I haven’t done add-ons, there were a couple of cute things I did not select and would have purchased if available at a good price. Your box includes a magazine describing the products and brands and they give you coupon codes to all of the brands and you can purchase items you didn’t select or more of what you did at 15-30% off retail. Some items are actually marked down and with the extra discount, you can get a good deal. I recommend paying with a credit card like Amex or another bank who will advocate on your behalf and refund your money if your delivery doesn’t arrive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not all it's cracked up to be

    • Springfield, MO,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been an annual subscriber for a year now - and I have a few comments on this company. I loved the fact that I could get full-sized products to try out and I've found a few items to incorporate into my daily routine. However, I've noticed a few issues - each seasonal box gets smaller and smaller, each box has 2-3 items I'll never use, I find the products are becoming less valuable, and the customer service at the company is horrible.

    An example of declining value, I received a Vince Caputo tote, which was totally poorly made.

    An example of canceling the service - the subscription is automatically paid without notice, so if you don't want the service any longer, you better cancel on an off month or you'll have trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    2 and 1/2 months and no shipment

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a standard annual subscription. The first couple of boxes came with no problem, and the items are ok quality. I had gotten a make-up bag where the zipper broke on the first use. I didn't attempt to try to get a replacement. It's kind of fun to get the box in the mail. They are like a present to yourself.

    However, I would not recommend trying to do anything non-standard. They don't have systems in place for extra/odd orders. They want you to order extras, they make that very easy. I made the mistake of ordering an additional add-on box to send to my daughter. I also ordered some add-ons for myself. After 2 and 1/2 months of chats and phone calls with them, I still don't have my own box or my add-ons. After about three attempts I did finally get a box shipped to my daughter.

    I had to really insist on getting my money back. They said they don't normally issue refunds. They just keep saying the box shipment is expedited and they are "making sure" it ships to me right away. And then it doesn't. Finally today they said they are refunding my money. Although I have yet to receive the email confirming that. If you can't ship me a product in 2 and 1/2 months, I deserve my money back. They acted like they were doing me a favor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Bad site

    They charged me for add-on items that I didn’t order. They wouldn’t give me credit or even resolve the issue. Terrible customer service. I asked to be credited $76 they overcharged me. This site is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Washington,
    • Mar 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attempted to order the Editor's Box, and the coupon code was not working. I contact customer service and they gave me a (supposed) correct code. Well, it was the wrong code, and even though they originally charged me for the Editor's Box, they then credited me $20 and ordered me a Starter Box - all of this without communication.

    When I received my box it had a card for the Editor's Box saying everything that was in it, which was incorrect since they sent me the Starter box. I would never have chosen to order the Starter box.

    When I contacted customer service, she was all over the place quoting me incorrect dates, etc. I asked for her to have a supervisor to call me and a "supervisor" showed up on the chat. They said they were all out of Editor's Boxes and would send me a Spring Box. I assumed it would be at no charge, but they charged me the full amount, and it showed up in my bank account this morning. I will be canceling as soon as I receive my box.

    Don't trust the customer service. They don't know what they are doing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    FabFitFun can't even keep their sight up!

    When you go to log on to their website to buy add-ons and customize your box, the sight always crashes. You can't get customer service to pick up the phone or call you back. Facebook messages are generic and say the same thing to everybody. When you pay for a year, and you can't get the items you want because their site is down, you are left with crap to pick from. It's not acceptable. I have been disappointed by my choices and lack of customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Scam? Maybe. False advertising? Definitely. Beware of sign up process.

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware of the sign-up process. If you go to get more info on these boxes, it shows you this overflowing box of goodies, but to learn more you need to start the sign up process, and at each step you are told you will have the opportunity to see more details about the box, and also get the option to make some selections. This NEVER happened! My card was charged, and you can bet your bottom dollar I'll not be receiving all the goodies in the one and only picture it shows you.

    If you go to your account it will tell you that you can cancel FUTURE shipments, but not this one. In the enticing picture of the overflowing box, which appears to be 18" x 12," there are two types of sunscreen, two palettes of eyeshadows, and all kinds of stuff, but Chat told me you'd get 7 to 8 items, not the overflowing box shown. So why show this fake box?

    Also, when I asked her where the info was on their website, about what was REALLY in the box, she said they published teasers on Twitter, and that's all you get. Info is not on their website. That you can log in when the box has shipped to see what you will be receiving, what good is that?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Coupons codes misleading

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered what I thought was the summer box but to my surprise, it was a starter box of products from past boxes. I was charged on May 21st and also charged for the summer box, which is what I thought I was getting originally and the box just shipped. In the interim, there was an exchange of 15 emails and it took two weeks of emailing back and forth with erroneous information on several of the emails. At one point they said sorry we could not CATER to your request, the nerve, poor customer service, out of courtesy for the misleading info they should have sent me the summer box as part of good faith customer service. I canceled and will not order again. This CSR should have gotten a supervisor involved but failed so they lost a customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for FabFitFun!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review