Gundry MD Bio Complete 3 Reviews - Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 14, 2020

Medically Reviewed by Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S & Jason Reed, Pharm.D.

This article contains links that should you click and make a purchase, we may earn a commission from the sale. See our Advertiser Disclosure.

Complete 3 is a supplement that claims to improve your gut health and combat leaky gut through butyrate and fiber, two ingredients they say are at the heart of good gut health.

Gundry MD’s founder is Dr. Steven Gundry. He is well-known for his promotion of gut health even though his expertise is in heart surgery. He believes beneficial microbes in the stomach and intestines are the key to overall health and well-being.

Our review of Gundry’s Bio Complete 3 will examine how to take it an what it does, what its ingredients are, and the scientific evidence for the supplement’s efficacy.

Dosage and Possible Benefits of Bio Complete 3

A bottle of Bio Complete 3 has a 30-day supply of capsules. According to the company website, two capsules should be taken twice daily.

Each capsule contains the following main ingredients:

  • Tributyrin: 1,000 mg
  • Sunfiber: 200 mg
  • Bacillus coagulans: 16 mg (2 billion CFU)

Tributyrin is a form of butyrate, a short-chain fatty acid that probiotic bacteria produce as they break down starches. Butyrate is formed by the fermentation of unabsorbed carbohydrates and is known as a post-biotic.

Sunfiber is what’s known as a “prebiotic” or food that your body’s probiotics need. In addition to supporting the actions of probiotics, they are thought to benefit weight management, digestive health, and immune function.

The final ingredient, bacillus coagulans, is a probiotic. These friendly gut bacteria live in your gut and may offer a wide array of health benefits.

Gundry MD says this trio of ingredients provides the following benefits:

  • Fight achy muscles and joints
  • Quells food cravings
  • Cuts down on gas and bloating
  • Boosts energy
  • Combats leaky gut
  • Improve your ability to lose weight
  • Less fatigue

Many sites like Gundry MD claim that a supplement focused on gut health can provide the benefits we listed. The research we present in the next section will bear out whether these benefits are realistic based on your daily serving of Bio Complete 3.

Scientific Evidence for Gundy MD Bio Complete 3’s Efficacy

The core of Bio Complete 3’s claimed efficacy is butyrate, a “postbiotic” that your body typically produces as good bacteria work in your stomach and intestines.

By taking postbiotic as a supplement, you supply it to your intestines as an addition to what your body is already making.

One of the better research pieces regarding butyrate is a 2018 article published in the journal, “Advances in Nutrition.”

The article is an analysis of existing butyrate research. In it, the authors indicate that butyrate can decrease inflammation by inhibiting chemicals in the body that cause inflammation.

It also discusses butyrate’s effect on your intestinal lining, which is key because Gundry MD’s claims say their supplement can improve the lining of your intestines to keep toxins from leaking out of your gut (“leaky gut”).

The analysis indicated that butyrate in low concentrations (<2mM) in your intestines can be helpful but that taking too much (5 or 8mM) of it can harm your intestinal barrier. The 1000mg of tributyrin falls well within the safe range.

The studies that analyzed butyrate’s effect on the intestinal lining were done in a laboratory setting, so it is unclear if these levels are comparable to what would be safe in real life.

As for helping with weight loss, the analysis said the current research indicates some positive results in mice, but there were no mentions of human studies.

With that said, the preliminary research is promising that butyrate can help with weight loss in obese individuals.

However, the analysis noted there were a few studies that showed high levels of butyrate could contribute to obesity instead of combating it. Keep in mind, these findings were in laboratory and animal models; this does not guarantee the same effects in humans.

We talked with a Seattle-based doctor who told us that butyrate is helpful in some cases but not in most. That is because it takes evaluation to understand if taking supplemental butyrate will solve the issues the patient is dealing with.

Another source, board-certified gastroenterologist Dr. Lawrence Hoberman, told us that butyrate plays an important role in nourishing the lining of the colon.

While he didn’t say how effective butyrate could be when consumed as a supplement, he said you can boost your production of it by taking prebiotics and probiotics that promote the growth of the good bacteria that produce butyrate.

Finally, an additional study in a 2011 edition of the World Journal of Gastroenterology analyzing existing studies about butyrate’s effectiveness found myriad uses fatty acid. However, more studies would need to be done to pinpoint for which conditions it works best, HighYa’s medical advisor Dr. Jason Reed, PharmD, said.

As for Bio Complete 3’s other ingredients, there’s extensive literature supporting the benefits of taking fiber (Sunfiber) and probiotics.

Daily doses of B. coagulans MTCC 5856 at 2 billion CFU improved digestive symptoms and reduced inflammation in 40 patients with IBS.

Gundry MD does not share the specific strain of B. coagulans, however. This makes it challenging to compare to the available literature as the effects are strain specific.

The other catch here is that the study says the probiotic had a positive effect on IBS patients. This does not mean that it will have a positive effect on healthy patients. More studies would have to be done to find out if taking bacillus coagulans would be worth taking for healthy people, Reed said.

Sunfiber may also offer benefits, particularly in those with IBS. Three grams per day over a week improved bloating and gas when compared to placebo. Though benefits were seen, doses more than 10x higher than what is offered by Bio Complete 3 were used.

Also, similar results may not be seen in healthy subjects.

Our takeaway here is that although some support exists for these ingredients, results seen in laboratory and animal settings may not relate to human subjects. More research is needed to support the claims made by Gundry MD.

Safety and Side Effects

Earlier, we’d mentioned that the Gundry MD phone rep told us that those who are new to gut supplements should start with two capsules a day.

This is because taking four capsules could have a pretty substantial effect on your gut; the phone rep used the word “shock.”

Also, taking butyrate at doses much larger than what is found in Bio Complete 3 may actually damage the lining of your digestive tract.

You may experience mild gas and bloating, commonly reported side effects with probiotic use. These symptoms are easily relieved by reducing the dose or discontinuing the supplement.

Cost and Return Policy

This supplement comes at three price points:

  • $54.90 shipped for one bottle
  • $134.85 shipped for three bottles
  • $254.70 shipped for six bottles

If you buy the six-bottle bundle, Gundry MD will send you a free bottle of Vital Reds, the company’s superfruit supplement.

Also, you have the option of signing up for the company’s VIP program, a subscription plan providing automatic monthly shipments of Bio Complete 3 as well as exclusive discounts that drop the previous prices to:

  • $41.95 per month for one bottle
  • $119.85 per month for three bottles
  • $227.70 per month for six bottles

If you sign up for the subscription, remember that you’re getting monthly refills. If you’re buying for yourself, stick with a one-bottle subscription, as one bottle lasts 30 days.

Gundry MD covers their supplements with a 90-day, money-back guarantee. If you aren’t happy with Bio Complete 3 within the first 90 days after your purchase, you can contact customer support at (800) 852-0477 to start your refund.

Their website says that they’ll process your refund with “no questions, no hassle.” We read through the fine print and found no hidden rules or exceptions that negate the guarantee.

The Bottom Line: Should You Try Gundry MD Bio Complete 3?

Based on our examination of research results as well as the input of a medical professional, we believe that this supplement presents some serious question marks about its ability to follow through on its claims to improve your gut health and help you lose weight.

There isn’t a consensus among medical experts that taking butyrate supplements will provide the benefits found in testing done in labs and on animals. Therefore, we think buying this supplement is a risk because the outcome is unknown.

That being said, the fiber and probiotics the supplement contains are a starting point if you’re looking to improve your gut health.

Fiber, in particular, is well-known for helping with regular bowel movements, lowering glucose levels, and dropping your blood cholesterol.

Probiotics are a burgeoning field with new research appearing regularly. To help you understand how they work, take a few minutes to read our beginner’s guide to probiotics. It covers the benefits of probiotics, the best ways to take them, and the side effects.

Special Offer

Looking for a Way to Get in Shape, Lose Weight, and Improve Your Health?

We recommend the Noom wellness app based on our extensive research and high customer rating. Noom is offering our readers a 14-day trial for a limited time. Click here for this special offer and to learn more about the program.



Read 30 Gundry MD Bio Complete 3 Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  6
Bottom Line: 70% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • Good

    • By Jan C.,
    • Campbell River, British Columbi, Canada,
    • Apr 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my Bio Complete 3. It took a while for me to get it because I live in Canada. I just started taking them today and noticed that my stomach felt better after the first 2 capsules in the morning. Up to this point I have never been able to take probiotics because they always made me constipated but these didn't do that. In fact, I had a bowel movement within half an hour of taking them. So far I am thrilled that I can finally take some probiotics because I have been suffering with IBD for many years. I'm looking forward to the Bio Complete changing that for me and hopefully finally getting rid of the IBD. Thank you so much for your product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • More energy

    • By Mary P.,
    • Hawaii,
    • Apr 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bio Complete 3 has given me way more energy. I have been sleeping for 7 hours and waking up full of energy! I hop out of bed ready to go! With the social distancing, I have been doing a lot of gardening, walks, organizing my stuff, going for walks. I have so much more energy I hardly know what to do with it! I must have needed the extra amino acids because it has made a big difference in how I feel. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Maybe but not entirely sure

    • By Rick M.,
    • Rossford, OH,
    • Apr 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first began taking this product about a month ago I was in the bathroom quite a bit and believed it to be a good sign as maybe my system was cleaning itself out. Next thing I noticed was a new sense of well-being (this was purely physical).

    But now it has been over a month and I really am not sure it actually did anything but give me diarrhea and the illusion of feeling better as belief is a very powerful force. The video which led me to buy was very hopeful and uplifting and I was too once I made the decision to order and use this.

    Now I am taking a wait and see attitude. I still have 3 more bottles and plan to continue to use as directed and continue to hope. If there are any changes or updates I will edit this review. I will say yes to the recommend question because there are no "maybe" or "wait and see" options, but I will not recommend YET until I am sure myself...at the same time, I will not say anything negative either because that would also be unfair when I am not sure myself!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • First probiotic taken!

    • By Charles W.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    After the first week of taking this supplement, I seem to be more regular. I cannot tell if there are other effects.

    Most articles that I read recommend to take probiotics, so after reading your online advertising, I decided to subscribe to your Bio Complete 3.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good results so far.

    • By Darlene R.,
    • Kennewick, WA,
    • Apr 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bio Complete 3 does not seem to interfere with the Low FODMAP diet I am using currently. Rational for design of the product makes sense to me, as a retired RD.

    For over 24 years I have been struggling with SIBO as diagnosed by "GI-MAP" DNA Stool Analysis. My history includes breast cancer, twice, 24 years apart, as well as numerous surgeries replete with antibiotics and all the problems that ensue. I obviously have had leaky gut all those years. I chose to add Bio Complete 3 to complement the supplements I take for dysbiosis related to overgrowth of Candidiasis and Methanobacteriaceae. I think it will help rejuvenate my gut-associated lymphoid tissue (GALT) thus support my immune system. I've had no negative side effects.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Pretty good

    • By Donna C.,
    • Shelbyville, MI,
    • Apr 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far I’m close to one month in. I haven’t lost any weight. I have noticed that I’m going to the bathroom more than once a day like before, also not hungry between meals, and I’ve also noticed that I get full sooner than before. I also haven’t had to chew on anti-acids either, which is great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Satisfied costumer

    • By Roderick M.,
    • West Chester, OH,
    • Apr 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Started out taking two capsules in the morning and two at night. I found out it is best to take them all at one time. Still need more time to evaluate its effectiveness. Beginning to see some results as advertised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I ordered the Bio Complete 3 by mistake. Wanted more of the Total Restore I had taken for 2 months.

    • By Donna R P.,
    • Spotsylvania, VA,
    • Apr 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was suffering from Diverticulitis very painful stomach problems including loose and frequent bowel movements. The Total Restore got me back to normal. When the Bio Complete 3 came I started taking that until I could reorder the Total Restore but since taking it I continue to be well and now wonder which one I should order. Cannot afford both if that's an option. Any help with the choice is appreciated. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Not for me

    • By Gideon C.,
    • Indio, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product was not for me and there was some misunderstanding on the return policy, but when I called them they made it right. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2020

    Not happy at all!

    Continued until the end of 30 days and not feeling at all what they say. Sent 5 of the 6 bottles purchased and they refunded 5 bottles, not the 100% guarantee that they advertise. I have contacted them via email several times but never a sincere response. In my opinion, this is just another marketing scam at its finest! Please be aware and do your research before buying this product.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Feb 19, 2020

    Not sure about this product yet!

    I have been taking this product for 20 days now and I do not see or feel any different. I take 2 pills when I get up and 2 pills when I go to bed and BM's are ok at best, I was definitely expecting better. Also, it seems confusing on how to take them, some say 2 pills a day some say before meals, etc. I will keep on trying and see what happens in the next few weeks.

    • Feb 20, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Gideon, thank you for giving Bio Complete 3 a try and for sharing your feedback. Most users report feeling noticeably smoother digestion, less cravings, along with an increase in energy, vitality, and muscle strength on their first day of use…usually within the first few hours. However, the most dramatic results were reported after consistent use over the course of 4 weeks and beyond so I encourage continuing taking the product, with your physician's approval. In regards to recommended use, Simply take two small capsules twice per day, preferably before a meal. Bio Complete 3 has been formulated to be ultra-fast absorbing - so it can go right to work safeguarding your gut - resulting in a boost in energy and health you can truly feel. If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to help!

    (read moreread less...)

  • Taking the stuff

    • By James E.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Apr 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm finding that it has taken me a bit more than 2 weeks for it to work, but now I'm finding that it is working.

    I'm 66 and I developed Rheumatoid Arthritis when I was 57, I was basically disabled. I didn't know until last year that it was lectins that had destroyed my health because I stopped eating Night Shade family vegetables and my problem started to get better.

    Then when I came across a YouTube video of Dr. Gundry talking about lectins did I look at it from that perspective.

    When I was 19, I was dying because of lectins. I then decided to do things to stop it. A doctor had sent me to a lab to get my blood tested and the doctor said I was the sickest person he had ever seen.

    I then did megavitamins, then raw juices using a Norwalk juice press, and then I went to Shelton's Health School in San Antonio, Texas and fasted for 22 days. That saved my life, but did not stop the problems totally.

    Since then I have done many things, including taking EDTA along with minerals to take the heavy metals out of my body and brain. I've taken Serrapeptase to clear out my arteries because they were clogged and I was in danger of having a heart attack and that worked with the products from Good Health USA.

    Then I have used Rife equipment too. I have used the Spooky 2 Spooky Central with gas tubes to also help.

    There are so many health options that are not being used.

    For instance, taking nano colloidal silver and then using a simple square wave generator about 1/2 hour later, I put the probes over my kidneys and turned the dial until my kidneys started to vibrate. A few hours later I urinated out brown dissolved crystals.

    I also did the same thing for Hep. B because I knew my liver was hurting, but did not know why. A few years later I had a Hepatitis test for Hepatitis A, B, and C and was informed that I HAD had Hepatitis B and had the anti-bodies so I did not need a shot to go to India for it.

    So, there are many very inexpensive solutions.

    Another example is that I have done liver flushes, similar to what Hulda Clark has in her books "The Cure For All Diseases". You need to use Phosfood from Standard Process. You are supposed to take 30 drops 3 times a day in apple juice and then chase it with more apple juice so that it does not etch the enamel off the teeth.

    I knew someone who had a clogged gallbladder and was supposed to have it removed.

    I told this person that taking 90 drops a day might do that trick because it transforms the liver (gallbladder) stones from a hard stone into wet bread-like texture.

    So on the 2nd day, the golf-ball-sized stones started to pop out in his stool. So, gallbladder removal is a total waste.

    Like I say, there are probably many very inexpensive solutions to many health problems, like Rick Simpson Oil (cannabis) of 25% THC and 25% CBD that will attack cancer. But no, the extremely profitable cancer industry won't be hearing any of this.

    Also, healing cavitation teeth is easy. Fomented cod liver oil along with, get this, grass-fed (no lectin) milk, cheese, and butter will fill in teeth. Well, there goes the Rockefeller created dentists.

    The Rockefellers created the ADA and AMA. There were 103 Naturopathic schools of healing and the Rockefeller's own doctors were Naturopathic. The bought up 100 of them and closed them.

    In the late 1800's they sold motor oil mixed with a laxative as a cancer cure and charged 2 months' pay of $25.

    They also financed the present education system with Bill Gates's ancestor, Fredrick T Gates in 1903. John D Rockefeller stated, "I want a nation of good workers, not a nation of good thinkers".

    They also helped start the Federal Reserve, a private bank to make slaves out of the American worker.

    They also created the chemical fertilizer industry, using petroleum to make Nitrogen for the leaves, Potassium for the fruits and Phosphorous for the roots and trunk. Where are the trace minerals, micronutrients, and vitamins? A great way to create future patients for the medical industry.

    Time to look outside the box like you have done and don't stop. As I have just shown, there are very inexpensive ways to heal people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Solve my constipation problem

    • By Wangee T.,
    • The Villages, FL,
    • Apr 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am on a keto diet to reduce my AIC and one of the side effects is constipation. Despite of increasing fiber intake and water I still suffer from it.

    A few days after taking the Bio Complete 3, the constipation was getting better. And after 2 weeks, I am able to have a normal bowel movement.

    I am very thankful for the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Gundry MD Bio Complete 3!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Gundry MD Bio Complete 3