Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Gundry MD Olive Oil

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Gundry MD Olive Oil

Overall Rating

4.2

44 Customer Reviews

Summary

Boasting 30 times more polyphenols than the average olive oil, Gundry MD Olive Oil claims to provide a variety of health benefits including eased joint pain and boosted immune system. Does it work?

Write a Review

Gundry MD Olive Oil Review: Does It Provide Health Benefits?

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Mar 24, 2020

Medically Reviewed by Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

What Is Gundry MD Olive Oil?

Gundry MD Olive Oil is an olive oil packed with 30 times the normal amount of a plant-based ingredient that the company claims can help with blood flow, joints, muscles, focus, skin, and your immune system.

The olives the company uses for its olive oil come from the Moroccan desert. Gundry MD says this challenging environment causes the olive trees to produce more health “polyphenols,” a chemical that has a myriad of purported health benefits.

In our review of Gundry MD Olive Oil, we will present the facts to help determine whether this product can produce the promised benefits.

How to Use Gundry MD Olive Oil

Unlike supplements, this product doesn’t have any specific rules for how to take it. Treat it the same way you would any type of olive oil you’d buy from your local grocery store.

This particular type of olive oil is, according to the back label, organic extra virgin olive oil. It comes in 8 oz. bottles (17 tablespoons), an important bit of information we’ll cover in the pricing section.

The “extra virgin” designation is important because that means the olive oil hasn’t been mixed with other oils and maintains the nutritional benefits present in the olives it uses.

Gundry’s website suggests drinking a shot of it each day, sprinkling some over the top of your food, make salad dressing and/or pesto with it or pour some into a smoothie.

Gundry MD Olive Oil’s Polyphenols: What Do They Do?

As we mentioned in the introduction to our review, the big selling point for this olive oil is the fact that Gundry MD claims the oil has 30 times the level of polyphenols you’d find in a bottle of conventional olive oil.

Polyphenols are the micronutrient in plants that give them their color and protect them from harm. When consumed, they are thought to offer protection against free radicals, molecules associated with cancer.

We talked with customer service to find out the polyphenol concentration level (measured in milligrams per kilogram) and discovered it is 1,269 milligrams per kilogram. This level of polyphenols is very high compared to European standards, which say an olive oil can claim to be “healthy” if it has more than 250 mg/kg.

Olive oil site The Greek Olive Estate notes that, on average, extra virgin olive oils contain between 100 and 250 mg of polyphenols per kilogram.

This boost in polyphenols provides the following benefits, the Gundry MD website says:

  • Promote healthy arteries and great blood flow
  • Support crystal-clear concentration
  • Soothe worn-down joints and tired muscles
  • Make skin feel softer and more hydrated
  • Give your immune system a boost

What Science Says About Polyphenols and Olive Oil

Based on the research we did leading up to this review, we think that Gundry’s claims about the benefits of polyphenols are somewhat accurate.

For example, multiple studies are hailing the antioxidant properties of polyphenols. This means that polyphenols help keep your cells strong so that they don’t break down (oxidize) over time.

One study done in 2015 at the University of Florence said that polyphenols help maintain cell health and may provide an added defense to those cells. Also, the study’s author found that polyphenols found in olives are better at absorbing into the body than polyphenols from other sources.

Another study found that taking 3,000 mg of olive extract per day helped participants experience lower pain levels from rheumatoid arthritis and general inflammation.

In a general sense, olive oil has long been heralded as a heart-healthy fat that can replace butter and margarine.

The key behind olive oil’s health benefits may be related to its monounsaturated fatty acids (MUFA’s) content. MUFA’s may lower your heart disease risk and could help with insulin and blood sugar control.

Keep in mind, though, that it’s best to use olive oil in moderation because it’s calorie-dense. Most studies seem to point to an association between olive oil-rich diets and weight loss, however.

Another well-known benefit of olive oil is that it can help lower your cholesterol, which is why it is touted as heart-healthy.

Based on this information, we believe that Gundry MD Olive Oil can follow through on its claims to promote healthy arteries (lower LDL reduces plaque buildup in veins) and ease joint pain.

Gundry MD’s claims that olive oil can help your skin is based on a study in which researchers gave surveys to Greek, Australian, and Swedish subjects asking them what their eating habits were.

While not the soundest methodology for research, the study found that those who ate more vegetables, legumes, and olive oil had better skin.

In general, we think that this product has the potential to provide multiple health benefits associated with olive oil in general. As for the effects of the boosted polyphenol content, we think research indicates there are some benefits.

However, exactly how present those benefits are and how much olive oil you have to consume to get those benefits is not clear.

Pricing and Return Policy

Every bottle of Gundry MD Olive Oil is about a quarter of a liter. These bottles cost $39.95 plus $4.95 for shipping. You can eliminate shipping costs if you buy three bottles for $107.85 or six bottles for $203.70.

You have 90 days from the date of purchase to do a return. You’ll need to call Gundry MD at (800)852-0477 to start the return. You will be responsible for return shipping charges.

IN our opinion, the $39.95 price tag for a single bottle of Gundry MD Olive Oil is high, considering you’re paying around $2.35 per tablespoon.

How Gundry MD Olive Oil Compares to Other High-Polyphenol Olive Oils

Finding high-polyphenol olive oil is tough. We were able to find a 16.9-ounce bottle of extra virgin olive oil from LifeExtension that claimed to have more than 800 milligrams of polyphenols per kilogram of olive oil.

This is a 30% reduction in concentration compared to Gundry MD Olive Oil is significant. However, so is the price and size difference.

A 16.9-ounce bottle of LifeExtension olive oil is $24.75. The weight to cost ratio is around $1.45 per oz. The same ratio for Gundry MD Olive Oil is $4.70 per oz.

It’s hard for us to say conclusively if the higher polyphenol concentration in Gundry MD Olive Oil is worth paying an extra $3.25 per ounce. What we do know is that Gundry MD’s price could be prohibitive even if you do think the extra polyphenols will make a difference.

The Bottom Line

Gundry MD Olive Oil has one significant advantage over average olive oil: polyphenol concentration.

Polyphenol concentration is the product’s clear strength, along with the fact that even average olive oil has health benefits unrelated to polyphenols.

So, not only are you getting a big boost of a known antioxidant, you’re getting all the other benefits that come with olive oil.

Because most olive oil provides a wealth of health benefits, we are hesitant to recommend Gundry MD’s product because it’s hard to measure the added benefits beyond other extra virgin olive oil that is significantly cheaper.

For example, a 67.62-ounce bottle of Kirkland Signature Extra Virgin Olive Oil is $24.40 on Amazon.com. For about 60% of the price of Gundry MD Olive Oil, you get around eight times more olive oil. For consumers on a tighter budget, Kirkland Signature’s olive oil—and even LifeExtension’s olive oil—are more affordable

Lastly, be sure to have a conversation with your physician if you are experiencing joint pain or some of the other symptoms this product claims to benefit. While Gundry MD Olive Oil is likely safe for use, your symptoms may be caused by an underlying condition that should be medically managed.

Customer Reviews

4.2 Stars out of 44 Reviews
5 Star:65% 4 Star:11% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:9%
77% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Gundry MD Olive Oil:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 28, 2021

Not the best taste

By Rick S., Huntington Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

I didn’t care for the taste and can’t verify health benefits, but they were very professional and sincere when I discussed it with them. Just not sure it’s right for me.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service was very helpful

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 28, 2021

Excellent for symptoms of high blood pressure

By Carol C., Chester, VA, Verified Reviewer

My blood pressures were running about 160-175/100-110 consistently. I believe it was stress that was adding to the fact that I was already dealing with hypertension. I started taking a tablespoon of Dr. Gundry olive oil once a day. After about 2-3 months I started to notice that my BP readings were going down, and now they run about 140/70. It is an awesome product and I will forever take it.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Promptness in getting the product

Awesome taste

Love the benefits

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 11, 2021

High priced. Same product for much less.

By Shari K., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I fell for his very long informational video! I ordered 3 of the olive oils, like a dummy. I have learned a lesson, ALWAYS research any product you are considering buying. I found a high polyphenol organic olive oil on Amazon, called Zeytin, for $21 and with free shipping. You can also be on a monthly program. I paid $99 (had to pay for shipping too) on Dr. Gundry's site.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Video

Making money off of everyone, could have charged less

Company Response from Gundry MD

May 21, 2021

Hello Shari. My name is Aria, I am with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with our prices. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible while using only the highest quality of ingredients to ensure the best product for our customers. When price reductions are possible, we are happy to pass those savings along to our customers. We highly recommend signing up for our email newsletters or subscribing to our text club for exclusive offers and discounts. You’ll be instantly notified! You can learn more and sign up on our website at gundrymd.com. If you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out. My email is aria@gundrymd.com. Have a nice day.

Posted on May 4, 2021

This stuff had better have noticeable health benefits because it tastes like crap

By Robert S. , Mozambique

Horrible tasting. Like as bad as cod liver oil. But I will stick with it to see if I can derive any noticeable health benefits from it.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Worst tasting EVOO I have ever had

Company Response from Gundry MD

May 7, 2021

Hello Robert. My name is Aria, I am with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying the flavor of our Polyphenol-Rich Olive Oil. You may notice that our oil tastes pretty different from other olive oils on the market. It’s got a slightly bitter, more robust flavor that takes some getting used to. But rest assured - this peppery flavor is a good thing. All Gundry MD purchases are backed by our 90-day money-back guarantee. If our olive oil doesn't suit your taste buds, we'd be happy to offer you a refund. If you have any questions, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Have a nice day.

Posted on Apr 14, 2021

Amazing product and proven benefits!

By Michael S., Palm Harbor, FL, Verified Reviewer

Like most people, I thought the price was a bit high at first, but was struggling with high cholesterol and triglycerides and had been wanting to make some changes to my diet so I decided to give it a try. I fell in love with the taste from the very beginning and began taking a tablespoon every morning. Fast forward 9 months - my cholesterol and triglycerides have dropped considerably, and my doctor's advice is to keep up with what I'm doing! Yes, this olive oil is a bit expensive, but I've always believed that money spent on good health is never money wasted. Just ordered 18 bottles!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Excellent customer service

Excellent return/refund policy

Products seem to be well researched

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2021

Terrible taste

By Suzanne Y., Santa Barbara, CA, Verified Reviewer

Hopefully the olive oil he sells is as healthy as he says it is because it’s very expensive and the taste is disgusting. It is not enjoyable to taste. I would not put it on my food. I take little spoons of it and I also use it on my legs face and arms. Hopefully it’s really doing me some good internally. And I hope it’s not rancid. At the bottom of this page, they require that you say if you would recommend it to a friend or not. I tell people about Gundry's claims about how wonderful it is for us, but I warn them of the cost and the terrible taste. If it’s really as good for you as they say it is, then I would want people I tell about it to come to their own conclusion. And full disclosure...I have ordered it twice. Only because like your mama says, you have to eat your spinach or vegetables or whatever they say is important to your health. I hope Dr. Gundry really knows what he’s doing.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Apr 8, 2021

Hello Suzanne. My name is Aria, I am with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Polyphenol-Rich Olive Oil. I’m sorry you aren’t enjoying the taste of our product. Other customers in similar situations have had success by blending it in a smoothie or making a salad dressing with it. Our Olive Oil is extra virgin, cold-pressed, and harvested from one grove in Morocco. It contains 30x more polyphenols than your average grocery store brand and since it is extremely rare to find such a high-quality olive oil in the general market, it requires a higher quality and quantity of olives to produce. We highly recommend signing up for our email newsletters for exclusive offers and discounts. You’ll be instantly notified! You can learn more and sign up on our website at https://gundrymd.com/. If you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to email me at aria@gundrymd.com. I would be happy to assist you.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2021

Oil has an awful smell

By Mary M. , Ilwaco, WA

I love good olive oil but this oil tastes terrible and smells just as bad. Smells like decay. I have had amazing tasting olive oil in Italy and this is not even close! I had to throw my dinner out because the putrid smell from the oil made me lose my appetite. Very disappointed.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Mar 22, 2021

Hi Mary, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. I'm so sorry to hear that our Olive Oil was not what you were expecting! While we have many customers who love our Olive Oil, we understand that everyone's palette is different. Our Olive Oil can be taken straight or mixed into salad dressings, yogurt, drizzled over cooked vegetables and protein, or added to blended beverages. If neither of these options work for you, I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund! Just e-mail me at Aria@Gundrymd.com and I can begin that process right away. Thank you!

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2021

Very expensive

By Trisha V., East Wenatchee, WA, Verified Reviewer

I just received my Gundry MD Olive Oil. Tastes great. Nutty and actually tastes like olives. I am pleasantly surprised.

My husband loves it too.

We are on a fixed income and this is not something we can continue to afford but if we could we would keep it up in a heartbeat.

We bought 6 bottles which is only a little more than a three-month supply for one person. One and half months for two persons. The expense is more than we can justify.

Bring the price down and we will be lifelong supporters.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 1, 2021

Absolutely love it!

By Anastasia Y., San Clemente, CA, Verified Reviewer

I’m 100% Greek and olive oil has been a main staple in our home since the day I was born. I believe in the health benefits it has to offer - no question. But Dr. Gundry has taken this to a new level. This olive oil tastes absolutely delicious. It’s better than the olive oils I was raised on...that came straight from my father’s olive garden! I can’t get enough of the amazing flavor and I’ve noticed a massive difference not only in how I look but how I feel as well. I would recommend this product to everyone I know and care about. Truly amazing!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dr. Gundry’s years of research

Fast, easy ordering

Consistent product

It’s a little expensive (but still worth it)

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2021

Too expensive

By Condy S., California, Verified Reviewer

Since they said it was only a little better than average EVOO, I will take what I just bought and mix it with another kind to stretch it a little, way too expensive for me!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

How fast they deliver

Price

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Four stars for taste, but...

By Dee R., Winter Park, FL, Verified Reviewer

I am an EVOO snob, or thought I was. Since I am dedicated to making the best decisions for my health to get me to at least my century mark (in 20 years), I would have loved to add Gundry's tasty, healthy product to my daily regime. However, its price is prohibitive for most people (and smacks of greed), so I am going to be forced to search for the next-best version.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 44

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.