About Naja Lingerie

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 27, 2015

The San Francisco-based Naja Lingerie offers up cheeky and glam knickers, bras and swimwear in whimsical prints and fashionable cuts — all at affordable prices.

You may have already heard of Naja Lingerie, as they’ve been recently garnishing a lot of press for their Underwear For Hope campaign. Partnering with the Golondrinas Foundation in Colombia, Naja promises to educate and empower single or head of household mothers in some of the poorest areas around the globe.

Founder Catalina Girald started Naja Lingerie out of dissatisfaction with the industry standard of over-sexualizing lingerie instead of focusing on the wearer’s enjoyment. Before Naja, Girald earned an MBA from Stanford and her Juris Doctorate at Boston College Law. She states that, as a successful professional, it was impossible to identify with many big-name lingerie brands and hopes Naja Lingerie can disrupt the industry with their female-focused products.

Naja Lingerie Products & Features

The online-only shop has three categories of products: bras, knickers and swim:

Knickers

Their panty category offers the widest selection and most fun. Cheeky boyshorts printed with an indelicately placed koala or a juicy burger run $18 per pair. Naja Lingerie’s cotton underwear is made from hand-harvested Peruvian Pima cotton and even feature an inspirational quote in the lining.

The lace options take themselves a little more seriously, with high-fashion cuts that you might find at La Perla. Standard lace full-bottom briefs, high-waisted vintage styles and several cuts of thongs are all available in beautiful patterns or jewel tones. These run anywhere from $15-28, and are made from nylon lace instead of itchy polyester.

Bras

Designed with an unexpected attention to detail, Naja Lingerie bras feature extras like memory foam cups, interior bra prints and ultrasonic-sealed bra straps. The majority of their bras are under $65 (there is a fancily printed bustier for $110) and are offered in sizes 32B to 36DD.

Naja’s printed bras consist of a basic line and three groups including “The Secret Lives of Sparrows,” “One Night in Cashmere,” and “Miyoko Loves a Dragon.” The collections are characterized by surprising prints on the interior of all the bra cups. All of the fabrics from Naja’s capsule collections are exclusively designed for by a local San Francisco Tattoo artist and individually hand-printed.

Naja Lingerie’s lace bralettes are made with wide straps and some side boning. These come in pretty jewel tones and promise to provide comfortable support, even for women who generally require underwires.

Naja Lingerie also offers an Eco Friendly line, available June 2015. Sewn from a fabric made out of recycled plastic bottles (PET), the Eco Friendly bras feature sweat-wicking, antimicrobial properties and breathable memory foam cups.

Swim

Only four products are currently listed in Naja Lingerie’s swim section: a monokini and a one-piece, both available in two different prints, and both made from the same recycled plastic fabric.

Cute and slightly conservative, the swimsuits are all over $125 and are sized small through large.

Underwear For Hope

A percentage of every purchase goes towards supporting Naja Lingerie’s entrepreneurial sewing program. Women who complete the program are then employed to sew the lingerie wash bags, which Naja Lingerie includes with every purchase.

Additionally, Naja states that, “All panties are made in a factory solely owned by women who employ single mothers/female heads-of-household.”

What Customers Are Saying About Naja Lingerie

There’s plenty of info praising Naja Lingerie’s socially conscious purpose. Catalina Girald’s Silicon Valley connections and Kickstarter success have been effectively leveraged to bring Naja Lingerie into the spotlight.

However, there aren’t any available reviews from women who have actually worn Naja Lingerie. This could be because the brand is relatively new, or maybe ladies just aren’t as keen about going online and talking about their underwear.

It’s noteworthy that Girald was denied additional funding when she presented Naja Lingerie on NBC’s Shark Tank with, what the Shark’s considered, an unrealistic evaluation. The spot left some viewers assuming Naja Lingerie only appeared on the show for extra publicity.

Final Thoughts on Naja Lingerie

Naja Lingerie does offer affordably priced products with a whimsical appeal. Their claims of luxury-level details can’t be verified due to the lack of reviews, but the materials used infer a high-quality product.

The feel-good nature of Naja’s socially conscious mission is somewhat undercut by the understanding that women educated in the sewing program are only employed to make lingerie bags, not the entire product.

Whether or not their femme-focused quotes printed inside each panty really floats your boat is personal taste. However, for the money, Naja offers unique cuts, creative designs, and (hopefully) quality manufacturing.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Naja Lingerie:
  • 23 Customer Reviews
  • 30% Recommend This Company
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 30% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 65%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • My favorite lingerie brand by far

    • By EJ,
    • San Francisco,
    • Oct 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've now bought almost everything Naja carries, and I wasn't a person who cared much about lingerie before finding this brand. I love the prints, fit, and pricing. When I first ordered there was definitely a long shipping delay, but Naja kept me posted on when to expect my shipment. I've already washed my items (5 bras and probably 15 pairs of underwear) many times and they still look brand new. The quality for the pricing is really unbelievable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Most comfortable undies ever

    • By Karen,
    • Pittsburgh PA,
    • Oct 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I bought some of their lace undies, and they are absolutely the most comfortable undies I've ever worn! The bra I ordered is cute and fits well. I did not have the delivery problems noted by the other reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely Amazing

    Overall Experience:

    I absolutely love all their lingerie, the quality surpassed my expectations. It's extremely comfortable and very fashionable. I specially love all of their unlined bra's. I personally have never had any bad experiences with their customer service, they have always been very helpful and willing to work with me. I will definitely continue to purchase from them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best.

    • By Linda,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Dec 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the Bras and I must say that they are the best I have ever purchased. They are pricey but sure worth the price. I got them with a sale at 90% off, what a bargain, and so well packaged. Did I mention I ordered them and got them 2 days later?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very pleased!

    • By Isabella,
    • Chicago,
    • Jan 3, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered from Naja on the 14th of December, and just received my order yesterday on the 19th. I ordered two of the Adrianna bralettes in size medium because I am a 32DD (I usually need really tight bands though, because most 32 size are too big) and am surprised how well they fit! They are very comfortable and beautifully crafted. I noticed that a few of the reviews below mentioned a great delay in shipping. On the contrary, my experience has led me to believe that they have fixed the problem with the shipping delays. I got my order very quickly and with no problems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing!

    Overall Experience:

    I've been getting Naja emails for a long time and finally decided to order when they had a sale. I ordered two bras, one of which was out of stock and a glitch on the website still allowed me to purchase it. They were very prompt on letting me know and returning my money. They also gave me $15 off on my next order. The other bra I bought did take a little over two weeks, without a tracking number or updates, so I considered calling them but never ended up doing it because my bralette arrived.

    The quality really impressed me. It's definitely the nicest bra I've ever owned. I was so impressed that I pretty much immediately returned to spend the $15 off I'd received. I ended up spending $150 because I loved the patterns and products. What really made me want to buy from them is their ethics, though. It seems like this company is doing everything right and I'm happy to spend more money on a company that is actually trying to help the world. And in exchange for helping them, I get the best quality and most beautiful underwear? Sign me up!

    My second order did not disappoint. This time I got their low rise panties, two more bralettes, and some sports leggings. All of it is awesome and incredibly soft! I know I will buy from them again, but I should probably wait until I get my next paycheck.

    My only issue with Naja is that they don't have a place for reviews on their website. It makes buying from them seem like a gamble, which is probably why more people don't buy from them. They also need to give the customers tracking numbers for orders.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wonderful and fast

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a bra six months ago, and it wasn't quite what I thought it was, but now I wear that bra all the time! I bought two more that came within nine days of ordering them, and I live on a military base in South Korea! They are well made, well packaged and very cute. I love this company and what they stand for, and I appreciate all the details included in my order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not as advertised + bad customer service

    • By Roser,
    • Barcelona, Spain,
    • Nov 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a Sparrow bra and culotte. I was super excited because they look very pretty on the website and the reviewers there seemed to be really happy with them.

    However, when I opened the box, the first thing I noticed was an unexpected set of colors with very neony-pinkish tones. From their description and pictures on the website, I was expecting something way sober.

    "STYLE: ISABEL. Our most comfortable everyday wired demi bra uses our signature super soft memory foam cups. The strapless cut is flattering for nearly every breast shape. Cups provide just the right amount of coverage without adding volume. Finished with adjustable straps and a hook + eye closure at the back.

    PRINT: Lace sparrow tattoo print. Interior Print: lace rose tattoo. Original design by Tamiko Rast."

    Let me be clear: The "lace rose tattoo print" lining was changed for a very ugly combination of neon pink and yellow Mexican skulls. These were clearly colors that do not match the exterior of the bra.

    Had I been told that this changes would be made beforehand, I might have bought it anyway, but receiving it without any prior notice left me very unsatisfied. All the excitement about wearing this and collaborating with a company like this were gone once I opened the box.

    I asked about how to get a refund on this set, and nobody replied. However, they were very keen on posting cutesy pictures and empowering posts, but not on helping customers. Until I complained about it on facebook, no one helped.

    I may buy other products from them in the future, since I find both the ethics of the company and the products to be interesting. However, I would really appreciate it if something could be done about their inability to talk to their customers or to give proper explanations when asked.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wanted to love them

    • By Kim Anderson,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I just got the final piece of my order placed on 6/11/15, 8 weeks ago! When I placed my order, it wasn't clear that it was on "pre-order" and the estimated ship dates were 6/13 and 6/30. Today is 8/7 and I just got the final piece. My order total was $128.

    When I wrote to them asking about where my stuff was, they said there was a problem with printing the fabric, that they're a small, single source company, helping women, etc. and that they'd include "a few gifts" for my patience. I do support good causes and so I said I would wait, but that I didn't want a thong (they give them away as promos) since I found them uncomfortable.

    In the meantime, I did some research about them. Yes, they were on Shark Tank, but no one backed them since the owner was a bit delusional on what the company was worth. I can't find any other review sites except this one and I feel I should warn other women who may not want to essentially loan the company money for a couple months.

    I also learned on Shark Tank that they have a really high margin - good for them! So I thought I might get a couple of nice panties gratis since it doesn't cost them that much to make them.

    They have nice products and their marketing is top notch, but they simply can't produce their product in a timely manner.

    Oh, any my "few gifts" as appreciation for my patience? A thong that I didn't want. I'd mail it right back but I don't want to pay for postage.

    Sorry Naja, I wanted to love you so much...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting.

    • By Carol,
    • Atlanta,
    • Aug 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order with Naja last May, was charged immediately, but after several months and a few emails notifying me of problems with customs, I am still waiting for my items to arrive. I feel like I've given Naja a free interest loan. Perhaps a scam?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Almost a year.

    • By Meg,
    • Watertown NY,
    • Aug 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Let me put it this way - if you want your products within a reasonable time frame and you don't want to be tricked into putting money down on items you won't see for a VERY very long time, then don't shop here. My original purchase date was November 2014. It's now August and I have a thong. First of all I bought these items together, and had no idea they were pre-order. I wanted these for Valentines day. One would THINK that is enough time to make and send three items - apparently not. I received my thong (which YES it's beautiful and YES I love it) but I got it on February 10. When I kept pushing about the rest of my purchase I was apologized too and told I would get store credit if I wanted to order something else. My original purchase covered 3 items because of a promo code. They didn't honor that code for my "second" purchase. I thought I would be simple and order JUST a bra, once again - pre-order. I ordered this bra in APRIL. It's now the middle of August and I've received an email telling me my delivery date (HA!) was pushed back to August 16th. It's the 20th, and I haven't even gotten an email telling me when I MIGHT get my order. Never again - never ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Naja Lingerie!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Naja Lingerie