About Naja Lingerie

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 27, 2015

The San Francisco-based Naja Lingerie offers up cheeky and glam knickers, bras and swimwear in whimsical prints and fashionable cuts — all at affordable prices.

You may have already heard of Naja Lingerie, as they’ve been recently garnishing a lot of press for their Underwear For Hope campaign. Partnering with the Golondrinas Foundation in Colombia, Naja promises to educate and empower single or head of household mothers in some of the poorest areas around the globe.

Founder Catalina Girald started Naja Lingerie out of dissatisfaction with the industry standard of over-sexualizing lingerie instead of focusing on the wearer’s enjoyment. Before Naja, Girald earned an MBA from Stanford and her Juris Doctorate at Boston College Law. She states that, as a successful professional, it was impossible to identify with many big-name lingerie brands and hopes Naja Lingerie can disrupt the industry with their female-focused products.

Naja Lingerie Products & Features

The online-only shop has three categories of products: bras, knickers and swim:

Knickers

Their panty category offers the widest selection and most fun. Cheeky boyshorts printed with an indelicately placed koala or a juicy burger run $18 per pair. Naja Lingerie’s cotton underwear is made from hand-harvested Peruvian Pima cotton and even feature an inspirational quote in the lining.

The lace options take themselves a little more seriously, with high-fashion cuts that you might find at La Perla. Standard lace full-bottom briefs, high-waisted vintage styles and several cuts of thongs are all available in beautiful patterns or jewel tones. These run anywhere from $15-28, and are made from nylon lace instead of itchy polyester.

Bras

Designed with an unexpected attention to detail, Naja Lingerie bras feature extras like memory foam cups, interior bra prints and ultrasonic-sealed bra straps. The majority of their bras are under $65 (there is a fancily printed bustier for $110) and are offered in sizes 32B to 36DD.

Naja’s printed bras consist of a basic line and three groups including “The Secret Lives of Sparrows,” “One Night in Cashmere,” and “Miyoko Loves a Dragon.” The collections are characterized by surprising prints on the interior of all the bra cups. All of the fabrics from Naja’s capsule collections are exclusively designed for by a local San Francisco Tattoo artist and individually hand-printed.

Naja Lingerie’s lace bralettes are made with wide straps and some side boning. These come in pretty jewel tones and promise to provide comfortable support, even for women who generally require underwires.

Naja Lingerie also offers an Eco Friendly line, available June 2015. Sewn from a fabric made out of recycled plastic bottles (PET), the Eco Friendly bras feature sweat-wicking, antimicrobial properties and breathable memory foam cups.

Swim

Only four products are currently listed in Naja Lingerie’s swim section: a monokini and a one-piece, both available in two different prints, and both made from the same recycled plastic fabric.

Cute and slightly conservative, the swimsuits are all over $125 and are sized small through large.

Underwear For Hope

A percentage of every purchase goes towards supporting Naja Lingerie’s entrepreneurial sewing program. Women who complete the program are then employed to sew the lingerie wash bags, which Naja Lingerie includes with every purchase.

Additionally, Naja states that, “All panties are made in a factory solely owned by women who employ single mothers/female heads-of-household.”

What Customers Are Saying About Naja Lingerie

There’s plenty of info praising Naja Lingerie’s socially conscious purpose. Catalina Girald’s Silicon Valley connections and Kickstarter success have been effectively leveraged to bring Naja Lingerie into the spotlight.

However, there aren’t any available reviews from women who have actually worn Naja Lingerie. This could be because the brand is relatively new, or maybe ladies just aren’t as keen about going online and talking about their underwear.

It’s noteworthy that Girald was denied additional funding when she presented Naja Lingerie on NBC’s Shark Tank with, what the Shark’s considered, an unrealistic evaluation. The spot left some viewers assuming Naja Lingerie only appeared on the show for extra publicity.

Final Thoughts on Naja Lingerie

Naja Lingerie does offer affordably priced products with a whimsical appeal. Their claims of luxury-level details can’t be verified due to the lack of reviews, but the materials used infer a high-quality product.

The feel-good nature of Naja’s socially conscious mission is somewhat undercut by the understanding that women educated in the sewing program are only employed to make lingerie bags, not the entire product.

Whether or not their femme-focused quotes printed inside each panty really floats your boat is personal taste. However, for the money, Naja offers unique cuts, creative designs, and (hopefully) quality manufacturing.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Naja Lingerie:
  • 23 Customer Reviews
  • 30% Recommend This Company
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 30% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 65%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Wanted to love them

    • By Kim Anderson,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    I just got the final piece of my order placed on 6/11/15, 8 weeks ago! When I placed my order, it wasn't clear that it was on "pre-order" and the estimated ship dates were 6/13 and 6/30. Today is 8/7 and I just got the final piece. My order total was $128.

    When I wrote to them asking about where my stuff was, they said there was a problem with printing the fabric, that they're a small, single source company, helping women, etc. and that they'd include "a few gifts" for my patience. I do support good causes and so I said I would wait, but that I didn't want a thong (they give them away as promos) since I found them uncomfortable.

    In the meantime, I did some research about them. Yes, they were on Shark Tank, but no one backed them since the owner was a bit delusional on what the company was worth. I can't find any other review sites except this one and I feel I should warn other women who may not want to essentially loan the company money for a couple months.

    I also learned on Shark Tank that they have a really high margin - good for them! So I thought I might get a couple of nice panties gratis since it doesn't cost them that much to make them.

    They have nice products and their marketing is top notch, but they simply can't produce their product in a timely manner.

    Oh, any my "few gifts" as appreciation for my patience? A thong that I didn't want. I'd mail it right back but I don't want to pay for postage.

    Sorry Naja, I wanted to love you so much...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still waiting.

    • By Carol,
    • Atlanta,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    I placed an order with Naja last May, was charged immediately, but after several months and a few emails notifying me of problems with customs, I am still waiting for my items to arrive. I feel like I've given Naja a free interest loan. Perhaps a scam?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Almost a year.

    • By Meg,
    • Watertown NY,
    • Aug 26, 2015

    Let me put it this way - if you want your products within a reasonable time frame and you don't want to be tricked into putting money down on items you won't see for a VERY very long time, then don't shop here. My original purchase date was November 2014. It's now August and I have a thong. First of all I bought these items together, and had no idea they were pre-order. I wanted these for Valentines day. One would THINK that is enough time to make and send three items - apparently not. I received my thong (which YES it's beautiful and YES I love it) but I got it on February 10. When I kept pushing about the rest of my purchase I was apologized too and told I would get store credit if I wanted to order something else. My original purchase covered 3 items because of a promo code. They didn't honor that code for my "second" purchase. I thought I would be simple and order JUST a bra, once again - pre-order. I ordered this bra in APRIL. It's now the middle of August and I've received an email telling me my delivery date (HA!) was pushed back to August 16th. It's the 20th, and I haven't even gotten an email telling me when I MIGHT get my order. Never again - never ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay Away!

    • By Ivette,
    • New York,
    • Sep 1, 2015

    I placed my order seven months ago. First of all, when I was purchasing these, the website didn't specify the items were "pre-order." I learned about this only after I received the purchase confirmation.

    Fast forward to July, I get a notification that there's been a delay in my order: "...we exported to South America on June 26th and it was only until last week Wednesday, July 22nd that it was released to our factory." They say I should get my items mid-August.

    Then, fast forward to August I get another email saying "Our production team in Colombia has advised they need two more weeks in order to beautifully craft the bustiers to meet our high standards and ship to the US...The delivery date has been pushed back to the week of September 8th"

    Stay away from this company. If their production time is so backlogged, they shouldn't have charged me for the items until they were ready to be shipped, just like a lot of reputable online stores do.

    Ridiculous. And I would NEVER recommend this to a friend, for these prices, I'd have better treated myself to some Perla lingerie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So disappointed

    • By Annie,
    • Bethlehem PA ,
    • Feb 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited about the gorgeous looking bra and matching thong I found on Naja. I placed the order (over $150), and received one pair of knickers (a $20 value) in the mail. The package was addressed to me but had someone else's order slip inside. I understand mistakes happen, but NOBODY from the company has responded to my emails, and I can't find a phone number to call. Unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Are the people there?

    • By Claudia,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved how the bra and panty set looked and ordered one, even though it was kind of pricey. I wanted to take it this weekend on a romantic vacation. I ordered it 3.5 weeks ago and it has yet to ship. I tried the chat feature to get a status update, but no one was chatting on the other side. I emailed them yesterday morning, and no one responded. I emailed them this morning and still not response. Maybe it's a fluke, but, I think someone should have gotten back to me by now. I think the pictures are pretty, but, their customer service is bad. I'm going to try to get my money back, even though I would have spent it on a cute set, it's not worth my time and the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Regret the purchase

    • By Deanna,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Usual delay but they said it was because they want to do a "quality job". When I got the order, some bras were too small and one was too big. I went up 1 size in panties just to be safe and they still are too small and just not a good cut. I sent 3 emails about returns and in the third one I told them I was going to do a charge back. Finally they responded, but I am very dubious that this is going to end well. We will see how it plays out and I will post.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Completely absent customer service

    • By AK,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My customer experience with Naja has been entirely unsatisfactory from the start. I signed up for their marketing emails both because I was interested in updates about the brand, but also because I was pleased that they offered a 10% off promo, which I intended to use right away as I was excited to place an order. While my marketing emails started coming in, I received no promo code. I had to contact customer service in several ways (including over social media) over several days before I finally got a response.

    Unfortunately, by that time, one of the two items that I had intended to order was out of stock. I responded to the previous email asking if it would be stocked again soon. I have never received a response to that email.

    When I finally did complete my order with another item -- one I didn't like as much and was also more expensive -- it turns out that they had had a warning message on their home page indicating that all orders were delayed while they moved to new facilities. Unfortunately, I completed my order from a still-open browser page fro my previous shopping -- which meant that I did not not enter their site through the home page and therefore did not see any notice about shipping delays. This should have been an unmissable pop-up warning during the order completion process, not a passive message on a page that a user isn't guaranteed to see. I only learned of it after emailing yet again to inquire after the status of an order for which I had been charged but received no shipping confirmation for.

    I have asked them to cancel my order as it will not be ready in time to give as a gift as intended. I have still received no response to this request after more than one full business day. One of the items I ordered is final sale and cannot be returned, so if they don't honor my cancelation due to their extreme lateness and lack of sufficient communication, I will be stuck with an item I have no use for as I'm forced to find another gift from a brand that can actually deliver in time for my gifting deadline this weekend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service ever

    I was pretty excited when I found out about Naja. It seemed like a company whose ethics I could really approve of (a rarity in the world of lingerie). I decided I wanted to buy one of their bras as a bachelorette party gift for my best friend.

    Fortunately, I glanced over their Facebook page before ordering and noticed multiple complaints about slow shipping times and lack of company response to requests for info. So I sent the company an email asking about shipping times. I also asked about multiple pricing discrepancies on their website. (Which should have been a warning sign, but I was trying to give them the benefit of the doubt.)

    I got no response -- NONE -- despite the fact that I was a potential customer. And at least one of their customer service reps/social media managers was online, because of... guess what? They deleted all the posts from the person on Facebook who was complaining that they were unresponsive. That's right. They didn't publicly respond. Instead, they deleted the evidence. And they never responded to my email at all. Even though it was time-sensitive. I ended up having to go with a different company instead.

    Reading the complaints here, it seems this is a pattern. And I have trouble believing in the ethics of any company which treats its customers so poorly. (After all, if this is how they treat the people who PAY them, I have to wonder how altruistic they really are to the people who they employ.)

    Bottom line: Pretty as some of Naja's stuff is, they've lost me as a potential customer. Not a company I ever want to deal with again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sale items cannot be returned

    • By Mindy Cooper,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered 3 bralettes but they were too small. I wanted to exchange them for a larger size but they would not accept returns on sale items. I'm disappointed because I was excited to buy from a company that cared for the environment. But Naja doesn't care about their customers. I will not buy from this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service and business ethics

    I don't ever post reviews. As a matter of fact, this is my first one to date, but I am absolutely appalled at Naja and their poor customer service as well as their ethics in general.

    I returned two leggings and two sports bras within the 15-day policy and they accused me of wearing them. The tags were attached, and I have documented that I requested to return within one to two days of receiving their items. I for sure didn't try one of the items on because it was a duplicate order (I kept one). I even kept three of their items, which makes me even more appalled at the fact that they are trying to pull this. When I requested a phone number to speak with one of their supervisors, they said that "they provide phone service."

    I will never be using this company again. I can't even enjoy the items that I did keep because I am so utterly disgusted with the way that this company does business. I have never in my life had an experience like this with a clothing company. I feel so violated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Naja Lingerie!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Naja Lingerie