Noom Diet Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Noom Diet

Overall Rating

4.0

1315 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Noom is an app-based personalized weight loss program that wants to permanently change your relationship to food. Thousands have used Noom to successfully lose weight, but the level of support you’ll get from the Noom online community can vary considerably.

Pros

  • Proven effective as a weightloss program for thousands of users
  • Makes it possible to track your daily food and fitness choices
  • Provides community support in a virtual setting

Cons

  • Included eating guide doesn’t suit all diet strategies
  • Online coaches and goal specialists can vary in quality
  • More expensive than many app-based weight loss plans

Customer Reviews

4.0 Stars out of 1315 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:18% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:15%
77% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Noom Diet:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Nov 30, 2018

Noom is NOT as advertised...long ways to go

By Anastasia B., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I was very excited to try Noom and ended up getting a subscription. I soon started to notice that the goals specialist and later group coach was not responsive and weeks would go by without a response. I understand they work 9-5, but getting ghosted by a "coach" for weeks? Not okay.

The articles at first were helpful but then started to get extremely repetitive and not in a "practice makes perfect" way, in a "we don’t know what else to write about for 4 months" kind of way. Not only that, but the app is riddled with spelling errors! As a marketer and writer, this probably bothers me more than it would others but, come on.

About two months in, I had an emergency and had to move states, so I had my curriculum reset. However, it took a week and then I was off in my group. Overall, I don’t think it’s ready for the masses, and they’re going to have to make a lot of improvements, especially to the awful food logging feature (and I mean AWFUL), before I would ever consider testing it out again. It’s a great concept but execution, and frankly, expertise, is a huge miss.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2018

Scam, no customer service

By Joanna S., Scottsdale, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Stay away! It only took me one day to learn that Noom is not worth my time and certainly not worth the money.

They say that you'll get personalized coaching, but it's not true. The "coach" is very robotic, uses canned phrases, and they don't respond to your messages in a timely fashion. The interface leaves a lot to be desired as well. It's a poorly designed app, and there is no accompanying website to update your food log or daily exercise. The food log does not have a very large database to choose from so your calorie count will be inaccurate. No screen to view progress.

Overall, not worth the $159 they want up front after the free trial. Free sites are just as good, if not better. Canceling is very difficult. I had to send a message to the coach, which was not responded to right away. Make sure you cancel on time or else they bill you and won't refund it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2018

I can't cancel my Noom membership

By Sylva S., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

When they acknowledged my membership, I responded to their email asking to discontinue my membership. They still charged me $99, and I can't get in to cancel or ask for a refund. They send you around in circles going from your iPhone to your computer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 27, 2018

Reversed diabetes with Noom

By Lanette K., Bismarck, MO, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for the 4-month basic package. I had been on every diet known to man with good results then gradual regaining after going off the diet. I knew I need to change the way I viewed food, not just follow rules about it and manipulate it. I was a good Noom user. I logged all my meals, my weight. I participated in the chat room group, accepted coach challenges and suggestions. I reversed diabetes type 2. My doctor stopped Metformin and Victoza when A1c went from 7.4 to 5.8. Toward the last few weeks, it did become repetitive, but a good reminder if you missed the lesson the first time. I learned a lot. I lost 40 lbs. I would recommend it to someone willing to do the work and not just follow a fad for quick weight loss.

Bottom line: Calories count. That simple.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 26, 2018

Upsell alert

By Brenda N., Bath, ME, Verified Reviewer

They lure you in without telling you the cost. You answer question after question. Psychologically you feel somewhat committed by then - you've wasted all this time. Then when you've given them your credit card info and they've taken a dollar out, they start to tell you the cost of everything - which is BIG. I canceled and wrote off the $1. But I consider luring and upselling to be dishonest. Yes, it's common business practice and considered to be legit, but I don't agree. We have slipped into allowing one small dishonest thing after another. And business will not stop the escalation until we stop buying. Don't buy this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2018

Not worth the price

By Nancy S., Lake Orion, MI, Verified Reviewer

Noom is pretty generic and not user friendly. I asked about one recipe on their recipes page and could not get an answer. They said I could google it. Why pay for a service that doesn't help you with the basics of their app? I would say stay away from this app, it is not worth the money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 22, 2018

Scam, do not use. They're steeling money!

By Kortney H., Wichita, KS, Verified Reviewer

I decided to start a trial with Noom. After just two weeks they charged me $149.00. I had not used the app and I tried to unsubscribe, but every link I tried to use did not work. Every time I clicked a link to unsubscribe, it took me to a sign in page as if I was a new member. It was running me in circles until I hit two weeks and was charged. After being charged I tried to complain to the company and explain my deal, they told me that their policy did not support refunds and that I was basically SOL.

This company is crap. Please do not use this app unless you enjoy throwing money out the window.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2018

Noom - do not buy or try!

By Lisa C., Charleston, IL, Verified Reviewer

I canceled this Noom lame app within 3 days of having the trial period and they charged me $99 anyhow. I email several times and got no response. You can't talk to anyone, there is no phone number to call. You have to wait for an email response. The app is not user-friendly.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2018

Love this app

By Angie L., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

I love this app. I have lost 12lbs and I'm just starting in week 5. My group coach I'm not crazy about, but my private coach and I chat all the time. My private coach is a man, not a robot or the girl in the picture. I will continue to use the app and have signed up several friends and family. I feel better, look better, and have discovered some of the terrible eating habits that I never realized were impacting my weight so much. I didn't sign up for any of the extras, just the regular Noom app. I paid $149 for the months, and I sent my code to friends and family with got a discount down to $104 for the three months. I read everything before signing up, and it was clearly explained on how this app works and functions.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 18, 2018

"Customized" is really "Cookie-Cutter"

By Kenneth L., Kent, WA, Verified Reviewer

When it comes to weight loss, any plan will work if you will. I decided to try the free trial based on the advertised custom plan. Text messages were bland and uninspiring. I guess I should have expected that.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 17, 2018

Not what I wanted

By Robyn G., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I think the Noom folks probably have the best intentions, and I don't want to bash them for their efforts, but this program did not work for me. I am a 60-year-old woman who had a hysterectomy and gained 10 pounds in a year. I had hoped Noom would help me shed that weight and more. I stayed on the prescribed calorie intake for 6 weeks - I did more steps than required too - zero weight loss. I didn't like being part of the group chat - that did nothing for me. And I don't have time to sit and read all the info that was required daily. I know 90% of that stuff.

My doctor asked me to stop the program because the calorie level was far too low. He switched me over to more of a Keto diet, and I have finally achieved the weight loss. No diet plan works for everyone, but I would think long and hard before I would suggest a friend try the Noom approach.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted
Showing 1211-1221 of 1315

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.