About Opendoor

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jan 4, 2018

With more than 11,000 satisfied customers, Opendoor helps you sell your home in a matter of days without ever putting it on the market. By purchasing your home from you, Opendoor aims to eliminate the uncertainty of a traditional home sale and provide you with complete control over your moving timeline. Their process takes three steps:

  1. Enter your home’s details to get an offer.
  2. Schedule a free home assessment.
  3. Close and get paid.

It certainly seems like Opendoor has dramatically simplified the home selling and buying process, as claimed on their website. But does that mean they’re the right option for you? We'll help you come to an informed conclusion, starting with how it works.

How Does the Opendoor Selling Process Work?

1. Requesting an Offer

To request an offer on your home, you’ll start by entering your address on Opendoor’s home page. Note: The company currently buys (and sells) homes in the Phoenix, AZ, Dallas-Fort Worth, TX, Las Vegas, NV, Atlanta, GA, Raleigh-Durham, NC, and Orlando, FL metropolitan areas, although they’re looking to expand into additional markets.

From there, you’ll input different details about your home (e.g., number of beds/baths, square footage, the condition of kitchen/baths/backyard, renovations, etc.), which shouldn’t take more than a few minutes.

Opendoor's team of real estate experts will then review comparable home sales in your area, market data, and the unique information you provided to send you a no-obligation offer.

Pro tip: The company isn’t a house-flipper, and they don't buy distressed homes. In fact, they’re fairly particular about what types of homes they buy. Here’s what we learned about their criteria from their website (note that criteria differ based on location):

  • Single-family homes
  • Townhomes
  • Duplexes (Phoenix, Las Vegas, and Atlanta)
  • Condos (Phoenix and Las Vegas)
  • Homes in gated communities (Phoenix, Las Vegas, and Dallas–Fort Worth)
  • Homes that are site-built (not pre-fabricated or mobile)
  • Homes located in our service areas
  • Homes in which the seller has clear ownership of the property (no double escrow)
  • Homes built after 1960
  • Homes that are not in age-restricted communities
  • Homes where our valuation is between $100K and $500K
  • Homes that sit on a maximum of a half an acre of land (Phoenix, Las Vegas, and Orlando) or an acre of land (Dallas-Fort Worth, Atlanta and Raleigh-Durham)
  • Homes that are not in or near flood zones
  • Homes that are owner-occupied or vacant, not leased, at the time of closing
  • Homes that are non-distressed or Real Estate Owned
  • Homes that don’t have any un-permitted additions or significant foundation issues
  • Homes that don’t have a solar lease (even one that has been pre-paid)
  • Homes that do not have polybutylene plumbing
  • Homes that do not have masonite woodruff roofs

2. Accepting the Offer

If, after reviewing your offer and associated fees, you decide to accept, Opendoor will schedule a free home assessment. The company will send out a team of its own employees and independent contractors to “verify the condition of your home and identify any repairs that need to be addressed before closing,” including structural, exterior, roofing, plumbing, electrical, insulation and ventilation, and HVAC systems.

If any repair needs are identified during this step, you’ll have the option to complete them yourself, or the company can handle the work and deduct the costs from your offer.

3. Moving on With Your Life

After everything has been finalized with the offer and the assessment, Opendoor tells us that they’re ready to sign your contract when you are.

During this process, you'll be able to choose your move-out date (within three and 60 days), and Opendoor will handle the rest. You'll need to have one final walk-through the day before closing in order to verify everything's in the same condition, and all your belongings have been moved out.

In the meantime, Opendoor will open an escrow account with a national title company, and you'll need to sign your closing documents. If necessary, a mobile notary can meet you where it's most convenient.

From there, you’ll be able to get paid in a matter of days. After moving out, Opendoor will handle any maintenance requirements while getting the home listed and ready for the next buyer.

How Does Opendoor’s App Make the Home Buying Process Different?

If you’re looking to buy instead of sell (or perhaps even both, which we’ll talk more about next), Opendoor owns hundreds of homes for sale in the markets where they operate, including those that have yet to hit the market, which can be viewed 24/7 on their website and companion iOS and Android app.

Like the site, the app allows home shoppers to view for-sale homes and filter their search by the number of bedrooms and bathrooms, along with the price. App users can also view photos of the homes, save their favorite properties, and receive instant updates.

Most importantly, the app provides buyers with instant access to any of the company's listings between 6 am and 9 pm, without requiring an appointment. Basically, it acts as a key to your very own open house.

OpenDoor App ScreenshotsUsing a map-based approach, the Opendoor iOS and Android app allows users to search for residential real estate in different markets, view property details, and remotely schedule in-person visitsю

If you find a home you’re interested in, you can get directions through the app, and even speak with an Opendoor Home Advisor for additional information. Once you’ve decided to move forward, a dedicated team member will “work with you from offer to move-in.”

Buying and Selling at Once: Opendoor’s Trade-In Offer and Mortgage Services

If you’d like to sell your existing home to Opendoor and also purchase any listing on the market in a single transaction, you can opt for their Trade-In service. Here, they align the closing dates of your sale and purchase, allowing you to move only once and carry only one mortgage at a time.

Trade-Ins customers can finance with one of Opendoor’s preferred lending partners, or work with Opendoor Mortgage, an affiliated mortgage brokerage. According to Opendoor Mortgage, customers can get pre-qualified in less than 30 minutes, and can also save one percent off their closing costs.

To learn more about trading in a home with Opendoor, a representative can be reached at contact@opendoor.com or 480-381-6622.

How Much Does Opendoor Cost?

Requesting an offer from Opendoor is completely free. And until your home is assessed and both you and the company have decided to move forward, you can walk away without penalty or charge.

According to Opendoor’s pricing comparison page, the average seller will pay a 6.7% fee for the transaction. That said, Opendoor’s service charge could fall anywhere between six and 12 percent, which could cancel out some, or all, of these potential savings.

The company offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, which stipulates, “If you don't love your home for any reason, [they’ll] buy it back.”

What Can We Learn From Online Customer Feedback for Opendoor?

On their website, 50 Opendoor customers had given the company an average rating of 4.6 stars at the time of our research, with many referencing ease of use, speed, fair pricing, and strong customer support.

We found similar ratings and feedback on sites like Zillow, as well as Google My Business for their Dallas and Phoenix offices. Since writing our original article, 11 HighYa readers had given Opendoor an average rating of 2.5 stars, and the company had responded directly to complaints.

Between iTunes and Google Play, we encountered well over 100 reviews for Opendoor’s apps, with an average rating of about four stars. Many seemed to appreciate how it allows instant access to any of the company’ listings, as well as its ease of use.

On the other hand, frequent complaints referenced glitches, along with limited market availability. Again, in many instances, a company representative responded to these in an effort to find a resolution.

From a company perspective, Opendoor is based out of San Francisco, CA and was co-founded in 2014 by Keith Rabois, CEO Eric Wu, JD Ross, and Ian Wong.

Previously, Keith worked as a senior executive at PayPal and Slide and COO of Square, Eric was founder and CEO of Movity.com, JD was VP of Product at Addepar, and Ian built machine learning applications at Square and Prismatic.

The company held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on eight customer reviews and two closed complaints, as of 12/27/17.

Our Final Thoughts About Opendoor

It’s clear that Opendoor has a lot to offer customers, including unique buying and selling services, a mobile app that provides customers with personal open houses, lending partnerships and financing options, competitive pricing, and a 30-day buy-back guarantee on every home they sell. In fact, there isn’t another service exactly like this in operation.

If you’re on the fence about using their services, obtaining an offer online and/or downloading the Opendoor app are both completely free. So, whether you’re thinking about selling your home or purchasing a new one, you might not have more to lose than a few minutes of your time for giving them a try.

Just keep in mind that Opendoor’s services are currently only available in six metropolitan regions (Phoenix, Dallas-Fort Worth, Las Vegas, Atlanta, Orlando, and Raleigh-Durham). And even if you live in one of these areas, remember the company has some fairly stringent eligibility criteria, so not every home will qualify.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

53 Consumer Reviews for Opendoor

Average Consumer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 27 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Texas,
    • Nov 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sent me postal letter stating an offer range and interest in buying. I wasted time trading emails and providing information. They then made up some excuse and said not interested after the initial letter declaring otherwise. Find an agent or sell it yourself. Don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Low offer price and high fees

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received mail from Opendoor and I submitted details online. Their offer is 5-10% lower than the market price and overall the fee is 15% (including 6% broker fee, 6% service fee, etc.).

    It is not worth it to sell your home to Opendoor. Waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Run away when you see an Opendoor sale

    I was looking into buying a house in Arizona, and I didn't want to waste time. I saw a house with Opendoor on the door, and I accessed the house with their code. Note: They now had my contact information.

    I liked the house, and put in a CASH, full asking price offer with 21 days closing. It doesn't get better than that. We sent the offer over, and we got an acknowledgment back that the offer was received. We waited. And waited.

    The time period expired, and my realtor called Opendoor. They claimed they never got the offer. Then, they said they'd look into it and would submit a counter offer, and give us a slight price break (even $200 on a $358,000 house would have been thoughtful). Then, at the end of that day, we get an email ASKING US to re-write the exact offer, at the same price as the first offer. So much for them doing what is customary and writing a counter offer.

    Why are they doing this? I suspect that they are contacting others who texted them for the code and were shopping for a higher bidder. There is no other reasonable explanation. I walked away from it. No house is worth playing games. If you see Opendoor, walk away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    High fees but don't wait

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was simply looking for a comp for my house to compare it to the Door estimate I had received. I submitted my request and received an email immediately saying that I would have an offer with in 24 hours with a request to upload pictures. I never received the offer, just another request to upload pictures. I attempted to do this, but there is no way to do this from their website after you submit your first request. I had to actually call the broker I guess, Chris Mason, and he told me just to email the pictures to him and he would send them on.

    I received an offer, which was actually fair except for the fees for brokerage, holding and fees to get the house ready for sale which totaled 12%. In my case, $43,000. I waited a few days to ask questions about the offer. I talked with Chris and resubmitted a request for an offer, the only way to get your offer information.

    I received an email from Opendoor at 5:30 pm on 8/30 that stated they were excited to make an offer. I pulled it up, and it was the original offer and then less than at 5:59 pm on 8/30 I received another email from them stating that they could not make me an offer at this time. Confused, I emailed Chris asking what was going on. He did not call me to explain; he sent an email stating that the in reevaluating the DFW area that in this case my fees went up to 18% so they could not make an offer at this time. Keep in mind it took them 29 minutes to make this decision after sending me the original offer. What is going on?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      I'd suggest getting an estimate of your bottom line from a traditional agent and Opendoor, then make a choice. Many people just accept their offer and never know how much money they give away.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Irving, TX,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pretty disappointing experience (if you can even call it that). My husband and I were curious after hearing ads on the radio what they would offer us for our 3-year-old house in the DFW area. I admit the allure of skipping all the prep, not having to have the house show-ready all the time and having a fast close was enticing.

    It started off promising. Within minutes someone called and said an offer was being generated and we would have a follow-up with an agent to discuss things the next evening (great, for about 5 minutes), until we get a follow-up email saying due to the homes in our area being on the market for varying times at varying prices, they could not provide us with an offer. Seriously? Pretty sure that is the entire basis of your services, but advertise away! Apparently, the "instant" offers are made only to those homes on a select basis with optimal selling conditions. Misleading, to say the least.

    This will never replace a realtor or the human element of home selling. Our house is practically brand new, beautiful and I have no doubt they missed out on an opportunity. Stick with your realtor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2017

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi G.M.,

      Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry we were unable to provide you with an offer. When someone from Opendoor first gave you a call, it was before our team of home experts had a chance to review the details of your home. Once they had a chance to understand your home and the neighborhood, we did not feel like we would be able to provide you with a solid offer on your home instead, we moved forward with the recommendation of the traditional route.

      This is not because we don't think your home is great but rather because there is higher than normal variability in the sale prices and time to sell homes similar to yours in the area. So we believe having an agent visit and price the home in person would likely result in a higher net offer for you. Our goal is to deliver the most value we can to you as a customer.

      We hope with this additional color you can see it was not, and is not our goal to mislead you. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback.

      Opendoor Customer Experience

    • Apr 10, 2018

      Demetra Passon

      I have to agree with the low baller reviews. We sold our home to Opendoor a few months ago just for them to sell it for 25k more than what they offered us, and not including the fees they charged. My realtor warned me to let her sale my home but we have a family of six and couldn't deal with the hassle of showing our home when needed and at the time we thought it was a fair offer. Morgan and Chris were great, they answered all questions. The whole thing was quick and simple, but just know they are ripping you off. My suggestion to Opendoor, if you are going to list the home for over 25k, you could at least cut out the 6% that you charge up front. I would recommend to a friend if they were desperate.

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      I'm glad you made an informed decision and you didn't take their low ball offer like people most do.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience of my life

    • Goodyear, AZ,
    • Jan 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where do I begin? I got an offer on my house. The offer was great compared to the the other offer they gave me a year prior. This time it was actually market value. There was the 6% Opendoor "fee" off of that price. No biggie because I would be paying a total of 6% to realtors anyways.

    They came to do the inspection and did it with a fine tooth comb. ANY TINY THING they wrote down and the repair estimates were insane! They wanted $4000 credit for all that. I told them I would fix them. They wanted proof via pictures and receipts. Ok, fine. I do half of the stuff, and after sending the pictures, nobody ever sent a new addendum reflecting that the credit I had to pay them was lessened.

    THREE DAYS BEFORE CLOSING I contacted them over and over and over because, without this addendum and confirmation, I wasn't going to rent an apartment, U-Haul, lose of on first last month's rent, etc. The day of closing, still no word! Can you imagine if I would have moved out? They wouldn't even return my calls on the close date! I had to call Title and cancel because of no communication by Opendoor.

    As soon as I canceled with Title, Opendoor called me. They said my case manager Guy had been on vacation that's why he never got my pictures of my repairs. That was complete B.S. because the first like 4 times I sent him all of the pictures, he kept asking me to send them again instead of just looking back through his email and finding them, so each time I had to send them over and over and over thinking that this guy was never going to even look at them. Also, who goes on vacation when a house they are covering is about to close?

    The date of closing after I called Escrow to cancel I was asked again to send the pictures! Finally about two weeks later we were ready to close again. Because Opendoor took so long on their end, we had to extend the close date, and Opendoor said we had to have a new inspection! So after all of that time because they took so long to actually look at the pictures and make a new addendum for the credit they wanted, now I have to have a new inspection. So what? Is everything going to happen again and all these credits are going to happen again? We were absolutely furious. We fought so hard to get that credit back and now they're saying that we have to have another inspection because it took too long to close? I feel that they did this to punish us for not giving them all the credit.

    We had a new inspection with an old guy who wrote down even more stuff than the first time and who actually damaged my house and created a leak in the backyard. I had two faucets outside, one which I never used since being in the house because it was right next to the AC unit. Well, he turned that on and apparently when he tried to turn it off, it was leaking, so instead of being a great guy and letting us know, he just left it and we didn't even discover it until days later, and at that point it had gone underneath the AC unit and flooded a little portion of the yard.

    It was only several days before closing again, and we were still waiting to hear about the inspection results of the second inspection it was getting down to the wire, and we were nervous to find a new place because for all we knew Opendoor was not going to pull through again. All of it started to sound like a sham for more credit, and finally, I wrote to him and told him that I thought it was a sham for more credit. After stating that, finally everything came through and they did not ask for more credit. Thank God.

    Three days before close the Title company they chose tells me that they do not have my payoff statement. While I'm supposed to be packing and boxing up things in a rush, and I had to get the U-Haul at 10 that morning, I'm getting calls from Title saying they don't have my payoff statement!? This is something they were supposed to get an order from my mortgage company right off the bat, not three days before close. I gave them my mortgage information as soon as we opened Title back up a month prior.

    I called my mortgage company, and they would not allow me to have my payoff statement, it had to be requested from Title and given straight to Title, which is the law, and they should know because that is what their business is. My mortgage company told me it usually takes about a week for them to get my payoff statement to the Title company. Opendoor chose this crap Title company, and now I'm two days before closing and I have the U-Haul in my front yard half full. I'm sitting here packing like crazy getting everything out of my house, and I'm still wondering if I'm actually moving out.

    I called Title and spoke to the agent who was working on my case's boss and complained about her incompetence because of this and with my efforts alone I was finally able to get this deal done. By a miracle of God, it pulled through. I gave them half of the credit they originally wanted and they took possession of the house with me rushing out of the house because of all the crap I had to deal with I was struggling to get out on time.

    All in all I'm happy with the results of what they paid me, but the entire process was the hardest process I've ever gone through in my ENTIRE life and the most unprofessional one. The level of stress my family and I went through was ridiculous. The only solace I have is that they still have my house on the market and it has not sold for them at what they want. When they listed that house, it was barely above what they paid me and they've been lowering the price. I feel justified and will always tell people not to deal with Opendoor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Sam,

      Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We'd like to better understand your situation and concerns. Can you please email us your contact information and the address of the home you sold to us at community@opendoor.com, and we'll have someone on our team reach out to you as soon as possible?

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      I'd suggest getting an estimate of your bottom line from a traditional agent and Opendoor, and then make a choice. You will see how much you are giving away before you decide.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Cheap company

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am signing for my home tomorrow. They will scam you to the very end about things they will fix in a home, they make deals about fixing the home with only things they don't have to put any money into.

    1. They said they would match and replace a floor. Their solution was to move it from other areas that now do not have a floor.

    2. They said they would fix a cartridge in a shower. They turned up the water heater to leave sinks boiling. This they did the day before closing to try to make me feel like I did not have a choice. They would not even change a light bulb they signed to fix.

    Message to agents stays clear with your buyers. My agent paid for the repairs to get me into the house and now has to bill Opendoor.

    Buyers, plan to fix everything after the inspection, hire your own inspector, not one from Opendoor. This part will hurt you dearly.

    You will pay for everything extra, and they will try to scam you into paying for things they are supposed to cover.

    It has been a nightmare dealing with this company. If I knew what I was getting into I would never have tried to work with them. It has been such a headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi S. Susser,

      Thank you for the feedback. We’re committed to delivering a sound home in good repair, and we’re sorry to hear that you're having a frustrating experience. Would you be able to email us at community@opendoor.com with a little more information, so that we can properly address the issue?

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Robert Adams

      Low purchase prices, a lot of excessive fees, high commissions, and poor communication etc., are the common things I am hearing with Opendoor. I'd suggest getting an estimate of your bottom line from a traditional agent and Opendoor, and then make a choice.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Think twice, maybe three times, before doing business with Opendoor

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless your house is in perfect shape, don't bother. They will make you an offer. Send out a team of 6 inspectors to photo and inspect every little thing. After that, they will deduct all of the repairs that this team of inspector find according to their repair estimates. If not within their profit margin, they cancel the contract. They do this by overpriced repairs and watch that crack on the light switch plate and the electric outlet that does not work; oh wait, that's a security device disguised. Bottom line is, do not expect much. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 6, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Ron,

      We’re truly sorry for the negative experience you had during your home assessment. Our goal is to provide an assessment that is both fair and painless, and it sounds like we didn’t hit that mark. Would you be able to email us at community@opendoor.com with more information? We’d like to hear more about your experience and improve the home assessment experience for Opendoor customers.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Year old comps!

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It takes at least 5 days to get your offer! Then when you get it, expect it to be WAY LOW if there aren’t sales in your neighborhood because people like to stay! Because of the downturn, people had to sell low in the past. The comps they used were from a year ago, which isn’t how it’s done. There were sales that were newer at prices $100,000 or higher. Now I will list it for sale by owner.

    This is for people who got in when they bought a foreclosure, not those who actually could afford the neighborhood they live in. It is so sad that these companies even think they are helping people who actually paid to live in our expensive homes. People who sell their homes for nothing are ruining the market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 16, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Pamela,

      We’re sorry that our offer didn’t work out for you. Our goal is to make the most competitive offer we can by reviewing the sale prices of comparable homes in your neighborhood and the unique information you provide. If you think we may have missed a comp or an important feature of your home in our offer, please don’t hesitate to send us an email at community@opendoor.com to let us know.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Very upset

    I am BEYOND FRUSTRATED with this company.

    The biggest issue - communication. They are absolutely terrible at it. It took them forever to get back to us after their initial inspection, but we went ahead because it was the holidays.

    When we got the results back, they told us that we are welcome to do any repairs ourselves. We decided to take on the foundation ourselves because there was a high contingency cost and we just wanted a few different quotes. They let us do the foundation ourselves.

    And we did. We got a couple of quotes, had a certified construction engineer come out and confirm what needed to be fixed. We had it fixed. Another certified engineer came out and confirmed it was fixed. We had a plumber confirm our plumbing was still good. Great! I sent the results to Opendoor. They came back and said they wouldn't accept it. Because the engineer THEY had come out recommended a different number of piers. Even though we had a certified report that we were completely up to code. Even though THEY SAID we could do this on our own.

    Mind you, this is all 10 days before we close. So we ask them to send their engineer out ASAP to come through the house again to check it once more. We scheduled for the next day at 11:00. NO ONE shows up. My husband checks his email to see that they went ahead and emailed him a few minutes before 11:00 to let him know they went ahead and rescheduled for the next day at 8:00 AM without any other communication. The next day the engineer doesn't bother showing up until 8:38 AM.

    He goes through the house. He tells my husband everything is up to code, and he originally wanted the extra piers just to be safe. He tells him he is going to go back and take it off the list of repairs.

    Turns out he completely lied. Opendoor called us again today to say that they wanted to go ahead and do the extra work. WE CLOSE IN A WEEK.

    I can absolutely, in no way, recommend a company who acts like this. Such poor communication. If only they would have been more clear from the beginning, communicated effectively throughout this entire process, and told us earlier that essentially we had no choice but to use them to repair our foundation, that would have been a different story.

    Beyond frustrated. I don't like being lied to, and I don't like being tricked. Here we are, a week from closing with absolutely no power. Mad is an understatement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Brittany,

      Thank you for reaching out and taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologize for the scheduling error and the inconvenience it may have caused. Our team has also reached out to follow up on the repairs.

      We appreciate you sharing your experience and will use it as an opportunity to improve. Please feel free to get in touch with us at community@opendoor.com if you have any other questions or concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Not a fair and honest experience

    All was good until I was waiting for the inspection report. They said 4-7 days, but I don’t see how that would work if we wanted to close in a few days like they offer. We knew the house needed some work, but nothing major. They estimate up to $8k, and received a repair list for $15k! They “say” they ask for necessary repairs, but charging $25 to tighten a bolt on the stairway railing and $20 to tighten a toilet screw seems totally crazy.

    So we fixed what we could since we were closing in a week, and Aubrey said all repairs were needed two days prior to signing, so clearly don’t want you to be able to fix stuff. And not to mention when I had questions about repairs. Aubrey had no clue how to answer them and had to check with her team every time, and that took forever. She even said she tries to respond to emails within 24 hours. That’s definitely not acceptable in this line of work when people are trying to move and make plans.

    The WORST part of it all is seeing that they DO NOT fix half of the items they list on the repair report you have to pay from your proceeds. A patio roof “needed” fixing, and they charged $2000 for that, which wasn’t done. T,hey charged $300 to replace a shower door, that was NOT done. $300 to fix windows that were NOT done. Seeing your “flipped” house posted on their website and realizing what kind of company they truly are is very frustrating. The work that was done was below average as well. I really feel sorry for the next buyer. PLEASE be cautious of this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2018

      Tirza D., Community Manager

      Hi Samantha,

      Thank you for your feedback. Our team has reached out to you to clarify and address your concerns. Please feel free to email us at community@opendoor.com if you have any other questions.

    • Feb 28, 2018

      Samantha Harris

      Yes. Someone contacted me Monday night to discuss this and listened to all my concerns. After, she told me that she would get back to me that night or the next morning. Of course, I'm still waiting for that phone call.

    • Jul 6, 2018

      Chris B.

      Probably the worst experience I have ever gone through/going through. This company has completely dragged out everything they possibly could on their end. They have two excuses, “we are upfront about a 24-48 hour response time”, and “keep in mind we are corporate”. It’s not my problem Opendoor that you are slow. This line of business needs speed. I wouldn’t recommend this company to my worst enemy and no way would I EVER do business with them again.

      Save yourself and don’t sell or buy from them. You will REGRET it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review