SkinnyFit Detox Tea Review: Effectiveness, Side Effects, Cost

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 5, 2019

Made with 13 whole, all-natural superfood ingredients, SkinnyFit Detox Tea promises to help boost your energy, immunity, and metabolism, burn fat, fight bloating, and release toxins, all in one simple step.

All you have to do is drink one eight-ounce cup every morning about 30 minutes before breakfast, which only takes five to seven minutes to make.

From there, we’re told its blend of lemongrass, ginseng, Sencha green tea, and goji berries will start working to provide a variety of benefits, including supporting healthy digestion, promoting healthy skin, and using antioxidants to flush out cell-damaging substances.

If necessary, you can drink more than one cup of tea per day (such as later in the afternoon or before a workout) to maximize these results. However, the company also recommends eating more whole fruits and veggies while undergoing your detoxification.

Based on these claims, one of our biggest questions when researching SkinnyFit was: Outside of reducing calorie intake and exercising regularly, is there anything contained in this blend that can boost your weight loss results? What about cleansing the body of toxins?

We’ll take a much closer look at Detox Tea’s formulation in a moment. But before we get there, let’s discuss the topic of detoxification.

What Is Detoxification and Is It Good for Your Health?

In Detox vs. Cleanse, we start by emphasizing that the exact purpose served by modern detoxes and cleanses is a little unclear. But in general, the idea is to alter the diet in order to clean out the digestive tract, thus eliminating toxins like:

  • Cigarette residue
  • Chemicals
  • Heavy metals
  • Environmental elements
  • Fecal matter
  • Parasites
  • Fungi
  • Potentially aggravating foods like dairy, eggs, soy, refined sugar, caffeine, and alcohol

According to The Gut Health Project, side effects of having too many of these toxins in the body include “fatigue, headaches, joint pain, food sensitivities, mood swings, anxiety or depression, high blood pressure, or constipation.”

But here’s the most important part: During our research for this article, we learned that most health professionals don’t recommend detoxes or cleanses (whether teas like SkinnyFit, or otherwise). Why? Because healthy bodies are able to remove unwanted toxins with relative ease.

To this note, Dr. Morton Tavel, Clinical Professor Emeritus of Medicine, at Indiana University School of Medicine and author of “Snake Oil is Alive & Well: The Clash between Myths and Reality, Reflections of a Physician,” who was interviewed for our article, was quoted as saying:

“The basic concept of detoxifying is blatantly flawed. Our natural processes, especially liver and kidney function, cleanse our bodies far better than any extrinsic activities or substances could possibly achieve.”

In fact, he emphasized that by increasing the laxative effect commonly associated with cleanses and detoxes, they can actually do more harm than good. How? By weakening the body’s ability to fight infections and inflammation, upsetting blood sugar, potassium, and sodium levels, and resulting in vitamin and mineral deprivation.

For more about this topic, be sure to read Detoxification Supplements May Not Be What They Seem.

What Ingredients Does SkinnyFit Detox Tea Contain?

Based on the nutrition facts label posted on the SkinnyFit website, each bag of Detox Tea bag contains 1.7g of material (including 5 mg of potassium and 17.98 mg of caffeine), comes in at 10 calories, and contains the following raw ingredients:

  • Matcha green tea
  • Yerba mate
  • Sencha green tea
  • Oolong tea
  • Goji berries
  • Milk thistle
  • Ginseng
  • Lemongrass
  • Nettle leaf
  • Dandelion leaf
  • Guarana
  • Stevia leaf
  • Peach powder

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like Examine.com, the Natural Medicines Database, and WebMD report that consuming between 150 mg and three grams of green tea (no specific variety) can possibly address many health conditions, including high cholesterol, clogged arteries, osteoporosis, and Parkinson’s disease.

It might deliver high levels of antioxidants that can help fight free radical damage (known as oxidative stress). And in some mice-focused studies, it’s been shown to lower cholesterol and blood glucose levels. However, its weight loss-related benefits in humans are reported to be unclear.

Regarding green tea in general, we’ve also learned from our past research that its caffeine content can slightly boost daily calorie burning (between three and four percent; or 60-80 calories per day). Certainly, every little bit helps, but we include these details to help you maintain realistic expectations for detox teas, whether from SkinnyFit or other brands.

In other words, as far as pounds lost, the clinical evidence indicates green tea varieties will only deliver a small amount of assistance.

But because we learned earlier that the majority of health professionals don’t recommend detoxification in general, there remains little clinical evidence support green tea’s ‘cleansing’ ability.

Outside of these details, these same sites reported insufficient clinical evidence showing any of SkinnyFit Detox Tea's remaining ingredients can reliably boost energy, immunity, and metabolism, or increase fat burning in humans.

Could SkinnyFit Detox Tea Cause Side Effects?

If you’re “pregnant, breastfeeding, have preexisting medical conditions, abstaining from food (fasting), or under the age of 18,” SkinnyFit recommends consulting with a healthcare before undergoing a detox, whether using their Detox Tea or another product.

WebMD, the Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com also report that the natural caffeine content found in Detox Tea’s blend could lead to nervousness, jitteriness, and insomnia, especially for those sensitive to stimulants.

With this said, the SkinnyFit website emphasizes that their tea only contains approximately 17.98 mg of caffeine per tea bag, compared to 30-50 mg per cup for regular green or black tea, or 95 mg for a cup of regular coffee.

Finally, these same sites indicate nettle can cause sweating and milk thistle can have a laxative effect (no specific circumstances or dosages noted).

How Much Does SkinnyFit Detox Tea Cost?

You can order SkinnyFit Detox Tea online or over the phone. Their pricing for non-subscription purchases is as follows:

  • 1 bag (28 individual tea bags): $69.95, plus $5.95 shipping
  • 2 bags: $115.95 ($57.98 per bag), plus $7.95 shipping
  • 3 bags: $149.95 ($49.98 per bag), plus $9.95 shipping

When checking out, customers can choose between a one-time order or an ongoing subscription. With the latter, you’ll receive the same quantity each month at lower prices, which are listed below:

  • 1 bag (28 individual tea bags): $59.95, plus $5.95 shipping
  • 2 bags: $99.95 ($49.98 per bag), plus $7.95 shipping
  • 3 bags: $135.95 ($45.32 per bag), plus $9.95 shipping

Regardless of how much you’re looking to buy, all SkinnyFit orders come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less the cost of shipping to send it back. In order to request one, or to cancel your recurring shipments, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at 888-862-1758, hello@skinnyfit.com, or via their site’s contact form.

Can SkinnyFit Detox Tea Customer Reviews Provide Meaningful Insight?

At the time of publishing, SkinnyFit’s detox tea had more than 370 customer reviews on Amazon. The product had an average review of 3.6 stars. Forty-six percent of the tea’s reviews gave 5 stars, while 24% were 1 star.

The eight most recent reviews were largely positive, with reviewers saying they liked the flavor and that they were happy with the product. Of those eight reviews, there were two one-star reviews in which the customers said the product did not work.

SkinnyFit vs. Other Detox and Weight Loss Teas

We mentioned earlier that there are several other detoxification/ fat-burning teas competing for the same customers as SkinnyFit, including top search engine results (and options that we’ve researched in the past) like Fit Tea, Bootea, Flat Tummy Tea, and SkinnyMint. How does SkinnyFit’s formula compare?

Taking a look at their individual ingredients, we found most contained one or more green tea varieties, ginger, nettle, dandelion, lemongrass, and nettle, along with a possible laxative like senna or psyllium husk.

If you’re trying to wade through all these options and find the right one for you, it’s always a wise idea to start by talking with your doctor, whether you’re considering SkinnyFit or any other detox or weight loss product.

They’ll be able to take your goals and health diagnosis into consideration when recommending options, and whether or not teas like this should play a part in your treatment.

From there, just like when shopping for any dietary supplement, it’s important to look for companies that:

  • Support their claims with double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical evidence
  • Price their products competitively
  • Don’t sign customers up for an autoship program
  • Provide plenty of time for you to try the product and return it if you’re dissatisfied
  • Come with mostly positive online customer feedback, both for the product and the manufacturer

Our Bottom Line on SkinnyFit Detox Tea

During our past research on the topic, as well as after interviewing relevant professionals, we’ve learned that most medical professionals don’t recommend detoxification (whether tea-based or otherwise). As consumers ourselves, this makes it difficult to see any value in products that promote this benefit.

Furthermore, websites like WebMD, Examine.com, and the Natural Medicines Database indicate that while green tea can provide a whole host of benefits, there’s insufficient reported clinical evidence indicating it can deliver meaningful weight loss in humans.

On the upside, SkinnyFit stands behind their product with a 90-day money-back guarantee, so you might not lose more than a few dollars in return shipping if you’re not satisfied with Detox Tea’s performance.

Just keep in mind that although it claims to be laxative-free (if this is one of your main concerns), milk thistle is often used as a natural laxative, which could have a similar effect, especially for sensitive individuals.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 17 SkinnyFit Detox Tea Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 47% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Pleasantly surprised, taste is amazing and I feel great.

    I found a great deal on Facebook for the Detox and bought it for me and my mom. We've been using it for two months and love it. I am finally fitting into my old jeans and have way more energy. I am down 7 lbs so far!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Briana!

      We are so happy to hear that you and your mom have been loving SkinnyFit! We truly appreciate your feedback and we can't wait to hear more about your great results!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Thank you SkinnyFit!

    • San Diego, CA ,
    • Mar 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's true that there's no magical, overnight solution to lose weight. But SkinnyFit is the perfect kick in the butt to get you going in the right direction.

    I was living such a sedentary lifestyle due to my office job and gained a ton of weight last year. I needed something to motivate me to get back to living healthy. After a couple days of drinking SkinnyFit, I found that I had a boost of energy every morning without jitters (I'm super sensitive to caffeine). I also did not feel bloated and "heavy" anymore. I used my newfound energy to hit the gym for the first time in a year.

    I've been drinking SkinnyFit for a month now and I've lost 6 pounds! Most importantly, my muffin top is GONE and my pants fit so much better. I'm so grateful for the jump start this tea has given me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Delicious tea

    • Wilbraham, MA,
    • Mar 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This tea tastes great and has been a healthy substitute for coffee for me in the mornings. It has a refreshing peach flavor and helped me shed a few pounds. I got some for my mom and sister, and they’re hooked. I recommend it for sure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Dan!

      We love hearing that you have been enjoying your Detox! We're glad you and your family have seen great results! If you haven't heard yet, we came out with a caffeine free detox tea called Zzztox! I know you'll love it just as much as our morning tea, so I highly recommend it!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    • Jan 22, 2019

      Dusty J.

      My girlfriends told me about this product, and I saw it on Facebook. I've had a hard time losing some weight, so I decided to give it a try. I have to say that I love it! I started being a little more active and I feel more energy on days that I drink it. So many people say negative things thinking it's some sort of magic product and they're just being silly. You have to put in some work! SkinnyFit just made it easier for me to drop some lbs. Gonna keep going for sure!

    • Feb 4, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Dusty,

      That's fantastic! We understand that this journey is tough at times, so we are so happy that SkinnyFit is right there with you. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback, and enjoy the rest of your detox!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    • Feb 4, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Dusty,

      We would love if you could leave a review on your purchase! We love when we hear feedback from customers that have seen fantastic results, so we would love for you to share!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Pricey, but so worth it!

    • Lakeport, CA,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this over a month ago, with some feeling of another product promising empty results. I am 47 and not overweight but really want to drop 10 pounds to feel slim again. In four and a half weeks. Having hot tea in the morning and cold after lunch, I’ve lost 5 lbs and one inch off my waist! That’s with weighing myself every morning if that makes a difference.

    I’d say the most noticeable things are that my bloating is a bit better, and I'm feeling more energy and less food cravings right after I started. Less cravings might be from drinking more water and tea though. I bought another month's worth. I have also been on a 1660 calorie/day diet with lots of healthy veggies. I’m convinced this tea, plus the diet is helping me achieve the results thus far.

    A big bonus is that when I first started the tea, I honestly had no idea the best way to take it. I called their customer service, and it must be a question they get a lot because they’re the ones who told me that it’s good both hot and cold! I like to know I can get answers to questions from nice people!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Colleen!

      We love hearing that you enjoy your tea hot and cold! Have you tried SkinnyFit with fresh fruit, yet? I think you'll love it! We also have delicious recipes on our blog page. We update it weekly, so don't forget to check in every once in awhile! https://www.skinnyfit.com/blog/

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my first bag of tea from Amazon mid-July. I am on my second bag now, and it's 9/21/18. I have lost to date approximately 10-15 lbs. I haven't been working out...my work schedule sucks. I have been drinking veggie/fruit smoothies, drinking tons of water, and cutting back on red meat, breads, carbs, etc. I had already changed my diet since April of this year. So I'm sure some of my weight loss is attributed to my diet change, but overall I'm happy with my results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Tanya!

      We love that SkinnyFit is a part of your health journey! We understand that this journey is tough at times, so we are happy to hear that our Detox tea is right there with you!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Helpful product

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a person who cannot have much caffeine, I find this tea to be a wonderful pick me up. It has also helped to increase my weight loss. I was at a stuck point in my weight loss, and after using this tea, I began to once again lose weight. I would not recommend drinking past early afternoon as it has a long time frame of wakefulness. It will keep you up all night if drank to late in the day. It does not have the comedown crash of coffee, however. To me, this is a good thing.

    I would recommend it to those looking for a little extra help with their healthy dieting. I cannot say it causes rapid weight loss or instant health benefits, but I have found it to be a very helpful, added bonus to my weight loss.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Yay! No laxatives!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been on SkinnyFit for a couple of months now and really enjoy it.

    I've tried quite a few different brands - most of them cheaper, to be honest. But I don't like that they all contained laxatives. At first, I thought it was great and that's just how detoxes work until I started to read it, it's actually pretty bad to constantly have that in your system.

    I still wanted something to help my diet during the summer though. I can't say for sure it's helped me shed extra pounds, but I was really surprised how much it helped with my daily bloating. I honestly didn't even realize it was an issue until it started to go away with this detox. I'll keep on SkinnyFit for a bit longer because of that reason, and I really like the taste (I'm an avid tea drinker).

    Just keep in mind...it's a little pricey (cheaper if you subscribe though), but worth it for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Jean!

      We're so happy to hear that you have seen such great results with SkinnyFit. We pride ourselves on only using all natural ingredients in our Detox tea, and that does include staying away from laxatives!

      Enjoy the rest of your Detox!

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Yummy tea

    • Florida,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ZzzTox tea tastes delicious, however, I didn't buy it, my mom found a brand new unopened bag at her motel job, and I was shocked to know it was so expensive. If I had known, I would've left it sealed and sold it for cheaper. However, it tastes really good and I wanna lose around 10 pounds, and I hope it works out!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 11, 2018

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Adela!

      Thank you so much for your feedback! Glad that you and your Mom are enjoying the find. Here is a link to our blog with various tips and tricks on how to obtain the best results, https://www.skinnyfit.com/blog/.

      Cheers!

      Briana

      Customer Success

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 65 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    This does not do what they say it does, and when you return your tea, they don't follow through with the refund they promise. It is a total scam. I am extremely disgusted with the poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Washington DC,
    • May 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a trial of the morning and night detox tea. With the trial it automatically enrolls you in auto ship, so I called to cancel it as soon as I received my tea because I wanted to try it first before I fully committed.

    The first couple of days the tea was great. I could feel myself having more energy and I wasn't as sluggish. However, on about the fifth day it did absolutely nothing. I'm actually almost finished with my first cup of tea and I'm falling asleep while drinking it. I've been using it for almost three weeks and no changes at all. The night detox tea has me feeling like I haven't gotten much sleep when I wake up the next day. Not exactly sure why.

    Now onto the customer service. When I called I asked to cancel my auto ship membership. I spoke to a gentleman and he assured me that it was canceled and I would receive no further packages unless I re-enroll. I even got an email confirming the cancellation.

    However, three weeks after calling I got charged $60! When I called the lady on the phone stated that when I called initially the guy only canceled one of the items on the auto-ship, BUT the email that I received clearly states "We're sorry to see you go and that my SUBSCRIPTION has been cancelled." It also states "You will not receive any further products."

    So now I have to wait 7-10 business days just to get my money back for something that I canceled almost a month ago. I should have stuck with what other people were saying about all of the issues they had cancelling their subscription. I will NEVER order this product again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Crystal,

      We truly appreciate this feedback from you. We will be using this as a training opportunity for all of our agents here at SkinnyFit. We hold all our agents to a high standard, so we will make sure something like this never happens again.

      We are guaranteeing that your account is canceled, as well as refunded of the $59.95 charge. Once again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and we hope to have you a part of the SkinnyFit family again in the future.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 57 people found this review helpful

    False and misleading advertisement

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the trial offer which you only pay for the shipping, and my order arrived almost two weeks later. I signed up for the trial but it turned out to be a subscription, and after a week that you received the product they will charge your credit card $109.62. The product is not really good, I got an upset stomach, and they said I could return those samples, but I have to pay for the return shipping fee. They said that they would only refund the $109.62 when they receive the samples that they sent me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2019

      SkinnyFit T., Customer Succcess

      Hi Le,

      We are truly sorry for the miscommunication on our end. We pride ourselves on helping each and every one of our customers.

      We want to give you a chance to try our products, so we would be happy to refund you the $109.62 charge without returning your trial order.

      Unfortunately, we were unable to locate your order, so if you can reach out to us at hello@skinnyfit.com and title the email "HighYa Review" we would be more than happy to make this right.

      Kevin

      Customer Solutions Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for SkinnyFit Detox Tea!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review