Somaderm Gel Reviews - Regain Your Youth?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 20, 2018

Somaderm Gel is a homeopathic, transdermal, over-the-counter product that promises to slowly elevate human growth hormone (HGH) levels in the body. As a result, the manufacturer advertises it works at the cellular level to help you obtain optimal health and regain your youth.

They indicate that since hormones are stored in the fatty tissue layer, you should apply the gel to thin areas of the skin. Specifically, “wherever veins are visible,” such as your underarms, forearms, wrists, and behind the knees.

This way, it will “ensure that Somaderm Gel will be transported directly to the bloodstream.”

Is this really the only homeopathic, transdermal, over-the-counter HGH product available without a prescription? Even then, is it the cutting-edge scientific breakthrough advertised by New U Life? Let’s start by taking a look at the role this hormone plays in the human body.

The Science Behind Human Growth Hormone (HGH)

Created by the pea-sized pituitary gland located at the base of the brain, the Mayo Clinic explains growth hormone “fuels childhood growth and helps maintain tissues and organs throughout life.”

However, this gland “slowly reduces the amount of growth hormone it produces” beginning in middle age. And it’s this recognition, they tell us, that has triggered an interest in using synthetic human growth hormone (HGH) to potentially help reduce common downsides related to the natural aging process, including “decreased muscle and bone mass.”

The problem? “There's little evidence to suggest human growth hormone can help otherwise healthy adults regain youth and vitality,” they report. In fact, “experts recommend against using HGH to treat aging or age-related conditions.”

Granted, all of this relates to the injection of artificial HGH. What about the ingredients found in Somaderm Gel and their HGH-boosting ability via the skin?

What Ingredients Will You Find in Somaderm Gel?

The New U Life lists the following ingredients for Somaderm Gel:

Active ingredients: Glandula suprarenalis suis 6X, Thyroidinum 8X, Somatropin 30X

Inactive ingredients: Purified Water, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root, Vitex agnuscastus (Chaste Tree) Fruit, Epimedium sagittatum (Epimedium) Aerial Parts, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf, Mucuna pruriens (Velvet Bean) Seed, Dioscorea villosa (Wild Yam) Root, Sodium Hydroxide, Ascorbic Acid, PEG-33/PEG-8/PEG-14/Dimethicone, Aloe barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopherols (Soy), Edetate Disodium, Natural Plant Extract, Potassium Sorbate Extract

Sites like Truth in Aging, Paula’s Choice, and EWG.org indicate that most of Somaderm’s inactive ingredients work as conditioning agents (caprylyl glycol, aloe, licorice, PEG-33/PEG-8/PEG-14/dimethicone), consistency agents (acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer), and cleansing agents (sodium hydroxide).

Additional functions include preservatives (phenoxyethanol, sorbic acid, potassium sorbate), antioxidants components (Camellia sinensis, ascorbic acid), and penetration enhancers (edetate disodium). In other words, ingredients you’re likely to find in many other skincare formulations.

Taking a Closer Look at Somaderm Gel’s Homeopathic Ingredients

What about Somaderm Gel’s active ingredients? The National Library of Medicine’s DailyMed (last updated 4/20/18) lists this specific formulation’s marketing status as “unapproved homeopathic.” They also include the following disclaimer:

“This homeopathic product has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration for safety or efficacy. FDA is not aware of scientific evidence to support homeopathy as effective.”

Why is this? As we detail in Is Homeopathy an Evidence-Based Medical System, homeopathic formulations are based on two central principles: like cures like, and dilutions/the law of minimum dose.

First, an ingredient that produces similar symptoms to the disease being addressed is added to a solution, such as water or alcohol. Then, this water/ingredient mix is subjected to a series of successive dilutions (also referred to as dynamizations or potentizations).

An X next to a number indicates that a “substance has been diluted by a factor of 10 at each stage.” So, in the instance of Somaderm Gel’s Glandula suprarenalis suis (as the first example), it’s been diluted to one part in ten, eight times.

Or, to put it into raw numbers, this means the formula contains one part Glandula to 100 million parts solution (10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10).

The problem, according to the International Journal of Pharmacotherapy, is that when it comes to homeopathic solutions, “the largest dilution possible that still contains at least one molecule of the original substance is 12C.” This could present a logistical problem based on the 30X dilution of Somatropin in Somaderm Gel.

And “even among smaller dilutions that do contain some molecules of the original substance, there almost certainly aren’t enough to have a meaningful effect on the human body.”

Could Somaderm Gel’s Homeopathic Ingredients Cause Side Effects

With so little of each active ingredient in Somaderm Gel, side effects could be rare. And like any skincare formulation, its inactive ingredients could cause irritation and redness at the application site, especially for those with sensitivities.

This is why it's essential to have an in-depth consultation with your dermatologist before beginning any new skincare, supplement, or homeopathic regimen, who can help you avoid potential side effects based on your diagnosis. This is especially the case for any product that promises to have a hormonal effect on the body.

With these details in mind, the Somaderm website emphasizes that application location “should be rotated so that no area of the skin gets overused.”

How Much Does Somaderm Gel Cost?

Somaderm Gel is only available from New U Life, at the following prices:

  • One-time purchase: $169.99, plus applicable S&H
  • Membership: $149.99, plus free S&H

All orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Per the site’s cancellation policy, “If your Somaderm Bottle has been open or the plastic wrap has been broken, you must Contact Us before returning the product.” Otherwise, you can “simply mail it back with your packing slip or the return order form.”

You can call support at 844-510-6398 or send an email to support@newulife.com.

How to Choose Between Somaderm Gel & Other Homeopathic Solutions

We encountered many other homeopathic formulations aimed at boosting HGH levels during our research, including popular options on marketplaces such as Amazon and Google Shopping, like High-Tech Somatomax ($45), Liddell Homeopathic Vital High Immune ($32), HPTP Pituitary Drops ($21), Vital II Hormone Free Spray ($28), and Clinical Strength Secretagogue Gold – Orange ($45), to name just a few.

As advertised on the New U Life website, though, Somaderm Gel was the only topical/transdermal offering available. Does this mean it’s worth the meaningfully higher price, though?

Returning to our Evidence-Based Medicine article cited earlier, regardless of the formula or the sales price, the fact of the matter is there’s little-to-no double-blind, placebo-controlled, peer-reviewed clinical evidence that homeopathy works. In fact, the FTC is considering requiring that all homeopathic products sold in the US come with a disclaimer on their packaging that they don’t work.

For this reason alone, we’ll reiterate that if you’re considering a homeopathic product—Somaderm Gel or otherwise—to address a real-world problem, make sure that you discuss the situation with your doctor before proceeding.

They can a) deliver a scientifically sound diagnosis after questioning and testing, and b) recommend options based on this diagnosis, including whether or not your options include homeopathy.

Bottom Line

In addition to the lack of reported clinical evidence for homeopathy in general, explicitly referencing Pleasant Hill, CA-based New U Life, the company held an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, calculated according to seven customer reviews and nine closed complaints, as of 9/20/18.

Most seemed to reference problems receiving orders and no response from support. All were listed as ‘unanswered.’

Another critical factoid to keep in mind is that, although New U Life promotes Somaderm Gel as ‘FDA registered,’ the reality is that the supplements industry is almost wholly responsible for self-regulation. In other words, supplements aren’t reviewed by the FDA prior to public release, and the FDA doesn’t keep a database of ‘registered’ supplements.

Considering all of this, in addition to the product’s ultra-high price, we think the best option for achieving the most value for your money is talking with your primary care physician before placing an order for Somaderm Gel.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 39 Somaderm Gel Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 64% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 46 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Product is beyond AWESOME!

    • Maryland,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this for over 6 weeks! I cannot get over the change in me, my sleeping pattern (instead of sleeping 20 hours a day, I am sleeping 8 hours a night), my energy level, my brain fog is gone, and my memory has improved. It is truly worth trying. Possibly it might not work for a very few, but, it works for me, and that's all I care about. And, NO, I am NOT selling it, nor do I plan too. I am almost 72 years old, and I'm sick of people badmouthing products when they haven't even tried them! I have ME and Lupus, the drugs for those two AI diseases are HORRIBLE, and I take none of them. So, try the gel, or shut up, don't discourage people, especially if they very well could have the same results as I am having.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Game CHANGER for us!

    • Florida,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know they have a 30-day money back guarantee and even if you take it longer they say they will find a good solution, but I actually felt a difference in just a few days.

    I'm exhausted a lot of the time, and it affects my quality of life.

    My ENERGY went up exponentially! I actually had to reduce to 1/2 a pump - which is fine, sleep is great. My mental clarity improved!

    I know EVERYONE is different but for ME - truly a game changer, and given the change so many people experience, I feel like trying a few bottles is a no-brainer!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    I love it

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took about a week but then I noticed better sleep, more energy, happier, and now I'm losing weight. It helps suppress my hunger or need to eat all the time. I'm motivated and have clearer thinking. My skin is looking younger and my bald spots are growing hair. Everyone needs to be on this. Even my hairdresser said something about my hair at week three out the blue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Worth every penny!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started my 4th week on this product and find it amazing. I have lost almost 15 pounds! I took before pics and the muscle definition in my arms is amazing as of this week. I haven't been able to move both of my thumbs for several years. The doctor recommended surgery. As of this week, I can write again. There are several more benefits as of today, including skin tone and sleep. Not only would I recommend this product, I would stock up on it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Wow

    • Midland, TX,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical, but had a hysterectomy at age 33. Now 36, ovaries would not function after. So I was on hormone replacement medicine. And I thought I’d give HGH Gel a chance. Week one, sleep was 100%, and that was wonderful for me. Go from 2 hours at night to 7! Week 3 I lost 4 inches in the waist. No diet, no exercise. I did not lose weight, just inches. Month 2, I was off all hormone medicine because my ovaries are finally functioning. My hair and eyebrows are growing at a rapid pace. Muscle tone at 3 months is excellent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Best product EVER, don't be fooled!

    • Bowie, MD,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There has been a lot of people who like and dislike this product on both sides. But what I've noticed is the people who dislike this product haven't even tried it. I think that's funny. I've actually tried this product. My results are amazing. I'm 36 years old and I've lost 8 pounds, my hair is getting thicker, and I have a ton more energy. I've been using it a little more than a month. When it comes to product reviews people please listen to people who are on the product. For example, this lady has a great blog post on the subject. She has been on the gel for 2 months now and has had amazing results, as well some of the same as me, but from the perspective of a woman. Not bad for something that cost $150.00. If you ask me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using it for seven weeks and first, my energy went up, then through the roof, I feel great. Mood improved, I am starting to sleep better, my nails grow faster, and my head fog is gone, which is so amazing. I have been so skeptical to try this, but I am now sold. For me this works, I am so happy, just the energy increase alone is so worth the money. I recommend this to my family and friends. Totally works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Has worked wonders!

    • Washington DC,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m 47, suffer from arthritis in my left ankle, bad knees from running when I was younger, the usual aches and pains of being 47, broken sleep, foggy brain, forgetting things a lot (I’m sure related to sleep issues), tired, unmotivated, weight gain and lacking in the energy I once had. I started Somaderm Gel three months ago at the recommendation of a friend. She just couldn’t stop talking about how good she felt. Curious, I checked out the product online and read the reviews and watched the YouTube videos, testimonials, etc. It’s not cheap. I wanted to do my legwork first. After hemming and hawing over this, I decided to take the plunge.

    The first week, following recommend two pumps a day, one in the morning and one in the evening - the first thing I noticed was my sleep. I was actually getting some! ALL NIGHT! Finally! Well, that led to changing a whole plethora of things that I needed help with: mood, energy, focus. I thought hmmmm - maybe there really is something to this.

    Month two: muscle tone, pain in knees and ankle gone! That’s right. It’s been 10 years since I’ve run on the treadmill - I am able to run again. I’ve noticed inches lost in my waist, my nails are the longest and strongest they’ve been in years, and I’m hardly losing any hair in the shower. My husband has commented on the changes. They’re becoming quite noticeable.

    I’ve just started month three. Looking forward to even more benefits. It’s really exciting to see these changes. Everyone is different. I know what I’ve experienced and am satisfied. I do not sell this product and never give reviews, but had to share my experience with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    The best support product!

    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be 50 in April 2019, have 2 titanium hips from years of aggressive athletics and trying and was ready to give this product a try, literally 3 minutes after receiving the video from a friend, last February 26th.

    I have been using Somaderm, originally HGH Gel, for 9 months uninterrupted. I started in March with an 8-pack, so as the inventory became depleted, I thankfully still had bottles for my wife and I, so no problem there.

    I have coined a phrase that I feel perfectly describes this product and lays waste to the "miracle" moniker. "This is a support product and a catalyst to a healthier lifestyle." Anything more than this by way of expectation is solely by choice of the user.

    Network marketers are notorious for embellishing the results of their product, I vowed NEVER to do this. If it didn't work for me, I would tell people, but it has, and I feel better than I have in the last 20 years.

    Everything we do is tied to sleep pattern. Putting your head down to bed is actually the beginning of your day, not the end as many believe it to be. This product helps incredibly well in that regard. I have also combined the use of the product with intermittent fasting. In a nutshell, my last meal is never after 8:00 PM and my first meal is never before 11:00 AM. This has lead to a weight loss in body fat specifically of 30 lbs (218-188) I have since added 5 lbs of lean muscle and have been in a 192-195 lb range for the better part of the last 6 months (Tuesday weigh in).

    My muscular and cardio endurance are off the charts. My recovery time is nearly immediate, aches and pains have subsided significantly and my eyesight is beginning to show slight improvement. My hair is growing much more rapidly and I am getting my hair cut every 3 weeks, which was normally 5-6 weeks before using the gel.

    I DO NOT drink alcohol. Never a sip, so that plays into my favor, and my only dietary change was to cut out soda and surgery sports drinks, opting for water (approximately 100 ounces daily) and unsweetened cold tea. I still love bread, still eat pasta, never ever meal prep, and enjoy a big ol' juicy burger with my kids after a ball game.

    To call this product a scam is extremely reckless, in my personal opinion, and yes, just as reckless as claiming it cures every ailment under the sun, so I get those that are upset. If you are reading these boards, looking for reasons not to try the product or become a distributor, ask yourself "what are my realistic expectations?" If you are looking for a better, healthier life, then make better choices and consider some of what I've mentioned here.

    Somaderm is the perfect product at the perfect price point for people our age that are looking for an edge, needing to make a change. The last thing I will leave you with is this:

    "Do more...because you CAN!"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Changed my LIFE

    • New York, NY,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought that Somaderm wouldn’t work.

    I truly believed that homeopathy couldn’t possibly have an effect on someone. In four days I was having vivid dreams, sleeping better, and within weeks simply had an overall heightened feeling of subtle wellness, happiness, and comfort.

    It’s just worth trying and simply the only thing of its kind.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    My personal miracle!

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Dec 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pain-free for the first time in 14 years! In my second week on the gel, I got the full range of motion back in my body. I have 12 herniated disc. I prayed for relief and had no clue it would come in a bottle from NUL. Now I am a distributor and a believer!

    Thank you, Alex Goldstein, for inventing this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 39

Write a Review for Somaderm Gel!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review