About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non-invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.

  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.

  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right for You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. Information is subject to change, please visit the main company website at www.sonobello.com for the latest details.

» For Further Reading: How to Find the Best Plastic Surgeon: Expert Tips & Warning Signs

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

80 Consumer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 8 1 star:  50
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 80
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t waste your money. I’m currently in a dispute with them and CareCredit to get my money back. My sales lady, Sarah, pushed it all on me and she false advertised. I don’t know how she sleeps at night knowing how many lies she tells and how she uses your emotions to get you to sign today so that you are STUCK! When I say stuck, it means the day you sign you have to put money down. If you decide the next day you don’t want to do it, you lose that down payment. Also, what they don’t want you to know is you pay for it all up front so if you decide fourteen days before surgery you don’t want to do it you are still charged the full amount REGARDLESS If you had surgery or NOT! They say they will remove 50-70% of fat. Haha! Such a big fat disgusting lie!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Troy, MI,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have healed horribly, I am deformed, the fat relocated and I look like I have two stomachs. I cannot wear a tight shirt or bathing suits. I wish I would have never done it. And of course, I’m still making payments every month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2018

      Bonita L.

      Waste of time. No results. I should have gone to a real plastic surgeon and got a tummy tuck. It is a waste of money.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went into Sono Bello in October 2017 (Sacramento, CA) with all the information and with the idea to get it done. I was told right from the beginning after I saw the doctor from my pre-op, that there was going to be a considerable swelling period and there would be a considerable amount of drainage. This was true. However, I feel great and confident that this procedure has worked. Swelling and drainage are expected, but I feel like a million bucks and would suggest this to anyone that could. My doctor was amazing, he took his time. They told me what to expect, the pain, the recovery time, and what they would be doing. I had the upper, lower and my hips done in November 2017 on a Friday and I went back to work on Monday, the only pain that I had after a couple of days was getting in and out of a chair, but that only lasted about a week or so.

    I had the bra roll done in January 2018, I have been very happy with the results. I had some pain but I expected that, and when it comes to taking pain medications, I am a lightweight so most of the procedure I don’t remember. I could get into a dress that I purchased two years before, that was a great feeling. My doctor and all the staff was great. I went in with the weight of 168 pounds and now in August 2018, I am down to 152 pounds, I have seven more pounds to go for my ideal weight, and gone from a size 18 to 14, almost down to a 12. I have had so many co-workers notice all the weight that I have lost, and they don’t know that I had it done, but you do need to do your part in eating right. I went in for my six-month checkup and had a question for my doctor and he was in surgery but I could wait until he completed with the other patient, He checked me out said that it was just loss skin so I am getting the Venus treatments for ten weeks at no extra charge. I am sorry for the others had a terrible experience. This is not a permanent fix unless you change your lifestyle, but it certainly gives you a job or kickstart to get the body you’re looking for!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 80 out 84 people found this review helpful

    Venus treatments

    • Florida,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would never recommend Sono Bello to anyone. I went to Sono Bello considering a mini facelift. During the consult, the sales person told me the cost would be approximately $14,000 to $17,000. I have to admit, I had no idea it would be that costly and there is no way that would fit into my budget. She convinced me to purchase these Venus treatments. She showed me before and after pictures that were amazing. These women actually looked like they got a face lift. She pushed me to purchasing these treatments right there and then, so that I she can offer me $250.00 off.

    I paid $1,500 for six treatments. I had absolutely no results whatsoever. I asked for a refund, but they refused. I feel Sono Bello scammed me, as I'm sure they have scammed many others. I wish I had better researched Sono Bello prior to signing a contract. I hope anyone considering Sono Bello, does their research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 287 out 296 people found this review helpful

    Save your money!

    • Suwanee, GA,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could give a negative rating but one star is as low as this will allow me to go. I had the worst experience with Sono Bello Atlanta and have thought long and hard about whether to even review their service because I really just want to be over them. In November 2017, I was scheduled for three rounds of lipo (was doing head to toe). Sahar (I believe is her name) was very attentive and helpful when she wanted my money but became a ghost after the botched job. Some of the experiences I had are listed below and explain why I would NEVER recommend Sono Bello to anyone:

    1) I specifically asked what I could expect (in terms of pain or issues) after the procedure. I was told (by Sahar) that I would be a little sore but could resume normal activities within a day or two.

    2) On the morning of the procedure (which they repeatedly told me to arrive by 5:30 am and they didn't open for another hour, which left me sitting on the floor outside their office, waiting).

    3) After giving me the medication to put me to sleep, the nurse gave me a bunch of papers to sign to indicate that they decided to change the order of the procedures and that instead of doing the body parts to which we previously agreed, they thought it best to do other parts. I can't tell you what the change was because I never received copies (even though I asked in a follow-up visit) of the documents I signed. But who gives a patient paperwork to sign after medicating them anyway?

    4) Within a day or so of the procedure, I felt like my muscles were knotting up all around my midsection (painful). In tears, I repeatedly contacted Sono Bello (Sahar, again) and she had the doctor call me (it was the day after Thanksgiving day, but he called and offered to write a prescription for muscle relaxers. I had some and took them - no help. For days, I continued to call, in tears, about the pain.

    5) During my first follow-up appointment, I explained what was going on with me. The nurse (best employee of Sono Bello - sorry, can't remember her name) told me that it was completely normal. Why am I hearing this for the first time, I questioned. I told her about my conversations with Sahar and she went and got her. Sahar's initial response was, "I didn't say anything because it doesn't happen to everyone." WTH?! Then, she later said that I could have done my own research. No words.

    6) I spoke to their practice administrator because when I continued to call, Sahar would put me on hold, then hang up, then refuse my calls. I explained this to the administrator who was very apologetic but said, "Sahar isn't a medical professional. You should have asked your doctor about that." WTH?! Sahar never suggested that she wasn't qualified to answer questions. Just the opposite - she answered without so much as a blink. And, when I was with the doctor she had come into the room and contradicted something he said, and he changed and went along with her, so why would I not listen to Sahar. Who knew how INCOMPETENT she was better than them?

    7) The back and forth with Sono Bello representatives lasted for days after the procedure (in November) where I clearly said I would NOT be doing the remaining procedures and I wanted my money back (to which Sahar said, "no problem"), but it took from November to late January or early February to get my refund, and then I had to go through their administrator for that, and I only got back the portion of the procedures which weren't done. And, since they changed what was done (after I was medicated) the "new" procedure clearly cost more than what I agreed to before the procedure.

    8) There is very little change to my stomach even though I still wear these darn wraps. AND, clearly, he did not remove all of the fat because there is one pocket above my navel that is clearly a fat pocket. So much for charging me for upper and lower abs.

    I could go on and on about the poor service that I received. I will simply say, don't waste your money. Sono Bello staff repeatedly told me that I was an exception - I am not buying it. There service is horrible and the work they did - horrible. What a waste of money. I would have had more success (peace of mind) literally flushing the thousands of dollars down the toilet. Ugh.

    Proceed with them at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 19, 2018

      Janet H.

      It may be too late, but get a lawyer and sue them.

    • Jul 19, 2018

      Michelle K.

      If you're curious about what happened as a result of this posting, I was contacted by Amanda Garcia (the new practice manager), who hounded me for weeks telling me how things have changed since she is on board, letting me know that she has made a number of employee changes, that she has an extensive background in customer care, etc. Bottom line, she called me for weeks, until I finally agreed to come and speak with her because, according to her, she was going to "make this right." When I did go see her, she wasted much of my time trying to justify all of the things that I wrote about but NEVER once disputing that any of it actually happened.

      Finally, she said, "What exactly do we need to do to get you to take the post down?" Okay, so that is what this is about? I said give me my money back. Two weeks later, someone else called to tell me they weren't going to do it because I had the expected results. I'm not sure how they know that since no one looked at me that day. And more importantly, and the reason I am writing this post, it is ridiculous that Amanda hounded me for over a month and she didn't even have the decency to call me herself. After she hyped herself up to have all of this authority, because according to her, she's the first person to actually "manage" the clinic, she could have at least told me herself that the higher-ups would not honor the request. Instead, the coward, turned it over to someone else. Just one more reason I would NEVER recommend Sonobello to anyone. Their liposuction is poorly done and their customer service SUCKS!

      By the way, I forgot to mention that shortly after the procedure, Sahar said I needed to have these Venus treatments (to resolve the problems with these muscle spasms I was getting, which no one told me might even be a possible outcome). Those things literally felt like they were burning the skin right off my body. The devices were so hot that they had to be in a continuous state of movement. (My skin would for sure have come off if it had rested for one second in any spot.) Well, Amanda said "What the heck? That was totally inappropriate and under no circumstances should I have had the Venus treatments. No one is supposed to get those earlier than 4-6 weeks AFTER a procedure. What? Then, I did have six? Literally starting days after the procedure? What a mess! That whole program is a mess! EVERYTHING Sonobello is, is a mess.

      Amanda talks a good game and hypes herself up like she's the superstar brought in to save the day, in her own mind she's the star player in the NBA, but in the real world she's the towel girl for the rec league's t-ball team. What a waste of my time and my money! If she didn't think so highly of herself, she would have left well enough alone. Her arrogance made her think that all that was needed, a conversation with me and I would roll over. NOT!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 207 out 209 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two years after surgery I have huge holes in my legs at incision sites. All three spots on each leg are deep holes. I never lost a pound, and now my legs look deformed thanks to Sono Bello. They told me in a year I would notice a difference. It has been two and I never wear shorts or bathing suits. I’m 5'7" and I weighed 140 when the procedure was done and weighed the exact same weeks after. Run from this place. I paid well over $5k for them to ruin my legs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 202 out 208 people found this review helpful

    Botched laser lipo and banana roll

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • May 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible results, a botched job. False advertisement. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I ended up looking worse after lipo on my thighs and banana roll. It’s been approximately two years and still results looks horrible. I went from wearing shorts and dresses to wearing pants and long shorts to hide the ugliness of my thighs from the procedure. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

    When I tried to cancel the procedure after their own surgeon said he couldn’t give me the results I wanted and recommended against me having the lipo, Sono Bello would not refund me, so I had to have the procedure or lose my money completely.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 167 out 172 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    I went to get lipo and was not happy with results. I had my checkups and they took pictures. I went another time and spoke to the doctor that did the procedure and I explained to him that I was not happy with the results I also had a laceration which he said could be from the girdle, so I asked him to put some Kenalog, which he did. Then I receive a one-time Venus treatment, and they said if I wanted this to help, it would cost another $2,000 and something, which I said "no" to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 71 people found this review helpful

    Average experience

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I came to Sono Bello, my body was in bad shape and so was my self-esteem. I had my upper abs and lower abs done Their is a downfall with the surgical procedure, and that is that it is very painful. But to me, the pain and the money were worth it, because I got the body I wanted and now I can wear my clothes with no shame.

    I love the whole staff; they were very helpful, and they did pay attention to my needs. I am sorry to hear that some people had bad experiences and wish you well. I love my Sono Bello body!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 19, 2018

      Victoria S.

      What city was the Sono Bello in that you went to?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 113 out 143 people found this review helpful

    Do your homework folks!

    I had my procedure done a little over a week ago. I had my upper and lower abdomen done including the EX procedure, where they cut off the loose skin. I also had my back rolls and upper hips done.

    Reading all of these bad reviews is quite disheartening. Although I feel bad for the patients who had bad experiences, what about those patients who have good results? Working in a sales position prior, most people comment on what "was bad" but not the good aspects of their experience. When a person is looking into ANY type of medical procedure, I am here to say "DO YOUR HOMEWORK!" There are risks involved in ALL procedures, and a person needs to understand this BEFORE having anything done! A person needs to research the facility, staff, doctor and, most importantly, the procedure itself. There are NO guarantees on ANY medical procedure; it is a risk a person personally takes themselves.

    I can, in all honesty, say that so far my experience was good. The sales tactics used ARE high pressure, however, I had already made my mind up BEFORE meeting with her, so I was prepared. My doctor was more than informative! He told me UPFRONT that I may not achieve the results I was looking for and the procedure was NOT painless. He informed me of everything to expect, what not to expect, and what he could and could not do for me personally. During the procedure, he talked to me continuously, and I was able to watch the fat that was taken out of my body. The pain medicine was not enough during the procedure, so I mentioned that to the doctor and he did not hesitate to give me more so I would be more comfortable.

    Reading all of the negative reviews on here does put some fear in me, however, it was MY choice to have this done and I can only hope for the best. I can say I noticed a difference immediately and am looking forward to the swelling subsiding and the final result. I DO KNOW it will take time and will be up to ME to maintain the results. I was informed before the procedure that my weight would not change much, and I feel I now have a responsibility to work on maintaining my results by changing my eating and lifestyle habits.

    For anyone considering this procedure, DO YOUR HOMEWORK FIRST and realize it is not a MIRACLE PROCEDURE, it is up to us individually to make changes for lasting results. The procedure during and after is painful, but it would be painful whether a person chooses Sono Bello or another facility.

    I am looking forward to moving forward with a healthier lifestyle to maintain my 'new' body. I am personally taking responsibility to make that happen, as others should as well. The staff at the Columbus facility has been more than kind and helpful! I will definitely return for another procedure in the future. I would also recommend the Columbus facility to any woman needing a boost in confidence.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 11, 2018

      Sherri Weinert

      Hi Raquel, thank you for your review. I had a consultation today with Kimberly, "Patient Care Consultant" at the Columbus office. I guess I felt good about what she told me that my BMI is 31 and I'm an ideal patient to get optimal results, and this is the best time to get this procedure done, as well as other high-pressure sales tactics. I think that is what makes me more leary. If there is any other information you can provide to me would be very helpful. I'm looking at upper and lower stomach and sides (3 areas). At this time, I don't believe I will need skin removed, although I find that hard to believe! Thank you!

    • Jul 12, 2018

      B W.

      Don't be fooled, my dear. You will NOT see the results, and the nice doctor as you know of him will be no more. If you find that, by your 6-month review, you are still happy with your decision...good for you. But, when you find that the entire sales pitch was a hoax please update your post to speak REALISTICALLY about Sonobello.

    • Sep 14, 2018

      Francesca A.

      Hello Raquel,

      Thank you so much for your comment, it helped me feel so much better. You are correct that we choose to do this and the contracts do say "results vary per person." I was feeling so upset when I started reading the bad comments three days after my procedure but after reading yours, I realize I have to try to make the best out of this investment. Thank you again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 65 out 90 people found this review helpful

    I had my first procedure today

    • Edina, MN,
    • Feb 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my first procedure today of my upper and lower abdomen. I was told right from the beginning after I saw the doctor from my re-app that of course after the label, there was going to be a considerable swelling period and there would be a considerable mount of drainage. This is true. I have the first stage of the garment around my abdomen, however, I feel great and confident that this procedure has worked. Swelling and drainage are expected, but I feel like 1 million bucks and would suggest this to anyone that could. My doctor was amazing, he took his time, and I currently have a second set up for two weeks from now. This is not a permanent fix unless you change your lifestyle, but it certainly gives you a job or kickstart to get the battery you’re looking for!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review