About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non-invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.

  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.

  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right for You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. Information is subject to change, please visit the main company website at www.sonobello.com for the latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

74 Consumer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 8 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Botched laser lipo and banana roll

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • May 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible results, a botched job. False advertisement. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I ended up looking worse after lipo on my thighs and banana roll. It’s been approximately two years and still results looks horrible. I went from wearing shorts and dresses to wearing pants and long shorts to hide the ugliness of my thighs from the procedure. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

    When I tried to cancel the procedure after their own surgeon said he couldn’t give me the results I wanted and recommended against me having the lipo, Sono Bello would not refund me, so I had to have the procedure or lose my money completely.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    I went to get lipo and was not happy with results. I had my checkups and they took pictures. I went another time and spoke to the doctor that did the procedure and I explained to him that I was not happy with the results I also had a laceration which he said could be from the girdle, so I asked him to put some Kenalog, which he did. Then I receive a one-time Venus treatment, and they said if I wanted this to help, it would cost another $2,000 and something, which I said "no" to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Average experience

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I came to Sono Bello, my body was in bad shape and so was my self-esteem. I had my upper abs and lower abs done Their is a downfall with the surgical procedure, and that is that it is very painful. But to me, the pain and the money were worth it, because I got the body I wanted and now I can wear my clothes with no shame.

    I love the whole staff; they were very helpful, and they did pay attention to my needs. I am sorry to hear that some people had bad experiences and wish you well. I love my Sono Bello body!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Do your homework folks!

    I had my procedure done a little over a week ago. I had my upper and lower abdomen done including the EX procedure, where they cut off the loose skin. I also had my back rolls and upper hips done.

    Reading all of these bad reviews is quite disheartening. Although I feel bad for the patients who had bad experiences, what about those patients who have good results? Working in a sales position prior, most people comment on what "was bad" but not the good aspects of their experience. When a person is looking into ANY type of medical procedure, I am here to say "DO YOUR HOMEWORK!" There are risks involved in ALL procedures, and a person needs to understand this BEFORE having anything done! A person needs to research the facility, staff, doctor and, most importantly, the procedure itself. There are NO guarantees on ANY medical procedure; it is a risk a person personally takes themselves.

    I can, in all honesty, say that so far my experience was good. The sales tactics used ARE high pressure, however, I had already made my mind up BEFORE meeting with her, so I was prepared. My doctor was more than informative! He told me UPFRONT that I may not achieve the results I was looking for and the procedure was NOT painless. He informed me of everything to expect, what not to expect, and what he could and could not do for me personally. During the procedure, he talked to me continuously, and I was able to watch the fat that was taken out of my body. The pain medicine was not enough during the procedure, so I mentioned that to the doctor and he did not hesitate to give me more so I would be more comfortable.

    Reading all of the negative reviews on here does put some fear in me, however, it was MY choice to have this done and I can only hope for the best. I can say I noticed a difference immediately and am looking forward to the swelling subsiding and the final result. I DO KNOW it will take time and will be up to ME to maintain the results. I was informed before the procedure that my weight would not change much, and I feel I now have a responsibility to work on maintaining my results by changing my eating and lifestyle habits.

    For anyone considering this procedure, DO YOUR HOMEWORK FIRST and realize it is not a MIRACLE PROCEDURE, it is up to us individually to make changes for lasting results. The procedure during and after is painful, but it would be painful whether a person chooses Sono Bello or another facility.

    I am looking forward to moving forward with a healthier lifestyle to maintain my 'new' body. I am personally taking responsibility to make that happen, as others should as well. The staff at the Columbus facility has been more than kind and helpful! I will definitely return for another procedure in the future. I would also recommend the Columbus facility to any woman needing a boost in confidence.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 11, 2018

      Sherri Weinert

      Hi Raquel, thank you for your review. I had a consultation today with Kimberly, "Patient Care Consultant" at the Columbus office. I guess I felt good about what she told me that my BMI is 31 and I'm an ideal patient to get optimal results, and this is the best time to get this procedure done, as well as other high-pressure sales tactics. I think that is what makes me more leary. If there is any other information you can provide to me would be very helpful. I'm looking at upper and lower stomach and sides (3 areas). At this time, I don't believe I will need skin removed, although I find that hard to believe! Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 54 people found this review helpful

    I had my first procedure today

    • Edina, MN,
    • Feb 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my first procedure today of my upper and lower abdomen. I was told right from the beginning after I saw the doctor from my re-app that of course after the label, there was going to be a considerable swelling period and there would be a considerable mount of drainage. This is true. I have the first stage of the garment around my abdomen, however, I feel great and confident that this procedure has worked. Swelling and drainage are expected, but I feel like 1 million bucks and would suggest this to anyone that could. My doctor was amazing, he took his time, and I currently have a second set up for two weeks from now. This is not a permanent fix unless you change your lifestyle, but it certainly gives you a job or kickstart to get the battery you’re looking for!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 200 out 207 people found this review helpful

    Sono Bello - the worst decision I EVER made!

    On November 15th, 2017 I went into Sono Bello for an upper and lower eyelid lift. It is now January, and I have a huge lump in the corner of my right eye and a scar that has such uneven skin that it literally has a shelf of skin sticking out. Makeup makes it look worse. The scar on the other eye is at least flat, but it looks like they drew it with an etch-a-sketch.

    I have called to Sono Bello office, they just smile and tell me to wait six months, as if time will suddenly make the skin go flat again and the scar go away (not likely). I tried to contact the main office in Seattle, and they won't even call me back. There is no interest in my problem at all, now that they have my nearly $5K.

    During the surgery, the doctor was flippant and acted like they were doing me a favor. I was leaving the surgical suite and she was sitting in the hall texting. I guess I just inconvenienced her day. When I left, I had blood running down my face, and they did not even try to clean me up. It was like I went to a foreign country or something. My first visit was high-pressure sales. I can only compare it to a timeshare presentation.

    AVOID these quacks and hacks! They deserve NO stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2018

      Romaine Roberts

      I would report the surgeon and the clinic to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR.com). Also get one of the TV news investigative reporters to come and see you. But, I would not want them to do any corrective follow up. They would have to pay for a referral.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 191 out 194 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    I spent $3,400, and it did absolutely nothing. Don’t waste your money on it. I wish I would never have had it done. I have had issues with my stomach ever since. It does not work. Money I could have spent going to a health clinic to help me lose. I can’t believe how much of a scam this is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 220 out 222 people found this review helpful

    Lipo nightmare

    I had surgery a year ago in March. Upper and lower stomach and waist smart lipo procedure. Whereas the surgery itself went well, the recovery from this was horrific, and I ended up in the hospital because my whole abdomen became massively inflamed and infected because the massive amounts of saline they inject in you did not completely drain out because my incisions started to heal over before all the drainage exited my body. I had to have all my incisions reopened and literally forcibly with his hands pushed out the bloody fluid out of my incisions, spuing into buckets and plenty of cotton bandaging to boot. The nurse assisting kept saying "oh my god, you poor girl!"

    To say this was was painful is a complete understatement! I was hysterically screaming and crying from the incredible pain. My whole abdominal area and waist were black and purple from this blockage. I was told by the hospital's surgeon that the Sono Bello surgeon came dangerously close to piercing my main abdominal cavity with the liposuction tool, which would cause death.

    All in all, I certainly would not recommend this type of procedure without sewing in drains so that all the fluid is expelled within a few days not months. Just a horrible experience in all. It literally took six months and lots of antibiotics/piano killers until the bruising and pain to be gone. It has taken a year to see the real results, but now I have to have a tummy tuck from the loose skin left over. I am pretty much hesitant to do this since the last surgery went so badly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      Kelda

      I hope you have a lawsuit pending against them!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 196 out 196 people found this review helpful

    No permanent results

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in for facial rejuvenation and was afraid, but excited. Now post surgery, I’m so, so disappointed as the results were only temporary. I went in on October 3, 2017, and it is now January 2, 2018, one day until three months, and my face is showing the same lines and sagging around jowls as before. I spent a lot of money and did not get results.

    I would NOT RECOMMEND this place. I wish I had checked the reviews prior, but I was excited and couldn’t wait to get my new face and results. I am so, so disappointed and cry every day! I only felt good for two months, and then it was gone and back to the sagging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 264 out 269 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    Oh my god, where do I start? I was so anxious to get this procedure done that I didn't check the reviews. Do not come here. I did my procedure in March 2017 and paid over $5000 for three areas and my stomach is uneven and still big. I'm so disappointed in them because they make it sound so good that you will have the results you want, but that's not true. My last visit was in November and they pretty much said they can't do anything for me. They do not stand by the so-called warranty they have.

    This place should be shut down. I give them zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2018

      Natalia Hernandez

      Can I ask what location you went to? I have an appointment that is a few days away in downtown Chicago, I'm curious if it's the same place you went to.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 276 out 281 people found this review helpful

    Run! Rip off! Sucker walking!

    • Utah,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged over $11K/$1600.00+ per area for my procedure. This included the Tri-Sculp Lipo of my midsection. I had my procedure done in August 2017. My weight hasn't changed, I never got below 4 lbs of my original weight, and I am now back up to 170 lbs. I diet and exercise, and I still look like I am 7 months pregnant.

    The sales girl in the Utah office told me that Dr. Miller would be removing 80% of the fat cells around my midsection with the Tri-Sculp Liposuction. Dr. Miller didn't do this. In fact, other than a large scar across my pubic area, and the pits along my stomach area, I really don't know what he did. However, Dr. Miller did do an unauthorized procedure on my belly button.

    By the way, I wouldn't give them even half a star rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Connie Bramwell

      Hi Lisa, I just had a procedure just like yours, with the same area done by Dr. Miller too. I had mine done on January 12th and I was planning on going in again on the 19th for my face area. Reading the reviews, this is scary, I'm sure I will lose my money if I back out. I just don't want to lose my life, or even worse be an invalid. I read that there was one that lost her life, and was awarded 1.8 million to settle.

      I don't know what to do? I haven't lost really anything out the holes they poked in me, and I have just called them about this but they haven't called back yet. I wonder how many in the state of Utah had this problem with them? I would like to get ALL of us together and go to the state attorney general and file a complaint. Also, go to Get Gephardt and let people in Utah know who are considering this. DON'T.

    • Jan 17, 2018

      Lisa

      Hi Connie, I agree, I think victims of this crime ring need to get together and shut this place down. FYI, Connie, I had some work done on my face a few years ago at Vincent Surgical Arts. I had really good results from them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 74

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review