About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non-invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.

  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.

  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right for You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. Information is subject to change, please visit the main company website at www.sonobello.com for the latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

67 Consumer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 8 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 67
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Lipo nightmare

    I had surgery a year ago in March. Upper and lower stomach and waist smart lipo procedure. Whereas the surgery itself went well, the recovery from this was horrific, and I ended up in the hospital because my whole abdomen became massively inflamed and infected because the massive amounts of saline they inject in you did not completely drain out because my incisions started to heal over before all the drainage exited my body. I had to have all my incisions reopened and literally forcibly with his hands pushed out the bloody fluid out of my incisions, spuing into buckets and plenty of cotton bandaging to boot. The nurse assisting kept saying "oh my god, you poor girl!"

    To say this was was painful is a complete understatement! I was hysterically screaming and crying from the incredible pain. My whole abdominal area and waist were black and purple from this blockage. I was told by the hospital's surgeon that the Sono Bello surgeon came dangerously close to piercing my main abdominal cavity with the liposuction tool, which would cause death.

    All in all, I certainly would not recommend this type of procedure without sewing in drains so that all the fluid is expelled within a few days not months. Just a horrible experience in all. It literally took six months and lots of antibiotics/piano killers until the bruising and pain to be gone. It has taken a year to see the real results, but now I have to have a tummy tuck from the loose skin left over. I am pretty much hesitant to do this since the last surgery went so badly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    No permanent results

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in for facial rejuvenation and was afraid, but excited. Now post surgery, I’m so, so disappointed as the results were only temporary. I went in on October 3, 2017, and it is now January 2, 2018, one day until three months, and my face is showing the same lines and sagging around jowls as before. I spent a lot of money and did not get results.

    I would NOT RECOMMEND this place. I wish I had checked the reviews prior, but I was excited and couldn’t wait to get my new face and results. I am so, so disappointed and cry every day! I only felt good for two months, and then it was gone and back to the sagging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 86 out 88 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    Oh my god, where do I start? I was so anxious to get this procedure done that I didn't check the reviews. Do not come here. I did my procedure in March 2017 and paid over $5000 for three areas and my stomach is uneven and still big. I'm so disappointed in them because they make it sound so good that you will have the results you want, but that's not true. My last visit was in November and they pretty much said they can't do anything for me. They do not stand by the so-called warranty they have.

    This place should be shut down. I give them zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 108 out 112 people found this review helpful

    Run! Rip off! Sucker walking!

    • Utah,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged over $11K/$1600.00+ per area for my procedure. This included the Tri-Sculp Lipo of my midsection. I had my procedure done in August 2017. My weight hasn't changed, I never got below 4 lbs of my original weight, and I am now back up to 170 lbs. I diet and exercise, and I still look like I am 7 months pregnant.

    The sales girl in the Utah office told me that Dr. Miller would be removing 80% of the fat cells around my midsection with the Tri-Sculp Liposuction. Dr. Miller didn't do this. In fact, other than a large scar across my pubic area, and the pits along my stomach area, I really don't know what he did. However, Dr. Miller did do an unauthorized procedure on my belly button.

    By the way, I wouldn't give them even half a star rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Connie Bramwell

      Hi Lisa, I just had a procedure just like yours, with the same area done by Dr. Miller too. I had mine done on January 12th and I was planning on going in again on the 19th for my face area. Reading the reviews, this is scary, I'm sure I will lose my money if I back out. I just don't want to lose my life, or even worse be an invalid. I read that there was one that lost her life, and was awarded 1.8 million to settle.

      I don't know what to do? I haven't lost really anything out the holes they poked in me, and I have just called them about this but they haven't called back yet. I wonder how many in the state of Utah had this problem with them? I would like to get ALL of us together and go to the state attorney general and file a complaint. Also, go to Get Gephardt and let people in Utah know who are considering this. DON'T.

    • Jan 17, 2018

      Lisa

      Hi Connie, I agree, I think victims of this crime ring need to get together and shut this place down. FYI, Connie, I had some work done on my face a few years ago at Vincent Surgical Arts. I had really good results from them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 109 out 111 people found this review helpful

    Is the down payment worth fighting for?

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    A couple weeks ago I had my first meeting at Sono Bello. I was excited about the process and looked forward to speaking with a doctor. I met a sales agent. She was pleasant enough but nonrefundable a good salesperson. In the end I agreed to pay the down payment and sign the non refundable agreement. They got me (never make such a decision without meeting with a doctor and giving it some thought).

    I later had a routine medical appointment with an unrelated physician. My findings came back with abnormal. Being what I thought was the picture of health, I was terrified. I was informed to get further testing. The last thing on my mind now was alternative surgery. The night before my physician consultation, I couldn't sleep. I paid +$1,200 down and thought it was nonrefundable. I thought about how the trauma could affect me or the meds. Was it worth my health just to smooth out some problem areas?

    Later I received a reminder call that I had my appointment coming up the next day, and later that night I received another call saying that there was a cancelation and I could come in an have the surgery at the time of my consultation. I told the person no. I had decided not to go through with it but I wanted to meet with the doctor and let him know what was going on and my thoughts. Maybe I would just postpone or just take the money loss.

    I met the doctor and nurse, and they were pleasant enough. He even reviewed my medical findings the other doctor had given me. He and the nurse assured me I would be ok and sometimes findings come back irregular, and they understood if I wanted to postpone to a later date until I felt better.

    As I was checking out the receptionist inquired about the rescheduling. I told her earlier about my medical findings and that I was scared but since I could not get a refund, I would reschedule later, if the findings improved. She said medical reasoning might have an exception, she was pleasant but still encouraged me to reschedule later, and they would hold the payment.

    After thinking about it for a moment, with the financial burden lifted, I thought about my health and said to cancel. In summary, I would take the refund due to medical. I thanked her and the staff and departed. I felt good about my experience until about 10 minutes later when I received a call from the receptionist. The nurse said I could not get a refund because the appointment was less than five days away. Keep in mind all of this, including the new medical findings, just occurred within the past two weeks.

    Bothered by this I contacted associates that had undergone similar procedures in Florida. I was told that a medical workup should have been done before the surgery. Scheduling me for surgery without the basics eval, labs, etc., was dangerous. This made sense. I was initially assessed by a salesperson, though all appeared good, no type of agency would not assure the customer is healthy. Why would a nonrefundable fee be initiated before consultation with a doctor? Why would someone call me the evening before to offer me surgical rescheduling for the next day?

    Again, all of this occurred within 2 weeks and largely during the holidays. It was not communicated to me clearly that if I had a medical issue, I needed to cancel within 5 days. I feel conflicted and had. Tonight I just read Sono Bello reviews, and they are frightening. Since I could not get a refund, I have postponed until I complete further medical testing. This is not sitting well with me. It is likely I will take the loss out of concern for my health and fear of what others have reported. I do believe I should be refunded due to medical concerns. What are your thoughts?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 195 out 196 people found this review helpful

    Got ripped off

    • Fredericksburg, TX,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted my batwings (under arm flab) reduced. I met Veronica who gave me the appropriate (or so I thought) program for what I needed and I had to sign paperwork right there and then. Of course, who reads paperwork straight away when paper and pen are shoved in front of you? Veronica talked so much and so fast that I was in a daze.

    I was at the point of having half of my procedure carried out, and I noticed absolutely nothing had changed. So I asked to speak to someone about it. I spoke with the manager and explained the situation to her, and she asked me how much of the flab was I expecting to lose. I told her I would like half of it gone but was actually thinking I would like a little more than that. She told me that they could never get rid of half. And because she was not present when the conversation happened between me and Veronica, she would have to speak with Veronica, and she would get back with me that day.

    Three days later I had heard nothing. So I called back and had to leave a message for her. Finally, she called and told me that Veronica had said that I had mentioned nothing to her about getting rid of flab under my arms! That's the reason I went to Sono Bello in the first place! Veronica told the manager to tell me that I should complete the other half of the treatment then go to a gym and lift weights. What a nerve.

    I paid $2500 and received nothing in return. I tried getting my money back through my credit card, but Sono Bello's contract says they do not give refunds so BEWARE of this disreputable company who seem to have a bunch of negative reviews.

    P.S. I don't know why I was forced to give them a "1-star" rating, but I had to. I give them a zero rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 184 out 186 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    I was botched and the Office Manager was supposed to contact me since February 2017. I called several times, but she never returned my calls. The muscle on my right thigh cannot be repaired, and now I have one thigh larger than the other. This is just one of the damages I could not fix. Now I am going to have my attorney go after them for damages.

    The last doctor I saw treated me as though I was in the wrong, but he confirmed that my botched could not be fixed. However, I needed to meet with the Office Manager.

    I gave 1 star because I had to rate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 178 out 182 people found this review helpful

    Theives

    • Arizona,
    • Oct 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company should be shut down! They are trained thieves who care about one thing: STEALING YOUR MONEY. The people that work here are untrained salesmen with no medical background and have no business being in a medical office. The turn over is incredible, and you will see a new face everytime you go in. Do yourself a favor and stay away. I canceled my procedure after reading all the reviews and seeing pictures of botched procedures.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 316 out 324 people found this review helpful

    Run!

    When you first go here, you speak to a sales person, not a medical personal or anyone who knows anything about the outcomes. I spent about $12,000.00 here, which was a big waste. I was told visit after visit that I was still swollen and it would get better.

    After about three months I demanded to see a doctor (which is almost impossible). I received an appointment with one, and I called to follow up to ensure I still had an appointment with this doctor. I was told she was busy and I could not see her. I called again and again and finally got in with the doctor (mind you, I was told "you can see why he is no longer with us").

    I got in to see the doctor, she sat down, her elbows on her knees, hands on her chin, and she sat there shaking her head back and forth. She said I needed more lipo and corrected, you can tell spots were not done, and lines put in were not right. This doctor wanted me to see another doctor there stating he would be better at correcting this. When I went to this appointment, I was told he would not fix it as I still would not be happy. I was told by Sono Bello if I paid another 3,600.00 they would redo everything. The lady in charge of the office talked the first doctor into approving one spot. I was so devastated, I canceled the appointment.

    One spot I would still be a mess. One visit I was there the staff was talking in the hallway, there was a customer who had a rash on their face after a procedure, they were told to tell the customer that it was rosacea as they were a good candidate for this. It took me two years to show my husband the shape I am in, and the second doctor there even told me if I lost weight it would only look worse.

    I will not be able to fix what they did since financially it is not feasible. Please save yourself the pain I see every day. Save a little more and go to a good place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 8, 2017

      Michelle

      I called them today to schedule a consultation. They couldn't even answer the phone. I decided to investigate this company online since I kept being placed on hold with no answer. I'm glad I made that choice. After reading your comment, I will not contact them again.

    • Oct 18, 2017

      Gio

      That's horrific and sad. I'm pretty sure you are still beautiful! This place deserves to be shut down!

    • Nov 9, 2017

      Rebekah

      Wow, what an atrocity! Isn't there a medical organization that can investigate and shut this place down? Just horrible how many lives they have ruined. They should be on "American Greed."

    • Nov 20, 2017

      Kathie

      I was considering this but after reading all of the comments, I decided that I do not want to go anywhere near this place! I was in the beauty industry for years, and I've never even heard of somebody doing this to people or treating them so bad like this! I will do my best to pass along these comments to anyone that is considering something like that!

      The most important thing that I can say is that I hate cheating and manipulative people. I would last probably two minutes at the most in this office. What a shame that everybody comes in to just have something done to make them feel better and instead their lives are ruined!

      My daughter and I were both considering some work but I think what I'll do is go to a reputable doctor and not waste my time on these hacks! Shame on them! I do believe that the state of Wisconsin should be involved with this! They have to have some type of medical license or agreement with the state! I would start there as far as filing complaints and definitely get an attorney like.....now!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 303 out 307 people found this review helpful

    Worst place to go, these people are bad, all they want is your money

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to Sono Bello on August 3rd, 2017. I told them my medical history, and they need papers from my doctors. They told me to contact my doctor, they told me one thing and told my doctor another. My doctor finally sent a fax, but they said they couldn't use it. My surgery was for August 26, 2017 (this past Saturday) but it didn't happen. I put money down, over $6,000 credit, and now they canceled on me and now they don't want to give me my deposit back.

    They keep telling me they are busy. Veronica or Robin will call me back, but I got nothing. I talked to Jasmine on Friday, the day before surgery. She said they had to cancel my surgery. I was supposed to do love handles and lower and upper abs.

    I don't think this place should be open. I lost my deposit but I will find a better place to go to. This is the worst place to go. Please take my advice. I wish I would have read the reviews about Sono Bello before I went. Yeah, these people are so nice at first, but then when the doctor says no, they don't want to give me my deposit. Lesson learned. I hope you don't pay them like I did. These people are the devil, these people tell you lies. I only saw the doctor at the appointment for only five minutes. I wish I never, ever went to Sono Bello in Dallas. Worst place ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 9, 2017

      LENORE RAVEN MOON

      I would file a dispute with my credit card company and tell them that you received no services for the money you gave them. Also, find something in writing that says exactly what the $6,000 was for. These people sound like Aspen Dental, where they get you to max your credit first and then you're screwed if your services are not performed properly. They are in the business of selling.

    • Oct 13, 2017

      Diana

      Call this number 702-325-0090 and be firm. Her name is Kasey Andar she is not very bright, record all your conversations and turn her into the attorney general. These people are thieves.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 265 out 268 people found this review helpful

    Honest

    I am only giving two stars because of after care. I don't want people to know I had surgery but I would like to share my experience. I had my back done over a year ago now, and I have had ONE follow up appointment and the nurse didn't even know what surgery I had done. I paid in cash, and I firmly believe that's the reason why my experience was not as attentive as a client, that's how they made me feel. My body suit didn't fit my body type as in when my butt moved the compressor would roll up, so after much back and forth, they sent another out after a couple of weeks that still didn't cover all the areas done and didn't fit my frame.

    Recently, because after one year you can see most results completed, they said that well, there are some lumps in my back, and it's lop-sided, simple things I just wanted them to consult me on. After two weeks of phone tag, they have my email, my phone, emergency contact, yet still can't reach me after a year to schedule a follow up after my surgery. That's my experience to date, and my doctor and nurse were amazing though, absolutely amazing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 67

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review