About Sono Bello

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 35,000 procedures, and to be “the nation’s leading liposuction and body contouring specialist.”

As such, the company’s 45 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non-invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Scottsdale, AZ, though they have 19 locations across the U.S. However, only four Sono Bello centers are listed with the Better Business Bureau (Portland, OR, Beverly Hills, CA, Minneapolis, MN, and St. Louis, MO), and ratings range from A- all the way to F.

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are negative. The most common complaints we encountered during our research cited that initial consultations are conducted with salespeople (not physicians) who often use high-pressure sales tactics to get you to put down a deposit, and poor post-surgery results (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How Sono Bello Works

With 19 centers located throughout the U.S., Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello utilizes three primary procedures, which include:

  • Laser Lipo with TriSculpt™ – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “wide-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and laser liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. While you’re awake, your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.

  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.

  • VelaShape™ – As the only “safe, effective and virtually painless FDA-cleared non-surgical medical solution for body reshaping and cellulite treatment,” VelaShape™ can provide ideal results in as little as four treatments. The technology works by shrinking fat cells and chambers and reducing the appearance of cellulite on the surface of your skin.

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction and require much less healing time. In fact, the company claims that most clients walk out of the office immediately following their treatments, and return to normal activity within a few days. In addition, the company claims that these procedures are available for both men and women and that they can treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,249 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated. Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right for You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research:

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician but is instead conducted by a salesperson. Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. Information is subject to change, please visit the main company website at www.sonobello.com for the latest details.

» For Further Reading: How to Find the Best Plastic Surgeon: Expert Tips & Warning Signs

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

90 Consumer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 26 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 8 1 star:  51
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 90
Sort reviews by:

  • Sono Bello San Diego rocks!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience at Sono Bello was amazing. I would recommend Sono Bello San Diego to all my friends. The staff, from the office managers to doctors and nurses, were all so friendly. I am SO happy with the results too! Thank you Sono Bello.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sono Bello

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The staff at this office is amazing. Everyone is very friendly. My consultation was with LauraLee and she was amazing. She is the reason I decided to go for it. After her, meeting with my nurse at pre-op to my nurse during the procedure and doctor were all very pleasant. Amanda, you were a great nurse and Dr. G...I truly enjoyed you.

    After reading some of the other reviews, which I should have done before, I do agree it is pricey. So far, with my experience, it has been worth it and I am hoping that a few weeks after my surgery (one week today) that I will be able to to rate them 5 stars. Until my swelling goes down, I won't see results. So more shall be revealed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Professional

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One of Sono Bello’s positives is the way one is treated from the minute they walk in the door. Whether there for the first time or the tenth time, you are greeted with kindness and confidence. Whether you are there for a consult or a procedure, you feel as though you are in good hands. Knowledgeable staff from the front desk to the operating room are available to answer questions and provide support at every step of the process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great experience!

    • Edmond, OK,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sono Bello is amazing. The office is gorgeous and the staff is so friendly. I’ve had a fabulous experience each time I’ve been in. Dr. Jones is knowledgeable and professional, and his nursing staff is awesome as well. I would highly recommend Sono Bello!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Still looking fantastic

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi, just checking in. It’s been 2 months now since my surgery and every day I look at myself and just fall in love because I can see my waistline, my hips, and my abdominal area flat. I’m looking and feeling super sexy at 50. I’m still just so amazed at the results of my surgery. I have been out shopping, buying new clothes because my waistline has decreased several inches. I continue to exercise and eat healthy also. Guys, thanks again so much, you’re all awesome!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My consultation team rocked

    • Virginia,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My consultation team, Greden and Courtney at the Woodbridge, Virginia center, were amazing. I had so many questions at my consultation, and they answered them. I have since had so many more questions and they're always answering me nights, weekends and off hours! They didn't let the contract signing for surgery or payment stop the way they care. I'd refer any of my friends to them. Dr. Morse did my surgery, he was very caring the entire time and really kept me at ease. His nurse was phenomenal with calming me down and taking care of me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Highly recommended

    • Denver, CO,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I hit 30, I started noticing that I had let myself go a little. I went in for a consultation, and by the end of it, I had an appointment for the procedure the next day due to a cancellation! The woman who did my consultation answered all of my questions and was so pleasant that it made me feel comfortable. Everyone, since I started going in, has been so nice and welcoming. I would certainly recommend this group to anyone who feels like they are stuck in their body!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing!

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What an amazing experience! I have never been to an office with such personable and caring staff. They genuinely care about each patient. Dr. Lionelli was such an exceptional surgeon. His work is wonderful. Cassie at the front desk makes every visit so enjoyable and comfortable. I highly recommend to anyone that is in search of having a better body and more confidence.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Very...very...disappointed

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was my second time going to Sono Bello. The first time was awesome, I went down two sizes with no issues, was back on my feet and back to work within a week. Now let's talk about the second procedure. I had some medical issues, and from the meds I had to take for health reasons, I picked back up some weight. I scheduled another 3 area procedure to be done, and this time I was so disappointed in them. I was left with dark quarter sides marks on the back of both thighs. On the inside of my thighs a long dark crease, with an indentation along with it. I went back for them to fix the problem but they could not get it done. They came up with every excuse there was and passed me from one person to another. I have told all my family and friends that were interested (DO NOT go to Sono Bello). They don't care once they have your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 36 people found this review helpful

    New me

    • Chandler, AZ,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. I had bra back area and waist fat removed. I heard negative reviews, and I had to find out for myself. It was the very opposite. The whole staff was GREAT. I felt really welcomed and everything was explained to me. I knew that they were going to remove fat, but after that, it was up to me to eat right, exercise, and follow directions.

    Dr. Case was great; he called me later to see how I was doing. The nurses called, the receptionist. The coordinator was great, I couldn't ask for a better staff. I am very happy with my results. I would recommend this place to everyone. You have to remember it takes time to heal and I am very happy. I see a big difference. We can't all be Barbie dolls but getting close is good too. I'm happy with my body! Thank you Scottsdale Sono Bello.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 25, 2018

      Gina B.

      Sadly, yes it works, however, in a year, your fat will go where you never had fat before.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 132 out 138 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t waste your money. I’m currently in a dispute with them and CareCredit to get my money back. My sales lady, Sarah, pushed it all on me and she false advertised. I don’t know how she sleeps at night knowing how many lies she tells and how she uses your emotions to get you to sign today so that you are STUCK! When I say stuck, it means the day you sign you have to put money down. If you decide the next day you don’t want to do it, you lose that down payment. Also, what they don’t want you to know is you pay for it all up front so if you decide fourteen days before surgery you don’t want to do it you are still charged the full amount REGARDLESS If you had surgery or NOT! They say they will remove 50-70% of fat. Haha! Such a big fat disgusting lie!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 90

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review