About Sono Bello

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Nov 21, 2018

By specializing only in body contouring, Sono Bello claims to have performed over 100,000 procedures, and to be “America’s top cosmetic surgery specialists” based on “the most locations nationwide and largest group of practicing board-certified doctors.”

As such, the company’s more than 100 specialized physicians use “advanced micro laser, and power laser-assisted liposuction equipment, as well as numerous invasive and non-invasive sculpting techniques” to help “you achieve your specific beauty goals.”

Sono Bello is headquartered in Kirkland, WA, though they have more than 50 locations nationwide in more than 25 states.

How Sono Bello Works

Sono Bello claims to provide “technically advanced, highly personalized” body contouring services that can help you instantly and effectively remove targeted fat—especially for any of your problem areas that diet and exercise aren’t effectively addressing.

To accomplish this, Sono Bello offers two primary procedures, which include:

  • TriSculpt™ Laser Liposuction – As the name suggests, the TriSculpt™ process entails 3 steps: “stay-awake localized anesthesia, power-assisted liposuction and micro-laser assisted liposuction,” and is an ideal procedure for your stomach, waist, arms and legs. You remain awake, receiving local anesthesia in the treatment areas. Your physician will use micro cannulas to gently suck out unwanted fat. Then, a separate micro cannula equipped with a low-power laser is used to remove fat from smaller areas, which also stimulates collagen production.
  • Venus Freeze™ – An FDA cleared, non-surgical reduction procedure that reduces the appearance of cellulite by using a combination of Radio Frequency (RF) and Magnetic Pulses. According to the company, the procedure is painless, and you’ll feel only a gentle warming and massaging sensation on your skin.
  • Excessive skin removal – Sono Bello uses the TriSculpt E/X™ to remove excess skin. Their site notes this procedure is “often needed where the remaining loose and slightly sagging lower abdominal skin is removed.”

According to the Sono Bello website, these procedures are much less invasive than traditional liposuction and require much less healing time. The procedures are available for both men and women and treat a wide variety of areas, including chest, chin, waist, abs, arms, back, and legs.

Sono Bello Pricing

While Sono Bello claims that their services are affordable, no pricing information is listed on the company’s website, other than claiming that prices start at $1,349 per area, with a minimum of three areas treated.

Due to the highly customized nature of the procedures, you’ll need to contact the company at 800-995-1136 to schedule your free consultation (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

With this in mind, Sono Bello claims to offer monthly payment options and zero percent financing upon approved credit.

This financing, according to a company representative, takes place through Care Credit, a medical credit card that offers various financing options depending on the cost of the procedure and the length of repayment you want.

Sono Bello Customer Reviews

In general, it appears that the majority of online customer reviews regarding Sono Bello are range from average to good.

At the time of publishing, 90 HighYa reviewers rated the company for an average of 2.4 stars. The 20 most recent reviews were, for the most part, 4 or 5 stars or 1 star.

The recurring theme among positive reviews was how friendly and supportive the Sono Bello staff are. One review noted that while the treatment was “pricey” but that it was “worth it.”

The 1-star reviews complained about results that did not match expectations and, in a couple of cases, scars or dark marks on the skin.

Bottom Line: Is Sono Bello Right for You?

As with any medical procedure, there are always risks involved, and not all patients will achieve the same results. With this in mind, let’s take a look at some of the concerns we uncovered during our Sono Bello research.

First, outside of failure to experience meaningful results, the most common complaint we encountered cited high-pressure sales tactics. Unbeknownst to most customers, your initial Sono Bello consultation is not with a physician but is instead conducted by a salesperson.

Many customers complained that they were given inaccurate information during their consultations (e.g. about the results they could reasonably expect, the amount of healing time involved, etc.), and that the company is more concerned about convincing you to put down a deposit than they are about helping their patients look better.

With this said, remember that any deposit money you hand over is non-refundable, so make sure you fully intend to follow through before doing so. In fact, you may want to leave the office and think about your options for 24 hours before proceeding.

Finally, it’s important to note that according to this article, one Bellevue patient died as a result of acute lidocaine intoxication after receiving treatment from her local Sono Bello clinic, which ultimately resulted in a lawsuit that was settled for $1.8 million.

This article was originally published on March 31, 2014 based on publicly available information at the time of research. At the company's request, this article was updated on November 21, 2018. Information is subject to change, please visit the company website for the latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

191 Consumer Reviews for Sono Bello

Average Consumer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 100 4 star: 14 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  64
Bottom Line: 60% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 191
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    FREE Consultation

    I went in for a free consultation on a Tuesday morning. Sat down with Christina. She went over the procedure, never offered any pictures of results until I asked. She started asking about payment and financing before telling me how much my procedure would be. The price she initially gave was $15,000.00. I told her that I wasn’t willing to pay that amount. All of a sudden she said they would do it for $8000 but if I scheduled for the following Saturday then they could do it for $7,500.00. I didn’t like her sales tactics, so I told her that I was going to get a few other quotes and her friendly attitude quickly changed. The following week, I received a credit card in the mail that I never signed for or authorized. My attorney is looking into this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Liposuction

    • Greenwood Village, CO,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, the price they quoted me was $1,000 off. Paul Ziewbal is not a professional doctor. The treatment hurt more than childbirth. Finally, the results is horrible. I would do anything to have my old body back. My legs look so abnormal.

    I was treated like a number, not a patient.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 24 people found this review helpful

    My Sono Bello results seen one week post procedure

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm so thrilled to share the results I've seen after my procedure. What has been a battle to get rid of my problem ab area, I am now seeing the results one week post op. The Ontario Sono Bello location is stunning! Bright, clean, modern. The staff is amazing! The doctor is too! Everything explained well, and what to expect. I'm so glad I finally took the time to take care of me. Thank you Sono Bello Ontario.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Cris T.

      If you don't mind sharing, what were the costs like? I have been for a tummy tuck consultation which I'm afraid of because I don't like elective surgeries, but I too have been unhappy with the look of my stomach for years. But, I don't want to do something as costly as the tuck.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Pleased with results

    • Laurel, MD,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so so so pleased with the results of my lower ab laser lipo procedure. I had no downtime, awesome follow-ups and care from the Sono Bello team and my results are absolutely amazing! I have received the results I expected and wanted for so long. I cannot be happier. I followed all the instructions given by the Sono Bello's Dr. Onyewu, and staff, and achieved flawless results. Now that the fat has been removed, and I am maintaining my results, I have succeeded in going from a 13 pant size, to a 10 and can even fit an 8.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Cris T.

      If you don't mind sharing, was it expensive? I've had consultations for a tummy tuck but I'm afraid of that type of surgery but willing to change my appearance. However, I don't want to pay tummy tuck prices either.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Very polite and professional staff but that's where it ends!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had three procedures done back in July. Like I stated, the staff is excellent. When I went in I had an 11:30 am appointment. I didn't get the procedure started until after 7 pm. In my opinion, it was like an assembly line! They try to get as many patients in and out as possible in one day! Again, in my opinion, I did not get the results that I sure have considering how much I spent! It seemed to me they did not want to open another bag of chemicals to use on me and wanted me done and out for the next patient. Yes, I did lose an inch or so, but no weight.

    I want back for my check-ups and the last one I told them my concern. They said they could get more out, which they should have gone from the beginning but then they put me in touch with the person who makes the appointments and sets the price. After paying over $10,000, they wanted an additional $4,000 to do the rest! I wish I would have gone somewhere else to get an estimate on what I wanted done and have it done right the first time! I have to admit I did change my diet, extremely changed my diet, but I'm limited to working out by walking only.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 88 out 91 people found this review helpful

    Operation unsuccessful

    • Harrison, NY,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In June 2017 I did the TriSculpt procedure and paid $6500.00 on June 26, 2017 in full at the initial consultation. I did not lose any fat, my stomach and waistline remains the same as when I went in for the surgery. I did everything they suggested including going for all the follow-up appointments and was told each time that the area was still swollen and will take time to show results.

    On May 24, 2018 I was sent this letter.

    Please see CMO decision below.

    Per Dr. Lyons:

    Lifestyle change and pt personal discipline combined with lipo contouring

    Achieve the results we predict at SB

    Weight gain after surgery coupled with a request for mire lipo is a paradox

    I DENY a revision consideration until pt accepts responsibility of the outcome by returning to preop or hopefully losing weight

    Lipo is not a weight reduction technique

    Please feel free to call me at the office to discuss.

    ******* | Practice Manager (Employee name redacted)

    Sono Bello - Body Contour Centers

    450 Mamaroneck Avenue, Suite 101

    Harrison, NY 10528

    *****@sonobello.com (employee email redacted)

    (o) 914.670.7957

    Of course I have not been able to lose this weight, which is why I resorted to doing the surgery. In fact, I gained weight from the initial 215 lbs to hovering over 220 lbs.

    I am so disappointed and feel ripped off. Not once did they bring me in to see how they could address my concerns or redo the procedure. Right after I started complaining and asking about Dr. **** (Doctor name redacted) who performed the procedure, I was told he no longer works for Sono Bello. That drew my suspicions that perhaps he botched my surgery. Did he really remove the fat from my body? How do we really know what was done since there is no memory of what happened that day? All I remember is going under the general anesthesia and getting into my friend’s car for the ride home after the surgery.

    I think this is a sham and people should not do this surgery. I would like to join a class action suit against them even though this will not change my results but at least I could recoup my hard earned money.

    Do not do this surgery with Sono Bello. It is a rip-off and caused me many sleepless nights and unhappiness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Best invention ever for fast fat permanent fat loss

    Best ideal invented for fast fat loss. Easy, and it's permanent. All the staff and doctors there are amazing and so helpful in getting you what you want. You won't regret it. Not one real bad review, the ones that were negative was simply because they didn't follow instructions. Didn't wear their garments the proper way, didn't wait the full length of time to get the amazing results. Everyone that has had this procedure and followed instructions have cotton amazing results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    So happy!

    • Overland Park, KS,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok ladies, I’ve been to Sono Bello twice now and I have loved my result, and it does work. You go in fat one day and leave the same day skinny, NO JOKE. Dr. King was my doctor on both times and I absolutely adore her! She’s so caring and is very talented at what she does. I actually was more excited to see her then my procedure, lol. And her nurses, they are all sweet as can be. Dr. King will tell you exactly what she can do for you, no pain during surgery for me that I can remember. I am sore afterward, but I would do it all over again. Heck, I might even get more done again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Awesome experience

    • Troy, MI,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sono Bello in Troy, Michigan is great. My first phone contact was very pleasant no pressure, Samantha was very helpful and knowledgeable. Throughout the whole process, the amazing staff was right along the way, from making sure I was comfortable, to answering any and all questions and preparing me for surgery. The after care has been amazing. I’m not sure about other locations but my experience in Troy has been great. I am satisfied with the results of the surgery. The only negative comment I will say is that you have to make sure the doctor takes the time to listen to what you want and fully explain realistic expectations. My doctor did but only after I said I wanted to spend time talking about it. Other than that I am 4 days post op. I had upper/lower abs, waist and bra roll, along with skin removal. I’m feeling a little sore and very much swollen but doing good. Can see slight results already.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2019

      Dee R.

      About how much did you spend, if you don't mind me asking? And when are you expected to fully recover?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Inner thigh laser lipo

    • San Bernardino, CA,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My incisions are in the middle of my thighs. We’re told prior to the procedure they would be hidden in my groin.

    Terrible uneven appearance. Needs to be redone, but I’m afraid it will have a worse appearance than they have now.

    Very painful.

    Please save your money and see a real plastic surgeon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic

    • California,
    • Feb 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My entire experience was wonderful. You and your staff are amazing, very professional! I would and will recommend this to everyone! I am incredibly pleased with my results and it's only been two weeks. I am excited to see even more results! Thank you and your staff again for a wonderful experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 191

Write a Review for Sono Bello!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review