About Stitch Fix

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Nov 27, 2013

Stitch Fix is a subscription service that pairs you with personal clothing stylists who learn what you like, in order to ship you clothes that you love. They offer stylish finds for both men and women, and all orders are shipped with free shipping and returns—only keep what you like!

This is our second time reviewing Stitch Fix, and since our first round, they’ve expanded their service to include a greater range of sizes, as well as gotten some competition from similar companies.

To help you determine if Stitch Fix is the right service to complement your closet, we’ll share how it works, then dive deep into what makes this particular company unique.

How Does Stitch Fix Work?

If you love the satisfaction of feeling perfectly styled, but don’t have the time, patience, or confidence in your tastes to shop, Stitch Fix is designed to get you dressed to the nines without leaving home.

Stitch Fix is a subscription service. It’s important to note upfront that—like all subscription services—you don’t know what you’re going to get until you open the box.

So, how does a styling service know what to send you?

How Stitch Fix Figures Out Your Personal Style

First-time visitors to the Stitch Fix site are prompted to indicate their gender, then are guided to sign-up before taking a style quiz. Signing up doesn’t require any payment information—just your name and email—so there’s no risk of accidentally agreeing before you’re ready.

The website promises that, after answering these questions, your stylist will be able to perfectly select clothing and accessories that enhance your style. Here’s what they ask:

  1. Your height and weight. Note that Stitch Fix has expanded to serve customers from 00-24W (women) and XS-XXL (men).
  2. Your normal size in a variety of garments, including dresses, shirts, pants, jeans, bras, shoes, etc.
  3. Your proportions, e.g. short arms, long torso, etc.
  4. How you prefer your clothing to fit, with five options from tailored to lose.
  5. Your preferences for different styles of jeans, including fit and length.
  6. What features you like to flaunt (and which you like to hide), with a sliding scale for each area.

After answering questions specific to your size and fit preferences, you’re shown seven sets of styled wardrobes, which include three similarly styled outfits in each, and asked to rate the set on a scale of hate it to love it.

Stitch Fix also asks how often you wear formal versus casual attire, such as business or business casual, laid back clothing, cocktail dresses, or dress up for date night.

The style portion of Stitch Fix’s quiz starts wrapping up by asking how adventurous you’d like your selections to be in terms of trends, and which styles of trend (preppy, casual, classic, etc.) you’d like to focus on incorporating more.

Stitch Fix Styling Quiz Also Asks Your Preferred Price Range

Know up front that the Stitch Fix style quiz is a serious time investment. That’s because, not only do they ask extensive questions about what you like, they also ask about what kind of items you’d like to avoid.

The breakdowns of what you’d prefer not to receive are by color and pattern, type of garment, levels of formal dress (business, laid back, cocktail, etc.), and even includes vetoing accessories and shoes from the start.

Within this section, you’re also given the opportunity to state what kind of budget you have for each item. Never want to spend more than $50 on a top? Here’s where you have a chance to say so.

While the questions can feel repetitive, we think it’s great that Stitch Fix puts so much effort into understanding what you do and don’t want—especially considering the service is based on complementing your personal style.

How Much Does Stitch Fix Cost?

Stitch Fix costs a flat fee of $20 for every styled shipment you receive. Each shipment includes five items. Here’s what you need to know about billing:

This is important: The $20 fee covers the services of your personal stylist—any clothes that you decide to keep are extra. Stitch Fix states that their average price point is $55 per item. However, that they do their best to stick to the prices that you indicate in your answers to the style quiz budget questions.

Additionally, Stitch Fix makes that fee a little easier to swallow by applying it as a credit if you choose to keep any of the items in your shipment. That’s $20 off one item or more.

What if You Want To Return One or More Items?

Stitch Fix gives you three business days to try on your clothing and make sure it really works for you. What’s nice is that, if you need more time, you can actually extend your return window by contacting their customer service.

However, it is important to keep an eye on that calendar because, if you don’t request an extension or ship things back within three days, you’ll be charged for the entire shipment—and that charge is final.

Thankfully, Stitch Fix sounds like they make staying on top of returns as easy as possible: Each shipment comes with a prepaid return envelope. Just pop in the items that you didn’t like and drop them in the mail by the third business day.

Here’s a quick recap on Stitch Fix costs:

  • Styling fee is $20 a shipment—applied as a credit if you keep an item.
  • 5 Items in each box.
  • Average item is $55.
  • Get a 25 percent discount if you keep the whole box.
  • Get 3 days to decide.
  • Shipping and returns are free to anywhere in the U.S.

Does Stitch Fix Require an Ongoing Membership?

This is one of our favorite aspects of Stitch Fix: Shipments can come as often as you like.

That can be every 2-3 weeks, every month, every other month, or every three months. Remember, how often you’re billed the $20 depends on how frequently you decide to receive deliveries.

But, the really great thing for commitaphobe consumers is that you can also choose to use Stitch Fix on a shipment-by-shipment basis. They don’t require memberships! Which, for being a subscription service, is pretty rare.

If you’re not interested in receiving ongoing shipments, you can indicate your preference when you sign up. You can also change your upcoming shipment frequency or cancel at any time without penalty.

What are Customers Saying About Stitch Fix?

Stitch Fix sounds great so far. But, to find out what customers really think of the styling service, we headed over to their Facebook page.

Their current rating of 3.9/ 5-stars is based on over 2,600 reviews, and breaks down like this:

  • 5-stars: 1,600 reviews
  • 4-stars: 310 reviews
  • 3-stars: 113 reviews
  • 2-stars: 209 reviews
  • 1-star: 413 reviews

From just that info, you can already tell that reviews for Stitch Fix are going to be polarized, with customers either loving or hating their experience. (Though, it looks to swing more to “love” on a three-to-one average.)

Positive customer reviews touch on some topics that seem in line with Stitch Fix’s promise and include praise of:

  • Stylishly selecting items for hard-to-fit body types.
  • That selections improve with ongoing shipments, as the stylist incorporates your feedback on individual items.
  • That Stitch Fix’s service perfectly suits the needs of busy parents or those who hate to shop.

Within the negative reviews, there were some expected comments regarding selections within a shipment not being to the customer’s taste. However, there were also reviews mentioning repeat shipments that contained only “misses” as well as drawbacks we hadn’t considered.

One reviewer mentioned that, after specifying she wanted budget-minded picks, the items she received were still in the $55 range and appeared to be similar to what she could get at Target for half the price.

Others felt pressured to keep something even though the selection felt uninspired, simply to not waste the $20 fee.

Additional negative reviews mention aspects of Stitch Fix that are just part of their service, like not being able to see what’s being sent until it arrives.

After reading through several months of reviews, we saw that more customers were happy with their Stitch Fix service than not. And those who were happy were really happy!

It’s also worth noting that the negative reviews all had something in common: Stitch Fix customer service personally commented on the complaint and asked for the chance to follow up and make things better.

Is Stitch Fix the Right Service to Freshen Up Your Wardrobe?

When you’re considering subscription styling services, it’s important to remember that there’s always some guesswork involved. Stitch Fix tries hard to eliminate the rejected items by keeping track of your comments and suggestions.

Of course, even then, there’s always a chance you might not like what’s been sent several times in a row. But, that’s a risk with any styling service.

What you won’t see in every styling service is Stitch Fix’s dedication to customer satisfaction. That’s evident, not only in their attentive responsive to positive and negative reviews.

It’s also seen in the opportunity to make requests for each shipment. That they ask if you’re a parent and your occupation to make sure clothing is practical and stylish. Or, that stylists will go beyond your quiz answers to look at your Pinterest board for extra insight to your style.

Yes, there’s a risk that you won’t like anything in your closet and are out a $20 fee. However, if you absolutely hate shopping, feel like you’re stuck in a style rut, or simply don’t have the time, Stitch Fix’s service allows you to add interesting, new items to your wardrobe at your convenience with minimal risk.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 30 Stitch Fix Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 7 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I love it.

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Apr 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try Stitch Fix to see if I could get a little boost in my wardrobe. I've received 3 fixes so far and have loved items in each box. The first fix I sent back 3/5 but only because the stylist sent me things so similar to things I already have in my closet. I knew she had paid attention because she did nail my taste and my style so perfectly!

    I added more things to my Pinterest Board and I sent specific requests to my stylist to please move me out of my comfort zone, which is exactly what she did with my next two fixes. I've kept all 5 items in each of those boxes. My stylist continues to hit my style but she's adding colors and patterns I don't normally wear and I'm receiving a lot of compliments.

    I want to add that, on my first fix, I misunderstood the amount of time I had to send things back. I thought I had 5 days, so I sent my 3 return items back on Day 5 and not Day 3. Stitch Fix had no issues with that, did NOT charge me or send me any type of nasty email, they simply did the return without any hassle at all. I have wholeheartedly recommended this site to friends and would continue to do so.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A working mom's dream come true!

    • United States,
    • Sep 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Stitch Fix since July 2014. A friend recommended and she received $25 off her next purchase. I think if you work with the concept, you will be happy in the long run. I have a full time job, a grad student, and two school aged/teen daughters my spouse and I chase after.

    Going to the mall is for them and a nightmare for me. It is worth the $20 to have this company send me a box as often as every 2-3 weeks or as little as 4 times annually. They ship it to your home or office and you have 3 days to try it in your own comfort.

    I usually pair it with other items in my closet. I have kept entire fixes and sent back entire fixes. When I accept or reject an item, I give them notes on what worked or did not. It took about 3 fixes before they "got me". If I keep one piece, I consider it a success. I have noticed when discussing it with my friends, it is either great I would love that!

    So if you watch your dollars and like to hunt in the racks, this might not be for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Love Stitch Fix

    I love this service. It is like it is your birthday every month. Do you always like what you get for your birthday? No! I don't always keep everything. Last fix I only kept a pair of pants. If you are the kind of person that only shops at Ross and TJ Maxx sales, this is not the service for you. There are no sale prices. You are getting the newest from that season. The quality and price are that of a mid-priced boutique. They have a very detailed measuring questionnaire, so if you don't get the right sizes, then change the sizing you have on there. Easy.

    Be specific in what you are looking for. Make sure your Pinterest is up to date. They can't always find exactly what you are looking for, same as when you go shopping and don't find it. It isn't magic. If you don't like your stylist, get another.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Love!

    • Alabama,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am on my second box. I kept a cute pair of earrings from the first box, which after the credit were $15 and I love them. I kept my entire box the second time!

    My stylist's note made reference to the fact my hand was broken and that I was going to Toronto for Canada Day. So she picked out easy-to-put-on clothes, including a jersey sundress with red and white stripes!

    So, I am a bit at a loss as to where the complaints are about stylists. I treat mine like a doctor - I tell her about events, climate, colors I hate, etc.

    My fave thing is that I get things I would have never considered buying and they are great!

    It isn't TJ Maxx type clothing and my usual "mall" is Nordstroms, so my money limits are set a little higher perhaps. I use Stitch Fix to refresh my other pieces; my wardrobe is timeless (well, IMO) and I buy clothes that last for much longer than a season. YEP! My stylist knows that, too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Austin, TX,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read through these reviews and others before deciding to post my own. Some of the complaints and reasons for giving low scores are ridiculous. It seems like people think their fix should be free (shipping included!) if they don’t want to buy anything, how would that work for a business?

    Price complaints - if you don’t want to spend more than $12 on a shirt, stick to Walmart. This isn’t for you. They use algorithms and data because that’s smart, but yes, your stylist is a human. No, they’re not buying $5 shirts from TJ Maxx and selling them to you for $60. Stitch Fix isn’t perfect, but you need to be the right fit for this service.

    A lot of the 1-star reviews are from people who never had the budget to use this service and weren’t going to have a good experience. I’ve had fixes where I kept everything, others where I kept nothing. That’s the gamble you take, but the more I’ve ordered, the more personalized they’ve felt. I’ve kept every item from my last two fixes, but I also had that ability within my budget. I didn’t expect to get five items for $40, so my expectations were realistic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hate shopping - loved Stitch Fix

    • California,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm on my second fix. The first one contained items that didn't fit perfectly. If you're going to try something new like Stitch Fix then my recommendation is to dive in - participate in the thumbs up or thumbs down style shuffle. Email your stylist - a lot! My experience was that they truly care and want to help you look great. YOU set the perimeters on style, cost, fit, and most importantly feedback - hated, liked, too expensive, low quality, etc.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pants

    • Bozeman, MT,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Oh! So THAT's the kind of pants I should be wearing!

    Stylist, Carly, found great fitting pants for me. Sounds simple, but, my apple shape is hard to fit.

    Stitch Fix subscriber for a year - six fixes.

    Ask for what you want. "Going to parents weekend at my kids' college. I need early fall outfits." In my fix came: two shirts, one sweater in the Univ's color, suede booties, and those great olive pants that are now my favorite. All of it was color-coordinated, washable. Packed it all straight into the suitcase. $210 total paid.

    Stitch Fix is definitely worth it! Saves time and sends pieces that you can't get in Montana. Give 'em a try. Why not?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stitch Fix is legit - love it!

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Stitch Fix for almost a year. I was apprehensive because that could end up being a lot of money charged to my account and some companies charge you even if you return items in a timely manner. Some month's expenses are too tight. I did not need to worry!

    I received my first shipment and immediately fell in love with 3 of the 5 items sent to me. The paperwork that comes with the shipment details the cost of each item. I determined what I could afford that month and put the rest back in the envelope and sent it back at no cost to me. Same experience with subsequent shipments. I wear those items all the time.

    Quality of items is good. Prices will reflect that. Size has been dead on in most cases and I'm not too easy to fit. Especially pants. And they nailed it with the first pants they sent.

    However, fair warning: it does not matter what date you select for your items to be shipped or received, because they will ship/arrive early. Mine have all shipped a full week early. This isn't a bad thing if you know you have the funds to pay for what you want that month. But if you are tight on funds and select a specific date to coincide with a paycheck, that could present a problem and you'd have to send everything back.

    Just don't let your package sit. Open it and try on everything ASAP and then send back what you don't want right away. I've never had a problem with getting my stuff back to them in time. I love Stitch Fix! It's kind of like a birthday every month, waiting to see what they've sent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Good Addition to My Closet

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Oct 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started receiving "fixes" this summer. There has been some hits and misses but this has definitely broadened my typical style. My stylist has challenged me to try new things and I don't think I would have selected most of the clothes if I saw them in a store. Is it cheap? No, but it is reasonable and I am fine with paying someone $20 to select clothes.

    I think it's fun to try new designers that are not in the typical department stores. It is fun receiving the box at your doorstep.

    Returning is never a hassle, very convenient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A so-so, yet exciting experience

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've only gotten two boxes from StitchFix so far and have bought one item from each box. I would have bought two out of each box if they fit. It's like Christmas every time I get a new box, and I love surprises, as well as trying things I normally wouldn't even look at in the store.

    My problem: I don't think the stylists who work there actually get to look at the clothing up close and personal. I said I don't like floppy, shapeless tops and I've gotten two shapeless tops and one shapeless sweater thus far. It seems like they shop from a website, if there are even stylists. Who knows? It could be some database deciding what to put in your box.

    Every box, I've gone back and changed my profile a bit to add more details, and have been consistently adding things to the Pinterest page I linked them to. It seems to be working. The second box was a little more spot-on than the first.

    Either way, it's fun and I love the items I've purchased. Worth it if you end up getting at least one item and if you like the lottery, it's worth the risk of possibly losing $20 a month.

    *PS They do charge your account the $20 about 7-8 days before your fix is due to arrive, so be aware of that. Sizing is pretty true to measurement, so be sure to get your measurements and sizes right. You can't exchange an item you like for a different size, unfortunately.*

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    How do I cancel?

    • Portland, OR,
    • Nov 5, 2015

    I stuck with Stitch Fix for well over a year. I would say I kept half the stuff, however, I think I regret keeping half the stuff I kept.

    Last month I thought I was successful in canceling my account. Well, I just received another shipment. I've been sending Stitch Fix emails requesting to cancel my account and have only received an email stating that my email has been received but not confirmation that its been canceled.

    I'm starting to get very upset. Any tips on how to permanently cancel my account?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Stitch Fix!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review