Theradome Review: Is It Really Worth It?

By HighYa Editorial Team
Updated on: May 24, 2019

If you’re one of the 80 million men and women in the U.S. who suffers from hair loss, Theradome is a laser-powered helmet that claims to help grow new hair, increase the size of your hair follicles, and to slow—or even stop—hair loss. In fact, the company claims that.

The company features two different levels of hair restoration helmets, with one using more lasers than the other, a distinction we’ll discuss in a few minutes.

According to a document provided to HighYa, the treatment is effective enough to where four out of five hair loss professionals recommend the treatment.

The company is based in the Bay Area and claims to be the first company to produce an FDA-cleared, wearable laser hair therapy device you can use at home.

In our review, we’ll talk to you about how Theradome works, the effectiveness of laser hair therapy, what the device costs, what customers say about it and how it compares to similar products.

How Theradome Works

At its most basic, Theradome is a laser treatment intended to be worn on the head that the company claims has been developed over 5 years of research by biomedical engineers and doctors.

The company offers two helmets. The PRO LH80 requires two 20-minute sessions per week and uses 80 medical-grade lasers, whereas the EVO LH40 requires four 20-minute sessions per week with 40 medical-grade lasers.

The Theradome helmet weighs less than 16 ounces and is claimed to fit 98 percent of the population, but provides the same power, light level, and concentration as in-clinic lasers in the comfort of your own home.

Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms. The company says their lasers contain more energy (joules) than any other laser light therapy and have a narrower beam for deeper penetration.

In addition, Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light (680nm) that has been shown to be ideal for clinical strength rejuvenation, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms. These lasers penetrate 5 millimeters, which is about the length of the average hair follicle.

Theradome claims that the helmet increases blood flow to the scalp and hair follicles, stimulates protein synthesis and cellular metabolism and promotes thickness and density. With this in mind, the helmet is claimed to result in three primary benefits:

  1. Grows new hair.
  2. Doubles the follicle diameter of existing hair (reverses miniaturization).
  3. Slows (and even stops) hair loss.

If used as directed, Theradome claims to halt hair loss within 18 to 26 weeks, to regrow hair within 28 to 52 weeks, and to provide fuller, thicker hair after 100 weeks.

Theradome features soft rubber pegs and foam pads for comfort, as well as a built-in speaker, while the automated treatment counting system keeps track of the total number of treatments you’ve undergone.

Theradome is claimed to result in zero side effects, and that it can be used with most hair-loss medications, and 30 days after surgical hair loss treatment.

Do Lasers Really Help Your Hair Grow?

We reached out to medical experts to get unbiased opinions about how effective these types of lasers are in helping hair grow.

Researcher John Satino, an expert with a long history in researching the benefits of laser light therapy, told us that this type of treatment is effective in helping your existing hair grow.

“However, this is no magic bullet. Nothing can grow back hair in a totally bald area only a hair transplant can do that,” he said. “I recommend the laser for patients with thinning hair, or first stages of loss. (Also), it works better with Rogaine and finasteride”

Dr. Dan Danyo, the owner of NA Hair Restoration, said that light therapy does indeed help with thinning hair but that it’s most effective for certain people.

“Research points to efficacy for improvement in the number/ density of follicles, the thickness of individual hair shaft diameter, and restoration of dormant follicles into an active growth phase,” Danyo said. “Laser light therapy is not likely to be useful in individuals with long-term and progressive balding.”

He also pointed out that laser therapy may not be an option for those who have dealt with skin cancer.

Pricing and Refund Policy

The Theradome PRO LH80 is currently priced at $895, and the Theradome EVO LH40 is $595. Both include free shipping. With your order, you’ll receive one Theradome laser helmet, AC charger, foam pads, and a protection bag.

Theradome comes with a six-month money-back guarantee, which begins from the date the helmet is delivered. However, this guarantee only applies to U.S. customers. All international orders are considered final. Details and requirements for processing returns can be found in the FAQ section of Theradome’s website.

Theradome hair loss helmets come with a one-year manufacturer’s warranty against defects in workmanship, although you can purchase an extended three-year warranty if you choose.

What Other Consumers Have to Say

At the time of publishing, HighYa and Amazon were home to numerous Theradome reviews.

At the time of publishing, the product had 36 reviews on HighYa with an average rating of 3.2 stars and 58 percent of users would recommend it to a friend. The most common complaints we saw were that the helmet didn’t work.

On Amazon, there were 47 reviews that gave Theradome’s PRO LH80 an average rating of 3.6 stars. Recent reviews of the product were mixed, with several people saying that the helmet worked and some saying it didn’t.

In general, we believe that whether or not Theradome works for you has a lot to do with your own specific hair health and how many of your follicles are dormant and how many are dead. As Theradome states, their product works only on follicles that are dormant and not ones that have died. In other words, it works with the existing hair you have.

The Bottom Line

As the experts with whom we corresponded pointed out, laser hair therapy is proven to help thicken existing hair and activate dormant hair follicles.

However, they also pointed out that the product won’t work for areas that are already bald. Also, one of the experts noted that laser hair therapy may not be effective for those who’ve had “long-term and progressive balding.”

In that context, we believe that Theradome could be an effective hair therapy tool for the right person. For example, one HighYa reviewer said that the helmet produced results within 90 days and that it was welcomed alternative to pills or spray-on hair therapy.

Keep in mind, though, that customer reviews indicate the device’s effectiveness is really polarizing. The majority of reviews were either five stars or one star, which means the helmet seems like there isn’t much middle ground. Either it works well, or it doesn’t, the general review consensus seems to say.

As a parting bit of advice, we think the insight one of our experts provided is helpful. You may want to try Theradome with a combination of Rogaine and finasteride.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Theradome:
  • 42 Customer Reviews
  • 60% Recommend This Company
3.3 out of 5
5 star: 45% 4 star: 11% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 35%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't know if it works

    • By LSF,
    • California,
    • Nov 7, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Out of the box, this expensive pice of crap is not working at all. I received it 2 days ago. I read the manual and plugged it in to charge as per directions. I then waited until the light turned green, unplugged it and tried to turn it on. It kept saying "System Paused". So I called the 800 number. The rep said this exact quote, "Well, you know it's kind of a new product and we haven't updated the manuals, so the info in the manual is not correct. You have to charge it for at least 24 hours."

    Not great, but OK, so I plugged it back in, for 30 hours. It had flashing disco lights where the charger plugs in the whole time. I unplugged it today, and tried to start it up for first treatment. Here is a list of SOME of the error messages I heard, mostly garbled and unintelligible: "System Paused", "Ready for Calibration", "Checking Temperature", "zero initiating", "22" "23" "24" [and so on every time I touched the button, up to 37].

    So I called the 800 line again and was told they will "Kick it over to tech support and someone will get back to you in about 2 days." What the heck? I said never mind that, I want my money back since this thing doesn't even work out of the box. then I was told "My customer service manager will have to call you back in a day or 2." What the heck again?

    Not happy. I want my money back. Clearly this is a plastic piece of crap with some lights in it that from what I can see won't even cover my whole head, so how is it supposed to work to begin with?

    I find it hard to believe this is made in US, because if it really was, it would have higher quality control prior to shipping and better tech support. I'll repost when this gets resolved. In the meantime don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 20, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hello, we have unfortunately just discovered your HighYa review. Was this matter resolved to your satisfaction?

      Theradome Customer Service


  • One year using it, did nothing for me.

    • By Mina,
    • USA,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I got Theradome precisely a year ago. Not only has it not stimulated hair growth but it has not improved hair loss at all. I am losing hair at the same rate I was before Theradome, and frankly, based on pictures I have been taking and the way my hair feels, I have way less hair now than when I started. Rubbish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Mina,

      We are sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with your Theradome and have just discovered this review. Theradome does not cause hair loss. We would be very interested in seeing before and after pictures and also knowing what treatment number you are up to (your Theradome helmet can tell you this).

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • Product is crap, support is crap.

    • By Justin T,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This product does not charge. It lost all of its battery power and now it never charges no matter how long it's left plugged in.

    I also contacted their online live chat support and the rep was a complete flippant jerk.

    Someone is well off with this company and this product. Why is Bosley Clinic selling this crap?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Justin

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Please confirm that you received support since leaving this feedback.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com or onsite with one of our chat agents. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES

    • By Barbara,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jan 3, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I tried this device. I did not find that it was growing any hair. In fact, quite the opposite. I informed them of this. They told me it was to be expected that I would lose more hair before I started to grow back new hair. I waited a bit longer. It was within the period of time when I could still get my money back. I told them it still wasn't working and that I wanted my money back. They said that instead I should increase the number of times a week I used the device and apply medicated shampoo when I washed my hair. So, being desperate, that is what I did. It still didn't work. By this time, they informed that the period when I could receive a refund had expired. That is the tactic that they employ to cheat customers. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Barbara,

      We are sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with your Theradome and have just discovered this review. Please confirm that you have since resolved this matter with our customer care team.

      We would be happy to discuss with you at +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • Didn't improve thinning hair at all in 10 months.

    • By Amy Carter,
    • Twin cities area, MN,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The Theradome did not work for me. No improvement whatsoever. In fact, the hair loss has been continuing. I feel duped by their claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Kay

      We are sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with your Theradome and have just discovered this review.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • Does not work

    • By Pam,
    • New York,
    • Jul 17, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I've been using the Theradome twice daily which includes in morning and before bed for almost a year. My hair is still falling out. There is absolutely no hair growing in at all. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Pam,

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Theradome is recommended to be used for 20 minutes 2 x per week. We don't recommend twice a day as described.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com or onsite with one of our chat agents. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • What a joke.

    • By George,
    • US,
    • Jul 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Always follow your instincts. I knew after looking at this piece of crap that I should close the box and return it and I tried doing just that, but was hassled so much in the return process that I figured I'd try it. Big mistake. Noticeably less hair in 30 days, so much so that I was afraid to put it back on my head.

    This device is a complete joke, just like the "NASA scientist" that invented it. Maybe he was part of the NASA that was constantly messing up launches and losing multiple million dollar rockets and got fired.

    Turn your Theradome on and look at the light pattern. There are overlaps, areas with no coverage, etc.

    There should be a class action lawsuit against this company as it is completely fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi George

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Please confirm that you received support since leaving this feedback. Theradome is recommended by hair restoration surgeons in 36 countries reviving millions of hair follicles. Hair growth takes time to achieve and 30 days is not enough time to measure results. Unhealthy hair can shed when Theradome is first used, making way for follicle stimulation and new hair growth. Theradome does not cause hair loss.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com or onsite with one of our chat agents. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • Doesn't work

    • By John,
    • Jun 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I used it for one year as directed. It did not work for male pattern baldness. This was a complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 20, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hello, we have unfortunately just discovered your HighYa review. Was this matter resolved to your satisfaction?

      Theradome Customer Service


  • Theradome laser helmet

    • By Maria Greco,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jun 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Waste of Money. Unless you are independently wealthy, save your money. I bought one and started using it in February of 2014, along with generic Rogaine from Target. I can't say I had significant re-growth but, the rate of loss slowed (possibly the Rogaine) and I did notice my hair had more body. However, the product itself is a colossal waste of money and customer service sucks. After 14 months of use, mine stopped working. Theradome wants more than $100 for me to send it to them to apply to the cost of repairs!

    My front load washer from Whirlpool has much better customer service! It is at least 10 years old and it just went on the fritz this week (6/08/15). Whirlpool is sending a tech to my house free of charge to see if the control panel needs replaced, or if the machine can be repaired.

    Before buying a Theradome, go to the web and find the website by a man named Lou who made his own version of the Theradome for $60 and has a video showing you how to do the same. I have already ordered my lasers from the internet just like Lou directs in his video. Not only that, Lou claims in his post that he has noticed slight regrowth! I will let you know how Lou's device works once I get mine going. I don't anticipate any problem though, given that Lou's device uses the same types of lasers Theradome claims to use in theirs (blue light).

    In short, unless you can afford to waste $900, don't buy a Theradome.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Maria

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Theradome has always had a 12-month manufacturers warranty and we also offer an extended warranty that also covers accidental damage.

      Theradome PRO LH80 contains 80 medical grade lasers are the only device available that delivers laser scalp penetration at 680-nanometer wavelengths. It's not possible to buy a product for $1-200 that comes close to the laser strength of the Theradome.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • Major waste of money!

    • By maria greco,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I did not experience hair growth, but I did notice the rate of hair loss was slowed. Additionally, the hair had more body, HOWEVER, the company SUCKS and is disreputable! At the time I purchased my Theradome, no warranty was provided. When I called about this, I was told I would not have any problems, which was not case. Several times during the year, after I first received my Theradome, I had to call them and their customer service was able to help. Then, about 13 months after I received the device, it stopped working. After many calls, the company mailed me a new battery charger. Still, my device did not work. Only then was I advised that a new warranty program had recently been established for purchasers like me, who had received no warranty. This new program required me to send Theradome a check for $100 or $150 (I can't recall the exact amount), and they would repair my unit!

    I have never received such shoddy, unprofessional treatment! At about the time my Theradome died, my front-load 13 year-old Whirlpool washer died, and though my extended warranty had expired one month prior, Whirlpool sent a tech to my home, who fixed the machine and did not charge me for the repair call, only the needed replacement part.

    If you are interested in laser hair therapy, go to howtoLou.com for directions on making your own device, for less than $100. Or check out other online retailers for devices similar to Theradome, for less than $200. From what I can tell, the major difference seems to be Theradome uses a hard-hat type helmet, while the others use a less-bulky type of head gear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 1, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Maria

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Theradome has always had a 12-month manufacturers warranty and we also offer an extended warranty that also covers accidental damage.

      Theradome PRO LH80 contains 80 medical grade lasers are the only device available that delivers laser scalp penetration at 680-nanometer wavelengths. It's not possible to buy a product for $1-200 that comes close to the laser strength of the Theradome.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care


  • Buyer beware: Theradome does not work

    • By Felix Lopez,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Buyer beware: I purchased the Theradome on 04/19/2016. At the time I was not aware that the Theradome product worked better for women than men and had not shown results with hair growth in the front of the head. I tried to return the product within several weeks and was told there is a 7-day return policy. Not sure what you can determine in 7 days but the representative encouraged me to try Theradome for at least a year and then call back.

    I have done this, and no changes whatsoever have occurred in my hairline. Now the product does not even accept a charge anymore and when I called to complain I was told the one year warranty had expired and I would have to pay for a new charging cord. I don't typically go online to voice my complaints, but this entire experience has been frustrating.

    If Theradome had allowed me to return their product when I originally called, even if it meant restocking charges, I would not be writing this review. The Theradome customer support personnel sounds like broken recorders giving you the same company lines as to why the product does not work (haven't used it long enough, potential medical issue, not using at least twice a week, etc.). Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 20, 2019

      Company Response from Theradome Inc.

      Hi Felix,

      Thanks very much for your feedback. Did you purchase a new cord as you've continued using Theradome? Please tell us what treatment number you are up to. Also Felix, did you take before and after pictures? We would be happy to discuss this with you if you would like to contact us at support@theradome.com

      We originally had a 7-day refund window which was consistent with our partners in clinics selling the Theradome PRO LH80.

      The policy has changed as of 12/14/18 with purchases made from Theradome.com and/or via 1-855-549-6757 covered by a 6-month money back guarantee. In order to qualify for this money back guarantee, we simply request that you use the Theradome as instructed in the user manual: 20-minute sessions, twice a week for 180 days, to the best of your ability.

      We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your Theradome purchase and hair growth goals with you.

      Kind regards

      Theradome Customer Service


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Theradome!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Theradome