Start your review of Vroom:
  • 342 Customer Reviews
  • 29% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 11% 1 star: 58%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Read the fine lines

    • By Jim Louie,
    • San Bruno, CA,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible customer service experience; no one follows through with the whole process. I order a car and placed a hold on it, started financing and that's when it starts; no one contacts you or is replying to your emails. It took two weeks to get your finance paper back to you, now you have to go get a cashier's check since they will not take a credit card or anything else. They will not process the paperwork until they receive their cashier's check and then it will take 7-14 days to get your car. Total of a whole month process, what a waste of time!

    I started reading the purchase order and they added $1400 of additional charges to the order, gap insurance, texas dealer prep, etc. Gap insurance is optional, but they never asked, just added and when asked, they couldn't even explain what that is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Read the reviews

    • By Dan,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Amazing to read other's reviews. Somehow they have thousands of positive reviews and only 2 negative ones on eBay (called Texas Direct Auto on eBay). All of the issues in the other reviews applied to mine.

    I bought the car and sold my trade-in. They were very quick to get my money, but the car took nearly 2 weeks to ship. I was told just before it shipped that it was getting a ding repaired. I asked for a picture of the ding, which was never sent. The truck arrived, and they picked up my trade-in. I asked what happened if I returned the car in 7 days and they said that the deal would be unwound and my truck would be returned to me. Dings inside the vehicle, hack job paint job on the rear quarter panel (overspray everywhere, the paint didn't match, scratched surrounding chrome bits), cruise control did not work, rain sensing wipers did not work, the tire had a slow leak, and food in the seats.

    I called to send the car back and get my trade back, and I have not received any information. I am told that the return of their vehicle is in the works, but no directions or timing, and no word on my trade in. I was told by pre-sales (Danielle) and my customer service rep for follow up (Christina) that the trade-in would be returned to me if it did not work out. Now I am being told that once the trade is on route to them, they have the right to sell it. Really?

    I have purchased my last 4 cars online and have always coached others to do so. Vroom is ruining the experience, which is upsetting. There is a certain amount of trust that goes into a car purchase done remotely. My confidence is broken in Vroom, especially seeing the mirror issues others have experienced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Insulted

    Overall Experience:

    When you write a 5 figure check for a late model luxury SUV, you have certain expectations of service after the sale. Not with my interactions with Vroom.

    I requested to service the vehicle for a noise I did not like when it was cold started in Denver winter conditions. I was told to get two estimates for repairs. The dealer I went to was 20 miles away, another dealer another 20 miles away. I resented jumping through hoops. I was going to keep this car authentic regarding parts and service. I requested from Michele Jackson CSR to have a supervisor contact me. For five days, any time I called I got a recorded message telling me all reps were busy and they would call back in an hour. Six calls and messages on the day I talked to the CSR, no responses. I sent an email, no response.

    The five day trial period has passed. I called the sales number and asked to be transferred to customer service. When connected I asked if their phone system was down. I was assured it wasn't. Adding insult to injury, Michele Jackson emailed me a week later saying she hadn't heard from me. I sent an appropriate reply. I also sent emails to the executive staff. There were six names on their website. Four messages bounced back, I know two got through.

    I am insulted by the treatment I have received from Vroom. Never again. I should have read all the negative reviews on Cars.com first. There were plenty of them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Slow, and shady

    • By Chris M,
    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Almost a month and still no car, meanwhile my first payment is due in two weeks. I was told the car was never wrecked. That may be true, but it wasn't until we received paperwork to sign that we learned the car did have front-end damage at some point. The salesman claimed to know nothing about it but did disclose the hood had been repainted.

    Now I'm wondering should I even get the car. The car was scheduled to ship a week ago. Transport showed up to get the car and they claimed they noticed a scratch on the rim they needed to fix. So transport left, and now my car is in limbo until they find another transport company. The thing is, it's Thursday, so now it's likely my car won't make it until mid next week due to the weekend.

    I haven't even gotten my car and have been through hell. If I have to return the car, I hate to see what it will be like. This company won't last another 5 years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refund deposit

    • By Alton,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I found a car online under the Texas Direct Auto/Vroom website, left a $500 deposit, drive 6 hours away to buy the car, got there, the car had body damage on it, so I called Joe Brandao to cancel the deal and get my $500 deposit back. So they tell me it will take 72 hours for the refund to show back on credit card, so 7 business days later, no refund. So then I call and email Joe Brandao with Vroom and got no calls back or emails back. Then I ask for a manager and still got no call or email back.

    So please don't leave deposits of any kind because no one will do what they said they would do.

    Texas Direct Auto Power By Vroom: bad, bad business. Don't trust this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Vroom salesman lied and stole. Do not send them money. Absolutely a scam!

    • By Shawn C.,
    • Kealakekua, HI,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a car quote for delivery to Hawaii. I wired the funds. Ten days later they tried to collect another $1,000. I refused to pay as I had paid 100% of the quoted price, which included delivery. I asked for a refund. They said it would take ten days and they would keep $499.

    These guys are scammers!

    Do not give them money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi - thanks for your comments. Our delivery fee is $499. If you decide to return a vehicle, we will refund the purchase price but the $499 is not refundable. We're sorry if you had issues here and will take a look at your account to see what improvements we can make in communication. The Vroom team.


  • Untrustworthy company

    • By John Reid,
    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Oct 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    By far the worst company to do any kind of business with. Vroom took over and ruined Texas Direct Auto, which used to be an amazing company to buy from.

    I contacted Texas Direct Auto/Vroom about purchasing a vehicle, and they wouldn't budge much on the price, even though the price was well above the vehicles worth. And, of course, they wanted to give me a few thousand less for my trade-in than what it was worth, basically screw you on both sides of the deal. I returned to the Vroom website recently to find the vehicle I made a fair offer on now listed BELOW the price I had offered, which now puts it several thousand below what they claimed their best price was.

    Truly a laughable company that values quantity over quality, and whose sales reps will be sure to deliver on the typical used car salesman experience. I'm sure they will attempt to explain this away with the typical apologies or other excuses, but the bottom line is you will not get a fair deal here, and you cannot trust them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Will never use this company again

    • By Denise Delegol,
    • West Bloomfield, MI,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a car on Vroom back in July. It started out very promising until I sent in my money and I took procession of the automobile, then it became harder and harder to reach someone. But the last straw was when I discover I had a leak in my new car. The warranty had just expired 10 days ago so now I was not worthy of a callback, but never the less, my son is in the market for a new car, and I will not be recommending Vroom to him or anybody else. This company is about getting the money on hand and kicking the customer to the curb.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful

    Overall Experience:

    I buy a pickup truck in June, five months later no permanent license plate yet. They keep sending a temporary tag and saying that they don't know what is happening. I did ask for information about the company doing the paperwork in Arizona and nothing yet, no info, no plate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away! Do not buy from these clowns

    • By RJP,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a car from Vroom in July and it took more than three weeks for delivery, which wasn't a real big deal, but here it is at the end of December and I still don't have my plates! I keep getting the runaround and have heard many excuses. They keep sending temporary tags. Over five months and no plates.

    Stay away from Vroom!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Leaking sunroof

    Overall Experience:

    I paid $35,000.00 for a truck and this winter it turns out that the sunroof leaks. I called Vroom, and they will not fix the problem. I would never, ever recommend them. And the Safeguard Insurance that they force on you is a joke too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 342

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana