About Zulily

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Dec 11, 2013

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009 and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 365 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items.

In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password.

However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several.

However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can.

You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, and Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer.

You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

» Read Next: Three Best Online Custom Women’s Clothing Stores


Read 152 Zulily Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 27 4 star: 9 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  95
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 152
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Very happy with Zulily

    I have ordered many, many items from Zulily, with the understanding that they are, for the most part, nonreturnable. Not all the items have been as I would have liked, but I take the occasional loss because the prices are so good that I still end up ahead in the end.

    A few months ago I had shoulder surgery, and while under the influence of some strong pain medication I placed an order, and was mortified a few weeks later when a box of beads arrived, at a cost of almost $800. I called customer service and explained the situation, and they were very understanding and refunded me every cent, even though 'non refundable' was clearly stated in the order. I was hugely relieved and continue a very satisfactory relationship with Zulily. They could have kept my $800, but they didn't and for that, and for many other great products, they deserve 5 stars in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Return

    • Kilgore, TX,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    I ordered a purse . When it came I tried putting all my stuff from another bag in it. In a hurry to get to work, I grabbed the wallet and a couple of other things out and left for work. I decided it was the wrong purse and decided to return it. I left 140.00 in cash and a check book in the bag when I mailed it back. I called Zulily and told them what had happened. Not only did I get my stuff back and cash, I was given a 10.00 credit.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Best place to shop

    • Buena Park, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been shopping on Zulily for the past two years and love it! The people leaving the bad reviews are incorrectly ordering and not reading the fine print or following instructions. Zulily buys in bulk. After a event ends they process all the orders to the vendors. The vendors ship to Zulily and Zulily ships to us. On everything you buy it tells you in fine print that it takes 2-3 weeks to ship. Once it is shipped to you it can take another week. 4 weeks total. Sometimes you get lucky and they receive the order sooner therefore you will receive it sooner. When ordering clothing they give you the size chart for that vendor and instruct you on how to measure.

    Not all clothing company's have the same vendor. I also read on a review that they had received a knock off bottle of perfume. NOT TRUE! That would be illegal on there part and would never happen.

    When ordering from Zulily you need to make sure you read the whole description of what you are ordering. What material it is made of. If it's cotton leave room for some shrinking. All my shoes and clothing are from Zulily. I have never had a issue with the shoes. Sometimes the clothing. When I do it is because I ordered wrong or it was the manufactures mistake. Zulily does not except returns but they will for sure work with you. The customer service is outstanding. They have the best prices on clothing and one of a kind items you will love. I have bought so much. I have 60 dresses and more than half are from Zulily.

    Try Zulily and you will see how fun and enjoyable shopping can be from home. All my friends and family are hooked!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    I've just finished reading the many negative customer reviews for Zulily. While I can understand some of the complaints, I would discount others. Although it is prominently displayed, many protest the "No return policy." I believe that this is a trade off for lower prices: if we want the one, we must accept the other. Additionally, having bought many women's clothing items from Zulily, I can't accept the judgment of poor quality. Granted the clothes from Zulily are not as finely finished as those from Talbots or Ann Taylor, but then I paid $20 instead of $100. There is the adage "You get what you pay for." I feel that at Zulily you get more than you pay for.

    The one complaint that I can fully accept is the extreme slowness of delivery. This summer. I bought several dresses in early June for a late July wedding, but by the time that the dresses arrived the couple had returned from their honeymoon. I will never again buy a time sensitive item from Zulily.

    Finally, I recently had the most pleasant customer service experiences ever. I had two issues with dresses. One - a missing item - was immediately corrected and the second - a question of sizing - is in the process of being corrected with no cost to me. The customer service representative was very friendly and helpful. We joked and laughed together and I left the conversation feeling very happy about Zulily. By the way, this is not my only positive experience with customer service. In fact, it is totally representative of my dealings with Zulily.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I love zulilly

    • Mound, MN,
    • Oct 19, 2015

    I have ordered quite a few products for myself and my baby and have been very satisfied with every item. They do take a while to ship but are upfront about that. They have great discounts and super cute kids clothes. I did have to deal with customer service once I accidentally ordered two of a product and it was super quick and they were very personable. I would recommend this site to anyone especially someone with a small child. I get compliments on the unique clothes I find on Zulilly for my girl.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Love, love them

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Dec 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've just finished all my Christmas shopping on Zulily. I've had to call customer service twice for mistakes I made. The first time I called to see if my almost $300 order could be canceled. I goofed on the sizes. They canceled all that was not in route. They credited my card before the end of the day and told me to donate the items I did receive! Today, I messed up something else. They fixed my problem before we hung up. Real people answer. They were so very sweet. The things I have donated have been great quality.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I love Zulily

    • Apopka, FL,
    • Jan 29, 2016

    Yes, shipping is slow. Yes, there is a no return policy. But the pricing is exceptional. I searched out some companies (wall pops and the mountain, for instance) and was amazed at how much I had saved through Zulily. I pay Walmart prices for clothing that is unique and playful for my three year old and she gets to choose it herself.

    All my Christmas shopping was done through Zulily. I started in July. Two encounters with customer service, both issues resolved cheerfully and to my satisfaction.

    Look at the prices, then go to the websites and compare. You'll be pleasantly surprised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Saved thousands.

    • NC,
    • Feb 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a Zulily customer for over a year. I think it's a great shopping website. I find so many brand name items that I know I've saved so much money by ordering from Zulily. It does take time but the savings is well worth the wait. I purchased many Christmas gifts this past year and found so many unique items. I ordered them early enough so I didn't have any problems. In fact I already started ordering now for next Christmas.

    I have had some issues with items but have always been resolved by one phone call or an email. The Zulily representatives do vary in how they handle issues I've noticed, so there's no real guideline it seems, but I've been mostly very pleased.

    I hope this helps offset some of the negative reviews. Zulily is awesome and biggest issue is it's too tempting to shop daily.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    A+ from me!

    • Jasper, AL ,
    • Sep 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Zulily customer since 2013. I have no complaints! The one time I had to contact customer service for a small stain being on a backpack I ordered they issued a full refund, a $10 credit and told me to keep the backpack.

    I was so shocked! Most orders arrive in 2-3 weeks unless it's personalized, those always receive those in less than a week.

    I love Zulily!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Delivery

    • Springfield,
    • Dec 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot believe this reviews, people before you purchase something make sure you read. I'm a Zulily shopper for about 3 years now, never had a bad experience. Everything I order is what I expected. Zulily tells you that your merchandise will arrive in 2 or 3 weeks, some I received in less than a week. Just be patient. They offer a variety of items for home, clothing at a very reasonable price. I'm crazy about perfumes, they offer Dolce Gabbana, Chanel, Lancome, Creed just to mention some. I paid 40% less than department stores, they also have low cost shipping as well some monthly payments for qualified items.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good experience

    I ordered 15 items from them in November of 2016 for my wife, for Christmas. All the items showed guaranteed Christmas delivery, and all but one arrived by the week before Christmas. The last one arrived January 3rd.

    When I called Customer Service about the Christmas delivery guarantee, I got through in two rings to a young man who was very helpful and courteous. He offered to refund the money, and I asked him instead to just give me a credit for future orders.

    I could not be happier with the shopping experience at this online retailer. They are all made in Hong Kong and shipped from there, which is why I ordered early. I have seen some negative reviews about this place, but my experience was terrific.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 152

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review