About Gundry MD Prebiothrive

Do you constantly experience food cravings? Do you find it difficult to control your eating habits, along with your weight?

If so, the Gundry MD Prebiothrive supplement promises to use a “breakthrough” combination of prebiotics to help the good bacteria in your gut thrive, while simultaneously reducing the number of bad bacteria.

As a result, we’re told you’ll be able to bring natural balance to your digestive system and experience increased energy, decreased junk food cravings, a healthier appetite, along with less gas, bloating, and discomfort.

To accomplish this, Gundry MD claims Prebiothrive features only 100% natural and safe ingredients and comes with no reported side effects. Simply mix one scoop of the odorless, tasteless powder into any beverage, 2-3 times per day.

The bottom line is that many of us don’t eat the foods we should, so our digestion and overall health can take a hit.

But is there anything found in Gundry MD Prebiothrive that can “completely revitalize your gut, no matter how out of balance it is”? Does it have some stiff competition, or is it really a “game changer”?

Stick with us and we’ll explore these—and many other—important questions.

What’s the Difference Between a Probiotic & a Prebiotic?

The HighYa team has talked a whole lot about probiotics over the years, which are specific strains of bacteria that can help improve digestion, boost immune system response, and more—although there’s limited evidence that they can help you lose weight.

And if your digestion is much more effective and you’re feeling good, this can translate into secondary benefits like improved energy. For more, be sure to read A Guide to Buying Quality Probiotics.

On the other hand, prebiotics are carbohydrates that can’t be digested by your body, so they pass into your gut mostly intact, where they can act as a food source for probiotic bacteria. In other words, it helps them thrive.

Although most prebiotics don’t focus on a specific bacteria strain, in order to meet the definition they must increase the number or activity of bifidobacteria, a bacteria “family” often associated with improving constipation, reducing total cholesterol, addressing some aspects of IBS, and more.

Specifically, what prebiotics does Prebiothrive use?

How Does Gundry MD Prebiothrive Work?

After sitting through Prebiothrive’s hour-long sales video, what did we learn?

The first half of the video talked about the potential dangers of eating foods containing lectin, such as tomatoes, legumes, and more.

However, although Gundry MD’s Lectin Shield supplement promises to address this problem, Prebiothrive doesn’t. As a result, we’re not really sure why Dr. Gundry spent so much time talking about it.

During the second half of the video, we learned how “bad” gut bacteria can impact everything from your energy levels to your food decisions. Instead of killing them though, you simply need to nourish the “good” bacteria.

To accomplish this, we’re told Prebiothrive only contains three ingredients:

Bimuno is a powdered supplement in its own right, which claims to contain a “unique complex of patented galacto-oligosaccharides,” which can help bifidobacteria thrive. This is where Prebiothrive gets its “7-day” claim.

WebMD doesn’t list acacia as providing any kind of real-world benefits, although they list inulin as “possibly effective” for lowering triglyceride levels and reducing constipation (but only for elderly individuals).

Given this, what about Dr. Gundry’s claim that in his video that, “everything you’ll hear today is based on real science, and has been proven out in clinical tests”?

This is a prime example of the different between something being clinically studied, and something being considered “proven.”

The former technically only requires one study, while the latter requires a large body of double-blind, peer-reviewed clinical trials, most of which will point to the same general conclusion.

For more about this concept, be sure to read Think That Clinical Study Is Legit?

What About Prebiothrive’s Side Effects?

Because of the rapid increase in certain bacteria strains often caused by prebiotics, you may temporarily experience increased fermentation, leading to gassiness and bloating.

However, this should subside within a few days of regular use.

Similarly, WebMD indicates that acacia can cause mild “gas, bloating, nausea, and loose stools.”

How Much Does Prebiothrive Cost?

How much you’ll pay for Prebiothrive largely depends on where you purchase it. For example, if purchased through Gundry MD’s SilenceYourCravings URL, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $49.99
  • 3 Jars: $105.00
  • 6 Jars: $244.00

On the other hand, if purchased directly through the Gundry MD main site, you’ll pay $79 for a single bottle.

Note: While it appears each jar of Prebiothrive contains 10.16oz of powder, there’s no indication of how many scoops this contains—or how often you’ll need to reorder.

Nonetheless, Prebiothrive comes with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges. In order to request one, Gundry MD’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

Does Prebiothrive Have Any Competition? What About Customer Reviews?

On Gundry MD’s main website, Prebiothrive had 51 customer reviews and an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments referenced effective results (better overall health, increased energy, a more balanced gut, etc.) and ease of use.

Outside of this, however, we didn’t come across any third-party feedback for Prebiothrive at the time of our research.

Fortunately, we’ve also written about many of Gundry MD’s other popular products, including Vital Reds, Correct + Calm Redness Relief Cream, Primal Plants, and more.

Overall, these products tend to have very positive reviews from customers here on HighYa, largely with 5-star average ratings and many of the same compliments.

On the other hand, what few complaints there are seem to reference misleading billing and ineffective results. In most of these instances, a company representative responded in good faith to try to rectify the situation.

As far as Bimuno goes, it also seems to have a mostly positive online customer reviews that claim it might help quickly improve digestion, reduced IBS symptoms, decreased bloating, and more.

Are there other prebiotics out there? Certainly, which you can quickly see by searching online—many of which cost much less than Prebiothrive. Are there other supplements formulated exactly like it, though? No.

Does this mean Prebiothrive is necessarily your best choice?

Let’s carry this thought over into the next section as we wrap things up.

Can Gundry MD Prebiothrive Reduce Your Cravings?

In the end, our goal here at HighYa isn’t to tell you whether or not to purchase a product or service. Instead, it’s to pass along the information we learned during our research and leave the final decision up to you.

So, given the level of clinical evidence showing that prebiotics might help boost levels of beneficial bacteria in the gut, taking one of these supplements certainly seems like a logical first step if you’re looking to balance your digestion.

Just keep in mind that—even according to Dr. Gundry’s Prebiothrive video—if you want to maximize your results, it’s recommended that you take a probiotic along with it, which will obviously increase your overall costs.

Speaking of cost, a 30-day supply of Bimuno can be purchased online for about $28, which doesn’t include the triglyceride-reducing potential of inulin, but might provide many other benefits at a meaningfully lower price than Prebiothrive.

You can even find many supplements containing both probiotics and prebiotics in the same formulation (although not from Gundry MD), which might deliver the ultimate bang-for-your-buck.

In the end though, Gundry MD seems to stand behind Prebiothrive with a 90-day refund policy, which might help ease some of your hesitations if you’re thinking about giving it a try. Just remember you could be out a few bucks in S&H if you decide to process a refund.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

48 Customer Reviews for Gundry MD Prebiothrive

Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 27 4 stars: 10 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor results

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 24, 2017

    I ordered Prebiothrive on November 8, 2016, and got it later in that month when I began using it. Within a few days, I became very sick, experienced abdominal pain and gas so bad it was waking me up at night.

    I spoke to a representative from the Gundry MD company who told me to try it again at a later date. I held off till after the holidays and tried it again with repeated results. After one dose I began to feel like I had the stomach flu. I contacted the company about getting the 100% refund but was told that since it was four months since my order was placed, I was no longer eligible.

    Not only was this product a waste of money but caused ill effects twice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 27, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Sandy, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a valuable review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with the product. We always recommend that you consult your primary physician prior to beginning any new regimen, especially if you are experiencing anything negative, to make sure you’re not allergic to any specific ingredient. Regardless, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for giving our product a fair trial. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can personally expedite your refund for you. Thank you Sandy, I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Constipation plus obstruction?

    • Wailuku, HI,
    • Mar 15, 2017

    The only reason I am sharing this is to WARN others of an experience I am currently undergoing.

    I started using this product, PREBIOTHRIVE, two days ago. The constipation started almost the same time. I luckily had a very small movement of dribble (sorry for the picture) with little content. There was pain in my lower left quadrant of my torso. This morning, I took another dose before breakfast, thinking that perhaps it was my body acclimating to the product, (MISTAKE) as now along with the lower left quadrant pain, I am experiencing upper right quadrant pain. A few minutes ago I took some Milk of Magnesia, hoping that will help the bloating, gas, and constipation.

    I also called the Gundry MD support line to request an RMA to return the product. I have no doubt it is the product. The gal went through an extensive question and answer dialogue with me, and refunded my purchase. She did say that another department would be calling me with more questions, and to have the jar available to answer (manufacture date, lot number, etc.). She verified my phone numbers etc. Very responsible, concerned, and caring young lady. She suggested prune juice, so if you're starting off, have some of that available.

    Most of your comments that I have read are OK, so I guess my body doesn't like one or more of the ingredients in the formula. I just hope I don't end up in the emergency room. If you're so inclined, please say a little prayer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Greg, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. If you are experiencing any discomfort while taking the product, we recommend you consult your primary physician to ensure you are not having a reaction to one or more of the ingredients. I am happy to hear the refund process went smoothly. If you have any other question or comments, please feel free to email me at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you Greg.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    I watched the online educational video by Dr. Gundry and felt it was a good idea, so I bought it. I took it for a week as recommended, but with unpleasant results (stomach cramps), which is not what I typically experience with good probiotic and fermented products. I waited a week, then began taking it again, thinking that perhaps it was just a "phase." However, the same thing happened again.

    It was then that I looked at the ingredients, which contained milk. I was sorely surprised and very disappointed that he had never mentioned that the product is grown in milk. I frankly would never have purchased it. I do not take dairy products and really felt very shocked that you would promote a product without informing people.

    When I called today to ask about a refund, I was told I had to "ship the product back at my own cost." That is an insult to injury since I already paid $5 for shipping, and now have to do it again so you can throw it in the trash!

    FYI: I am an Allied health care and behavioral medicine practitioner specializing in body-mind techniques for more than 25 years and have a large practice. I am continually recommending good products to my clients. Sadly, I find the Gundry company is not showing up well. They do not get my support, only my disappointment, since I am feeling hassled and annoyed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 17, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Patti, thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are unable to continue using the product due to the dairy in the product. We always recommend reading the ingredient list and speaking to your primary physician prior to beginning any new supplements to ensure that you will not have an adverse reaction to any of the individual ingredients used. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund of your purchased products. Please feel free to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can expedite your refund for you. Thank you Patti, I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I'm not sure

    • Tustin, CA,
    • Mar 10, 2017

    I received the Prebiothrive and took it for about a week. I thought I was really liking it since I just felt lighter, but then my legs and feet started swelling. I really don't know if the two are related, but I have stopped taking it to see if the swelling goes away. I'm wondering if anyone else has had this reaction? If so, please reply. I take the Vital Reds and love them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 28, 2017

      Kathleen D.

      That could be due to the Vital Reds which contains Niacin.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    My energy level in the afternoon markedly increased.

    Having taken this product assiduously as directed for close to three months, I've found a definite improvement in my energy level each and every afternoon; I no longer feel so totally exhausted that I will not be able to survive until the sun goes down.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Free trial not really free because you have to pay return shipping

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 2, 2017

    Against my better judgment, I decided to try their product for the free 90-day offer. But, they don't cover return shipping, so it is not really a free trial. I found nothing to love about this product, especially for the high cost, and it doesn't taste good. I would rather keep eating healthy, and if needed, buy a local product that isn't sold via an infomercial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 17, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello, thank you for leaving us a review of your experience. I wanted to point out that Gundry MD products are never advertised as a free trial, so that potential customers do not get confused. You must be referencing the 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your product so far. While a majority of our customers experience great results, we realize that it is not for everyone. I would be more than happy to assist you with a full refund, no need to mail anything back. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can begin the refund process for you. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Definitely gave me more energy

    I'm a 100% disabled Vietnam veteran and am also with severe neuropathy caused by having had Agent Orange spilled on me in Vietnam, which the VA maliciously refuses to recognize as service connected (I'm convinced that some VA physicians receive under the table sweeteners). Before starting Prebiothrive, I became weak and lethargic every afternoon, having to lie down to regain a little strength. This has happened for the past three years every day, after which the VA loaded me with medications, which exacerbated the severe neuropathy.

    After starting Prebiothrive one month ago, I now definitely feel more strength and energy each and every afternoon, and no longer have to lie down for several hours in order to make it through the remainder of the day. I am trying my very best to avoid as many lectins as possible in my diet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Upset stomach

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 17, 2017

    I took Prebiothrive daily until only about three scoops were left in the container, when suddenly my stomach began to feel very upset and painful.

    I called the number on the container and asked for advice, and was just told to keep taking it for a few more days, ven though I had already taken almost a whole container, and if the upset painful stomach did not stop, that I was advised to quit taking it. I have had no other contact from Dr. Gundry's company despite sending emails and reviews concerning my experience and asking them to contact me to discuss it.

    I feel the product is very expensive and keep getting more sales pitches on Vital Reds and Greens, even though I had to decline the initial sales pitches about 5-6 times before I could check out when I first purchased it. I feel that if Prebiothrive does all that Dr. Gundry said in the video, why does he have to pitch all the other expensive supplements, such as Vital Reds, Greens, supplements for circulation, etc.

    I purchased this product on 1/9/17. It seems this site might be connected to Dr. Gundry, otherwise why ask for my order number? Also, I wonder if this review will be posted. I see only positive reviews with high ratings. I go to other sites and see many negative and questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 22, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Mike, Aria here with Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with Prebiothrive.

      This review site is a third party review site that is not affiliated with Gundry MD in any way. We simply comment back to our customers on this site to make sure they are having the best experience possible. We like to offer our customers discounts on additional products they love so that they can save even more. The purchase of these additional products is always optional.

      We stand by our money back guarantee, so I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for your product. Please reach out to me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can assist you personally during this process. Thank you Mike, and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Found this information not to be honest.

    • Hot Springs Village, Arkansas,
    • Feb 7, 2017

    I ordered three jars of Vital Reds and then found out that another order was placed, which I didn't order. Altogether, instead of a little more than $83.00, I got another cost of more than $244 (which I didn't order).

    I called one number, but it was not working number. I found another number and talked with someone. Although the time has passed for it to be shipped, it hasn't been shipped yet. I tried to cancel the order but was told to wait until I receive it, and then return it. There was no date as to when I should receive the order, or even if that's the truth.

    I wouldn't order it again, nor would I believe this is factual.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 17, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Sharon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you received more product than you ordered. To keep our customers satisfied, the product usually ships within 24 hours, which makes it difficult to change orders after they are placed. We are always able to refund you (or make an exchange for you) after you receive the product. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I may better assist you with your issue. I would be more than happy to look into this for you and begin your return process. Thank you Sharon, and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Prebiotics

    I have enjoyed the prebiotics I purchased. They mix in water easily and are quick to take daily. I have not taken them daily yet, but that is due to me forgetting them since they were not in my morning routine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great product!

    I can't believe how well this stuff works! I have been able to go the bathroom every single day, and that is an amazing thing! I work for a major airline, and normally I cannot go to the bathroom the entire time I am gone. Now it doesn't matter where I am or what I am doing; I am regular.

    The only problem I am having is excess gas. I have been using a little less each day, and that is helping. Overall this product is amazing!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 48

Write a review for Gundry MD Prebiothrive!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review