About HiSmile

You want a whiter smile, but your teeth and gums are too sensitive for hydrogen peroxide.

The good news is that HiSmile manufactures a line of peroxide-free teeth whitening products that use sodium bicarbonate instead, which can provide a pain-free alternative. No more irritation to your gums or mouth.

Despite its gentleness, HiSmile claims their teeth whitening systems can deliver noticeable results in as little as 10 minutes by removing extrinsic (i.e. surface) stains, and can make your teeth up to 6 shades whiter within 6 applications.

Add to this HiSmile’s 100% clinically proven results and patented mouth guard, and you’ve got a safe, easy, and effective way to whiten your teeth in the comfort of your own home.

But before you hand over any money, there are some things you need to know about HiSmile. First, we’ll talk about the price of their different products.

HiSmile Products, Pricing, & Refund Policy

Overall, HiSmile offers 4 different products:

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Kit

HiSmile’s Teeth Whitening Kit contains everything you’ll need to start whitening your smile. This includes:

  • 3 whitening gel syringes
  • 1 LED light
  • 1 mouth guard
  • 1 teeth whitening shade guide
  • 1 step-by-step instruction manual

With the gel already loaded, all you need to do is dispense ¼ of a syringe into each side of the mouth tray (enough to coat your teeth, but not your gums). Then, insert the tray into the LED light, place the tray in your mouth, and keep it in place for 10 minutes (the light will turn off once this occurs).

With this kit, you’ll have 6-9 applications available.

HiSmile’s Whitening Kit is priced at $79.99 AUD (about $57 USD).

If you’ve ordered HiSmile’s Whitening Kit previously and only need individual pieces, these are available for purchase as well:

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Gels

This includes 3 syringes pre-filled with peroxide-free whitening gel (enough for 6-9 applications).

A one-time purchase is priced at $39.99 AUD (about $29 USD), or you can subscribe for monthly recurring shipments, which will drop your price to $25.99 AUD ($19 USD) per month.

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Pen

HiSmile’s Teeth Whitening Pen can be used for touch-ups when you’re on the go, and is also great for hard-to-reach areas. Contains the same peroxide-free formula found in the syringes.

Priced at $34.99 AUD (about $25 USD).

LED Light & Mouth Guard

HiSmile's patented LED Light and Mouth Guard combo contains the strongest LED light on the market, along with a double-sided mouth guard to prevent spillover. The mouth guard is reusable, and batteries are included.

Priced at $59.99 AUD (about $43 USD).

How Do HiSmile’s Prices Compare To Other At-Home Whitening Kits?

Compared to some of the other teeth whitening products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, including Whitening Coach, Action Pro White, and many others, HiSmile’s kit is about half the price.

However, the ASOTV whitening kit Dial-a-Smile comes in less than HiSmile, while other tray-based bleaching systems can be purchased locally for as little at $11.

Granted, all of these use hydrogen peroxide, while HiSmile uses sodium bicarbonate. But whether we’re talking about tooth sensitivity or whitening results, is there any difference between these two ingredients?

Hydrogen Peroxide vs. Sodium Bicarbonate

Most at-home teeth whitening kits use carbamide peroxide, which breaks down into hydrogen peroxide. In turn, this creates an oxidation reaction that dissolves stains and lifts them away.

Sodium bicarbonate (more commonly known as baking soda), on the other hand, basically acts as a mild abrasive to scrub away stains from the surface of your teeth.

Comparing their effectiveness, carbamide/hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains, especially those that may be older and located deeper within your teeth. However, it can cause some tooth and gum sensitivity, although this usually subsides quickly after treatment.

Overall, after undergoing exhaustive clinical testing, peroxide is considered very safe by the ADA for use in at-home whitening products. In general, it does not cause “un-repairable damage to tooth enamel” or receding gums, as claimed by HiSmile.

Interestingly, since it’s an abrasive (however mild), extended use of sodium bicarbonate can lead to irreparable enamel damage. Sure, you might not experience any immediate tooth or gum sensitivity, but over the long term, using a baking soda-bases whitening system can be much more harmful to your teeth than a peroxide-based one.

In all, this means that peroxide-based whitening systems will likely provide you with better, safer whitening results than ones like HiSmile—if you don’t suffer from tooth or gum sensitivity.

But that’s our take. What are HiSmile’s customers saying about their results?

Customers Aren’t Speaking Out About HiSmile

Considering the company’s popularity and very active Instagram page (including dozens of endorsements and before and after pictures), there wasn’t a whole lot of HiSmile feedback at the time of our research—and nothing outside of independent blogs (the company is Australian, and isn’t listed with the BBB).

TheBlondePerfectionist.com noted that HiSmile was “incredibly easy” to use and that they experienced results by the second application. Ultimately, they were “blown away” with how effective it was.

Similarly, InsincerelyHer.com noted that HiSmile worked fast and gave them “super white” teeth in weeks.

PetiteAnchors didn’t see much of a difference with HiSmile, and claimed that “it made no actual difference to my teeth colouring.” Granted, the author noted that she had undergone a couple professional whitening treatments in the past, as well as numerous at-home treatments, and concluded that her teeth simply couldn’t get any whiter.

Now, let’s wrap everything up as neatly as the box HiSmile comes in.

Is HiSmile a Pain-Free Way To Whiten Your Teeth?

Can HiSmile provide you with a whiter smile, without sensitivity? With its baking soda-based whitening gel, it’s certainly possible.

Will it provide you with similar (or better) results than other peroxide-based at-home whitening kits? Again, it’s possible, although hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains underneath your enamel, which could provide more shades of whitening.

Will HiSmile’s LED light provide any better or faster whitening results? Almost certainly not.

Given all of this, will HiSmile provide a solid value for the money? If tooth and gum sensitivity is your number one concern (and you’ve already tried a peroxide-based kit), then baking soda-based products might be your only option.

The catch here is that you could reasonably achieve similar results using a DIY baking soda paste, which can be made for just a couple dollars. Or, you can purchase a tube of baking soda toothpaste from several different national companies for not much more.

Despite these concerns, the before and after pictures features on HiSmile’s Instagram page indicate that the company has hundreds of satisfied customers. Although due to the abrasive nature of the baking soda in HiSmile’s gel, we’re hoping they don’t continue using the product for too long, or they might permanently damage their enamel.

What kind of whitening results did you achieve using HiSmile? Tell us about it by leaving a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

38 Customer Reviews for HiSmile

Average Customer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 25 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Texas,
    • Feb 24, 2017

    I have been waiting for three months for my first order, which is the LED light and the mouth tray, along with gels and other items. I also did the automatic monthly renew for the gels. I have only received the gels.

    I have been emailing them letting them know that I have not received my first parcel and they have yet to do anything about it. I requested a refund for the items, which they agreed, but I would have to pay for the return of the refills. I think it is wrong that I would have to pay for the return since I was never able to use it since they never sent me the first order.

    I am sure if received it I would have enjoyed the product and continued the monthly subscription, but at this point, I am very dissatisfied with the customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 8, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Thanks for sharing your recent experience. Very sorry to hear it was not a positive one as we pride ourselves on having exceptional customer service.

      As I am sure you can understand the Black Friday/Christmas period is a very busy time of year with a high influx of order and some sent with untracked shipping can get lost in transit.

      If you wouldn’t mind sending through one more email to our customer care team at info@hismileteeth.com one of our representatives will be more than happy to assist to you to resolve this issue.

      We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    I bought the 6-day kit plus gel for six more days. Oh, do I regret! Nothing happened, nothing at all, it does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 23, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hi Fleur,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback.

      We do appreciate it as we are always looking to improve our product, company and customer satisfaction.

      As I am sure you can understand that results may vary from person to person depending on the severity of the pre-existing stains and the individual's natural inability to whiten past a certain shade.

      If you wouldn't mind sharing your experience with one of our lovely customer care members at info@hismileteeth.com they will be able to further assist you as best they can, to ensure that you achieve your desired results.

      We look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Thank you for making perfect smiles

    I'm super in love with the results in only the two times I used it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hey Nicole,

      So glad to hear you are loving your results girl!

      Can't wait to see your final result after 6 applications! Don't forget to share these results to Instagram and tag us.

      Happy HiSmiling

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So so happy with the results!

    I seriously could not be happier with my HiSmile results! I haven't had my teeth this white in years.

    Admittedly, I was a little skeptical of the product at first, despite all of the great reviews and great "before and After" pictures, but I am beyond ecstatic, and I'm definitely not skeptical anymore!

    I highly, highly recommend that you try this if you're on the fence. My teeth went from a 6 or 7 on the provided chart to about a 2 or 3, which is almost FOUR shades whiter! Get this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hey Emily,

      Wow girl! Was so excited to read your recent experience.

      Don't forget to share your before and after photos of Instagram to receive your free teeth whitening pen!

      Keep Smiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • New nighttime routine

    I love the HiSmile teeth whitening kit. It's supremely fast and easy to use. I use it every night before bed. I love this product; it's given me more confidence in my smile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hi Jessica,

      Thanks for sharing your HiSmile experience! Glad to hear you are loving your results.

      Keep smiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not 100% content just yet

    • Basildon, England,
    • Feb 1, 2017

    I've only completed my second ten minutes of HiSmile, but I made my second try last 20 minutes by pushing the button again to get better results. HOWEVER, I took before and after photos from the first try and after, and I took another picture after I had finished with my 20 minutes, and my teeth haven't even moved a shade.

    I'm going to continue with it, but I'm dissatisfied right now as a lot of other people moved a shade up after one try! Things like this make me think that the reviews are fake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hi Sinead,

      Thank you for your feedback. For optimum results, we recommend using your HiSmile kit for six days consecutively to start your initial whitening process. I'm sure you can understand everyone's teeth are different, and some do see results quicker than others.

      If you have any other concerns feel free to email us at info@hismileteeth.com and one of our lovely customer care member's will be more than happy to assist you further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent customer service!

    • Ivanhoe, Victoria, Australia,
    • Jan 29, 2017

    The HiSmile team's customer service is amazing!

    After I accidentally wrote the wrong post code in my address and having it delivered one hour away (oops), I messaged the HiSmile team to let them know. After I tried (and failed) to get in touch with the Australia post multiple times, I asked the HiSmile team to wait for my parcel to be sent back to the company so they could then resend it to my actual address. Instead, they sent me a new parcel in the express mail as they didn't want me to wait any longer for their product. It arrived in under 24 hours!

    They have amazing communication skills and are very friendly and co-operative. They were very helpful even though it wasn't their fault. And the product is absolutely amazing so far, I definitely recommend it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely amazing.

    • Wales, UK,
    • Jan 29, 2017

    So I ordered the whole kit about two months ago, and I was super excited to try it out.

    I gave it a go about three times before realizing the LED light was flickering after about five minutes and then would completely turn itself off. I emailed the customer service team, and I had a response that same day. They sent out a brand new one for me and apologized for the inconvenience. We were back and forth with emails regarding some complications, and they were SO helpful and kind. I spoke to a number of people, and each and every one of them was outstanding. I never waited longer than two days for a reply, which I found amazing.

    This company really does go the extra mile to help you and resolve any problems. Also, despite only using my faulty one a handful of times, I still noticed some results and can't wait to see how well my teeth turn out with a properly working one! Thank you once again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 30, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hey Tia,

      Thanks for sharing your awesome feedback!

      We are always more than happy to help out to ensure you keep that smile bright.

      Don't forget to share your before and after results to Instagram to receive your free teeth whitening pen.

      Happy HiSmiling girl.

    • Feb 7, 2017

      Jessica

      I would love to review the product, but I haven't received it yet. Do not buy this product. They take your money and never communicate any information to you, except bogus confirmation emails. I've tried to get a hold of them, but it is impossible. It has been over 45 days, and I have not received anything no tracking information, and no responses to emails that I've sent.

      Please, don't get played. Stay far away from this crap.

    • Mar 8, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hi Jessica,

      Very sorry to hear you are experiencing difficulties getting in contact with our customer care team. Please ensure you are emailing the correct email info@hismileteeth.com.

      You also may wish to check your spam/junk mail as our emails may be being sent there.

      Once we have received your message, we will be more than happy to assist you as best we can to resolve this issue and ensure you achieve those desired results.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I'm completely in love with this product !

    • United States,
    • Jan 24, 2017

    This product is wonderful. It makes my teeth incredibly white. I have to recognize that it really works. It became my daily routine, and it's easy to use, very quick and not expensive. I would definitely recommend it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hi Alex,

      Thanks for sharing your amazing feedback! So happy to hear you love our product as much as we do.

      Happy HiSmiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    HiSmile teeth whitening kit

    • Adelaide, Australia,
    • Jan 19, 2017

    I decided to give HiSmile a go, as I had read a lot of great reviews on the product (see the website for testimonials). I love this product as it's a safe, affordable, ethical, easy-to-use alternative way (what can be) harmful bleaching of the teeth. I will definitely continue to use this product, as so far the results have been great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hi Luca,

      Glad to hear your recent experience with HiSmile!

      Don't forget to share those amazing results on Instagram and email us at info@hismileteeth.com to claim your free teeth whitening pen.

      Happy HiSmiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    Before using the HiSmile teeth whitening kit, my teeth were borderline yellow because of smoking and drinking excessive amounts of coffee. Because of this, and my confidence was low, and I never smiled with my teeth, only with my mouth closed.

    After using and continuing to use this product my teeth are so much brighter and whiter! They're not full-on white, but ver close. This product really does change lives. I smile so much more and with confidence now, and it's all thanks to HiSmile teeth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2017

      Karla, Customer Care Manager

      Hey Rowan,

      Thanks for sharing your positive feedback! We are so excited to hear you have achieved amazing results.

      Happy HiSmiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a review for HiSmile!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review