What is ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Mar 29, 2019

Called one of the most potent formulas on the market, ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic colonizes your system with billions of healthy bacteria and promises to improve digestion and comfort, increase energy levels, and boost mood.

And once your body is balanced, ActivatedYou tells us you’ll also experience enhanced immune function, more radiant skin, and reduced health problems.

All you have to do is take one capsule of ActivatedYou Probiotic per day with a full glass of water (preferably with food), and its 30 billion CFUs of 30 different bacteria strains will deliver a science-based approach to whole person wellness.

Even though ActivatedYou was developed by a team of board-certified medical doctors and licensed alternative medicine practitioners, does this mean it really is a life-changing formula? Or, does it amount to little more than great marketing for an otherwise mundane probiotic supplement?

Our goal in this article is to help you make a more informed decision about ActivatedYou. So, let’s get to it, shall we?

The Basics Behind Probiotics

ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic promises to provide wellness from the inside out. How, exactly, will it accomplish this? Before diving into the supplement itself, let’s talk about probiotics as a whole.

The Latin word probiotic means ‘for life.’ Why?

While you might think of your body as wholly ‘yours,’ the reality is that about half of the cells in your body belong to bacteria; microscopic single-celled organisms that serve a host of different functions.

Most bacteria in humans are found in the digestive tract (commonly referred to as the gut), where they help digest food, make vitamins, support immune system function, and help our brain work. In a very real way, we’re only alive because of these bacteria and at our healthiest when their levels are balanced.

And that’s just it: Whether due to less-than-stellar nutrition, too much stress, a recent illness, or a round of antibiotics, it’s not uncommon for our gut to contain too much “bad” bacteria, leading to side effects like decreased energy, bloating and other digestive issues, or getting sick.

Enter supplements like ActivatedYou. These products contain anywhere between a few hundred million and several billion CFU (colony-forming units, or the number of individual bacteria cells per dose), along with one or more different bacteria species.

By taking these supplements on a regular basis, they're supposed to help reintroduce beneficial bacteria and balance your gut. The result? Often, probiotic users can expect improved digestion, reduced constipation, boosted immune response, and reduced irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) symptoms.

While we found limited clinical evidence drawing a direct relationship between increased CFU count and improved health benefits, what about the specific bacteria strains found in ActivatedYou? Will they provide any unique health improvements?

Which Bacteria Strains Are Found In ActivatedYou? Are They Effective?

Each capsule of the ActivatedYou Probiotic contains 30 billion CFU of the following bacteria strains:

  • Lactobacillus acidophilus LA410, Propionibacterium freudenrichii subsp shermanii, Lactobacillus acidophilus La-14, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Lactobacillus brevis LBR-35, Lactobacillus bulgaricus LB-87, Lactobacillus bulgaricus, Lactobacillus casei Lc-11, Lactobacillus paracasei Lpc-37, Lactobacillus paracasei LAFTI-26, Lactobacillus plantarum Lp-115, Lactobacillus rhamnosus LR-32, Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG, Lactobacillus salivarius LS-33, Lactobacillus reuteri, Lactobacillus gasseri Lg-36, Lactobacillus fermentum, Lactobacillus lactis LL-23,

  • Bifidobacterium adolescentis, Bifidobacterium Bifidum BB710, Bifidobacterium breve, Bifidobacterium breve Bb-30, Bifidobacterium infantis, Bifidobacterium infantis Bi-26, Bifidobacterium infantis, Bifidobacterium lactis (animalis) BL-04, Bifidobacterium lactis Bi-07, Bifidobacterium longum BL-05, Lactobacillus helveticus,

  • Streptococcus thermophilus St-21

While all of the bacteria above come with complicated Latin names, keep in mind that the first word (e.g. Lactobacillus) simply references the genus, or family. The second word references the specific bacteria strain.

Taking a Closer Look at the Lactobacillus Family & Its Role In ActivatedYou

With this said, Lactobacillus is undoubtedly the most popular family found in probiotic supplements today (including in ActivatedYou), which is a lactic acid-producing bacteria commonly found in dairy products like cheese, yogurt, and milk.

Further, acidophilus is the most popular strain of Lactobacillus bacteria and has been shown to address several different causes of diarrhea, IBS, and urinary tract infections, as well as provide some antifungal properties.

L. brevis can help reduce the buildup of dental plaque, bulgaricus is resistant to antibiotics, and rhamnosus might help women lose weight, reduce atopic dermatitis in children, and help prevent allergy development.

L. casei may help eliminate pathogenic bacteria in the intestines and prevent antibiotic-associated diarrhea; L. paracasei could also inhibit pathogens and treat ulcerative colitis, and L. plantarum can help maintain intestinal permeability and produce antimicrobial substances.

L. reuteri helps prevent the growth of some bacteria, as might gasseri, while L. fermentum may reduce cholesterol.

What About the Bifidobacterium in ActivatedYou?

Second in popularity only to Lactobacillus, Bifidobacteria is another probiotic family whose strains have been clinically shown to deliver a wide range of benefits. The family was originally discovered way back in 1899 by pediatrician Henry Tissier.

B. adolescentis and infantis seem to be especially useful for treating IBS; bifidum can reduce cholesterol, and breve and lactis help treat ulcerative colitis, while longum is helpful for preventing the growth of pathogenic organisms.

Finally, There’s Streptococcus

While you probably associate the Streptococcus genus with nasty illnesses like strep throat and scarlet fever, one strain, called thermophilus, can help reduce IBS and necrotizing enterocolitis in preterm infants.

Certainly sounds like a lot of benefits associated with these strains! But will they cause any side effects?

Will You Experience Side Effects With ActivatedYou Probiotic?

Despite all the potential benefits provided by probiotics, you’ll generally have to worry little about any meaningful, ongoing side effects. If you experience anything while the good bacteria balance out the bad, it likely won’t be worse than mild gas and/or bloating.

However, if you have an immune disorder, are pregnant, or are the parent of an infant with short bowel syndrome, it might be a good idea to avoid probiotics.

Also, it’s always a smart idea to talk with your doctor before you begin taking any new nutritional supplement!

How much will you pay for all these potential benefits?

How Much Does ActivatedYou Probiotic Cost?

ActivatedYou is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle (30 capsules): $69.99 (free S&H)
  • 3 Bottles: $188.97 (free S&H)
  • 6 Bottles: $356.95 (free S&H)

All orders come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges. You can request a refund by calling customer support at 800-720-8403.

How to Choose the Right Probiotic for You—Does ActivatedYou Make Your List?

Here’s your three-step mini guide for finding a probiotic supplement that delivers on its promises, whether you’re thinking about ActivatedYou or a product from another manufacturer:

Step 1: Talk With Your Doctor

Yes, we mentioned it earlier, but it’s important enough to reiterate here: If you’re experiencing poor digestion or any of the symptoms that come along with it, you need to make an appointment with your doctor.

While your issues could certainly be caused by an imbalance in your gut bacteria, they might also indicate other medical issues that your physician can help diagnose and adequately address—before they get any worse.

While there, you can also discuss whether or not a probiotic supplement could help. And if so, any strains you might want to focus on—and whether or not ActivatedYou contains them.

Step 2: Are Factors Like CFU Count & Number of Strains Important?

When searching online for probiotic supplements, you’ll find some formulations— like ActivatedYou, Probiotic America, and MetaBiotic—that contain dozens of bacteria strains and 30+ billion colony-forming units.

On the other hand, you’ll come across other formulations, like those from Puritan’s Pride and Probiotic Pearls, that contain significantly fewer bacteria strains and a much lower CFU counts.

What’s the point? There are two:

First, there’s a lot of overlap in the benefits provided by each bacteria strain found in probiotic supplements. So, whether you’re taking a formula with five strains or 50—unless your doctor recommends a specific strain based on your diagnosis, you’ll likely experience similar benefits.

Second, there doesn’t seem to be a lot of clinical evidence showing that ingesting more bacteria (10 billion vs. 30 billion CFU, for example) necessarily translates into greater real-world health benefits.

In the end, make sure that you don’t pay more for one probiotic brand than another, just because of its higher CFU count.

Step 3: What About Price? Customer Feedback?

While shopping around, you'll notice that there can be vast price differences between probiotic brands.

For example, PerfectBiotics and ProbioSlim will cost you nearly $70, while you can pick up a bottle TruBiotics at your local pharmacy for as little as $14.50. ActivatedYou falls somewhere in the middle at $40.

Which begs the question: Will paying more for a probiotic supplement provide better health benefits? There are far too many factors here to allow us to adequately answer this question, which means it’s largely up to you to decide.

Based on what we learned in step two, though, it might be rare for a supplement priced 3-4X higher than the competition to deliver 3-4X greater benefits.

Perhaps the most surefire method of discerning how much value a probiotic might provide is by checking out customer feedback on consumer review sites like HighYa. After all, displeased customers rarely keep quiet, so if a supplement isn’t delivering value, their feedback should soon start appearing online.

Will ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic Revolutionize Your Health from the Inside Out?

If you’re suffering from indigestion and other gut-related issues, authoritative websites indicate there are reams of clinical evidence indicating a probiotic supplement might help.

This is part of the reason why you’ll find probiotics available all over the Internet, as well as at pharmacies and other retailers near you.

This also means that you have a dizzying number of choices when deciding which probiotic is right for you. Fortunately, if you follow our three-step outline above, it can make the process a whole lot easier.

From this perspective, it’s not clear that ActivatedYou Probiotic really is “one of the most potent formulas on the market.” But if it’s not—or if it doesn’t live up to your expectations—the good news is that ActivatedYou seems to stand behind it with a 90-day return policy.

Did you try the ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic? Did it help you find relief, or did another brand deliver better results? Talk about your experience below by writing a review!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 380 ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 242 4 star: 101 3 star: 17 2 star: 5 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 380
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great purchase

    • California,
    • Aug 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking Activated You probiotics October 2017 (so, almost 2 years ago). I have taken other brands before, mostly Jarrow. I found very quickly after taking ActivatedYou Probiotics that I no longer felt exhausted. I might not have felt highly energetic, but the absence of the "deep bone exhaustion" was noticeable.

    I was also suffering from alopecia and there was this year-old patch on my left palm that was getting bigger. It would itch, grow bumps, ooze out liquid, crust over, and start again.

    After weeks of being on ActivatedYou's probiotics, my hair started growing back and the itchy patch on my palm started to shrink. Simultaneously, I was prescribed ever stronger steroids and Cortizone by my Western doctor, which I was also taking. So whether it was purely the Western medication, or AY's probiotics, or BOTH, I cannot say.

    But Western medication of steroids and Cortizone would not affect one's daily constitution (or as Maggie Q would say, "poop"), and I can definitely say that regularity is not a problem after taking AY probiotics.

    I've never had bloating or painful gas...unfortunate that so many people have experienced this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    AVOID THIS LIKE A PLAGUE!

    • Catoosa, OK,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT under any circumstances order any product from this company, unless you want to end up at the Emergency Room like I did!

    Seeing Maggie Q promote it made me want to try it, so I ordered a 3-month supply to get "healthier." As soon as I added their product to my morning routine, I experienced unusual bloating and stomach discomfort that wouldn’t go away. The discomfort would progress into stomach pain and an overall feeling of weakness and aching. I figured that it was due to my body adjusting to a healthier diet and hoped that it would go away over time. Instead, it kept getting worse. After approximately one month, I started to run a fever and felt an overwhelming weakness and body ache. Even supporting my back while sitting up felt like an impossible task.

    My husband took me to the Urgent Care where they did an abdomen x-ray, kidney test, strep and flu tests, and lab work to check my blood in great detail. When they received the results, my lipase test made the doctor immediately send me to the Emergency Room. My pancreatic enzyme count was twice the highest limit of the healthy range, which was causing me to run a fever and experience painful bloating, weakness, muscle aches, and shaking. After I was released from the Emergency Room, I had to be on a bland food only diet for a while to regulate my pancreatic enzyme count and avoid an infection.

    I called ActivatedYou the following day and explained the situation. They immediately issued a full refund. After that, I received a bill from the Emergency Room and the radiology department. I called three times since then over a period of 7-10 days and keep getting promises that I will get a call back from the customer satisfaction department. During my first call, I was promised a callback within one hour. That didn’t happen, so I called back five hours later and was told that the time was misquoted to me and that the callback time usually ranges between 24 and 48 hours. They mentioned that they would escalate the issue to make sure that I got contacted sooner.

    A week goes by, and I call back again yesterday, August 12th. I get told that they sent me a customer satisfaction survey via email and that they wouldn’t call me until I filled it out. I said that it looked like a typical survey that you receive after a call and that I refrained from filling it out since my issue wasn’t resolved. They said that since it’s taken so long to resolve this, they would further escalate the issue and that I would get a call from them by the end of the day. It’s been over 24 hours, and I have yet to hear back from them. I even filled out their email survey, along with one other survey they sent me after the phone call. This company does NOT care about you or your health! Their product will land you at the Emergency Room, and they will still never call you back, but will LIE time and time again about returning your call! AVOID these scammers at all costs! They are only out to get your money, and they do NOT stand behind their harmful product! Do not fall for their false advertisement and become their lab rats! They are putting their customers’ health at risk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Viktoriya, I want to sincerely apologize for your experience. These side effects are not typical and I have relayed your case to our Product Development and Customer Relations teams. We will work to ensure that this never happens again. I have personally looked into your account and have requested our Customer Relations team reach out to you. Please expect to be contacted within 1-2 business days, but in the meanwhile, if you have any outstanding issues or concerns, please email me at chloe@activatedyou.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not effective

    • Orinda, CA,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered 3 months worth of ActivatedYou based on reviews on this very site. I did not have any positive benefits. Instead of flattening my belly, it bloated me for the entire 3 months. I had a stomach bigger than it had ever been. I gave them this negative feedback but never heard anything back from them.

    Don’t get sucked into this scam. And this is a SCAM. I have a suspicion they are paying this site only to publish good ratings. This was a huge waste of money. I should have known when a fluffy actress claims to know so much about the working of a human body. She’s probably only good for ACTING. Bad on me for falling for this scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 18, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Jenny, I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience! I understand your frustration. As always, we ask our customers to consult their physician to ensure that our products are the right fit for them. I want to apologize you never heard back from our customer service team; please email me directly at chloe@activatedyou.com and I'd be more than happy to look into your account and issue you a full refund.

      I want to note that to do not pay this site, or any other site, to publish positive reviews. That would be highly unethical.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Fairfax, VA,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product did the total opposite of its promise. For the days I drank it I felt bloated, painfully gassy (as in cramps pain), and constipated. The day I missed it, nothing of that. Trashed it as soon as I got home. Do not waste your money. There are way better probiotics out there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Patricia, I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience. It sounds like you might be experiencing “Die Off” symptoms. This often occurs when probiotics are introduced to the gut and begin killing off the bad bacteria. As always, we ask that you consult your primary care physician prior to trying a new product to ensure that you do not experience any interactions while taking them. Because everybody is different, we do understand that our products may work well for some and not others. If you would like to return the product, I can begin the refund process for you right away! Please email me at chloe@activatedyou.com.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Two weeks in!

    • Florida,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Life changing! Everything I hoped it would be! I was skeptical because I've tried so many supplements that promise the same results. I finally feel like my gut is in check, which is something I've never said before. Thanks actress lady!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    On the fence

    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I've only been on this product a little over a week, I'm very concerned. While I do feel like I have increased energy, but I've not only been eliminating a lot less but have been struggling to do so. Not only that, but it would seem that my weight has actually gone up about six pounds since I've started using it, and that with me going to the gym now in the morning as well. I'm on the fence right now because so far the good seems to outweigh the bad. Not to mention the taste of it is horrible. Granted I'm only taking it with water, but I pretty much chug it as fast as I can each morning just to get it over with. My wife agrees with me that the taste is putrid. She has to mix it with iced tea to even be able to take it at all.

    The constipation is my major concern though. I would regularly go some times up to 4 times a day...Now I'm lucky if I can even go once. I'm going to give it another week to be fair and see if maybe my system just needs to adjust, but if I don't begin to normalize soon and begin to lose all the weight I just put on, I'm getting my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 20, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Jason, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. Thank you so much for your honest review of your experience with Morning Complete. I'm so sorry to hear about what you are experiencing. Because Morning Complete contains Probiotics, there is a chance that you are experiencing die-off symptoms. Sometimes die-off symptoms can last a few weeks. Regarding the taste, many of our customers enjoy putting Morning Complete into their favorite smoothie. This would be a great way to mask the taste if you aren't a fan of it! If you find that you are still unable to take Morning Complete, I can issue you a full refund right away. Just e-mail me at Chloe@ActivatedYou.com and I can complete the refund process right away. I do look forward to hearing about your progress as time goes on. Please feel free to reach out, I'm only an e-mail away!


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    NO RESULTS

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been taking it for a 1 and 1/2 months religiously and did not notice any difference. I also have reached out to customer service with feedback twice and have not heard back at all. I'm super disappointed and starting to believe that this product and brand are not serious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 18, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Valeria, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not experience the results you had expected while using the Advanced Restorative Probiotic. I did want to let you know that we typically recommend that our customers take it consistently for at least 3 months to experience results. But if you would like to discontinue taking it, I can issue you a full refund right away. Just e-mail me at Chloe@ActivatedYou.com and I can begin the refund process. Again, I am so sorry for the frustrating experience you had but I look forward to taking care of this for you.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Advanced Restorative Probiotic

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am the worlds biggest skeptic! I ordered this and am now very disappointed I didn’t order more at the time. I’ve been taking this probiotic for four days and I’m a believer! The first day I became a little bloated, but I just attributed that to the attack on my bad gut bacteria. My craving for sweets is gone! I seem to get full much faster. I’m on WW freestyle and ARP is helping my journey. I’ll be reordering! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Charged me 7 times the amount

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered ONE bag of ActivatedYou. I was charged three times for the one bag. Then they charged me $90 for an unknown reason. They also made it look like in the check out that I wasn’t getting bonus merch added to the total but I was actually being charged separately $98 and another $46. Customer service was a complete joke. Had me on hold for 20 minutes to speak to a manager who was a douche. Would NEVER EVER buy from here again. They never offered me any consolation. Got my credit card turned off as well from the $400 of pending charges I didn’t authorize. HORRIBLE! Definitely telling anyone I can to never buy here again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 4, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Kelsey, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. I am so sorry about the frustrating experience you had while checking out on our site. It sounds like you accidentally purchased a few extra orders at check out. I'm so sorry that this was not clear. I would like to issue you a full refund right away. Please e-mail me directly at Chloe@ActivatedYou.com and I will begin the refund process. I would also like to get a few more details from you regarding your customer service experience to ensure that this never happens again. On behalf of everyone at ActivatedYou, I'm so sorry about this frustrating experience but I look forward to hearing from you and making this right.


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    A miracle for me

    • South Carolina,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have Crohn's disease. I have been suffering with it for the past 15 years. I either would be impacted for days or diarrhea for days at a time. I was on three meds and an injection for the impaction times and three different meds for diarrhea. In four weeks I haven't had to take any of these meds and I'm thanking God so much for this product. As long as it keeps helping me; I will always take it. My gastroenterologist is now recommending it to his other patients like me. Thank you so much. You've helped change my life in the best way!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Did not work for me

    • Michigan,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the idea behind this product and the ingredients and spokesmodel/actress. I gave it about six days. The first day, no problem, the remainder days lots of gas within two hours after drinking first thing in the morning. This lasted throughout the day.

    Sorry no go, but again, love the idea. After experience throughout the years, not all probiotics work for everyone, it's trial and error and everyone's needs are different.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 7, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Julie, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with the Advanced Restorative Probiotic. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not experience the results you had expected, but as you mentioned not all probiotics work for everyone! I would like to issue you a full refund. Just e-mail me at Chloe@ActivatedYou.com and I can begin the refund process right away!


Showing 1-11 of 380

Write a Review for ActivatedYou Advanced Restorative Probiotic!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review